Pages :
[
16]
Girl in Green
25/05/2009, 10:14 AM
Snap c ya Thursday week.
Girl in Green
25/05/2009, 10:16 AM
Was watchin some clips on utube yesterday of the Italian's in Sofia and the atmosphere was well intimidating; don't think they'll have the green carpet out for us somehow....
Girl in Green
25/05/2009, 10:21 AM
For anyone on the late flight outa London Luton with Wizz Air next Thursday 4th anyone stayin in Hotel Sveta??? Mite be a good idea to try arrange a curtosy bus from the Airport to the Hotel as it will be 2-3am on arrival anyone interested???
Paddser
25/05/2009, 10:50 AM
Ah no , i just meant heading out on the Thursday via Luton.
Still staying in the stunning sveta ;)
Phew!! I was afraid there had been a mass cancellation by everyone that I had missed!! :eek::)
JT,New'09
25/05/2009, 11:03 AM
Phew!! I was afraid there had been a mass cancellation by everyone that I had missed!! :eek::)
Ha ha no , all together and all for one. Kip or no Kip , it has a beer garden so im happy with that !! sun , beer, beer garden and good laugh,
We maybe should look into asking sveta hotel to organise a mini bus for those arriving at 3am on the Friday morning. There are 11 of us, so if anyone else intereted in this let me know and ill email sveta and see can they accomodate us. Be handy just to get on bus straight to hotel??
Paddser
25/05/2009, 11:15 AM
Ha ha no , all together and all for one. Kip or no Kip , it has a beer garden so im happy with that !! sun , beer, beer garden and good laugh,
We maybe should look into asking sveta hotel to organise a mini bus for those arriving at 3am on the Friday morning. There are 11 of us, so if anyone else intereted in this let me know and ill email sveta and see can they accomodate us. Be handy just to get on bus straight to hotel??
Yea perfect. There is 3 of us.
galah
25/05/2009, 12:57 PM
good man galah, get tanked up there isn't much seats in gatwick terminal in fairness, so get into wetherspoons and just lap on their couches if you can get away with it!
is that the other side of security and more importantly are they open all night?! as long as they let us on the plane the next day i dont care!
is there a square in sofia everyone's meeting?!
lodge2000
25/05/2009, 1:57 PM
Anyone going to be in Frankfurt on the Friday? Flying into Frankfurt on the Friday morning and then flying to Sofia with Bulgaria Air on Friday night.
JT,New'09
25/05/2009, 2:41 PM
I have emailed Sveta. Just waiting on a reply now. ill keep you posted. :D
There a taxi picking me up at airport on Friday night, have just sent them an e-mail as a matter of interest to see can they do a pick up for 14 and cost
Tickets sent out by FAI today :) :) :)
eaststand85
25/05/2009, 5:08 PM
JT/Paddser, see earlier post by Cobra. Official taxis only cost about €7 and I just checked my reservation e-mail from Sveta Sofia and they were looking to charge €30 one way for airport transfers. Didn't take them up on their "generous" offer obviously, hope it's not a sign of things to come in the hotel itself!! :eek:
Its only about 15min to city centre and should cost 10-15 lev( about €7)
Just get one of the yellow OK taxis outside terminal and you will be grand. Only get these as rest are rip off merchants.
Sligo Hornet
26/05/2009, 6:32 AM
Good info, never thought of trying the CU , the one in newry were offering something like 2.08 to the pound, travel agents were only offering 1.99 to the pound. CU in Newry can also get them in 24hrs also.
Good man Newry!!......no need for me too bother getting any Lev now you are fully loaded.....see your in the Hotel Bar.......will you just be opening a Tab for us?;)
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 8:14 AM
JT/Paddser, see earlier post by Cobra. Official taxis only cost about €7 and I just checked my reservation e-mail from Sveta Sofia and they were looking to charge €30 one way for airport transfers. Didn't take them up on their "generous" offer obviously, hope it's not a sign of things to come in the hotel itself!! :eek:
ah thanks. Sveta failed to email me back anyhow. we can just get the yellow taxis. Dump the bags and head out for few hours :cool:
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 8:35 AM
:( Just got an email from Ryanair. Hand luggage max is 10kilos !!
No hand luggage and hand bag , hand bag has to go into hand luggage !! So one item !! thats ridiculous :mad:
ah thanks. Sveta failed to email me back anyhow. we can just get the yellow taxis. Dump the bags and head out for few hours :cool:
Got the following reply back this morning from the taxi crowd I am getting, seems reasonable enough. Does not seem too happy on missing his beauty sleep though:D
Hi,
I can quote a special price 42 eur. Total for party of 14 people going to Sveta Sofia h-l at 03:00 on 5th.June
Provide me the details if they do not have other option at this horrible hour, to cover them.
Many thanks,
Alex
Girl in Green
26/05/2009, 8:39 AM
Nine days to departure wahooooooooooo
Polster
26/05/2009, 8:47 AM
No hand luggage and hand bag , hand bag has to go into hand luggage !! So one item !! thats ridiculous :mad:
Thats shocking, not sure if my hand bag will fit into my carry on bag :confused:
26/05/2009, 8:51 AM
just bring extra plastic bags from an airport shop and fill up any extra stuff into that, ive done it loads of times when the girlfriend over fills and there is never a problem, as they cant refuse you bringing on stuff purchased in the airport. JT there doesn't seem to be a problem with a hand bag and carrier bag either, ive never seen it and travelled a good few times with people who had both!
26/05/2009, 9:36 AM
Paul your post lacks all credibility the minute you mentioned girlfriend.
Jicked
26/05/2009, 10:13 AM
Tickets and info from FAI arrived today. Apparently the Bulgarians own fans will be segregated with CSKA Sofia and Levski Sofia fans being kept apart at either end of the ground! Should be some atmosphere!! :D
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 10:20 AM
Tickets and info from FAI arrived today. Apparently the Bulgarians own fans will be segregated with CSKA Sofia and Levski Sofia fans being kept apart at either end of the ground! Should be some atmosphere!! :D
:eek: Jesus, hope we will be ok !
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 10:20 AM
just bring extra plastic bags from an airport shop and fill up any extra stuff into that, ive done it loads of times when the girlfriend over fills and there is never a problem, as they cant refuse you bringing on stuff purchased in the airport. JT there doesn't seem to be a problem with a hand bag and carrier bag either, ive never seen it and travelled a good few times with people who had both!
Yea that is a good idea !! :D cheers
green army
26/05/2009, 10:54 AM
dont worry about stuff like that........a few green t-shirts,ireland jersey, jocks, jeans, runners, scarf, deoderant........weekend sorted.:D
tickets arrived this morning. think we are in block G section 45. think its right at the corner flag.
Paddser
26/05/2009, 10:57 AM
I wouldn't rely on this Paul/JT. Ryanair enforce this randomly and I have seen them stopping people with handbags on more than one occasion.
26/05/2009, 11:14 AM
Paddser, is that from dublin? I would have mainly been flying to and from London, and never had a problem, the hand bag hasn't been one of those big tent things mind :D But maybe then its just luck of the draw sorta thing. I can assure you though the plastic bags has worked for me on several occassions, but again don't go on my experience if Paddser has seen different!! I have found easyjet to be the stickler moreso than Ryanair also.
26/05/2009, 11:14 AM
I wouldn't rely on Paul, JT.
Thats good advice in general. :)
26/05/2009, 11:15 AM
Thats good advice in general. :)
Nice edit there you cheeky git :D
Polster
26/05/2009, 11:34 AM
This what happens when women come on board.. We have pages of discussions about hand bags!!! :)
Paddser
26/05/2009, 11:43 AM
Iv seen it once coming home from Birmingham, and my sister was made put her handbag into her hand luggage coming back from Gatwick. She had to leave some stuff behind at the Departure Gate to make room. (No doubt the lady enforcing her to do so, pocketed anything left behind for herself. It was new clothes) I travel regularly and normally it's fine. But Id just warn against ignoring it in the very unfortunate and unlikely off chance that they enforce it.
26/05/2009, 12:07 PM
Ya, fair point, I didn't mean to say ignore it, moreso there are ways around it. BUt ya be aware. For example "buying a handbag" at the airport I'd say they wouldn't be allowed to refuse bringing it on board, as it might breach their contract with the airport authority.
Newryrep
26/05/2009, 12:15 PM
Good man Newry!!......no need for me too bother getting any Lev now you are fully loaded.....see your in the Hotel Bar.......will you just be opening a Tab for us?;)
:eek: 1 euro a beer and SH still wont buy his own:p
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 12:34 PM
This what happens when women come on board.. We have pages of discussions about hand bags!!! :)
cranky bum :cool:
Paddser
26/05/2009, 1:26 PM
The Sveta gets better reviews here JT. It seems to be in a great location, which is all I really look for on a football trip.
http://www.virtualtourist.com/hotels/Europe/Bulgaria/Oblast_Grad_Sofiya/Sofia-379460/Hotels_and_Accommodations-Sofia-Sveta_Sofia-BR-1.html
26/05/2009, 1:32 PM
It is central and it has JT, what more can you want.
26/05/2009, 1:43 PM
If you went with a proper airline like Lufthansa, you'd have a 20kg allowance, get something to eat on the flight, check in on the ground rather than online, and be treated as a passenger should be treated, even possibly cheaper than with O'Leary's brigade.
eaststand85
26/05/2009, 1:44 PM
Ya, fair point, I didn't mean to say ignore it, moreso there are ways around it. BUt ya be aware. For example "buying a handbag" at the airport I'd say they wouldn't be allowed to refuse bringing it on board, as it might breach their contract with the airport authority.
Wouldn't be so sure with Ryanair, see the story below:
http://www.independent.ie/travel/travel-advice/ryanair-to-impose-new-836430-surcharge-for-dutyfree-bags-1624945.html
Christ, just got the tickets, their the most flimmsiest tickets I have ever seen going to away games. Can see people losing them pretty handy. Tickets are at the corner of the ground:(
Paddser
26/05/2009, 1:52 PM
Christ, just got the tickets, their the most flimmsiest tickets I have ever seen going to away games. Can see people losing them pretty handy. Tickets are at the corner of the ground:(
They really are the flimsiest things I've come across. Paper thin!! In fairness to the FAI, they seem to be prepared for people losing them and have left a mobile number to contact if you lose them over there.
Ps: You could spend hours reading through this if you want! Good guide:
http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Europe/Bulgaria/Oblast_Grad_Sofiya/Sofia-379460/TravelGuide-Sofia.html
I travel with them at least once a week and have seen it enforced a lot recently. Flew from Dublin to East Midlands this morning and the woman at the gate walked down the line of passengers checking no one had more than one bag. Made a couple of American's behind me force their duty free into their handluggage.
26/05/2009, 1:58 PM
I flew last week with Ryanair and they were very strict both ways checking the size of the bags but not the weight before boarding. It was strictly one bag only incl handbags duty free etc. they had a cardboard cutout that went over your bag and if it didn't fit inside then tough.
I'm flying with them on friday and am going to be very careful with my luggage. One night won't be a problem though.
My bag was also weighed in Hahn by security using Ryanair going to Bari.
I wonder how the airports will react as more and more stuff gets dumped at gates. It will almost always make sense to leave the bag and clothes rather than wait and pay for a new flight.
I'm on cityjet/air france to/from sofia so OK for this trip.
In fairness to the FAI, they seem to be prepared for people losing them and have left a mobile number to contact if you lose them over there.
Love the name of the guy to ring if ye lose your tickets, McGLUE, good man to ring for spare tickets as he should have a few stuck to him:D
Good man Newry!!......no need for me too bother getting any Lev now you are fully loaded.....see your in the Hotel Bar.......will you just be opening a Tab for us?
[QUOTE=Newryrep;1167276 1 euro a beer and SH still wont buy his own[/QUOTE]
Surely you're not surprised at that Newry :rolleyes: :o :D
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 2:36 PM
Hey,
Sveta emailed me back. €7.00 per person collection. Max 13 in Mini Bus
Im going to book the mini bus for collection your 3 and the 10 of us is 13. You ok with that ?
--------------------------------------------
unfortunately our bus is up to 13 people and we can not provide pick up for more then 13 people.
The price is 7 euro/per person if you are coming 13 people all together.
Hey,
Sveta emailed me back. €7.00 per person collection. Max 13 in Mini Bus
Im going to book the mini bus for collection your 3 and the 10 of us is 13. You ok with that ?
--------------------------------------------
unfortunately our bus is up to 13 people and we can not provide pick up for more then 13 people.
The price is 7 euro/per person if you are coming 13 people all together.
€91 :eek:, the taxi firm collecting me said they would collect the 14 of yez for €42
Girl in Green
26/05/2009, 2:44 PM
JT you have them in a spin talkin about handbags; you better stay at home!!!!
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 2:51 PM
€91 :eek:, the taxi firm collecting me said they would collect the 14 of yez for €42
Ah ill change it so ! Can you send me details of your taxi place ? email address??
thanks a mill
26/05/2009, 3:00 PM
But theres only 13?! :confused: :p
JT,New'09
26/05/2009, 3:04 PM
But theres only 13?! :confused: :p
ahhh i see :confused:
Well i dont no then , maybe just go with one for 92euro. Better than queing for taxis, when there is drink to be drank !
26/05/2009, 5:50 PM
Where did you expect them to be? :confused: Hopefully it'll be somewhere near the goals, which as away fans, where we should be.
Don't think the ticket condition is that bad. It doesn't have to weigh half a kg, to be a valid ticket.
On at least 2 occasions when we've played in Sofia, it's been lashing down. Hopefully the weather will improve this time.