View Full Version : Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009
Pages :
[
5]
stiffler
20/01/2009, 5:18 PM
Anyone know of any plans of a chartered flight for this game possibly leaving dublin the day before?
Greenforever
20/01/2009, 6:30 PM
Anyone know of any plans of a chartered flight for this game possibly leaving dublin the day before?
Easyjet fly from Gatwick at 6am on the Sat morning for £42 inc tax
21/01/2009, 6:23 PM
Anyone found hotels in Sofia with triple rooms?
offaly16
22/01/2009, 8:18 AM
Lads check out this
www.iht.com/articles/2009/01/14/europe/sofia.php?WT.mc_id=newsalert
Lads check out this
www.iht.com/articles/2009/01/14/europe/sofia.php?WT.mc_id=newsalert
Hopefully not another away match itinery to re-arrange :eek: :mad:
Sligo Hornet
22/01/2009, 8:52 AM
Lads check out this
www.iht.com/articles/2009/01/14/europe/sofia.php?WT.mc_id=newsalert (http://www.iht.com/articles/2009/01/14/europe/sofia.php?WT.mc_id=newsalert)
Now that the Gas supply has been restored they don't have to run around rioting to stay warm!.......looked pretty nasty...some even throwing snowballs!
Hopefully not another away match itinery to re-arrange :eek: :mad:
......back to Mainz?....... I wonder if I'll find my 'phone?;)
Newryrep
22/01/2009, 9:04 AM
Now that the Gas supply has been restored they don't have to run around rioting to stay warm!.......looked pretty nasty...some even throwing snowballs!
......back to Mainz?....... I wonder if I'll find my 'phone?;)
Mainz would suit as I am going through Cologne :)
Sligo Hornet
22/01/2009, 9:15 AM
Mainz would suit as I am going through Cologne :)
Just dab a little behind your ears...it'll last longer!;)
SuperDub
22/01/2009, 10:00 AM
Anyone found hotels in Sofia with triple rooms?
We got a triple room in the Raddisson and there is even an orish bar in it:)
Junior
28/01/2009, 9:25 PM
Dont know if anyone has booked Manchester - Sofia with Bulgaria Air? However, I went to book mine today after checking the flights yesterday and they were at a decent price. Out Friday morning back Sunday afternoon for about 190 pound/euro.
Anyway theyve pulled the flights today. I spoke to their call centre and she said anyone who had booked would get a refund but didnt say why they had stopped flying the route (credit crunch I suppose). I think they are just flying one day a week now (Sunday)
Bummer - need to find something else now!!
awaythelads
29/01/2009, 1:19 PM
Dont know if anyone has booked Manchester - Sofia with Bulgaria Air? However, I went to book mine today after checking the flights yesterday and they were at a decent price. Out Friday morning back Sunday afternoon for about 190 pound/euro.
Anyway theyve pulled the flights today. I spoke to their call centre and she said anyone who had booked would get a refund but didnt say why they had stopped flying the route (credit crunch I suppose). I think they are just flying one day a week now (Sunday)
Bummer - need to find something else now!!
I booked this flight last November. They haven't told me that it's cancelled. I had a friendly text from Alitalia yesterday telling me they've cancelled my flight from Bari!!! These shysters have had £/€100s of my money for months now. If I try to cancel I lose all my money; they cancel and it's no problem. Let's see if they get back to me - I'll have them sort alternatives for me - if they want to cancel they can sort it.
Junior
29/01/2009, 1:26 PM
I booked this flight last November. They haven't told me that it's cancelled. I had a friendly text from Alitalia yesterday telling me they've cancelled my flight from Bari!!! These shysters have had £/€100s of my money for months now. If I try to cancel I lose all my money; they cancel and it's no problem. Let's see if they get back to me - I'll have them sort alternatives for me - if they want to cancel they can sort it.
Check the Bulfgaria Air website. If you check the timetable you can see they no longer fly from Manchester on the days you have booked. Also there is a UK telephone number you can check with.
Also, Id be interested to know what they offer you as an alternative. I had a look and from Manchester there only seems to be Lufthansa with a long change over.
For anyone flying with wizz air out on the thursday...
Flight has now changed by 90 minutes to a 21:55 departure, ie not landing until 02:55.
Only found out by looking trying to book another flight out for a friend
Flying with Bulgarian airlines our Friday back Sunday. Does anyone have any experiece of flying with them?
Junior
30/01/2009, 9:09 PM
Flying with Bulgarian airlines our Friday back Sunday. Does anyone have any experiece of flying with them?
Nope. From where? see post above re flights from Mcr
BradyIsMyHero
30/01/2009, 9:49 PM
Air Bulgaria
Was booked to go out from Manchester Fri 5 June
got a call from them today to say flight is now cancelled. Took up offer of alternative flight from Gatwick. Fri a.m. Now have Aer Lingus into Gatwick early Fri - good thing they have taken this "strategic option" to load up on flights into Gatwick. Ryanair option is too late on Fri.
Unfortunately, have to take a hit on the Ryanair into Manchester
Painn in the butt, but could have been worse - remember being stuck in a lift in the hotel in Sofia in 1987. Also, it was pi*sing rain, and we were robbed by ref
Things can only improve
Nope. From where? see post above re flights from Mcr
From Gatwick Friday morning and back on Sunday.
stojkovic
31/01/2009, 3:38 PM
.. and we were robbed by ref
That was the 80s alright.
Air Bulgaria
Was booked to go out from Manchester Fri 5 June
...could have been worse - remember being stuck in a lift in the hotel in Sofia in 1987. Also, it was pi*sing rain, and we were robbed by ref
Things can only improve
I was there in 1987 and flew with Balkan Airlines to Plovdiv (why? don't know as we had a coach drive through pot holed lanes to Mount Vitosha near Sofia). None of this safety info taxiing down the runway. Food was like cold overcooked beef with badly boiled half rotten potatoes. The cabin crew were less proactive than the passengers, some of whom were p*ssed after staying up all night to catch an early flight.
One of my mates even got hold of the public address and made a speech slagging us all off. The icing was a fight breaking out between two Irish lads from luton as we're landing. The cabin crew couldn't have given a greater f*ck.
I'd put money on saying that Bulgarian Airlines are nothing like Balkan Airlines.
As a postscript I've googled Balkan Airlines and it seems that they are now Bulgarian airlines. Good luck! ;)
Junior
01/02/2009, 3:44 PM
One of my mates even got hold of the public address and made a speech slagging us all off. The icing was a fight breaking out between two Irish lads from luton as we're landing. The cabin crew couldn't have given a greater f*ck.
sssshhhhh - keep that to yourself Lopez. Gspain doesnt think Irish fans get up to such malarky. If he did, he'd equate it to a hooligan problem that we have.;)
I remember flying with Balkan Air to Riga back in '94 and the plane had an escape rope on it - lord knows what you were supposed to do with it at 30,000ft??
As a postscript I've googled Balkan Airlines and it seems that they are now Bulgarian airlines. Good luck! ;)
sssshhhhh - keep that to yourself Lopez. Gspain doesnt think Irish fans get up to such malarky. If he did, he'd equate it to a hooligan problem that we have.;)
I remember flying with Balkan Air to Riga back in '94 and the plane had an escape rope on it - lord knows what you were supposed to do with it at 30,000ft??
Well its all booked now. Id fly in anything myself but the lad I travel with has only recently gotten to grips with flying. Better hope he doesnt read this. We are on the 1030 flight on the Friday from Gatwick so here''s hoping he falls asleep once he gets on the plane. Otherwise, early morning alcoholic persuasion will need to be employed.
02/02/2009, 8:28 AM
I recall somebody else denying that Tweedledum FC had a hooligan problem. There are plenty of examples on google that you do.
and no not everybody on every away trip have been angels. However we do not have a hooligan problem and we don't want one.
I recall somebody else denying that Tweedledum FC had a hooligan problem. There are plenty of examples on google that you do.
and no not everybody on every away trip have been angels. However we do not have a hooligan problem and we don't want one.Not interested in kicking off a debate about Luton Town's hooligan problem (either the one in Luton or the one in Glasgow), but I wouldn't consider two, otherwise good mates, having a roll around the aisle on a plane as hooliganism. The point was that Balkan Airlines were a joke of an airline where a row was allowed to escalate into this. Imagine Air Texas flying into Dallas Fort Worth with that carry on? Thirty years and a free pot of vaseline for yo'll! :D
Well its all booked now. Id fly in anything myself but the lad I travel with has only recently gotten to grips with flying. Better hope he doesnt read this. We are on the 1030 flight on the Friday from Gatwick so here''s hoping he falls asleep once he gets on the plane. Otherwise, early morning alcoholic persuasion will need to be employed.A good comparison could be made with Tarom, the Romanian national airline. When I flew with them in 1997 (I've never flew with them previously), they had Boeings and I couldn't fault the service. Airlines flying to Britain operate under as strict regulations as you can get, which is why some airlines, or some of their planes at least have been barred (eg. Pakistan airlines). Still, I find a small ammount of alcohol does make flying an altogether better experience. ;)
02/02/2009, 10:22 AM
Was still in college in April 87 and couldn't afford away trips then (as opposed to the ones in a tent in the years when I first started working). Anyway one of the college socialists who believed Bulgaria et al to be a workers paradise at the time decided to cheer for Bulgaria. It was funny at first but got tiresome. He had no interest in football and was actually taking the **** but his cheering and well done comrades when Bulgaria went 1 up didn't go down well and at half time he decided to leave. On his way out of the Students Union area he met a crowd coming out of a lecture. "How is the match going?" "Great we are 1 up was his reply". They were livid. nothing worse than thinking you are 1 up then discovering you are 1 down. He probably works for Aertel now. :D
He had to keep his head low in UCC for a few days after that one or we would have had a hooligan problem. :D
lopez
02/02/2009, 12:16 PM
Was still in college in April 87 and couldn't afford away trips then (as opposed to the ones in a tent in the years when I first started working). Anyway one of the college socialists who believed Bulgaria et al to be a workers paradise at the time decided to cheer for Bulgaria. It was funny at first but got tiresome. He had no interest in football and was actually taking the **** but his cheering and well done comrades when Bulgaria went 1 up didn't go down well and at half time he decided to leave. On his way out of the Students Union area he met a crowd coming out of a lecture. "How is the match going?" "Great we are 1 up was his reply". They were livid. nothing worse than thinking you are 1 up then discovering you are 1 down. He probably works for Aertel now. :D
He had to keep his head low in UCC for a few days after that one or we would have had a hooligan problem. :DThe w*nker had obviously never been at any length in these countries let alone had the misfortune to live there. The Soviet Union to me was the first shock of how a Socialist Utopia was complete b*ll*cks. I wore shorts to the game in Bulgaria (I'd worn them in the previous few games, including Glasgow, as they seemed lucky). Walking in, I got a shock on my legs. A policeman was laughing with his mate as he'd zapped me with a electric truncheon (bit like a cattle prod). A minute later another one zapped me.
Another thing I remember was all this illegal changing of money. Best people were waiters in the hotel, as they were regulars and totally trustworthy. One bloke was wondering around the hotel looking to change but we steered clear. I saw him one night being spoken to by the police. He went off with them. Next night he looked like chi-chi the panda, poor bloke. I wasn't going to go to this match, but I think 22 years is long enough for an improvement.
BTW, your man is probably running Aertel and is a complete **** of a boss to work with.
Junior
02/02/2009, 12:32 PM
and no not everybody on every away trip have been angels. However we do not have a hooligan problem and we don't want one.
One mans hooliganism problem is another mans alcohol fuelled idiocy.
Trashing a hotel room (your example from Seville), Grounded Flight from Vigo (an alcohol fuelled fight amongst fans - sounds very similar to Lopez' story apart from the grounding!).
Of course its unacceptable - ned'ish behaviour that we could all do without -but hooliganism - No, not in my book anyway.
I simply equate hooliganism to organised gangs of lads going on the rampage, looking for trouble and not caring what gets in their way. You obviously include isolated incidents of public disorder/damage within your definition.
Not sure who Tweedledum FC are meant to be, however, if Im right in assuming you mean Celtic, does this not simply further my point that you have an axe to grind with Celtic and our supporters?
I wont reply to any further posts as I guess we have dragged this on now and over a couple of threads. Cheers, Jnr
02/02/2009, 12:34 PM
I guess we have dragged this on now and over a couple of threads.
Indeed. Can we get back on topic from now?
02/02/2009, 12:40 PM
I flew Balkan Airlines to Plovdiv in 1993, we sat beside the exit door, which rattled the whole journey, heavy frost appeared all around the inside of the exit door and we were frozen the whole journey. We were taking it in turns to sit beside the "loose" door :eek:
Funny to hear they are now Bulgaria Air, jaysus
I flew Balkan Airlines to Plovdiv in 1993, we sat beside the exit door, which rattled the whole journey, heavy frost appeared all around the inside of the exit door and we were frozen the whole journey. We were taking it in turns to sit beside the "loose" door :eek:
Funny to hear they are now Bulgaria Air, jaysusYou know, the longer we go on the more glad I'm flying with Easyjet. :o
Greenforever
02/02/2009, 11:23 PM
Funny to hear they are now Bulgaria Air, jaysus
You must have been just out of nappys then, 15 yrs ago?
03/02/2009, 5:15 PM
You know, the longer we go on the more glad I'm flying with Easyjet.
That's true. Easyjet are good, at least they still provide a sick bag, don't think ryanair do that anymore :rolleyes:
You must have been just out of nappys then, 15 yrs ago?
Just about, was on a school trip :eek:
Sligo Hornet
03/02/2009, 6:22 PM
That's true. Easyjet are good, at least they still provide a sick bag, don't think ryanair do that anymore :rolleyes:
Just about, was on a school trip :eek:
Yeah.....as a teacher!;)
03/02/2009, 6:25 PM
Sure Green Trible left nappys when she was 25
Sligo Hornet
03/02/2009, 6:34 PM
Sure Green Trible left nappys when she was 25
Oh Dear......and you two almost engaged...."there may be trouble ahead....."
http://i44.tinypic.com/11ucolt.jpg
09/02/2009, 3:24 PM
:D :D Shocking, are yous 2 tramps going to be in kate's around 430pm on wed?
Sligo Hornet
09/02/2009, 3:42 PM
:D :D Shocking, are yous 2 tramps going to be in kate's around 430pm on wed?
Sorry to disappoint you,.........YES!!;)
p.s. I am not a tramp, I'm a gentleman.......can't vouchfor "KneeMcD"
09/02/2009, 3:49 PM
yeah I will be there from about 4 onwards. Wont be able to get on my bended knee this time though GT.
Saint Tom
10/02/2009, 7:43 PM
just bent over your knee Neil :eek:
Air Bulgaria cancelled the Manc-Sofia flights the saps. Stranded & down the cost of my Dublin-Manc flights. Ars. Why do these trips always end up costing about €800 more than they should?
Sligo Hornet
10/02/2009, 7:47 PM
Air Bulgaria cancelled the Manc-Sofia flights the saps. Stranded & down the cost of my Dublin-Manc flights. Ars. Why do these trips always end up costing about €800 more than they should?
Always seems to be the way.....no reward at all for planning ahead!....and some last minute Johnny come lately always picks up the bargains!:mad:
Newryrep
10/02/2009, 7:58 PM
Easyjet ? could be an option
Manchester–Sofia – summer
Manchester to Sofia Sofia to Manchester
Travel Day Flt No. Dep. Arr. Flt No. Dep. Arr.
Mo,Sa 1931 06:30 11:55 1932 12:30 13:55
We 19331 14:55 20:20 19341 20:55 22:20
Th 19332 13:55 19:20 19342 19:55 21:20
1From 6 May 2009. 2Until 30 April 2009.
Manchester–Sofia – winter
Manchester to Sofia Sofia to Manchester
Travel Day Flt No. Dep. Arr. Flt No. Dep. Arr.
Mo 19311 13:45 19:10 19321 19:50 21:15
Mo 19312 14:40 20:05 19322 20:45 22:10
Th,Sa 1933 06:35 12:00 1934 12:40 14:05
1Until 23 February 2009. 2From 2 March 2009.
Easyjet ? could be an option
Nice one lad, the days & times don't suit unfortunately. I'll trawl through the posts on Saturday & see what I can come up with.
Junior
10/02/2009, 9:59 PM
nothing doing from Manchester or anything in the North West thats not bloody expensive or with long changes!!
We are flying from Gatwick out Friday and back Sunday. Will Air Bulgaria not transfer you onto that one? I think I remember reading in this thread that some guys who were booked on that cancelled Manchester flight got transfered. You only need to worry about the London flights then.
Chippy
11/02/2009, 1:39 PM
We are flying from Gatwick out Friday and back Sunday. Will Air Bulgaria not transfer you onto that one? I think I remember reading in this thread that some guys who were booked on that cancelled Manchester flight got transfered. You only need to worry about the London flights then.
Now this crowd have moved their 10.30am flight from Gatwick on the Friday morning to about 5o'clock that evening from Heathrow !!!! I am not a happy camper :mad::mad:
SouthAfrica2010
18/02/2009, 12:23 PM
I`m staying in Les Fleurs with the missus also, so that seems to be three people from here as I read that Sligo Hornet and Moscow Mule will also be there (If ye will have a couple of spare tickets at that time i`ll certainly take them off your hands). As there are only 31 rooms we already have a fair dent in it already. Seems a great location on the main street, with two irish bars just around the corner jj murphys and McCarthys a stones throw away and even better 1.10 euro for a pint of local draught (they both have menus lists on their websites).
The national stadium is in the city centre, a 15 minute walk from the main street. Sounds like heaven. Pubs and stadium in walking distance and some shops nearby to keep herself happy. See ye there in June.
Sligo Hornet
18/02/2009, 12:29 PM
I`m staying in Les Fleurs with the missus also, so that seems to be three people from here as I read that Sligo Hornet and Moscow Mule will also be there (If ye will have a couple of spare tickets at that time i`ll certainly take them off your hands). As there are only 31 rooms we already have a fair dent in it already. Seems a great location on the main street, with two irish bars just around the corner jj murphys and McCarthys a stones throw away and even better 1.10 euro for a pint of local draught (they both have menus lists on their websites).
The national stadium is in the city centre, a 15 minute walk from the main street. Sounds like heaven. Pubs and stadium in walking distance and some shops nearby to keep herself happy. See ye there in June.
Yes...great location, but it's not all good news..........Newryrep is also booked into the same hotel!:eek::D
Newryrep
18/02/2009, 7:56 PM
Yes...great location, but it's not all good news..........Newryrep is also booked into the same hotel!:eek::D
I havent been thrown out of a hotel yet.
Dont worry SA2010 Sligo has great contacts, I fully expect to get tickets of him myself should the FAI not come through.:)
magnumpi
26/02/2009, 3:52 PM
bought my flights today, but looks as if i'm heading out alone to this one.
190 quid from heathrow with BA. not bad, but the flight back is at 6:45am on the sunday.:eek: