View Full Version : Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Paddser
08/01/2009, 3:39 PM
We're booked into the Rodina. Has got some bad reviews regarding "Ladies of the night" frequenting the lobby, but its one of the more central hotels. A lot seem to be abot 7 km from the city centre. I'd rather take my chances staggering back to the hotel, than getting a taxi! :)

I think it should be fine. Air conditioned as well

Greenforever
08/01/2009, 4:26 PM
We're booked into the Rodina. Has got some bad reviews regarding "Ladies of the night" frequenting the lobby, but its one of the more central hotels. A lot seem to be abot 7 km from the city centre. I'd rather take my chances staggering back to the hotel, than getting a taxi! :)

As long as its not like our hotel in Moscow where some of the ladies of the night in the hotel were transvestites:eek::eek:

08/01/2009, 7:05 PM
As long as its not like our hotel in Moscow where some of the ladies of the night in the hotel were transvestites:eek::eek:

And how did you find them? Was it like Begby from Trainspotting.

08/01/2009, 7:09 PM
Neil have ye got a hotel in Sofia yet?

08/01/2009, 7:29 PM
No not booked yet. Must do it one of these days

Cowboy
08/01/2009, 7:33 PM
Yeah I'm sure like most eastern Euro cities the hookers are around. One of the reasons I chose it was because its on the US miltary's list of monitored hotels which means every now and again someone will check things like exchange rates etc and strike them off if they dont come up to scratch, better than nothing I guess. http://www.virtualtourist.com/hotels/Europe/Bulgaria/Oblast_Grad_Sofiya/Sofia-379460/Hotels_and_Accommodations-Sofia-Rodina-BR-1.html

Greenforever
09/01/2009, 6:24 AM
And how did you find them? Was it like Begby from Trainspotting.

My travelling companion pointed them out to me:D as I was oogling them :eek: then I nearly got sick :eek: the drink blurs the vision, I reckon a few lads got a shock all right!!

Greenforever
09/01/2009, 6:25 AM
No not booked yet. Must do it one of these days

Try the Raddison in Sofia, beautiful hotel, right in the centre with an Irish bar.

Paddser
09/01/2009, 7:56 AM
Yeah I'm sure like most eastern Euro cities the hookers are around. One of the reasons I chose it was because its on the US miltary's list of monitored hotels which means every now and again someone will check things like exchange rates etc and strike them off if they dont come up to scratch, better than nothing I guess. http://www.virtualtourist.com/hotels/Europe/Bulgaria/Oblast_Grad_Sofiya/Sofia-379460/Hotels_and_Accommodations-Sofia-Rodina-BR-1.html

From one of the reviews:

"Has a pool, restaraunt, bar, lounge, gym, gift shop, salon, and a strip bar on the top floor!" :D

There's a few from here staying there anyway. Looking forward to it, as cant get time off work for Bari. We get in on the Wizzair flight at 1.30am Thursday night......Straight to the top floor! ;)

eaststand85
09/01/2009, 10:40 AM
Neil have ye got a hotel in Sofia yet?

Looking into Hotels at the moment and no shortage of options (unlike Bari), just want to make sure we're in a good location. According to TripAdvisor and a couple of other sites the main strip for bars and nightlife is Vitosha Boulevard, anyone know if this is true? Also, is there any danger the match won't be played in the Vasil Levski National Stadium?

Sligo Hornet
09/01/2009, 10:50 AM
Looking into Hotels at the moment and no shortage of options (unlike Bari), just want to make sure we're in a good location. According to TripAdvisor and a couple of other sites the main strip for bars and nightlife is Vitosha Boulevard, anyone know if this is true? Also, is there any danger the match won't be played in the Vasil Levski National Stadium?

Yes......and....No

Claret Murph
09/01/2009, 10:56 AM
Yes......and....No

or would that be maybe or maybe not ;)

eaststand85
09/01/2009, 10:58 AM
Yes......and....No

Thanks Hornet, any idea if Vitosha Boulevard is dangerous/seedy like some Eastern European places can be or more mainstream?

Sligo Hornet
09/01/2009, 11:04 AM
or would that be maybe or maybe not ;)

Try and be more decisive Murph!:D

Sligo Hornet
09/01/2009, 11:08 AM
Thanks Hornet, any idea if Vitosha Boulevard is dangerous/seedy like some Eastern European places can be or more mainstream?

Truth is eaststand85 I haven't been there before so not too sure myself (other than reading what is written by other tourists)........sure it'll be seedy enough when we get there!;)

eaststand85
09/01/2009, 11:15 AM
Truth is eaststand85 I haven't been there before so not too sure myself (other than reading what is written by other tourists)........sure it'll be seedy enough when we get there!;)

No doubt! :D

eaststand85
14/01/2009, 1:11 PM
I've got my e-mail confirmation now that I'm moved to Cityjet/Air France from Czech Airlines.

I opted for the 3 hour connection in Paris on the way over. It's probably overkill and they will probably hold the plane rather than put up a group of Irish fans for the night. However CDG is a nightmare for changing planes and it means peace of mind. Both flights depart/arrive from Terminal 2 so it shouldn't be too bad.

Be careful if called, a friend was called on saturday and offered a refund only. He then called me, I explained re offer of re-route. He called them back within 5 minutes but was told it was too late. It has now cost him over €100 extra to book through Frankfurt.

For those flying with City Jet/Air France via CDG, the connection time has been cut to 40 mins as the flight originally planned to depart Dublin at 14.20 is now leaving at 14.50 (see below which I got when I checked my booking online). One of the lads rang to rebook his Czech Air flights and they wouldn't put him on this, they made him take the 12.00 flight. Just wondering if we should do the same?

Does anyone know whether this is feasible of has anyone had any experience of transferring between Terminal 2E and Terminal 2F?

Flight 1 Thursday, June 04, 2009
confirmed, timechange Departure: 14:50 Dublin, Ireland - Dublin
Arrival: 17:50 Paris, France - Charles De Gaulle , terminal 2E

Airline: Air France AF5009 Duration: 2:00
Aircraft: Avro RJ85 Avroliner
Last check in: 0:30 before flight

Operated by Cityjet
Fare type: Economy Restricted
Baggage: 23 kilogram(s) per traveller
SNACK OR BRUNCH

Change of plane required. Time between flights = 0:40

Flight 2 Thursday, June 04, 2009
confirmed Departure: 18:30 Paris, France - Charles De Gaulle , terminal 2F
Arrival: 22:15 Sofia, Bulgaria - Sofia International , terminal 2

Airline: Air France AF2786 Duration: 2:45
Aircraft: Airbus Industrie A318
Last check in: 0:30 before flight

Fare type: Economy Restricted
Baggage: 23 kilogram(s) per traveller
MEAL (NON SPECIFIC)

14/01/2009, 2:31 PM
For those flying with City Jet/Air France via CDG, the connection time has been cut to 40 mins as the flight originally planned to depart Dublin at 14.20 is now leaving at 14.50 (see below which I got when I checked my booking online). One of the lads rang to rebook his Czech Air flights and they wouldn't put him on this, they made him take the 12.00 flight. Just wondering if we should do the same?

Does anyone know whether this is feasible of has anyone had any experience of transferring between Terminal 2E and Terminal 2F?

They will probably hold the plane anyway as they are responsible for getting you to Sofia and will have to pay for a hotel. Given the numbers on the flight going to Sofia you should be OK.

It is feasible but tight. CDG has clusters of gates like spokes on a wheel. So you'll need to come in one and back out another. The good news is you stay in terminal 2 as changing terminals is a nightmare.

I would not checkin bags. I've had bad experiences there in the past albeit 9-10 years ago when I changed planes there a few times.

eaststand85
14/01/2009, 2:41 PM
]They will probably hold the plane anyway as they are responsible for getting you to Sofia and will have to pay for a hotel. [/B] Given the numbers on the flight going to Sofia you should be OK.

It is feasible but tight. CDG has clusters of gates like spokes on a wheel. So you'll need to come in one and back out another. The good news is you stay in terminal 2 as changing terminals is a nightmare.

I would not checkin bags. I've had bad experiences there in the past albeit 9-10 years ago when I changed planes there a few times.

Thanks gspain, worst case scenario then would appear to be that they pay the hotel and there's a morning flight at 10.10 the next day which gets into Bulgaria at 13.55. Would rather avoid if possible though.

Paulie
14/01/2009, 4:44 PM
We're in the same boat. The email I got stated "Due to a schedule time change to your new Air France reservation, your flights no longer allow a valid connection time in Paris."

Considering that we are not now due to get into Paris until 17:50 and the flight to Sofia leaves at 18:30, we opted for the midday flight from Dublin to Paris. I personally have no objection to having a few beers while we wait for our connecting flight.

eaststand85
14/01/2009, 4:50 PM
Probably see you in the CDG bar so Paulie, going to ring and change too. Starting to feel very unloved by Air France/Czech Airlines though, didn't get any e-mail (again) and only found out about this by accident and as mentioned previously when I rang to try and rearrange the flight originally I was told a refund was the only option. Thank God for foot.ie!

Paulie
14/01/2009, 4:55 PM
Yeah, sure a session is a session regardless of the venue.

That's pretty poor service by Czech Air. The options which you are offered under such circumstances should be the same regardless of which representative of the company you happen to end up talking to. We had no problem changing ours. Having said this I still haven't received the confirmation emails.

eaststand85
14/01/2009, 4:57 PM
Took two weeks and a couple of phone calls before we got ours the last time so wouldn't worry too much.

kevh
14/01/2009, 6:43 PM
Everyone flying with Czech Airlines

I changed my flight

Leaving Dublin Thurs 4th 7.55Am arriving Sofia 3.35 (flying with Malev via Budapest)

Flight home on Sunday is with Air France leaving at 2.45pm

I think this is a good option, I have had no problems with Czech Air changing my booking

offaly16
15/01/2009, 7:53 AM
Everyone flying with Czech Airlines

I changed my flight

Leaving Dublin Thurs 4th 7.55Am arriving Sofia 3.35 (flying with Malev via Budapest)

Flight home on Sunday is with Air France leaving at 2.45pm

I think this is a good option, I have had no problems with Czech Air changing my booking

I tried to change my flights today to the Malev today but I was told no, no, no and no. If I wanted to change to malev I would have to pay €600 extra. Now on the 12 flight to Paris getting in at 3pm. Oh well 3 hours in the Bar.

Paulie
15/01/2009, 10:29 AM
Took two weeks and a couple of phone calls before we got ours the last time so wouldn't worry too much.

I rang them this morning again and got the email confirmations immediately.

15/01/2009, 11:17 AM
Lads I am on the 12pm flight too, how many changes is this now. If it was not so easy to change with them I would be ****ed off. See you in the Bar in CDG as I will be on my own.

offaly16
15/01/2009, 11:21 AM
Lads I am on the 12pm flight too, how many changes is this now. If it was not so easy to change with them I would be ****ed off. See you in the Bar in CDG as I will be on my own.

See you in Bar in Dublin Airport 1st!!!!!!
The number of changes are unreal with them and we are now having the same problems with the flights to Cyprus in September. The customer service agent was very helpful this morning and signed us up to OK plus programme because we will be taking so many flights over the nest few months. Unreal

Sligo Hornet
15/01/2009, 11:28 AM

??? Where's Paul?

15/01/2009, 12:33 PM
He is on a different flight from Cork to Heathrow and on to Sofia.

eaststand85
15/01/2009, 2:11 PM
Three of us just switched to 12pm flight too. Somebody should advise the bar in CDG to stock up.

15/01/2009, 5:11 PM
Yeah, sure a session is a session regardless of the venue.

have flown throgh CDG on a few occasions and facilities are sparse at best. maybe an idea to stock up on duty free in dublin

15/01/2009, 7:27 PM
Spent a night there one time, Not much to do to be honest but there was five of us so we passed the night away.

Sligo Hornet
15/01/2009, 7:42 PM
Spent a night there one time, Not much to do to be honest but there was five of us so we passed the night away.

I've been there a few times, and agree there's feck all there......go to the Hotel next door...got quite a decent bar there (obviously before you go through security)

Paulie
16/01/2009, 9:35 AM
Surely there will be some kind of little bar even if it's in the form of a cafe and they just sell cans(?)

aidz1
16/01/2009, 9:40 AM
i cancelled my czech airlines 5 weeks ago when they changed the flights.
only getting the refund now.
Chose the wizz air route luton-sofia instead thurs-sun.

eaststand85
16/01/2009, 9:41 AM
Surely there will be some kind of little bar even if it's in the form of a cafe and they just sell cans(?)

Check out http://www.aeroportsdeparis.fr/ADP/fr-FR/Passagers/boutiques-services/Se-Restaurer/bar-terminal-2f-paris-charles-de-gaulle.htm

This is what's on offer in Terminal 2F where the flight is due to leave from. Don't speak French and can't find the English version of this page so can anyone translate?

16/01/2009, 10:06 AM
A couple of cafes there some selling wine by the glass but no mention of beer but I am sure they do sell it but probably in tiny bottles and for about ten euro each. A bag of cans would be the way but you probably would not be allowed bring them on the flight:)))

Moscow Mule
16/01/2009, 7:29 PM
A couple of cafes there some selling wine by the glass but no mention of beer but I am sure they do sell it but probably in tiny bottles and for about ten euro each. A bag of cans would be the way but you probably would not be allowed bring them on the flight:)))

Been through the airport a number of times and the self service cafes had cans of Carlsberg ( not sure of price) but it is not the place to have a raging thirst.

Newryrep
19/01/2009, 11:26 AM
Tramps at Germanwings changed the flights times out of Cologne to 4 hrs later - will now get in at 21.30 not 17.10 on the Fri night.

On the plus side an extra 4 hrs in Cologne.

Anybody know how to get cheap single flights out of Lufthansa ? - Duss - Sof one way on the Fri is E1000 :eek:

Claret Murph
19/01/2009, 12:00 PM
Anybody know how to get cheap single flights out of Lufthansa ? - Duss - Sof one way on the Fri is E1000 :eek:

A Thousand Euro :eek: I wonder if you get free tea with that flight or do you have to pay for it ;)

19/01/2009, 12:03 PM
I was looking at flights there before with Air France and the return from Paris to Sofia came to 250 euro and the single was 1375 euro.

Sligo Hornet
19/01/2009, 12:44 PM
Tramps at Germanwings changed the flights times out of Cologne to 4 hrs later - will now get in at 21.30 not 17.10 on the Fri night.

On the plus side an extra 4 hrs in Cologne.

Yes........lower your standards and travel Economy Class;)

Newryrep
19/01/2009, 2:09 PM
Yes........lower your standards and travel Economy Class;)

Good God I have already lowered my standards to fly Business class as it is, i refuse to go into steerage.:)

19/01/2009, 2:19 PM
Good job on running FAS Newryrep.

Sligo Hornet
19/01/2009, 2:24 PM
Good God I have already lowered my standards to fly Business class as it is, i refuse to go into steerage.:)

Well by the time you arrive at our hotel......the "steerage" will have drunk the bar dry!!;)

Newryrep
19/01/2009, 2:49 PM
Good job on running FAS Newryrep.

Unfortunately Neil I have never had the pleasure of 1st class Travel although I would hazard a guess that a certain contributor form Watford may have experienced it.:)

Moscow Mule
19/01/2009, 7:15 PM
Unfortunately Neil I have never had the pleasure of 1st class Travel although I would hazard a guess that a certain contributor form Watford may have experienced it.:)

In his dreams:rolleyes:

Sligo Hornet
19/01/2009, 7:28 PM
In his dreams:rolleyes:

Well some dreams have already been realised.......Cossacks to you!!;)

AidoM
20/01/2009, 10:32 AM
Unfortunately Neil I have never had the pleasure of 1st class Travel although I would hazard a guess that a certain contributor form Watford may have experienced it.

In his dreams

Well some dreams have already been realised.......Cossacks to you!!

At least your bags arrive on time when you go steerage :p :eek: :o