View Full Version : Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009
Pages :
[
18]
zinedineontour
29/05/2009, 5:21 PM
I know !! I am only in Tue & Wed next week yahoooooo
I checked the 10 day forecast earlier. Its raining in Sofia at the min, but due to stop Wednesday/Thursday , Friday & Saturday are to be dry and Sunny :):)
Great ill be like a rooster come mid friday then ! Did you say there is a beer garden in the Sveta ? Good way to start the pub crawl on friday !!
captkeen
29/05/2009, 10:42 PM
hi Guys. Well not long to go to a very important game in Sofia , a city Ireland have not won in. Honest predictions...........
I say 0-0. With no out and out striker i can`t see where the goal will come from but if we win i will be in Mccarthy`s afterwards and if you shout Captkeen Ill buy you a beer :D
4 in a row
29/05/2009, 11:00 PM
I reckon we can sneak this one. 1 nil or 2-1.
Il take you up and that offer Captkeen:p
Il have to look for a internet cafe on the Friday night so i can see whats going on in cork for the Rovers game. Hopefully a good weekend with a Rovers and Ireland win:D
Less than a week away now. Cant wait!!!
29/05/2009, 11:13 PM
hi Guys. Well not long to go to a very important game in Sofia , a city Ireland have not won in. Honest predictions...........
I say 0-0. With no out and out striker i can`t see where the goal will come from :D
Robbie Keane?? :confused:
I'll gladly take 0-0, thanks very much. It's our hardest game left in the campaign, so a result for us keeps Bulgaria at arms length.
finbarrk
30/05/2009, 10:09 AM
The Italy game will be harder I think.
The Scientist
30/05/2009, 11:11 AM
i have a really bad feeling about this!! would be delighted with a nil all!!
i think our midfield will be out run and out played and i fear 1 nil to bulgaria!
SuperDub
30/05/2009, 8:32 PM
I just saw this travel advise posted on the Dept of Foreign Affairs website. Apologies if it has already been posted.
http://www.dfa.ie/home/index.aspx?id=400
eaststand85
31/05/2009, 9:02 AM
I just saw this travel advise posted on the Dept of Foreign Affairs website. Apologies if it has already been posted.
Good to know, thanks.
ArdeeBhoy
31/05/2009, 9:37 PM
I just saw this travel advice posted on the Dept of Foreign Affairs website. Apologies if it has already been posted.
Worth putting up as a sticky until the game, Admin?
Especially the security advice around the game, as there is a slim chance the native fans will be not as obliging as some. Especially, in the unlikely event of us winning?
01/06/2009, 2:34 PM
WTF, the DFA travel advisory status is "Normal Precauions", the same as England, US, etc. i.e. the lowest possible ranking.
Have you ever been abroad for a match lads ffs?!
99% of that notice applies to foreigners coming to Ireland!!
magnumpi
01/06/2009, 2:36 PM
hope we don't get caught in the cross-fire between rival Sofia fans!!
can't see us winning, would gladly take a drab nil-nil. an article in the indo this weekend had given saying that the bulgarian lads at city have been talking about the game for months. i'd say they're really eyeing this one as the way to get back into the group.
if we do win, 1euro a pint will make for great celebtrations.
SuperDub
01/06/2009, 3:25 PM
WTF, the DFA travel advisory status is "Normal Precauions", the same as England, US, etc. i.e. the lowest possible ranking.
I just thought the link might be useful to some. If you don't want to read it don't bother. To answer your question yes i have been travelling to away games for 20 years.
citizenerased
01/06/2009, 4:36 PM
Not sure bout where he is from but you would recognise him from all of the away games as he is the only one in a blazer and tie in the middle of the Irish fans.
Joe is alright, he was the main man orgainsing the singing section with us..he is an out an out dub. Jaysus didnt hear he got the champ lge final gig.
citizenerased
01/06/2009, 4:38 PM
on another note,,,,,,is any pub showing the Meath V Dublin Match in sofia
lufthansa have a flight to bulgaria (sofia) any fans on it i wonderWe'll be on the one from Dub at midday via Munchen. Probably hold off drinking till Munich though so that'll probably be around 3 or 4pm Irish time. Will see any fellow fans at the bar (or in the carpark with a few cans (time & weather permitting)).
EastTerracer
01/06/2009, 7:02 PM
on another note,,,,,,is any pub showing the Meath V Dublin Match in sofia
Way back in 93/94 JJ Murphy's used to have a dodgy sky box and would show all the matches on RTE. I'm not sure if they still have access but I think it would be your best bet.
I remember watching Celtic v Barcelona on TG4 sitting in the bar there. A crowd of English lads were very impressed that I was able to translate the "Bulgarian" commentary by Sean Ban Breathnach ;)
captkeen
01/06/2009, 7:37 PM
Finishing work tomorrow, and getting the buzz you get when you are heading for a holiday with the lads. would love to meet up with you guys on Friday night ,Anyone got any ideas where they are going or is there a mobile link for us all. Seems a shame if we don`t .I have no problems giving my mobile if you pm me. Come on ..............lets be having you...to quote a famous phrase.Name that person.
01/06/2009, 10:00 PM
frlying to Gatwick wednesday night cant wait.If its half as good as Bari it will be some craic.
We'll be on the one from Dub at midday via Munchen. Probably hold off drinking till Munich though so that'll probably be around 3 or 4pm Irish time. Will see any fellow fans at the bar (or in the carpark with a few cans (time & weather permitting)).
What day are you flying to Sofia cos a crowd of us who live in Munich are on the morning Lufthansa flight on Friday (9.25am and arrive in Sofia at 12.15pm)?
Polster
02/06/2009, 7:30 AM
Finishing work tomorrow, and getting the buzz you get when you are heading for a holiday with the lads. would love to meet up with you guys on Friday night ,Anyone got any ideas where they are going or is there a mobile link for us all. Seems a shame if we don`t .I have no problems giving my mobile if you pm me. Come on ..............lets be having you...to quote a famous phrase.Name that person.
The Delightful Delia
JT,New'09
02/06/2009, 8:19 AM
hope we don't get caught in the cross-fire between rival Sofia fans!!
can't see us winning, would gladly take a drab nil-nil. an article in the indo this weekend had given saying that the bulgarian lads at city have been talking about the game for months. i'd say they're really eyeing this one as the way to get back into the group.
if we do win, 1euro a pint will make for great celebtrations.
Jesus that would worry me ! I hope were going to be ok , id hate to get stuck in between both sets of bulgarian fans, :(
eaststand85
02/06/2009, 8:29 AM
Yes, but never where they have to segregate the opposition fans.
Paddser
02/06/2009, 8:35 AM
So has a meeting point on Saturday been decided on?
NDK Park at the top of Vitosha Boulevard at the end away from the city centre - about 15 minutes from Stadium
Paddser
02/06/2009, 8:49 AM
NDK Park at the top of Vitosha Boulevard at the end away from the city centre - about 15 minutes from Stadium
Perfect, cheers Aido
Sligo Hornet
02/06/2009, 8:59 AM
Great spot....plus Aido says he's buying all the beers!!;)
ArdeeBhoy
02/06/2009, 9:26 AM
Yes, but never where they have to segregate the opposition fans.
Yeah, be Careful out there, people.
newrynyuk
02/06/2009, 9:28 AM
Has this been posted here yet?:-
http://www.inyourpocket.com/data/download/sofia.pdf
A full guide to Sofia available to download. It's about 5Mb and very informative.
eaststand85
02/06/2009, 9:35 AM
A full guide to Sofia available to download. It's about 5Mb and very informative.
That's great Newry, saves having to buy a guide book or print out Google maps etc. Thanks!
02/06/2009, 10:20 AM
Use your sense of direction!
Is AidoM giving any massages SH?! :D
eaststand85
02/06/2009, 10:26 AM
Use your sense of direction!
Is AidoM giving any massages SH?! :D
My sense of direction is bad enough at the best of times but at €1 a pint it's liable to desert me altogether!
EastTerracer
02/06/2009, 11:59 AM
The actual printed book is usually available for free in the main hotels and restaurants in Sofia.
There is also a similar guide called the City Info Guide
http://cityinfoguide.net/index.php?c_id=44&p_id=1
eaststand85
02/06/2009, 4:07 PM
Apologies if this is the wrong place to post this (mods please feel free to move if so) or if it's already been asked (did a search but no joy).
I don't have travel insurance for this trip and in the current economic environment I'm unlikely to be booking any holidays in the near future so wondering if anyone can recommend somebody for single trip travel insurance? Looking for someone reliable and easy to deal with in case of any problems rather than just the cheapest policy. Thanks in advance!!
02/06/2009, 4:23 PM
Lads I am on the Thursday flight from Dublin to Sofia Paris originally booked with Czech Air but not flying with Air France. Is there many on this flight. Might be a possiblity of sharing a taxi in to town.
eaststand85
02/06/2009, 4:28 PM
Lads I am on the Thursday flight from Dublin to Sofia Paris originally booked with Czech Air but not flying with Air France. Is there many on this flight. Might be a possiblity of sharing a taxi in to town.
I'm on that flight with another lad so if you want you can join us, we'll be heading for the Sveta Sofia if that's any good to you?
02/06/2009, 4:54 PM
Yeah thats where I am staying too. Sounds perfect to me. Will pm my number
HarpoJoyce
02/06/2009, 7:52 PM
That's known as Yuzhen park aswell. Is there anything special arranged for there on the Saturday? Whatever about organised meetings, alot of locals will be hanging out around the city centre on Batenburg. Its where the yellow cobbled stones are on the top of Bul. Osvoboditel. There's alot of fountains and chill out areas. You may have to tolerate some skateboarders around there aswell though. Also heard that an outdoor bar is set-up there in the summer.
Two topics of conversations. Georgi Asparuhov who died in an auto accident in 1971. Seen here scoring at Wembly. (ad is for Shumensko beer.)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bX5tIZAAcyw&feature=related
He is still rated as Bulgaria's greatest footballer.
Levski Spartak (Min of Int./cops) and CSKA (Army) had a brawl at the end of a Cup Final in 1985. The Goverment changed there names as punishment to Vitosha and Sredets respectively. The names were changed back in 1989.
(not much brawling here, some individual tackles and an increasingly frustrated refereee.)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f1Y52oSjzNU
gwhite
02/06/2009, 10:22 PM
Getting the 8.30am Wizzair flight from Charleroi to Sofia on Thursday, landing midday local time. Will have a good scout around and post any decent bar names up that afternoon (if I can get near a pc) but everything seems to revolve around this Vitosha Boulevard.
02/06/2009, 10:44 PM
Apologies if this is the wrong place to post this (mods please feel free to move if so) or if it's already been asked (did a search but no joy).
I don't have travel insurance for this trip and in the current economic environment I'm unlikely to be booking any holidays in the near future so wondering if anyone can recommend somebody for single trip travel insurance? Looking for someone reliable and easy to deal with in case of any problems rather than just the cheapest policy. Thanks in advance!!
Try here (http://insurance.essentialtravel.ie/). Should be able to get 3/4 day cover for about 8 yoyos. They are covered by AIG.
eaststand85
03/06/2009, 8:12 AM
Try here (http://insurance.essentialtravel.ie/). Should be able to get 3/4 day cover for about 8 yoyos. They are covered by AIG.
Great, thanks Superhoops.
JT,New'09
03/06/2009, 8:36 AM
Great, thanks Superhoops.
Oh god im getting nervous now and getting butterflies in my stomach. Cannot believe heading out tomorrow , the time flew in.
Going to get 12 hours sleep tonight stock up on energy for session!
Hope weather is nice ! especially for match day :cool:
Sligo Hornet
03/06/2009, 8:43 AM
Oh god im getting nervous now and getting butterflies in my stomach. Cannot believe heading out tomorrow , the time flew in.
Going to get 12 hours sleep tonight stock up on energy for session!
Hope weather is nice ! especially for match day :cool:
Your wish looks set to come true!!:)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/170
Paddser
03/06/2009, 8:46 AM
Thunder showers and rain on Friday!! But still 24 degrees! Sounds good to me.:)
JT,New'09
03/06/2009, 9:10 AM
Your wish looks set to come true!!:)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/weather/forecast/170
ah cool ! the shades are getting packed ! :ball:
03/06/2009, 9:55 AM
Looking forward to this now, going to get my lev now in the P/O for 2.05 and get some travel insurance and ready to while the day away :D
Hopefully see some of ye out there, if yer trying to spot me, ill be wearing socks and sandles :D haha. No seriouslly ill be wearing a green coloured top!
offaly16
03/06/2009, 11:16 AM
Ye three of us are on those flights as well so a few beers in Paris the order ot the day.
The Scientist
03/06/2009, 12:24 PM
off now in a hour!! just back from the local to get a bit of healthy grub (before mcdonalds for 5 days) and 2 pints of cider.
cant ****ing wait!!!
JT,New'09
03/06/2009, 12:29 PM
off now in a hour!! just back from the local to get a bit of healthy grub (before mcdonalds for 5 days) and 2 pints of cider.
cant ****ing wait!!!
Your flying out today !!!
JT,New'09
03/06/2009, 12:30 PM
Cheers for this. Got cover of these for €14 for both me and my brother for trip ,:D
03/06/2009, 12:54 PM
Your flying out today !!!
Were flying to Gatwick in 6 hours yahhhhhhooooooooooo.Then the Easyjet early flight 6.40am to Sofia roll on 5 pm.