View Full Version : Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

16/09/2008, 11:54 AM
I think "alumnus" is the word your evidently non-college-educated mind is struggling for. ;)

ruben_sosa
17/09/2008, 4:45 PM
My parents have a place in Sunny Beach. Sun, sea, sex, beach, beer and football. Oooohh yeah!

and vicious wild dogs.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1570925/Woman-mauled-to-death-by-pack-of-wild-dogs.html

davey
21/09/2008, 8:24 AM
Easyjet fly Manchester - Sofia too. No prices up yet

Paulie
24/09/2008, 11:53 AM
We booked our flights with Czech Air yesterday. We arrive in Sofia on the Thursday in the early afternoon and leave in mid afternoon on Sunday. It came to 337 Euros which is ok. We could have done better on the price but the times suited us so we're happy enough. It was, up until a couple of days ago, possible to do it for about 250 Euros by flying to Gatwick on Aer Lingus and from there to Sofia on Bulgarian Air but that involved a 7:45am flight coming home on the Sunday morning so that was a non-runner for us.

Newryrep
24/09/2008, 12:15 PM
We booked our flights with Czech Air yesterday. We arrive in Sofia on the Thursday in the early afternoon and leave in mid afternoon on Sunday. It came to 337 Euros which is ok. We could have done better on the price but the times suited us so we're happy enough. It was, up until a couple of days ago, possible to do it for about 250 Euros by flying to Gatwick on Aer Lingus and from there to Sofia on Bulgarian Air but that involved a 7:45am flight coming home on the Sunday morning so that was a non-runner for us.

Is it not only an hour between flights in Prague ? looked at it but thought it might be a bit tight although there is a second flight later on. air france is something similar only 40 mins for a connection in CDG

Sligo Hornet
24/09/2008, 12:19 PM
Is it not only an hour between flights in Prague ? looked at it but thought it might be a bit tight although there is a second flight later on. air france is something similar only 40 mins for a connection in CDG

I agree...and in my experience, anything less than 90mins is almost a guaranteed "non-connection":eek:

AidoM
24/09/2008, 12:52 PM

I agree...and in my experience, anything less than 90mins is almost a guaranteed "non-connection":eek:

We've booked that as well. As the onward flight to Sofia is with Czech Air we should get our boarding passes in Dublin so there will be no need to check in in Prague. As this is a short trip there will be no need for suitcases (like the double header) just hand luggage (even for the "FLAG"). This will mean staying in the transit area and just going to the gate for the onward flight. Usually (hopefully) early morning flights are not delayed.

It will also mean no possibility of lost luggage like some people on the double header :rolleyes: :D

offaly16
24/09/2008, 1:05 PM
We are also booked on that flight, happy days ahead. We are staying in the Sveta Sofia hotel www.hotelsvetasofia.com Great location in the city centre and €80 fer night for a twin room.

We've booked that as well. As the onward flight to Sofia is with Czech Air we should get our boarding passes in Dublin so there will be no need to check in in Prague. As this is a short trip there will be no need for suitcases (like the double header) just hand luggage (even for the "FLAG"). This will mean staying in the transit area and just going to the gate for the onward flight. Usually (hopefully) early morning flights are not delayed.

It will also mean no possibility of lost luggage like some people on the double header :rolleyes: :D

aidz1
25/09/2008, 8:56 AM
6 of us are on the same flight (czech airlines via prague) fri-sun.
It seems that both flights will be full of irish, so even if the first one is delayed, they will probably hold the 2nd one anyway... (booked from dublin to sofia)

no accomadation booked yet. any experiences on the best areas to be located in the city of sofia?

Paulie
25/09/2008, 9:18 AM
If you are flying somewhere via somewhere else and it’s a single booking with the one airline then they are obliged to get you to your final destination. The last time I flew under these circumstances they held the second flight for us. If I was flying under two separate bookings on the one airline or two separate bookings on two different airlines I’d be concerned, in fact I wouldn’t have made the booking at all but like I said, when it’s one booking on the one airline, you’re safe as houses.

On another note we decided to splash out on the hotel. Normally we’re happy to go cheap and cheerful but you don’t often get the opportunity to stay in a five star city centre hotel for 120 Euros each a night for a single room, so we said we may as well. If anyone else is tempted you’ll find the hotel at www.arenadiserdica.com
The website only allows you to book one room at a time so I found it as easy to deal with them over the phone. By the way, the website says 100 Euros a night but there's 20% VAT to be added on.

Sligo Hornet
03/10/2008, 11:32 AM
Booked our trip......in the Friday morning from Heathrow (return Sunday afternoon) on BA £242 . 2 nights in Hotel Les Fleurs http://www.lesfleurshotel.com/ right bang in City Centre!!:)

Newryrep
03/10/2008, 12:30 PM
Booked our trip......in the Friday morning from Heathrow (return Sunday afternoon) on BA £242 . 2 nights in Hotel Les Fleurs http://www.lesfleurshotel.com/ right bang in City Centre!!:)

I see you are 'roughing' it

Edit: doesnt seem to be too much else in the city centre for less than £100pn - (Trip advisor)

AidoM
03/10/2008, 6:38 PM
I see you are 'roughing' it

Edit: doesnt seem to be too much else in the city centre for less than £100pn - (Trip advisor)

Newryrep, 4 of us and at least another pair one of whom dress up as a leipreachan and the other green shiny hair :confused: are staying in the Rodina Hotel. Our 4 lux single single rooms are €51 per night room (the hotel have confirmed that the rooms have air conditioning). I booked it through www.hotelclub.net

aidz1
03/10/2008, 8:01 PM
We have booked dublin to sofia through prague (fri-sun).
Havent looked into accomo yet.
any ideas on the best areas there are (looking something close to the nite life)

Newryrep
05/10/2008, 1:37 PM
Newryrep, 4 of us and at least another pair one of whom dress up as a leipreachan and the other green shiny hair :confused: are staying in the Rodina Hotel. Our 4 lux single single rooms are €51 per night room (the hotel have confirmed that the rooms have air conditioning). I booked it through www.hotelclub.net

Thanks anyway AidoM, spent a couple of hours looking and ended up booking in Hotel des Fleur as a bit of luxury. Fri - Mon. Me and Mrs Newryrep tend to go city centre if possible to avoid taxi's/public transport in and out, prefer to walk.

05/10/2008, 4:32 PM
any ideas why Sofia is so expensive (hotels wise?) I thought this would have been one of my cheaper away trips!!

AidoM
05/10/2008, 4:36 PM
Booked our trip......in the Friday morning from Heathrow (return Sunday afternoon) on BA £242 . 2 nights in Hotel Les Fleurs http://www.lesfleurshotel.com/ right bang in City Centre!!

Thanks anyway AidoM, spent a couple of hours looking and ended up booking in Hotel des Fleur as a bit of luxury. Fri - Mon. Me and Mrs Newryrep tend to go city centre if possible to avoid taxi's/public transport in and out, prefer to walk.

What are things coming to :confused: the foot.ie people going all posh :o and the world in recession :(

Hope the Hornets cases arrive or else you're in for an awful time Newry

Moscow Mule
05/10/2008, 6:12 PM

Myself and Mrs Mule are booked in the Les Fleur as well. Crazy looking place. Good to see that we will not be alone.

Look forward to catching up

Ivan aka Moscow Mule:)

Sligo Hornet
06/10/2008, 6:48 AM
What are things coming to :confused: the foot.ie people going all posh and the world in recession :(

Hope the Hornets cases arrive or else you're in for an awful time Newry

We are just banking (poor choice of word) on the economy showing signs of coming out of recession by June....otherwise we might have to re-think and book in to that "Rabble Hotel":eek:

Wont bother bringing ANY bags......Newry is about the same size as me so I'll just borrow some of his clobber!

Newryrep
06/10/2008, 8:23 AM
We are just banking (poor choice of word) on the economy showing signs of coming out of recession by June....otherwise we might have to re-think and book in to that "Rabble Hotel":eek:

Wont bother bringing ANY bags......Newry is about the same size as me so I'll just borrow some of his clobber!

As well you, and everybody knows at least four fifths of all available luggage space is taken up by a female travelling companion requirements due to alternative going out scenarios, alternative weather scenarios, alternative accessorise scenarios - i barely have room for a tootbrush.

06/10/2008, 9:31 AM
What recession.

AidoM
06/10/2008, 1:41 PM
We are just banking (poor choice of word) on the economy showing signs of coming out of recession by June....otherwise we might have to re-think and book in to that "Rabble Hotel"

What recession.

If the recession is over does this mean the Hornet will buy a round :confused:. He's been claiming that there's been a recession on for years and that's why he's never bought a round :mad: :rolleyes:

Newry, be careful even that toothbrush won't be safe

humpmeister7
06/10/2008, 4:54 PM

Does that woman in the picture come with the room??;)

cobra
07/10/2008, 11:55 AM
Were booked into a 2 bed apt in the following hotel;
http://www.rotasar.com/

€70 per night for the apt:)

Colie
07/10/2008, 8:50 PM
Were booked into a 2 bed apt in the following hotel;
http://www.rotasar.com/ Cheers lad. Just did the same. Stayin Friday & Saturday nights. €53 per night for an appartment that fits at least 4 & thats before anyone kips on the sofa/ floor/ bath. Sweet. Seems central enough. All the trams are free in these former Eastern Bloc cities as far as I can tell so we're laughing for our trips to the centre down Boulevard Tsarigradsko Shossee.

Tell me this, when do ya pay or when do they confirm the booking coz I just requested the appartment & "thanks for booking" came up?

cobra
07/10/2008, 11:12 PM

Tell me this, when do ya pay or when do they confirm the booking coz I just requested the appartment & "thanks for booking" came up?

Dont pay until your leaving I think, the following is their last e-mail to me;

> Hello,
We have the pleasure to confirm your reservation for 05 and 06 June 2009 -
2 nights for one aprtment with price 70 euro without breakfast.Please,
reconfirm your reservation one week before 05 of June.

Best regards
Hotel Rotasar

Place should be ok as was recommended to me by someone who already stayed there.

Newryrep
24/10/2008, 2:23 PM
Just booked

Thur 4th June Germanwings Dub 12.15 - Koln 15.15 - E62

Fri 5th June Germanwings Koln 13.35 - Sof 17.10

Mon 8th June Germanwings Sof 15.55 - Koln 17.40 - E145

Mon 8th June Aer Lingus Dusseldorf 21.10 - Dub 22.00 E90

Train Koln airport to dusseldorf airport E20

Total E317 excl hotels

Bit costlier that I first thought but the flight times are pretty convienient - no early starts/late arrivals bar arriving home.

Cologne is supposed to be nice and airport only 15 min from town.

Moscow Mule
24/10/2008, 8:21 PM
Just booked

Thur 4th June Germanwings Dub 12.15 - Koln 15.15 - E62

Fri 5th June Germanwings Koln 13.35 - Sof 17.10

Mon 8th June Germanwings Sof 15.55 - Koln 17.40 - E145

Mon 8th June Aer Lingus Dusseldorf 21.10 - Dub 22.00 E90

Train Koln airport to dusseldorf airport E20

Total E317 excl hotels

Bit costlier that I first thought but the flight times are pretty convienient - no early starts/late arrivals bar arriving home.

Cologne is supposed to be nice and airport only 15 min from town.

I was in Cologne earlier in the year and it is a great city with some top pubs. They just keep bringing you beer until you tell them to stop - dangerous or what! Enjoy and keep an eye out for the beer bike:)

aidz1
25/10/2008, 7:37 PM
Cologne is a nice city. beer is great. sightseeing wise, the cathedral is worth a nosey..did i tell you the beer is great??

think we stayed in a hotel called the four points hotel. it was only about 75e and is right beside the train station.

Newryrep
26/10/2008, 1:54 PM
Cologne is a nice city. beer is great. sightseeing wise, the cathedral is worth a nosey..did i tell you the beer is great??

think we stayed in a hotel called the four points hotel. it was only about 75e and is right beside the train station.

I was in Cologne earlier in the year and it is a great city with some top pubs. They just keep bringing you beer until you tell them to stop - dangerous or what! Enjoy and keep an eye out for the beer bike:)

Only really have half a day in it was going to spend a few more days in it but didnt want to use up all my holidays - hoping for a playoff later in the year:)

(Knock E20 approx off the E317 flight costs if you have no hand luggage)

zenokelly
29/10/2008, 9:20 PM
Just to let you know lads. Aer Lingus are flying direct from Dublin-Sofia from next year.

They only fly on Tuesday/saturday so it may not suit but at the moment if you fly out tuesday come back tuesday it works out at €237 (not incl. baggage) which is reasonable.

30/10/2008, 9:21 AM
noticed that flight zenokelly. steep enough but handy for those wanting to go direct

citizenerased
30/10/2008, 12:10 PM
€237 ,,i doubt ya will be doing better for flights than that in fairness direct or not

aidz1
30/10/2008, 2:02 PM
7 nights in the city of sofia is about 5 too much!!!

30/10/2008, 3:27 PM
Yeah 237 is not bad value but you have 7 nights to stay so what you save on aircosts you lose out on hotel and spending money and Annual Leave etc. However if you are a layabout like Green Tribe you are grand.

Sligo Hornet
30/10/2008, 3:32 PM
Yeah 237 is not bad value but you have 7 nights to stay so what you save on aircosts you lose out on hotel and spending money and Annual Leave etc. However if you are a layabout like Green Tribe you are grand.

You're a brave man for someone with only one decent leg!:eek:........that said I would have to agree!:D

cobra
04/11/2008, 10:01 AM
ryanair dub-luton return and luton-sofia return with wizzair, works out €150 return altogether.. wizzair have obviously not kopped onto the game being on. booked the outward journey last night:)

kevh
04/11/2008, 2:47 PM
€150 is a great price couple of warnings though

1. Hopefully there is a good bit of time in between the flights cos if you miss the connection your screwed

2. Any chance of Wizzair going belly up before the match?

04/11/2008, 4:06 PM
Yeah booked the one back. Gets you into Luton, about 12.10 and flight to Dublin is 16.10.

No real way of doing heading over thought without waiting around for ages.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wizz_Air

cobra
04/11/2008, 4:32 PM
Yeah booked the one back. Gets you into Luton, about 12.10 and flight to Dublin is 16.10.

No real way of doing heading over thought without waiting around for ages.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wizz_Air

have booked the friday going over, 3 hour wait in luton but not in sofia til 1150pm:(

Sligo Hornet
04/11/2008, 7:06 PM
have booked the friday going over, 3 hour wait in luton but not in sofia til 1150pm:(

Don't worry Cobra......There are NO licencing laws in Sofia.....so everything will still be open:).......except the Art Galleries;)

cobra
05/11/2008, 4:45 PM
Don't worry Cobra......There are NO licencing laws in Sofia.....so everything will still be open:).......except the Art Galleries;)

Know all about it, manies a hangover i have had over there, as for no licencing laws, if ye ask me, there are no laws of any description over there:eek:

11/11/2008, 1:27 PM
7 nights in the city of sofia is about 5 too much!!!

Aer Fungus are flying Dublin-Bucharest as well, so if you could twin it with Sofia, it would be a great trip. :)

razorb
25/11/2008, 2:50 PM
Lads, You can fly ryanair to Milan and Wizz air to Sofia with a little stopover to sample the finest Italian beer for €110 on June 4th.Anyone found a reasonable hotel? Avoid the Rodina at all costs I have been told...

25/11/2008, 2:58 PM
It would want to be nice beer for €110

Colie
26/11/2008, 6:56 PM
Ryanair - €75 return (http://www.ryanair.com/site/EN/)
Friday, June 05, 2009
Dublin (DUB) to Manchester (MAN)
Depart 06:30
Arrive 07:30

Bulgaria air - €180 return (http://www.bulgaria-air.co.uk/)
Manchester (MAN) to Sofia (SOF)
Depart 10:15
Arrive 15:40

Sunday, June 07, 2009
Sofia (SOF) to Manchester (MAN)
Depart 14:00
Arrive 15:35

Manchester (MAN) to Dublin (DUB)
Depart 21:55
Arrive 22:45

Hotel Rotasar 4 bed VIP (?) appartment - €70 (http://www.rotasar.com/)

Circa €270 all in. Ain't bad methinks. Nice to have it sorted. Now to find out where the team'll be boozing after the match. Eclipse nightclub anyone?

Ta for the tip on the flights.

Paddser
27/11/2008, 11:53 AM
We've booked Dublin to Luton with Ryanair, and Luton to Sofia with Wizzair.

Out Thursday, back Sunday. €210 all in. Doesn't get in until 01.20 Thursday night, but the you've all day Friday in Sofia. Tight 1 hour 20 minute turnaround in Luton Airport outbound.

Sligo Hornet
27/11/2008, 1:36 PM
We've booked Dublin to Luton with Ryanair, and Luton to Sofia with Wizzair.

Out Thursday, back Sunday. €210 all in. Doesn't get in until 01.20 Thursday night, but the you've all day Friday in Sofia. Tight 1 hour 20 minute turnaround in Luton Airport outbound.

Oh dear!!:eek:......I'll pray for you!

http://www.ukdecay.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=290

http://i38.tinypic.com/2s98195.jpg

Paddser
27/11/2008, 2:49 PM
Oh dear!!:eek:......I'll pray for you!

http://www.ukdecay.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=290

http://i38.tinypic.com/2s98195.jpg

I could be missing something Sligo Hornet, but is there something in particular to be worried about?? We arrive at Luton Airport at 7, and the flights on to Sofia is at 8.20. I cant imagine Luton Airport is massive?? We dont plan on leaving the airport, so the state of Luton itself doesn't bother me :confused:

27/11/2008, 4:47 PM
Sligo Hornet is a Watford fan. Watford and Luton are rivals so its just a little dig against his rivals. Its meant to be a kip and Sligo's picture was meant to be funny :)