12]
13/05/2009, 1:03 PM
Sexy looking chamber maid!:D
You're not that old yet hornet!!!!!!!! :D
I've been had !!
Who was 1st to quote Sveta hotel ?
just checked it out on tripadvisor !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek:
Why dont you cancel it and book elsewhere. Im sure there are plenty of other hotels available. What star was that btw?
We are staying in the Arena Di Serdica Hotel in the city centre. We got a really good deal on it and it's a 5 star.
13/05/2009, 1:08 PM
I have come to realise that stars mean nothing. I was in a 4star in mexico,with 3 different restaurants, pools, 2 bars, lovely rooms bar a weird smell throughout the hotel and then I was in a 4star in morocco which definitely didn't compare in any shape or form, and then another in Europe which couldn't compare either. Stars mean nothing unless 5 star. Its like Math.rand(0,5), a magic random number that they come up with.
Looking up my 3rd hotel now as 2 more lads going and hotel Nikky cannot take 2 more so will cancel it when get some where else for the 4 of us.
Good few fans staying in hotel rodina,it gets some awful reviews on tripadvisor.
Have found hotel beside all these Irish pubs for 44 for twin room per night, hope they have 2 rooms available, great location.
eaststand85
13/05/2009, 1:29 PM
[QUOTE=JT,New'09;1159469] I've been had !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek: [QUOTE]
Looks like the authentic Bulgarian experience to me, much better than the standardised luxury of Radisson! :p
In fairness it's also about half the price of the Radisson if memory serves (Radisson booked out now anyway).
JT,New'09
13/05/2009, 1:34 PM
Why dont you cancel it and book elsewhere. Im sure there are plenty of other hotels available. What star was that btw?
We are staying in the Arena Di Serdica Hotel in the city centre. We got a really good deal on it and it's a 5 star.
Just checked out your hotel and its fab checked availability and all they had was a delux suite 750 for the 3 nights ( thur - sun ) They must be out of standard doubles or twins.
Ah ill just go with Sveta, as there is 11 of us booked into this Hotel and be too messy changing, Ill slum it for the weekend :eek:
Prob be so hammered I wont care anyhow. I think the location & been so central may outweigh the bad points ( hotel rooms its self ha ha ha )
Sligo Hornet
13/05/2009, 1:34 PM
I have come to realise that stars mean nothing. I was in a 4star in mexico,with 3 different restaurants, pools, 2 bars, lovely rooms bar a weird smell throughout the hotel and then I was in a 4star in morocco which definitely didn't compare in any shape or form, and then another in Europe which couldn't compare either. Stars mean nothing unless 5 star. Its like Math.rand(0,5), a magic random number that they come up with.
I sometimes get very confused reading your posts paul............is your computer sited anywhere near a large tin of solvents?;)
JT,New'09
13/05/2009, 1:36 PM
[quote=JT,New'09;1159469] I've been had !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek: [quote]
Looks like the authentic Bulgarian experience to me, much better than the standardised luxury of Radisson! :p
In fairness it's also about half the price of the Radisson if memory serves (Radisson booked out now anyway).
ah sveta will be grand its only for 3 nights :o
Paddser
13/05/2009, 1:44 PM
Looking up my 3rd hotel now as 2 more lads going and hotel Nikky cannot take 2 more so will cancel it when get some where else for the 4 of us.
Good few fans staying in hotel rodina,it gets some awful reviews on tripadvisor.
Have found hotel beside all these Irish pubs for 44 for twin room per night, hope they have 2 rooms available, great location.
We booked in here until we read the reviews, and rebooked for the Sveta. No way im rebooking again. Its central, cheap and gets good enough reviews JT.
It'll be fine.
13/05/2009, 1:46 PM
I sometimes get very confused reading your posts paul............is your computer sited anywhere near a large tin of solvents?;)
Don't worry hornet. :D
Just remember I want to hear that story again when I first see ye out in soph-ia. Really enjoyed it and I wasn't the only one I beleive!!!!!
JT,New'09
13/05/2009, 1:48 PM
We booked in here until we read the reviews, and rebooked for the Sveta. No way im rebooking again. Its central, cheap and gets good enough reviews JT.
It'll be fine.
Yea true, reviews are good ( clean , great location etc)
it will be grand, and seems to be a fair few fans staying there.
Its mad i booked this 8 weeks ago and now its only 3 until we go , weeks are flying by :D
Polster
13/05/2009, 2:23 PM
What star is a sleeping bag and tent Paul? Cause at the moment we are homeless in Sofia.
Paddser
13/05/2009, 3:36 PM
Found this good guide to Sofia:
http://www.stemcvee.supanet.com/sofia.htm
Irish Bars(and other amenities in Sofia):
http://www.programata.bg/index.php?p=74&l=2&c=1
eaststand85
13/05/2009, 4:00 PM
Found this good guide to Sofia:
http://www.stemcvee.supanet.com/sofia.htm
Irish Bars(and other amenities in Sofia):
http://www.programata.bg/index.php?p=74&l=2&c=1
All sounds very promising Paddser, huge amount of information there to digest. Cheers!
13/05/2009, 4:29 PM
Yea true, reviews are good ( clean , great location etc)
it will be grand, and seems to be a fair few fans staying there.
Its mad i booked this 8 weeks ago and now its only 3 until we go , weeks are flying by :D
Don't think you can share my bed now if they are that size.
horney
13/05/2009, 10:07 PM
Well at 840 I reckon you've been ripped off
Dublin London 30 return
London Sofia 90 return
3 nights raddison180
Total 300 in 4 star hotel
Match ticket 5
no 440 euro each theres 2 of us not bad most packages start at 585 without taxes
horney
13/05/2009, 10:10 PM
That's more than the packages. :confused:
E-bookers is a crap website anyway, and prices should be viewed as a guide only.
packages start at 600 we only paid 420 each and only booked last week
captkeen
14/05/2009, 3:25 AM
Hi Guys,
The holiday Inn has rooms available and Start from 72e including breakfast for a double room.Its only 3 miles outside the city and is 5 star ,looks promising.I think they have a shuttle service to the city centre.They do one to Airport and back. 3000 fans traveling.:D
JT,New'09
14/05/2009, 8:00 AM
Don't think you can share my bed now if they are that size.
No probs ill sleep in my own canoe bed , think my boyfriend would prefer that ! :rolleyes:
14/05/2009, 8:14 AM
No probs ill sleep in my own canoe bed , think my boyfriend would prefer that ! :rolleyes:
Neil, has a motto JT, what goes on tour stays on tour.
magnumpi
14/05/2009, 8:25 AM
Hi Guys,
The holiday Inn has rooms available and Start from 72e including breakfast for a double room.Its only 3 miles outside the city and is 5 star ,looks promising.I think they have a shuttle service to the city centre.They do one to Airport and back. 3000 fans traveling.:D
i was looking at this as its cheaper than most, and gets rave reviews, but didn't want to be outside the city centre.
McCarthys Sofia
14/05/2009, 9:17 AM
No need to be paranoid, the city is fine really unless you start acting stupid but I think most of us paddies traveling abroad know the drill.
Fake alcohol normally only appears in strip clubs where they try and maximize their profits and if you complain they will replace it normally.
The beer here is fine and tuborg is brewed here and is widely available on tap and bottle and is a fine clean beer, minimum hangover.
Other popular beers are Shumenso local beer fine as well.
To be honest the food is lacking here but for normal enough food try olives, its on the tram track just behind vitosha bvd on slovekov square.
Also if you want cheap and fast the happy bar and grill is very cheap and is at the end of vitosha bvd.
For fans staying at the raddison the bar there is the most expensive in the city and the quality of the food is not great. You will be paying the same as Ireland there so its up to you whether to eat there for convenience or not, the irish breakfast is not irish. For the most original breakfast in the city try jj murphys same price as home though.
For more upmarket restaurants try Krim restaurant behind the radisson or a good italian is tuscana across from ndk on a sidestreet just off vitosha bvd.
For the discening pi**head kebabs are widely available all over the city for about 1 euro :)
Thats should have you lot covered for booze, food, directions and currency exchange.
hmm fake alcohol, i think im going to be in overdrice paranoia for the 3 days then. Its bad enough with the sh1te pints in Tanland, so dont know what im going to do out there!
JT,New'09
14/05/2009, 9:57 AM
Hey, when do you reckon match tickets will be posted out ? Sent payment form in earlier this week ?
Think tomorrow is the dead line to have your form filled out and payment sent to F.A.I ticket office
14/05/2009, 11:03 AM
Tickets will probably arrive the week before the game I would reckon. Sure give them a call. Cian and Emma in the ticket office are pretty good. The money has come out of my credit card already as I paid it online. I will have to stay in next few nights to pay for the credit card bill of 15 euro though.
horney
14/05/2009, 11:06 AM
lufthansa have a flight to bulgaria (sofia) any fans on it i wonder
JT,New'09
14/05/2009, 11:19 AM
Tickets will probably arrive the week before the game I would reckon. Sure give them a call. Cian and Emma in the ticket office are pretty good. The money has come out of my credit card already as I paid it online. I will have to stay in next few nights to pay for the credit card bill of 15 euro though.
Ha ha , mad though been charged 3 euro a match ticket ! :ball:
aidz1
14/05/2009, 12:28 PM
doubt it
match not for another 3 weeks
Cowboy
14/05/2009, 2:25 PM
Man thats funny :) To answer your quesion myself and a mate are on the flight via frankfurt on the Thursday
doubt it
match not for another 3 weeks
14/05/2009, 2:37 PM
Merged in with the main match travel thread.
Have just booked a hotel, plonk in the city centre, beside JJ Murphys and about a 2 min walk to this McCarthys pub mentioned on the thread here.
50 for twin room:)
captkeen
14/05/2009, 4:11 PM
there`s 4 of us heading out from Heathrow on the Friday via Zurich .staying at the Holiday inn, Which Pub you all going to gather in that evening/
14/05/2009, 6:41 PM
In the city itself theres not a lot to see, u will notice this yourselves when you arrive.
Tbf, most are going to get as much booze into them as possible for the time they're there. The match will be a 2 hour interruption. They're not very interested in seeing places. :o
SuperDub
14/05/2009, 8:18 PM
yea there is 3 of us going from dublin via frankfurt arriving 6pm on the thursday.
Sill looking for someone to share a Suite in the Niky,Thursday to Monday pm me here.
Moscow Mule
14/05/2009, 9:09 PM
I've been had !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek:
http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/01/13/37/f5/our-room-in-the-sveta.jpg
Who is the ghost rifling the suitcase?
JT,New'09
15/05/2009, 9:13 AM
Just to let you all know its 27 Degrees !! in Sofia Today :):)
Paddser
15/05/2009, 9:34 AM
I may cut the sleeves of my long sleeve jersey! :cool:
JT,New'09
15/05/2009, 9:47 AM
I may cut the sleeves of my long sleeve jersey! :cool:
Yep indeed!
Sunny 27 degrees , bring the shades !!
Polster
15/05/2009, 11:25 AM
that will go down well with some nice cold beers out in the open, may remember me factor 80 extra strong sun resistant cream
Colie
16/05/2009, 12:30 PM
Just to let you all know its 27 Degrees !! in Sofia Today :):)Looks like the lucky shorts'll be out again. Guaranteed result so.
Newryrep
16/05/2009, 12:47 PM
Looks like the lucky shorts'll be out again. Guaranteed result so.
For you or the team ?:)
Anyone else get the following email from Bulgaria Air (@air.bg) this morning? I know the flight had been changed from Gatwick to Heathrow months ago but assumed we just needed to turn up at Heathrow with a printout of the booking. My mate is on the same flight but has received no email from them.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I would like to inform you that the flight on the 5th of June from Gatwick to Sofia and the return flight on the 7th of June have been cancelled. We can offer you to have a flight from Heathrow, as follows:
FB852 5 June LHR-SOF departure time: 17:15h arrival time: 22:20h
FB851 7 June SOF-LHR departure time: 06:25h arrival time: 07:40h
We are waiting for your answer!
Best regards,
Sligo Hornet
17/05/2009, 11:21 AM
For you or the team ?:)
can only mean the Team.....have you seen those shorts!!:eek::D
The Scientist
18/05/2009, 7:47 AM
Is there anyone heading out earlier than the Wednesday? Bank holiday Monday or Tuesday?? Heading over on my own!! After taking the redundancy from work and finishing the previous Friday. So major session all round. Looking at coming back either the Sunday or pref the Monday!!
JT,New'09
18/05/2009, 9:39 AM
Is there anyone heading out earlier than the Wednesday? Bank holiday Monday or Tuesday?? Heading over on my own!! After taking the redundancy from work and finishing the previous Friday. So major session all round. Looking at coming back either the Sunday or pref the Monday!!
Major Major Session !! :eek: Mon - Sunday, no way could i handle that , fair play to ya !
The Scientist
18/05/2009, 9:42 AM
Major Major Session !! :eek: Mon - Sunday, no way could i handle that , fair play to ya !
has to be done, it could be just like bratislava and prague, 8 nights of madness!! think i will fly out on wednesday back the following monday
anyone have any spare rooms available?
AidoM
18/05/2009, 10:02 AM
booked the Hotel Niky http://www.hotel-niky.com/aboutus_en.html booked a suite for 80 b&b looking for someone to share it now pm here or ring 0872930738.
has to be done, it could be just like bratislava and prague, 8 nights of madness!! think i will fly out on wednesday back the following monday
anyone have any spare rooms available?
See above - Send him a PM or ring him
18/05/2009, 10:59 AM
Ahhh Aido M the matchmaker. You never know where this could lead.
The Scientist
18/05/2009, 11:07 AM
:D:D
haha i can get a studio apartment of my own for 39 per night on Vitosha Blvd.
Aido, dont give up the day job bud!! :D
The Scientist
18/05/2009, 11:17 AM
God no, I'm sure they have swiping facilities anyway :)
i was going to say something but i remembered we have a few female posters here :D:D