View Full Version : Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20

26/05/2009, 8:27 PM
Are you sure we are in the corner. I had a look at the ticket and I did not make out that we were in the corner.

Paddser
26/05/2009, 8:53 PM
Are you sure we are in the corner. I had a look at the ticket and I did not make out that we were in the corner.

If you look at the seating plan on the back, we are to the right of the covered stand(left of the covered stand really)

26/05/2009, 8:58 PM
Exactly that is where I saw we were too. Good tickets. I think.

HarpoJoyce
26/05/2009, 9:02 PM
How do you confuse an Irishman?

Put him in an oval stadium and tell him to find his seat in the corner.

wpauXiy2MbY

Sligo Hornet
27/05/2009, 6:10 AM
If you look at the seating plan on the back, we are to the right of the covered stand(left of the covered stand really)

Well that's cleared that up !

cobra
27/05/2009, 6:48 AM
Looking at that video, that 1st segregated bit after the stand(clockwise) looks to be where we are

Paddser
27/05/2009, 7:50 AM
Well that's cleared that up !

...:p:)

offaly16
27/05/2009, 8:10 AM
Love the name of the guy to ring if ye lose your tickets, McGLUE, good man to ring for spare tickets as he should have a few stuck to him:D

That is Joe McGlue and he's chief of security for the Fai and he also got the chief of security job for the Champions League Final tonight in Rome

JT,New'09
27/05/2009, 8:22 AM
€91 :eek:, the taxi firm collecting me said they would collect the 14 of yez for €42

:D Thanks for helping out , we got the pick up for the 13 of us for 42.00

cheers :)

JT,New'09
27/05/2009, 8:24 AM
The Sveta gets better reviews here JT. It seems to be in a great location, which is all I really look for on a football trip.

http://www.virtualtourist.com/hotels/Europe/Bulgaria/Oblast_Grad_Sofiya/Sofia-379460/Hotels_and_Accommodations-Sofia-Sveta_Sofia-BR-1.html

:ball: Hi,
I got the bus booked. the one Cobra gave details of.
€42.00 for the 13 of us, Will you let your two pals know
I have confirmed etc. So they will be there to pick us in in arrivlas when we land
Today week !! :D

Girl in Green
27/05/2009, 8:34 AM

Nice one JT dats us sorted.

Paddser
27/05/2009, 8:36 AM
:ball: Hi,
I got the bus booked. the one Cobra gave details of.
€42.00 for the 13 of us, Will you let your two pals know
I have confirmed etc. So they will be there to pick us in in arrivlas when we land
Today week !! :D

Cheers JT. I sent you a PM about it alright, but that's great that its sorted.
Just two things, if there is 11 in your group and 3 in ours, that makes 14, which is what Cobra got the quote for in the first place? And we're not flying until Thursday, which is tomorrow week? :confused:

cobra
27/05/2009, 8:37 AM

Good to see he sorted yez out:)

Girl in Green
27/05/2009, 8:41 AM
They really are the flimsiest things I've come across. Paper thin!! In fairness to the FAI, they seem to be prepared for people losing them and have left a mobile number to contact if you lose them over there.

Ps: You could spend hours reading through this if you want! Good guide:

http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Europe/Bulgaria/Oblast_Grad_Sofiya/Sofia-379460/TravelGuide-Sofia.html

Thought the note on the tickets "Fans could be left in the stadium 15mins after the final whistle" was funny..........hopefully we'll be celebrating so we won't care yahoooooooo

27/05/2009, 8:51 AM
Is He(Joe McGlue) the Galway fella?

JT,New'09
27/05/2009, 9:08 AM
Cheers JT. I sent you a PM about it alright, but that's great that its sorted.
Just two things, if there is 11 in your group and 3 in ours, that makes 14, which is what Cobra got the quote for in the first place? And we're not flying until Thursday, which is tomorrow week? :confused:
Ha Ha its too early for me !!

Sorry there is only 10 in our group now, one of lads is in hosp and cannot make trip, he has surgery 4 weeks ago and docs wont let him travel.
So 10 of us and your 3 = 13 And sorry meant tomorrow week !!
I sent you a P.M back but i dont know if it went , not sure i sent it right.
Anyhow were all booked now , ;)

offaly16
27/05/2009, 9:18 AM
Is He(Joe McGlue) the Galway fella?

Not sure bout where he is from but you would recognise him from all of the away games as he is the only one in a blazer and tie in the middle of the Irish fans.

Paddser
27/05/2009, 9:25 AM
Ha Ha its too early for me !!

Sorry there is only 10 in our group now, one of lads is in hosp and cannot make trip, he has surgery 4 weeks ago and docs wont let him travel.
So 10 of us and your 3 = 13 And sorry meant tomorrow week !!
I sent you a P.M back but i dont know if it went , not sure i sent it right.
Anyhow were all booked now , ;)

Perfect!! Thanks JT.....and Cobra!

aidz1
27/05/2009, 12:35 PM
They really are the flimsiest things I've come across. Paper thin!! In fairness to the FAI, they seem to be prepared for people losing them and have left a mobile number to contact if you lose them over there.

Ps: You could spend hours reading through this if you want! Good guide:

http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/Europe/Bulgaria/Oblast_Grad_Sofiya/Sofia-379460/TravelGuide-Sofia.html

tickets are paper thin?? lol :D

aidz1
27/05/2009, 12:39 PM
If you went with a proper airline like Lufthansa, you'd have a 20kg allowance, get something to eat on the flight, check in on the ground rather than online, and be treated as a passenger should be treated, even possibly cheaper than with O'Leary's brigade.

know a few lads who were on lufthansa for the bari game. Lufthansa would not allow them board the return leg from milan to dublin as they had not used the outward flight. (they booked a different one in threat of the strrike that didnt happen). The airline were looking another €350 each from them.

so the "proper airline" sometimes aint the passegers great friend at times either

aidz1
27/05/2009, 12:45 PM
we are on the ryanair flights from dublin to luton, then wizz air to sofia.
staying in the sveta hotel too!!

arrive in at 3.30am on thursday night/friday morning.

is it possible to check in online with wizz air? cant locate such function myself on their website.

JT,New'09
27/05/2009, 12:48 PM
we are on the ryanair flights from dublin to luton, then wizz air to sofia.
staying in the sveta hotel too!!

arrive in at 3.30am on thursday night/friday morning.

is it possible to check in online with wizz air? cant locate such function myself on their website.

I dont think so :(
I checked that myself, but couldnt see how. I wldnt say it will be much hassel in Luton as we have 4 hours before we fly out , so check in and bar :D
Poor Sveta doesnt know what its in for, There seems to be a fair few staying there now

Paddser
27/05/2009, 1:16 PM
tickets are paper thin?? lol :D

I meant toilet paper thin :D

aidz1
27/05/2009, 1:29 PM
I dont think so :(
I checked that myself, but couldnt see how. I wldnt say it will be much hassel in Luton as we have 4 hours before we fly out , so check in and bar :D
Poor Sveta doesnt know what its in for, There seems to be a fair few staying there now

3 hours i think.
gets in at 7pm. out at 9.55pm. last check in 9.15pm (so really 2hr15min)

27/05/2009, 1:39 PM
know a few lads who were on lufthansa for the bari game. Lufthansa would not allow them board the return leg from milan to dublin as they had not used the outward flight. (they booked a different one in threat of the strrike that didnt happen). The airline were looking another €350 each from them.

so the "proper airline" sometimes aint the passegers great friend at times either

If booking outward and return flights with the same airline, it allows a hassle-free travel experience. If booking outward and return with separate airlines, of course they'll be ripped off, that applies across the board.

JT,New'09
27/05/2009, 2:44 PM
If booking outward and return flights with the same airline, it allows a hassle-free travel experience. If booking outward and return with separate airlines, of course they'll be ripped off, that applies across the board.

Hey , what is happenning with Doyle ? Is he deffo out for Bulgaria ?

27/05/2009, 2:49 PM
I dont think so

Don't know if im in a position to give anymore advice to be honest :D but luton is my preferred airport in london, its not as close to me as heathrow, but its very handy, its so small compared to the other ones, hassle free and easy to get in and out of quickly. Ive flown with jizz(-on-my-glasses) air twice, to budapest both times actually and its a lovely flight from Luton, bar one thing, the stags on teh friday mornings/afternoons, not sure if they will be going to sofia but they do my nut, why do lads think they are original or funny by dressing up in tutus or whatever? its been done and its not funny, t-shirts are alright, but it must wreck the heads of airport workers/air host(esses) when they see a group of 15 coming along acting like eejits thinking they are the most original thing ever even though it happens every weekend out of the airport. Have to say thought it was great to see those eejits out in crete getting arrested, i bet they weren't in anyway religious either, so serves them right. Rant over. :D

Point is though Luton is a lovely airport for a city the size of London, and its completely hassle free. Only problem there is only one bar i think past security, and only 2 decent eating places, one with very slow service!!!

eaststand85
27/05/2009, 2:54 PM
Hey , what is happenning with Doyle ? Is he deffo out for Bulgaria ?

Yep.:(:(

Paddser
27/05/2009, 3:04 PM
Don't know if im in a position to give anymore advice to be honest :D but luton is my preferred airport in london, its not as close to me as heathrow, but its very handy, its so small compared to the other ones, hassle free and easy to get in and out of quickly. Ive flown with jizz(-on-my-glasses) air twice, to budapest both times actually and its a lovely flight from Luton, bar one thing, the stags on teh friday mornings/afternoons, not sure if they will be going to sofia but they do my nut, why do lads think they are original or funny by dressing up in tutus or whatever? its been done and its not funny, t-shirts are alright, but it must wreck the heads of airport workers/air host(esses) when they see a group of 15 coming along acting like eejits thinking they are the most original thing ever even though it happens every weekend out of the airport. Have to say thought it was great to see those eejits out in crete getting arrested, i bet they weren't in anyway religious either, so serves them right. Rant over. :D

Point is though Luton is a lovely airport for a city the size of London, and its completely hassle free. Only problem there is only one bar i think past security, and only 2 decent eating places, one with very slow service!!!

I'd imagine the 15-20 + of us dressed all in green after a 3 hour stopover in the Luton Airport Bar wont be much better to be fair!

27/05/2009, 3:06 PM
the original parts and stuff maybe, at least in yer case ye are in with girls too! :p :D

But seriouslly its more the dressing up etc and the stupid pranks that are played the whole time. There is a huge difference created by a group of irish football supporters(or continental supporters) singing/having the craic or being jovial than there is the above.....

Sligo Hornet
27/05/2009, 3:08 PM

I regularly use Luton too (for all the Home games, some Away and work sometimes) and I would agree entirely with Paul's assessment.....I would add that there is another small bar located near the lower numbered gates, although when I've travelled (usually very early) its not always staffed

27/05/2009, 3:11 PM
I regularly use Luton too (for all the Home games, some Away and work sometimes) and I would agree entirely with Paul's assessment.....I would add that there is another small bar located near the lower numbered gates, although when I've travelled (usually very early) its not always staffed

It closes at around 7.30 or 8 hornet(so they might have an hour), and thats the one usually used for EIRE flights, so not sure the jizz air goes from there. Basically anytime ive flown home(back to dublin, not home home ;) ) its never bloody opened!!!

Paddser
27/05/2009, 3:15 PM

What are the chances of landing at 12.25 and getting a 13.10 connecting flight!? Is the Airport small enough to make this feasible? With online check in.

27/05/2009, 3:18 PM
landing means 10 mins extra at least before getting off the plane. I reckon talking between 12.35 and 12.40. YOu have 20 mins then to get to your next gate, its definitely feasible. Tell us the flights, the lower numbers are nearly always into and out of irish airports, aer arann and ryanair that is so cork/waterford/knock/galway/dublin. Id say there is a good chance but would require you running. SH would be in a better position.

Paddser
27/05/2009, 3:23 PM
landing means 10 mins extra at least before getting off the plane. I reckon talking between 12.35 and 12.40. YOu have 20 mins then to get to your next gate, its definitely feasible. Tell us the flights, the lower numbers are nearly always into and out of irish airports, aer arann and ryanair that is so cork/waterford/knock/galway/dublin. Id say there is a good chance but would require you running. SH would be in a better position.

I land with Wizzair from Sofia at 12.25, and fly Ryanair to Dublin at 13.10. The flight was only £15 last week, and as a Meath man I hope to make it back to Croker for 4!! I also have the 4.20pm booked from my original booking, so nothing to lose bar £15

27/05/2009, 3:46 PM
good thinking jizz air have been delayed for me coming back twice, but not by much but still enough to make you miss that!!! horses for courses, you can def make it with hand luggage and you sit at the back of the plane and get off quick. if all those things go for you you should be ok!

Girl in Green
28/05/2009, 10:32 AM
What are the chances of landing at 12.25 and getting a 13.10 connecting flight!? Is the Airport small enough to make this feasible? With online check in.

Worth a shot I suppose.......nothing to loose as you say.

4 in a row
28/05/2009, 5:42 PM
this time next week most of us be in a beer garden drinking a 1euro pint of Bulgarians finest!!!:cool:

28/05/2009, 6:52 PM
Btw, "Currency Exchange" beside the Bank of Ireland on Westmoreland Street, will exchange Lev for Euro on the spot. :)

28/05/2009, 8:39 PM
Whats the rate they are giving.

JT,New'09
29/05/2009, 8:16 AM
Btw, "Currency Exchange" beside the Bank of Ireland on Westmoreland Street, will exchange Lev for Euro on the spot. :)

That is brill ,,,, the best banks and credit union have given 1.83 Lev for euro , would of went there if had of known ,

This day next week ill be dying with a hangover trying to get myself together to go on the lash again :p

reder
29/05/2009, 8:24 AM

Great stuff. I went into Ulster Bank of Monday and they quoted me 2 weeks waiting time at best. They took my contact details as they were supposed to check if they could get it quicker but they never called me back.

I will head down to this lot today.

The Scientist
29/05/2009, 10:00 AM
last day in work today and dying from a session last night!!

hopefully this time next friday i will be twice as sick and wondering up the main street in sofia looking for a irish breakfast and a cure!! :D:D

Polster
29/05/2009, 11:01 AM

At least 4 or 5 bars (drinking opportunities) in luton after security, the main one in the shopping area there, another one just off that, food and drink, and 2 or 3 drink/food outlets down nearer the departure areas.

aidz1
29/05/2009, 11:43 AM
Anyone know which terminal in luton that wizz air operate from??

4 in a row
29/05/2009, 11:47 AM
Anybody staying in Hotel Downtown?

Got me itinerary for the package deal.

Flights got changed coming home, longer stop over in Budapest!!!!

29/05/2009, 12:38 PM
Forgotten how busy these threads get when the game's only around the corner!

Summary thread (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?t=77524) updated to page 35 now.

JT,New'09
29/05/2009, 1:33 PM
last day in work today and dying from a session last night!!

hopefully this time next friday i will be twice as sick and wondering up the main street in sofia looking for a irish breakfast and a cure!!:D

Well Here you go !!
Breakfast J J Murphsy right in city centre !!
Ill see you there Firday Morning, tell them to stick an egg on for me :p

Name & DescriptionQuantityPrice
http://www.jjmurphys.com/app/files/e6dfa75254accd0a668109cedc1c645e.jpgBreakfast
Typical breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, onions and baked beans. Served until 6 p.m500gr12

Paddser
29/05/2009, 1:59 PM
If the weather is as good as it is today i'll be happy!! :cool: Can't wait now. Should be a short week with the Bank Holiday as well!!

JT,New'09
29/05/2009, 2:07 PM
If the weather is as good as it is today i'll be happy!! :cool: Can't wait now. Should be a short week with the Bank Holiday as well!!

I know !! I am only in Tue & Wed next week yahoooooo
I checked the 10 day forecast earlier. Its raining in Sofia at the min, but due to stop Wednesday/Thursday , Friday & Saturday are to be dry and Sunny :):)