11/05/2009, 2:47 PM
Male most definitely.

AidoM
11/05/2009, 3:44 PM
Are you male or female?

Does it matter once it's Irish :confused: :D

McCarthys Sofia
11/05/2009, 4:24 PM
Some tips that ye lads may find useful upon arrival in Sofia.

When ye get to the airport only use ok taxis from outside the terminal, they are the regulated taxis and the number on the side of the taxi reads 9732121.
There are copy taxis of these as well so make sure this number is on the side of the door. The journey to the centre should cost no more than 12 leva which is 6 euros. Also bus leaves from the terminal number 284 or 84 depending on the terminal you land in and this is 1 euro to the centre.

Vitosha bvd is the main street and there are lots of bars off this street and parks with smaller bars which have good prices 1 euro per pint.

there is a strip club on vitosha bvd, UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES go in there, u will get ripped. It has happened to many visitors here and there is no getting out of it once they ask you to pay x amount. So avoid this.

Accom wise for cheaper look for rental apartments, if you google short term rental sofia you will find these and all these apartment are in the centre. They work out about 30 euros a head and are very good quality.
Hostels are ok here as well and are about 12 euros per night inc breakfast.

The stadium is about a 20 minute walk from the centre and is centrally located.

Keep away from the roma community at all costs and watch your wallets as they are expert pick pockets.

There are many clubs in sofia all are all fine normally but do not mess with the security. They are all martial experts mostly and have no porblem proving that to you.

Once you follow these general rules you will have no problems and will have a very cheap weekend.

Restaurants are cheap and you can get a meal for 6 euros roughly depending on what you order.

It is a very safe city on the streets and generally you will never see fights.

Always carry id with you because if the police stop you they will want to see id and it is law here for foreigners to carry id and incurs a fine or a night in the clink if you do not have this.

Stick with these tips and you will have no problem.

AidoM
11/05/2009, 5:48 PM

When ye get to the airport only use ok taxis from outside the terminal, they are the regulated taxis and the number on the side of the taxi reads 9732121.
There are copy taxis of these as well so make sure this number is on the side of the door. The journey to the centre should cost no more than 12 leva which is 6 euros. Also bus leaves from the terminal number 284 or 84 depending on the terminal you land in and this is 1 euro to the centre.

Vitosha bvd is the main street and there are lots of bars off this street and parks with smaller bars which have good prices 1 euro per pint.

there is a strip club on vitosha bvd, UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES go in there, u will get ripped. It has happened to many visitors here and there is no getting out of it once they ask you to pay x amount. So avoid this.

Accom wise for cheaper look for rental apartments, if you google short term rental sofia you will find these and all these apartment are in the centre. They work out about 30 euros a head and are very good quality.
Hostels are ok here as well and are about 12 euros per night inc breakfast.

The stadium is about a 20 minute walk from the centre and is centrally located.

Keep away from the roma community at all costs and watch your wallets as they are expert pick pockets.

There are many clubs in sofia all are all fine normally but do not mess with the security. They are all martial experts mostly and have no porblem proving that to you.

Once you follow these general rules you will have no problems and will have a very cheap weekend.

Restaurants are cheap and you can get a meal for 6 euros roughly depending on what you order.

It is a very safe city on the streets and generally you will never see fights.

Always carry id with you because if the police stop you they will want to see id and it is law here for foreigners to carry id and incurs a fine or a night in the clink if you do not have this.

Stick with these tips and you will have no problem.

Thanks very much for all this info McCarthy. It's really a great steer for all us lads going there in just over 3 weeks time.

I note that you're an Irish pub there and we hope that your prices won't be "jacked up" for our visit. This is a huge reason why Irish fans get majorly pi$$ed off on away trips and results in the fans staying away from Irish pubs. The Porter House in Mainz bucked this trend last September and benefitted hugely from it; hopefully you will do the same ;). If you do this you will have a large amount of fans around and should make sure that you have plenty of booze in for the few days around the match. Hope it doesn't work out like in Basel in 2003 where the manager of the Irish Bar was "allegedly" sacked for the bar running out of booze :eek:
Are you near a square in the city or do you know where there is one as Irish fans like squares to meet up in before games?

McCarthys Sofia
12/05/2009, 5:43 AM
Our prices will stay the same, pints start at 1 euro 5 cents for local beer on tap.

We are just around the corner from les Fleurs hotel on vitosha bvd up one flight of stairs on alabin street around the corner from mc donalds, we only opened 6 months ago.

There is a main park where people normally meet and its called NDK just at the top of vitosha bvd facing the vitosha mountain.

I have noticed a few posts for people wanting to change money, wait until you get to Sofia. There is a beareau de change half way down vitosha bvd just one street up from pizza palace restaurant across from a kebab place and they will give you a rate better than any bank and charge no commission. dont ask me how they do it but we use them all the time and they are fair and will not rip you off. Their rate is normally 1.9 odd.

If anyone needs any more info bounce stuff off me, been here for 4 years and it pi**es me off to see people get ripped off when they get here. Does not happen al lthe time but its good to keep on the alert.

Another tip for anyone who wants something different is to try the shooting ranges... great buzz and not that expensive, for 25 euros you can try a range of weapons.

Thanks very much for all this info McCarthy. It's really a great steer for all us lads going there in just over 3 weeks time.

I note that you're an Irish pub there and we hope that your prices won't be "jacked up" for our visit. This is a huge reason why Irish fans get majorly pi$$ed off on away trips and results in the fans staying away from Irish pubs. The Porter House in Mainz bucked this trend last September and benefitted hugely from it; hopefully you will do the same ;). If you do this you will have a large amount of fans around and should make sure that you have plenty of booze in for the few days around the match. Hope it doesn't work out like in Basel in 2003 where the manager of the Irish Bar was "allegedly" sacked for the bar running out of booze :eek:
Are you near a square in the city or do you know where there is one as Irish fans like squares to meet up in before games?

cobra
12/05/2009, 9:50 AM
We are just around the corner from les Fleurs hotel on vitosha bvd up one flight of stairs on alabin street around the corner from mc donalds, we only opened 6 months ago.

Have just changed hotels this morning, we got a room in Hotel Niky, see its only a few 100 yards from your joint, our original hotel, the Rotasar is too far from centre, so changed. I see the national art gallery for foreign art is on Alabin street too, happy days:p
Found a map of Sofia here, some amount of park around the stadium itself, it looks like a good meeting spot for day of game

Sligo Hornet
12/05/2009, 10:00 AM
Our prices will stay the same, pints start at 1 euro 5 cents for local beer on tap.

There is a main park where people normally meet and its called NDK just at the top of vitosha bvd facing the vitosha mountain.

I have noticed a few posts for people wanting to change money, wait until you get to Sofia. There is a beareau de change half way down vitosha bvd just one street up from pizza palace restaurant across from a kebab place and they will give you a rate better than any bank and charge no commission. dont ask me how they do it but we use them all the time and they are fair and will not rip you off. Their rate is normally 1.9 odd.

If anyone needs any more info bounce stuff off me, been here for 4 years and it pi**es me off to see people get ripped off when they get here. Does not happen al lthe time but its good to keep on the alert.

Another tip for anyone who wants something different is to try the shooting ranges... great buzz and not that expensive, for 25 euros you can try a range of weapons.

That's the Hotel I'm in.....happy days!!:)

Very useful ino there....thanks.....particularly about the Bureau de Change and the good price of pints in your Pub!!:)

12/05/2009, 10:13 AM
Have just changed hotels this morning, we got a room in Hotel Niky, see its only a few 100 yards from your joint, our original hotel, the Rotasar is too far from centre, so changed. I see the national art gallery for foreign art is on Alabin street too, happy days:p
Found a map of Sofia here, some amount of park around the stadium itself, it looks like a good meeting spot for day of game

When are you flying in cobra im in on the Easyjet flight Thursday about 11.40am. I still have a spare bed going in my suite just €40 B&B and as Cobra says the Niky is as central as you can get.

McCarthy whats the advice with bouncers in Bars,Clubs & other establishments as Bratislava was a total disaster with the Bouncers being glorified Thugs itching to hit someone.

Newryrep
12/05/2009, 10:15 AM

When........

......these tips and you will have no problem.

Great info, since i dont get in to late fri and saturday is matchday can you recommend something to do/somewhere to go on the Sunday so I can see a bit of Sofia .Likely to be suffering from a slight hangover, and the Mrs isnt a morning person , river cruise or something ?

Polster
12/05/2009, 10:37 AM

Who's bringing the ball?

Sligo Hornet
12/05/2009, 10:41 AM
Great info, since i dont get in to late fri and saturday is matchday can you recommend something to do/somewhere to go on the Sunday so I can see a bit of Sofia .Likely to be suffering from a slight hangover, and the Mrs isnt a morning person , river cruise or something ?

This would be ideal for you and Mrs Newryrep........guaranteed to clear the hangover!;)

http://www.eclipseleisure.co.uk/stag-weekend/Sofia/Bulgarian-Bungee-Jump/

cobra
12/05/2009, 10:46 AM
When are you flying in cobra im in on the Easyjet flight Thursday about 11.40am. I still have a spare bed going in my suite just €40 B&B and as Cobra says the Niky is as central as you can get.

Not landing in Sofia til 2350 Friday night:( with wizz air, straight to McCarthys then as its so close.

How much the Savoy whiskey(A " gullamo" one:D) in McCarthys?, not a beer man unfortunately.

Polster
12/05/2009, 10:51 AM
If anyone needs any more info bounce stuff off me

Cheers for the info, is there a general closing time for the bars there or are we good to go as long as we are standing?

12/05/2009, 10:54 AM
Polster going by the last bulgaria game then all pubs will be closed by 8.30 :D

AidoM
12/05/2009, 10:56 AM

This is very good info Mc'Cs and really appreciated. Good news about the price of the local brew and your prices for Heino and Murphys (not my brand) in your menu seem ok.

I've had a look at the NDK park and it looks good but it would be even better if there were pubs around it - are there? Is there a square near your place where we could congregate and have access to pubs etc during Saturday.

Good news on the money front as well. Our crew not arriving in to Sofia until 22.15 on Thursday so we will probably need some local stake money as the bureau is unlikely to be opened when we get in to the centre of the city.

A few other questions:

1. How long does it take to get from the airport to the city centre
2. Is there/will there be transport on the Saturday from the city to the stadium
3. Will a copy passport be OK for ID purposes

AidoM
12/05/2009, 10:58 AM

Sligo fancy going for an accident :eek: :D

Sligo Hornet
12/05/2009, 11:03 AM
Sligo fancy going for an accident :eek: :D

Only if it's "Shoot the Flag (Bearer)":D

cobra
12/05/2009, 11:14 AM
2. Is there/will there be transport on the Saturday from the city to the stadiums

Stadium looks as though its easy enough walking distance from city centre.
On McCarthys pub website, where it shows the location of the pub, there is a road to the right of the pub named "graft ignatiev str". Stadium looks to be at the end of that road, not too far

Paddser
12/05/2009, 11:21 AM
Cheers for the info McCarthy...

Few quick questions:

1) We dont arrive into Sofia until 2.50am on Thurs night/Fri morn. Will there be plenty of taxis running from the airport at that time? Will your bar be open?

2) How has the weather been/expected to be? :cool:

3) Is it easy enough to find your way around the city centre? ie Signs we can read!

Sligo Hornet
12/05/2009, 11:31 AM
Stadium looks as though its easy enough walking distance from city centre.
On McCarthys pub website, where it shows the location of the pub, there is a road to the right of the pub named "graft ignatiev str". Stadium looks to be at the end of that road, not too far

Cobra you're forgetting Aido is a lazy fecker with short legs!;)

He also has short arms at the bar:D

Newryrep
12/05/2009, 11:39 AM
This would be ideal for you and Mrs Newryrep........guaranteed to clear the hangover!;)

http://www.eclipseleisure.co.uk/stag-weekend/Sofia/Bulgarian-Bungee-Jump/

Not fckin likely drunk nevermind hungover, a nice river cruise with bar on board would be welcomed something like a Rhine cruise - nothing too strenuous you just sit there and the scenery passes you by

AidoM
12/05/2009, 11:44 AM
Cobra you're forgetting Aido is a lazy fecker with short legs!;)

He also has short arms at the bar:D

At least mine reach into my pockets and wallet :p

green army
12/05/2009, 12:29 PM

Few quick questions:

1) We dont arrive into Sofia until 2.50am on Thurs night/Fri morn. Will there be plenty of taxis running from the airport at that time? Will your bar be open?

that could be the same flight as us. we booked our hotel through www.sofiahotels.net and they organised for a taxi to pick us up upon arrival. think they charge €20

JT,New'09
12/05/2009, 12:51 PM

Few quick questions:

2) How has the weather been/expected to be? :cool:

3) Is it easy enough to find your way around the city centre? ie Signs we can read!

Were on same flight as yourself , 11 of us , to the bar it will be

12/05/2009, 12:52 PM
For any late bookers, the summary thread (http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=824282#post824282) is now updated to everything up to page 24 of the thread. Will definitely get it finished this week (and I know I said that last week!)

Paddser
12/05/2009, 1:13 PM

that could be the same flight as us. we booked our hotel through www.sofiahotels.net and they organised for a taxi to pick us up upon arrival. think they charge €20

Presume its the Wizzair flight from Luton so? Which hotel are you in Green Army? We're in the Sveta.

12/05/2009, 1:29 PM

Can you keep it down in Hotel Sveta as some of us will be trying to get some sleep. !!!:)

Paddser
12/05/2009, 1:54 PM
Can you keep it down in Hotel Sveta as some of us will be trying to get some sleep. !!!:)

We'll try....;)

JT,New'09
12/05/2009, 2:29 PM

I will also do my best , but dont hold me to it ! :p:p

Sumac
12/05/2009, 2:29 PM
Is the Sveta far from the city centre, stadium, pub etc

AidoM
12/05/2009, 3:22 PM
Neil stalking again :rolleyes:

Can you keep it down in Hotel Sveta ... !!!

I will also do my best , but dont hold me !

Foot.ie members in bondage incident in Sofia :eek:

12/05/2009, 3:31 PM
AidoM, the new Cilla Black.

12/05/2009, 3:47 PM
Neil stalking again :rolleyes:

Foot.ie members in bondage incident in Sofia ::

lol ye dirty tramps :D

citizenerased
12/05/2009, 4:10 PM
McCarthys...are ye showing the Meath V Dublin march on the sunday....need to find an irish pub showing it, im sure therer will be plenty in the same boat

captkeen
12/05/2009, 7:23 PM
Hi , If you are looking for a flight to Sofia and live in G.B Swiss air fly from Heathrow on Friday Morning changing at Zurich arriving at Sofia at 15.30. Cost £168.if you book with a company called treminal A.

cobra
12/05/2009, 8:04 PM
McCarthys...are ye showing the Meath V Dublin march on the sunday....need to find an irish pub showing it, im sure therer will be plenty in the same boat

Think Kerry and Cork(taking they beat Waterford) on same day too.

Moscow Mule
12/05/2009, 8:55 PM
At least mine reach into my pockets and wallet :p

I must remember this...at 1 euro a throw you can't go too mad.

Sligo Hornet
13/05/2009, 6:39 AM
I must remember this...at 1 euro a throw you can't go too mad.

You'll have to be quick Moscow......Aido never carries more than 5 euro.....and usually goes home with at least 2 or 3!:D

McCarthys Sofia
13/05/2009, 7:48 AM
I think I only have 1 post a day so heres some answers to some of the questions.

The money changing place on Vitosha bvd opens at 9 in the morning and closes at 9 at night.

Its just on the side street before pizza palace restaurant 5 metres down.

With regards to tourist activities it depends. If you have time you could go up to the mountains on the cable car or chair life, some small restaurants up there and walking trails but .... I cant see that happening with hangovers etc somehow!

In the city itself theres not a lot to see, u will notice this yourselves when you arrive.

PLaces to meet before the match, a good idea would be NDK park at the top of vitosha bvd where they have outdoor bars about 5 or 6 small ones but the park is big so maybe a perfect meeting place or eagles bridge which is down past the stadium, there is a small man made lake there wit restaurants bars, paddle boats etc.

A copy of your passport or licence is fine.

I would walk to the stadium on Saturday as the roads will be blocked off by the police, it will be much easier. 20 minutes maximum.

With regards to clubs to try, there are some good ones. The bouncers wont set on you at all but if you give them an excuse they will do their job.

For live music the Swinging hall is very good, back and front stage venue, 5 euros to get in. Its in Lozenets area, 5 leva in taxi from centre.

For techno, chervillo, dont like this crap but people seem to go there for some strange reason.

If you want to see a different type of lucb go to Sin city, its turbo folk club, huge not too cheap but I think it should be visited if you want to see some of the most beautiful women in the world. Not my scene either but a must to be seen even for a drink!

If you want a whole area of clubs together go out to Student city which is 10 mins outside sofia, 9 leva in a taxi, full city of students and booze here is some places is very cheap and its rammed with students. Clubs there include the viper rooms, jim bean and many more!

Beware fake alcohol, if ur drinking spirits and they odnt taste right assume its fake and hand it back, fake whiskey hangover not nice, believe me!

A lot of bars close about 2 or 3 but there are places that are 24 hours, mr piza, ugo on vitosha bvd, happy bar and grill.

We are flexible normally! :)

Enjoy.

This is very good info Mc'Cs and really appreciated. Good news about the price of the local brew and your prices for Heino and Murphys (not my brand) in your menu seem ok.

I've had a look at the NDK park and it looks good but it would be even better if there were pubs around it - are there? Is there a square near your place where we could congregate and have access to pubs etc during Saturday.

Good news on the money front as well. Our crew not arriving in to Sofia until 22.15 on Thursday so we will probably need some local stake money as the bureau is unlikely to be opened when we get in to the centre of the city.

A few other questions:

1. How long does it take to get from the airport to the city centre
2. Is there/will there be transport on the Saturday from the city to the stadium
3. Will a copy passport be OK for ID purposes

13/05/2009, 8:43 AM
hmm fake alcohol, i think im going to be in overdrice paranoia for the 3 days then. Its bad enough with the sh1te pints in Tanland, so dont know what im going to do out there!

cobra
13/05/2009, 9:43 AM
hmm fake alcohol, i think im going to be in overdrice paranoia for the 3 days then. Its bad enough with the sh1te pints in Tanland, so dont know what im going to do out there!

Should try a few of the local bottled beers, get a taste for one of them and away ye go.
Always drink Jameson but as the local bulgarian savoy whiskey is less than half the price of jameson, have got use to savoy plus ye get more as they measure jameson but pour their own stuff with out the measures.

13/05/2009, 12:04 PM
just three weeks to go cant wait now.Any good restuarants McCarthy.

13/05/2009, 12:09 PM
just three weeks to go cant wait now.Any good restuarants McCarthy.

McDonalds.

JT,New'09
13/05/2009, 12:29 PM
McDonalds.
Bet you its all we live on :rolleyes:

Sligo Hornet
13/05/2009, 12:44 PM
Bet you its all we live on :rolleyes:

Speak for yourself.......it's pure muck!

JT,New'09
13/05/2009, 12:52 PM
Speak for yourself.......it's pure muck!

I've been had !!
Who was 1st to quote Sveta hotel ?
just checked it out on tripadvisor !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek:

http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/01/13/37/f5/our-room-in-the-sveta.jpg

Sligo Hornet
13/05/2009, 12:56 PM
I've been had !!
All I can say those who ever has booked the Radisson im truely Jealous and cannot believe i have to stay here, check out the beds there that old there shaped like canoes and as for the decor looks like something from the 1950's :eek:

http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/01/13/37/f5/our-room-in-the-sveta.jpg

Sexy looking chamber maid!:D

JT,New'09
13/05/2009, 1:00 PM
Sexy looking chamber maid!:D

No she is free with the room :D

One good thing on tripadvisor , it said Sveta had a beer Garden! weather in Sofia today is 21 degrees so fingers crossed its nice and sunny in 3 weeks !!
Just had a nose on Radisson web site, and its fab , it also has Flannigans irish bar, yes im very Jealous :mad:

13/05/2009, 1:02 PM
I've been had !!

Sure ye wont need a bed ;) !!!!!!!!!!!