View Full Version : Paul McShane
Pages :
[
8]
28/05/2008, 3:22 PM
I'd say that is a worry, even Stevie Wonder can see that McShane isn't good enough.
How long before Trapp see's it too? Or is he still listening to the likes of DG?
What I can't stand about this site is that there is an almost instant judgement made on a player. The boy had a great start for us, got into a hole with his club and has been unfortunate a few times.
I think its hard to see him becoming a top player for us, but I'm not going to rule it out completely.
I don't agree that he's shown as much ability as Richie Dunne did as a youngster, but I don't think he's shown us he's Paul Butler either.
As far as things go I'm willing to trust Trap as long as it takes.
Seagull-4-life
29/05/2008, 5:28 PM
If he stars tonight at least we'll get a laugh out of the match
30/05/2008, 11:18 AM
Kiely kept us in the match in the first half but I thought McShane was easily our best player in the 2nd half. An outstanding 45 minutes from him. He was constantly clearing balls out of the box.
Wolfie
30/05/2008, 12:37 PM
Kiely kept us in the match in the first half but I thought McShane was easily our best player in the 2nd half. An outstanding 45 minutes from him. He was constantly clearing balls out of the box.
I think the Mick McCarthyesque "No Nonsense. Row Z" approach is the way forward for Paul :)
30/05/2008, 12:39 PM
I think the Mick McCarthyesque "No Nonsense. Row Z" approach is the way forward for Paul :)
He stuck his head instintively yesterday where some people probably wouldn't even have stuck their feet! I think a tight pitch and a tight game suits him that he can attack the ball on, rather than a slow game with slick passing as he gets found out.
amaccann
30/05/2008, 12:54 PM
Yeah, but Trap will no doubt ... "quietly"... point out to our Paul that his methods of clearing the danger tend to put the ball back into the feet of the opposition.
Wolfie
30/05/2008, 12:57 PM
Yeah, but Trap will no doubt ... "quietly"... point out to our Paul that his methods of clearing the danger tend to put the ball back into the feet of the opposition.
True - that whole "passing" thing is a trouble area for McShane alright. Any chance he could pick it up and run with it? A few hand passes here and there, maybe. :confused:
30/05/2008, 2:13 PM
They showed Trap walking across the pitch at the end of the game, then looks across and he can be seen mouthing
"McShane , Bravo!"
amaccann
30/05/2008, 2:18 PM
True - that whole "passing" thing is a trouble area for McShane alright. Any chance he could pick it up and run with it? A few hand passes here and there, maybe. :confused:
I think he just needs to calm down & not play like he's permanently under siege and / or on Coke. He definitely shows the impetuousness of youth in the way he plays & defends. You gotta love his heart in sticking his body into anything, but I just wish he looked around him cos even a simple flat pass across the back would be better than rowZ. Traps comments about staring at the grass spring to mind.
30/05/2008, 2:28 PM
McShane is also a player that Trap feels is really low in confidence. If last night was him playing with low confidence then we've nothing to worry about. ;) In fairness he did look a nervous wreck a couple of times when he got the ball last night. One particular time just at the centre circle he went to play a back pass and the ball got stuck under his feet. I go on about confidence in players all the time so really I can imagine how good Dunne and McShane can be if full of confidence.
amaccann - you really could be describing Puyol there. ;)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YciOwBodD44
^^ Skinned twice in that clip. McShane's style of play really reminds me of Puyol, without the distribution. Cannavaro too. I bet he made many mistakes at 22 because of his style of play. I'm talking about style of play btw, not ability.
30/05/2008, 2:47 PM
McShane is also a player that Trap feels is really low in confidence. If last night was him playing with low confidence then we've nothing to worry about. ;) In fairness he did look a nervous wreck a couple of times when he got the ball last night. One particular time just at the centre circle he went to play a back pass and the ball got stuck under his feet. I go on about confidence in players all the time so really I can imagine how good Dunne and McShane can be if full of confidence.
amaccann - you really could be describing Puyol there. ;)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YciOwBodD44
^^ Skinned twice in that clip. McShane's style of play really reminds me of Puyol, without the distribution. Cannavaro too. I bet he made many mistakes at 22 because of his style of play. I'm talking about style of play btw, not ability.
Not really, he was pretty immense at Parma, I'd nearly say that was the best stage of his career, performance wise anyway. Always annoyed me that Nesta was considered the worse of the two to be honest. Man that team should have won Serie A once.
FarBeag
30/05/2008, 2:52 PM
Fair play to him, he did very well last night and probably outshone Dunne to be honest. He did make a couple of mistakes and it’s the mistakes that I worry about mostly with McShane, one is enough to ruin a good performance and lose the match for us. I know that I have slated him a bit and will remain critical until he proves that he can play a full 90+ without any errors. He needs to play regularly at Centre back and I really hope that someone gives him this opportunity whether it be premiership or Championship. One thing for sure he certainly wears his heart on his sleeve.
30/05/2008, 3:06 PM
Fair play to him, he did very well last night and probably outshone Dunne to be honest. He did make a couple of mistakes and it’s the mistakes that I worry about mostly with McShane, one is enough to ruin a good performance and lose the match for us. I know that I have slated him a bit and will remain critical until he proves that he can play a full 90+ without any errors.
I think that's a little unfair on last night performance. Everyone made mistakes. Kiely miskicked a pass out for a throw in - very minor. Dunne made a sloppy challenge that could have resulted in a peno. Delaney slipped at a crucial point. McGeady gave the ball away a few times. McShane miskicked a pass to an opposing player but other than that I don't think he made a mistake.
FarBeag
30/05/2008, 3:12 PM
I think that's a little unfair on last night performance. Everyone made mistakes. Kiely miskicked a pass out for a throw in - very minor. Dunne made a sloppy challenge that could have resulted in a peno. Delaney slipped at a crucial point. McGeady gave the ball away a few times. McShane miskicked a pass to an opposing player but other than that I don't think he made a mistake.
You’re correct, he made one mistake but apart from this he was very good. The point I am making is that I cannot see him getting away with making the odd mistake in the more important games. You just can’t afford to make any mistakes at this level and expect to get away with it. He made a big error in the Serbian game and got punished for it.
30/05/2008, 3:52 PM
I thought McShane did well last night. It was a bit hairy at the back at times but he didn't look out of place. We need him playing regular first team football next season to rebuild his confidence.
I thought a year ago he'd be in our defence for years to come. Now I'm less hopeful.
boovidge
30/05/2008, 5:05 PM
he looks so nervous whenever the ball's played back to him. However theres certainly still potential there, i don't think many would have thought Dunne would develop into the player he is now.
irishultra
30/05/2008, 7:05 PM
That picture doesn't do him justice to be fair...not that I admire his looks or nothing. He definetly has viking heritage(and while we are at it, so probably does Doyler)
30/05/2008, 7:13 PM
God he's ugly though isn't he???
Incredible Hulk.
http://sunderland.theoffside.com/files/2007/08/mcshane.jpg
Paul McShane
http://ia.media-imdb.com/images/M/MV5BMTY0NTcyMzcxMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNjM4MzM2._V1._ SY400_SX600_.jpg
Paddy Garcia
30/05/2008, 8:49 PM
His poor pass could (& should) have led to a goal. McShane is as good as a goal lead to any opponent. I really don't know how you can compare it to a kick out that went for a throw. Kiely was brilliant last night, McShane was poor. Delaney did make a few mistakes mind you.
Frankly he is a disaster waiting to happen, & looked very nervous indeed.
31/05/2008, 10:26 AM
His poor pass could (& should) have led to a goal. McShane is as good as a goal lead to any opponent. I really don't know how you can compare it to a kick out that went for a throw. Kiely was brilliant last night, McShane was poor.
And we conceded 1 goal in 2 games. Who knows? If Andy O'Brien played we might have conceded more.
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2008, 11:42 AM
And we conceded 1 goal in 2 games. Who knows? If Andy O'Brien played we might have conceded more.
If O'Brien had made those mistakes we would never hear the end of it. Despite the fact the he has been pretty solid for us over the years.
When the opposition create goals through brilliant attacking play that is one thing.
When we run off in the wrong direction or pass the ball to the oppostion, thus setting them up, that it another issue entirely. He made some decent challenges & won some difficult tackles. However he also manages to screw up the simple things consistently - & yes that is poor.
The likes of McGrath made less mistakes in his entire career than McShane has made in his last two outings. If Keane has played him to the end of the season then Sunderland would be facing Donacaster next season.
31/05/2008, 11:53 AM
If O'Brien had made those mistakes we would never hear the end of it. Despite the fact the he has been pretty solid for us over the years.
When the opposition create goals through brilliant attacking play that is one thing.
When we run off in the wrong direction or pass the ball to the oppostion, thus setting them up, that it another issue entirely. He made some decent challenges & won some difficult tackles. However he also manages to screw up the simple things consistently - & yes that is poor.
The likes of McGrath made less mistakes in his entire career than McShane has made in his last two outings. If Keane has played him to the end of the season then Sunderland would be facing Donacaster next season.
I don't think you meant it, but thats class, the word itself sounds like something else that would have fit perfectly in there too. Btw the ctrl and B and C commands are great :D
Paddy Garcia
31/05/2008, 12:27 PM
I wish I had meant it.
soccerc
31/05/2008, 12:45 PM
Paul praying for a good game while Brady shows his good side :D
Brady inspects the troops (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3028/2536938710_fa13c9288c.jpg)
( Thanks Pos, there is now)
31/05/2008, 12:53 PM
Paul praying for a good game while Brady shows his good side :D
Brady inspects the troops (http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3028/2536938710_fa13c9288c.jpg)
soccerc there is no h in the link so i just added it above!
Seagull-4-life
01/06/2008, 1:51 PM
When your texting paul mcshane (in dictionary mode) it comes up as mcshame...can't make it up.
05/06/2008, 3:47 PM
Linked with Everton and West Brom according to the rumours section on safc.com: http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=14985
Mind you they list 23 players that have been linked with Sunderland, and I'd be shocked if more than 6 of them ended up at the Stadium of Light
irishultra
05/06/2008, 4:38 PM
He looks so like a German...thats the second thing I always think of when I see him.
He looks a bit like James Woods.
05/06/2008, 6:30 PM
Linked with Everton and West Brom according to the rumours section on safc.com: http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=14985
How ironic it'd be if Everton were looking to sign him after the 7-1.
21/06/2008, 5:45 PM
Bad news that he has injured himself on holiday and may miss the opening qualifiers. Looks like we have no cover at centre half.
http://www.shieldsgazette.com/safc/McShane-injury-blow-for-Sunderland.4206359.jp
stiofain
21/06/2008, 9:00 PM
How ironic it'd be if Everton were looking to sign him after the 7-1.
Was thinking the exact same thing!
21/06/2008, 10:30 PM
The only team who'd sign McShane would be a championship side. Alas, I think his immediate Premiership days are over.
22/06/2008, 12:03 PM
When I heard that Trap watched all of Ireland's recent games I was delighted for McShane because I knew he'd have seen something special in him. He could have went with O'Shea at centre half against Colombia so he clearly rates him and thinks he's going through a confidence crisis atm. Trap obviously knows a player when he see's one so I don't understand those that say they're happy to see McShane injured. Trap knows as much as all of us that he's prone to errors. Trap has seen McShane make mistakes but he still rates him. It seems like some people think he was given a few DVD's of McShane's best moments in football. Either that or they don't trust his opinion on a player.
No matter who we have available I think McShane-Dunne is definitely our best partnership. I can't wait to see both of them play with full confidence if the Colombia game is anything to go by. They conceded 1 goal in the 2 games so far. Of course it was a McShane error but it was still 1 goal in 2 games. O'Shea or O'Brien may have played beside Dunne. We may have conceded 2 goals in 2. Neither might have committed an error and they might have went away with a lot more good reviews than McShane did.
Anyway, we know McShane is prone to errors. Trap knows McShane is prone to errors. Trap is still happy to play McShane. It's another 7, 8, 9 years before McShane reaches his peak. He's already good enough imo and I'm sure he's going to be a really excellent player in the future.
Qwerty
22/06/2008, 4:02 PM
When I heard that Trap watched all of Ireland's recent games I was delighted for McShane because I knew he'd have seen something special in him. He could have went with O'Shea at centre half against Colombia so he clearly rates him and thinks he's going through a confidence crisis atm. Trap obviously knows a player when he see's one so I don't understand those that say they're happy to see McShane injured. Trap knows as much as all of us that he's prone to errors. Trap has seen McShane make mistakes but he still rates him. It seems like some people think he was given a few DVD's of McShane's best moments in football. Either that or they don't trust his opinion on a player.
No matter who we have available I think McShane-Dunne is definitely our best partnership. I can't wait to see both of them play with full confidence if the Colombia game is anything to go by. They conceded 1 goal in the 2 games so far. Of course it was a McShane error but it was still 1 goal in 2 games. O'Shea or O'Brien may have played beside Dunne. We may have conceded 2 goals in 2. Neither might have committed an error and they might have went away with a lot more good reviews than McShane did.
Anyway, we know McShane is prone to errors. Trap knows McShane is prone to errors. Trap is still happy to play McShane. It's another 7, 8, 9 years before McShane reaches his peak. He's already good enough imo and I'm sure he's going to be a really excellent player in the future.
It may be more accurate to say that Kiely-Dunne-McShane conceded 1 goal in 2 games. If Kiely hadn't been in goal against Colombia who knows how many goalds they would have conceded??? Not that that would necessarily mean that McShane was at fault, the pourous midefield was the real reason for the high shots on target conceded.
I'm on the fence on McShane, next season will be his most important. I hope he moves to the Championship as he can regain form and confidence there.
24/06/2008, 7:09 PM
So who are going to be the centre halves in McShane's absence? O'Shea and Dunne ? WOuld like to see O'Shea get a move out of Man U and get regular first team football!
seanfhear
24/06/2008, 8:22 PM
So who are going to be the centre halves in McShane's absence? O'Shea and Dunne ? WOuld like to see O'Shea get a move out of Man U and get regular first team football!
he needs to go to a club that would play him consistently in one position which should probably be centre back.Mind you historically players that leave the major clubs tend to disapoint why this is i dont think that anybody knows the answer
Dr. Ogba
25/06/2008, 10:14 AM
Well now's the time to call up both McCarthy and St.Ledger for the upcoming friendlies. At least give them a bit of experience of the setup just in case either of them are required for the qualifiers.
Would say that he'll go with O'Shea and Dunne though but, by jaysus, if we ever needed Dunne to get through a season unscathed (injury-wise) its this season...
If he gets injured we're fooked!
dr_peepee
25/06/2008, 11:07 AM
Mind you historically players that leave the major clubs tend to disapoint why this is i dont think that anybody knows the answer
Cos' they're sh!te and they're carried by 8 or 9 quality players at any given time...
Or they're conditioned for football with better players, and these new lesser players aren't on the same wavelength making the right runs or hitting the right positions..
Who's to say!!! I'd like O'Shea to leave united and play on the continent..
15/07/2008, 6:58 AM
Any word on his recovery from the injury? I wonder would he have been off loaded by "Roy Keane's Sunderland" if he hadn't been injured.
SunderlandBohs
23/07/2008, 11:36 AM
Rumour on Sky Sports.com rumour page. McShane is in talks with Everton about a five year deal. Toffees will fork out 9-10million for him!!!:D:D Was on Watford list as a possible replacement for ****tu.
Wolfie
23/07/2008, 12:08 PM
Rumour on Sky Sports.com rumour page. McShane is in talks with Everton about a five year deal. Toffees will fork out 9-10million for him!!!:D:D Was on Watford list as a possible replacement for ****tu.
Would that be "Homefarm - Everton"? :confused:
SunderlandBohs
23/07/2008, 12:36 PM
It was one of those "My mate is a groundsman at such a such stadium" rumours. Just thought it was funny. The rumour about Watford was meant to be true. But Paul do his knee on hols & Sittu's deal with Rangers has fallen thru.
23/07/2008, 12:51 PM
WOuld like to see O'Shea get a move out of Man U and get regular first team football!
I personally think the less football O'Shea plays at all the better for all concerned. ;)
23/07/2008, 12:59 PM
O'Shea is in a serious comfort zone at united playing his ten mins every week in whatever position Fergie deems necessary.
I think McShane needs first team football, obvious enough but ideally with an experienced centre half beside him who he can learn off etc.
24/07/2008, 7:11 AM
O'Shea is in a serious comfort zone at united playing his ten mins every week in whatever position Fergie deems necessary.
If O'Shea was anyway ambitious, he'd take a drop in salary and clear off to a lesser club for regular football. How can he possible enjoy 5 minutes here, 10 minutes there? As you say, he's in the comfort zone.
the doc
24/07/2008, 9:14 AM
Forget McShane this is the lad that should be playing ahead of him anyday!
http://www.pne.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=116702
musicinmouth
24/07/2008, 12:52 PM
If O'Shea was anyway ambitious, he'd take a drop in salary and clear off to a lesser club for regular football. How can he possible enjoy 5 minutes here, 10 minutes there? As you say, he's in the comfort zone.
I think that's a bit harsh. I think he has been very clever in making himself a squad player who can fill in in various positions. He plays a bit more than you're suggesting, but he plays well when he does play. That kind of player is very valuable, I'm surprised more players don't do that. And elsewhere in this forum people talk about how players don't have any commitment to their clubs - well, he obviously does. Who cares how much money he is making, every premiership player is overpaid.
I don't think he's in a comfort zone - I don't think he would have lasted so long at United if he was. He must be working hard in training and he's always reliable.
And I don't think he's lacking in ambition... he wants to play for the best team he can... and to win things... he just won the champions league! Maybe he genuinely believes that he can fight his way back into a regular place in the team. Good for him I say! I think it would show less ambition to give up at United and play for a lesser club who are never going to win anything.
Dun Laoire
24/07/2008, 1:00 PM
I think that's a bit harsh. I think he has been very clever in making himself a squad player who can fill in in various positions. He plays a bit more than you're suggesting, but he plays well when he does play. That kind of player is very valuable, I'm surprised more players don't do that. And elsewhere in this forum people talk about how players don't have any commitment to their clubs - well, he obviously does. Who cares how much money he is making, every premiership player is overpaid.
I don't think he's in a comfort zone - I don't think he would have lasted so long at United if he was. He must be working hard in training and he's always reliable.
And I don't think he's lacking in ambition... he wants to play for the best team he can... and to win things... he just won the champions league! Maybe he genuinely believes that he can fight his way back into a regular place in the team. Good for him I say! I think it would show less ambition to give up at United and play for a lesser club who are never going to win anything.
Good post there. I very much doubt Manchester United do comfort zone. If O'Shea wasn't pulling his weight he'd be outta there
24/07/2008, 1:13 PM
started about 20 games last season and involved in many more. probably a lot more than steve finnan for liverpool yet some on here say our wc qualification chances will greatly improve if he returns to our team
24/07/2008, 1:14 PM
I personally think the less football O'Shea plays at all the better for all concerned. ;)
what an original post