View Full Version : Paul McShane
Pages :
[
9]
24/07/2008, 2:16 PM
what an original post
I've always felt that the chief thing we need here is more originality, more originality and insightfulness. The two things we need here are originality and insightfulness... and off topic, bitchy, sarcastic posts directed at clichés we disagree with. The three things we need here are originality and insightfulness and off topic, bitchy, sarcastic posts directed at clichés we disagree with... and an almost fanatical devotion to the Pope... The four... no... amongst our needs, amongst the things we need are elements such as... I'll post again.
youngirish
24/07/2008, 2:29 PM
I think that's a bit harsh. I think he has been very clever in making himself a squad player who can fill in in various positions. He plays a bit more than you're suggesting, but he plays well when he does play. That kind of player is very valuable, I'm surprised more players don't do that. And elsewhere in this forum people talk about how players don't have any commitment to their clubs - well, he obviously does. Who cares how much money he is making, every premiership player is overpaid.
I don't think he's in a comfort zone - I don't think he would have lasted so long at United if he was. He must be working hard in training and he's always reliable.
And I don't think he's lacking in ambition... he wants to play for the best team he can... and to win things... he just won the champions league! Maybe he genuinely believes that he can fight his way back into a regular place in the team. Good for him I say! I think it would show less ambition to give up at United and play for a lesser club who are never going to win anything.
He's absolute g**h . Have you ever watched him play? How often does he play well for united? Never. At best he's average. He's pure rubbish for Ireland and has been consistently one of our poorest performers since he made his debut 7 years ago. I can't remember any player in 25 years of watching our team who has been as bad as O'Shea for as long a duration.
The only reason he's still at united is exactly because he has no ambition to be a regular player and is versatile enough to be of use to Fergie. Ferguson likes to keep the odd versatile donkey around to keep himself covered if he finds himself with a depleted squad at any point during the campaign. Wes Brown, Silvestre, Darren Flecther, David May, Phil Neville and Quentin Fortune all spring to mind none of whom are particularly talented as players (though most are superior to O'Shea).
As for winning the champions league in reality he contributed nothing to that achievement but if you and a few others are foolish enough to think that because he wears a medal that means he won that tournament then fair enough. Most other people would state that he has about as much right to that medal as the kit man whatever the UEFA rules may state.
24/07/2008, 4:09 PM
He's absolute g**h .
There are no swear words beginning and ending with those letters. None. What language are you using man? GAA isn't spelt with a 'h' unless you're going phonetic.
Have you ever watched him play? How often does he play well for united? Never.
Yes, that's a fair and balanced, objective assessment of his games for Man Utd. He's never had a good game. Ferguson could replace him with a wheeled bale of silage and the only difference would be the slightly diminished aerial threat.
The amount of hyperbole about O'Shea on here is incredible.
youngirish
24/07/2008, 4:55 PM
Yes, that's a fair and balanced, objective assessment of his games for Man Utd. He's never had a good game. Ferguson could replace him with a wheeled bale of silage and the only difference would be the slightly diminished aerial threat.
The bale of silage would be less prone to provide an endless stream of wayward passes to its teammates and thus giving posession away.
Keep working on the g**h you'll get there in the end, probably a lot sooner than it takes you to realise JOS is by anybody's reckoning a poor excuse for a Premiership player but you'll eventually arrive at that conculsion also.
g**h = goth, naturally...
galwayhoop
30/07/2008, 3:21 PM
Keep working on the g**h you'll get there in the end,
does it rhyme with t**h???
30/07/2008, 3:30 PM
what an original post
Get over yourself will ya, it was a joke :rolleyes:
I'm actually one of the few who thinks O'Shea isn't as bad as he's made out to be :eek:
31/07/2008, 2:18 PM
Get over yourself will ya, it was a joke :rolleyes:
I'm actually one of the few who thinks O'Shea isn't as bad as he's made out to be :eek:
fair enough so. apologies. just tired of the over critical posts by some about oshea
Noelys Guitar
29/08/2008, 10:45 PM
Gone on loan to Hull. Good move for McShane. Hope he gets some playing time.
dr_peepee
30/08/2008, 12:00 PM
Good move for him.. It'll make or break him.
The lower profile will be good for his learning curve, every little thing won't get torn to shreds and impact his confidence. Plus it's still the top flight. Good move all round I think....
Noelys Guitar
30/08/2008, 12:54 PM
Good move for him.. It'll make or break him.
The lower profile will be good for his learning curve, every little thing won't get torn to shreds and impact his confidence. Plus it's still the top flight. Good move all round I think....
Acording to Phil Brown McShane will be pushing for a first team place after the international break (just be on Radio 5). Good to see McShane stays in the premiership.
Razors left peg
30/08/2008, 3:14 PM
I actually think he might have been better off dropping down to the Championship for a season or 2 until he learns to read the game a bit better. I rate him and I think in a few years he will be a very good defender but he does have alot to learn yet and the pressure of the Premiership where every mistake is highlighted so much isnt the best thing for him at this stage of his career
31/08/2008, 9:28 AM
I actually think he might have been better off dropping down to the Championship for a season or 2 until he learns to read the game a bit better.
He was at Brighton for a year and really was too good for that level by all reports. Even for West Brom he played right back, where he was brutal in the premiership, and he didn't do too bad. I'd rather he got the top level experience now tbh.
He's actually a well known player outside of Irish fans. Well known as a crap defender. I just think that's his style of play. He looks odd when he's running about the pitch - one mistake and he's a headless chicken. I'm delighted Trap see's something in him. He's actually been really good for Ireland so far and I can't believe how poorly people rate him.
So far for Ireland he's more than made up for his mistakes with his performances. Once he cuts down on the errors he'll be some player. I'm delighted he got this move.
29/09/2008, 12:03 PM
I heard he was on top of his game for Hull against Arsenal.
What position is he playing in?
Did anybody watch the game?
29/09/2008, 12:17 PM
I heard he was on top of his game for Hull against Arsenal.
What position is he playing in?
Did anybody watch the game?
he was at RB and very solid.
29/09/2008, 12:30 PM
he was at RB and very solid.
The own goal aside you mean ;)
Delighted to see him getting regular football in the Premiership. Can only be good for him if he performs to a reasonable standard.
youngirish
29/09/2008, 1:03 PM
The own goal aside you mean ;)
Delighted to see him getting regular football in the Premiership. Can only be good for him if he performs to a reasonable standard.
Exactly. I didn't see the goal and as far as I'm aware McShane was not deemed too culpable for it but it does make me slightly concerned when McShane is described as having one of his bettey performances yet still manages to turn the ball into his own net.
29/09/2008, 1:08 PM
Only saw the highlights. The og was unfortunate. He seemed to be quite solid.
He needs to play regularly ideally at centre half but rb is a good start. Hull look solid and well organsied. They also have a decent manager so it will certainly help once McShane keeps his place.
Wolfie
29/09/2008, 1:12 PM
I don't think he was held too culpable for that goal.
He's developed quite a nack of turning ball into his own net, though. He must be heading for double figures at this stage.
Sligo Hornet
29/09/2008, 1:21 PM
That og was reminiscent of his dodgy footwork in the infamous San Marino goal!:eek:
29/09/2008, 2:37 PM
ye know the saying "in the right place the right time", well Mcshane epitomises the exact opposite of this, he just seems to be in exactly the wrong place at the wrong time. I thought he was unfortunate for the goal though.
Wheels
29/09/2008, 2:49 PM
Fabregas was running free of his marker into the centre of the open goal and McShane got across to cover. Fab would have had a tap in, but McShane got in the way, did as light a touch as possible away from Fab and tried to turn and clear the ball, but it had just bobbled over the line.
Definately not a bad own goal, he very nearly saved a certain goal. If you start giving out about defenders when they do that then they won't try to get back ever. He did well.
Might he fill our right back slot in our upcomming games? Finnan is a major doubt and Kelly is definately out.
29/09/2008, 2:55 PM
Hull had only won 1 game until McShane arrived, and they haven't lost since he started playing with them.
bawn79
29/09/2008, 2:58 PM
Fabregas was running free of his marker into the centre of the open goal and McShane got across to cover. Fab would have had a tap in, but McShane got in the way, did as light a touch as possible away from Fab and tried to turn and clear the ball, but it had just bobbled over the line.
Definately not a bad own goal, he very nearly saved a certain goal. If you start giving out about defenders when they do that then they won't try to get back ever. He did well.
Might he fill our right back slot in our upcomming games? Finnan is a major doubt and Kelly is definately out.
Id say with the way Italian teams would normally just move a centre back to left back/right back or vice versa over the years then Id say that Trap would have no problem playing him as a right-back.
I do hear good things about Foley though, however I have never seen him play to be honest.
29/09/2008, 4:39 PM
ye know the saying "in the right place the right time", well Mcshane epitomises the exact opposite of this, he just seems to be in exactly the wrong place at the wrong time. I thought he was unfortunate for the goal though.
Probably more a case of always being at the centre of the action.
He's not a right back in a million years but that was the best I've seen him in that position. His distribution was good too.
Razors left peg
29/09/2008, 5:45 PM
Will he play at right back for the Cyprus game with Kelly and Finnan both out?
FarBeag
29/09/2008, 7:43 PM
Will he play at right back for the Cyprus game with Kelly and Finnan both out?
More than likely but it will be heart in mouth stuff for me anyway.
29/09/2008, 7:49 PM
Probably, seeing that Trap brought him on as a sub for Finnan in the Georgia game.
Just in time to be on the scene of the crime.
Could be ominous :eek:
29/09/2008, 7:52 PM
I'd rather McShane beside Dunne and O'Shea at right back if McShane was going to be playing. Preferably we shouldn't break up the central partnership though so I'd go with Foley at right back.
FarBeag
29/09/2008, 7:59 PM
Everyone to their own I suppose, but it's amazing how there is such a difference of opinion on how good/reliable McShane is as a player.He is either assessed as being excellent or utter crap but no in betweens.
There is no way O' Shea should be moved from the centre and yes Foley should play on the right.
29/09/2008, 8:06 PM
No way should O'Shea be moved.
O'Shea at Centre Half, after Trap gives him his testosterone injection
This is a new Ireland
O'Shea with bite and the next step is McShane to inspire confidence.
Qwerty
29/09/2008, 10:47 PM
McShane will become a good player with time, he is still young and I think he is learning from his mistakes. To be honest given his nightmare at Sunderland last season it is reassuruing to see a good manager like Phil Brown bring him in to a Premiership side. He'll be OK.
Colbert Report
30/09/2008, 12:34 AM
but it's amazing how there is such a difference of opinion on how good/reliable McShane is as a player.He is either assessed as being excellent or utter crap but no in betweens.
That's because every time he plays he's either really good or really, really bad.
30/09/2008, 10:07 AM
No way would I break up O'Shea & Dunne either. I'd go for McShane at RB but with a degree of trepidation. It's no time to throw Foley in at the deep end regardless of how good a prospect he may be.
We should keep a settled team where possible. McShane in for Finnan is one change, moving O'Shea would require two changes and would disrupt what has been one of the foundations of a half decent run - an experienced CN partnership.
dr_peepee
30/09/2008, 11:15 AM
I wouldn't let McShane near the right back position, for his own sake as much as ours...
30/09/2008, 11:58 AM
With Finnan & Kelly injured, who would you go for? Foley?
30/09/2008, 12:07 PM
Obviously McShane is going to start at RB in the absence of Finnan and Kelly.
dr_peepee
30/09/2008, 12:12 PM
Either Foley or O'Shea...
I understand your reluctance to break up the O'Shea Dunne partner ship, or the need to avoid throwing Foley in at the deep end, but for me both are better options than McShane at right full. I'm a McShane fan. But only at centre half, and he still has alot to do to win back over elements of our support in his best position, never mind at right full. It's as much for his own sake as ours that I feel this..
At a push I'd pick the foley option. Another position on the pitch and I'd generally opt away from a novice, but if your gonna throw someone in at the deep end I think a specialist right full playing at right full is probbly one were it can be carried off.
I've seen him play a few times and he looks alright.
Razors left peg
30/09/2008, 12:13 PM
Joey O Brien is another option at right back...
30/09/2008, 12:17 PM
I would go with Joey O Brien at right back. He has played there plenty of times for Bolton and always looked good. A good athelete and good pace and height. At right back what you need is steady at this stage and I think Joey O Brien is the best person to cover for Finnan in my view.
30/09/2008, 12:26 PM
Trap will go for Paul McShane.
Why? "the little things" - Trap will not make any widespread changes to the team, any changes made will be kept to a minimum. McShane is a player he is familiar with and that has been around since Trap's appointment.
It was interesting to see that he chose to use McShane as a sub in the Georgian game. I thought that substitution was unnecessary but I think it was Trap's way of saying to McShane you're outside the starting 11 now but you're still in my plans and I trust in your abilities.
Wolfie
30/09/2008, 12:35 PM
I'd leave Dunne / O'Shea at centre half in order to allow that partnership every chance of developing to its full potential.
I'd be more comfortable with O'Brien filling in at right full for the Cyprus game.
I think O'Brien is more composed on the ball in comparison to McShanes "Braveheart" footballing style.
30/09/2008, 2:41 PM
Joey O'Brien has been playing centre midfield for Bolton this season, and has been ever since Megson took over. I don't think he's ever played right full for Ireland, and putting him in there for the Cyprus game is a bigger risk than playing Foley IMO.
O'Shea and Dunne have been solid so far, with O'Shea playing better than he has ever done for Ireland. I know I've harped on about this before, but Kerr's first big mistake was making unforced changes against Israel at home when 2-0 up, moving Duff up front, Kilbane to the left, and introducing Kavanagh. With Trapattoni's experience, I can't see him making the same mistake.
Trapattoni clearly rates McShane ahead of the injured Kelly, so I think it'll be him who starts. If Foley excels in training in the run to the game, he may come on as a late subsitute. As ifk101 pointed out above, this would be the same confidence booster for him, as the late introduction for McShane was against Georgia.
Foley may get a run in the Poland game in November, but not beforehand, and I'd still start with Kelly, if he's available. Finnan can have the night off, he will be needed for bigger games in the new year
dr_peepee
30/09/2008, 3:14 PM
If Foley excels in training in the run to the game...
Or the game against Forest!!
I also see Trapp going with McShane despite what I believe...
06/10/2008, 6:36 AM
Or the game against Forest!!
I also see Trapp going with McShane despite what I believe...
Good to see McShane part of a defence which again didn't concede a goal.
irishultra
30/12/2008, 8:40 PM
mcshane hasnt given young a sniff.
30/12/2008, 8:56 PM
mcshane hasnt given young a sniff.
Haven't watched the match but 2 comments from a neutral thread of Celtic fans:
"McShane is garbage."
"McShane is brutal. "
Any reason for those comments on today's performance or is a case of people exaggerating a McShane mistake as usual? :)
irishultra
30/12/2008, 9:25 PM
few rash tackles but he was solid, well to my eyes anyway,
31/12/2008, 1:16 AM
For what it is worth Paul is in the Actim top 100 at no 67.
I don't know how it is compiled, but it is based upon every match he play and
I doubt the compilers have any particular bias towards him.
Andy O Brien is also in there.
irishfan86
31/12/2008, 1:36 AM
Just watched the game there.
Struggled in the first half a bit, but settled as the game went on.
Was solid defensively, but very poor on the ball. Poor crossing and passing in general.