View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2007/08
magpies
17/09/2007, 3:41 PM
Newcastle west Rovers 1-2 Newtown
Shanagolden 3-1 Moher Celtic
KevB76
17/09/2007, 4:40 PM
Well it was 10 nil at half time and the ref blew it up 20 mins in to the second half....
But what about this for a fact:
Every outfield player (excluding the keeper) managed to score.. thats every position!! Has this ever been done before? I sincerely doubt it... :)
Sorry to be pedantic but it was 11-0 at half time, thats an average of a goal every 4 minutes !
KevB76
17/09/2007, 4:48 PM
Meanus ... I think they are bottom of Div 3 in Limerick
Yeah, bottom of Div3A at the moment. They've been a decent team at their own level, won div3B two seasons ago unbeaten if I remember correctly, division cup finalists last year, but struggling so far this year. At their own level being the key point !
soccerc
17/09/2007, 5:16 PM
Pike's 14-0 win on Sunday must be up there with the highest score line in FAI junior cup history. Anyone know of any higher?
The early rounds can throw up similar huge scorelines but probably the most embarrassing is IIRC, the 1985 semi final being a 9-0 drubbing by Cherry Orchard over Carndonagh
abbeyvale
18/09/2007, 9:29 AM
ROUND 2 LIMERICK
1 Moyross Utd v Kilfinane Forest FC
2 Ballylanders FC v Ballynanty Rvs
3 Aishling/Annacotty FC v Newport FC
4 Mungret Regional v Fairview Rgs or Janesboro FC
5 Polonia Luimai FC v Weston Villa FC
6 Caladonians FC v Regional Utd
7 Herberstown FC or Park FC v Knockainey FC
8 Star Rvs v Elton Cel
9 Wembley Rvs v Pike Rvs
10 Carew Park FC v Granville Rgs.
11 Prospect Priory FC v Trinity Rgs
12 Charlevile FC v Killmallock Utd
13 Abbey Rvs v Glenview Rvs
14 Parkville Utd v Caherdavin Cel
15 Hyde Rgs v Athlunkard Villa FC
16 Hospital FC v St Pauls FC
17 Shannon Town FC v Kilteely FC
18 Kennedy Park FC v Corbally FC
19 Pallas FC v St. Patricks FC
20 Sumerville FC v Croom Utd.
Green_Hoop
18/09/2007, 3:54 PM
When are these games being played?
Mungret Vs. Boro/Fairview
and
Pike Vs. Wembley Stand out..
abbeyvale
19/09/2007, 9:26 AM
FAI 1st Round
Thursday 20/09/07
Herbertstown v Park F.C (Jackman Park 7pm)
Sunday 23/09/07
Fairview v Janesboro (10:30 Fairgreen)
Worldcup
20/09/2007, 9:55 PM
Did anyone get the result from Jackman Park tonight....
biscuit
21/09/2007, 1:43 PM
when is the draw for round 3?
shanman2
21/09/2007, 3:01 PM
Did anyone get the result from Jackman Park tonight....
Herbertstown 4 Park Rangers 1.
Was the end result herbertstown just too strong and physical for them by all accounts.
Fairview 2 - 0 Janesboro.
Deserved win for the view. Boro started very strongly for 15-20 mins but view then settled. Boro keeper gettin sent off just before half time was a loss for them. From what i saw he had to go tho. It was a farce that that young Polish ref was sent up to ref a game this big (WTF are the LDMC playin at)? Second half Boro really tried to kill the game, plenty of gamesmanship ( in fairness view were puttin them under a lot of pressure and was probably to be expected). Ref had to add about 10 mins of injury time and this is eventually what got to the Boro who looked out on their feet.
25 players up today for the view, whose panel now looks to be very strong. (Paul Harmon, Jason Purcell and Jeffrey Judge the 3 subs who came on). The likes of Gary Hannon, Brendan Hughes, and several other good young players to come in too.
Jock MIB
23/09/2007, 2:58 PM
Fairview 2 - 0 Janesboro.
Deserved win for the view. Boro started very strongly for 15-20 mins but view then settled. Boro keeper gettin sent off just before half time was a loss for them. From what i saw he had to go tho. It was a farce that that young Polish ref was sent up to ref a game this big (WTF are the LDMC playin at)? Second half Boro really tried to kill the game, plenty of gamesmanship ( in fairness view were puttin them under a lot of pressure and was probably to be expected). Ref had to add about 10 mins of injury time and this is eventually what got to the Boro who looked out on their feet.
Was it because he was young or Polish? what a open statement that was... its not the premiership here... this ref has handled a few premier games and the response i have heard have been complimentry about his abilities.
for the record there are several so called younger guys coming through some are irish , polish and scottish welcome to the real world
Was it because he was young or Polish? what a open statement that was... its not the premiership here... this ref has handled a few premier games and the response i have heard have been complimentry about his abilities.
for the record there are several so called younger guys coming through some are irish , polish and scottish welcome to the real world
What i meant by what i said was this fixture required an official who knows exactly what to expect from a game like this!! I have seen this ref in question a few times and i have no doubt he is a competant lad (appears to have a good grasp of english too to be fair), and we need lads like him coming through,but to ref a game like this which is make or break for both clubs in question is really throwing him in the deep end (especially with no linesmen present). He genuinely looked shook and flustered on several occasions from abuse he was getting!
3 Heroes
23/09/2007, 6:12 PM
You must be joking, I had him a few weeks ago and he was abysmal, talk about being intimidated by the sideline
Limeref
23/09/2007, 7:51 PM
You must be joking, I had him a few weeks ago and he was abysmal, talk about being intimidated by the sideline
Well if you know so much - why don't you take it up?
3 Heroes
23/09/2007, 8:28 PM
Well if you know so much - why don't you take it up?
Some of us prefer to play
Jock MIB
23/09/2007, 9:18 PM
and some prefer to ref but you don't see us calling players performances abysmal. it is called respect which seems to be missing from some people
progress
23/09/2007, 9:46 PM
ya if u as a player were abused everytime u made a bad decision by your a manager,im sure it would not be too long before u get P*ssed off.referees cant win because someone has to lose and they will ineviteably be unhappy.this problem has existed since time began.just move on and dont criticise referees individual performances.its an impossible job and i know i could not do it.a UN peacekeeping force would have trouble tryin to keep the peace in some junior matches in limerick
Jock MIB
23/09/2007, 9:57 PM
What i meant by what i said was this fixture required an official who knows exactly what to expect from a game like this!! I have seen this ref in question a few times and i have no doubt he is a competant lad (appears to have a good grasp of english too to be fair), and we need lads like him coming through,but to ref a game like this which is make or break for both clubs in question is really throwing him in the deep end (especially with no linesmen present). He genuinely looked shook and flustered on several occasions from abuse he was getting!
Make or break? why would that be... the losing team goes in recievership or something? ..... the only way people learn to handle these games is to be given these games dont you think
Nesta
23/09/2007, 11:05 PM
Make or break? why would that be... the losing team goes in recievership or something? ..... the only way people learn to handle these games is to be given these games dont you think
Well if you have any idea how being involved in the FAI influences top junior clubs then you should know exactly what i mean by that. Just see how Janesboro and Fairview fare over the coming months (ie numbers at training, turning up for matches, players leaving, general interest etc) and i'm pretty sure there will be a noticeable difference between the two.
Yes to a certain extent these refs can only gain experience of these games by getting assigned to them, but i think they should be exposed to more local derby premier league games first as opposed to being thrown into big FAI matches so soon where the sidelines are much more vocal and intimidating than league games.
Green_Hoop
24/09/2007, 8:29 AM
Well if you have any idea how being involved in the FAI influences top junior clubs then you should know exactly what i mean by that. Just see how Janesboro and Fairview fare over the coming months (ie numbers at training, turning up for matches, players leaving, general interest etc) and i'm pretty sure there will be a noticeable difference between the two.
Yes to a certain extent these refs can only gain experience of these games by getting assigned to them, but i think they should be exposed to more local derby premier league games first as opposed to being thrown into big FAI matches so soon where the sidelines are much more vocal and intimidating than league games.
Is every match not a derby?considering that every club comes from the same place..Fairview v Pike,Granville v boro,etc...He was reffing last season too and made a good show of it,this is probably a reward if anything.
Jock MIB
24/09/2007, 8:47 AM
I'm not disagreeing with you on that but thats the teams responsibility to keep there team together not the ref's fault... next you will blame us for mourihno being sacked next :D
Monster
24/09/2007, 12:59 PM
Good win for fairview.they seem to be progressing nicely and are improving every week and have a few good players to come in yet.
see's it
24/09/2007, 3:23 PM
who are the players to come in they seem to be going grand without them
Dr Mad
24/09/2007, 4:25 PM
Heard from Limerick sources that there are a lot of people looking at the Views ex LOI players as they can only play 5 (?) in Junior Cup, anyone know anything about this?
Green_Hoop
24/09/2007, 5:10 PM
Heard from Limerick sources that there are a lot of people looking at the Views ex LOI players as they can only play 5 (?) in Junior Cup, anyone know anything about this?
Alot of people??Such as? And as far as I know theres no ruling against it..And who's there 5 LOI players?Didn't think they had that many
who are the players to come in they seem to be going grand without them
Doing very well without them, but outside the starting eleven yesterday (which has to be one of the youngest in the country) for the view you have the likes of Gary Hannon, Jason Purcell, Paul Harmon, Jeffrey Judge, Brendan Hughes, Conor Lynch, Eoin Lynch, Stuart Byrnes, Stephen Grant, Darren ?? (good lad who came from Star), and about 5 or 6 other good young lads. Darren Harrington would have been in a few weeks but looks unlikely now seeing as he is a Limerick regular.
Ages of starting eleven yesterday,
Keeper: 27
Back Four: 26,24,24,24
Midfield: 20,24,19,19
Forwards: 22,21
Avg: 22.7
Green_Hoop
24/09/2007, 6:54 PM
Should really have a preliminary round(Yes I know they have a preliminary of sorts..)but for the weaker clubs to stop some of the above score lines,doesn't do anyone a favour tbh..
Dr Mad
24/09/2007, 7:58 PM
Just checked the rules Greenhoop its actually 4 that they are allowed, careful now!
Green_Hoop
24/09/2007, 8:00 PM
Is that 4 LOI players that played the season previous in LOI or during there entire career?
Dr Mad
24/09/2007, 8:57 PM
Now you sound a bit worried!
the hoops
24/09/2007, 9:03 PM
Now you sound a bit worried!
shur pike have only hartnett+wall
Dr Mad
24/09/2007, 9:22 PM
you sure? ;)
abbeyvale
24/09/2007, 9:34 PM
shur pike have only hartnett+wall
what about their player manager, didnt he play LOI,
pearse4t3
24/09/2007, 9:50 PM
Yeah he did and so did Declan Casey.
abbeyvale
24/09/2007, 10:08 PM
Yeah he did and so did Declan Casey.
thats 4,
abbeyvale
24/09/2007, 10:09 PM
ROUND 2 LIMERICK
1 Moyross Utd v Kilfinane Forest FC
2 Ballylanders FC v Ballynanty Rvs
3 Aishling/Annacotty FC v Newport FC
4 Mungret Regional v Fairview Rgs
5 Polonia Luimai FC v Weston Villa FC
6 Caladonians FC v Regional Utd
7 Herberstown FC v Knockainey FC
8 Star Rvs v Elton Cel
9 Wembley Rvs v Pike Rvs
10 Carew Park FC v Granville Rgs.
11 Prospect Priory FC v Trinity Rgs
12 Charlevile FC v Killmallock Utd
13 Abbey Rvs v Glenview Rvs
14 Parkville Utd v Caherdavin Cel
15 Hyde Rgs v Athlunkard Villa FC
16 Hospital FC v St Pauls FC
17 Shannon Town FC v Kilteely FC
18 Kennedy Park FC v Corbally FC
19 Pallas FC v St. Patricks FC
20 Sumerville FC v Croom Utd.
Green_Hoop
24/09/2007, 10:38 PM
and from these forums...apparently Pa Moloney too...very much doubt it though..oh and Pa McGarry too thats 6 at least...
KevB76
24/09/2007, 11:18 PM
:confused: :D :D
see's it
25/09/2007, 7:09 AM
and from these forums...apparently Pa Moloney too...very much doubt it though..oh and Pa McGarry too thats 6 at least...
Mcgarry played a friendly that hardly counts and if it does you can count Morris aswell his father played LOI.......
Monster
25/09/2007, 8:21 AM
I hear the boro are supposed to be putting in an objection.Something about the match card or other.Anyone hear anything about this.Leather??
leather
25/09/2007, 8:26 AM
Very Possible Monster. I was not at match on sunday but like you have heard whispers..
see's it
25/09/2007, 8:27 AM
oh jesus please dont start..........................
Monster
25/09/2007, 8:29 AM
Very Possible Monster. I was not at match on sunday but like you have heard whispers..
Whats the boros arguement Leather??
Dr Mad
25/09/2007, 9:24 AM
Dont take this as a Dubs v Country thing lads but for years now the country teams have ignored the regrading of ex LOI players and there a few chickens coming home to roost ... the internet means that opponents can now very quickly check up on players past clubs and even match reports.
leather
25/09/2007, 9:32 AM
Whats the boros arguement Leather??
Not going to spread rumours as i am unsure as to the exact Objection.
enough people will do that..
Green_Hoop
25/09/2007, 10:07 AM
Mcgarry played a friendly that hardly counts and if it does you can count Morris aswell his father played LOI.......
Your actually probably serious too...thats the sad thing..You can count wayne o'donovan too so on your theory since his Grandad played for Ireland...
magicman
25/09/2007, 11:12 AM
boro weren't given the match card until after the game finished, and they refused to fill it in. they have no objection, they're as much to blame as the referee, card should have been filled oout before the game anyway.
Boro could end up in trouble themselves for not fillin it in when they were given it
Monster
25/09/2007, 11:30 AM
boro weren't given the match card until after the game finished, and they refused to fill it in. they have no objection, they're as much to blame as the referee, card should have been filled oout before the game anyway.
Boro could end up in trouble themselves for not fillin it in when they were given it
Thats what i heard magicman and also heard if that is there arguement they have no chance of winning that objection.
The ref got some abuse at that match on Sunday both during and after the game.
alwaysblue
25/09/2007, 11:35 AM
why is it that conny does start himself?? why not play mcgarry at left full and enright and purcell as centre halves. much better defence than when he includes himself. he looks well past it these days