View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2007/08
MitreSize5
05/11/2007, 7:55 AM
just want to echo most of the comments above ..... the pike - view match was a great advertisement for the junior cup and junior football in general. The two teams were a credit to their clubs and the match was played with all the passion you'd expect from these two great rivals. At stages there was some very good football played by both teams with hardly one dirty tackle in the match (10 yellow cards!!! - Mike Kiely your having a laugh).
the view have come on leaps an bounds since we beat them handy in the league earlier this year and if they keep playing like they did on Sunday they'll be there or there abouts come may
05/11/2007, 8:47 AM
Glenview fc 6 v 1 Dungarvan fc
We've now scored 12 in 3 games.
dell hell
05/11/2007, 9:05 AM
in my opinion mike kiely had an excellent game and his decision to disallow the goal was spot on sniffer was offside when the ball was played absolutely no doubt about it.pike looked the better side in ET and had more
than a couple of chances to win it having said that smackers made a great save to deny fairview the win.
maestro
05/11/2007, 9:07 AM
I agree - he should have sent of Finucane in the first 10 minutes.Kicked a player off the ball in front of his eyes and all he got was a yellow,some of the yellows he gave after it were a disgrace.
Never a red card , your man went down like he was shot too , just take the beating and be done with it! Great game with Pike just about deserving it , just.
see's it
05/11/2007, 9:12 AM
anyone complaining about the ref after that game yesterday is a tosser and hasnt a clue about football it was a great game with everything in it what more do people want?
Poloman
05/11/2007, 9:18 AM
That call for a red card is a joke. Both of them were pushing and shoving and he did go down like he was shot. Yellow card was a fair call. Dida and Rivaldo falling like trees come to mind. Again well done to both sides from a neutral point of view it was one of if not the best game of junior football I have seen in Limerick. Good luck to Pike in the next round(s)
Monster
05/11/2007, 9:50 AM
Relax lads - i was standing right in front of the incident and he could have easily been sent off.
See's it how are we tossers if we talk about the ref - did you see a game yesterday that warranted 10 yellow cards??I didnt - i dont think the Fairview panalty was 1 either from where i was standing but i could be wrong.as i said great game of football and the best of luck to Pike.
see's it
05/11/2007, 11:59 AM
it was a great game and still the ref who is 1 of the best in town gets questioned.common sense was used he could of ruined the game if he sent him off
rooney10
05/11/2007, 1:03 PM
what happened fairview yesterday . . . where dey missing players ??????
superhero
05/11/2007, 1:05 PM
3rd Rd
Summerville 1-0 Kilfinane
Herbertstown 2-1 Abbey Rvs
Hospital 1-4 Regional Utd
Trinity Rgs off Athlunkard
Kilmallock 3-1 Caherdavin
Aisling/Annacotty 4-1 ShannonTown
Pallasgreen 1-2 Carew Park
Ballynanty Rvs 4-0 Kennedy Pk
Polonia Luimni 0-1 Star Rvs
Pike Rvs 4-3 Fairview Rangers (AET)
4th round draw from
Summerville
Herbertstown
Regional
Trinity/Athlunkard
Kilmallock
Aisling
Carew Pk
Ballynanty
Star
Pike
05/11/2007, 1:12 PM
what are owenmore from galway like, anyone?
what happened fairview yesterday . . . where dey missing players ??????
You ask that is if you are surprised by the outcome?? Fairview were missing James Hayes (hamstring) and Willie O'Brien (knee), and Gary Hannon still isnt fully recovered after going over on his ankle 3 weeks ago. Apart from that everyone else was fit.
The way the posts are saying about the match,it must have been a classic,was dave wall playing yesterday,if yes,how did he play??
Ya Dave was playing alright. Started up front but moved back to midfield when substitution was made after 30 mins.
MitreSize5
05/11/2007, 2:14 PM
The way the posts are saying about the match,it must have been a classic,was dave wall playing yesterday,if yes,how did he play??
he played alright and had a good game .... for Pike
Green_Hoop
05/11/2007, 3:01 PM
in my opinion mike kiely had an excellent game and his decision to disallow the goal was spot on sniffer was offside when the ball was played absolutely no doubt about it.pike looked the better side in ET and had more
than a couple of chances to win it having said that smackers made a great save to deny fairview the win.
The fact that sniffers goal was disallowed for a infringement on the keeper totally dispells your theory of offside,perfect goal in most peoples eyes,Mike Kiely's perfect record of never ever giving Pike a penalty continues.
Also it was horrible to see Trevor higgins diving to the floor after quarter of an hour claiming he was injured in a tackle only to hop up and jog on once he knew there was a card coming...
Some Fairview supporter said it best the 3 full backs were responsible for the majority of the goals,Higgins,Mitchell and Enright(who was turned inside out..)
Monster
05/11/2007, 3:02 PM
Dave 'rent a player' Wall did ok - came in to the game more when jason Purcell went off.
I thought the 3 best players on the pitch in no particular order were Pa Mc garry, Christy Doyle and Paul Harmon.Christy Doyle from a center off ran at the Pike team and nearly scored, some goal that would have been.
Monster
05/11/2007, 3:10 PM
no not really hacker just a bit of banter
mr. man
05/11/2007, 3:37 PM
Tipperary Southern & District League (TSDL), North Tipperary & District League (NTDL) and the West Waterford/East Cork League (WWEC) Area[
Clonmel Town…4 Vee Rovers…0
Cloughjordan FC (NTDL)…2 Cullen-Lattin FC…0
Peake Villa…6 Moyglass United…2
Thurles Town(NTDL)…1 Killusty FC…0
Clonmel Celtic…3 Wilderness Rovers…2
Arra Rovers (NTDL)…2 Burncourt Celtic…1
Cahir Park3 Clodaigh Rangers (NTDL)…1
Also it was horrible to see Trevor higgins diving to the floor after quarter of an hour claiming he was injured in a tackle only to hop up and jog on once he knew there was a card coming...
Some Fairview supporter said it best the 3 full backs were responsible for the majority of the goals,Higgins,Mitchell and Enright(who was turned inside out..)
Horrible to see Pa Moloney (i know, nothing new here) rolling around in agony as if his leg was amputated with a spoon and without anaesthetic, only to get up and sprint off when the game got going again.
MitreSize5
05/11/2007, 4:01 PM
Worldcup
05/11/2007, 4:55 PM
I was there too. Spot on report. The view did very well to come back to 3-3. They dominated the first half of ET. Pike dominated the second half of ET and I cant believe that goal was disallowed I was right behind the goal. (as for the celebration with shirt off etc he must have felt like a right wally as everyone was laughing!!) And Pike should have a peno but ya the view missed a sitter and the ref gave a free out there for nothing.. no-one touched the keeper. Morris scored a cracking header with the last play of the match in ET. Cracking game. Hard luck to the view.. as you said neither team deserved to lose. Massive crowd.
Yes great match to been at.Dave Morris goal was a peach.Pity we don't get games like this every week.Best game i have seen in a long time.:)
abbeyvale
05/11/2007, 5:02 PM
[QUOTE=superhero;807277]3rd Rd
Summerville 1-0 Kilfinane
Herbertstown 2-1 Abbey Rvs
Hospital 1-4 Regional Utd
Trinity Rgs P-P Athlunkard (Athlunkard awarded a walk over)
Kilmallock 3-1 Caherdavin
Aisling/Annacotty 4-1 ShannonTown
Pallasgreen 1-2 Carew Park
Ballynanty Rvs 4-0 Kennedy Pk
Polonia Luimni 0-1 Star Rvs
Pike Rvs 4-3 Fairview Rangers (AET)
4th round draw from
Summerville
Herbertstown
Regional
Athlunkard
Kilmallock
Aisling
Carew Pk
Ballynanty
Star
Pike
Worldcup
05/11/2007, 5:40 PM
4th round draw from
Summerville
Herbertstown
Regional
Athlunkard
Kilmallock
Aisling
Carew Pk
Ballynanty
Star
Pike
Still a few juicy ties to be played.When is the draw for the next round :confused:
sky blue
05/11/2007, 7:48 PM
think the next round draw is wed week. looking forward to it pike must be up there with favourites now after beating fairview.
summervilleman
05/11/2007, 8:23 PM
I can nearly guarentee that we will get pike...He he!!!
Any truth in the rumour that trinity couldn't field a team for the fai game against atlunkard??? Thats a disgrace if its true!!
larrywhite
05/11/2007, 8:57 PM
We played them in their place in the MJC and they didnt even have a ball.
abbeyvale
05/11/2007, 9:51 PM
I can nearly guarentee that we will get pike...He he!!!
Any truth in the rumour that trinity couldn't field a team for the fai game against atlunkard??? Thats a disgrace if its true!!
It is true, and it was due to a GAA game as some of them put the GAA before their football.
summervilleman
05/11/2007, 10:12 PM
Typical....they Shouldn't Be In The Fai If They Think Like That!!
Thunderblaster
05/11/2007, 10:14 PM
Kiltimagh/Knock United 1-9 Westport United
United are starting to get their act together.
MitreSize5
06/11/2007, 7:43 AM
hate to disappoint you summerville man but pike will be playing balla ... put your house on it
I agree Pike always get tough draws in the FAI so it's going to be one of the top teams left
Not saying theres a conspiracy or anything just the way it seems to work out
superhero
06/11/2007, 9:10 AM
4th round draw from
Summerville
Herbertstown
Regional
Athlunkard
Kilmallock
Aisling
Carew Pk
Ballynanty
Star
Pike
Still a few juicy ties to be played.When is the draw for the next round :confused:
Draw is to be made in Cork on Thursday evening when the Munster Council meets
Bad Bob
06/11/2007, 9:29 AM
Southend 2 - 1 Tramore
St. Saviours 0 - 0 Waterford Crystal (1 - 3 penalties)
Park Rangers 0 - 4 Carrick
Dungarvan 2 - 2 Ferrybank (8 - 7) penalties
Only 2 teams advance !! Always been 3, anyone know why it has been reduced??
CousinSylDolan
06/11/2007, 9:30 AM
Draw is to be made in Cork on Thursday evening when the Munster Council meets
Munster Council?????:D
I imagine you mean the Munster Football Association. Not sure if the Gaa would be doing such a draw.
manalishi
06/11/2007, 1:43 PM
Yes great match to been at.Dave Morris goal was a peach.Pity we don't get games like this every week.Best game i have seen in a long time.:)
It was definitely an exciting match but the standard was not great.Would either of the teams have matched any of the Fairview teams that won the FAI cups??There didnt seem to be a fullback on the pitch.A lot of the goals coming from situations where the fullbacks on both sides should have been able to close down the wingers and didnt??Also more of a battle than much football played and have to say that Pike allowing Fairview to come back from 3-1 down does not say much for their chances of winning it outright??The winning goal was a joke in that Views keeper pulled off a great save and straight away comes out for a ball he could have collected easily had he stayed on his line.
As I say great excitement but not a lot of constructive intelligent football.I would have thought that Pike would have won easily but great effort by Fairview who appear to have improved dramatically from the season start.
summervilleman
06/11/2007, 2:31 PM
I agree Pike always get tough draws in the FAI so it's going to be one of the top teams left
R u trying to say we are not a top team??:mad:
see's it
06/11/2007, 3:01 PM
R u trying to say we are not a top team??:mad:
ya ye arent even the top team in summerville that B would beat ye :)
rooney10
07/11/2007, 9:34 AM
ye always seem to have alot of players missing .... is that part of there mentality to be missing for the big games . . . ye going nowhere wih that kind of attitude . . . doubt fairview will ever get back to the bigtime with players lik that . .
magpies
07/11/2007, 11:37 AM
FAI Junior cup draw is taken place tonight in Cork
Monster
07/11/2007, 12:13 PM
It was definitely an exciting match but the standard was not great.Would either of the teams have matched any of the Fairview teams that won the FAI cups??There didnt seem to be a fullback on the pitch.A lot of the goals coming from situations where the fullbacks on both sides should have been able to close down the wingers and didnt??Also more of a battle than much football played and have to say that Pike allowing Fairview to come back from 3-1 down does not say much for their chances of winning it outright??The winning goal was a joke in that Views keeper pulled off a great save and straight away comes out for a ball he could have collected easily had he stayed on his line.
As I say great excitement but not a lot of constructive intelligent football.I would have thought that Pike would have won easily but great effort by Fairview who appear to have improved dramatically from the season start.
I dont think its fair to compare either team to the fairview teams that were winning FAIs as they were simply exceptional and we might not see there likes again as the standard seems to be dropping.
Green_Hoop
07/11/2007, 2:03 PM
Draw's on tonight in cork anyway to bring this BACK on topic,should be an interesting evening..
brutus
07/11/2007, 2:05 PM
Who will be favourites to win the competition this year?any opinions?
smellyfeet
07/11/2007, 3:44 PM
Who will be favourites to win the competition this year?any opinions?
The usual suspects,Killester,Waterford Crystal,Clonmel Town,Michaels,Ballymun,Pike.:ball:
Its all on the day
Unreal Madrid
07/11/2007, 5:06 PM
[QUOTE=dell hell;808902]
mike Kiely spoke with several pike members after the match, and admitted he got it wrong with sniffers goal..fair play to him...as for the so called abuse of the ref by pike..we leave that kind behaviour to the club that has their match's abandoned..... John Boyle could explain in detail.
Very easy to hold your hands up and admit you got it wrong to the winning team, would he have been as quick to admit the same had pike lost :rolleyes:
Jock MIB
07/11/2007, 7:44 PM
[quote=silvercircle;808949]
Very easy to hold your hands up and admit you got it wrong to the winning team, would he have been as quick to admit the same had pike lost :rolleyes:
why don't you ask him?
summervilleman
07/11/2007, 7:50 PM
Draw's on tonight in cork anyway to bring this BACK on topic,should be an interesting evening..
Where is the best and fastest way to find the draw after its done tonight...Heard it was on tomorrow night though???
Whats the story with players getting sent off..We had 2 sent off the other day,.,,,1 was a straight red and the other was 2 yellows????What happens here...whats the ruling..especially with munster junior this weekend??
brutus
08/11/2007, 8:57 AM
The usual suspects,Killester,Waterford Crystal,Clonmel Town,Michaels,Ballymun,Pike.:ball:
Its all on the day
Any prices in the bookie yet for pike?look extremely strong on paper of what ive read,could be there year and would be good to see a limerick team victorious in this competition again,especially with limerick premier being one of the toughest leagues in the country.:ball:
superhero
08/11/2007, 9:06 AM
[QUOTE=summervilleman;809342]Where is the best and fastest way to find the draw after its done tonight...Heard it was on tomorrow night though???
Like I said before the draw is on tonight in Cork not last night
Monster
08/11/2007, 10:05 AM
Any prices in the bookie yet for pike?look extremely strong on paper of what ive read,could be there year and would be good to see a limerick team victorious in this competition again,especially with limerick premier being one of the toughest leagues in the country.:ball:
If they play Mc garry at center half then i think they have a shout,if its Purcell and enright i dont think they can win it.Both are slow and can be got at big time and exposed if the ball is kept on the ground and they come up agaisnt center forwards with pace.