View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

inexile
21/01/2008, 4:41 PM
killester aint invincible, quite a lot of teams would fancy their chances against them given a home draw.

i cant remember who they played last year on the way to the final, but they played a very poor st john bosco in the final

jug2004
21/01/2008, 5:36 PM
I believe that St michaels from tipperary would stand as good a chance as any that are left at holding killester,in goal they have a former junior international and at the centre of the defence they have the curent junior pairing of breen and walsh. they give away very little and are very strong from set plays, they also have some cracking players goin forward too. Pity they have to face another good side in lisselton in the next round. Clonmel town would also fancy their chances i feel, i was at the game yesterday and while evergreen were the better side they created very little against such a shaky defence. People forget that last year town were only 4 minutes away from getting killester to penos in dublin, i feel after watching the game over in clonmel yesterday that there are only a few things wrong, the squad is far better than last year, but problems persist with team selection and favouritism which could well be there undoing. Young burns turned the game in athlone in the last round (from what i've heard) and has done so in many games this season and yet he still can't get a start. I'm just givin my biased tipperary view but i think town to go as far as the quarters if they cant get it together and Michaels to go all the way to the final possibly

balls
21/01/2008, 6:08 PM
ya kevin o sullivan is top class keeper. will take superb shot to beat him. saints back 4 is best in the country if they get paul tobin back fit alongside james walsh,paul breen and chris higgins. i dont think they are that strong in midfield davey ryan( ex junior international and one of saints best ever players) is huge loss to them this season. Ray McMahon has great engine but he got badly injured yesterday so hope he recovers soon. think saints are weak enough on wings but having raymie o brien back is a big advantage. up front they have one of the most lethal finishers in the tsdl history paul kennedy. all the man needs is half a chance and he will score. as long as he stays fit i think saints will keep winning cup games on all fronts cause there so mean at the back and with him poaching a goal or 2 every game theyll keep winning. kinsale were very poor i taught though yesterday had a good striker in number 11 very pacey but there right hand side yesterday really left them down yesterday i taught neither right full or right winger performed on the day. the sub they brought on though number 16 really dominated midfield for kinsale he should have started. saints 2nd goal was a disgrace blatant offside

chopper harris
21/01/2008, 6:49 PM
Peters must be a decent side. Are they fancied to possibly win this competition?

It appears we are up against it Sunday!

My Duff Friend, St Peters are looking forward to your hospitality next week as was previously promised, now that we are both through, we are keen to get it on. Hows your ground holding up, I believe it could be moved towards Lucan?

Ballina Town
21/01/2008, 7:23 PM
Yes,McHale was playing.didnt stand out.Fantastic performance by Ballina. Never easy to go to the capital and get a result.

corduff_blanch
21/01/2008, 10:18 PM
My Duff Friend, St Peters are looking forward to your hospitality next week as was previously promised, now that we are both through, we are keen to get it on. Hows your ground holding up, I believe it could be moved towards Lucan?

We are looking at St Mochtas ground, however we have a call on dalymount at lunchtime tomorrow.

it looks like dalymount.

you'll be well looked after when the game is over regardless, and will welcome you and your supporters to dublin.

by all accounts (malahide and trinity), you are a very good side and hard to beat.

Hopefully its a good one.

carrick hoops
22/01/2008, 10:02 AM
are trinity a good side ?
what is the pitch/ground like ?
the bookies have them as outsiders but this can be misleading as they just go on past record in cups !:confused:

chopper harris
22/01/2008, 10:55 AM
Trinity are a good enough side. Fairly big but don't really play to their strengths in my mind (i.e They don't hoof it long) Haven't been to their ground. Good luck.

jimbo
22/01/2008, 11:08 AM
was the crumlin lisselton game plyed?

papa-j
22/01/2008, 12:44 PM
are trinity a good side ?
what is the pitch/ground like ?
the bookies have them as outsiders but this can be misleading as they just go on past record in cups !:confused:

beat us 3-0 in last round. Pitch is part of the Trinity sports campus in santry.Long narrow pitch, surface not great due to weather but solid enough.
Very big physical team (not dirty in any way). Play a simple but excellant brand of football, solid at the back two good wingers and 2 v.good strikers who link well, dangerous inthe air. If you can dominate the posession in middle of the park you have a chance. Definately better than bookies suggest and dark horses to win it imo. Will take a very good, strong organised team to get a result. Has to be said they are a great bunch of lads who really looked after us post match. Good luck to both of ye.

spcorp
22/01/2008, 2:21 PM
We are looking at St Mochtas ground, however we have a call on dalymount at lunchtime tomorrow.

it looks like dalymount.

you'll be well looked after when the game is over regardless, and will welcome you and your supporters to dublin.

by all accounts (malahide and trinity), you are a very good side and hard to beat.

Hopefully its a good one.

Going up to that game, whats the story with the ground? any news yet?

Heno10
22/01/2008, 4:25 PM
Was at the Town match yesterday, can't see Town winning it out. They still look shaky at the back. They scored early and never got the second to kill the game off. Fair play to Evergreen, they played very well. It was a superb goal from Tony Scully to win it, he is pure class. I thought Paul Scully should never have been sent off, he put his arm to protect himself, and yes I am biased but I am honest, and he didn't deserve to get a straight red. John Lyons was only evening things up haven't sent off the Evergreen lad for a head butt.
Must complement our "beloved" PRO, who actually went over to the player after the game and shook his hand and had a brief chat with him. I don't particularly like the man but I must say that was a nice gesture and was appreciated by the player and the evergreen people.
I think Michael's have abetter chance of winning it out than Town but who knows.

Despite extreme disappointment at going out, have to say Clonmel shaded it Sunday. We (Evergreen)lost concentration for a second about 3 minutes into the match and they pounced. After that we pressed and probably dominated things but did not penetrate a somewhat shakey (but confident) defence until we changed it which immediatley saw us get our first after the hour mark. The sending off changed things for us. No complaint the lad just lost it. Fair play to your man (PRO) on the line. Your lad was somewhat unlucky to get the red however in fairness it did look like he raised a hand and you know what was going to happen after that. Superb winner from Scully. His introduction changed it for the Town. We were very well looked after at the club and afterward in The Local, Clonmel Tn sponsor. Thanks for looking after us and best of luck in the QF (which youz are well capable of winning).

tralee_dynamo
23/01/2008, 7:05 AM
was the crumlin lisselton game plyed?

Heard Lisselton were beaten but don't know what the exact score was!

abbeyvale
23/01/2008, 7:36 AM
2007/08 FAI Umbro Junior Challenge Cup

Saturday 26th Jan
Ballyphehane Celtic v Moville Celtic

Sunday 27th Jan
Corduff v St. Peters Athlone

smellyfeet
23/01/2008, 7:59 AM
Heard Lisselton were beaten but don't know what the exact score was!

1 nil

Thunderblaster
23/01/2008, 11:01 AM
2007/08 FAI Umbro Junior Challenge Cup

Saturday 26th Jan
Ballyphehane Celtic v Moville Celtic

Surely a chartered flight from Derry to Cork!!:D

Thunderblaster
23/01/2008, 11:02 AM
Did Milford United get the royal hospitality treatment in Dungarvan?

Innishvilla
23/01/2008, 11:19 AM
Surely a chartered flight from Derry to Cork!!:D

Yeah... That looks the bones of a 550-600 mile round trip for the Moville lads!!!

jimbo
23/01/2008, 12:04 PM
so much for lisselton being the dark hores with their junior internationals etc etc; am surprised by that result

abbeyvale
23/01/2008, 12:44 PM
Yeah... That looks the bones of a 550-600 mile round trip for the Moville lads!!!

I wouldnt be at all surprised if Moville gave them a walk over.

The reason I say this is because in the last round when we went up to their place some of the club members passed remarks like "it's just as well they were drawn at home and that they didn't have to travel to Limerick, as they couldn't afford it"!!!!

We shall wait and see, but if they do travel and win, then it will be a local derby for them in the next round v Redcastle.

Concept
23/01/2008, 1:12 PM
Killester v Ballynanty officially fixed for Sun 24th of Feb

shelbourne1904
23/01/2008, 1:32 PM
Trinity are a good enough side. Fairly big but don't really play to their strengths in my mind (i.e They don't hoof it long) Haven't been to their ground. Good luck.

They dont hoof it long because their pitch is long you have to be patient and play it up the pitch.They know excatly to how to play it.

Hoops 1967
23/01/2008, 3:18 PM
Killester v Ballynanty officially fixed for Sun 24th of Feb

are they afraid to play balla or something?

gaidin
23/01/2008, 4:00 PM
are they afraid to play balla or something?

I think it was mentioned in this thread a few pages back that killester are going off on a holiday. Think its cos they won the fai or some cup in dublin last season. So the game will be played when they get back.

Dr Mad
23/01/2008, 5:35 PM
Killester are off to South Africa for 10 days, thats the prize for winning the A division of the AUL. Last year it was Miami for them, and the year before Portmarnock went to Memphis.

When Killester return they will be near unbeatable. They went to Miami last year at the same time and were sh1t hot when they came back, just think what a bonding excercise that is for a squad away on a trip like that.

I got on them at 3/1 and I'm sorry I didn't earlier. Still hate them but business is business. :)

carrick hoops
23/01/2008, 6:38 PM
3 to 1 is bad value when they havnt reached the 1/4 final stage yet!
they may win it , but a lot of things can go wrong in an amateur cup competition...:(

Thehoops83
23/01/2008, 9:19 PM
i wouldnt be writing off balla against killester, balla on their day would and could beat any team in the country
Not if they play the way they played in the last round.They were lucky to beat Kilmallock.

inexile
24/01/2008, 12:51 AM
Not if they play the way they played in the last round.They were lucky to beat Kilmallock.

i wouldnt worry about something like that, it can be hard to motivate yourself to play against the likes of kilmallock (no disrespect intended) but im sure balla will go to killester knowing they have nothing to lose and with the players they have are capable of causing an upset, hence the reason i said on the day and not every day. Killester are firm favourites and may well win but at the very least i expect balla to give them a good fight

abbeyvale
24/01/2008, 7:58 AM
i wouldnt worry about something like that, it can be hard to motivate yourself to play against the likes of kilmallock (no disrespect intended) but im sure balla will go to killester knowing they have nothing to lose and with the players they have are capable of causing an upset, hence the reason i said on the day and not every day. Killester are firm favourites and may well win but at the very least i expect balla to give them a good fight

Being brutally honest, I cant see Balla winning in Dublin (I hope I'm wrong) but if it was in Limerick it would be a different story, especially if they had them out in Bateman.

inexile
24/01/2008, 1:51 PM
i agree abbeyvale, but such is the beauty of cup football anything is possible. its not like havant & waterloovile travelling to liverpool, more like say villa travelling to man u, unlikely but there is a chance, if that makes any sense.

abbeyvale
25/01/2008, 7:57 AM
i agree abbeyvale, but such is the beauty of cup football anything is possible. its not like havant & waterloovile travelling to liverpool, more like say villa travelling to man u, unlikely but there is a chance, if that makes any sense.

yep it does and your spot on, but Villa have a poor record on Old Trafford ;)

summervilleman
25/01/2008, 12:10 PM
yep it does and your spot on, but Villa have a poor record on Old Trafford ;)

i think balla could sneak it by the odd goal in 3....Any truth in the senior cup draw that if balla win there next game they are away to Cork??

Concept
25/01/2008, 12:15 PM
i think balla could sneak it by the odd goal in 3....Any truth in the senior cup draw that if balla win there next game they are away to Cork??

Correct

Innishvilla
25/01/2008, 12:59 PM

I know it is off topic but to give the complete answer.
Munster Senior Cup
Quarter Final Draw
Limerick 37 v Rockmount or Douglas Hall
Waterford Utd v Cobh Ramblers
Clonmel Town or St Mary’s v Carrigaline Utd or Cobh Wanderers
Cork City v Ballynanty Rvs or Killarney Celtic
SEMI FINALS
Limerick 37 or Rockmount or Douglas Hall
v
Cork City or Ballynanty Rvs or Killarney Celtic

Clonmel Town or St Mary’s or Carrigaline Utd or Cobh Wanderers
v
Waterford Utd or Cobh Ramblers

So not only could Balla meat Cork City, but after that is the real glamour derby with Limerick 37

gaidin
25/01/2008, 1:03 PM
I know it is off topic but to give the complete answer.
Munster Senior Cup
Quarter Final Draw
Limerick 37 v Rockmount or Douglas Hall
Waterford Utd v Cobh Ramblers
Clonmel Town or St Mary’s v Carrigaline Utd or Cobh Wanderers
Cork City v Ballynanty Rvs or Killarney Celtic
SEMI FINALS
Limerick 37 or Rockmount or Douglas Hall
v
Cork City or Ballynanty Rvs or Killarney Celtic

Clonmel Town or St Mary’s or Carrigaline Utd or Cobh Wanderers
v
Waterford Utd or Cobh Ramblers

So not only could Balla meat Cork City, but after that is the real glamour derby with Limerick 37

Wouldnt it be great to see a Limerick37 v Ballynanty semi final :)

jumping jac
25/01/2008, 5:22 PM
Killester are off to South Africa for 10 days, thats the prize for winning the A division of the AUL. Last year it was Miami for them, and the year before Portmarnock went to Memphis.

When Killester return they will be near unbeatable. They went to Miami last year at the same time and were sh1t hot when they came back, just think what a bonding excercise that is for a squad away on a trip like that.

I got on them at 3/1 and I'm sorry I didn't earlier. Still hate them but business is business. :)

F**k that i'll think i'll go up there and join them myself for that ! :D Do you think they have any room for a fat over rated fool like myself ? :D

Dr Mad
26/01/2008, 2:53 PM
Sorry Jumping Jac I'd be ahead of you in the Queue if they were taking on fat over rated fools.

Being serious it is a great incentive, but doesn't make up for a poor league overall.

inexile
26/01/2008, 9:10 PM
but its no real surprise that its not a great league, the majority of the best amatuer players in dublin play in the leinster senior league, and then to rival that you have the afl,the ucl and the lfl, which is prob better all round as if there was only one league they dublin clubs would win the fai every year

Dr Mad
27/01/2008, 10:46 AM
Have to agree with you there inexile

The Bit O'Red
27/01/2008, 1:47 PM
Manor Rangers 1-0 up against Navan Cosmos at half time.

The Bit O'Red
27/01/2008, 2:52 PM
Manorhamilton win 1-0.

bishbash
27/01/2008, 2:58 PM
in saying thats its a poor league didnt st john bosco get to the fai cup final last year and they were relegated from that league dont really know of any other of the lower placed teams in any other league achieveing that certainly not in our league in south tipp.

inexile
28/01/2008, 11:49 AM
thats the beauty of cup football bishbash, i saw the final last year and with all due respect bosco were unbelievably bad. they had a great run but got found out in the final, saying that their players have played in one more junior cup final that i ever will

28/01/2008, 12:01 PM
Don't think this has been posted yet:

Umbro FAI Junior Cup 6th rd
New Ross Celtic 2-2 Grattan Utd
(Grattan won 3-2 on pens)

That's from the Wexford League site.

bishbash
28/01/2008, 1:43 PM
thats just it though they had a great run to the final thats what 7 or 8 rounds of football? Ill put it this way there is not a hope in hell of a south tipp side who finished last in our league even if they got home draws all the to the semi fianl of progressing that far. with regards to the final i think killester are capable of doin that to a lot of good sides out there.

EAFC_rdfl
28/01/2008, 3:34 PM
St Peters lost 2-1 in Dublin Yesterday, supposed to have been v unlucky, missed a penalty

duffbeer
28/01/2008, 3:46 PM
St Peters lost 2-1 in Dublin Yesterday, supposed to have been v unlucky, missed a penalty

I agree, they were awarded two peno's, and missed one of them.

I do think the best team won even if we didn't click up front for most of the game.

we had a stonewall peno turned down and the Peters manager admitted as much.

the two penos were penos and this would show that the referees and linesmen were very fair as you would expect in Dublin.

We however played the better ball, and could have done more damage if the strikers clicked.

a bit of luck was on our side.

soccerc
28/01/2008, 3:51 PM
I agree, they were awarded two peno's, and missed one of them.

I do think the best team won even if we didn't click up front for most of the game.

we had a stonewall peno turned down and the Peters manager admitted as much.

the two penos were penos and this would show that the referees and linesmen were very fair as you would expect in Dublin.

We however played the better ball, and could have done more damage if the strikers clicked.

a bit of luck was on our side .

Not like in Dundalk so!

duffbeer
28/01/2008, 4:14 PM
Not like in Dundalk so!

It was a shame what happened there last year soccerc, but we are knocking around a while now to know that it happens many teams.

Last 16 now for us, the opportunity now exists to get neutral officials.

all a team wants is a fair craic.

chopper harris
28/01/2008, 4:15 PM
Corduff deserved to win on the day but SP are gutted because they didn´t do them selves justice on the day. Hard to believe they would have scored but for penalties considering how many they have netted this year. Bit of a make shift defence but thats life, it´s how you react when the chips are down and SP didn´t. A few can walk tall, but there is a couple who can´t after yesterday. Only thirteen players travelled out of about 35 registered.

Sighltly off thread, best of luck Corduff,will be hoping ye do well here on in.