View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27

smellyfeet
14/04/2008, 1:17 PM
Where is the final being played? Where is the RSC?

Would Buckley Park in Kilkenny be half way for both teams??

Don't think it should be on in the RSC as it is so close to Carrick, they probably wouldn't want to play another FAI final there as their last outing didn't go their way at all.

threefivetwo
14/04/2008, 6:14 PM
the word is carrick played an illegal player who played for waterford utd in some game that made him illegal and its gone to the fai who said he was illegal, not 2 sure about the rumours but i heard it's true but celtic won't go to court 2 win a cup, we'll take a beaten on the chin!!!!!!! COVIES!!!!! celtics captain couldnt and shouldnt have played he couldnt even hardly walk, his knee was f***ed and our other centre back had to go to hospital because he had serious pains in his appendix, he shouldn't have played either, but all said carrick were the better team on the day and fair play to them but they were lucky they met a celtic team that weren't themselves and didn't do themselves justice on the day!!! best of luck 2 carrick in the final!

carrick hoops
14/04/2008, 9:49 PM
the word is carrick played an illegal player who played for waterford utd in some game that made him illegal and its gone to the fai who said he was illegal, plus he's up 4 armed robbery next week!!!! not 2 sure about the rumours but i heard it's true but celtic won't go to court 2 win a cup, we'll take a beaten on the chin!!!!!!! COVIES!!!!! celtics captain couldnt and shouldnt have played he couldnt even hardly walk, his knee was f***ed and our other centre back had to go to hospital because he had serious pains in his appendix, he shouldn't have played either, but all said carrick were the better team on the day and fair play to them but they were lucky they met a celtic team that weren't themselves and didn't do themselves justice on the day!!! best of luck 2 carrick in the finaland thanks for looking after the celtic team after?????????
why the question marks ????(the club was asked did they want to stop for refreshments but declined , they wanted to go straight back ), dont worry about rumors they are usually wrong !

abbeyvale
15/04/2008, 8:05 AM
why the question marks ????(the club was asked did they want to stop for refreshments but declined , they wanted to go straight back ), dont worry about rumors they are usually wrong !

usually?

Closing Time
15/04/2008, 10:01 AM
the word is carrick played an illegal player who played for waterford utd in some game that made him illegal and its gone to the fai who said he was illegal, plus he's up 4 armed robbery next week!!!! not 2 sure about the rumours but i heard it's true but celtic won't go to court 2 win a cup, we'll take a beaten on the chin!!!!!!! COVIES!!!!! celtics captain couldnt and shouldnt have played he couldnt even hardly walk, his knee was f***ed and our other centre back had to go to hospital because he had serious pains in his appendix, he shouldn't have played either, but all said carrick were the better team on the day and fair play to them but they were lucky they met a celtic team that weren't themselves and didn't do themselves justice on the day!!! best of luck 2 carrick in the finaland thanks for looking after the celtic team after?????????

I would hate if Celtic would go down this route. I dont understand why you posted about the armed robbery, no robbery last Sunday,. Without him Carrick would have still beaten us. A player can play in the Senior cup before Aug. 22nd and still be OK to play in the Junior Cup. I could be wrong dont have a copy of the rules

smellyfeet
15/04/2008, 10:17 AM
I would hate if Celtic would go down this route. I dont understand why you posted about the armed robbery, no robbery last Sunday,. Without him Carrick would have still beaten us. A player can play in the Senior cup before Aug. 22nd and still be OK to play in the Junior Cup. I could be wrong dont have a copy of the rules

This is the correst case, i was in the same boat.

Town Fan
15/04/2008, 1:22 PM
This is the correst case, i was in the same boat.
I hope that this not true and that Carrick take their rightful place in the final. I hope that Castlebar don't behave like Pike Rovers did last season!!!.
What happened to my Club Clonmel Town was a disgrace but to be fair Town and in particular two people from within the club, seriously messed up and they both still hold their positions within the club.
All that said, I really hope Carrick go and win the FAI, great club and a great team but they will be up against a great side in Killester. Should be a cracking final

silvercircle
15/04/2008, 1:35 PM
I hope that this not true and that Carrick take their rightful place in the final. I hope that Castlebar don't behave like Pike Rovers did last season!!!.
What happened to my Club Clonmel Town was a disgrace but to be fair Town and in particular two people from within the club, seriously messed up and they both still hold their positions within the club.
All that said, I really hope Carrick go and win the FAI, great club and a great team but they will be up against a great side in Killester. Should be a cracking final

Do the rules only apply to other teams and not Clonmel....Clonmel fielded illegal players aginst Pike for reasons best known to them...Pike are not the guilty party here...the only disgrace is clonmel tried to cheat their way to a final... get your own house in order...best of luck to carrick in the final.

Town Fan
15/04/2008, 1:52 PM
Do the rules only apply to other teams and not Clonmel....Clonmel fielded illegal players aginst Pike for reasons best known to them...Pike are not the guilty party here...the only disgrace is clonmel tried to cheat their way to a final... get your own house in order...best of luck to carrick in the final.

To be fair, Clonmel Town did not deliberately try to "cheat their way to the final", it was a serious **** up on the part of our secretary and PRO but it wasn't an attempt to cheat. I think the two men involved should have been thrown out of the club for incompetence.However If you look at Town's record over the last 45 years, they have no reason to cheat. They are a fine club with a proud record and this is the first time in their long history that their was a problem. It now seems that Carrick may have run into a similar problem, so are you suggesting that they are cheats as well.
Why I was upset with Pike is that they knew before hand, I would in the interest of decency have told Town before hand but that just me.
Clonmel Town are not cheats and anybody who knows anyhting or has been involved in football is well aware of that.

silvercircle
15/04/2008, 2:11 PM
To be fair, Clonmel Town did not deliberately try to "cheat their way to the final", it was a serious **** up on the part of our secretary and PRO but it wasn't an attempt to cheat. I think the two men involved should have been thrown out of the club for incompetence.However If you look at Town's record over the last 45 years, they have no reason to cheat. They are a fine club with a proud record and this is the first time in their long history that their was a problem. It now seems that Carrick may have run into a similar problem, so are you suggesting that they are cheats as well.
Why I was upset with Pike is that they knew before hand, I would in the interest of decency have told Town before hand but that just me.
Clonmel Town are not cheats and anybody who knows anyhting or has been involved in football is well aware of that.

So you wanted Pike to pick your starting 11 on the day....I sure the clonmel managment would have warmed to that, I would be interested to know if other clubs would have taken the course of action Pike did..if not why???apologies for the word cheat...just annoyed for Pike being knocked for "NOT" breaking the rules.

Town Fan
15/04/2008, 2:21 PM
So you wanted Pike to pick your starting 11 on the day....I sure the clonmel managment would have warmed to that, I would be interested to know if other clubs would have taken the course of action Pike did..if not why???apologies for the word cheat...just annoyed for Pike being knocked for "NOT" breaking the rules.

Ok thats fair comment, let's move on. I hope Carrick don't have to go through this pain but what it those prove that there is a problem within the association and the goverance of these rules

Closing Time
15/04/2008, 3:53 PM
As far as I am aware Celtic have not even looked into this. Just pub talk. So matter closed. Best of luck to both teams should be a great final.

kamikaze
16/04/2008, 10:10 PM
i was at the game on Sunday and Carrick thoroughly deserved their victory in truth the scoreline could have been a lot more,I was a bit disapointed with Castlebar thought they would be better but maybe that was down to how good Carrick were on the day(the 2nd goal was worthy of winning any match, pure class).I havent heard a word in Carrick town about any complaint of an illegal player and would be very surprised if the club could be that foolish.The final will be a cracker and if Carrick play like last Sun Killester wont have it all their own way,looking forward to it though.
By the way any truth the game could be in Cooke Park,Tipp Town???

carrick hoops
16/04/2008, 10:54 PM
i was at the game on Sunday and Carrick thoroughly deserved their victory in truth the scoreline could have been a lot more,I was a bit disapointed with Castlebar thought they would be better but maybe that was down to how good Carrick were on the day(the 2nd goal was worthy of winning any match, pure class).I havent heard a word in Carrick town about any complaint of an illegal player and would be very surprised if the club could be that foolish.The final will be a cracker and if Carrick play like last Sun Killester wont have it all their own way,looking forward to it though.
By the way any truth the game could be in Cooke Park,Tipp Town???
no we dont think it will be cooke park, but it may not be rsc either!
i agree about the second goal , the other two were very good also .

tipp man
17/04/2008, 9:10 AM
Where then?

smellyfeet
17/04/2008, 10:17 AM
Where then?

This from FAI website

FAI Umbro Junior Challenge Cup Final
Carrick United v Killester United
Sunday May 4th 2008
RSC - Waterford
Kick-off: 2.30pm

kamikaze
17/04/2008, 4:40 PM
This from FAI website

FAI Umbro Junior Challenge Cup Final
Carrick United v Killester United
Sunday May 4th 2008
RSC - Waterford
Kick-off: 2.30pm
I think Carrick are going to push for the final to be played in Ozier Park (semi final venue)the smaller pitch and the crowd closer to the field would make for a fantastic atmosphere (the atmosphere in the RSC is brutal at the best of times)dont know if FAI will agree though,

presario
18/04/2008, 1:47 AM
I think Carrick are going to push for the final to be played in Ozier Park (semi final venue)the smaller pitch and the crowd closer to the field would make for a fantastic atmosphere (the atmosphere in the RSC is brutal at the best of times)dont know if FAI will agree though,

The atmosphere is brutal. The whole setup is brutal in there. As gareth cronin said its like a dangerous beach. My opinion is that if they can play the semi final in ozier park, why not the final!!!

balls
19/04/2008, 7:22 AM
ya best of luck to carrick. rsc is horrible ground though

hoops12
19/04/2008, 5:15 PM

your saying your club was wrong but pike were a disgrace ,make up your mind.and if i can remember correctly pike saved town from being stripped of their domestic trophies as ye were in fact illegal all season so get your facts right before you start talking about something you clearly know little about

hoops12
19/04/2008, 5:19 PM
lads is,nt it a sad state of affairs when the top junior trophies in ireland are consistently being showered in controversy over rules,there is only one crowd to blame for this and that is the law makers who are constantly causing mayhem with rules that just contradict other rules.

lim abroad
19/04/2008, 7:08 PM
lads is,nt it a sad state of affairs when the top junior trophies in ireland are consistently being showered in controversy over rules,there is only one crowd to blame for this and that is the law makers who are constantly causing mayhem with rules that just contradict other rules.

have to agree with you there hoops,its beyond farcical

hoops12
19/04/2008, 8:34 PM
have to agree with you there hoops,its beyond farcical

its doind nothing but causing animosity between clubs and will never be right unless people that run the game get their act together

KUFCMan
20/04/2008, 10:10 PM
How did Carrick do against the Gate last Friday?

kingpin
21/04/2008, 7:12 AM
Carrick won 3-2

kingpin
22/04/2008, 2:18 PM
As it stands it's on May 4th RSC 2.30pm, there is a question mark over the pitch though as the surface is not supposed to be great.

23/04/2008, 9:43 AM
Wexford officials, Michael Franklin (ref) Damian Donovan, and Eddie Redmond (assistant refs) appointed to officiate at Umbro FAI Junior cup final

In case anyone is interested this is from the Wexford League site (http://www.wexfordfootballleague.com/). Damian Donovan used to ref a good few of my games at schoolboy level back in the day. Always seemed to be a decent ref. Don't remember any of the others.

Green_Hoop
23/04/2008, 10:40 AM
Just a quick message to wish Carrick the very best of luck in the final. ABK really.

carrick hoops
23/04/2008, 11:35 AM
Just a quick message to wish Carrick the very best of luck in the final. ABK really.
thanks i think!!!
(why ABK)??:confused:

kingpin
23/04/2008, 11:58 AM
(why ABK)??

I'm guessing ANYONE BUT KILLESTER??

kamikaze
24/04/2008, 4:13 PM
Lads, besides the medals and the trophy and the obvious pride and honour of winning the FAI junior cup do the winning club and the players recieve any other reward from the sponsors or the FAI(money,holiday etc)for winning the competition

CousinSylDolan
24/04/2008, 4:36 PM
Lads, besides the medals and the trophy and the obvious pride and honour of winning the FAI junior cup do the winning club and the players recieve any other reward from the sponsors or the FAI(money,holiday etc)for winning the competition

Not as far as I know. Both finalists get a set of jerseys sponsored by Statoil and all semi finalists qualify for the FAI Senior cup next year. Apart from that no more than a trophy and medals and the obvious acclaim of being the best junior team in the country.

Killer
24/04/2008, 10:19 PM
haven won the FAI i can tell you that apart from the Jersey and of course the medal you dont recieve anything from the FAI, thanks

smellyfeet
25/04/2008, 8:22 AM
Not as far as I know. Both finalists get a set of jerseys sponsored by Statoil and all semi finalists qualify for the FAI Senior cup next year. Apart from that no more than a trophy and medals and the obvious acclaim of being the best junior team in the country.

Umbro sponsor the Jerseys, not Statoil.

inexile
25/04/2008, 5:40 PM
Umbro sponsor the Jerseys, not Statoil.

no umbro make the jerseys, statoil sponsor them

25/04/2008, 5:55 PM
Statoil used to sponsor the competition, now Umbro do. Care to reassess your post inexile?;)

inexile
25/04/2008, 6:47 PM
then i am incorrect, apologies!!

its been a while since i played in the competition

Abbey Road
25/04/2008, 7:37 PM
I see you are doing well Inexile above in the Dublin League?

kamikaze
26/04/2008, 4:24 PM
i saw Killester play clonmel town and even though they won and played some good football i was more impressed by the way carrick won the semi final,can anyone confirm exactly how many killester 1st team players were missing against town(ihave heard everything from 4 defenders to just 1 centre back)also how good a senior league side are st james gate? and how much can be read into carricks great win in dublin thanks lads

inexile
26/04/2008, 4:48 PM
any victory on the road in a competition like that is a great result.

st james gate senior side are 4th or 5th from bottom in the 2nd highest division in the leinster senior league, they wouldnt be great but they wouldnt be bad either.

inexile
26/04/2008, 4:48 PM
I see you are doing well Inexile above in the Dublin League?

what do you mean?

Abbey Road
27/04/2008, 8:33 AM
Are u ever going to return to Limerick and play footie down here Inexile???

inexile
28/04/2008, 4:16 PM
prob not heading away for a year in june and by the time i come back i will be well over the hill, im on the top of it looking down as it is!! the oul knees are giving up on me

Dick Long
29/04/2008, 7:01 AM
Killester are warm favourites with the bookmakers at 4/9 PP and 2/5 Ladbrokes to win the trophy outright. Carrick are 7/4 with Powers, 13/8 Ladbrokes.

tipp man
30/04/2008, 5:45 AM
Anyone care to guess the line-ups for Sunday?

Also, I know Carrick have never won this trophy but was last year Killesters first ever win?

Dr Mad
30/04/2008, 2:04 PM
Yes - last year was Killesters first FAI Junior, and next Sunday will be their SECOND

presario
01/05/2008, 11:54 AM
Yes - last year was Killesters first FAI Junior, and next Sunday will be their SECOND

There second time been in the final, Is that what you mean with that quote :D:D

Dr Mad
01/05/2008, 4:35 PM
No my friend I mean their SECOND JUNIOR CUP WIN :eek:

carrick hoops
01/05/2008, 10:54 PM
No my friend I mean their SECOND JUNIOR CUP WIN :eek:
yeah they have a "chance" allright , because they are in the final !!!
MY FRIEND? but it is not going to be as easy as you may think !

Dr Mad
02/05/2008, 11:53 AM
Never said they would win it easy MY FRIEND but the general poor standard of Junior Football nationwide (lowest in 20 years) means that they have not really been stretched this season, that is the sad thing.

Dr Mad Prediction: 3-1 to Killester with Lacey and Keogh both on the scoresheet.

PS are we not all FRIENDS IN FOOTBALL ?? ;)