View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2007/08
23/12/2007, 9:47 AM
Killester drawn at home to Ballynanty
macca
23/12/2007, 10:01 AM
Balla away to killester should be a cracker.We are delighted with the draw ,if ur going to win tournaments then u have to beat the best
bogwarrior
23/12/2007, 11:10 AM
Anyone have the full draw?!
Thanks
Green_Hoop
23/12/2007, 12:17 PM
Killester Utd or Shangan Utd V Ballynanty Rovers
St. Kevins Boys V Ballina Town or Boyle Celtic
Dungarvan Utd V Milford Utd
Kinsale FC V St. Michaels FC
St Patricks FC or Corduff Utd V St. Peters Athlone
Killarney Celtic v Carrick Utd
Crumlin Utd V Regional Utd or Lisselton Rovers
Trinity Corinthians V Newtown
Ballyphehane Celtic or Ballymun Utd V Moyville Celtic
Richview FC or Navan Cosmos FC V Manorhamilton FC
Cherryorchard FC or Ballyouster Utd V Baldoyle Utd
New Ross Celtic V Grattan Utd or Clonmel Celtic
Illies Celtic V Castlebar Celtic
Redcastle FC V Pike Rovers
Evergreen FC V Clonmel Town
West Utd V Douglas Hall FC
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2742
Anyone know anything about redcastle FC
All I've managed to get so Far is that there from Donegal??
Dr Mad
23/12/2007, 1:03 PM
Still Killester ALL THE WAY, nobody there to touch them.
Green Hoop they would eat youse for breakfast home or away, rabbit holes or no rabbit holes :eek:
inexile
23/12/2007, 3:24 PM
balla and killester will be a smashing game, if there is any team left in the competiton that could go to killlester and win balla are one of them
Green_Hoop
23/12/2007, 9:21 PM
Still Killester ALL THE WAY, nobody there to touch them.
Green Hoop they would eat youse for breakfast home or away, rabbit holes or no rabbit holes :eek:
Ah Yes of course they would,sure they've won it what 1 time in the last what 82 years the competition has been running..What from I heard they struggled last week...no junior team is unbeatable,if you say otherwise your not the full thing,especially away from home...
west awake
24/12/2007, 4:03 PM
green hoop,we(west united)played redcastle up there last year in the last 64,we beat them on peno's there a fine side,they also have a great set up and a fine pitch,but it can get awful windy,it's out on the inishowen peninsula!it's a tough one for ye,as are all away games at this stage of the comp!
just to let you know the ref was absolutely brutal up there and very biased towards the home team!
Dr Mad
24/12/2007, 9:59 PM
Thats right Green Hoop. 1 time in the last 82 years Killester have won it. Which is exactly once more than Pike (but about 6 or 7 less than Fairview).
chinastone29
24/12/2007, 11:46 PM
Thats right Green Hoop. 1 time in the last 82 years Killester have won it. Which is exactly once more than Pike (but about 6 or 7 less than Fairview).
nice one dr. mad nothing riles a hoop more than waving the proddies in their faces....................
Green_Hoop
25/12/2007, 9:41 PM
What in fairness has Fairview got to do with this topic? Woo they won it 7 times ,thats 6 more than Killester and Portmarnock.Honestly mate fairly weak attempt to rile anyone up...Now push off out of the FAI junior cup forums you lost last week,don't think you've any other business here?,take your grievences out else where,I'm not the one trying to turn the thread into a free for all...Go on living with your past glories,its all you probably have at this stage..
the hoops
27/12/2007, 6:52 AM
lads green hoop has nothing to do with pike rovers hes just on here stirring trouble
abbeyvale
27/12/2007, 9:14 AM
Anyone know anything about redcastle FC
All I've managed to get so Far is that there from Donegal??[/QUOTE]
Redcastle are from Inishowen and its a balls of a drive, it is very windy up that side of the country and you cannot actually go any further as regards travelling.
They are managed by a very wealthy man and have a great set up and are top (I think) of the Inishowen league.
This will be a very tough game for any team especially with the travelling involved.
All I'll say is if you are travelling up to watch the game then bring your hat scarf and gloves.
abbeyvale
27/12/2007, 9:17 AM
1 Quigleys Point Swifts 11 8 2 1 29 12 17 26
2 Redcastle United 9 7 2 0 30 7 23 23
3 Clonmany Shamrocks 11 7 2 2 23 8 15 23
4 Carn 11 6 3 2 25 17 8 21
5 Aileach Fc 11 4 0 7 20 35 -15 12
6 Moville Celtic 6 2 2 2 13 12 1 8
7 Cockhill Celtic 11 2 2 7 14 32 -18 8
8 Dunree United 10 2 1 7 20 31 -11 7
9 Illies Celtic 7 1 2 4 16 23 -7 5
10 Culdaff Fc 9 0 2 7 10 23 -13 2
Green_Hoop
27/12/2007, 11:15 AM
Redcastle are from Inishowen and its a balls of a drive, it is very windy up that side of the country and you cannot actually go any further as regards travelling.
They are managed by a very wealthy man and have a great set up and are top (I think) of the Inishowen league.
This will be a very tough game for any team especially with the travelling involved.
All I'll say is if you are travelling up to watch the game then bring your hat scarf and gloves.
Only the one bus going up I believe for the over night trip,players+ Whatever space left on the bus.
http://www.inishowenfl.com/Home/tabid/220/Default.aspx
Decent site for Inishowen League and info on Redcastle.
12th may I ask why people are allowed dump on Pike Rovers constantly?
I have no problems deleting posts for language/flaming/trolling etc but if your going to do that at least be consistent with everyone.Cheers.
27/12/2007, 6:55 PM
12th may I ask why people are allowed dump on Pike Rovers constantly?
I have no problems deleting posts for language/flaming/trolling etc but if your going to do that at least be consistent with everyone.Cheers.
I call it as I see it and act accordingly,you can hit the report button if you see a post that you think is out of order.
EAFC_rdfl
04/01/2008, 11:37 AM
spare a thought for Milford - round trip of about 575 miles!
Noddy
04/01/2008, 12:43 PM
Pike to Buncrana in Donegal 462 mile round trip. Who are Milford playing and where are they from?
Innishvilla
04/01/2008, 1:58 PM
Donegal to Dungarvan... ouch... From this site and what I've heard though Dungarvan will look after you really well. I seem to remember some clubs commenting how well they were treated and how nice a spread they put on...
EAFC_rdfl
04/01/2008, 2:16 PM
Noddy, the full draw is posted one page back in this thread, Milford (from Donegal!) play Dungarvan (from Waterford!). I think Limerick to Inishowen is a mere Sunday drive compared to this journey!
EDIT: Im not involved with Milford but they are one of the sides in my area and would know a few of their players
Thunderblaster
04/01/2008, 5:56 PM
From this site and what I've heard though Dungarvan will look after you really well. I seem to remember some clubs commenting how well they were treated and how nice a spread they put on...
Correct and right!!
The Bit O'Red
06/01/2008, 4:12 PM
Richview FC v. Navan Cosmos FC , has this game been played yet, anybody know the result?
le tizz
07/01/2008, 9:58 AM
Richview FC v. Navan Cosmos FC , has this game been played yet, anybody know the result?
this game has gone ahead yet red, the fixture is actually richmond fc, they play in the cork aul equivalent of the 3rd division http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pSJ61p3f4M3a5sCwWADl5bw&gid=1 the game is fixed for this saturday in cork, check out http://www.corkaul.com/ next monday for the result, havent a clue about navan cosmos but richmond will give em a game at home, they're not the strongest team in the aul but will be sticky (prob on a sticky pitch) at home
the following games are on in cork this weekend in the fai
5th round
Ballyphehane Cel V-V Ballymun Utd
Grattan Utd V-V Clonmel Cel FC
Richmond FC V-V Navan Cosmos FC
6th round - last 32
Kinsale FC V-V St. Michaels FC
any help to beat st michaels would be appreciated lads ! could be a year for the underdog what with all the upsets in engerland over the w/e
inexile
07/01/2008, 4:09 PM
any idea when the balla killester game is on lads?
Halfback
07/01/2008, 4:14 PM
any idea when the balla killester game is on lads?
Killester playing Shangan (Meath) this Sun 13th. Balla away to the winners on the 27th of Jan.
inexile
07/01/2008, 4:26 PM
cheers half back im looking forward to that one
gaidin
07/01/2008, 4:29 PM
cheers half back im looking forward to that one
What if Killester dont get through?
Halfback
07/01/2008, 4:44 PM
What if Killester dont get through?
Well then Balla will be away to Shangan in Meath. If they ( Shangan)can beat Killester they are certain to be a good side so tough game for Balla either way, they'll have their work cut out for them to get a result especially away.
Hy lads i think it is disrespectful of some of the treads on here saying when is killester vs balla.Killester have to beat Shanganan first and from what i here Shanganan are ment to be a decent out fit.If i was their manager i would be telling my team that everyone is giving yee no chance.
Dr Mad
08/01/2008, 4:02 PM
Killester will beat everyone they meet in the FAI Junior this season.
They are head and shoulders above all other sides in the competition.
Pains me to say it but it is true.
inexile
08/01/2008, 4:07 PM
Killester will beat everyone they meet in the FAI Junior this season.
They are head and shoulders above all other sides in the competition.
Pains me to say it but it is true.
i wouldnt say they are head and shoulders above everyone, but i certainly do think they are the strongest side on paper, but as we all know anything can happen in cup football. does anyone know where and when the game with shangan is on?
smellyfeet
08/01/2008, 4:23 PM
I thought that Killester Beat Shanganan 2-0??
I also heard that balla are to play Killester this weekend in Dublin
duffbeer
08/01/2008, 4:25 PM
i wouldnt say they are head and shoulders above everyone, but i certainly do think they are the strongest side on paper, but as we all know anything can happen in cup football. does anyone know where and when the game with shangan is on?
Id be very surprised if any games go ahead this week as their is rain all week long.
Id be even more surprised if our game goes ahead in galway this weekend as they usually get the brunt of any bad weather we get.
Innishvilla
08/01/2008, 4:31 PM
According to the draw Killester are at home to Shangan. It is due to be played this weekend (I think it is fixed for Sunday but don't have a time).
I thought that Killester Beat Shanganan 2-0??
I also heard that balla are to play Killester this weekend in Dublin
balla V ?? is fixed for the 27th
Halfback
08/01/2008, 6:43 PM
balla V ?? is fixed for the 26th
Killester v's Shanganon this Sun 13th Hadden Park Dublin KO 4pm.
Killester / Shanganon v's Balla Sun 27th in Dublin / Meath KO 2PM.
Thunderblaster
08/01/2008, 7:34 PM
Are there floodlights in Haddon Park now?
papa-j
08/01/2008, 8:58 PM
Anybody know about Trinity Corinthians? Whats their set up like? Are they a strong side, any stand out players? How would they compare with Killester, Portmarnock, Ballymun etc?
limfan
08/01/2008, 9:54 PM
Regional vs Lisselton??
Who will win this one.. there are alot of good players on both side id say it will be a cracking game
inexile
08/01/2008, 9:56 PM
id fancy regional for this, home advantage will be important and i think regional will be too strong
no17 fan
09/01/2008, 12:24 AM
i've seen both teams play this season and liselton have some cracking players
including a few lads who played league of ireland with limerick fc and cork city. Regional in my opinion are gonna find it hard to get through these boys.
Liselton's keeper is a super player.. when he comes to the matches!!! and they play very well with him in goal.. good luck to regional and all the other limerick teams in the fai this weekend.
How's the weather up in Donegal this week. I've heard it's alot worse than down here in Limerick. Just wondering whats the chances of the Readcastle and Pike match being called off?
papa,trinity wouldnt be at the same level as the aul clubs you mentioned but are decent enough;i hear they have lost alot of players from the squad that got to a LJ final last year and are struggling a bit in the lge;tis a great set up big pitch but ye would be fancied to come away with a result;couple of ex junior internationals no longer play for them
abbeyvale
09/01/2008, 9:40 AM
How's the weather up in Donegal this week. I've heard it's alot worse than down here in Limerick. Just wondering whats the chances of the Readcastle and Pike match being called off?
If its on, make sure you bring your hat, scarf, gloves & thermals......
Irwin
09/01/2008, 11:36 AM
Noddy. weather is beautiful up here. We had a bit of a storm last night but sure we're used to that. Seriously though the match should be on no problem. the pitch is good and can take a lot of rain, frost will not be a problem as the pitch is right beside the water. So unless there is a serious fall of snow it'll be on.
Goals4fun
09/01/2008, 11:52 AM
balla V ?? is fixed for the 27th
are the lads that got sent off in the MJC available for this?
the hoops
09/01/2008, 12:17 PM
depends if mc garry gets 1 match ban hes ok as he has served it dont know about the balla lads
Halfback
09/01/2008, 12:28 PM
Both have served their one match ban, still waiting on suspension from Munster Council so depends on how many games they get and how many are due to be played before the FAI. Spud should be the same as Mc Garry 1 Game, don't know about Earls, will prob get a longer suspension.
Goals4fun
09/01/2008, 1:31 PM
Both have served their one match ban, still waiting on suspension from Munster Council so depends on how many games they get and how many are due to be played before the FAI. Spud should be the same as Mc Garry 1 Game, don't know about Earls, will prob get a longer suspension.
normally a red in the mjc is 5 games (mjc games)
but when you are out of this it can be transferred to local games. Depends what the committee decide,
heard that their meeting was meant to be this week
Town Fan
10/01/2008, 6:56 AM
normally a red in the mjc is 5 games (mjc games)
but when you are out of this it can be transferred to local games. Depends what the committee decide,
heard that their meeting was meant to be this week
Anybody know anyhting about Evergreen of Kilkenny? What are the ref's like down there?