View Full Version : NI boss targets Republic's Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

28/08/2007, 2:22 PM
There is nothing in Article 15 of the Statutes that stops Qatar doling out passports to Brazilians which was the whole point of this..
Therefore the vote at the congress for the annex specified for that naturalization issue

The GFA agreement has nothing to do with this btw as NI born people were entitled to Irish passports all along.
exactly

My own belief is that the FAI case is based on nationality. DG has only one nationality eg Irish. The IFA need to argue that he is also British. This becomes a highly political argument.
As nationality is automatic, FIFA have accepted that 100%, the FAI don't have to argue anything and JD knows this.
FIFA precedent is set in stone re automatic citizenship, doesn't matter if by location of his birth he is eligible for another passport.

RogerMilla
28/08/2007, 2:26 PM
FIFA has never tolerated politicians interfering in the independence and integrity of its Members when it comes to footballing matters.

LOL utter rubbish, the politicians decide and then FIFA follow suit, you telling me FIFA stood brave against the fall of yugoslavia or told slovakia , now now lads , none of this independence carry on. Listen Ukraine , you lads have to play for russia , i dotn care if you are an independent state now ??

The governments of both nations agree that people born in northern Ireland are eligible for irish nationality. Fifa wont mess with that if the player declares for the republic.

28/08/2007, 3:01 PM
As nationality is automatic, FIFA have accepted that 100%, the FAI don't have to argue anything and JD knows this.
FIFA precedent is set in stone re automatic citizenship, doesn't matter if by location of his birth he is eligible for another passport.

Nobody is denying DG's right to an Irish passport. However if FIFA rule that he is also British because he was born in the UK then the Annex may apply (subject to the legal argument that the annex no longer refers to a valid Satatute). This would be a highly emotive and political ruling to make.

If the Annex applies then he can't play for us irrespective of the passport as he wasn't born within the terroritory of the FAI, hasn't got a parent or grandparent born here or lived here for 2 years.

Dermot Aherne may have scored an own goal here by getting it accepted that players can play for NI with an Irish passport. You can now argue that even his Irish nationality qualifies him to play for NI and RoI and therefore the Annex applies.

The more I look at it the more complex it gets.

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 3:11 PM
Nobody is denying DG's right to an Irish passport. However if FIFA rule that he is also British because he was born in the UK then the Annex may apply (subject to the legal argument that the annex no longer refers to a valid Satatute). This would be a highly emotive and political ruling to make.

If the Annex applies then he can't play for us irrespective of the passport as he wasn't born within the terroritory of the FAI, hasn't got a parent or grandparent born here or lived here for 2 years.

Dermot Aherne may have scored an own goal here by getting it accepted that players can play for NI with an Irish passport. You can now argue that even his Irish nationality qualifies him to play for NI and RoI and therefore the Annex applies.

"However, if FIFA rule that he is also British because he was born in the UK and also played under age football for one of the British Associations, then the Annex may apply etc"

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 3:24 PM
LOL utter rubbish, the politicians decide and then FIFA follow suit, you telling me FIFA stood brave against the fall of yugoslavia or told slovakia , now now lads , none of this independence carry on. Listen Ukraine , you lads have to play for russia , i dotn care if you are an independent state now ??

The governments of both nations agree that people born in northern Ireland are eligible for irish nationality. Fifa wont mess with that if the player declares for the republic.

This misunderstands my point. When Yugoslavia broke up into several independent countries, of course FIFA recognised this (obviously!) and permitted each country to set up its own independent Football Association.

But it is a long-established and universally enforced principle that e.g. the Government of Serbia cannot interfere in the running of the Serbian FA, or the Slovenian Government in the running of the Slovenian FA and especially that the Serbian Government cannot interfere in the running of the Slovenian FA (or vice versa).

Otherwise, FIFA will suspend or terminate the Membership of the Association of the offending Government, which invariably does the trick. If you search FIFA's Website, you'll see that this happens all the time. Recent Governments which have been forced to back off have included the Greeks and Kenyans.

(It's the same with the IOC, btw)

as_i_say
28/08/2007, 3:31 PM

HA. FINALLY!!! That one post is it in a nutshell. Its not even a footballing matter. End of thread? Please, pretty please??

28/08/2007, 3:32 PM
"However, if FIFA rule that he is also British because he was born in the UK and also played under age football for one of the British Associations, then the Annex may apply etc"

Given that he was still a minor when he switched he could still claim on the nationality issue. FIFA allow changes up until aged 21 and courts in most countries distinguish between decisions made by U18s.

Paulie
28/08/2007, 4:23 PM
To be honest, while I understand the urgency of Northern Ireland's fans in wanting to get this matter clarified (and I don't just mean in relation to Darren Gibson), it is beyond me as to why they would want to basically force someone, who has no interest in playing for them, to do so or to at least prevent them from playing for the country that they feel represents them.

My own belief is that regardless of the legalities of the situation it would be disgraceful to prevent people born in Northern Ireland from playing for the Republic of Ireland if that is the team that they wish to play for. I would also be amazed if this was to happen.

eelmonster
28/08/2007, 5:35 PM
... the true "Ireland" football team? (You know, the one which has existed for 127 years...).

For how many of those years have you been playing under the Ulster [sic]/loyalist banner?

Maroon 7
28/08/2007, 6:08 PM
More hysterics on OWC. Can you send e-mails in green crayon?

"FIFA can stand by and do nowt.
What we should all be doing is contacting the National asscoiations of ALL possible opponents of the ROI and make them aware that if they play Gibson and others against them then they are breaking (potentially) FIFA rules and should appeal to be given the game.
This is where action will be done.
Like someone said earlier can you imagine the kick up if Gibson scored the goal that knowked the Germans out....?"

28/08/2007, 6:18 PM

You are manufacturing a hypothetical situation of complications and interpretations ignoring how the statutes are applied in arbitrating declaration issues all over the world by FIFA.
A national born in another territory of course is entitled to another citizenship. There are plenty of examples of that. That is obvious here but not pertinent and actually irrelevant in his declaration for Ireland.
What matters to FIFA, first and formost, is that he has an automatic right to Irish citizenship no matter what part of the Island he is born.

I am impressed by how much FIFA go out of their way to protect the civil rights of a young footballer.

lopez
28/08/2007, 9:51 PM
...the shortest answer to your exhaustive post is ...
-No I wasn't.

Oh mmmmercy. :DNow you're back and Marty has joined us, you can go ask him about his feelings about someone from the 26C playing for/supporting Northern Ireland. :rolleyes:

lopez
28/08/2007, 9:59 PM
More hysterics on OWC. Can you send e-mails in green crayon?

"FIFA can stand by and do nowt.
What we should all be doing is contacting the National asscoiations of ALL possible opponents of the ROI and make them aware that if they play Gibson and others against them then they are breaking (potentially) FIFA rules and should appeal to be given the game.
This is where action will be done.
Like someone said earlier can you imagine the kick up if Gibson scored the goal that knowked the Germans out....?"I'm on the case already, and have contacted the Spanish and Swedish FAs with the contradiction between Maik Taylor et al never having lived in the 'footballing jurisdiction' of the O6C, and the fact that they play for the representatives of the 'footballing jurisdiction' of NI. Probably stands a better chance of success as well than the case against us. I would love to see the reaction on ourweeminds if it went against them. LOFL!:D

EG, Army Groupie, Not Brazil. You hang around with some babies.

lopez
28/08/2007, 10:04 PM
EalingGreen,

I do not intend to create a post of such length that it bores anyone who reads it. However, there is a simple reason why I wish to register on the ourweecountry site.

There are some matters that have very recently become highly relevant to that of a ROI fan. This matter is related to the eligibility or not as many believe of one of our players, Darron Gibson. A fellow member of this board posted a comment inviting others to view a thread on the above mentioned site, commenting that it was of some interest. When I attempted to view this thread, I was met with a screen asking me to register, in order to view the information. Wanting to view the information I filled in the relevant information, yet I am not allowed on the forum. I hope this answers your long winded question.Wouldn't even bother. Also if the poster quoted by Maroon 7 is anything to judge the site by - and I know it's not an isolated post - you could be in trouble with several police forces around the world as an adult entering a site that is clearly the domain for pre-pubescent children. :D

co. down green
28/08/2007, 11:22 PM
I'm surprised the issue is still under discussion as it's already been resolved by FIFA's top legal guys.

The IFA complained to FIFA in Feb 06 about Alex Bruce not qualifying for Ireland as his grandmother came from Bangor in Co.Down and they received the same answer as they received in the FIFA response of October 06 "the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'."

The issue is not really about Darron Gibson to be honest, as the IFA are fully aware of his right to represent Ireland, its about the future and trying to change the rules to stop young Irish players from the North of Ireland representing Ireland at international level.

I presume they are getting pretty desperate when they are getting their international manager to tell lies about Darron Gibson and the IFA running a witchhunt against the lad in the media.

The existing rule stands, and its the same rule that allowed Ballynahinch's Andy Kilmartin to represent Ireland in 1999 and the same rule that allowed Derry's James Quigley to represent Ireland back in 97.

The FAI need to play hardball over the issue and resist any attempt from the IFA to change the rules allowing young Irish players to represent their country.

I would love to know why the IFA made no representations to FIFA over Henry McStay, Saul Deeny, Kevin Deery etc... playing competitive u21 football for Ireland in the past.

at least Howard Wells might get a new 12 month contract out of it, isn't his contract nearly up ?

28/08/2007, 11:33 PM
Given that he was still a minor when he switched he could still claim on the nationality issue. FIFA allow changes up until aged 21 and courts in most countries distinguish between decisions made by U18s.
Only one change is allowed before age of 21. Darron was already tied before he received a senior cap.

29/08/2007, 7:42 AM
Now you're back and Marty has joined us, you can go ask him about his feelings about someone from the 26C playing for/supporting Northern Ireland. :rolleyes:

To be honest I couldn't give a tuppeny fcuk how Marty would feel about a person born in the 26C playing for Northern Ireland. If the hypothetical player was entitled -then he's entitled and that's the end of it for me.

If Marty or any other NI fan has a problem with that then they're only being as narrow-minded as some of ours who give the hairy eyeball to non-Ireland born players who opt to play for us.

RogerMilla
29/08/2007, 8:59 AM
"Now you're back and Marty has joined us, you can go ask him about his feelings about someone from the 26C playing for/supporting Northern Ireland."

everyone i know supported them in 82 and 86 , my own ambivalence towards the northern ireland team began after the 1-1 game. i am not too bothered about their results either way apart from the obvious pangs of jealousy when they beat a good side like spain etc. etc.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 9:01 AM
Wouldn't even bother. Also if the poster quoted by Maroon 7 is anything to judge the site by - and I know it's not an isolated post - you could be in trouble with several police forces around the world as an adult entering a site that is clearly the domain for pre-pubescent children. :D

Your right; I had a post fully written but I cannot even be bothered to send it now. I have had my academic ability questioned, been called a hypocrit and I have been warned before and had my post deleted when I have lost my rag and personally criticised somebody. However that post is still on this site; anyone care to answer why?

youngirish
29/08/2007, 9:17 AM
Your right; I had a post fully written but I cannot even be bothered to send it now. I have had my academic ability questioned, been called a hypocrit and I have been warned before and had my post deleted when I have lost my rag and personally criticised somebody. However that post is still on this site; anyone care to answer why?
That was me that was.

29/08/2007, 9:33 AM
You are manufacturing a hypothetical situation of complications and interpretations ignoring how the statutes are applied in arbitrating declaration issues all over the world by FIFA.
A national born in another territory of course is entitled to another citizenship. There are plenty of examples of that. That is obvious here but not pertinent and actually irrelevant in his declaration for Ireland.
What matters to FIFA, first and formost, is that he has an automatic right to Irish citizenship no matter what part of the Island he is born.

I am impressed by how much FIFA go out of their way to protect the civil rights of a young footballer.

I haven't manufactured anything. FIFA haven't ruled on the issue and it is still under consideration for over 18 months.

DG has a right to Irish citizenship. That is not in dispute. It is open to interpretation whether or not he qualifies to play for the RoI football team. I think he does but it is not cut and dried.

Maik Taylor would not qualify for NI now but the rules are not applied retrospectively. He did qualify when he was first picked.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 9:34 AM
That was me that was.

Your right :) I apologise but you see my point?!

29/08/2007, 9:36 AM
Only one change is allowed before age of 21. Darron was already tied before he received a senior cap.

IF FIFA rule that he is ineligible for us then he will be allowed play for NI. He has however stated it is us or nobody.

youngirish
29/08/2007, 9:40 AM
Your right :) I apologise but you see my point?!

No need for apologies I abuse everyone on the site.

29/08/2007, 9:42 AM
No need for apologies I abuse everyone on the site.

thats about all you do!! :)

lopez
29/08/2007, 10:01 AM
...Maik Taylor would not qualify for NI now but the rules are not applied retrospectively. He did qualify when he was first picked.Why wouldn't he qualify now? He's a naturalised British citizen. He can pick any of the four British teams provided he hadn't played for someone else in a full international. Don't the four British teams have an exemption?

...The issue is not really about Darron Gibson to be honest, as the IFA are fully aware of his right to represent Ireland, its about the future and trying to change the rules to stop young Irish players from the North of Ireland representing Ireland at international level...Their player options are probably double to what they admit too. There are more naturalised British citizens in Britain than there are people in the whole of O6C. That's where they can pick their players from in the unlikely situation of all nationalists, and the odd rotten prod, 'defecting' to Mexico.

And don't give me this 'we want our own players from our own wee country [sic.]'. The IFA have had no problem picking naturalised Britons for years, which sort of damages the poor, victimised IFA picture they are currently portraying. As does the previous booing of these players they claim to love and not want to let go. Won't mention the death threat as that was, according to some on ourweeminds, Uncle Gerry and Martin with a 20p piece, who made that call. :rolleyes:

29/08/2007, 10:18 AM
I haven't manufactured anything. FIFA haven't ruled on the issue and it is still under consideration for over 18 months.
By FIFA's Legal standards this is a ruling. Why do think they are still considering it? In particular reference to the present situation, Oct 2006.
"letter from Heinz Tannler, Director of FIFA's Legal Division, and Corina Luck, Head of their General Legal department stated 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'."

DG has a right to Irish citizenship. That is not in dispute. It is open to interpretation whether or not he qualifies to play for the RoI football team. I think he does but it is not cut and dried.

Only by the IFA interpretation, not by FIFA Legal dept. as evident in the letter from Oct 2006 and as evident by the consistent FIFA arbitrations over the years

Maik Taylor would not qualify for NI now but the rules are not applied retrospectively. He did qualify when he was first picked.
I don't know Maik Taylor's status.
Darron is ruled eligible now. No matter what FIFA may change in the future he will remain eligible. And he would not be allowed to change even if he wanted to.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 10:22 AM
Darron is ruled eligible now. No matter what FIFA may change in the future he will remain eligible. And he would not be allowed to change even if he wanted to.

Which, to the devastation of many Northern Ireland 'fans', he has no intention of doing!

FarBeag
29/08/2007, 11:41 AM
Why can’t they just leave it? Even if they are successful in proving Gibson should not be playing for us, all that will come out of it is a young 19 year olds dream of playing for the country he always dreamed of will be shattered. He has made it clear he does not want to play for the North so that should be the end of it.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 11:46 AM
Why can’t they just leave it? Even if they are successful in proving Gibson should not be playing for us, all that will come out of it is a young 19 year olds dream of playing for the country he always dreamed of will be shattered. He has made it clear he does not want to play for the North so that should be the end of it.

In their defence, they are also looking at the wider issue. There are a number of young players born in the North who have chosen to play for us. Of course, this is irritating those north of the border and they would like FIFA to rule that this is not a legal move. This is what is being debated, however badly I believe it has been debated. Mainly down to the fact that I don't see where the debate arises from, he has an Irish passport, therefore he can play for Ireland!

EalingGreen
29/08/2007, 11:49 AM
Why wouldn't he [i.e Maik Taylor] qualify now? He's a naturalised British citizen. He can pick any of the four British teams provided he hadn't played for someone else in a full international. Don't the four British teams have an exemption?

Their [i.e. NI's] player options are probably double to what they admit too. There are more naturalised British citizens in Britain than there are people in the whole of O6C. That's where they can pick their players from in the unlikely situation of all nationalists, and the odd rotten prod, 'defecting' to Mexico.

And don't give me this 'we want our own players from our own wee country [sic.]'. The IFA have had no problem picking naturalised Britons for years:

You are quite correct that Maik Taylor would still qualify, since the specific Exemption to which you refer in FIFA's Regs is still in place.

However, you greatly overstate the actual availability of naturalised Britons who would both play for NI and whom we would also have. The vast majority live in Great Britain, so would inevitably opt first for England, Scotland or Wales who between them offer a wide range of standards. Which explains why in the last 30 years, there have been only two that I can think of whom NI have picked that way, (both keepers, as it happens).
The first was Trevor Woods who gained a solitary cap as a second half substitute in a game vs Liechtenstein in 1995. Being Jersey-born, had he not been eligible for a British Association, he would not have been eligible for any international team, which is hardly fair imo. (It was the same with Matt Le Tissier, even if England never knew how to use his talent properly!)

The second was Taylor. Although born in Germany (father was in the forces), afaik he was brought up in South Africa, at a time when it was not a member of FIFA, so international football was not an option available to him. And by the time SA was readmitted (1992), Taylor had moved to England, where he was starting his playing career with Farnborough Town.
Further, it is 8 years since he made his debut for NI; since then, no Naturalized Briton has played for NI under the UK Passport exception, nor even been seriously considered (to my knowledge). Indeed, both Sanchez and the IFA publicly took a hard line on not picking players with some NI connection when the subject was raised a couple of years back.

Anyhow, whilst interesting in its own right, this deviation towards discussing the cases of Taylor and Woods has no real relevance to the Gibson case, since both are specifically covered by a FIFA exemption in a way which Gibson is not (whether he is eligible for the ROI by another means or otherwise)

livehead1
29/08/2007, 11:54 AM
Lee Trundle turned down Lawrie Sanchez IIRC.

EalingGreen
29/08/2007, 12:13 PM

As the IFA have consistently pointed out, this is nothing personal against Gibson. If he doesn't want to play for NI there is no way we could or would force him (even if he seemed happy enough to play for us as a youth).

However, there may well be other players who aren't actually bothered either way i.e. they just wish to play football, without regard to political considerations, and will pick the most attractive options open to them.

As such the IFA risks a significant dilution of an already small player pool, which in itself would be bad enough. But invariably the players concerned were first discovered and nurtured by the IFA, inc. Gibson, whose professed lifelong affinity to the ROI only is perhaps questionable, considering he has disclosed that a falling out with an IFA coach over being allowed leave from the NI team he was playing for (to attend a trial at MU) was partly behind his switching.

Further, all the Northern players who have been selected, plus those who have been approached but declined, are from the Nationalist community, so that the NI team risks being turned into a de facto Unionist-only team, through no fault of its own and completely contrary to its wishes.

And, of course, we are only facing this situation now because the FAI, under Brian Kerr, unilaterally broke a Gentleman's Agreement, brokered by FIFA in 1950(?), whereby the FAI agreed not to select Northern players and the IFA not to select Southern players (which both had been doing). which again would be bad enough, were it not for the fact that with the Agreement broken, the flow of players is only ever going to be one way, to the disadvantage of only one party (and not the one which broke the Agreement, either).

Or put it another way: how would ROI fans feel if the UK and Irish Government came to some sort of agreement, for purely political (i.e. non-footballing) reasons, which suddenly meant that all ROI citizens were suddenly eligible for a UK Passport, so that a section of your player pool now had the option of representing England? It would not ever be likely to be many players in practice, but even if it was only a few who were attracted by the huge extra money, prestige etc associated with playing for England, that would be significantly to the detriment of your team, especially since it would likely be the better players.
There would be a serious outcry in the Republic, of that I'm certain.

EalingGreen
29/08/2007, 12:28 PM
Which, to the devastation of many Northern Ireland 'fans', he has no intention of doing!

I don't know any NI fans who would be "devastated". And even the MU fans would be considerably more upset if for some reason we lost Jonny Evans (or even young Craig Cathcart).

From what I can gather, the reaction has ranged all the way from disappointment Gibson's not available, through not being bothered about him if the player himself is not bothered about us, to a minority(?) who resent him for choosing as he has done.

For myself, whilst I find it disappointing that his preference is for another team, I am in no position to wish him ill; indeed, if it should turn out that FIFA finally considers he should be eligible, then I wish him good luck in his career.
Equally, should FIFA decide he is not eligible, then I would be quite prepared to welcome him back for consideration for NI (even if it is v.unlikely he would avail of that option)

youngirish
29/08/2007, 12:29 PM
18 pages down lads only another 70 to go on this topic and we have outdone OWC.

fhtb
29/08/2007, 12:39 PM
he has an Irish passport, therefore he can play for Ireland!

Except that in FIFA's 3 main criteria on eligibility, holding a passport is not mentioned once.

When it comes down to it, FIFA will judge based not on bi-lateral political settlements to which they are not signatories, but to protect the interests of their member associations. Losing the dubious ability to select players outside of the FAI's jurisdiction will do no harm to their credibility long term, losing the ability to select from all sections of the community in NI would do untold damage to the IFA.

Depending on the amount of bile this post attracts, this is probably my first & last on this board/thread.

29/08/2007, 12:47 PM
Depending on the amount of bile this post attracts, this is probably my first & last on this board/thread.

You are not on OWC now, you are welcome, and thats a fair post. we wont come on saying something like "grow a pair of balls will ye" or use such a terms as "northern prod" etc, as i noticed to me at least a term of the same emotional effect was used to describe a poster on your site from ROI.

EG, in fairness your second last post was a very fair post and for once I couldn't sense any hidden subtext of bitterness. On that fair play.

eelmonster
29/08/2007, 12:52 PM

Why on earth would your post attract any amount of bile? Or, as I've seen one poster on the OWC's mirror thread, have you come here to feel oppressed?

The holder of an Irish passport is a de facto Irish national, citizenship is the means by which FIFA test eligibility, QED. We don't hand out passports/citizenship willy-nilly [anymore], you know.

fhtb
29/08/2007, 12:59 PM
Why on earth would your post attract any amount of bile? Or, as I've seen one poster on the OWC's mirror thread, have you come here to feel oppressed?I'm glad you read us ;) It's just a few of the posts I've read on this thread aren't exactly on topic.

The holder of an Irish passport is a de facto Irish national, citizenship is the means by which FIFA test eligibility, QED.
FIFA test eligibility based on whether the player -
1) Born in the country
2) Lives in the country for a period of at least 2 years
3) parents/grandparents born in country.
The extra-territorial decree by the Republic on what it thinks an Irish citizen would appear to be irrelevant to the above straightforward rules. As I said there is a lot for OWC to lose in all of this, less so for the FAI.

ps O'Shea don't confuse passion for hatred!!!!

Maroon 7
29/08/2007, 1:14 PM
Fhtb what are your own views on this matter?

I believe you are one of those unique individuals who were born and bred in the south yet support NI so I think we would find your opinion illuminating on this subject?

29/08/2007, 1:16 PM
Gibson, whose professed lifelong affinity to the ROI only is perhaps questionable, considering he has disclosed that a falling out with an IFA coach over being allowed leave from the NI team he was playing for (to attend a trial at MU) was partly behind his switching. .
How about the more likely scenario -Perhaps not questionable Irishness' - perhaps it is as both Darron and his parents say it is.
I detect a reluctance to accept that it is possible for a young footballer to be fully Irish. A reluctance to accept the value of what is included in the GFA on the nationality issue.

(even if he seemed happy enough to play for us as a youth).
FIFA have determined based on years of experience that young kids such as Darron should not be tied to a country even if they appeared happy at the age of 16 to do so. Who knows how happy he was, maybe he realised at 17 that he was not so happy.
FIFA allow a young player plenty of time, up to the age of 21 before making a final decision.

RogerMilla
29/08/2007, 1:16 PM
Or put it another way: how would ROI fans feel if the UK and Irish Government came to some sort of agreement, for purely political (i.e. non-footballing) reasons, which suddenly meant that all ROI citizens were suddenly eligible for a UK Passport, so that a section of your player pool now had the option of representing England? It would not ever be likely to be many players in practice, but even if it was only a few who were attracted by the huge extra money, prestige etc associated with playing for England, that would be significantly to the detriment of your team, especially since it would likely be the better players.
There would be a serious outcry in the Republic, of that I'm certain.

There would be no outcry because no one would play for england. EG you really have no idea of our mindset at all. I admire you for your efforts at interaction but you just don't get it.

fhtb
29/08/2007, 1:17 PM
Fhtb what are your own views on this matter?

I believe you are one of those unique individuals who were born and bred in the south yet support NI so I think we would find your opinion illuminating on this subject?

:D Simple enough really - I believe the 3 basic rules should be adhered to.

btw - i qualify to support NI via the 2nd rule... :rolleyes:

29/08/2007, 1:18 PM

He is not allowed to change now. However if FIFA rule (they have not ruled on this) that he is ineligible then he would be allowed to declare for NI if he wanted to.

29/08/2007, 1:20 PM
I don't understand how Maik Taylor qualifies under the new rules.

He was born in Germany, holds a British passport however he has not lived in NI for 2 years, nor has a parent or grandparent born in NI.

He qualifies for NI because he qualified under the old rules. However had he not played International football before now I can't see how he could now declare for NI.

Maroon 7
29/08/2007, 1:25 PM
:D Simple enough really - I believe the 3 basic rules should be adhered to.

btw - i qualify to support NI via the 2nd rule... :rolleyes:

You support NI because you lived there for 2 or more years?

I thought it would be have been because of something more meaningful or substantial.

29/08/2007, 1:27 PM
He is not allowed to change now. However if FIFA rule (they have not ruled on this) that he is ineligible then he would be allowed to declare for NI if he wanted to.
On what specific rule or precedent are you basing this?

fhtb
29/08/2007, 1:33 PM
You support NI because you lived there for 2 or more years?

I thought it would be have been because of something more meaningful or substantial.
sorry i thought you were refering to the dryer machinations. You can read much more of this on owc but basically if NI didn't exist I wouldn't feel Irish. I like the place so much/needed to get a job/an education, I moved there. Quite a few in my position did and do the same thing.

Maroon 7
29/08/2007, 1:39 PM
sorry i thought you were refering to the dryer machinations. You can read much more of this on owc but basically if NI didn't exist I wouldn't feel Irish. I like the place so much/needed to get a job/an education, I moved there. Quite a few in my position did and do the same thing.

Well that all sounds a bit odd but fair enough.:D

But to be fair you could hardly have any complaints then about the likes of Darron Gibson wanting to play for ROI.

fhtb
29/08/2007, 1:42 PM
Well that all sounds a bit odd but fair enough.:D

But to be fair you could hardly have any complaints then about the likes of Darron Gibson wanting to play for ROI.
I understand where he's coming from (up to a point).

But, the issue is about FIFA eligibility not the whims of a few border hoppers like me or him.