View Full Version : NI boss targets Republic's Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

EalingGreen
24/08/2007, 8:02 PM
Ealing Green...maybe you can explain why I was turned down to join the board at ourweecountry. My username was sligo_boy....

See above posts. Oh, and "Sligo Boy" will be fine*. After all, wasn't His Excellency Sir Lawrie of Sanchez a "Sligo Boy" for a while? :cool:

* - Though I can't see what's wrong with using "livehead1", or even "livehead2", if you like.

EalingGreen
24/08/2007, 8:07 PM
The amount of gurning from people who don't care about Northern Ireland :rolleyes:

Yes we banned all taigs from our site as we are nasty bigots. It was nothing to do with the fact that our sever does down as the number of people checking OWC after a NI game busts the bandwidth, hence we make it members only.

Livehead/Sligo Boy as I deal with membership I don't recall you name on there tring to join :confused:

bwagner: Don't even bother. In fact do, it should be most amusing, we can take bets on how long you last. By the way, I'm from Newcastle, I could have taken you to a pub for a pint where they have catholic babies as pub grub. Next time your up give us a shout.

Oh ffs, OTK. There's me doing my level best to lure these unsuspecting victims into the trap and you go and let the mask slip as to what we're all really like...:eek:

24/08/2007, 10:03 PM
When are you going to get the message? NOBODY wants you on here.

Nobody wants me on here either but that never stopped me!

lopez
24/08/2007, 10:06 PM
Yeah but that's an easy position for us to take. The 'problem' for NI is that roughly half their playerbase may choose to play for another team. If everyone in Dublin started to declare for England we'd be getting worried. I suspect this is the real issue for NI fans, it would move them from being a 'country' with one million people to one with half a million (almost Luxembourg level).If we had an all-Ireland state, and there was an all-British football team, wouldn't the same apply? 20% possibly wanting to play for the UK?

Hi Lopez,
I am a Finn Harps fan.I had no idea we were such a diverse multicultural club:D.Please tell me about your experience of these Finn Harps fans you refer to.There was a website belonging to FH/GR fans around 5 years ago, but it can't be found on google. Claimed they also supported NI.

...Yes we banned all taigs from our site as we are nasty bigots. It was nothing to do with the fact that our sever does down as the number of people checking OWC after a NI game busts the bandwidth, hence we make it members only...Sorry, did you mean to say server or sewer? Both seem to make sense. :D

...bwagner: Don't even bother. In fact do, it should be most amusing, we can take bets on how long you last. By the way, I'm from Newcastle, I could have taken you to a pub for a pint and where they have catholic babies as pub grub. Next time your up give us a shout.Dunno about eating babies, but I know you like to hang around with blokes who kill babies. (cue the w*nker smilie)

24/08/2007, 10:14 PM
You support our team and that's enough for me.

Fair enough but it's a bit childish to use the old "Just Feck Off!" argument to someone who comes on here with opinions we dont agree with

24/08/2007, 11:00 PM
Man U have so many midfielders at the moment its hard to see Darron getting a run there.A championchip club would seen ideal.A midfield pairing of Gibson and Garvan at the next WC could be an exciting prospect.If you have a quality central midfield it gives the rest of the team a great platform.
There's not too many midfielders ahead of him. Scholes, Carrick and Hargreaves, and Ferguson seemed to prefer him over Fletcher and O'Shea in pre-season. I'm sure he will get playing time, especially seeing as Hargreaves seems a bit injury prone.

Not so, Dodge. The "default" position is that any player from the UK, with British citizenship, will represent the home country within which he was born. Where a player is also eligible under FIFA Regs (e.g. through parents/grandparents) to play for more than one of the four countries, it becomes the player's choice which he represents. (The English-born James Morrison being capped for Scotland in midweek is the most recent example).

Similarly, where a player has UK Nationality/Citizenship, but no particular connection to any one of the four home countries, then the player may exercise his choice. So the (naturalised?) Jamaican-born John Barnes chose England - hardly surprising considering he lived in England from a very early age, was a product of English under-age football and earned his living with an English League team.

I think Dodge is right. It's the same rule that allows Darren Gibson to play for the Republic. The rules states that a holder of an "Irish or British passport" may chose whatever country they wish.

24/08/2007, 11:12 PM
The amount of gurning from people who don't care about Northern Ireland :rolleyes:
I wouldn't flatter yourself that much. The Isle of Man would probably register higher on our list of rivals.
But you sound such a jolly lot that the OWC site couldn't possibly hold any resentment to Connor, Gibson and O'Kane. It's all a wee bit of banter whilst totally respecting their wishes to be Irish citizens and choose the Irish team.
All those rumours about bitterness and resentment couldn't possible be true.
There was a bit of a charade here in this thread about presenting an arguement against the lads declarations but as the saying goes "you can't be serious" as if we thought that such an educated poster could be so irrational, persecuted and dogmatic.

24/08/2007, 11:21 PM
TI think Dodge is right. It's the same rule that allows Darren Gibson to play for the Republic. The rules states that a holder of an "Irish or British passport" may chose whatever country they wish.
Is there such a rule?
According to FIFA, NI born, qualify for Ireland under FIFA's article 15. No other criteria need apply

No such mention there of British or Irish passports.

24/08/2007, 11:25 PM
Is there such a rule?
According to FIFA, NI born, qualify for Ireland under FIFA's article 15. No other criteria need apply

No such mention there of British or Irish passports.
http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/index.php?showtopic=15485&st=1170&p=397517&#entry397517

Naitch
24/08/2007, 11:29 PM
Just found this http://www.ourweecountry.co.uk/worldcup02.html what and utter piece of bigoted ****e that is. I almost feel sorry for whoever wrote that as he is obviously a narrow minded bigot and racist. Some of these quotes from him about "the Republic" made me laugh.

"The consensual fiction that there was a team called "Ireland" representing the entire "nation" in Japan and Korea "

"The Republic equalised through a freak Matt Holland strike and held on for a draw."

"Of course the most disgraceful piece of hubris and mendacity was the claim that the 'tinkers' outplayed Spain"

"The Republic and their fans were on the plane home with only their self-delusion and whatever they’d stolen from their Asian hosts to bring with them."

"Roy Keane was also probably concerned about his family. I’m told it’s been a tough few years for itinerant driveway tarmaccers."

"Mick’s multinationals equalising penalty came from a highly unconvincing foul on Niall Quinn."

Remember that was only 5 years, ago for such a racist piece of writing to be allowed be put up on one of 'Norn Irons' biggest fan forums is an absolute disgrace and they wonder why people from a nationlist backround choose to play for Ireland. He comments "Micks multinationals", eh did'nt Northern Ireland have/had Englishmen, Germans and a Norweigan born play for them. He also writes about our lucky results in the World Cup, but this was the time when Northern Ireland were drawing 0-0 with Liechtenstein, losing 4-1 to the mighty Poland.

They also when 13 GAMES without scoring! and when they did score the 'worlds greatest fans' celebrated like the won the World Cup (they lost that game in which they finally scored 4-1 to the giants of Norway. Oh and this was also around the time they booed their own captain for simply playing for Celtic.

And fans of the 'Wee Little Country' wonder why Gibson etc declare for Ireland.

24/08/2007, 11:38 PM
http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/index.php?showtopic=15485&st=1170&p=397517&#entry397517
at least I could just check that one post.
"(as is the case with the UK passport/Irish passport)"
That bit has been put in by the poster Pronane, undoubtably a Fenian. I hope he gets out alive.

24/08/2007, 11:46 PM
Just found this [url]http://"The consensual fiction that there was a team called "Ireland" representing the entire "nation" in Japan and Korea "

"The Republic equalised through a freak Matt Holland strike and held on for a draw."

"Of course the most disgraceful piece of hubris and mendacity was the claim that the 'tinkers' outplayed Spain"

"The Republic and their fans were on the plane home with only their self-delusion and whatever they’d stolen from their Asian hosts to bring with them."

"Roy Keane was also probably concerned about his family. I’m told it’s been a tough few years for itinerant driveway tarmaccers."

"Mick’s multinationals equalising penalty came from a highly unconvincing foul on Niall Quinn."
I thought that was quite funny, take pleasure in their misery at that time.

On The Kop
25/08/2007, 12:06 AM
Great to get the usual suspects back when OWC is mentioned.

Geysir, we are all looking forward to Iceland again. Come and say hello. We can chat all about your comments about our last trip there.

Lopez, still reading the books, getting a feel for the place? Odd comment about hanging around with blokes who kill babies? Still by all accounts you are very odd so will let it pass.

We do seem to bring out the worse in you lot don't we?

Anyway, I feel your pain lads over these last few years, all that media coverage we have been getting. Still I'm sure a round of 'Stand Up If You Hate The Brits' over in the Czech Republic will cheer you all up.

Naitch
25/08/2007, 12:09 AM
And when was the last time you made it to a major competition or even came close mate?

Soko
25/08/2007, 1:01 AM
And when was the last time you made it to a major competition or even came close mate?

1986. 21 years ago, a long time to build up angst

Maroon 7
25/08/2007, 2:33 AM
OWC crowd are desperately hanging to the fig leaf that he is still inelligible for Ireland and are talking about getting Germany to lodge a complaint on their behalf as they would hold more sway than NI.

Even SammyG is suggesting that he has never been selected for a competitive match as he's illegal. Completely forgetting the fact that he's a young inexperienced player with a dose of midfielders ahead of him in the pecking order.

The amount of delusion on there would put the Jonestown massacre to shame.

It's quite clear that there is absolutely zero respect for the wishes of nationalists on that site and they are simply expected to put up with the status quo and shut their bloody mouths. Like it or lump it. Sad.

25/08/2007, 9:53 AM

Geysir, we are all looking forward to Iceland again. Come and say hello. We can chat all about your comments about our last trip there.
This thread is about Darron Gibson, "Ireland or Nobody", his gradual rise through the ranks of the Ireland team culminating with his debut on the senior team and the objectionable public media focussed attempts by the NI team manager to make political football out of Darron's FIFA's legitimatly sanctioned approved choice.

Do you have a little black book of all those who made what could be perceived as a negative comment towards the NI fans. Harbour resentment? Are you so insecure and touchy?
AFAIR, I highly complemented the NI fans in Finnland and the work of the FFA. A favourable comparison made against perceptions from 8 years ago in Iceland. (Before the FFA was formed?)

Why should I have any negative expectations about the NI away fans now, I would be contradicting myself. Some people do not hold onto a past negative perception in the face of obvious evidence to the contrary.

But when NI come to Reykjavik, I will be as usual sitting with the natives, I don't expect to be as thoroughly satisfied as I was last time with Gudjonson's late strike for victory. Bring warm clothes and a fat wallet :)

livehead1
25/08/2007, 10:11 AM
See above posts. Oh, and "Sligo Boy" will be fine*. After all, wasn't His Excellency Sir Lawrie of Sanchez a "Sligo Boy" for a while? :cool:

* - Though I can't see what's wrong with using "livehead1", or even "livehead2", if you like.

why was it rejected then

lopez
25/08/2007, 11:25 AM
...Lopez, still reading the books, getting a feel for the place? Odd comment about hanging around with blokes who kill babies? Still by all accounts you are very odd so will let it pass.

Everybody: May I introduce you to Marty, the grand wizard of ourweeminds?

It was he who allowed (still allows?) racist garbage such as 'Tales from the Underground' on his a*sewipe of a site, so Naitch, this is the man to ask 'why'?

He also decorated the masthead of his site with military regalia at the beginning of the illegal invasion of Iraq. So if he starts claiming politics and sport should be kept apart, you know he's b*ll****ting.

As you can see, he's a bit touchy about us fenians 'reading books' in case we might get educated. Or perhaps, as can be expected, that for someone who hangs around soldiers a lot, books to these people are like kryptonite to superman.

Isn't your sewer working yet?:D

Listening what's going on your side, a lot less from us gets you going. You know what you are like? Spoilt kids not getting enough attention from your mummy. We pay you no attention; You start throwing your dummy around. Sad, but in a cutesy sort of way, also very funny.

Anyway, I feel your pain lads over these last few years, all that media coverage we have been getting.
The media coverage I've seen YOU'VE been getting is about the bigoted sh*te on your site, from nominally unionist newspapers. If things have changed, I couldn't give a f*ck.

Still I'm sure a round of 'Stand Up If You Hate The Brits' over in the Czech Republic will cheer you all up.I'm sure we will, but let's get things straight, it won't be about your team. ;)

lopez
25/08/2007, 11:27 AM
Lionel Richie. Where are you? Marty's back after an absence of three and half years. Great opportunity to ask the Army Groupie why he'd be upset about someone from the 26C playing for NI.

backstothewall
25/08/2007, 12:09 PM
CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES
1. The participants endorse the commitment made by the British and Irish
Governments that, in a new British-Irish Agreement replacing the Anglo-
Irish Agreement, they will:

(vi) recognise the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to
identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they
may so choose, and accordingly confirm that their right to hold both
British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would
not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland

-The Agreement

The Good Friday agreement is quite clear on the constitutional status of Northern nationalists, like me. I am as Irish as Bertie Ahern or Bono, and so is an Uachtarán, Ardoyne's own, Mary McAleese.

As the Good Friday Agreement is recognised as international law, it is unlikely FIFA are going to go against it. Therefore the position is that Darren Gibson, Mary McAleese, or me have the right to play for whatever side we wish, as long as we haven't turned out for the others senior international team. Comparing Gibson to James Morrison is not right, as Morrison is playing for he reletives country. Gibson is playing for his country.

Furthermore the IFA has no real choice but to invest as much in under age development for nationalist as unionists

Sucks to be them.

25/08/2007, 12:12 PM
When are you going to get the message? NOBODY wants you on here.

You don't speak for me. Please don't assume you do.

I think that whatever Ealing Green's opinions, he manages to make those points far more eloquently and with more restraint than many others who disagree with him.

25/08/2007, 5:57 PM
The point is that this site is for Ireland fans, people who have the interests of our team at heart.
Really, since when? Btw there are plenty of people that post on this site with either no interest or even a dislike for the International team

I for one have no interest in him or what he has to say.
Reading his posts is like wading through very boring treacle. It's repetitive and you get nowhere.

Well don't read it. No one is forcing you too, but please try not to speak for others in your posts. Others find discussing stuff with him engaging and I find his posts far more interesting than a lot of the tripe posted.

25/08/2007, 6:11 PM
Sorry my posts are 'tripe'. You should have a look at some of posts on owc and then come back here for invigoration. I'm sure you'll be made very welcome there.

Where did I say your posts were tripe :confused:

Ive been over there. I don't see how that should affect how I treat people coming onto this site though.

I've never seen EG tell any ROI fan that they were unwelcome on OWC

livehead1
25/08/2007, 6:14 PM
Where did I say your posts were tripe :confused:

Ive been over there. I don't see how that should affect how I treat people coming onto this site though.

I've never seen EG tell any ROI fan that they were unwelcome on OWC

Thats very true...they just reject our applications

sylvo
26/08/2007, 10:01 PM

Lopez, still reading the books, getting a feel for the place? Odd comment about hanging around with blokes who kill babies? Still by all accounts you are very odd so will let it pass.

Anyway, I feel your pain lads over these last few years, all that media coverage we have been getting. Still I'm sure a round of 'Stand Up If You Hate The Brits' over in the Czech Republic will cheer you all up.

Are you still going on about beggers on that site, and acting like a bunch of British army groupies, ahh you boys are well up to scratch, strange how so many people in that so called country of yours wouldn't phiss on you if you were on fire never mind support you or indeed in Gibsons case play for you. Don't worry about what songs we will be singing in the Czech Republic, I just hope our we don't have a little problem with some of the players and coaching team like what happened to some two bit pub team when they went there to play the Czech Republic a few years ago.
If your going to come over from ourweeminds at least bring maddog over with yer, I enjoyed watching him getting torn to bits.

Go on bring him on for the craic.

lopez
26/08/2007, 11:31 PM
...Don't worry about what songs we will be singing in the Czech Republic, I just hope our we don't have a little problem with some of the players and coaching team like what happened to some two bit pub team when they went there to play the Czech Republic a few years ago.
If your going to come over from ourweeminds at least bring maddog over with yer, I enjoyed watching him getting torn to bits.

Go on bring him on for the craic.Forgot completely about that story. :D Trouble is, compared to some of the sh*te over the years (Neil Lennon, Neil Lennon, and er , Neil Lennon) that was a good news day.

As for Maddog, although being a bit on the simple side, still has enough gumption not to come here for a cyber rumble. Wonder if Army Groupie might stay. I hear the sewer's back working so you might have to wait another 3 1/2 years till he once more emerges, as Tuff says, from an teach mor.:rolleyes:

27/08/2007, 2:46 PM
This is not an open and shut case. It is debated at length over on www.ourweecountry.co.uk and is up at 86 pages.

There are 2 relevant articles.

Article 15 of the FIFA Statutes is below. this would indicate that anybody born in NI is eligible to play for the RoI as they are entitled to an Irish passport and Irish nationality.

This was first produced in 2004 in reponse to Qatar doling out passports to Brazilians.

These were amended in 2006 but Article 15 hasn't changed significantly if at all.

Now in 2005 FIFA issued an annex clarifying the statutes. Page 29 Annex 2 lists the criteria for players whose nationality allows them to represent more than one association.

If you read the annex then Darron Gibson does not qualify nor do any NI born players with parents and grandparents born outside the RoI unless they have lived in the RoI for 2 years.

As I see it there are a number of arguments here

1) Darron Gibson can claim his nationality is Irish and only Irish despite being born in the UK it does not mean that you have to take British nationality just that you have a right to it.

2) There is an argument that Irish nationality qualifies you for NI as per Dermot Aherne's intervention on the passport issue. then DG is ineligible under the Annex

3) The Annex was issued in 2005 to clarify 2004 statutes. These were amended in 2006 but I'm not aware of a subsequent Annex so the current one probably doesn't apply (legal argument here).

Ultimately FIFA must rule. This has dragged on for well over 18 months. It is anything but clear cut.

It is highly political. I actually believe FIFA are trying to avoid a ruling.

Statute for eligibility :

VII. ELIGIBILITY TO PLAY FOR ASSOCIATION TEAMS
Article 15 Principle

Any person holding the nationality of a country is eligible to play for
the representative teams of the Association of that country. The
Executive Committee shall decide on the conditions of eligibility
for any Player who has not played international football in accordance with par. 2 below, and either acquires a new nationality or is
eligible to play for the teams of more than one Association due to
his nationality.

With the exception of the conditions specified in par. 3 and 4 below,
any Player who has already represented one Association in a match
(either in full or in part) in an official competition of any category or
any type of football may not play an international match for a representative team of another Association.

If a Player has more than one nationality, or if a Player acquires a new
nationality, or if a Player is eligible to play for several Associations’
teams due to nationality, he may, up to his 21st birthday, request
to change the Association for which he is eligible to play international matches to the Association of another country of which he
holds nationality, subject to the following conditions:

a) He has not played a match (either in full or in part) at “A” international level for his current Association, and if at the time of his
first full or partial appearance in an international match in an
official competition for his current Association, he already had
the nationality of the Association’s team for which he wishes to
play.
He is not permitted to play for his new Association in any competition in which he has already played for his previous Association. A player may exercise this right only once.

4 If a Player who has been fielded by his Association in an international match in accordance with par. 2 above permanently loses the
nationality of that country without his consent or against his will due
to a decision by a government authority, he may request permission to play for another Association whose nationality he already has
or has acquired.

Any Player who has the right to change Associations in accordance
with par. 3 and 4 above shall submit a written, substantiated request
to the FIFA general secretariat. The Players’ Status Committee shall
decide on the request. The procedure will be in accordance with the
Rules Governing the Procedures of the Players’ Status Committee
and the Dispute Resolution Chamber. Once the player has filed his
request, he is not eligible to play for any Association team until his
request has been processed.

ANNEX 2
ELIGIBILITY TO PLAY FOR ASSOCIATION TEAMS FOR PLAYERS WHOSE
NATIONALITY ENTITLES THEM TO REPRESENT MORE THAN ONE ASSOCIATION
Article 1 Conditions
1. A player who, under the terms of Art. 15 of the Regulations Governing
the Application of the FIFA Statutes, is eligible to represent more
than one Association on account of his nationality, may play in an
international match for one of these Associations only if, in addition to
having the relevant nationality, he fulfil s at least one of the following
conditions:
a) he was born on the territory of the relevant Association;
b ) his biological mother or biological father was born on the territory
of the relevant Association;
c) his grandmother or grandfather was born on the territory of the
relevant Association;
d) he has lived on the territory of the relevant Association for at least
two years without interruption.
2. Notwithstanding par. 1 of this article, Associations sharing a common
nationality may make an agreement under which item d) of par. 1 of
this article is deleted completely or amended to specify a longer time
limit. Such agreements must be lodged with and approved by FIFA.

27/08/2007, 3:10 PM
GSpain, the discussion has moved on
As has been repeated quite a few times in this thread since it was first mentioned, the famous Annex 2 applies to Naturalization issues only.
http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/federation/releases/newsid=92699.html
There is nothing furthur that FIFA have to add to their letter to the IFA in OCT 2006

lopez
27/08/2007, 4:11 PM
Naturalisation is a different matter than having the right to citizenship from birth. The former is open to abuse from many countries, not just Qatar. Britain with Zola Budd, Germany with numerous athletes with as much connection to the country as the children of gastarbeiter that were continually denied citizesnship. Ireland too, but that was with Cat food factory owners.

I would argue that NI are breaking the principles of the agreement against naturalisation by going to England and picking up players with no connection with NI - principally this is no different than Qatar.

...d) he has lived on the territory of the relevant Association for at least two years without interruption...

If they got a special dispensation in their favour, then we'll have one in ours for Gibson et al. That's what the eejits on ourweeminds.co.uk need to decide. They can't have their cake and eat it. Half decent professionals like Maik Taylor who make a difference, or someone who doesn't want to play for them and probably never will. Who's it to be? Because Taylor has never 'lived on the territory of the [IFA] for at least two years without interruption'. If FIFA decide against Gibson, I for one hope the FAI, and indeed lawyers acting for Gibson, do their utmost to have Taylor ruled ineligible too. It's the least the little spiteful f*ckers on ourweeminds deserve.

Either let's talk about proper citizenship law which is non-discriminatory (just as Darren Gibson is entitled to Irish citizenship at birth so too is the loyalist road sweeper from the Waterside), or talk 'footballing juristdiction' which means Maik Taylor's NI career should be ended because he is as clearly a mercenary as the Qatar Brazilians

Not Brazil
27/08/2007, 5:50 PM
Fu*k the north the scum fans . they are so narrow minded and are nothing but a pack of sad bigots....the fact that I couldnt join their fans forum is a joke...i even e-mailed the admin....no reply at all.
Also ,Picture the scene ...myself and my girlfriend driving back from a day trip to Newcastle , we drove through Annalong in a Louth Reg car, and we were stopped by the psni because of a orange march. You would want to see the looks of complete hate we were given...Nothing to do with football true but a good encounter of what the unionists are like. (Im a member of the church of Ireland to which is the funny thing)

Why would you want to join a Northern Ireland fans' site, with such deep hatred against them in your soul?:confused:

sylvo
27/08/2007, 10:00 PM
Forgot completely about that story. :D Trouble is, compared to some of the sh*te over the years (Neil Lennon, Neil Lennon, and er , Neil Lennon) that was a good news day.

As for Maddog, although being a bit on the simple side, still has enough gumption not to come here for a cyber rumble. Wonder if Army Groupie might stay. I hear the sewer's back working so you might have to wait another 3 1/2 years till he once more emerges, as Tuff says, from an teach mor.:rolleyes:

Maybe if Marty sticks around he would like to tell us why they use the term beggers and where they borrowed it from( not that I really give a **** anyway about what they say), and then after that tell us how they represent all the people including Darron Gibson, and are not really a shower of Bigots.

Its a shame he didn't bring Mad dog over with him, he was a good laugh.

28/08/2007, 7:51 AM
GSpain, the discussion has moved on
As has been repeated quite a few times in this thread since it was first mentioned, the famous Annex 2 applies to Naturalization issues only.
http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/federation/releases/newsid=92699.html
There is nothing furthur that FIFA have to add to their letter to the IFA in OCT 2006

Annex 2 refers to exactly what it claims to refer to

ANNEX 2

You are quoting a press release from 2004 which pre-dated the Annex.

However as I pointed out in my post it has not been updated subsequent to the FIFA statutes being updated in 2006. Despite there being no significant change to Article 15 there is a legal argument that the Annex only applies to the old statutes.

FIFA have not ruled on this issue. DG is entitled to play for us as per the letter however it is not a final ruling.

youngirish
28/08/2007, 9:25 AM
Why would you want to join a Northern Ireland fans' site, with such deep hatred against them in your soul?:confused:
The same could be said of a few of the NI fans posting on here in fairness.

Gspain as I said earlier if FIFA attempted to prevent Gibson from playing for the Republic I would chew my own legs off. It's not going to happen. The only possible success I can see the IFA getting from all this is that there may be some alteration to the rules to prevent NI born players in the future from declaring for the Republic. Even then I would think this is unlikely in the extreme.

28/08/2007, 11:06 AM
Annex 2 refers to exactly what it claims to refer to
ANNEX 2

You are quoting a press release from 2004 which pre-dated the Annex.

However as I pointed out in my post it has not been updated subsequent to the FIFA statutes being updated in 2006. Despite there being no significant change to Article 15 there is a legal argument that the Annex only applies to the old statutes.

FIFA have not ruled on this issue. DG is entitled to play for us as per the letter however it is not a final ruling.
Why do you think that FIFA need to rule on this? The Legal Dept. have already answered the IFA.
Keeping focussed on those lines and repeating them won't make them come true for you.
The reality is that FIFA formulated the annex2 as a guideline to arbitrate on how to deal with Naturalization issues. As is stated on the press release, the ANNEX is not for those who qualify under 15.3
The practice of FIFA players committee since then supports this 100%.
FIFA consistantly support players whoose citizenship is automatic with the application of article 15.3

You are quoting a press release from 2004 which pre-dated the Annex
Not so easily dismissed.
It is a press release about the FIFA congress where this annex was voted on. The direct quote about the Annex is on the minutes of the congress.
"any player who assumes a new nationality and for whom paragraph 3 of this article does not apply, or for any player who in principle would be eligible to play for the teams of more than one Association due to his nationality."
Hypothetically if there was a legal argument to the application of the Annex which FIFA have no doubt about, can you imagine FIFA doing more than clarifying the issue again.

The IFA have dug a negative PR hole for themselves on this issue.

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 11:27 AM
Ealing Green...maybe you can explain why I was turned down to join the board at ourweecountry. My username was sligo_boy....

Livehead1, are you a victim of identity theft or impersonation? Or has all that time living amongst the Brits caused you to re-evaluate your "Irishness" and decide to support the true "Ireland" football team? (You know, the one which has existed for 127 years...).

The only reason I ask is because you seem rather keen to join an NI fans' messageboard. Which is entirely fine by me, except that another poster on this Board, using the name "Livehead1" frequently used to berate me for posting on this Board, along the lines:

"Your posts are a waste of time. You are not a Republic of Ireland soccer fan, you come onto this forum, irritating people with your remarks about our national side. This is not your national side."

OR

In response to my comment: "Of course, I am not a fan of the ROI team", your reply was:
"Then WHY BOTHER YOUR AR*E!!!! I don't go on the French football forum and start posting messages. Its not just this topic, you seem more than willing to comment on any topic that is up for debate, and consistantly slate OUR national side"

OR

"go and post ya tripe on your own forums! all you do is constantly make disparaging comments about our team, im not on about this post in particular, im on about in general. why do you bother coming on here at all?"

Note: The above three excerpts were all taken from the thread entitled: "Dermot Ahern's comments on an All-Ireland side", which I as an NI fan am not supposed even to be allowed an opinion on, according to the likes of Livehead1 - whoever that may really be...
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=616147#post616147

livehead1
28/08/2007, 11:41 AM
Livehead1, are you a victim of identity theft or impersonation? Or has all that time living amongst the Brits caused you to re-evaluate your "Irishness" and decide to support the true "Ireland" football team? (You know, the one which has existed for 127 years...).

The only reason I ask is because you seem rather keen to join an NI fans' messageboard. Which is entirely fine by me, except that another poster on this Board, using the name "Livehead1" frequently used to berate me for posting on this Board, along the lines:

"Your posts are a waste of time. You are not a Republic of Ireland soccer fan, you come onto this forum, irritating people with your remarks about our national side. This is not your national side."

OR

In response to my comment: "Of course, I am not a fan of the ROI team", your reply was:
"Then WHY BOTHER YOUR AR*E!!!! I don't go on the French football forum and start posting messages. Its not just this topic, you seem more than willing to comment on any topic that is up for debate, and consistantly slate OUR national side"

OR

"go and post ya tripe on your own forums! all you do is constantly make disparaging comments about our team, im not on about this post in particular, im on about in general. why do you bother coming on here at all?"

Note: The above three excerpts were all taken from the thread entitled: "Dermot Ahern's comments on an All-Ireland side", which I as an NI fan am not supposed even to be allowed an opinion on, according to the likes of Livehead1 - whoever that may really be...
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=616147#post616147

EalingGreen,

I do not intend to create a post of such length that it bores anyone who reads it. However, there is a simple reason why I wish to register on the ourweecountry site.

There are some matters that have very recently become highly relevant to that of a ROI fan. This matter is related to the eligibility or not as many believe of one of our players, Darron Gibson. A fellow member of this board posted a comment inviting others to view a thread on the above mentioned site, commenting that it was of some interest. When I attempted to view this thread, I was met with a screen asking me to register, in order to view the information. Wanting to view the information I filled in the relevant information, yet I am not allowed on the forum. I hope this answers your long winded question.

livehead1
28/08/2007, 11:43 AM
Whilst i'm on the subject of your self-righteous nature, was it not "EalingGreen" who attempted to use my signature on this forum as evidence that I was a bigot?

28/08/2007, 11:52 AM
EG, simple question why is the username "sligo_boy" not allowed register?

as_i_say
28/08/2007, 12:28 PM
cos it doesnt have the words "wee", "1982" or "we're not brazil" in it.

brine3
28/08/2007, 12:34 PM
If Gibson has an Irish passport then he is allowed to play for the Republic of Ireland. Under the Good Friday Agreement the Irish and British governments recognised the right of people from Northern Ireland to choose Irish passports if they so desire.

I can't see FIFA getting involved with the Good Friday Agreement, to be honest.

28/08/2007, 1:43 PM
No doubt you are referring to me when you speak of the lick - spittles here. . ...the shortest answer to your exhaustive post is ...
-No I wasn't.

Oh mmmmercy. :D

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 1:46 PM
EG, simple question why is the username "sligo_boy" not allowed register?

I have absolutely no idea, since I am not a mod or anything on that site. I can't believe it is because it has "Sligo" in the title, since the Board has a number of posters who are clearly from the Republic. It also accepts names like "Celtic1967", one of our most loyal and appreciated members...

All Livehead has to do is pm "On The Kop" and he'll get an answer straight from the horse's mouth. Though it might sound like "Nay"....

(That was a joke, btw)

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 1:55 PM
EalingGreen,

I do not intend to create a post of such length that it bores anyone who reads it. However, there is a simple reason why I wish to register on the ourweecountry site.

There are some matters that have very recently become highly relevant to that of a ROI fan. This matter is related to the eligibility or not as many believe of one of our players, Darron Gibson. A fellow member of this board posted a comment inviting others to view a thread on the above mentioned site, commenting that it was of some interest. When I attempted to view this thread, I was met with a screen asking me to register, in order to view the information. Wanting to view the information I filled in the relevant information, yet I am not allowed on the forum. I hope this answers your long winded question.

It's quite simple, really. You have frequently berated me for posting on this Board, due to the fact that I am not an ROI fan.

Yet you, clearly not an NI fan, want to register on OWC.

Those are double standards, not mitigated by your professing only to want to post on matters of interest to an ROI fan, since 90%+ of my posts on this Board (and 100% of the "controversial" ones) are on topics which are equally of interest to fans of NI football. You know, Darron Gibson's eligibility for NI/ROI, Dermot Aherne's call for the abolition of the NI side, the Irish League section etc.

Anyhow, I understand you are studying law. Should you qualify to practice, please God don't ever let me be represented by you in a Court of Law - though I'd be more than happy to see you on the other side, if your "Lionel Hutz-type" advocacy skills on this Board are anything to go by! :rolleyes:

RogerMilla
28/08/2007, 1:57 PM
right i want to know about our rights as posters on OWC under the good friday agreement.

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 1:58 PM
Whilst i'm on the subject of your self-righteous nature, was it not "EalingGreen" who attempted to use my signature on this forum as evidence that I was a bigot?

I don't recall citing your signature as evidence for claiming you're a bigot and I can't be arsed checking back. So would you like to produce the evidence to back up this claim?

28/08/2007, 2:03 PM
Why do you think that FIFA need to rule on this? The Legal Dept. have already answered the IFA.
Keeping focussed on those lines and repeating them won't make them come true for you.
The reality is that FIFA formulated the annex2 as a guideline to arbitrate on how to deal with Naturalization issues. As is stated on the press release, the ANNEX is not for those who qualify under 15.3
The practice of FIFA players committee since then supports this 100%.
FIFA consistantly support players whoose citizenship is automatic with the application of article 15.3

Not so easily dismissed.
It is a press release about the FIFA congress where this annex was voted on. The direct quote about the Annex is on the minutes of the congress.
"any player who assumes a new nationality and for whom paragraph 3 of this article does not apply, or for any player who in principle would be eligible to play for the teams of more than one Association due to his nationality."
Hypothetically if there was a legal argument to the application of the Annex which FIFA have no doubt about, can you imagine FIFA doing more than clarifying the issue again.

The IFA have dug a negative PR hole for themselves on this issue.

I would like to see DG continue to represent us so it is not what I want here. I still see it as a very complex case which FIFA have not ruled on. they have allowed DG to play for us while a decision is being considered.

There is nothing in Article 15 of the Statutes that stops Qatar doling out passports to Brazilians which was the whole point of this.

The GFA agreement has nothing to do with this btw as NI born people were entitled to Irish passports all along.

My own belief is that the FAI case is based on nationality. DG has only one nationality eg Irish. The IFA need to argue that he is also British. This becomes a highly political argument.

I think FIFA are probably hoping there will be an agreement between the FAI and IFA which is allowed for under the rules. I can't see that happening though.

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 2:04 PM
right i want to know about our rights as posters on OWC under the good friday agreement.

Human rights, Roger, human...

EalingGreen
28/08/2007, 2:13 PM
My own belief is that the FAI case is based on nationality. DG has only one nationality eg Irish. The IFA need to argue that he is also British. This becomes a highly political argument.

I think FIFA are probably hoping there will be an agreement between the FAI and IFA which is allowed for under the rules. I can't see that happening though.

I agree, Gspain, although I think there may be an additional aspect to FIFA's consideration of the issue, namely, protecting the rights and jurisdiction of each of its Member Associations equally.

That is, as far as FIFA are concerned, the smallest Association has the same integrity and protections within its jurisdiction as the biggest. This is why, for example, FIFA has stood up to PR China over Taipei. The IFA may argue that its own territorial integrity is being compromised by a neighbouring Association, acting on the strength of a political stance adopted by its Government i.e. anyone born in NI is automatically Irish. And irrespective of the good relations between the two Governments (London and Dublin) over political and constitutional matters, FIFA has never tolerated politicians interfering in the independence and integrity of its Members when it comes to footballing matters.

RogerMilla
28/08/2007, 2:15 PM
Human rights, Roger, human...

speak for yourself EG :D