View Full Version : NI boss targets Republic's Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

cavan_fan
03/09/2007, 1:37 PM
Does anyone else think this has become like some religious debate about angels on pinheads. Having at one point been partially responsilbe for reviving it I can only apologise.

Having said that I see it's only 104 (now 103) posts off the Ian Harte thread's record, and it probably is adding as much value!

greendeiseboy
03/09/2007, 2:10 PM
Religion and politics should have no place in sport. It sickens me that in an island as small as ours that this is the way it appears to be. Whatever about normal banter and rivalry, which is what sport is all about, your religious and political outlook should never come into it.

Personally i couldn't give two f's what anyone's persuassion is and the narrowmindedness of some of these posts in this regard is worrying.

Will this island ever be fully be at peace......... i doubt it if we cant even except our differences on a footbal pitch

Noelys Guitar
03/09/2007, 2:15 PM
Religion and politics should have no place in sport. It sickens me that in an island as small as ours that this is the way it appears to be. Whatever about normal banter and rivalry, which is what sport is all about, your religious and political outlook should never come into it.

Personally i couldn't give two f's what anyone's persuassion is and the narrowmindedness of some of these posts in this regard is worrying.

Will this island ever be fully be at peace......... i doubt it if we cant even except our differences on a footbal pitch

I really hate reasonable poeple like you. There should be a law to ban cont on p98.

greendeiseboy
03/09/2007, 2:44 PM
just p**sed of with the sh*te on this thread........... come on uganda!!!!!!!!

cheifo
03/09/2007, 3:19 PM
I still think he should have went out on loan.:)

EalingGreen
03/09/2007, 7:16 PM
Maybe, just maybe, Darron's "I've only ever wanted to play for the Republic" credentials may not be quite what they seem, if this report in tonight's Belfast Telegraph is anything to go by:

United ace is backing Gibson in IFA row
Don't blame Darron, says Jonny
Monday, September 03, 2007
By Alex McGreevy

Darron Gibson's Manchester United team-mate Jonny Evans has backed his pal's decision to play for the Republic of Ireland instead of his native Northern Ireland.

Evans, who returns to Northern Ireland duty for the Euro 2008 qualifiers against Latvia and Iceland, believes the Irish FA failed to make Gibson feel part of their future plans after the defender opted to leave the schoolboy Victory Shield squad to take a trial at Old Trafford several years ago.

The IFA say, however, they have done everything to try and persuade Gibson to play for them and are continuing to do so.

The Belfast Telegraph revealed last week that Northern Ireland boss Nigel Worthington warned Republic manager Steve Staunton NOT to play Gibson in forthcoming Euro 2008 qualifiers against Slovakia or the Czech Republic in case they later lose points after FIFA give their verdict on the case.

Evans though says he understands Derry-born Gibson's decision and refutes previous claims his colleague switched countries for religious and political reasons.

Evans said: "I honestly believe Darron would be a Northern Ireland player today but for the IFA. I have spoken with him on many occasions about the issue and he always says it was Northern Ireland that left him with no choice.

"It's been written that Darron based his decision on religion and politics but that's rubbish. I know the guy and he's not like that. He just wants to play football at the highest level and the FAI made him feel welcome.

"Anyway, I think it's too far gone now for him to make a return. Hopefully, in the future, there will be less players switching from Northern Ireland."

Anyhow, if we have lost Gibson because the IFA screwed him around, then that is greatly to be regretted, and I wish him all the best in his future career (assuming he is eligible for the ROI).

However, if he turns out to be ineligible, I hope he can see fit to reconsider playing for NI, like Kane has done. It may be extremely unlikely, as Evans thinks, but my guess is he would receive a good reception from the great majority of fans if he did.

dr_peepee
03/09/2007, 8:16 PM
The FAI made him feel welcome...

He didn't feel welcome at the IFA...

He chose to play for the Republic...

The solution is apparently to remove the choice?:confused:

lopez
03/09/2007, 8:23 PM
Maybe, just maybe, Darron's "I've only ever wanted to play for the Republic" credentials may not be quite what they seem, if this report in tonight's Belfast Telegraph is anything to go by:
Believe everything you read in a paper, do we?

co. down green
03/09/2007, 9:54 PM
Believe everything you read in a paper, do we?

So true, with lines like - The IFA say, however, they have done everything to try and persuade Gibson to play for them and are continuing to do so

Eventhough a spokesman for the family, speaking to UTV in February 07 said that no one from the IFA had approached or contacted Gibson, his family, Manchester United or his representative in England in the last two years and wondered about the real motives regarding the IFA’s sudden interest in their son’s international career and why it was being done via the media.

I'm not sure how this 'hack' Alex McCreevy can claim it as his article when its simply a part-regurgitated story from yesterday's Sunday Times sports supplement.

Easy money:rolleyes:

Maroon 7
03/09/2007, 10:01 PM
Well a poster on OWC has worked it all out. Even though most of it is nonsense and doesn't seem to have much to do with football.

"I think you will find that the will of the people of Northern Ireland will never be for a united Ireland, or at least separation from the UK.

Northern Ireland has always enjoyed superior roads, healthcare, education, public services to our neighbours in the Republic. I live in Dublin, being from East Belfast, for purely mercenary reasons. I would never bring up a child here, I would hate to grow old here, I would hate to become ill here and I would hate to be down on my luck here.

Most educated Catholic people from Northern Ireland would choose to remain part of the UK due to the superior quality of life. And many who don't would regret it once they came to live in a Dublin controlled state. SDLP largely tend to dodge the United Ireland question but claim to work for a better life for nationalists within the Union.

I definitely support both football teams and I am glad that there are two teams. I loved cheering ROI in 2002. But I support Northern Ireland principally and if the two teams were to play together, my allegiance would be with NI 100%. I would probably watch with my friends from the Republic and have a good bit of banter. I am from a Catholic family and was educated at a Catholic school. My father played and sang on the record released by the Northern Ireland Showbiz Association for Mexico 86 ("Mexico here we go!") and the caretaker from our school sang on it. Both Catholic men. I am sure there were more.

I genuinely believe if you look at the Catholic population of Northern Ireland, or at least in Belfast, the divisions between those supporting NI and those supporting ROI are largely socio-economic and education driven. Having gone to a large Catholic grammar school, I'd say that the support was maybe 60:40 to NI. And those who were from less advantaged backgrounds, in the main, tended to support ROI.

A few different points on different tangents there. Some people may disagree but it is what is rolling around in my head."

Noelys Guitar
03/09/2007, 10:03 PM
Delaney must be delighted that compared to the IFA the FAI comes across as the Stephen Hawkings of the football world.

Noelys Guitar
03/09/2007, 10:14 PM
"I think you will find that the will of the people of Northern Ireland will never be for a united Ireland, or at least separation from the UK.

Northern Ireland has always enjoyed superior roads, healthcare, education, public services to our neighbours in the Republic. I live in Dublin, being from East Belfast, for purely mercenary reasons. I would never bring up a child here, I would hate to grow old here, I would hate to become ill here and I would hate to be down on my luck here.

Most educated Catholic people from Northern Ireland would choose to remain part of the UK due to the superior quality of life. And many who don't would regret it once they came to live in a Dublin controlled state. SDLP largely tend to dodge the United Ireland question but claim to work for a better life for nationalists within the Union.

I have only ever heard that view expressed would you believe from NI people . Lived in London for 10 years and worked with all types of people and they always expressed the opposite view that they liked various parts of the South, Eire etc (their words. Obviously just to please me) All the new immigrants are also deluded in prefering Crumlin to East Belfast. As for the millions of tourists should'nt they be warned that they are coming to the "wrong part" of our wee island and should instead be going to the wee, wee part of our wee island with the "good roads" and the "shiny hospitals". Christ we should all move up. And to think of all those years I wasted in London, Germany and Holland.

Maroon 7
04/09/2007, 1:36 AM

I have only ever heard that view expressed would you believe from NI people . Lived in London for 10 years and worked with all types of people and they always expressed the opposite view that they liked various parts of the South, Eire etc (their words. Obviously just to please me) All the new immigrants are also deluded in prefering Crumlin to East Belfast. As for the millions of tourists should'nt they be warned that they are coming to the "wrong part" of our wee island and should instead be going to the wee, wee part of our wee island with the "good roads" and the "shiny hospitals". Christ we should all move up. And to think of all those years I wasted in London, Germany and Holland.

Well to be fair the roads were much better up north for many years although the rest of the post is pure unadulterated pish of the highest order.:D

fhtb
04/09/2007, 8:58 AM
Made me laugh telling me to wipe the political mud from my eyes - I see all your 12 posts are on this topic - I hope you can contribute to other issues here, other than this "political item".

That's the point - this should never have been a political item. It is a purely footballing matter. Arguing over the semantics of the GFA, etc is exactly what FIFA will not be doing. FIFA abhor political interference in their members (Greece anyone?) and will actively move against it. Mr Ahern's recent comments will have the effect of bolstering the IFA's case in the same way.

Who are you - a team of the Republic or a team of Republicans?

youngirish
04/09/2007, 9:33 AM

Well to be fair the roads were much better up north for many years although the rest of the post is pure unadulterated pish of the highest order.:D
If this muppet on OWC thinks he's one of the educated then I hate to see what the people are like that he refers to as uneducated.

The UK has one of the lowest living standards in western Europe and considering NI is the sh*t end of the stick when it comes to the UK (the richest part with the best quality of life is the south-east) I'd say the Republic of Ireland with one of the highest standards of living in the world is possibly just a tad more pleasurable to live.

And combine all this with the added bonus that we don't have to tolerate the same amount of bigotry and ignorance that obviously prevails up there (a quick comparison of the standard of posts on foot.ie compared to the mindless goons who inhabit OWC can help to prove this statement).

Anyway don't take my word for it. Take the UN's instead.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_Human_Development_Index

What a plonker.

fhtb
04/09/2007, 9:44 AM
Nah mate we're better than you :rolleyes:

lopez
04/09/2007, 9:48 AM

Well to be fair the roads were much better up north for many years although the rest of the post is pure unadulterated pish of the highest order.:DYou should see the roads round my way in England. They are absolute pants. I nearly took off a wheel going over a massive pothole. Local rag is always full of complaints.

I also like the line about 'growing old'. Is that why West Cork is full of retired English men and women? Or that the driver with whom I got a taxi from Belfast City airport in 1994, despite slagging off re-unification, was retiring to Donegal for the (then?) free electricity.

I always thought you could guage a country's wealth by its per capita GDP. I thought after this educated person's analysis, Ireland would be down there with Haiti and Somalia. :eek: Oh look it isn't!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_%28nominal%29_per_capita

I thought the worst part of moving to Ireland was the weather, but even that seems to be changing for the better

http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0602/climate.html

youngirish
04/09/2007, 9:52 AM
I thought the worst part of moving to Ireland was the weather, but even that seems to be changing for the better

http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0602/climate.html
It's still better than the North's weather.

lopez
04/09/2007, 9:55 AM
... FIFA abhor political interference in their members (Greece anyone?) and will actively move against it...Of course they will. Look how they (and UEFA) stood up to the EU when they suggested clubs open their doors to all EU citizens (and those from outside that qualify for EU citizenship). They also stood up to the EU over 'Bosman'. :rolleyes:

FIFA might stop politicians and governments manipulating football associations for their own gain, but I think you've been smoking a bit too much moroccan Old Holborn if you think they are a law onto themselves.

fhtb
04/09/2007, 10:01 AM
Of course they will. Look how they (and UEFA) stood up to the EU when they suggested clubs open their doors to all EU citizens (and those from outside that qualify for EU citizenship). They also stood up to the EU over 'Bosman'. :rolleyes:

FIFA might stop politicians and governments manipulating football associations for their own gain, but I think you've been smoking a bit too much moroccan Old Holborn if you think they are a law onto themselves.

Omg. Club football (which is a business same as any other) being compared to international football (representative teams from the member FAs). There's only so many straws you can clutch at. Also never knew about the Great-Gran rule (ref one of your earlier posts) :p

What next, Gibson is allowed to play for the Republic because he did Irish dancing classes in his youth? ;)

lopez
04/09/2007, 10:17 AM
Omg. Club football (which is a business same as any other) being compared to international football (representative teams from the member FAs). There's only so many straws you can clutch at. Also never knew about the Great-Gran rule (ref one of your earlier posts) :p
No more stories about the neo-nazis at the Israeli match for us?:rolleyes:

Sorry ,but didn't you say that FIFA 'abhor political interference'. Apologies, but I must have been mistaken.

What next, Gibson is allowed to play for the Republic because he did Irish dancing classes in his youth? ;)He plays for Ireland because he's an Irish citizen. Is that a little too complicated for you?

fhtb
04/09/2007, 10:19 AM
I have no idea what your on about.

lopez
04/09/2007, 10:26 AM
I have no idea what your on about.

How's about this?

...I guess Gibson wouldn't have been troubled by the anti-semitic events seeing as he's not Jewish :rolleyes:...

fhtb
04/09/2007, 10:33 AM
Ok so my commenting on a political protest staged outside a Republic game is bringing politics into it? Riiiiight. Think you might have to go to the actual protesters themselves to sort that one out.

He plays for Ireland because he's an Irish citizen. Is that a little too complicated for you?

Show me where this is written in the FIFA regs.

lopez
04/09/2007, 10:54 AM
Ok so my commenting on a political protest staged outside a Republic game is bringing politics into it? Riiiiight. Think you might have to go to the actual protesters themselves to sort that one out.

Show me where this is written in the FIFA regs.I have a policy of never talking to children on the internet. Judging by your idiotic posts -exaggerated tales of neo nazis at Ireland games that fits in with your own narrow, pre pubescent political outlook; or sweeping statements about FIFA's own accomodation of government legislation, that you can't begin to back up - you're clearly a few years short of dropping your cojones so I'll leave you to play by yourself. Or if you are getting lonely, you can go back to the nursery better known as ourweeminds.

fhtb
04/09/2007, 10:59 AM
er, lol.

Noelys Guitar
04/09/2007, 11:08 AM
I have a policy of never talking to children on the internet. Judging by your idiotic posts -exaggerated tales of neo nazis at Ireland games that fits in with your own narrow, pre pubescent political outlook; or sweeping statements about FIFA's own accomodation of government legislation, that you can't begin to back up - you're clearly a few years short of dropping your cojones so I'll leave you to play by yourself. Or if you are getting lonely, you can go back to the nursery better known as ourweeminds.

You wee ****er. I saw the right hands raising on the south terrace. They showed it on UTV. Just after romper room. A wee fella with a small moustache and a six pack was leading the singing. If you play ole, ole ole backwards it sounds like Ver iz de fuhrer. You wee, wee, wee ****ers are all digging tunnels to get onto our "good roads" and into our "shiny hospitals".

fhtb
04/09/2007, 11:14 AM
You wee ****er. I saw the right hands raising on the south terrace. They showed it on UTV. Just after romper room. A wee fella with a small moustache and a six pack was leading the singing. If you play ole, ole ole backwards it sounds like Ver iz de fuhrer. You wee, wee, wee ****ers are all digging tunnels to get onto our "good roads" and into our "shiny hospitals".
deary me, no one bit so you feel the need to save face and jump in with a parody of a post that never happened. Says a lot about several posters on here. I notice the intelligent ones seem to have given up

bottom line: 3 rules. Gibson meets none of them. Enjoy your forum lads.

lopez
04/09/2007, 11:32 AM
...bottom line: 3 rules. Gibson meets none of them. Enjoy your forum lads.Before you go back to the creche, which one does Maik Taylor qualify under? :confused:

lopez
04/09/2007, 11:35 AM
... You wee, wee, wee ****ers are all digging tunnels to get onto our "good roads" and into our "shiny hospitals"....and steal our footballers. (Cue smily with child bawling his eyes out)

Maroon 7
04/09/2007, 12:48 PM
Nah mate we're better than you :rolleyes:

Sure you're from Donegal.

You are us.:D

lopez
04/09/2007, 1:16 PM
Sure you're from Donegal.

You are us.:D
Just proves if you are born in a stable, don't make you a horse. :D He can follow who he likes, IMO. I'd put money on his choice of Irish team being more of a political reason than just cos of the craic up at WP, although I find that the 'ourweeminds' brigade are a bit coy about any of this. Anyway, unlike players, he doesn't need any documentation to follow NI, and I say good luck aswell as good riddance.

What I find galling is that he wants to prevent those in the O6C to do the same and follow/play for the team that best represents his identity.

In fact he's gone a bit quiet about Maik Taylor - who represents NI without having qualified under the three terms listed. Perhaps fhtb's mum has told him to stop talking to weird men on the internet. I'd suggest his sudden retreat is that Taylor's presence in the NI team has shot a hole in his 3 rule argument, which he didn't think about when he decided to stop watching Tellytubbies and pop on here for a chat this morning.

EalingGreen
04/09/2007, 1:43 PM
Well a poster on OWC has worked it all out. Even though most of it is nonsense and doesn't seem to have much to do with football.

I definitely support both football teams and I am glad that there are two teams. I loved cheering ROI in 2002. But I support Northern Ireland principally and if the two teams were to play together, my allegiance would be with NI 100%. I would probably watch with my friends from the Republic and have a good bit of banter. I am from a Catholic family and was educated at a Catholic school. My father played and sang on the record released by the Northern Ireland Showbiz Association for Mexico 86 ("Mexico here we go!") and the caretaker from our school sang on it. Both Catholic men. I am sure there were more.

I genuinely believe if you look at the Catholic population of Northern Ireland, or at least in Belfast, the divisions between those supporting NI and those supporting ROI are largely socio-economic and education driven. Having gone to a large Catholic grammar school, I'd say that the support was maybe 60:40 to NI. And those who were from less advantaged backgrounds, in the main, tended to support ROI.

A few different points on different tangents there. Some people may disagree but it is what is rolling around in my head."

Are you hoping for an award for the "Most Irrelevant Post of the Year" or something? Or do you like winding yourself up? Or have you merely reached such an advanced stage of "Mopery Hiberniensis" that you couldn't forebear to post this?

None of the above has anything whatever to do with the question of Gibson, FIFA or international eligibility etc.

Rather, it serves merely to drag others entirely off topic, along an avenue which will see this thread closed. And where will you go then, to work out your anger and indignation? :eek:

lopez
04/09/2007, 1:51 PM
...None of the above has anything whatever to do with the question of Gibson, FIFA or international eligibility etc. ...No sh*te sherlock!

EalingGreen
04/09/2007, 1:54 PM
The FAI made him feel welcome...

He didn't feel welcome at the IFA...

He chose to play for the Republic...

The solution is apparently to remove the choice?:confused:

It's not that simple. Jamie Carragher felt he was being messed around by the FA (McLaren), so he refuses to play for England. Danny Collins of Sunderland is hacked off with Wales (Toshack) and v.v., so his international career looks at least suspended. And Roy Carroll appears to be acting the maggot with NI at the moment too.

Does this mean they should just be allowed to pick another country to play for? Or if it had happened before they had made a senior appearance, should they be allowed to pick another country to represent, even if they do not meet all of FIFA's eligibility criteria?

The fact is, if Gibson does not meet FIFA's criteria to represent another Association, then he should not be allowed to do so.

And if his "home" Association (the IFA) is treating players badly, then that need to be put right, for everyones sake.

EalingGreen
04/09/2007, 2:08 PM
The IFA say, however, they have done everything to try and persuade Gibson to play for them and are continuing to do so

Eventhough a spokesman for the family, speaking to UTV in February 07 said that no one from the IFA had approached or contacted Gibson, his family, Manchester United or his representative in England in the last two years and wondered about the real motives regarding the IFA’s sudden interest in their son’s international career and why it was being done via the media.

Leaving to one side the fact that February was seven months ago, and a new manager (Worthington) and a new IFA President (Kennedy) may be looking to resolve this situation with greater urgency than their predecessors, I would not be at all surprised if the IFA, having neglected/antagonised Gibson in the past, is now trying through the media to cover its ass.

But whilst that may account for Gibson's (understandable) refusal to countenance ever playing for NI again, it does not actually affect the question of his eligibility (or otherwise) for the ROI.

Nor does it affect the relevance or credibility* of the rest of the article, whereby the player's friend and teammate (Evans) stated his opinion that whatever Gibson's present allegiances and affiliations, he was not originally motivated by any great political ideals or leanings towards the ROI. Rather, Evans feels that Gibson's "default position" would have been to represent NI, and he would be doing so today, had the IFA not hacked him off.

* - From what I've heard, Evans is far too bright a bloke to risk his friendship with Gibson, by spouting off ill-informed or malicious nonsense in a newspaper at this time.

Maroon 7
04/09/2007, 2:23 PM
Leaving to one side the fact that February was seven months ago, and a new manager (Worthington) and a new IFA President (Kennedy) may be looking to resolve this situation with greater urgency than their predecessors, I would not be at all surprised if the IFA, having neglected/antagonised Gibson in the past, is now trying through the media to cover its ass.

But whilst that may account for Gibson's (understandable) refusal to countenance ever playing for NI again, it does not actually affect the question of his eligibility (or otherwise) for the ROI.

Nor does it affect the relevance or credibility* of the rest of the article, whereby the player's friend and teammate (Evans) stated his opinion that whatever Gibson's present allegiances and affiliations, he was not originally motivated by any great political ideals or leanings towards the ROI. Rather, Evans feels that Gibson's "default position" would have been to represent NI, and he would be doing so today, had the IFA not hacked him off.

* - From what I've heard, Evans is far too bright a bloke to risk his friendship with Gibson, by spouting off ill-informed or malicious nonsense in a newspaper at this time.

I'm baffled (well actually I'm not) as to why you're giving Evans' own views on the matter so much credence when the views of Gibson himself have been well established in the media. You have it straight from the horse's mouth so to speak even though you're choosing to disregard it and go with a version of events that suits you more even though it's coming from a third party.

A bit odd that.:D

EalingGreen
04/09/2007, 2:27 PM
In fact he's gone a bit quiet about Maik Taylor - who represents NI without having qualified under the three terms listed... ...I'd suggest his sudden retreat is that Taylor's presence in the NI team has shot a hole in his 3 rule argument,

In FIFA's Statutes and Regulations, they specify a clear exception to their rules and procedures on certain issues, as they apply to the four British Associations.

One of these is international player eligbility, whereby if a player has a British Passport, he may theoretically be eligible to play for any of the four countries. As to which he may represent, and what needs to be done in the event of a conflict between two or more Associations, that is left to the four Associations to agree between themselves.

From what I can gather, the last major revision of these "British arrangement" occurred in 1993:

"The national teams of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are, however, a special case because these four “home countries” are part of one national state, the United Kingdom. There is no such thing as English, Scottish, Welsh or Northern Irish citizenship.

The associations of these four countries entered an agreement regarding international eligibility in 1993 which provides that a player holding a British passport is eligible to play for the country of his birth, the country of the birth of either of his natural parents or the country of birth of any of his natural grandparents. If the player, his natural parents and his natural grandparents were born outside the U.K., he may play for the home country of his choice. Our understanding is that once a player has played for one of the home countries, even if it is only a friendly match, the 1993 agreement precludes him playing for another home country. The FIFA rule change for players under 21 must be followed in the U.K., however. Under U.K. law, a player (or anyone, for that matter) who was born abroad becomes eligible for a British passport after five years of lawful residence in the country, and he thus becomes eligible to play for one of the home countries provided he has not played for another national side in official competition"

Maik Taylor first played for NI in 1995, in accordance with the above arrangements, and with the approval of FIFA.

The Annex which introduced the four additional criteria (birthplace, parent, grandparent or residence) was not introduced by FIFA until 2006, and is not applied retrospectively.

Therefore, these criteria do not apply to Maik Taylor, nor does his case have any relevance whatever to that of Darron Gibson (who may or may not have to comply with the Annex)

Still, I suppose a bit of irrelevant footballing "whataboutery" is preferable to the irrelevant political "whataboutery" you normally come out with.

EalingGreen
04/09/2007, 2:35 PM
I'm baffled (well actually I'm not) as to why you're giving Evans' own views on the matter so much credence when the views of Gibson himself have been well established in the media. You have it straight from the horse's mouth so to speak even though you're choosing to disregard it and go with a version of events that suits you more even though it's coming from a third party.

A bit odd that.:D

Evans, who is in a good position to comment, is being quoted directly in this interview, whereas I have not seen so many direct quotations attributed to Gibson. Moreover, where Gibson himself has been quoted, it has mostly been straightforwardly factual i.e "I want to play for ROI", "I've no desire to play for NI" etc, which is fair enough.

However, I have not seen any interview with Gibson whereby he has gone at length into his reasons and motives for taking his stance, in the way which Evans does.

(And btw, I quoted the original article in its entirety, even though it both painted the IFA in a poor light, and repeated Evans's opinion that Gibson would now never play for NI. So your questioning of my motives perhaps say more about you than it does about me)

04/09/2007, 3:33 PM
Are you hoping for an award for the "Most Irrelevant Post of the Year" or something? Or do you like winding yourself up? Or have you merely reached such an advanced stage of "Mopery Hiberniensis" that you couldn't forebear to post this?

There was no 'mopery' evident, afai could see.

There is nothing to fear from Maroon7, you are a stand out for the top award for the quantity of posts that fall into the the most verbose, irrelevant and repetitive catagory. It's a landslide.

dr_peepee
04/09/2007, 4:01 PM
It's not that simple. Jamie Carragher felt he was being messed around by the FA (McLaren), so he refuses to play for England. Danny Collins of Sunderland is hacked off with Wales (Toshack) and v.v., so his international career looks at least suspended. And Roy Carroll appears to be acting the maggot with NI at the moment too.

Does this mean they should just be allowed to pick another country to play for? Or if it had happened before they had made a senior appearance, should they be allowed to pick another country to represent, even if they do not meet all of FIFA's eligibility criteria?

The fact is, if Gibson does not meet FIFA's criteria to represent another Association, then he should not be allowed to do so.

And if his "home" Association (the IFA) is treating players badly, then that need to be put right, for everyones sake.

It's as simple as acknowledging that unlike Carragher and Collins, Gibson HAS the right of choice of Nationality for reasons recounted many times over on this board and elsewhere.

Again you go back to alluding that the Northern Ireland situation will cause annarchy in FIFA's eligability criteria by citing hypothetical situations involving current players with other countries.

Northern Ireland is an exception. You've already admitted that in other posts. Let's stick to the case at hand.

The soul of your argument seems to be based around The fact is, if Gibson does not meet FIFA's criteria to represent another Association, then he should not be allowed to do so.

Do you not feel that for FIFA to force Gibson or any other player in the same situtation to represent Nothern Ireland, compromises somewhat his civil right of choice of Nationality?

By the same token, could you acknowledge that the IFA lobbying FIFA to ammend the criteria could be percieved by some people born in Northern Ireland as attempts by the IFA to compromise their right of choice of Nationality for their own gain?

Northern Ireland is an exceptional situation. The answer for me does not lie in dictating who people from NI should represent.

co. down green
04/09/2007, 6:12 PM

But whilst that may account for Gibson's (understandable) refusal to countenance ever playing for NI again, it does not actually affect the question of his eligibility (or otherwise) for the ROI..

eg

Leaving to one side the fact that February was seven months ago

Yeah it easy to leave things to the side when the reporter/IFA are telling lies.

I suggest if you are looking for some answers regarding Darron's commitment to his country you should contact Kenny Shiels, the north's u17 manager back in 2003-2004.

The last man to coach Darron Gibson in Northern Ireland colours feels the Derry teenager will not be the last to go south of the border.

Kenny Shiels was in charge of the under-17 side when the Manchester United defender decided that his international career lay with the Republic.

Shiels though knew that from a young age, Gibson had his heart set on playing for the Republic.

"He enjoyed his time with us but he always wanted to play for the Republic," he explained.

I see some over on 'Are We A Country' are also having a go at young Evans for daring to speak outside the box. How sad.

irishfan86
04/09/2007, 6:14 PM
I see some over on 'Are We A Country' are also having a go at young Evans for daring to speak outside the box.

:D:D:D

lopez
04/09/2007, 6:15 PM
...The Annex which introduced the four additional criteria (birthplace, parent, grandparent or residence) was not introduced by FIFA until 2006, and is not applied retrospectively...
Thanks for answering for fhtb. 'Ourweeminds' owe you a bucketfull of gratitude for your ability to answer difficult questions. :rolleyes:

Anyway, in answer, so too was Gibson's Irish international career (at youth level) initiated prior to this annex. So if Taylor's career has continued, so will Gibson's.

I'm interested in whether the IFA can still trawl England for players desperate enough to play for you on the technicality that they are British, yet have no connection with the O6C. If they still do, then it's still good old IFA double standards.

kingdomkerry
04/09/2007, 6:41 PM
IFA double standards.........Never!!!!!!

kingdomkerry
04/09/2007, 6:49 PM
All I want to say is . .. . TONY WHO?????

I couldn't care less. I've decided to avoid all threads that feature Ealing Green because he's sad, boring, monotonous and a one-topic poster. Yawn.

Not to mention WRONG!

TheJamaicanP.M.
04/09/2007, 6:50 PM
All I want to say is . .. . TONY WHO?????
I couldn't care less. I've decided to avoid all threads that feature Ealing Green because he's sad, boring, monotonous and a one-topic poster. Yawn.

I agree TP. Just reading this thread again. Ealing Green continues to post the same rhetoric. It became sad, boring and monotonous a long time ago.

TheJamaicanP.M.
04/09/2007, 6:59 PM
Jaysus Jamaican PM! Where have ya been? I've missed ya.

Thanks TP! I've been away for a while, but I'm back now and here to stay!:D

04/09/2007, 7:02 PM
I heard the voice of Wells in a radio interview this evening
What a pompous condescending prxk. What an accent, sounds like a Terence O'Neill.
He refused to admit that the IFA received a letter from FIFA legal dept in October 2006. He claimed that FIFA sent a letter to the FAI. in Oct 2006.
Tut tut, we know that for what it is.

He also repeated the assertation that FIFA have requested info from the FAI and the FAI have not replied.
The FAI couldn't be arsed to be interviewed, pity because Delaney would have chewed up Wells in 5 minutes flat.
The FAI stated off air, that FIFA have not corresponded with them over Darron Gibson or any other matter relating to player eligibility.
The FAI state that Darrons transfer was sanctioned by FIFA and they have not been told otherwise, (picture loud farts and belly aching guffaws in the FAI offices over the points deduction scare)
The FAI also say that the annex conditions do not apply to Irish nationals born in NI.
Wells has demonstrated his ability to repeatedly tell a big fib. It's amazing the number of gullibles he has managed to suck into his fantasy.

TheJamaicanP.M.
04/09/2007, 7:12 PM
Were ya in the "big house"? as Jim McDonald useta say???

I was nowhere near the "big house" and even if I had been, you should know that I would be living with the luxury of internet access, a plasma screen tv and Joe Duffy on the radio!

As for big Jim McDonald, I wonder would he have declared for Ireland or for the North. I shouldn't be giving Ealing Green ideas. Next thing he'll be calling on the IFA to call up Jim's son, Steve McDonald as a replacement for the injured Tony Capaldi.:D