View Full Version : NI boss targets Republic's Gibson

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

29/08/2007, 2:27 PM
I understand where he's coming from (up to a point).

But, the issue is about FIFA eligibility not the whims of a few border hoppers like me or him.

I might've asked you this over on OWC a good while back FHTB but ...does this mean that in the event you were good and able enough to play football professionally you'd happily resign yourself to playing for ROI? ...leaving your two year residency aside now as we can assume you wouldn't get called up if it was an IL side you were playing for?

fhtb
29/08/2007, 2:40 PM
I'm a realist. I accept there's a border - if FIFA's rules prevented me playing for OWC, so be it. But you'se would be getting a great asset mind, so i'd shut up about this whole thing if I were the FAI :cool:

29/08/2007, 4:29 PM
>>>Originally Posted by gspain
He is not allowed to change now. However if FIFA rule (they have not ruled on this) that he is ineligible then he would be allowed to declare for NI if he wanted to.>>>>>>>

On what specific rule or precedent are you basing this?

Basic natural justice. If FIFA rule he is not eligible to play for us he cannot be tied to us for International football. He would then be eligible for NI.

29/08/2007, 4:33 PM
I understand where he's coming from (up to a point).

But, the issue is about FIFA eligibility not the whims of a few border hoppers like me or him.
Nor fortunatly is it based on IFA perceptions of what FIFA statutes are about.
It is about FIFA statutes protecting the right of footballers in choosing the country that gives them automatic citizenship. Cast in stone.

29/08/2007, 4:37 PM
>>>Originally Posted by gspain
He is not allowed to change now. However if FIFA rule (they have not ruled on this) that he is ineligible then he would be allowed to declare for NI if he wanted to.>>>>>>>

Basic natural justice. If FIFA rule he is not eligible to play for us he cannot be tied to us for International football. He would then be eligible for NI.
Where did you dig that up from:)
I asked on what FIFA statute is that based on or is there a precedent that you can refer to.
I can hardly quote your idea of what natural justice is.

29/08/2007, 4:53 PM
I think what GSpain is saying is that if FIFA rule that he cannot play for the Republic of Ireland it therefore means that he should play for Northern Ireland and they cannot also rule that he cannot play for Northern IReland as he already played for the Republic of Ireland.

That is why they are not going to rule on it at all.

29/08/2007, 4:57 PM
Then residency rules okay, he can play for England :)

EalingGreen
29/08/2007, 4:59 PM
Where did you dig that up from:)
I asked on what FIFA statute is that based on or is there a precedent that you can refer to.
I can hardly quote your idea of what natural justice is.

Although Gspain's reasoning is valid enough (imo), it doesn't actually need "natural justice" to support it.

In this whole issue, the one single certainty which should not be overlooked is that Gibson was unquestionably eligible for NI.

Of course, if his switch to the ROI is confirmed by FIFA, then he is now tied in. However, if FIFA eventually determine that he should not have been told he was eligible for ROI, it is still open to the player to pursue an international career with NI (should he choose).

There was a precedent a wee while back whereby Brian McLean had represented Scotland, his country of birth, as a youth player. He then wanted to represent NI, his parents/grandparents(?) birthplace.

Due to a typical screw-up by the IFA, they omitted to register his switch during an amnesty period for over-21's. FIFA therefore determined he should not subsequently have been allowed to represent NI. He is still eligible for Scotland, however. (Though whether they will ever pick him is highly unlikely, as it happens)

29/08/2007, 5:01 PM
I don't know what part of this people do not get
a letter from Heinz Tannler, Director of FIFA's Legal Division, and Corina Luck, Head of their General Legal department stated 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'."
Sent to the IFA on OCT 2006.
in reference to the present situation of Irish citizens born in the North declaring for Ireland

This mythical waiting for a FIFA ruling,
its like they are all Waiting for Godot

EalingGreen
29/08/2007, 5:03 PM
Then residency rules okay, he can play for England :)

And he'll have no need to get a British Passport, either, just permission from Sir Alex.

So he's buggered on that one, as well...;)

EalingGreen
29/08/2007, 5:09 PM
a letter from Heinz Tannler, Director of FIFA's Legal Division, and Corina Luck, Head of their General Legal department stated 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'."
in reference to the present situation of Irish citizens born in the North declaring for Ireland

Are you implying that FIFA cannot/never make mistakes?

They originally told one Member Association the player was eligible for them.

Then another of their Member Associations disputed it.

So FIFA asked for further information from both whilst they look into it.

In the meantime, DG can go on representing ROI, unless or until FIFA overturns its original determination.

If they don't, it's "As you were, Darron".

But if they do, then he's only eligible for NI.

"I don't know what part of that people do not get..." ;)

EalingGreen
29/08/2007, 5:12 PM
That is why they are not going to rule on it at all.

Aye, until he plays a competitive match where the ROI takes a crucial point or
three from another team.

FIFA might not want to rule on this, but they can't not do so.

29/08/2007, 5:21 PM
Although Gspain's reasoning is valid enough (imo), it doesn't actually need "natural justice" to support it.

In this whole issue, the one single certainty which should not be overlooked is that Gibson was unquestionably eligible for NI.

Of course, if his switch to the ROI is confirmed by FIFA, then he is now tied in. However, if FIFA eventually determine that he should not have been told he was eligible for ROI, it is still open to the player to pursue an international career with NI (should he choose).

There was a precedent a wee while back whereby Brian McLean had represented Scotland, his country of birth, as a youth player. He then wanted to represent NI, his parents/grandparents(?) birthplace.

Due to a typical screw-up by the IFA, they omitted to register his switch during an amnesty period for over-21's. FIFA therefore determined he should not subsequently have been allowed to represent NI. He is still eligible for Scotland, however. (Though whether they will ever pick him is highly unlikely, as it happens)
The natural justice lark is a load of cobblers

So the IFA fecked up with Brian Mclean and tried to pull the wool over FIFA's legal eagles.
The FAI have not fecked up.
Darron's transfer has already been effected and stamped years ago by the players committee in the legal dept.
FIFA have stated he could play for Ireland according to all the rules in FIFA and according to all the other decisions they have made on players all around the world.

By what logic would a world sport assoc like FIFA suddenly decide it was wrong and declare all the decisions it has arbitrated on to be illegal.

In the hypothetical scenario of FIFA changing their minds, the future scenario for that is that FIFA vote on a load of new statutes in which a similar Darron Gibson case could not transfer to Ireland from this day henceforth. But all cases it has arbitrated on and approved on before that day would still stand.

29/08/2007, 5:25 PM
So FIFA asked for further information from both whilst they look into it.
Where exactly is the source for this bit of news.

Maroon 7
29/08/2007, 6:00 PM

I have to agree. I don't think there will be any FIFA ruling whatsoever apart from maybe a "quit bellyaching and sort it out amongst yourselves" type fob off.

Someone said that they've been waiting 18 months for a FIFA ruling. 18 months? Murder trials don't take that long to be ajudicated on let alone footballing decisions.

Ordinary Fan
29/08/2007, 11:06 PM
No matter what happens, Gibson will never play for NI. This is trying to muddy the water about future Darron Gibsons

macdermesser
30/08/2007, 9:59 AM
apparently going to Sunderland on loan .. would be a good move for him

lopez
30/08/2007, 10:21 AM
You are quite correct that Maik Taylor would still qualify, since the specific Exemption to which you refer in FIFA's Regs is still in place. However, you greatly overstate the actual availability of naturalised Britons who would both play for NI and whom we would also have.
You could also say that the number of players from the six counties to have opted for/been good enough for Ireland (or ROI for your benefit) has also been overstated. Up until the beginning of half time last wednesday this exclusive club had stood at the grand number of zero since the late fourties.

The vast majority live in Great Britain, so would inevitably opt first for England, Scotland or Wales who between them offer a wide range of standards. Which explains why in the last 30 years, there have been only two that I can think of whom NI have picked that way, (both keepers, as it happens).
I thought it was more - someone has also listed two other players here, no? I didn't think it was more than four, but two is still two more players that we've had from the 6C, so it seems to me far more important a pool of players to you, than 6C born players are to us. Apart from Wales, I don't think it is used much (even John Barnes - or any player living in England doesn't compare with Taylor which is the same as the Qatar Brazilians).

...Indeed, both Sanchez and the IFA publicly took a hard line on not picking players with some NI connection when the subject was raised a couple of years back.
Ironic that Sanchez was the player that Bingham publicly named for his reason for not picking too many 'granny' rule lads.

Anyhow, whilst interesting in its own right, this deviation towards discussing the cases of Taylor and Woods has no real relevance to the Gibson case, since both are specifically covered by a FIFA exemption in a way which Gibson is not (whether he is eligible for the ROI by another means or otherwise)
Typical, if you don't like the post, claim it has nothing to do with the subject. B*llocks. It has everything to do with it. The IFA are using an exemption to the FIFA rules to grant international caps. The FAI are doing likewise, and as has been shown, both are acceptable. Anyway, what has the split between the FAI and the IFA got to do with Darren Gibson?

...Further, all the Northern players who have been selected, plus those who have been approached but declined, are from the Nationalist community, so that the NI team risks being turned into a de facto Unionist-only team, through no fault of its own and completely contrary to its wishes...The NI team is already a de facto unionist team. This happened the day that the IFA flew the Union rag over Windsor Park, it started the day that the IFA allowed scarfe sellers to walk around the ground selling scarves featuring the Orange Order or 'SAS 3 - IRA 0'; it happened the day that the NI supporters booed players for their religion/political views/Scottish team he played for; it started the day your captain curtailed his international career because of a death threat. Darren Gibson grew up when all of this was happening. The awakening of his football interest happened during this time.

Now I for one know that the atmopsphere at WP has improved. Perhaps you can change the few players born in NI who want to play for their country making the switch from the south to the north within the next twenty years. That will start the day that the IFA recognise that they operate in a unique society where nearly half the country view the whole island as one country unjustly divided. Then we can get back to the situation that Darren Gibson playing for a team representing the 26C is as ridiculous as Darren Gibson playing Gaelic football for Kerry and not Derry. What the IFA are doing at the moment is a total PR disaster for the NI team's plurality, let alone the damage that some of the brats on ourweeminds are doing to this dream.

livehead1
30/08/2007, 10:31 AM
Lopez, the man/boy is a muppet, don't waste your time posting replies to such dribble!! Gibson, plays for us, as does Kane etc etc.... Basically they want players who WANT to play for us, banned from playing for us and forced to play for the North!! I feel sorry for them; in fact its more pity.

30/08/2007, 11:22 AM
The NI team is already a de facto unionist team. This happened the day that the IFA flew the Union rag over Windsor Park, it started the day that the IFA allowed scarfe sellers to walk around the ground selling scarves featuring the Orange Order or 'SAS 3 - IRA 0'; it happened the day that the NI supporters booed players for their religion/political views/Scottish team he played for; it started the day your captain curtailed his international career because of a death threat. Shrill argument Lopez. I'll give you that the support base of the NI team is likely to be predominantly unionist (not that I'm inclined to care) but the team itself, under a string of managers, has had a fairly even cross-community blend to it. Where are the scarf sellers now? Where are the billy boys who'd boo their own players? They're gone because the bulk of the NI supporters shouted them down and took their team back. As for their flag? Well they don't have an official flag of their own and if they did I suspect you'd find fault with it anyway. Though I'm glad you give some credit where it's due when you say...

Now I for one know that the atmopsphere at WP has improved.

...though it is something of an understatement. What they've managed to achieve with the atmosphere up there is feckin remarkable by any standard. The supporters are an absolute credit to the team and the association.

livehead1
30/08/2007, 11:31 AM
Shrill argument Lopez. I'll give you that the support base of the NI team is likely to be predominantly unionist (not that I'm inclined to care) but the team itself, under a string of managers, has had a fairly even cross-community blend to it. Where are the scarf sellers now? Where are the billy boys who'd boo their own players? They're gone because the bulk of the NI supporters shouted them down and took their team back. As for their flag? Well they don't have an official flag of their own and if they did I suspect you'd find fault with it anyway. Though I'm glad you give some credit where it's due when you say...

Lets wait on this one untill the next time a Celtic player pulls on a N.I jersey, I wouldn't be 100%, although I do believe major progress has been made.

30/08/2007, 11:57 AM
of if a rangers player pulll on a Republic of Ireland jersey or plays for denmark and the LR announcer also says he plays for Rangers.

30/08/2007, 12:10 PM
In a nut shell.
The IFA appeal (after refusing to accept the FIFA ruling in OCT 2006) is based solely on a FIFA article (the Annex) which is used to arbitrate for naturalization issues. FIFA have already determined in Oct 2006 that that ANNEX does not apply to NI born Irish citizens.
If Paddy Power ran a book on the IFA's chances - greater than Elvis turning up at Windsor Park.

It is the undisputed constitutional right of anybody born in NI to be Irish.
It is disturbing that there is evidence of an engrained cynical ignorance in the IFA and their fans of what it is to be Irish, particularily with those who have declared for Ireland.

livehead1
30/08/2007, 12:57 PM
of if a rangers player pulll on a Republic of Ireland jersey or plays for denmark and the LR announcer also says he plays for Rangers.

Jesus, take things so literally! You must surely realise i'm not simply on about the physical putting on of the shirt; its everything that comes with it, i.e. the abuse he suffered at the hands of his own fans.

Your point simply isn't valid, if an Ireland international played for Rangers he wouldn't get anywhere near the same amount of abuse, in fact I believe he would get practically none.

EalingGreen
30/08/2007, 2:26 PM
So the IFA fecked up with Brian Mclean and tried to pull the wool over FIFA's legal eagles.
The FAI have not fecked up.
Darron's transfer has already been effected and stamped years ago by the players committee in the legal dept.
FIFA have stated he could play for Ireland according to all the rules in FIFA and according to all the other decisions they have made on players all around the world.

By what logic would a world sport assoc like FIFA suddenly decide it was wrong and declare all the decisions it has arbitrated on to be illegal.

In the hypothetical scenario of FIFA changing their minds, the future scenario for that is that FIFA vote on a load of new statutes in which a similar Darron Gibson case could not transfer to Ireland from this day henceforth. But all cases it has arbitrated on and approved on before that day would still stand.

The IFA did not "try to pull the wool over FIFA's eyes" - they were quite open about their own mistake. However, I cited McClean merely as an example of what happens when a player is told he is ineligible, through no fault of his own, for a given Association for which he might otherwise have been eligible: i.e. he may no longer play for that Association, but can still represent his original Association.

As for FIFA and Gibson, are you saying that FIFA can never misinterpret or misapply their own Rules and Regulations, or make an incorrect interpretation or application on the basis of incorrect or inadequate information?
That's nonsense - otherwise they would never feel the need to accept appeals against any of their Rulings i.e. in this case, all it would have taken was a one sentence reply to the IFA, effectively stating: "We're right, you're wrong, case closed" :rolleyes:

As for the sentence I've emboldened, it is even greater nonsense to conclude that were FIFA to accept the IFA's appeal over Gibson, this would mean it was effectively declaring all of its arbitrations to be "illegal" :eek:

And in the event of FIFA finally deciding that they should not originally have declared Gibson to have been eligible for the ROI, this will be because he (actually the FAI) has not demonstrated successfully that he satisfies the current FIFA criteria (presumably the Brazilian/Qatari Annex re birthplace/parent/grandparent/residency).

This would then leave FIFA with a choice. If they consider as a matter of policy that players in his position should not be entitled to represent the ROI, then they will say so, DG's ROI career will be over and he will only be eligible to play for NI (should he choose to).

On the other hand, if they feel that the Brazilian/Qatari Annex which they introduced was not originally designed to cover the somewhat unusual (unique?) circumstances of Irish Nationality, then I imagine they will either amend the Annex or insert a specific Exemption for ROI players.
In which case, they may say to Gibson: "Sorry, but I'm afraid you've been unlucky with your timing", or they may say that "You should be barred, but since there was no fault on your part, we will declare an amnesty which would allow you to continue representing ROI".

livehead1
30/08/2007, 3:05 PM
On the other hand, if they feel that the Brazilian/Qatari Annex which they introduced was not originally designed to cover the somewhat unusual (unique?) circumstances of Irish Nationality, then I imagine they will either amend the Annex or insert a specific Exemption for ROI players.
In which case, they may say to Gibson: "Sorry, but I'm afraid you've been unlucky with your timing", or they may say that "You should be barred, but since there was no fault on your part, we will declare an amnesty which would allow you to continue representing ROI".

EU Legislations is full of little bits annexed onto the end of them with regard to Irish nationality and loads of different things related to the situation in Ireland. For instance, positive discrimination re: catholics teachers in schools and catholics in psni etc. I would imagine legally, if the outcome of FIFA in the brazil/qatari case is to say go away son you can't play for qatar just because you weren't good enough for brazil/they offered you a load of cash, then the are going to say you are either resident, born, parents or grandparents born in the country you want to play for. That would do FIFA to stop that problem. Then, FIFA will also look at the issue which i'm sure they will already be well aware of and come out with what is almost a get-out clause for the fai and fifa themselves and annex onto the end of this rule something along the lines of "due to the complex political climate in Northern Ireland and under the provisions in *GFA LEG.* (Enter here) which entitle and person born on the Island of Ireland to gain citizenship and therefore a passport of Ireland, they shall be entitled to represent either Rep. Ireland or Northern Ireland.

Obviously far more elequently than I have put it in the 2 mins i spent on it but im sure you get the gist...I think that is what is likely to happen.

30/08/2007, 3:07 PM
Ealing G your "In which case"
is based on drivel with no relevance to legal procedure nor relevance to reality.
There are at least hundreds of cases very similar to Darron Gibson all over the world. There are numerous Federations with very similar situations to Ireland. All similar cases to Darrons have been determined legal by FIFA Legal Dept. down through the years to this present day.

co. down green
30/08/2007, 3:09 PM
As for FIFA and Gibson, are you saying that FIFA can never misinterpret or misapply their own Rules and Regulations, or make an incorrect interpretation or application on the basis of incorrect or inadequate information?

eg

FIFA endorsed Alex Bruce's right to represent Ireland in Jan 06, the IFA queried the decision and were told 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'.". The IFA then queried the rights of Gibson, Kane etc.. and were told in an official response in October of that year 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'."

FIFA did not misinterpret or misapply their own Rules and Regulations or make an incorrect interpretation. They gave the same answer in both cases.

Not Brazil
30/08/2007, 3:13 PM
I see Tony Kane has had a "re-think" after his brief spell with the Republic Under 21's.

Back in the fold.:cool:

Not Brazil
30/08/2007, 3:15 PM
'As opposed to the vile anti semetic and and Nazi celebrations that went on the last time ROI played Israel in Dublin.

Shame on you.'

Not only are we beggers - we're Nazis!:D

Ahem - being a new member, you'll not be familiar with the events that day being discussed on - err - here!

Not Brazil
30/08/2007, 3:19 PM
Lets wait on this one untill the next time a Celtic player pulls on a N.I jersey, I wouldn't be 100%, although I do believe major progress has been made.

A Celtic player has played for Northern Ireland Under 21's this year, without any problems whatsoever.

EalingGreen
30/08/2007, 3:26 PM
Where exactly is the source for this bit of news [i.e. that FIFA currently require more information from the FAI on Gibson's case].

On 19 August 2007, the Sunday Life published an article on Gibson's eligibility, which included the following quotation from Howard Wells (IFA Chief Exec):

Wells says: "I've written as recently as last week to FIFA again, asking them to clarify the situation regarding the player's eligibility.

"They haven't responded but I know that the ball is in the court of the FAI.

"FIFA have written to the FA of Ireland and they haven't had a response.

"When I wrote to FIFA, I obviously made it clear that we need clarification on the whole principle of the situation."

When contacted by Sunday Life for their response to the IFA claims, an FAI spokesman e-mailed us back the reply: "As this matter is the subject of ongoing correspondence the Football Association of Ireland will not be making any public comment at this time."

http://www.sundaylife.co.uk/sport/article2876658.ece

I guess it is just possible that Wells is making it all up...

30/08/2007, 3:31 PM

eg

FIFA endorsed Alex Bruce's right to represent Ireland in Jan 06, the IFA queried the decision and were told 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'.". The IFA then queried the rights of Gibson, Kane etc.. and were told in an official response in October of that year 'the existing situation in Northern Ireland allows players to choose whether they wish to represent Northern Ireland or the Republic of Ireland'."

FIFA did not misinterpret or misapply their own Rules and Regulations or make an incorrect interpretation. They gave the same answer in both cases.

Jees, can ye imagine the poor SDLP, SF, Downing Street, Westminster, and the Irish government had in getting things through up there, especially for the GFA. Ah well im sure sainthood will be bestowed upon them in time ;) :D

greendeiseboy
30/08/2007, 3:32 PM
I see Tony Kane has had a "re-think" after his brief spell with the Republic Under 21's.

Back in the fold.:cool:

Where did you get this from?

youngirish
30/08/2007, 3:33 PM
Ha ha just finished reading our sister thread on the ourweecountry.com board. Hands up lads who really is kingdomkerry? I reckon its bwagner. He's cracking me up with his ill-informed, thinly veiled, bigoted posts.

OWC get kingdomkerry an unintentional comedic genius, we get EalingGreen. Not fair is it?

P.S. Some members want to ban him because he doesn't agree with them. What's that all about? Aren't forums about opinions, no matter how different or bizarre (anyway I thought most regulars on OWC should be used to reading bizarre, ill-informed muck anyway)?

shaneker
30/08/2007, 3:36 PM
Ahem - being a new member, you'll not be familiar with the events that day being discussed on - err - here!

Ooohhh...embaressing!

What did I miss? Can't see anything relating to that on the previous few pages.

Not Brazil
30/08/2007, 3:37 PM
Where did you get this from?

Today's Belfast Telegraph.;)

Welcome home Tony.:cool:

Not Brazil
30/08/2007, 3:40 PM
Ooohhh...embaressing!

What did I miss? Can't see anything relating to that on the previous few pages.

I believe the thread was entitled something like "Today, I'm ashamed to be Irish".

It was started in the immediate aftermath of the Republic Of Ireland v Israel game in Dublin.

Not Brazil
30/08/2007, 3:44 PM
P.S. Many want to ban him because he doesn't agree with them.

"Many"?:confused:

Two posters = "many"? :confused:

Because "he doesn't agree with them"? :confused:

youngirish
30/08/2007, 3:51 PM
"Many"?:confused:

Two posters = "many"? :confused:

Because "he doesn't agree with them"? :confused:

Yeah because two people wanting to ban you after a handful of posts is ok? Why are you confused? He doesn't have the same views as the majority so they want to ban him. Pretty simple really.

Not Brazil
30/08/2007, 3:58 PM
Yeah because two people wanting to ban you after a handful of posts is ok? Why are you confused he doesn't have the same views as the majority so they want to ban him. Pretty simple really.

Maybe the two posters (not "many", as you claimed) wanted him/her banned because of lies and advocating division along religiously sectarian lines?

Just a thought like.

Barna Bee
30/08/2007, 4:01 PM
Today's Belfast Telegraph.;)

Welcome home Tony.:cool:

Funny how this is news today in the Belfast Telegraph ....just after he was excluded from the Ireland squad .....must not be good enough ....you can have him back

shaneker
30/08/2007, 4:02 PM
I believe the thread was entitled something like "Today, I'm ashamed to be Irish".

It was started in the immediate aftermath of the Republic Of Ireland v Israel game in Dublin.

You're joking!! Thats a ****ing disgrace, living in England I didn't hear a word about it.

Sorry I brought it up now. Think I'll delete that post.

livehead1
30/08/2007, 4:02 PM
A Celtic player has played for Northern Ireland Under 21's this year, without any problems whatsoever.

thats good but far fewer people watch u21..maybe 200? and he wouldnt be known to anyone as a celtic player...wait till he starts scoring goals against rangers!

livehead1
30/08/2007, 4:04 PM
I've seen Kane play, he is shi*e, well and truly, he's worse than that Joe O'ceerereraaoul

EalingGreen
30/08/2007, 4:05 PM
You could also say that the number of players from the six counties to have opted for/been good enough for Ireland (or ROI for your benefit) has also been overstated. Up until the beginning of half time last wednesday this exclusive club had stood at the grand number of zero since the late fourties.

I thought it was more - someone has also listed two other players here, no? I didn't think it was more than four, but two is still two more players that we've had from the 6C, so it seems to me far more important a pool of players to you, than 6C born players are to us.

Typical, if you don't like the post, claim it has nothing to do with the subject. B*llocks. It has everything to do with it. The IFA are using an exemption to the FIFA rules to grant international caps. The FAI are doing likewise, and as has been shown, both are acceptable. Anyway, what has the split between the FAI and the IFA got to do with Darren Gibson?

The NI team is already a de facto unionist team. This happened the day that the IFA flew the Union rag over Windsor Park, it started the day that the IFA allowed scarfe sellers to walk around the ground selling scarves featuring the Orange Order or 'SAS 3 - IRA 0'; it happened the day that the NI supporters booed players for their religion/political views/Scottish team he played for; it started the day your captain curtailed his international career because of a death threat. Darren Gibson grew up when all of this was happening. The awakening of his football interest happened during this time.

Now I for one know that the atmopsphere at WP has improved. Perhaps you can change the few players born in NI who want to play for their country making the switch from the south to the north within the next twenty years. That will start the day that the IFA recognise that they operate in a unique society where nearly half the country view the whole island as one country unjustly divided. Then we can get back to the situation that Darren Gibson playing for a team representing the 26C is as ridiculous as Darren Gibson playing Gaelic football for Kerry and not Derry. What the IFA are doing at the moment is a total PR disaster for the NI team's plurality, let alone the damage that some of the brats on ourweeminds are doing to this dream.

Your first paragraph is pure cobblers on two counts. First, do you honestly imagine that the likes of Danny Blanchflower, Peter McParland, Jimmy McIlroy, Pat Jennings, George Best, Norman Whiteside etc would not have been "good enough" to play for ROI? Second, there were no NI-born senior internationals representing the ROI from the late 40's until Gibson, because the FAI adhered to the Gentlemens' Agreement brokered by FIFA in 1950 that the FAI would not pick IFA players (and v.v.). When Brian Kerr became ROI manager, the FAI ceased to "behave like Gentlemen". Since then, Gibson was the only one who was good enough, was prepared to switch and who was not already tied in with NI.

Re. your 2nd paragraph, I only know of two players, one of whom (Channel Islander Woods) would have been denied any chance of an International footballing career with anyone, had NI not given him the option. And two is not "two more than" the NI-born players you've been able to pick, it's one more. Is the mathematics too difficult for you, or do you now accept that perhaps Gibson might not be eligible for you?

Your third paragraph is similarly cobblers. The four British Associations are given a clear exemption (separate status) from the Regs governing all other Associations regarding certain issues, including player eligibility. It's there in black and white.
Whereas, there is nowhere any explicit exemption from any of the Regs for ROI players, or the FAI. On the contrary, the FAI are relying on an interpretation of the existing Regs on player eligibility which apply to all other Associations, backed up by FIFA's October Letter. (And the IFA is challenging that interpretation and letter)

As for your fourth paragraph: yet more cobblers. The IFA does not fly the Union Flag over Windsor at internationals. The IFA does not allow such scarves (or anything remotely similar) to be sold at NI internationals. No NI player has been booed for his religion/politics/club for years. The IFA is in no way responsible for an anonymous death threat phoned, without a recognised codeword, to a newspaper. Instead, they publicly deplored it. And earlier this year, the player concerned (Lennon) sent a video of support to the IFA for its Football For All campaign (he was unable to attend the FFA function in question, due to club commitments). And your ludicrous and offensive allegation that the NI team is "de facto Unionist" would come as a great surprise to a number of its players who come from a clearly Nationalist background, not least our newest captain, Chris Baird, a former Rasharkin GAA player (plus his family members who were in the crowd). Of course, I can't say exactly who/how many these number, since no-one is interested enough to keep a record. But I daresay we could get an idea by the number who choose only to carry Irish Passports, following the IFA recently lobbying FIFA successfully for their players to have the right to do so in preference to British ones.

And as for your last paragraph, it started off very promisingly, then reverted to cobblers from the second sentence.

P.S. It has just occurred to me that Irish readers may not be familiar with the term "cobblers", since it is Cockney rhyming slang (cobblers awls = balls). My use of the term must come from my having lived in England all this time...;)

30/08/2007, 4:10 PM
http://www.sundaylife.co.uk/sport/article2876658.ece

I guess it is just possible that Wells is making it all up...
That's the article, thanks.I remembered it for the low standard public posturing by Wells not to mention the journo, swept away on a tide of Wells hot air,writing that Darron could be available to be called up to the NI squad at the end of August.

youngirish
30/08/2007, 4:12 PM
Maybe the two posters (not "many", as you claimed) wanted him/her banned because of lies and advocating division along religiously sectarian lines?

Just a thought like.

Ha ha. The cry of the authoritarian throughout the ages. Why gag him? He's hardly covered himself with much credibility has he? Who's going to take much notice of him and his insane ramblings?

Then again it is NI where Ian Paisley is First Minister so who knows?

30/08/2007, 4:13 PM
EG, are you a politician? Because you have a great way of deflecting a question and disecting someone elses posts with complete irrelevance to what they were talking about. Plus the time it takes you to reply you obviouslly spend so much time preparing and reading over your post that you know you are talking complete Niagara or Davina*.

*oh wait have I got that right, ah it must be to do with having spent time here in England. For those of you unaware Falls and McCalls are ryhme for Balls.

EalingGreen
30/08/2007, 4:16 PM
Ha ha just finished reading our sister thread on the ourweecountry.com board. Hands up lads who really is kingdomkerry? I reckon its bwagner. He's cracking me up with his ill-informed, thinly veiled, bigoted posts.

OWC get kingdomkerry an unintentional comedic genius, we get EalingGreen. Not fair is it?

P.S. Some members want to ban him because he doesn't agree with them. What's that all about? Aren't forums about opinions, no matter how different or bizarre (anyway I thought most regulars on OWC should be used to reading bizarre, ill-informed muck anyway)?

Not so. One member suggested banning him, everyone else who responded said he should be retained - for comedy value, if nothing else!

Btw, was it you asked for me to be banned a wee while back? Might have been Eireboy (or somebody else). Sorry to be so vague, but "youssuns is all the same" to me and I can't be arsed to look it up...