View Full Version : Kevin Doyle

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27

23/08/2011, 11:16 AM
I'd still be very surprised if Doyle moves anywhere. He's so important to Wolves that Mick would only consider offers in the 15-20 million range but I can't see any club paying that unless he starts banging in 20 goals a season.

28/09/2011, 11:39 AM
Doyle signs new four year deal at Wolves: http://www.wolves.co.uk/page/News/0,,10307~2465399,00.html
Short interview with Doyle after signing: http://www.wolves.co.uk/page/News/0,,10307~2465089,00.html

Manblue
11/10/2011, 8:01 PM
What is doyles problem seriously. He has been consistently poor for Ireland for a the last couple of games. I know ihve made it clear before i dont rate him so im not even going to bother getting into his technical ability but everyone here was quick to ram down my throat the last time i criticised him that he has a brilliant workrate etc. Well quite frankly he doesnt anymore. He was second to every ball tonight. didnt compete properly for any header. Flapped his arms about like a sulking child everytime he was dispossed. Both cox and walters looked hungry and ready which is alot more than i can say for him. Not that i can say im happy seeing any player suspended but i do feel we have adequate if not better cover.

11/10/2011, 8:14 PM
I thought he won a lot of headers for us in the first half. His effectiveness faded later though, and I was surprised to see him playing so aggressively on a yellow though, and his sending off was disappointing for a number of reasons.

11/10/2011, 8:20 PM
Both were yellows, no question. Made a mess of his big chance. Walters & Cox both looked adequate cover for our main two strikers, and we know Long has ability.

liamoo11
11/10/2011, 9:58 PM
Doyle has been very poor recently. If Keane had played that badly tonight, had missed those 3 chances, had spent most of the night throwing his arms up complaining when he lost a challenge, had dived in petulently into a pointless tackle and then been sent off everyone in the stadium would have been saying what a disgrace he was. Crazy double standards

11/10/2011, 9:59 PM
long and cox up top might do a job for us, and I like the look of Walters and hunt as impact subs, would love to see best get a shot but its too late for him to get in now

liamoo11
11/10/2011, 10:11 PM
If robbie and doyle are gone for first leg maybe best will be in the squad for the first leg?

11/10/2011, 10:19 PM
Doyle still doesn't look right to me. He isn't his usual self. I'd like to see Walters & Long next month if Keane crocked.

Sullivinho
11/10/2011, 10:19 PM
I've had my suspicions the current Doyler is an alien clone ever since his hair changed color. I can only hope the greys are treating the original with some respect.

Irish_Praha
11/10/2011, 10:20 PM
These "useless" money-making friendlies and flop of a Carling Cup are really going to pay off in this situation.
Who would have thought one or two years ago that we would feel confident about in our 3rd and 4th choice strikers going into such an important game?

Murfinator
12/10/2011, 12:24 AM
Have any of the 3 ever scored a competitive goal? I know Walters and Cox haven't, I'm not sure about long.

I'm feeling something about them, although I'm not sure "confident" is that word. :)

SwanVsDalton
12/10/2011, 12:29 AM
Long certainly has - scored against Russia last year. Think another of his was in a competitive game too.

an_ceannaire
12/10/2011, 8:36 AM
Lads....did Doyle get a second yellow or a straight red as where I was sitting EVERYONE was saying there was no second yellow that the ref took out a straight red?

ps...he was pants

12/10/2011, 8:37 AM
Second yellow

12/10/2011, 9:26 AM
Lads....did Doyle get a second yellow or a straight red as where I was sitting EVERYONE was saying there was no second yellow that the ref took out a straight red?

ps...he was pantswaitaminute, you were at the game??

an_ceannaire
12/10/2011, 9:31 AM
i go to all the games Tets
U dont have to be a "everything is great with the world" to be a real fan my man

The Swordsman
13/10/2011, 11:46 AM
Doyle should have been withdrawn by Trap instead of Cox on Tuesday. He was having a poor game and you could see he was getting frustrated. The first yellow was for a stupid challenge. Shortly before Trap took off Cox, Doyle had a decision go against him and he was slapping the ground and arguing with the ref. It was no big surprise that he ended up getting sent off.

the bear
13/10/2011, 10:48 PM
his attitude seems to have changed. was always such a likeable player and willing grafter, huge asset to the team. doesn't look as bothered now. hopefully he goes back to his old ways soon

boovidge
14/10/2011, 12:00 AM
Were you guys watching the same game? I thought he worked hard and won a number of important flick-ons, although that may be due to the oppositions apparent lack of ability to deal with simple long balls, which is why Walters seemed so impressive.

14/10/2011, 12:21 AM
It was more like John83 wrote, effective early on, struggled later to have the same impact.
and a bit of unnecessary aggro crept into his game (as distinct from self-preservation aggro).
Before his 2nd card he looked like a walking time bomb.
Still looks a top player to me.

14/10/2011, 8:54 AM
Only misses one game

joema
14/10/2011, 10:52 AM
Think a few are being a bit harsh on Doyle, tbh.

While he may have been a bit frustrated, I don't think his behaviour was particularly excessive or aggressive.

If anything, he was a bit naive jumping for the ball like that when already on a yellow but that's about it. He's a wholehearted lad and scraps a bit like a GAA player, IMO. That's just the way Doyle plays.

Was just saying to me buddy that he should come off and then, ten minutes later, he subs cox instead. Doyle needs to take responsibility himself, of course but Trap made the wrong call.

17/01/2012, 7:13 PM
Mick gives Doyle the McCarthy backing (http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11661/7439111/Doyle-retains-McCarthy-backing) aka the "vote of confidence"

"He does his work, and continues to do his work, and throughout a career, wherever you are, it just can't be that you continue to be that talisman all the time.
"It needed someone to take a bit of pressure off him because he was the one last season who was playing up front on his own and battling away and scrapping.
"He was playing his international football as well, and he had a knee injury early on in the season."

Pretty much what Trap said at the time.

Olé Olé
29/01/2012, 10:46 AM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11671/7463118/Everton-eye-shock-Doyle-swoop

"Sources" saying Everton are lining up a bid for Doyle.

Carrigaline
29/01/2012, 11:34 AM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11671/7463118/Everton-eye-shock-Doyle-swoop

"Sources" saying Everton are lining up a bid for Doyle.
Do Everton really want another striker who can't score?

Philly
29/01/2012, 1:05 PM
Would be a good move for him. He needs to be playing every week and get his confidence back - can't see either happening at Wolves this season sadly.

Murfinator
29/01/2012, 2:50 PM
No chance wolves would let him go mid season, they'll need all the help they can get to stay up another season. Doyle was dropped from Reading as well and he worked to win back his place, I don't think he'll panic and look for the exit at being dropped.

Olé Olé
29/01/2012, 4:58 PM
I would have thought that Doyle up top on his own is more appealing than Louis Saha, when he's fit. But I agree, he's not going to nab 10 between now and the summer, although if he proved me wrong I'd be more than happy.

Last summer he would have easily commanded more than Wolves' original £6.5m outlay. If anything, his value has depreciated somewhat from where it was. But even at that, Everton are unlikely to spend over £5m on Doyle, given that is the amount they received for Bily.

If Sky's sources had intimated another Premiership club than I'd give the story more credibility.

29/01/2012, 5:03 PM
Everton have to sell to buy still so this isn't going to happen. Mick loves him anyway.

30/01/2012, 8:48 AM
Everton linked with Jelavic from Rangers in this morning's papers, so that might kill any potential deal for Doyle off

Murfinator
30/01/2012, 11:51 AM
Saying now that if Everton can't acquire Doyle they'll look to take Leon Best in on loan.

30/01/2012, 3:12 PM
Mick says he ain't goin' nowhere, son.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16796078.stm

Carrigaline
04/02/2012, 2:27 PM
Looks like Ebanks Blake is now ahead of him as well as Fletcher.

theworm2345
04/02/2012, 3:03 PM
Doyler on at the half, Wolves must really be going for it.

Carrigaline
04/02/2012, 3:05 PM
3 strikers on for Wolves? ;)

04/02/2012, 3:12 PM
Set up the equaliser for Jarvis within a minute of coming on. Just stung Kenny's gloves with a shot from 20 yards too.

theworm2345
04/02/2012, 3:30 PM
Goal Doyler!

O'Hara fires it at Ebanks-Blake at the top of the box who does well to kill it, Doyle picks it up running across the fact of goal and slips it under Kenny to put Wolves ahead.

Carrigaline
and he scores, 2-1 Wolves, could be a vital win for Wolves.

Triffic swivel and shot with his left foot in the box. Right under Kenny's body, making it very difficult for the keeper to get down.

Condex
04/02/2012, 3:36 PM
and he scores, 2-1 Wolves, could be a vital win for Wolves.

Doyles a good player, playing in a poor team.

I was trying to put a bet at half time great odds QPR(down to 10 men) 1.65 to win..
so was going to lay that but had no funds in my befair account.

Was was in the process of adding a £10 to my account when Wolves scored. ..fup...

theworm2345
04/02/2012, 3:41 PM
Doyles a good player, playing in a poor team.
Yeah but Doyle hasn't been playing nearly as well as he could, regardless of goals, for most of the season.

Terrific save there by Hennessey as well.

04/02/2012, 3:47 PM
Hope Wolves can hang on for the 3 points, they need them.

04/02/2012, 3:56 PM
Seems like Dropping Doyle did him the world of good, perhaps he should be dropped more often?

04/02/2012, 9:47 PM
Mick's got a selection headache now, especially if he goes 4-5-1. Fletcher is in scoring form, and Jarvis and Kightly have been ripping it up on the wings, yet he has to play Doyle now, doesn't he?

Paddy the Dog
04/02/2012, 10:15 PM
Doyler's given himself a chance hasn't he? Mick's unlikely to leave Fletcher out for the time being and will probably continue to leave Doyle on the bench for a while but I agree that he now has a selection headache.

How fantastic was that today, hearing that Doyle came on as a sub and scored? Given that he was an automatic starter in a green shirt for so long, and justifiably so, his recent lack of form in a gold shirt and a green shirt after his injury have been very frustrating for all of his fans, club and country.

I was delighted with his post-match TV interview. What a well-rounded individual, with the capacity to explain his frustrating situation explicitly and express his delight at scoring on his return with restrained dignity.

You're a top man, Kevin Doyle.

04/02/2012, 10:38 PM
Do you have a link to the interview?

theworm2345
04/02/2012, 11:27 PM
Mick's got a selection headache now, especially if he goes 4-5-1. Fletcher is in scoring form, and Jarvis and Kightly have been ripping it up on the wings, yet he has to play Doyle now, doesn't he?
Ebanks-Blake did very well today as well. Challenged every QPR player in possession anywhere near him and had a large hand in Doyle's goal.

Paddy the Dog
04/02/2012, 11:35 PM
I've trawled the internet to find it, but it doesn't appear to be available to the casual browser. I saw it at about 5.20pm on sky channel 405 somewhere between Paul Merson getting caught up in an articulate description of events at his featured game (!) and yer man the Hartlepool-supporting Billo equivalent pouring unworthy praise on Robbie Fowler for his contribution during the day.

I was very proud of Doyler after the interview, but then again he's always done us proud.

cavan_fan
05/02/2012, 9:35 AM
Was at the game and Doyle was absolutely the difference. Mostly played on the left and was excellent at holding up the ball. Before half time and after the sending off Wolves looked useless including some dire long range shots.

Having also been at Villa this week our main two strikers are playing well but both of them are acting more as link players. I'd love a Darren Bent player in the side.