View Full Version : Kevin Doyle
29/03/2011, 11:00 AM
How does this change in FAI policy affect the squad? possibly it will be more difficult to get some 3/4 recovered players released by their clubs.
Under FIFA regulations, they have to be released for competitive games, even if it's only to be assessed by the medical team, although it's different for friendly games
29/03/2011, 11:08 AM
Yet, if the club medics say the player is not ready but the FAI medics say the player is ready enough to play, the player collapses a la Keith O'Neill, then the club bears the brunt of the increased premiums.
I suppose that's okay to a certain degree, as long as the club is fully aware that the FAI have stopped their policy of insuring the players.
29/03/2011, 4:35 PM
Fair enough Geysir, but I don't think Moxey was making a big song & dance about it. He was asked what compensation they got, and he said diddly squat. But he also acknowldged that they had the option to buy insurance themselves and they declined. You're right though, the pleasant tone probably masked some inner rage.
FAI are within their rights. FIFA's rules make international release compulsory. Didn't Charleroi and FIFA settle an insurance case (Oulmers) that could have had Bosman-like implications for national FAs. I can't recall the exact outcome - G14 was disbanded and a much larger ECA was formed that FIFA agreed to recognise and engage.
Maybe footballers are just paid too much.
29/03/2011, 5:24 PM
I can see why forcing national teams to insure players would be particularly harsh on smaller nations, but I think there could be a workaround. Maybe tie it to income, or have a centrally-negotiated insurance pool for national teams in each jurisdiction.
29/03/2011, 5:34 PM
I can see why forcing national teams to insure players would be particularly harsh on smaller nations, but I think there could be a workaround. Maybe tie it to income, or have a centrally-negotiated insurance pool for national teams in each jurisdiction.
There are plenty of alternatives, e.g. limiting the payout to twice the median wage and paying any excess out of a pool set aside from TV money from the competition for this purpose. You don't want a small nation being unable to field their best ever player because they can't afford the insurance.
29/03/2011, 6:06 PM
But he also acknowldged that they had the option to buy insurance themselves and they declined.
I didn't hear that bit, or maybe I just heard a truncated version of the same interview, repeated on the next hourly sports news.
With knowledge of the option, it does put the ball firmly back in their court regardless of the fairness of it all. Then Wolves fécked that one up.
29/03/2011, 11:58 PM
There are plenty of alternatives, e.g. limiting the payout to twice the median wage and paying any excess out of a pool set aside from TV money from the competition for this purpose. You don't want a small nation being unable to field their best ever player because they can't afford the insurance.
Yeah, there are a lot of possible options. Clubs might be more amenable to contributing to a common European fund if FAs also buy in. UEFA/FIFA would have massive collective bargaining power, you'd think... but also endless capacity for corruption.
Crosby87
30/03/2011, 12:08 AM
Im really glad the injury was not worse. Shades of Terry Dixon in how he looked uncomfortable before actually "getting hurt."
12/04/2011, 10:55 AM
Doyle looking to play in the Carling Nation's Cup and the Macedonia qualifier: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_6867153,00.html
15/04/2011, 9:19 PM
Kevin Doyle on the late late.very down to earth country lad.met his wife at the ploughing championship
Noelys Guitar
16/04/2011, 12:40 AM
He deserves to be playing with a team in the top 8 of the Premiership. Better all round player than either Defoe or Pav at Spurs. If he got the service those two get he would be in the 15 to 18 goal bracket no problem.
Crosby87
03/05/2011, 12:34 AM
What happens to Doyle when Wolves go down? He has the injury but... Vote Now!!!!
1. Does he play a year in the Championship to reassert himself?
2. Does he go to a squad where he will be benched too often to notice (Despite early glowing reviews) thus drawing our ire?
3. Does he... get healthy and start to kick ass and score goals no matter where he is? Then get sold around Xmas 11?
4. Does he..... get sold to a very good prem squad and begin producing and become a great player?
5. Does he...and i cant stand mentioning it but I have to..never come back from injury in whole and never get a ROI cap again? Long is so great we dont even want Doyle. Right?
6. Ahh the wild card. Does he get picked up by a great team but languish there but have amazing INTL games that his club coach laughs at?
DannyInvincible
03/05/2011, 3:12 PM
He's expected to return from injury for the penultimate game of the season, which could be vital for Wolves chances of staying up given how close things are at the relegation end, but I can't envisage him going down to the Championship again if his team are to be relegated for the second time in his career. He seems like a very honest and loyal player, which is to be admired and maybe Wolves supporters wouldn't begrudge him moving on due to the dedication he's shown, but it's obvious that he's far too good to be settling for Championship football again.
03/05/2011, 3:32 PM
He's Wolves most salable asset and Jez Moxey is quite a conservative businessman. I don't think they'd try and hang on to him the same way Reading did.
Colbert Report
04/05/2011, 5:02 AM
He'll get picked up by another mid-table Premiership team. Is he worth eight million? Could be a good pickup for a team like Everton or QPR.
id like to see him at QPR or especially Stoke. I think he'd score a lot for Stoke.
I dont think his stock is high enough that mid to top teams like your evertons, villas etc would take a chance.
Cuyahoga
09/05/2011, 11:48 AM
Kevin Doyle is back after injury and is exected to play in Wolves last three games. Good news for Ireland!
09/05/2011, 12:29 PM
I dont think his stock is high enough that mid to top teams like your evertons, villas etc would take a chance.
I always know Lawro skulked around these parts.
DeLorean
10/05/2011, 9:45 AM
Kevin Doyle is back after injury and is exected to play in Wolves last three games.
They have only two games left, but it's a huge boost for them on top of their massive win at the weekend. I was watching Soccer Saturday on Sky Sports a couple of weeks back, and Paul Merson said something along the lines of, "Do you know why Wolves are still in trouble Jeff?....Kevin Doyle". He reckoned they would have been safe at that point if it wasn't for Doyle's injury. Was kind of funny actually, I was watching it with the girlfriend and she thought Merson was slagging him off, saying it was his fault they were in the relegation zone, until he went on to explain how they missed his work rate, if not his goals.
Scooby Doo
10/05/2011, 11:44 AM
I always know Lawro skulked around these parts.
I got talking to Lawro in a pub recently. He also talks like that in real life!
Sullivinho
10/05/2011, 12:25 PM
I was watching Soccer Saturday on Sky Sports a couple of weeks back, and Paul Merson said something along the lines of, "Do you know why Wolves are still in trouble Jeff?....Kevin Doyle". He reckoned they would have been safe at that point if it wasn't for Doyle's injury.
Merson raves about him. I can remember another occasion when he described him as the best player in the premier league at holding up the ball, "bar none."
14/05/2011, 10:44 AM
McCarthy gives his blessing to Doyle appearing in the Carling Cup games, and the qualifier against Macedonia: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_6931595,00.html
DannyInvincible
14/05/2011, 11:20 AM
Makes the bench today for Wolves' game against Sunderland. Ward, Hunt and Foley start.
DannyInvincible
22/05/2011, 7:54 AM
I've been hearing different stories regarding Kevin Doyle's fitness since aggravating his knee injury last weekend against Sunderland; some would appear contradictory. Some sources are suggesting he's no more than a doubt for Wolves' game against Blackburn later, others saying he'll undergo a late fitness test, others saying he'll be fit enough for a place on the bench and others saying he's out of our game against Macedonia. If it's possible that he'll be fit enough to make the bench later today, shouldn't he be fit enough to at least make the squad for Macedonia or is it a case of some being overly optimistic?
22/06/2011, 10:48 AM
Wolves planning talks with Doyle: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_7000093,00.html
Scooby Doo
22/06/2011, 11:29 AM
Kevin Doyle is 27. If he has ambitions of playing at as high a level as possible then he should be looking for a move soon. If he's happy at Wolves fighting relegation then fair enough - to be honest as an Ireland fan I really couldn't care less where he plays as long as he does the business in the green jersey. But in saying that, I would be great to see him in a team that has ambitions of winning major trophies/playing in the Champions League etc.
22/06/2011, 12:15 PM
Always wondered about Doyler, would ye classify him as a younger 27 yr old than his peers (no smart answers) given that he hasn't been over there slogging it out since he was 14/15? The fact that he went over older would that give him an edge to his equivalents with less chance of burnout etc.
While he's quick, he's not a speedster, and probably will suffer less with hamstring related injuries and the reprecussions of such.
22/06/2011, 12:48 PM
He's fit, a natural athlete and looks after himself. I think he'll be a good player well into his 30s, like Drogba, injury and form permitting.
22/06/2011, 4:54 PM
According to the indo and posted in the JOSH thread by Charlie...
Kevin Doyle is being offered a lucrative new deal to stay at Wolves, with Arsenal, Schalke, Borussia Dortmund and Juventus reportedly interested.
independent.ie/sport/soccer/kop-join-oshea-hunt-2800418.html
cornflakes
22/06/2011, 5:32 PM
Be great if he got a move to Arsenal, hes better than Chamakh and Bendtner anyway and I think would score plenty of goals with decent service.
Probably won't happen tho
22/06/2011, 5:34 PM
Better to make the move to the continent.
Sullivinho
22/06/2011, 5:41 PM
He's as loyal as the day is long, Kevin. I could see him taking a deal if it's offered. I'd love to see him testing himself in some of the teams mentioned here though.
22/06/2011, 9:31 PM
It would be great. I really hope he sees past loyalty though
He deserves a better side than Wolves. Dortmund would be an incredible move for him.
Colbert Report
22/06/2011, 10:39 PM
Arsenal would be a great move for him but very unlikely to happen. I would be very very pleased if it did though.
Murfinator
23/06/2011, 7:05 PM
He's as loyal as the day is long, Kevin. I could see him taking a deal if it's offered. I'd love to see him testing himself in some of the teams mentioned here though.
Agree, ultimately he wouldn't push to leave Wolves unless they were relegated. Wolves would have no reason to sell him since the cost of relegation is greater than what would be paid for Doyle, and they'd never find a replacement of the same level who'd be willing to play for a side like Wolves.
Arsenal dont buy Irish players, nothing in that.
23/06/2011, 10:18 PM
Arsenal don't buy decent goalkeepers, ball winning midfielders or decent centre backs either :)
I've nailed my colours to the mast on this issue many times. I'm not saying there aren't better players in their positions out there (there clearly are), or making an exact transfer value judgment, but Shay Given is better than any of the 'keepers Arsenal have. Kevin Doyle is a far more effective, industrious, brave and honest player than Bendtner & Chamakh, and importantly, more likely to complement Van Persie and Nasri. Richard Dunne is a country mile better than Squillaci and far more of a leader than Djourou and Kosclieny (probably a better player too). If Arsenal had had all 3 of those in the team since the start of 2011, does anyone seriously think they'd have wimped out of everything as badly as they did? They'd have cost relatively little either - maybe £15mm in total?
If Arsene Wenger was a band manager he'd never have had Adam Clayton in U2. If he managed variety comedy acts he'd never have had Sid Little in Little & Large, or Ernie Wise in Morecambe & Wise. He just doesn't get that sometimes you need the rough with the smooth, or something different that complements and brings the best out of the jewels.
livehead1
23/06/2011, 10:43 PM
Arsenal don't buy decent goalkeepers, ball winning midfielders or decent centre backs either :)
I've nailed my colours to the mast on this issue many times. I'm not saying there aren't better players in their positions out there (there clearly are), or making an exact transfer value judgment, but Shay Given is better than any of the 'keepers Arsenal have. Kevin Doyle is a far more effective, industrious, brave and honest player than Bendtner & Chamakh, and importantly, more likely to complement Van Persie and Nasri. Richard Dunne is a country mile better than Squillaci and far more of a leader than Djourou and Kosclieny (probably a better player too). If Arsenal had had all 3 of those in the team since the start of 2011, does anyone seriously think they'd have wimped out of everything as badly as they did? They'd have cost relatively little either - maybe £15mm in total?
If Arsene Wenger was a band manager he'd never have had Adam Clayton in U2. If he managed variety comedy acts he'd never have had Sid Little in Little & Large, or Ernie Wise in Morecambe & Wise. He just doesn't get that sometimes you need the rough with the smooth, or something different that complements and brings the best out of the jewels.
Probably the best made point on here in a long long time.
24/06/2011, 8:12 AM
Probably the best made point on here in a long long time.
agree. people can talk about the so called beautiful way of playing football all they like but without back-bone in a team you will win nothing. Arsenal under wenger are a case in point
dotts101
24/06/2011, 10:29 AM
doyle would not fit in at arsenal, that backbone is needed in centre mid and centre half, as much as i like doyle and hate arsenal, best move would be dortmund against the tough and hard german defenders, he would thrive
24/06/2011, 12:24 PM
best move would be dortmund against the tough and hard german defenders, he would thrive
Dortmund look like they could have a few of their stars taken off their hands this summer whether they like it or not (they've already lost Sahin, and Kagawa could be on the way soon) so there could be be a bit of a reshuffle there alright.
Doyler would be grand anywhere, but yeah he'd be well suited to die bundesliga.
SwanVsDalton
24/06/2011, 12:53 PM
Dortmund look like they could get raped of a few stars this summer (they've already lost Sahin, and Kagawa could be on the way soon) so there could be be a bit of a reshuffle there alright.
Here Kingdom, sorry but I think you need this (http://thesaurus.com/).
24/06/2011, 1:01 PM
Word of the day - sabbatical. How appropriate.
lionelhutz
04/07/2011, 1:03 PM
I'd be over the moon if this came to pass. I think he'd work great with Van Persie.
Arsenal to make £12m bid for Doyle
Monday July 04 2011
Arsenal are expected to make a surprise £12m bid for Republic of Ireland and Wolves striker Kevin Doyle this week.
It is reported that 27-year-old Doyle first came to the attention of Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger when the Frenchman when watching Ireland's infamous World Cup qualifying match against France in 2009.
There was intense speculation last summer that he was about to bid for the Wexford-born player who joined Wolves from Reading for £6.5m in 2009.
At that time manager Mick McCarthy said: “''Look, if Manchester United come in and offer the club £50m and give him 200 grand a week, I can't keep him. Then I'll have to say 'thanks, Kevin, all the best, see you'.
''Doyle will be a player for us unless someone comes in offering the earth, moon and stars for him.''
- Independent.ie reporters
04/07/2011, 1:38 PM
Doyler impressed Wenger so much he waited 18 months to make a bid for him.
05/07/2011, 9:08 AM
Arsenal are expected to make a surprise £12m bid for Kevin Doyle this week.
It is reported that 27-year-old Doyle first came to the attention of Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger when the Frenchman when watching Ireland's infamous World Cup qualifying match against France in 2009.
- Independent.ie reportersHow can you be expected to make a surprise bid?
If Doyle only came to Wenger's attention in Nov. 2009 it'd reflect pretty poorly on Wenger.
05/07/2011, 9:38 AM
http://arsenal-mania.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=134142
God I hate football fans at times.
cornflakes
05/07/2011, 9:56 AM
This was in the Football365 mailbox (http://www.football365.com/mailbox/7021326/Mailbox) in response to them thinking Doyle is crap
Demanding Respect For Doyle And Ireland
I have taken just about as much abuse as I can and I have had enough, Yesterday morning i opened the football365 gossip to see Kevin Doyle linked with Arsenal, even though I am a united fan I was happy to see my fellow country man linked with a move to a big club, I believed he was getting the recognition he deserved for putting in some brilliant performances for club and country.
I then saw that your writer was taking this as some sort of joke, which was followed by disbelieving comments from Arsenal fans. My brain has yet to comprehend why, Doyle is being talked about like he is one of the worst players in the league, one who is not good enough to be at a club of their 'stature' and who does not score enough goals. When you think about it he is going to be replacing, 'The Best Player in the World', Bendtner, a man who has scored 22 goals in nearly 100 PL games over four seasons for Arsenal, Doyles record for Wolves?....14 goals in just over 50 games, not prolific but better than Nicklarse.
But this is not the only disrespect shown towards Irish players by your website, I seem to remember you called Richard Dunne a 'fat kna**er', a man who when he was replaced by Joleon Lescott for £22M (yes that happened) went to Villa and got in the team of the season. Mentioning Lescott he is not even on your 'Top Ten Players Clubs need to get rid of' list but who is? At number 2 we have Robbie Keane, who despite not having even a mediocre season recently broke the record number of goals scored by an Irish or British player in internationals.
And even though he only managed 2 goals in 9 games at WHU, Crouch only got 4 all season at Spurs. There is a great disparity in the way English and Irish players are dealt with, take last week for example Conor Wickham signs for Sunderland for a rumored £12m, who fight off great competition from Liverpool, the player is 18, only scored nine times last season but is importantly English, While at the same time Shane Long is being chased for £7m despite scoring 23 goals last season and having 21 caps for his country with a goal every 3 games. If the figures for those two players had been switched there would have been up roar.
So my advice to you F365 is have a bit more respect for your neighbors across the pond, you laugh at our players with out fully understanding their importance to their fans, with most Irish players what they lack in quality and technical ability they make up for in unadulterated enthusiasm. While Arsenal fans would kill themselves at the thought I think if they replaced Arshavin, Walcott and Bendtner with Doyle, Duff and Stephen Hunt they may get a bit more balls, and I would like to see an Ireland V England game real soon.
Barry ( Gibsons still s**t) MUFC, Dublin
They also have Keane on the Top 10 list of players clubs should give away. He's in at number 2 (http://www.football365.com/topical-top-10/7018664/Ten-Players-Clubs-Should-Just-Give-Away)
Suppose you wouldn't expect any sense from a **** website
05/07/2011, 10:17 AM
Arsenal fans would do well to listen to the neutral plaudits Doyle has drawn - BBC, Times, Guardian....
When I suggested last year to some Arsenal season ticket holders I met that they should replace Bendtner with Doyle they laughed. "No star quality" and "Bendtner's doing alright for us" were the responses.
AlaskaFox
05/07/2011, 10:25 AM
Barry, you ruined it with that Gibson snipe at the end. Tut tut.