View Full Version : 2021 Season , Arrivals and departures

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31

13/12/2020, 12:06 PM
I look at Drogheda recruitment and it screams a bit of Harps in 2008.

We signed Gary Beckett that year, an injury prone striker who was past his best in the hope that he could find form again. It just didn't happen. You'd fear Corcoran being similar this year.

They seem to be going after experience, which is fair, but that's what reminds me of Harps 2008, spent big bringing in Aaron Labonte, Neil McCafferty, Stuart Malcolm and Beckett, and it didn't pay off at all.

Deegan is another who doesn't inspire confidence. Started well at Shels but he was awful during the final ten games. Shels let him go for good reason..

13/12/2020, 3:00 PM

We signed Gary Beckett that year, an injury prone striker who was past his best in the hope that he could find form again. It just didn't happen. You'd fear Corcoran being similar this year.

They seem to be going after experience, which is fair, but that's what reminds me of Harps 2008, spent big bringing in Aaron Labonte, Neil McCafferty, Stuart Malcolm and Beckett, and it didn't pay off at all.

Deegan is another who doesn't inspire confidence. Started well at Shels but he was awful during the final ten games. Shels let him go for good reason..

I was never fully convinced with Gary Deegan when he played with us in 07 season. He never really struck me at all. I know there was talk of us losing FAI Cup final that season cos of his absence but there was more to it than that imo!

oriel
13/12/2020, 3:15 PM
Peter Cherrie is a great chap and well liked in Dundalk, but new recruitment likely to come from overseas

Also heard DFC looking for a GK with 'international experience' so that would most likely be from abroad. Will still need a no 2 though, and I can't imagine McCarey will be offered a deal, then again might be hard enough getting one new GK, I still think need a much better no 2 than him.

oriel
13/12/2020, 3:21 PM

This was something I was actually saying to a mate only last night about Dundalk in previous years, and around 2011 under Ian Foster, one example being Jason Byrne.

13/12/2020, 5:19 PM
UCD in - Adam Lennon (Athlone) and Dónal Higgins (Galway)

Don't know either of them tbh

Ezeikial
13/12/2020, 5:59 PM
This was something I was actually saying to a mate only last night about Dundalk in previous years, and around 2011 under Ian Foster, one example being Jason Byrne.

I was not an admirer of Fosters incredibly arrogant personality, but his signings of Jason Byrne and Mark Quigley were master strokes, and for relatively small money. Byrne got a bad md season injury which gave Marc Griffin his chance while Quigley was a revelation. Foster put a Good squad together that season that simply lacked depth

oriel
13/12/2020, 8:27 PM
Its obviously for another thread, but Foster finished 6th and 7th with Dundalk in his two seasons, the players he got in were decent, probably should have done better, but overall not a good return.

He was also lucky, the 2010 season started with a euro spot, as Cork and Derry were removed from the PD, and DFC got that final spot for finishing 5th the previous season.

13/12/2020, 8:29 PM
I was not an admirer of Fosters incredibly arrogant personality, but his signings of Jason Byrne and Mark Quigley were master strokes, and for relatively small money. Byrne got a bad md season injury which gave Marc Griffin his chance while Quigley was a revelation. Foster put a Good squad together that season that simply lacked depth

Included Greg Bolger and Keith Ward, unless im mixing up that era. Quigley was a revelation and probably the first time he was actually liked by his own fans.

oriel
13/12/2020, 8:36 PM
No no, same period, Bolger was decent at the start, but stopped playing/ injuries, Ward was his first intro to DFC, and he was decent. Quigley agreed a revelation, Jason Byrne was finished though.

Hawkins was another who was good. Overall, Foster should have finished higher than 6th and 7th, one of those a 10 team PD too.

2 Year Contract
13/12/2020, 8:44 PM
Jason Byrne was finished though.

Far from it, he scored 27 league goals over the next 2 seasons for Bray, followed by 9 for Bohs the season after that (from 16 starts)

13/12/2020, 9:54 PM
The artificial pitch was still new enough and every damn injury, including a turned ankle at an away game seemed to have the blame lay on the oriel pitch. Less that it was an injury risk and more that some players just didnt like it. Byrne was one of those iirc. A bit earlier, having Declan O'Brien on the books showed that not all players do the professional thing and play for those paying the wages rather than getting balled up in the local rivalry stuff.

It was a feature of Dundalk signings for ages that they were great...years before. Costello, Goeoghan, Doolin, Byrne, Hawkins, O'Brien, i'd even through Haylock in tbh.

Asterix
14/12/2020, 1:09 PM
Sean Hoare confirmed for Rovers, not a bad 5th choice CB I suppose. Not too fussed with the signing personally.

Asterix
14/12/2020, 1:11 PM
Chris mcCann signs too.

boynemunich
14/12/2020, 1:27 PM
Not sure about Chris McCann, another signing that could easily fall into the Patrick Cregg, Owen Garvan, Damien Delaney category of footballers past their best. That being said they've got great use out of Joey O'Brien who I would have thought about the same.

Yossarian
14/12/2020, 1:30 PM
Sean Hoare confirmed for Rovers, not a bad 5th choice CB I suppose. Not too fussed with the signing personally.

He’s a decent player but I’m not distraught that he’s gone. With a new centre half already signed apparently, there was always a good chance he’d go.
Are any of Rovers current centre halves leaving? I know they play 3 at the back but 5 centre halves seems like an unnecessary extravagance.

14/12/2020, 1:34 PM
Nobody flagged as leaving yet but O'Brien will be 35 when the season starts and has been playing on the right-hand side of the three like Hoare.

sbgawa
14/12/2020, 1:43 PM
Chuffed with that tbh Hoare is excelent imo.
Sean Callen who played CB a couple of times and was on the bench a bit has left the club (saw it on twitter)
5 CB in the club when we have Joey pushing on seems reasonable.
If we didnt sign Hoare then we would be only 1 injury away from having no cover at all.

No idea about McCann hopefully another Joey rather than the other type.

14/12/2020, 2:03 PM
Wouldn't be pushed about the Hoare signing for the league champions. He's a good player, no doubt about that, but has a howler in him every few games.

McCann is interesting, comes with a lot of experience at a high level. Rovers have a pretty packed midfield though. I wonder is he a replacement for Lafferty as a left wing back?

Asterix
14/12/2020, 2:19 PM
Wouldn't be pushed about the Hoare signing for the league champions. He's a good player, no doubt about that, but has a howler in him every few games.

McCann is interesting, comes with a lot of experience at a high level. Rovers have a pretty packed midfield though. I wonder is he a replacement for Lafferty as a left wing back?

Replacement for Greg Bolger, McCann will challenge Gary O'Neill for the defensive midfielder role in the formation. Left wing back is already covered with Sean Kavanagh and Farrugia.

14/12/2020, 2:27 PM
Finn Harps announced the signing of Ryan Rainey.

Last with Bonagee United in the Ulster Senior League, previously played with Wolves.

https://www.finnharps.ie/post/ryan-rainey-joins-finn-harps

D24Saint
14/12/2020, 2:36 PM

Decent player McCann I seen him play for Atlanta United once. I was a bit shocked to see he had no international caps.

oriel
14/12/2020, 2:37 PM
Hoare is a good player, had two great seasons with DFC in 2018 and 2019, went off the boil a bit in 2020, but huge contribution to winning the cup, and nice memory for him to leave with his other last goal too last Thursday.

14/12/2020, 2:47 PM
The LoI Facebook page had Hoare, Mountney (to Pats?) and Flores (to England) as all likely Dundalk transfers. if Hoare has happened, then probably the other two are close to done?

Ezeikial
14/12/2020, 3:41 PM
Sean Hoare is a Good player who could excel at Rovers, but was probably the weakest of the Dundalk Centre backs this season.

Oriel fans will be expecting an improvement in this position with a player whose skillsets are more suited to 3 at the backi

ontheotherhand
14/12/2020, 6:06 PM
Wasn't all that keen on Hoare when the rumour popped up but he is a bit like Pico was when he joined - athletic and committed but prone to errors. Pico turned into the best defender in the league over the past year so maybe it will work out. At worst he is good cover for Joey.

McCann sounds great on paper and covers us where we need it with Bolger gone and Lafferty likely off. Can even do a job at centre half apparently. Might be good to have another very experienced senior head in the dressing room as well.

Need cover for Greene now and to sit nervously through Christmas and NY waiting to hear something from Jack / waiting to see who we have lined up to replace him.

D24Saint
14/12/2020, 6:15 PM
Wasn't all that keen on Hoare when the rumour popped up but he is a bit like Pico was when he joined - athletic and committed but prone to errors. Pico turned into the best defender in the league over the past year so maybe it will work out. At worst he is good cover for Joey.

McCann sounds great on paper and covers us where we need it with Bolger gone and Lafferty likely off. Can even do a job at centre half apparently. Might be good to have another very experienced senior head in the dressing room as well.

Need cover for Greene now and to sit nervously through Christmas and NY waiting to hear something from Jack / waiting to see who we have lined up to replace him.

Is it certain that Jack Byrne is leaving ?

14/12/2020, 6:41 PM
There was always going to be interest in Flores as he did fairly well in putting himself in the shop window. If he stays he needs more consistency. Hoare will do very well at Rovers, He got stick for some performances but mostly when playing a right full which was at times harsh and was really only very exposed when playing against top sides/Europe. That said losing him doesnt sound alarm bells bar it being greater strength in depth for a rival squad. If Mountney goes to Pats it will be a good signing, I think people underestimate the impact he has from just the amount of graft he puts in, also versatile. He was often noted as a player that the Dundalk squad would outgrow on technical ability angle, but a player you could always rely on, gives resilience if a team is tiring or is still going after 90mins, ye need those with the more technical gifted players. In fear of it sounding like one of those patronising football cliches, he is good squad player and could be missed for that.

It wouldnt be unusual to hear little news out of Oriel before Christmas, as with the year p6 bought the club, the change or addition to staff like DoF, this year will delay announcing signings especially if casting the net wider than usual. I half expect a squads worth of trialists from the US!

ontheotherhand
14/12/2020, 8:53 PM
To D24Saint - No, but I wouldn't be confident of him staying. Family and stability might win out in the end, especially given the pandemic, but I think he will want to test himself again at a higher level and he's won the league and cup here already. I think he'd be gone in a flash if an Eredivisie side came in for him. England may have lost it's lustre and I can't see him going to America. Too far for a lad who has benefited a lot by coming home to be with his people. That said, money is money so a big offer from any club who will actually play him will be the end of our hopes of keeping him.

14/12/2020, 10:14 PM
Sean Hoare is a Good player who could excel at Rovers, but was probably the weakest of the Dundalk Centre backs this season.

Oriel fans will be expecting an improvement in this position with a player whose skillsets are more suited to 3 at the backi
Harps have loads of lads who play three (five!) at the back.

14/12/2020, 10:14 PM
Is it certain that Jack Byrne is leaving ?
He says he's still weighing up his options but it sounds like he's decided to move abroad.

joey B
14/12/2020, 11:06 PM
Ronan Coughlan rumoured to be going to Dundalk on Facebook......

joey B
15/12/2020, 10:54 AM
Dave Webster back at Harps, was really solid last season so glad to see him back.

GCdfc
15/12/2020, 12:05 PM
Dundalk sign of Norwegian Ole Erik Midtskogen from KI Klaksvik. Quite unexpected.

https://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-fc-complete-signing-of-ole-erik-midtskogen/?fbclid=IwAR0SwXw1mawVObc41YNy-2f7b63JWZHv9u_JG-zIFg9GNbaEGBNnJuRBxk0

15/12/2020, 12:10 PM
Dave Webster back at Harps, was really solid last season so glad to see him back.

Delighted with this. On his day is up there with the top defenders in the league. Real leader as well.

Kiki Balboa
15/12/2020, 12:20 PM
https://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-fc-complete-signing-of-ole-erik-midtskogen/?fbclid=IwAR0SwXw1mawVObc41YNy-2f7b63JWZHv9u_JG-zIFg9GNbaEGBNnJuRBxk0

Dundalk raiding their lower ranked european competitors......

sbgawa
15/12/2020, 1:00 PM
11 goals in 86 matches mostly in Norwegian second division before this season doesn't look fantastic and he obviously has been released by his club but at the same time Pat Hoban scored 12 goals in 92 matches across League 2 and National League in England so measuring strikers on other leagues is pretty nebulous tbh.

Time will tell but for DFC fans its good to see considering all the BS flying around

Burnsie
15/12/2020, 3:29 PM
Sean Gannon to Shamrock Rovers. Even if Byrne goes, Rovers squad strength is beginning to look ominous

sbgawa
15/12/2020, 3:48 PM
Sean Gannon to Shamrock Rovers. Even if Byrne goes, Rovers squad strength is beginning to look ominous

I dont see this happening we have Finn and Marshal as wingbacks...would love to have him but dont see it

15/12/2020, 4:23 PM
I dont see this happening we have Finn and Marshal as wingbacks...would love to have him but dont see it

Gannon's form improved the latter end of the season but he didnt look too happy/comfortable as a wingback if being signed with that system in mind for either club. Last minute horse trading on a contract maybe or a different challenge needed? - the commute would wear anyone out eventually! Signing players and trying to keep players out of a rivals clutches are the excesses of mid 2000s. If it didnt seem like DFC and SRFC owners are going to bankroll hefty wage bills other clubs would be sitting back for the financial battle of attrition to take its toll if or when that could be.

sbgawa
15/12/2020, 4:34 PM
The Academy should help in the medium term with signings, as a for instance Rovers had 7 of the Irish under 15s starting a match (cant remember which but remember seeing it on twitter from the club) last year. The academy strength is in the 12-15 area as it is really only going properly for 5 years.
The pipeline from the academy is going to start kicking in big time over the next couple of years.
This is the reason behind the Division one team , we need somewhere for these kids to develop as its pretty hard for any 18 year old to break into a top team.
Some of our division 1 team (starting average age 18 this season) are also coming through although most of them need another year at mens football i think.
Dean Williams , thomas Oluwa , MAx Murphy , Conan Noonan, Darragh Nugent are all kids coming through from the second team that i think we can expect to play a bigger role over the next couple of seasons

15/12/2020, 4:52 PM
The Academy should help in the medium term with signings, as a for instance Rovers had 7 of the Irish under 15s starting a match (cant remember which but remember seeing it on twitter from the club) last year. The academy strength is in the 12-15 area as it is really only going properly for 5 years.
The pipeline from the academy is going to start kicking in big time over the next couple of years.
This is the reason behind the Division one team , we need somewhere for these kids to develop as its pretty hard for any 18 year old to break into a top team.
Some of our division 1 team (starting average age 18 this season) are also coming through although most of them need another year at mens football i think.
Dean Williams , thomas Oluwa , MAx Murphy , Conan Noonan, Darragh Nugent are all kids coming through from the second team that i think we can expect to play a bigger role over the next couple of seasons

Maybe I should have been less critical of the St Kevin's et al influence on underage football lol. Larger regional centres could probably close the gap on the Rovers academy. I cant see Dundalk getting close on just the numbers or scale of catchment, unless there is a very strong scouting system - quality over quantity type thing. Or court further link ups along the commuter belt in to Dublin.

sbgawa
15/12/2020, 5:30 PM
no you would be right to be critical of Kevins and DDSL clubs in general who havea sole objective of getting players away at 15/16 knowing most wont make it.
No interest in keeping them as they leave the clubs anyway to play senior football.

oriel
15/12/2020, 6:30 PM
Gannon should be confirmed tomorrow by Rovers. Total blame rests with DFC and the looney in the US, insisting on ridiculous short term contract offers.

placid casual
15/12/2020, 6:35 PM
If as expected, Sean Gannon comes back to Rovers I'll be delighted. I was gutted when Kenny shipped him off to pats all this years ago. The guy has won a trophy every year since (more or less).
I'm fairly nonplussed by Hoare as he always looked pish when I saw him play.
I don't know what your man McCann is like but he's not the youngest is he.

Question for dundalk fans in here: why was your new sporting director offered a longer contract than the players??

15/12/2020, 7:30 PM
If as expected, Sean Gannon comes back to Rovers I'll be delighted. I was gutted when Kenny shipped him off to pats all this years ago. The guy has won a trophy every year since (more or less).
I'm fairly nonplussed by Hoare as he always looked pish when I saw him play.
I don't know what your man McCann is like but he's not the youngest is he.

Question for dundalk fans in here: why was your new sporting director offered a longer contract than the players??

Who knows, covid finances, do many players get longer than 4 year deals, hope that over the contract commercial improvements will balance the books, all of it? but in very LoI way a positive in hearing that the S.D. was given a 4 year contract, indicating some medium term plans at least by the owners, only for the positive vibe to be dulled by talk of stalwart player(s) being offered short term deals that doesn't indicate medium term planning! I think it was Hoban where higher demands were being offset with a shorter deal until Bill landed in. Popular player getting shoved out by unacceptable offer so club avoids ire of fans, or the players demands were unreasonable. Regardless Ganno has be become more of a club man and it would be a shame if he left under some cloud....signing for Rovers aside (most likely place to add to his medals currently, not meant snidely). I could be wrong as football is fickle, but he is the type of chap that itd be no surprise if he himself said little of what and why.

sbgawa
15/12/2020, 7:40 PM
Sometimes contract lengths can be misleading and are for PR reasons only.
Jim Magilton could be on a four year contract with a clause that from year two it can be paid up with 6 months notice, equally he could be on a four year contract with an option for the club to extend or even both
From my experience the longer the contract the more likely there are clauses.
Often a player can sign a two or 3 year contract with a clause that if an offer comes in higher than x he can leave automaticaly at any time.

If Gannon comes to Rovers i will be over the moon but we have Finn and Marshal in that position so that seems like an abundance of riches to me...maybe Finn moves back inside ??

If DFC are letting him leave because they are only offering 1 year deals that is lunacy, smacks of thinking players have no where else to go.

15/12/2020, 9:24 PM
Jim Magilton could be on a four year contract with a clause that from year two it can be paid up with 6 months notice, equally he could be on a four year contract with an option for the club to extend or even both
Often a player can sign a two or 3 year contract with a clause that if an offer comes in higher than x he can leave automaticaly at any time.

If Gannon comes to Rovers i will be over the moon but we have Finn and Marshal in that position so that seems like an abundance of riches to me...maybe Finn moves back inside ??

If DFC are letting him leave because they are only offering 1 year deals that is lunacy, smacks of thinking players have no where else to go.

To think it wasnt that long ago only 1 year deals were only wanted so players could move for free! It does seem high risk if ye want the sort of squad stability that Magilton has placed above manager demands today. Doesnt sound like being on the same page but hey its day 2 in the job and maybe he will hold some sway in the US if need be. Rovers cant sign everyone, some might have more limited options so others get the deal they want to stay. I really hope FG had the time to gauge the standard needed bringing players in. Talking about developing a 25 year old striker for Dundalk I hope was a lost in translation moment rather than absolutely literal wish to coach him to the level wanted if he isnt thought as already there (that makes sense?).

I've wished a few times that the wealthiest European clubs made a player sit out a full contract in the reserves rather than cave and not cash in on whatever they can get for a player manipulating to leave. Less to annoy a player and more to deprive a super-agent from their slice as they disrupt players to keep them moving and cashing in (family or not eg Anelka). It's third party ownership in all but name.

oriel
16/12/2020, 1:12 PM
Some are saying P6 want to only offer 12 month deals, but with a performance view on extending to 2 years. The club have been caught out before with some on longer contracts who just didn't work out, like Will Patching is one, and Stefan Colovic could be another, jury still out on him though.

It wouldn't be my way of doing things, as I would think 2 year contracts, paid 12 months (to be fair DFC also paying 12 months in 1 year deals) would have been the better option, especially attracting the better local talent.

As for JM, I think a good appointment, but I was surprised by the 4 years.

oriel
16/12/2020, 1:14 PM

You shouldn't have long to wait for this to be confirmed, but also not sure where he will play, as you also play 3 central defenders, big loss all the same for Dundalk.

16/12/2020, 2:46 PM
I think you have to accept that there will be unsuccessful signings at all levels of the game. It should not dictate contract policy imo, there should be more focus on why the players were duds and questions asked of scouting, influence of agents etc. It's cutting off your nose to spite your face especially when you are dealing with proven players. If FG has confidence in his coaching a new player to perform for Dundalk, in his system of choice, then the same applies for a player like Gannon who was on a definite upward curve in adapting. There is greater risk if a new player has to be brought in to replace or cover, albeit maybe on lower terms.