View Full Version : 2021 Season , Arrivals and departures
lofty9
23/06/2021, 10:48 AM
We where an away goal away from it 2 summers ago vs qarabag. We lost 5 important players this season so im not expecting anything this year but our goal is to be in the group stages in the near future.
As for Dundalk of old, if linfield where to build on quicksand like many other clubs who have had success in the LOI, im sure we could have been a higher standard much sooner. But thankfully our board has built up our revenue, kept the expenses well in budget & built a large amount of reserves so that if we do fail to qualify for Europe we can afford the hit.
The club who paid £55k for Glenn Ferguson. Easy to build revenue and success when you had 15% of gate receipts, tv rights and commercial activity from international fixtures over the years. What’s the agreement now? 200k per year or something? Linfield will always be the exception to the norm in Irish football.
EalingGreen
23/06/2021, 11:01 AM
Financial stability, near to family life, chance to win trophies - I'd call that the holy grail for any pro footballer on this island. Linfield is a step up for Shields from the clown car he's exiting.
As regards the financial stability bit, there were rumours in the media that Larne and Glentoran were also sniffing around Shields.
If true (stress the "if"), then he could have negotiated a very good deal for hinself with Linfield, since those other two clubs are splashing the cash these days.
Steve Bruce
23/06/2021, 11:34 AM
No, but it is a step down from the Dundalk of old. Linfield won't be appearing in the group stages of Europe any time soon for example.
I agree with you on where Dundalk seem to be headed, and if that has played a part in Shields' decision, then that would be quite worrying as a Dundalk fan. Hence the question though.
The club who paid £55k for Glenn Ferguson. Easy to build revenue and success when you had 15% of gate receipts, tv rights and commercial activity from international fixtures over the years. What’s the agreement now? 200k per year or something? Linfield will always be the exception to the norm in Irish football.
As i said our board has done well to build revenue.
Do other clubs hire out their grounds for free?
Also while the rental money we get is nice, it's certainly isn't close to our main source of income.
Puzzled why a transfer from 25 years ago has any bearing on today.
lofty9
23/06/2021, 11:57 AM
Puzzled why a transfer from 25 years ago has any bearing on today.
Because its unheard of then or now in LOI football. That activity would bankrupt the rest of us.
dundalkfc10
23/06/2021, 1:10 PM
I wouldn’t call it a sudden departure, its been common knowledge that he’s been going to Linfield since April. Sudden would be McEleney joining him this window!
Its well known McEleney and Duffy are heading off aswell. They will be at the end of the season though.
Bucket
23/06/2021, 1:40 PM
Any Rovers fans manage to see any of that friendly match last night?
Ye beat Cabo 6-0, Kevin Zefi scored, Richie Towell played. Did Stokes play well?
Dalymountrower
23/06/2021, 2:41 PM
Ye beat Cabo 6-0, Kevin Zefi scored, Richie Towell played. Did Stokes play well?
According to unsubtantiated accounts he stalked the Cabo defence and constantly picked the pockets of the Cabo centre halves. There was some remission of time spent on the pitch due to an unfortunate clash of heads .
sbgawa
23/06/2021, 3:31 PM
Apparently showed a lot of good touch's and ability in the final 3rd but also clearly not anywhere near match fit.
23/06/2021, 4:04 PM
Considering the exodus of players out of Oriel why not throw a cheeky bid in for Hoban. Makes more sense than chancing things with Stokes. Out of contract end of season, short term contract policy means a 2 or 3 year deal could turn heads, budget cuts so offer the 5 months remaining on his contract. Not impossible all things considered. Only for injury a sniff at McMillan too. No loyalty issues when lads not being offered any security on contracts.
23/06/2021, 7:47 PM
Dont blame CS for going up north. When u think about it its common for long term loi players to move to NIFL. Look at Conan Byrne for example. CS only reason he left now was that Glentoran were sniffin around him so made sense for him move to Linfield instead of waitin till end of season as that was CSs wish. Anyway he lives in Carrickfergus I think with his family so it makes sense. Dont forget Pat Fenlons up there too also!
sbgawa
23/06/2021, 8:28 PM
Considering the exodus of players out of Oriel why not throw a cheeky bid in for Hoban. Makes more sense than chancing things with Stokes. Out of contract end of season, short term contract policy means a 2 or 3 year deal could turn heads, budget cuts so offer the 5 months remaining on his contract. Not impossible all things considered. Only for injury a sniff at McMillan too. No loyalty issues when lads not being offered any security on contracts.
Hobans not mobile enough for the way rovers play.
I would take Duffy if I had a pick. If we beat slovan (big if) it might be worth a try, we will definitely need more players either way at that point
wonder88
23/06/2021, 8:57 PM
Was Stephen O Donnell more of an influence in the success of Dundalk? This is the opinion of an outsider so Dundalk fans may have a different view. Stokes would be some signing for Shamrock R and for the league in general. (provided he gets himself fit).
2 Year Contract
23/06/2021, 9:17 PM
I always had a feeling Stokes could end up at Pats seen as he played at both Arsenal and Falkirk alongside Stephen O'Donnell and Pat Cregg. He does however seem to be the exact opposite type of personality that they like in the squad. They’ve talked a lot about signing the right personality and lads that give their all in training etc which by all reports Stokes is not. If he can get his fitness to a good level quickly then I can see why rovers or pats would take a punt on him to try and achieve their short term aims between now and the end of the season at least
23/06/2021, 9:24 PM
Stokes should not be seen a coup signing for any club never mind LoI. O'Donnell was of course a big influence both on the pitch and then off before heading to St Pats. The bigger loss to Dundalk from the backroom was Higgins imo. He just seemed to have the tactical nous that complimented the manager/head coach. Filipo could well have been a success with a backroom of Higgo/ O'Donnell. They wanted off to do their own thing obviously but O'Donnell seemed to be in the plans for the future, how things ave developed at St Pats seems to vindicate that thinking. Garts would be another that the club should consider for a role behind the scenes, initially with the academy and as an analyst, when he quits playing.
Hoban is able to play as a poacher type striker and could fit in to Rovers system. If anything, his more recent tendency to drop deep for the ball is due to a lack of midfielders driving on - with someone like Towell who would push on, Rovers beaing able to supply balls from width also, I think Hoban would be a fit. Not that Id want him to go to Tallaght, just that Dundalk for a while havent played to his strengths.
Its well known McEleney and Duffy are heading off aswell. They will be at the end of the season though.
One of them will be a fair bit sooner.
ToberonaTornado
24/06/2021, 1:20 AM
Stokes should not be seen a coup signing for any club never mind LoI. O'Donnell was of course a big influence both on the pitch and then off before heading to St Pats. The bigger loss to Dundalk from the backroom was Higgins imo. He just seemed to have the tactical nous that complimented the manager/head coach. Filipo could well have been a success with a backroom of Higgo/ O'Donnell. They wanted off to do their own thing obviously but O'Donnell seemed to be in the plans for the future, how things ave developed at St Pats seems to vindicate that thinking. Garts would be another that the club should consider for a role behind the scenes, initially with the academy and as an analyst, when he quits playing.
Hoban is able to play as a poacher type striker and could fit in to Rovers system. If anything, his more recent tendency to drop deep for the ball is due to a lack of midfielders driving on - with someone like Towell who would push on, Rovers beaing able to supply balls from width also, I think Hoban would be a fit. Not that Id want him to go to Tallaght, just that Dundalk for a while havent played to his strengths.
Hoban works his b**ls off.A lot of people don't see that.He is one of the hardest working players you'll see.(needs to work on his penos though :( )
As for Stevie O managing Dundalk? Would have been the perfect fit. And they'll let Garts go as well i bet before they consider him for a job "up stairs".
24/06/2021, 5:44 AM
Hoban has probably been the main link man between midfield and attack which shouldnt be his job, he can hardly get on the end of the ball he has just won in midfield. Either midfield need to bomb on ahead of him when it happens or ye need to play a second striker that sticks to running the line. Penos aside, the annual drop off of Hoban's strike rate says more about supply and how he has had to adapt. His finishing has dropped off, but then when you are busting a gut trying to win ball, and then also trying to get on the end of chances when they are created for him, he's having to throw himself at the chance or its a tired effort, finishing is also a use it or lose it skill where a run of scoring snowballs. Missing from 6 yds s criminal in most cases, with Hoban he has become a deep lying forward and has lost some edge because of that - he could go through lean patches like any striker of course too. 2 defensive midfielders and McEleney in front just doesnt click, Fats creates space and chances for himself (not in a greedy manner) unless he is playing with some width and then is providing for the striker and the other wide player drifting inside along with his signature driving in to the box causing mayhem - willing raiding fullbacks overlapping and overloading helps just a bit, offsetting the centrally focused, laboured, predictable, almost static passing it across the back four before clipping it in with zero angle or whip...yawn ball!
placid casual
24/06/2021, 6:47 AM
Can't ever see Hoban playing for Rovers as I get the feeling neither side would be interested in that move. As stated above we'd take Duffy in a heartbeat, and I'd take Leahy as well if possible - we have no discernible, fit left back atm.
24/06/2021, 6:57 AM
One of our most reliable *cough* local journalists claiming he is off to Linfield.
dundalkfc10
24/06/2021, 9:50 AM
Can't ever see Hoban playing for Rovers as I get the feeling neither side would be interested in that move. As stated above we'd take Duffy in a heartbeat, and I'd take Leahy as well if possible - we have no discernible, fit left back atm.
Leahy has been very disappointing since he came to Dundalk
dundalkfc10
24/06/2021, 9:51 AM
One of them will be a fair bit sooner.
Hoban is leaving and good riddance, hope he takes his super agent best friend with him.
sbgawa
24/06/2021, 10:15 AM
Hoban is leaving and good riddance, hope he takes his super agent best friend with him.
Jeez that's a bit harsh for a guy who has been your top scorer and won a bunch of leagues with you.
If Hoban leaves as well that is two big players gone with an easy Euro run where you could pick up a multiple of their wages.
You'd have to think Vinny has a few loan signings targeted as well as Patching coming back from Derry
dundalkfc10
24/06/2021, 11:27 AM
Jeez that's a bit harsh for a guy who has been your top scorer and won a bunch of leagues with you.
If Hoban leaves as well that is two big players gone with an easy Euro run where you could pick up a multiple of their wages.
You'd have to think Vinny has a few loan signings targeted as well as Patching coming back from Derry
Maybe a bit harsh but his best friend is the agent helping destroy the club. Best mates with Bill, going with the club to European away games and now slowly getting all his players out of oriel. This agent hasnt been seen around town in a while, he certainly wont ever be able to have a pint in town again
24/06/2021, 11:55 AM
Talk of McEleney going to Glentoran too. Interesting strategy getting rid of your best players just before your most important period of the season.
Steve Bruce
24/06/2021, 12:27 PM
One of our most reliable *cough* local journalists claiming he is off to Linfield.
That rumour is spreading like wild fire. I hope it's true as we need a striker & he appears to be decent
Not referring to Hoban. One of the Derry men you mentioned is Belfast or Derry bound and very soon.
sbgawa
24/06/2021, 1:54 PM
Not referring to Hoban. One of the Derry men you mentioned is Belfast or Derry bound and very soon.
well its only a rumours forum so who do you reckon...Duffy or Fats?
Buller
24/06/2021, 3:46 PM
That rumour is spreading like wild fire. I hope it's true as we need a striker & he appears to be decent
Does Shayne Lavery still play for you? He was top quality when I saw your matches in Europe and against Dundalk last year.
EalingGreen
24/06/2021, 4:12 PM
Does Shayne Lavery still play for you? He was top quality when I saw your matches in Europe and against Dundalk last year.
No, just signed for Blackpool (newly promoted to the Championship):
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/57394315
From what little I've seen of him, I'd say he could play League One handy enough, but a level up will be a challenge, at least to start with.
Anyhow, it partly explains what Steve Bruce said earlier about Linfield needing strikers.
well its only a rumours forum so who do you reckon...Duffy or Fats?
Fats is signing for Derry or the Glens. I would still highly expect it to be Derry and it will be in July regardless of who it is to.
sbgawa
24/06/2021, 9:03 PM
Given his injury recoed since coming back from England he is a lot less of a loss to DFC than Sheilds or Hoban
joey B
25/06/2021, 1:25 PM
Anthony Stokes looking at a different kind of trial it seems now!
25/06/2021, 2:11 PM
Anthony Stokes looking at a different kind of trial it seems now!
Meow!!
McEleney hast justified his wage for a couple of seasons regardless of injuries. Quality still, trying to carry a side, but not the playmaker he was so maybe a change would be good. Id prefer to have a coach get a new lease of life out of him, but yeah not the loss it would seem at face value.
dundalkfc10
25/06/2021, 2:40 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/scottish-news/7309689/anthony-stokes-hunted-cops-warrant/
If as his lawyer said Stokes was in Glasgow until the start of the week, should he not be isolating as per covid guidance and not mixing with all the Rovers squad and staff?
dundalkfc10
25/06/2021, 2:42 PM
Fats is signing for Derry or the Glens. I would still highly expect it to be Derry and it will be in July regardless of who it is to.
It wont be until the end of the season after talks with Vinny this week.
He is our most valuable player, most chances we create he is involved somehow
Dalymountrower
25/06/2021, 3:01 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/scottish-news/7309689/anthony-stokes-hunted-cops-warrant/
If as his lawyer said Stokes was in Glasgow until the start of the week, should he not be isolating as per covid guidance and not mixing with all the Rovers squad and staff?
Alibi Rovers seem to be following Dundalk into the clown car business
Dalymountrower
25/06/2021, 3:35 PM
Your club offering him a "trial" is his alibi for not appearing for sentencing in a Scottish Court today. Bench warrant issued for his arrest. Anyway your Manager has said "He’ll be in with us now for the next few weeks and we’ll both have a good look at each other.". Both of them must be "going to the mattresses".
Kudos on the whataboutery.
25/06/2021, 6:09 PM
This could be entertaining!!
25/06/2021, 8:44 PM
Was it in Scotland that Anthony Stokes played his last football? Cant see any way out for him.
2 Year Contract
25/06/2021, 9:05 PM
Was it in Scotland that Anthony Stokes played his last football? Cant see any way out for him.
Last club yes, last football played no. He signed for Livingstone early 2020 midway through their season and left after a couple of weeks of not turning up for training, reportedly due to being unhappy to play on their Astro turf pitch
wexfordned
25/06/2021, 9:28 PM
Your club offering him a "trial" is his alibi for not appearing for sentencing in a Scottish Court today. Bench warrant issued for his arrest. Anyway your Manager has said "He’ll be in with us now for the next few weeks and we’ll both have a good look at each other.". Both of them must be "going to the mattresses".
Kudos on the whataboutery.
Can you imagine the contract negotiations between SRFC and Stokes with his agent. Well Anthony how much will you pay us for a 1 yr or 2 yr contract to avoid being sent back to Scotland for trial and a possible jail sentence?
Bunny Kelly
26/06/2021, 9:26 AM
I see O'Reilly & Mascoll are leaving Waterford, I assume Patching back to Dundalk, are there any other loans up as of July 1st?
26/06/2021, 4:37 PM
I see O'Reilly & Mascoll are leaving Waterford, I assume Patching back to Dundalk, are there any other loans up as of July 1st?
Not with us as Aaron ODriscolls loan deal was extended a few wks back. A very impressive player like his dad.
26/06/2021, 4:38 PM
Can you imagine the contract negotiations between SRFC and Stokes with his agent. Well Anthony how much will you pay us for a 1 yr or 2 yr contract to avoid being sent back to Scotland for trial and a possible jail sentence?
All over front page of Irish sun today! Surely the law will catch up with AS now unless he has a trick up his sleeve!
26/06/2021, 7:00 PM
I doubt he will be extradited...
Has to knock any potential signing for a LoI club on the head, hardly the image clubs want. It would be interesting if Rovers do sign him and then draw a UK club in Europe subsequently. Jesting aside though, its always disappointing to see any talented player go off the rails or be so wasteful, taking their ability for granted.
sulywaterfordfc
27/06/2021, 2:38 AM
Mascot was released by Bolton and at the end of his loan I suspect he’ll try find himself a conference prior to the season start in the UK. OReilly will be a big loss but his loan was due to expiry so it anticipated.
2 Year Contract
27/06/2021, 9:43 AM
Nahum Melvin-Lambert at pats has gone back to Reading. Scored 1 goal in 5 late sub appearances, he looked ok in that time but must have been something in training that O'Donnell didn’t like to play him more (Ronan Coughlan's form being another reason).
Alfie Lewis' loan was also only until the end of June but he’s been released by West Ham and pats are in talks to try get him on a permanent although I’d say he could return home to a league 1 or 2 club. Excellent play who was ridiculously incorrectly sent off on Friday
D24Saint
27/06/2021, 10:10 AM
Nahum Melvin-Lambert at pats has gone back to Reading. Scored 1 goal in 5 late sub appearances, he looked ok in that time but must have been something in training that O'Donnell didn’t like to play him more (Ronan Coughlan's form being another reason).
Alfie Lewis' loan was also only until the end of July but he’s been released by West Ham and pats are in talks to try get him on a permanent although I’d say he could return home to a league 1 or 2 club. Excellent play who was ridiculously incorrectly sent off on Friday
He didn’t feature much and that’s in a thin squad. It must have been something in training SOD didn’t like. He did well off the bench away to Drogheda. We need a replacement for backup sooner rather than later. I can’t see us hanging on to Lewis Id say we are a stop gap for a move to L1 or L2.
ontheotherhand
27/06/2021, 3:31 PM
A few glazers needed to put the houses around phibsborough back together I see.
Wouldn't be crazy about Stokes, would rather bring in a younger player with less baggage or just figure out a way to use Greene more like we did last year. He's the best in the league at what he does but we don't have the midfield to make it work right now.
Pats losing Lewis would slow their momentum down but would be some signing if they got it over the line. Could be the boost they need to keep their run going until the end.
Hoban joining the Dundalk exodus isn't surprising as he's been threatening to leave for a while. Is there a replacement lined up or would they be happy to finish the season with what they've got and then splash some more cash next season?
27/06/2021, 7:05 PM
A few glazers needed to put the houses around phibsborough back together I see.
Wouldn't be crazy about Stokes, would rather bring in a younger player with less baggage or just figure out a way to use Greene more like we did last year. He's the best in the league at what he does but we don't have the midfield to make it work right now.
Pats losing Lewis would slow their momentum down but would be some signing if they got it over the line. Could be the boost they need to keep their run going until the end.
Hoban joining the Dundalk exodus isn't surprising as he's been threatening to leave for a while. Is there a replacement lined up or would they be happy to finish the season with what they've got and then splash some more cash next season?
Whats that a 'defensive striker' role?