View Full Version : 2021 Season , Arrivals and departures
sbgawa
27/06/2021, 7:18 PM
Greener runs the lines better than anyone else in the division but needs attacking midfielders coming through as he isn't going to score 20 goals himself. Mceneff and Byrne not being there and scoring goals is the problem this season. Watts and finn , farrugia all being missing has really doubled the problem. Them coming back and towell coming in will hopefully turn things around.
ontheotherhand
27/06/2021, 9:31 PM
Whats that a 'defensive striker' role?
Defensive striker in a team that scored 44 goals in 18 games and set a new league record for games unbeaten? Sure, whatever you want to call it, it worked. He's good at what he does. And I say that as a man who wanted him nowhere near Rovers the second time around. He was brilliant for us. We just don't have the players to support him now. Maybe when Towell arrives. Sure we might see next week?
27/06/2021, 11:49 PM
Greene might be the best at running the line but he is a striker, there to put the ball in the net and his goal to chance ratio is not great. If he is effective why go after Stokes, if he needs an abundance of attacking midfielder talent Towell is in now and might help, will probably score more than Greene. Be an interesting mini half season duel. 18 games seasons dont count....
28/06/2021, 12:27 AM
Greene is the one who sets the press high up the pitch that results in Rovers winning the ball back in the opposition half. We haven't been half as good at that this year.
ontheotherhand
28/06/2021, 12:30 AM
Greene might be the best at running the line but he is a striker, there to put the ball in the net and his goal to chance ratio is not great. If he is effective why go after Stokes, if he needs an abundance of attacking midfielder talent Towell is in now and might help, will probably score more than Greene. Be an interesting mini half season duel. 18 games seasons dont count....
Not sure you read my posts? I covered all of those points. Take a casual glance around world football and you'll see plenty of examples of forwards who are there more to stretch defences and bring midfielders into the game than being poachers. The pure striker is a rarity. You might say hoban does both but without penos hoban scored less than Greene last season I'm fairly sure?
Thankfully for Dundalk it isn't an 18 game season this year and you have some time to get your act together.
ToberonaTornado
28/06/2021, 5:04 AM
Was out having a pint in Dundalk last night.**hic** so a few rumours floating about.
Hear Junior is going to Waterford next week ,McEleney to Derry but not until season is over. Dundalk interested in ending some players contracts before the end of the season on sizeable terms.Also interested(Dundalk) in bringing in 2/3 players,gk coach and fitness/recovery guy.
Dalymountrower
28/06/2021, 9:09 AM
A few glazers needed to put the houses around phibsborough back together I
?
Didn't see that in the news,?have Rovers fans been attacking coffee shops in Phibsboro again?
redobit
28/06/2021, 10:47 AM
Not sure you read my posts? I covered all of those points. Take a casual glance around world football and you'll see plenty of examples of forwards who are there more to stretch defences and bring midfielders into the game than being poachers. The pure striker is a rarity. You might say hoban does both but without penos hoban scored less than Greene last season I'm fairly sure?
Thankfully for Dundalk it isn't an 18 game season this year and you have some time to get your act together.
False 9s are very much dependent on the quality of your attacking midfielders. For teams where you can have big squads with plenty of options to change your attackers and midfielders (especially now with 5 subs) its fine. Big difference in smaller leagues when squads are tight and players aren't as capable. Football is a copycat sport in some respects and false 9s will have their day, but I'd prefer a 20 goal striker any day.
ontheotherhand
28/06/2021, 1:05 PM
False 9s are very much dependent on the quality of your attacking midfielders. For teams where you can have big squads with plenty of options to change your attackers and midfielders (especially now with 5 subs) its fine. Big difference in smaller leagues when squads are tight and players aren't as capable. Football is a copycat sport in some respects and false 9s will have their day, but I'd prefer a 20 goal striker any day.
Wouldn't disagree with much of that. Doesn't change the fact that Greene was a key piece of what was the best team in this country. Would I still have swapped him for Gary Twiggy in his prime? Sure...but I don't know if the team would have functioned as well.
It's all a bit off topic either way. Unless you have a 20 goal striker to sell us?
ontheotherhand
28/06/2021, 1:07 PM
Didn't see that in the news,?have Rovers fans been attacking coffee shops in Phibsboro again?
3/10. Not your best work.
28/06/2021, 1:49 PM
Was out having a pint in Dundalk last night.**hic** so a few rumours floating about.
Hear Junior is going to Waterford next week ,McEleney to Derry but not until season is over. Dundalk interested in ending some players contracts before the end of the season on sizeable terms.Also interested(Dundalk) in bringing in 2/3 players,gk coach and fitness/recovery guy.
From what I heard, McEleney is off to Glentoran, with a sizeable sign-on fee.
Mark Quigley is being approached by Drogheda United officials, according to twitter. Vastly experienced central forward has been offered a short term contract until the end of the season worth 1,8 grand a week plus bonuses. Profilic striker is currently with Sheriff YC. "We are still very much in this years open title race," says a United board member. "We just need even more goals, and Mark has shown everywhere he played he is capable of getting crucial goals. He may be past it a bit but still have this sweet right foot scoring some crackers in lower divisions. He would also be a great character in our young dressing room."
From what I heard, McEleney is off to Glentoran, with a sizeable sign-on fee.
Would be very surprised if that was the case as he has agreed everything with Derry. If they have come in with a too good to refuse offer in terms of signing on fee and wage and will let him commute from Derry then that would be the only way that works but he has just bought a new house in Derry and everything was verbally done and dusted with us so it would be surprise all round if he ends up anywhere else.
In all honesty that talk is highly likely to be nonsense.
pateen
30/06/2021, 3:34 PM
Could be a decent signing for The Rovers
https://www.the42.ie/seamas-keogh-sligo-rovers-transfer-southampton-5481466-Jun2021/
01/07/2021, 1:01 AM
This is all very strange. Surely Dundalk making the top four would be worth far more than whatever would be saved on cancelling these contracts?
Dalymountrower
01/07/2021, 2:53 AM
Mark Quigley is being approached by Drogheda United officials, according to twitter. Vastly experienced central forward has been offered a short term contract until the end of the season worth 1,8 grand a week plus bonuses. Profilic striker is currently with Sheriff YC. "We are still very much in this years open title race," says a United board member. "We just need even more goals, and Mark has shown everywhere he played he is capable of getting crucial goals. He may be past it a bit but still have this sweet right foot scoring some crackers in lower divisions. He would also be a great character in our young dressing room."
Un named Drogs Board member drunk dials journalist.
dundalkfc10
01/07/2021, 10:45 AM
This is all very strange. Surely Dundalk making the top four would be worth far more than whatever would be saved on cancelling these contracts?
It makes total sense to get rid of some of the bang average players brought in at the start of the season, Ole, Han etc not good enough, why bother keeping them if they are not going to be playing much or at all in some cases.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/07/2021, 4:55 PM
Junior gone to Derry on loan
Jack B
01/07/2021, 5:28 PM
Alfie Lewis signs for the rest of the season.
That's the league wrapped up.
ontheotherhand
01/07/2021, 5:33 PM
Alfie Lewis signs for the rest of the season.
That's the league wrapped up.
2 18 game seasons in one? Congrats. Did you win pre-season this year again as well? Some run.
I'm just hoping Rovers can get their act together in time for the post-season.
Jack B
01/07/2021, 6:02 PM
Did you win pre-season this year again as well?
You already know what the answer to that is.😎
Dalymountrower
01/07/2021, 6:34 PM
Alfie Lewis and Graham Burke both suspended for their respective games tomorrow
01/07/2021, 10:51 PM
Thomas Oluwa signed on loan from Bohs to gufc.
https://galwayunitedfc.ie/new-signing-joe-gorman-signs-for-galway-united/
02/07/2021, 9:54 AM
Good First Division player. Popped up with a few vital goals for us.
sulywaterfordfc
02/07/2021, 1:45 PM
Morris has registered as a player at Shels. Which is a bit of a weird one. Rennie is there as assistant, possibly taking more of a lead role?
sulywaterfordfc
02/07/2021, 1:46 PM
Also one of our new players whom hasn’t been announced yet has suffered a suspected broken hand just two days into the window
02/07/2021, 3:07 PM
Morris has registered as a player at Shels. Which is a bit of a weird one. Rennie is there as assistant, possibly taking more of a lead role?
He's a spring chicken at 34! Still a bit unusual.
total hoofball
02/07/2021, 9:43 PM
If Morris has registered it would be for emergency cover, we have 3 on-going injuries with a number of inexperienced young lads on the bench this season so not much room for any more injuries
But then you would think if you have 13 games until the end of the season with an 11 point lead Shels would just find some funds to sign someone for that assurance
sbgawa
02/07/2021, 10:03 PM
with an 11 point lead in that division Shels could register me and be fine
02/07/2021, 10:14 PM
Sam Verdon has left us to go to Bray Wanderers to rejoin a person who knows him well ex Longford town coach Gary Cronin.
03/07/2021, 12:45 AM
He didn't get much of a run this season so don't blame him for looking for football. He's probably not good enough to make much of an impact in the Premier Division but he's a good asset in the First. Trouble is that the same can be said for most of our current squad. They give everything they have but not many of them will be snapped up by a Premier team next year. I'm fine with that though as that's all we can afford at present.
RiffRaff
03/07/2021, 9:47 AM
He didn't get much of a run this season so don't blame him for looking for football. He's probably not good enough to make much of an impact in the Premier Division but he's a good asset in the First. Trouble is that the same can be said for most of our current squad. They give everything they have but not many of them will be snapped up by a Premier team next year. I'm fine with that though as that's all we can afford at present.
Grimes and Dervin probably the 2 that look like they belong at that level
03/07/2021, 12:37 PM
Aaron O'Driscoll as well but he's only on loan from Mansfield anyway. Lee Steacy maybe too.
2 Year Contract
03/07/2021, 12:45 PM
I haven’t seen much of Longford this season, how has Dean Byrne been this season? They last couple of years he definitely seemed like one that could make the step up to premier division standard but I haven’t heard too much about him this year
joey B
03/07/2021, 3:17 PM
Stephen Folan retires from football due to injury,sad to see things like that..
03/07/2021, 3:24 PM
I haven’t seen much of Longford this season, how has Dean Byrne been this season? They last couple of years he definitely seemed like one that could make the step up to premier division standard but I haven’t heard too much about him this year
Hasn't been great but he's had a few injuries. Had a couple of bad ones in recent years too which may be still impacting him. Definitely talented enough for the Premier Division alright.
Waterford signed Max Hutchison who is son of Don Hutchison the former Liverpool player and George Forrest who is son of the owner. A few more due to be signed.
Eric Molloy is apparently to leave as his short term contract is up with rumours of him going to Galway United.
joey B
04/07/2021, 3:38 PM
Harps sign Jordan Mustoe ,English left back who’s been around it seems ! Sean Kerrigan and Ger Doherty confirmed aswell.
https://galwayunitedfc.ie/new-signing-luke-dennison-signs-for-galway-united/
ToberonaTornado
08/07/2021, 7:41 PM
McEleney rumour :o
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/dundalk-star-patrick-mceleney-agrees-sensational-return-to-derry-city-3301675
Heading out for a few pints tomorrow night with "the lads". Will keep everybody abreast of the latest rumours of the cr*p going on here atm.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
08/07/2021, 8:24 PM
Derry have announced his signing at the end of the season and still saying they are trying to get him before that. Perth is none too impressed.
sbgawa
08/07/2021, 9:49 PM
Longford sign Dean Williams and darragh nugent from rovers.
Williams will probably get the immediate attention but nugent is an excellent player. Great signings for longford
Derry have announced his signing at the end of the season and still saying they are trying to get him before that. Perth is none too impressed.
Not Derry’s fault. Dundalk aware for weeks. Do they suggest Derry announce their signings round Dundalk’s schedule?
McEleney and Derry expected it to be July but obviously Derry not willing to fork out which makes sense as we are unlikely to achieve much this year anyway so save few months wages and a decent fee.
patrickccfc
08/07/2021, 10:16 PM
Dundalk furious about an early announcement of a pre-contract agreement. Ironic!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/07/2021, 1:21 PM
https://twitter.com/karlsheppard19/status/1413477489729548288?s=21
joey B
09/07/2021, 1:25 PM
Not Derry’s fault. Dundalk aware for weeks. Do they suggest Derry announce their signings round Dundalk’s schedule?
McEleney and Derry expected it to be July but obviously Derry not willing to fork out which makes sense as we are unlikely to achieve much this year anyway so save few months wages and a decent fee.
Would it not be awkward though for McEleney if for arguments sake Derry and Dundalk are both fighting for a European spot towards the end of the season, not saying he will be anything but a good pro but it would be hard for him I'd say.......
Won’t be hard for him at all he is a good lad and will do the right thing by downing tools completely.
mcgonigle
09/07/2021, 1:29 PM
https://twitter.com/karlsheppard19/status/1413477489729548288?s=21
Always makes me laugh this one. Sheppard used Dundalk to get more money out of Cork which they couldn't afford and he's the hero :D
placid casual
09/07/2021, 2:36 PM
Everytime I visualise the scene at dundalk I just have the song "My Way" in my head.
"And now, the end is near, and so I face....."