View Full Version : 2021 Season , Arrivals and departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31

joey B
27/07/2021, 3:10 PM
Basten Hery off to Derry

Odd for Bohs to send him to a team they might be competing for a European spot with….

Jack B
27/07/2021, 4:57 PM
Seems like we dodged a bullet with Hery. Haunting to think we'd have probably not gotten Lewis had he not bailed.

Valletta have confirmed that Kyrian Nwoko has left to join us on loan. Jaysus knows if he's actually any use but I've watched a 17 minute (!) highlight video of him on YouTube and have decided he's almost certainly firing us to the title.

Yossarian
27/07/2021, 5:28 PM
Valletta have confirmed that Kyrian Nwoko has left to join us on loan. Jaysus knows if he's actually any use but I've watched a 17 minute (!) highlight video of him on YouTube and have decided he's almost certainly firing us to the title.

I see he’s a current Maltese international. Will Pats suffer like us with players missing for a few games while on international duty?

27/07/2021, 10:29 PM

Outstanding ;);)

nr637
28/07/2021, 12:28 PM
Outstanding ;);)
Outstanding - song by the Gap Band, 1982 :cool:

28/07/2021, 3:57 PM
Now the money has run dry at Dundalk has our super agent moved on to S'OD and St Pats!?

joey B
02/08/2021, 2:30 PM
Liam Scales off to Celtic apparently..

Bucket
02/08/2021, 3:23 PM
I heard €600k is the fee. A fantastic young player, best of luck to him.

02/08/2021, 5:08 PM
I heard €600k is the fee. A fantastic young player, best of luck to him.

Wonder did UCD think of getting their cut of future transfers? LS is only over a year with Shamrock Rovers aint he?

Bucket
02/08/2021, 6:07 PM
If he moves before the age of 23 I think UCD would be due compensation, I'm open to correction on that though

02/08/2021, 6:32 PM
Meh its just a way for DD to transfer some money via one of his interests to another without it being 'investment'!

sbgawa
02/08/2021, 6:49 PM
To be fair from what I hear celtic are top bidder of 3 and its not 100% done yet

02/08/2021, 6:56 PM
Celtic's defence is utterly shambolic and they've been playing 3 academy prospects across the back four lately before the addition of Starfelt. There's only one LB in Greg Taylor who is well below the standard Celtic should have. I don't think there would ever be a better opportunity for Scales push and secure a first team spot with a big move across the Irish sea than this.

D24Saint
02/08/2021, 6:57 PM
Meh its just a way for DD to transfer some money via one of his interests to another without it being 'investment'!

The cynical side of me of thought the same way initially. It’s a good move for the chap and a nice few quid for Rovers either way.

placid casual
02/08/2021, 7:18 PM
Liam Scales is far and away the best LOI prospect for future Ireland international (not that thst means much these days), he has a great attitude and a determination to succeed. For me he's too good for that grubby sweaty club already , but clearly I'm biased.

2 Year Contract
02/08/2021, 7:41 PM
For me he's too good for that grubby sweaty club already , but clearly I'm biased.

You’re dead right, sure that’s why he’s leaving them

placid casual
02/08/2021, 8:07 PM
You’re dead right, sure that’s why he’s leaving them
I'd say Tommy Cooper is €hiteing himself

Dalymountrower
02/08/2021, 8:07 PM
Good for him, and UCD get a few Bob too?
A bit risky for Rovers letting him .go at this point in the season.Probably believe the league is won, which it probably is

02/08/2021, 8:15 PM
Makes sense selling him to someone with the profile of Celtic - all the easier to tempt new signings. Making cash is the name of the game here. It'll be interesting to see how it goes (if he does sign)

sbgawa
02/08/2021, 8:27 PM
Bazunu , Burke, Scales, McEneff, Zefi , Furlong plus a couple of others from Academy makes over 2 million plus over the last few years plus sell ons that might pay out big.
As Stu says makes potential signings realise Rovers is the place to be~
That has to be a big positive

Knocklyonhoop
03/08/2021, 12:22 AM
Good for him, and UCD get a few Bob too?
A bit risky for Rovers letting him .go at this point in the season.Probably believe the league is won, which it probably is

600k is hard to turn down and we have Kav and (hopefully soon) Farrugia who can cover LB effectively. Doubt it’s a “we’ve won the league already” scenario

sbgawa
03/08/2021, 5:23 AM
No loi club could turn down that kind of money. Scales could get injured next week and be out for weeks and that kind of money helps with next year's budget . Good luck to him wherever he goes

DCSIL
03/08/2021, 7:21 AM
Hopefully Rovers put a sell on clause in as after Six Months the Record will be trying to sell him to the English Premiership.

03/08/2021, 9:12 AM
I'd say Tommy Cooper is €hiteing himself

Tommy Cooper? That would be some feat and a tad more disturbing than his last show! Again I hope Bill and co are watching closely, and see how if things get done well you can make a return on the turnover of players, top the league, and stroll in to group stage European football!

placid casual
03/08/2021, 10:17 AM
There appears to be a lot of posts on this forum suggesting Rovers just have to turn up to get into the EL conference Group stages. There is still 2 European teams to overcome to get there, so nothing is guaranteed and my assumption is Bradley and his squad are not treating it thst way.

mcgonigle
03/08/2021, 11:18 AM
There appears to be a lot of posts on this forum suggesting Rovers just have to turn up to get into the EL conference Group stages. There is still 2 European teams to overcome to get there, so nothing is guaranteed and my assumption is Bradley and his squad are not treating it thst way.

Be honest, it would be a failure if Rovers do not qualify for the group stages

sbgawa
03/08/2021, 12:49 PM

I think what has people excited is that there is a do able pathway.
Id put our chances of beating the Albanians at 2 out of 3 times say 66%
I'd put our chances of beating Flora Tallin or the Cypriots at 50%
If that was a double with Paddy Power it would be .66 x .5 = 32% chance of winning both rounds and qualifying for Group stages.
That's a more than decent chance but i wouldn't be counting my chickens.

I watched both matches with Inter and the Albanians were the better side and managed to lose 2 nil at home to 2 very bad goals and i fancied them to win 3 nil in Andorra which they did.
They are a decent enough team but i dont think as good as Rovers (Hope)

Calcio Jack
03/08/2021, 12:52 PM

Oh dear spare us the the thinly disguised “when did you stop beating your wife..” not that clever

sbgawa
03/08/2021, 12:56 PM
I was at the match on Friday against Pats and was encouraged to see Farrugia running up the steps in the stand (should be back soon) and Kavanagh back in the squad the last few weeks.
Kavanagh and himself were supposed to be our wingbacks this year , Scales playing out there was a make do and mend which we wont have anymore if he is off to another club.

03/08/2021, 1:57 PM

Not like you to be playing down Rovers PC, fear creeping in, feeling the heat? Rovers have had their own big slice of luck of the draw, about as good as you'd get bar covid disrupted adjustments to competition for an unseeded side kicking off. It would go down as big an opportunity missed as there is for a LoI side to play group stages. A side that fell over the line against the Andorrans that 'really shambolic' Dundalk beat recently and Estonians that are behind the club domestically that 'shambolic' Dundalk knocked out! I'm sure Bradley and co are preparing for these games as they would for any game but it doesnt mean that there isnt expectation for our league champions to be beating the calibre of sides they are due to face.

It would be a failure Calico, as it would be for Dundalk even in current guise, wage bill and all, and should be considered so too. I do understand the need to play things down to try and soften any bad landing if there is disappointment from a shock result though. Jeez if you are critical in any way of Rovers it causes grumbles on small mindedness and talk them up and its a 'thinly disguised' anti Rovers sentiment also! Make yer minds up!

placid casual
03/08/2021, 3:13 PM
I expect Rovers to beat Teuta, its the scheduled game after that I was really referring to. If, in the unlikely event Flora beat Omnia, I wouldn't fancy Rovers chances against Omnia.
For what it's worth I think Rovers will get into the group stages but uts jot a foregone conclusion that dundalk & boez fans on here seem determined to impose - maybe as their own chances are limited by the non champions draw.
We'll see what plays out I guess

03/08/2021, 7:07 PM
I didnt realise Dermot Desmond has a 25% stake in shamrock rovers so makes sense why Celtic are after LS. Is Desmond going to increase his stake if LS move pays off?

03/08/2021, 7:55 PM
I didnt realise Dermot Desmond has a 25% stake in shamrock rovers so makes sense why Celtic are after LS. Is Desmond going to increase his stake if LS move pays off?

Perish the thought, he is a philanthropist at Rovers, businessman on everything else and just looking for a cheapo for his 1st grá from the feeder club:p I think Scales is worth his chance but ye can see why non Rovers fans will run with DD just balancing the books. McGrath's impact in SPL for nothing makes the likes of Scales worth a punt for Celtic. Be it a decade ago if the likes of Connor Sammon can generate transfer fees for Scottish clubs......

sbgawa
04/08/2021, 11:44 AM
See its being reported that deal not done with Celtic for Scales as a Premier league club interested now.
If i was Scales id go to Celtic tbh (and im not a Celtic fan) straight into the starting 11 and plenty of game time which is the most important thing for a young player

Dalymountrower
04/08/2021, 1:20 PM
Scales would be well advised to keep as far away from Celtic as possible, turning into a real basket case over there.
Championship side on the south coast of England would be ideal for him.Nicer climate and as far away from Sligo as possible.

sbgawa
04/08/2021, 1:24 PM
Twitter so can probably be disregarded but @loithings (all things loi) MK Dons trying to get Stephen Bradley to go to them.
That would be a blow at the wrong time.

Dalymountrower
04/08/2021, 1:47 PM
Twitter so can probably be disregarded but @loithings (all things loi) MK Dons trying to get Stephen Bradley to go to them.

Fair play to Bradley if he gets that gig.

ToberonaTornado
05/08/2021, 4:50 AM

Twitter is so blown up for being the greatest source of info for transfers it has actually become unreliable.
The latest is he'll be playing for SR v Teuta.
If i was a celtic fan - Liam would be one for the future but not one for right now and Celtic need right now atm from what i can see.

Dalymountrower
05/08/2021, 7:23 AM
Saw Bradley is at 12 to 1 to get MK Don's job.Looks like speculative stuff.
A bit of unwelcome distraction from Rovers most Important game this year.

05/08/2021, 10:29 AM
Its just noise, little distraction until an offer is made and if that happens its unlikely to be publicised until after the away leg. Rovers have a big enough established coaching staff to minimise the impact on a league campaign, the likes of Duff or even Robbie, McPhail could also step up short term. There are only so many he'd be able to take with him, Rovers management is collaborative in type. It does seem like bookmakers throwing a list together. It would be an interesting watch at Milton Keynes if it were to happen!

placid casual
05/08/2021, 10:46 AM
Duff works for shels, I believe. Keane is not involved with Rovers.
Bradley won't go anywhere until seasons end, if he decides to go at all. Depends on what transpires for Rovers in Europe I'd say.

05/08/2021, 3:47 PM
Regardless you'd expect Duff and Keane to be linked and McPhail also able to do things short term at a push. I think Bradley would be mad to go, he can pretty much be on cruise control here as opposed to building a side in the murky waters of Englands L1. Far away fields aint so green. I dont think he'd be interested unless its a big pay day irrespective of European results. I doubt think he is truly in consideration by MK Dons either.

SeanDrog
11/08/2021, 8:01 PM
Drogs sign centreback Joe Redmond from Birmingham .

joey B
17/08/2021, 1:04 PM
Adrian Carberry left Athlone,8 points off the play offs with what looked on paper a decent first division squad,the result the other night must have sealed his fate…

Nah Nah Nah Nah
17/08/2021, 1:12 PM
Andre Wright signed with us for the rest of the season

17/08/2021, 1:28 PM
Adrian Carberry left Athlone,8 points off the play offs with what looked on paper a decent first division squad,the result the other night must have sealed his fate…
Yeah, 13 points in the first 5 games, but then 9 points in the 14 since. Wasn't he being spoken of quite highly at the end of last season? Football's a rough aul game at times.

da bishop
17/08/2021, 1:51 PM
Yeah, 13 points in the first 5 games, but then 9 points in the 14 since. Wasn't he being spoken of quite highly at the end of last season? Football's a rough aul game at times.

Wouldn’t have thought so , while he had practically all amateur squad last season they looked a shambles at times ,didn’t get results and humiliated v Dundalk in FAI albeit after shocking Shels earlier.This season brought in more established players on a budget and after good start the wheels have come off,team looks rudderless and doesn’t look fit..Comes across as a nice fella maybe that’s the problem.

Dalymountrower
17/08/2021, 3:25 PM
Andre Wright signed with us for the rest of the season
Great signing.Your chances of finishing third are up a notch.

17/08/2021, 7:56 PM
Two new signings for Dundalk

Cameron Yates a Scottish goalkeeper
https://www.dundalkfc.com/new-signing-cameron-yates/

Sami Ben Amar a French born Tunisian
https://www.dundalkfc.com/new-signing-sami-ben-amar/

17/08/2021, 8:07 PM
Wycombe reserves and the French fourth/fifth tier? That... doesn't quite inspire confidence.

The Wycombe signing I can see the link cos of Horgan, but Perth saying they've watched a lot of Ben Amar's games in France - that's random. Either the club are wasting money going to random lower league French games, or they're signing players based on video highlights.