View Full Version : Limerick Junior Soccer 2004/05
inexile
14/09/2004, 1:49 PM
so i believe but that was probably gonna be the case cos any team tommy lynch is involved with will be well organised and will battle hard, also for some reason pike always seem to struggle to score goals
14/09/2004, 3:38 PM
Hea lads im the PRO for the supporters club and we'e getting the next editon of our fanzine (bringer of much needed finance) as you all have a good knowledge of the junior scene how would you like to do a few pages on it for us? take two teams each from the prem and write a few paras on them as in a season preview etc and one other team from any other league doing something similar. Higlight a star of the future too if you can. work out beteen yourselves which teams ye have most knowledge on and pm me and ill get the fanzine editors e-mail for ye. Thanks
T
shannonsider69
15/09/2004, 9:24 AM
Hiya guys, can anyone tell me when is the deadline for transferring both to the LDMC from the Desmond and vice-versa? I think it might bea round February sometime but I'm not certain.
Thanks!
inexile
15/09/2004, 9:29 AM
i dunno about inter-league transfers but the ldmc transfers run until january as far as i know but if you want to know this already dont you think you should do it now instead of waiting cos your obviously not happy where you are
15/09/2004, 4:52 PM
are been done can i have more takers please. oh and desmond league persons dont feel left out join in and tell us about the league too. pm me please
clownboy
16/09/2004, 7:14 AM
i dunno about inter-league transfers but the ldmc transfers run until january as far as i know but if you want to know this already dont you think you should do it now instead of waiting cos your obviously not happy where you are
On the subject of Transfers...I heard that Mark Houlihan is getting a transfer back to the Boro
inexile
16/09/2004, 8:24 AM
didnt heat that now but i have heard that brian lawlor hasnt trained for the view in weeks also heard lou quigley could be going to the boro, as for houlihan in fairness he wont be much of a loss to fairview it will probably give derek whyte 1 less selection problem
clownboy
16/09/2004, 9:02 AM
He will be a Loss alright ..He is a good player and he was rated up there because he played in all Fairviews 4 games
inexile
16/09/2004, 9:09 AM
i dunno though it seemed like a silly move to me cos in fairness he had a great season with the boro last year then to leave where he was garunteed a place to go up to fairview as at best 3rd choice centre half behind 2 internationals also heard he is a bit arrogant and that maybe he didnt fit in up there now i dunno how true that is i have never spoken to the man but i have heard it
clownboy
16/09/2004, 9:14 AM
I know him and to be honest i never found him arrogant..He seems like a nice young Lad to me ...and he could of pushed for a place elsewhere in the team as he can play numerous positions well...Very good player from what i have seen of him with Fairview..and probably should have stuck it out a bit longer
inexile
16/09/2004, 9:26 AM
well i definitly agree with you about sticking it out a bit longer but u never know what goes on in people heads maybe he felt he wasnt good enough but whats the story with lawlor is he going to go back?
clownboy
16/09/2004, 9:33 AM
He hasent asked for a transfer yet but id say that he will go back alright...In fairness to the 2 lads ..there friends are all with the Boro and they go out with them every sunday night, and i suppose they are guaranteed there places up at the boro whereas they would have to fight for a place at Fairview...
inexile
16/09/2004, 9:43 AM
yeah id say thats where the problem is coming from alright cos they are 2 good players and they prob dont fancy sitting on the bench waiting for their chance, they did have a lot to lose alright if they werent getting on with fairview why would they stay when their friends are all at the boro and they will get on
clownboy
16/09/2004, 9:47 AM
Anytime they were there they played
backodanet
16/09/2004, 9:56 AM
i heard lou was going to carew park but that was after the 9 - 1 drubbing
may have changed his mind now
never found houlihan to be arrogant - he's a good player came along way from 1a with caherdavin to playing oscar traynor and then up to fairview
inexile
16/09/2004, 9:57 AM
did they i didnt know that i dunno so as you say you know them so you would prob know better than anyone
inexile
16/09/2004, 10:18 AM
as i said i dont know him to call him arrogant but i was only repeating what i heard but if ye say he is not then he isnt
SouthCroydon
21/09/2004, 7:43 AM
just enquiring about limerick junior clubs entering the intermediate cup.do they enter.how do the limerick clubs compare say to rockmount or letterkenny
inexile
21/09/2004, 7:53 AM
they dont as its for intermediate teams only but it does compare favourably in my opinion as the top four in Limerick would be a match for most if not all of the Munster Senior League teams emphasised by Pikes run to the Munster Senior Cup semi final and Limerick Oscar Traynor Team thumping the Munster Senior League 7-0 in the competition last year
clownboy
24/09/2004, 9:54 AM
Lads,
Second round of the FAI Junior was made last night..Fairview away to hyde...Anybody got any other fixtures??
inexile
24/09/2004, 11:01 AM
jaysus no forgot all about it didnt hear a word? any idea where it could be found out?
inexile
24/09/2004, 11:16 AM
boro are at home to newport fairview-hyde didnt get any more yet
clownboy
26/09/2004, 8:19 AM
Full draw...Limerick area
Carew Park v Star Rovers
Caledonians F.C. v Lisnagry
Pike Rovers v Hill Clt.
Charleville v Caherdavin Utd.
Shannon Town v Ballynanty Rovers
Weston Villa. v Glenview Rvs.
Hyde Rgs. v Fairview Rgs.
Distillery Utd. v Granville Rgs.
St.Pauls or Bilboa v St.Patricks F.C.
Bruff Utd. v Hospital Crusaders F.C.
Holycross F.C. v Kilfinnan F.C.
Prospect Priory F.C. v Dromore Clt.
Moyross Utd. v St.Josephs F.C.
Caledonians F.C. v Herbertstown F.C.
Ballylanders F.C. v Park Rgs.
Kilmallock Utd. v U.L Aishling Annacotty
Janesboro v Newport F.C.
Summerville Rvs. v Croom Utd.
Murroe F.C. v Wembley Rvs.
Coonagh Utd v Kilteely F.C.
inexile
27/09/2004, 8:41 AM
No real big games there to be brutally honest if there is a shock it will be a big one.... does anyone know results and scorers from the matches yesterday
clownboy
27/09/2004, 8:56 AM
Balla 12 Athlunkard 0...skinner got 5 Earls x4 ..Conway, O'Doherty and Leo 1 each i think...View..5 Croom 0..John Fitz x2.Dave Wall Paul O'Donnell and an Og.Boro 2 Mungret 1 ..B.Conwayand Conor Lynch..+ Keith Mcnicholas for Mungret..Pike Beat regional 3-1 no scorers...Park beat summerville on pens...Charleville bet Kilmallock.Carew beat Parkville Geraldines..3 st joes 0, Fairview b...3 Shannon 1.and dromore 2 ...Prospect 0..thats all that i can remember...
inexile
27/09/2004, 9:27 AM
what was the fairview team i heard they were understrength due to Martin Nearys wedding
clownboy
27/09/2004, 9:36 AM
Missing Martin obviously...Jason Purcell, Kevin McCarthy, Sean Lipper and Trevor Higgins...But that shouldent and dident matter cos there is a fairly Big squad there.
1.Morgan Lewis 2.Trevor Cosgrave 3. Cian Hanrahan 4. Brian Buckley 5. Barry Heffernan 6.John Fitz 7.Tommy Barrett 8.Gary Hannon 9.Robbie Kelliher 10.Dave Wall 11.Paul O'Donnell
inexile
27/09/2004, 9:55 AM
yeah its still an impressive line up alright who was on the bench for them?
clownboy
27/09/2004, 9:58 AM
Lyne for Kelliher at half time...Guerin for Barrett and Hayes for Fitz 70 minutes...Alan Daly and Eoin Lynch were also on the bench
inexile
27/09/2004, 12:58 PM
robbie kelleher off at half time? the effects of the demon drink? injury or what?
clownboy
27/09/2004, 1:01 PM
Slight Knock
inexile
27/09/2004, 1:17 PM
will you go away outta that i saw him saturday night at his fathers birthday party on saturday night so dont be telling me lies, we all know the fairview players are human even though they dont show it all the time!! they do have the occaisonal drink im sure
clownboy
28/09/2004, 7:08 AM
Why did you ask then if you saw Him out??... and I dont think it is right posting peoples private bussiness on the net...especially when it nothing to do with football...and of course the Fairview players enjoy a drink ..they probably go out as much if not more than any other club in town...They just dont Go over board on Saturday nights...And after all its only JUNIOR soccer
inexile
28/09/2004, 2:12 PM
i was just curious to know thats all because id say the temptation is higher the higher the level because they would be playing opposition that would be no where near their league
SouthCroydon
03/10/2004, 11:25 AM
any results from the last few weeks hard to get the scores over here.also the league tables would be nice.cheers
clownboy
04/10/2004, 9:12 AM
Premier League October 3rd
Fairview…2 V Charleville…0
Abbey…0 V Pike…1
Janesboro…2 V Regional…0
Hill Celtic…2 Mungret..1
Premier League P W D L F A Pts
Fairview Rangers 6 5 1 0 27 6 16
Pike Rovers 7 5 1 1 19 5 16
Janesboro 7 3 2 2 9 8 11
Park Rangers 5 3 1 1 12 4 10
Ballynanty Rovers 5 3 1 1 9 11 10
Regional Utd 7 2 2 3 12 14 8
Carew Park 4 1 3 0 4 2 6
Abbey Rovers 5 2 0 3 6 8 6
Hill Celtic 7 2 0 5 10 25 6
Mungret Regional 7 1 2 5 9 23 5
Charleville 5 0 4 1 6 8 4
Summerville 5 0 1 4 9 13 1
inexile
04/10/2004, 9:26 AM
Got a few results from the last couple of weeks Hill Celtic 1-5 Fairview Fairview 2-0 Charleville Janesboro 2-1 Mungret Janesboro 2-0 Regional Balla 12-0 Athlunkard Abbey 3-1 Cals Pike 3-1 Regional 1 Corbally 4-3 Lisnagry Caherdavin 4-0 Herbertstown Caherdavin 2-0 Star didnt get any of yesterday if someone could provide them i would be very grateful
SouthCroydon
11/10/2004, 7:40 AM
how did the results go the weekend thanks for the league tables cheers
Limerick Boy
18/10/2004, 9:37 AM
i for 1 am sick of all the desmond leagues best young players leaving for the city. there would be plenty talent there to challenge the big limerick teams if all our young talent wasnt poached! :ball:
inexile
18/10/2004, 12:14 PM
what desmond league players are playing in the city i couldnt name 5 certainly not in the premier league so they cant be that great
Limerick Boy
18/10/2004, 4:14 PM
leonard sheahan(balla, from pallaskenry.) Danny Fitz(regional, askeaton) Mike Behan(regional, shanagolden) Shane O connor(regional, kildimo) Declan Nash(regional, kilcornan) Anthony Ryan(regional,askeaton)Joe Normoyle(pike, adare) Owen Lynch(fairview, Breska) keith hartnett and liam costello(limerick). just to mention a few. also there are a number of top quality youth players plying their trade in the city. regional seem to be the main culprits!!
inexile
19/10/2004, 11:45 AM
played against the regional players several times and to be honest they are nothing to write home about, leonard sheehan is an excellent squad player to have with his versatility but can say anything great about the rest
inexile
19/10/2004, 12:00 PM
thats joe normoyle that cant get into the pike team? fair enough with lynchie but he is playing in town 6/7 years now and the 2 lads with limerick are really setting the eircom league on fire arent they?
inexile
19/10/2004, 12:15 PM
what do ye think of the oscar traynor panel announced last night couple of strange heads in it, only one from balla? is there anyone on the panel you wouldnt have there? is there anyone not there that you would?
Pauliwallnuts
19/10/2004, 1:41 PM
In Fairness Limerick Boy the Clare League suffers from losing players to Limerick as well every year Davy Wall being a prime example.
And in general in the FAI Junior cup the Clare teams nearly always knock Desmond teams out. Case in point being Newmarket stuffed Rathkeale 4-0 & their not exactly doing great in the Clare league.In contrast last I heard Rathkeale were ****ing the Desmond league.
The Desmond league isn't a patch on the Clare League not to even talk about the Limerick league so regardless of whether you think players have been poached or not there is no way that any Desmond team can take on any of the top Limerick teams.
If you look at Ballingarry (Premier Desmond Winners) last year they were only able to scrape a bare 2-1 win against Kilkishen Celtic in the Munster Junior cup by scoring a last minute goal & they were only a 2nd division Clare side so I believe your statement that Desmond teams would be able to challenge the top Limerick teams to be well off the mark.
inexile
19/10/2004, 2:54 PM
in fairness paul your dead right however i would still say that the Limerick District League is still stronger than the Clare League despite the fact that the Clare League won the Oscar Traynor last year but there is a lot of quality players from Clare playing in the Limerick league way more so than the Desmond League
Limerick Boy
19/10/2004, 4:54 PM
the problem with the desmond league is that the good players are scattered around. many of the best players play in the 1st and 2nd division. transfers are practically non existent. if the larger clubs like ncw and rathkeale put as much effort into signin players as the fairviews and pikes than they would be well up there wit the top teams. they are happy to concentrate on winning their own league rather than compete nationally, i do not condone this, it is one of the many faults in the desmond league
Pauliwallnuts
20/10/2004, 10:13 AM
InExile I totally agree with you about the Limerick District league being stronger than the Clare League. There can be no doubt about that.
The fact that Fairview have won the FAI Junior cup so many times is testament to that. I think the best a Clare side have done is Avenue getting to the Final in the 80's.
Also I have played in both & while the style is alot different theres no doubt that Limerick has the stronger league. The facilities of course help alot as well. The Limerick League teams play a nicer brand of football than the Clare league teams who have alot more physical an approach to the game.Not saying of course by that there isn't good football played as well in Clare.
Outside of Clare players playing in Limerick there are also 2 Clare teams plying their trade in Limk (Park Rangers & Shannon Town). As far as I know Newtown also tried to join the Limerick league this year as well but their application was stifled by the Clare League.To be honest this all hurts the Clare League alot & it probably should never been allowed to happen at the time.
That said the 2002/2003 Clare Oscar Traynor team lost 6 players to Limerick after getting to the semi final of the competition but were still able to replace them & go on and win the 2003/2004 competition.
If there were ever an amalgamation between league it would be interesting but obviously that will never happen.
As for the Desmond League I'm afraid everything I have seen tells me that the standard isn't great in it but as you say Limerick Boy if clubs took the National comps more seriously there is no reason why it can't improve cause it certainly has a big enough catchment area.
By the way why was Limerick split into 2 different leagues in the 1st place.
Was it simply a distance thing ??
20/10/2004, 11:07 AM
Not too sure about the distance thing, if you consider that a club like Shannon Town or Park Rangers would have to travel 40 odd miles to get to places like Charleville or Ballylanders for potential fixtures and then back home again, whereas Mungret would only have to go 10 miles to play Rathkeale who are in another league.......
clownboy
20/10/2004, 12:55 PM
Id say that there could be too many teams...As it is in my Opinion there are too many teams in the LDL..not sure of the exact amount but there are 9 divisions with an average of 10 teams i presume...I havent got a clue how many are in the Desmond but im sure there are plenty...I just think that there would be too many teams if the 2 were to join together