View Full Version : Shay Given

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

02/01/2010, 2:53 PM
Given is basically identical to Casilias imo, with Cas probably edging it because he has played for a big team in big matches which Given hasn't. Both have weaknesses which people seem to ignore a lot of the time.

Buffon hands down is the best, he just has everything. He controls his box so well.
yep cech used to be the best IMO but dodgey a lot of the time since his run in with mr. Hunt

MeathDrog
16/01/2010, 5:11 PM
Given was caught out big time there by the free kick.

16/01/2010, 5:16 PM
Given was caught out big time there by the free kick.

I think Robinho deserves a fair share of the blame for leaving the wall, the ball went through the gap he left.

MeathDrog
16/01/2010, 5:23 PM
I think Robinho deserves a fair share of the blame for leaving the wall, the ball went through the gap he left.
Yeah true, but I just think that Given should have had it covered.

16/01/2010, 11:39 PM
Given reminds me of Reina a bit. Both know they haven't got the goods to come for crosses (Given's a it short; Reina just lacks co-ordination) but they do a good job of covering for it by organising their defences well. Unfortunately, neither has a fully dependable back four to cover for him.

Colbert Report
16/01/2010, 11:42 PM

It was de Jong, not Robinho.

27/01/2010, 9:02 PM
Ah man, gotta feel for Shay tonight, how many great saves does the guy have to make!

Made a great save from Fletcher and then next ball in Rooney scores the winners. Shay deserves to have a half decent defence in front of him.

gilberto_eire
27/01/2010, 9:15 PM
Ya, some disgraceful defending.

He saves their asses and they do the same thing again 20secs later, and let's be honest Rooney along with the rest of the United attackers are no beasts in the air

Manblue
27/01/2010, 9:20 PM
Ya, some disgraceful defending.

He saves their asses and they do the same thing again 20secs later, and let's be honest Rooney along with the rest of the United attackers are no beasts in the air

Take off the green glasses, made some good saves but was asleep for there first goal, have to do it for 90 minutes

Maroon 7
27/01/2010, 9:48 PM
Fwiw, in my observation, there is a good case for claiming that Given is the best keeper in the EPL at present (certainly the most consistent).

I actually think Reina is the best keeper in the Premier League at the moment. As good a keeper as Shay is (and he is good) he does have a tendency to stay rooted to his line and sometimes keepers have to come and claim balls or punch balls away just to relieve pressure.

28/01/2010, 12:29 AM
Does Reina do that?

gilberto_eire
28/01/2010, 12:36 AM
Take off the green glasses, made some good saves but was asleep for there first goal, have to do it for 90 minutes

Green glasses?, i only mentioned the save at the end in terms of saving them, it was a top drawer save.

Only saw the second half but he couldnt have been faulted for any of the goals.

How did he fall asleep for the first?, i shot from 20 yards into the corner :rolleyes:
As a matter of fact he did well to close down Giggs who was in for a 1 v 1 and forced Giggs wide, have a word with the CM's as to why Fletcher and Scholes were standing ready to strike on the edge of the box.

Second was well placed into the far corner(off the post) from 6 yards and the 3rd was a free header from 5 yards (after he did well to deal with one 20secs earlier)

So if he's called into action 4 times,three times from 5 yards and a 3rd from 20 yards and manages to save one of them i don't see how he had a bad game.

http://www.betscout.com/soccer/match/2010-01-27/manchester-united-manchester-city

eaststand85
28/01/2010, 8:19 AM
As good a keeper as Shay is (and he is good) he does have a tendency to stay rooted to his line and sometimes keepers have to come and claim balls or punch balls away just to relieve pressure.

he did well to close down Giggs who was in for a 1 v 1 and forced Giggs wide, have a word with the CM's as to why Fletcher and Scholes were standing ready to strike on the edge of the box.

Would agree that while Shay is a world class shot stopper and keeper generally the only slight fault with his game can be that he's sometimes reluctant to come off his line. However as Gilberto says he did very well to stop Giggs scoring in the build up to the first goal and couldn't have done anything more to prevent it so please take off the WUM glasses Manblue.

28/01/2010, 9:29 AM
Whoever was commentating the match last night said that Given could of come off his line in the lead up to the first goal. I thought so too but when they showed a replay of the goal's build-up from behind Given, it's clear that he made the right choice and did well in pushing Giggs wide. As for the actual goal itself, the shot took a deflection off the studs of a defender's boot and Given was left helpless.

seanfhear
28/01/2010, 11:13 AM
Whoever was commentating the match last night said that Given could of come off his line in the lead up to the first goal. I thought so too but when they showed a replay of the goal's build-up from behind Given, it's clear that he made the right choice and did well in pushing Giggs wide. As for the actual goal itself, the shot took a deflection off the studs of a defender's boot and Given was left helpless.
I think Given could have claimed that ball if he had come out decisively.

28/01/2010, 11:30 AM
I think Given could have claimed that ball if he had come out decisively.

Given's starting position was on the edge of the box. When the ball is kicked to Giggs there are at least three City defenders around Giggs and Given is backing back towards his goal-line when Giggs receives the ball. Giggs somewhat miscontrols the ball with his first touch and it's then Given goes out to close him down. Given is backing away from the ball and then needs to move towards the ball, whilst Giggs is in full flight and running in the same direction as the ball. There's no way Givens could get to the ball - the only thing we could do was close the angle for a shot - which he did. There's no way he could have known that 3 defenders would fail to deal with a cross field pass so he was correct in moving back towards the goal when that long pass was played.

I'm more inclined to point the finger at City's defenders, although I do agree that Given can be slow off his line on occasion. But I don't think he was at fault here.

28/01/2010, 11:42 AM
joe hart or given will be in the EPL team of the year as both have been outstanding all season. we can all analyse and be critical of the odd goal here and there that given conceded over the season but the protection in front of him is poor at best a lot of the time. this is bound to affect any GKs thinking during a match yet given has still been superb all season. its been said before but whoever in man city thought it was a good idea to sell dunne is an idiot

17/02/2010, 12:45 AM
http://footyroom.com/stoke-city-1-1-manchester-city-2010-02/

Whelan's goal, can't find his thread.
Struck it well.

17/02/2010, 1:43 AM
It wasn't a particularly brilliant strike. Given just had a shocker - he was at fault for the wrongly disallowed goal at the end too.

Serb
18/02/2010, 5:53 PM
God, that was awful from Given. He got down early, he was right behind the ball when he got his hands to it, he just totally messed up the save.

http://stuff.pmck.net/given.jpg

Having said that, the defending right up to when Whelan hit the ball was comical. Touré was slow to get near him and ended up turning his back on the shot.

yapster
19/02/2010, 9:52 PM
Given I feel is not as good as people make him out to be, some people say he is World Class but not by a long mile. A good EPL keeper and dependable 80% of the time. Has done really well for Ireland but I think he is becoming more error prone as the season goes on. He was stupid not to have left Newcastle at an earlier time and face it he has gone to another circus at Manchester City.

SwanVsDalton
19/02/2010, 10:15 PM
If every keeper was put under this kind of ridiculous scrutiny, then every single one of them would look shoddy. Given, with Reina, has probably been the most consistent goalkeeper in the EPL over the last few seasons. And I think his shop stopping is second to none. Sure he's not perfect, he made a howler last weekend - but his howlers are really few and far between. Also for the entire duration of his career he's never had the privilege of playing behind a really decent defence. Unlike plenty of other overrated GK's.

eaststand85
19/02/2010, 11:36 PM
Wenger must be kicking himself for not getting Given for Arsenal.

theworm2345
24/04/2010, 6:03 PM
Shay just ****ed up his shoulder making a save. Does not look good.

The Legend
24/04/2010, 6:04 PM
Yeah if we were going to the world cup, this would be a complete nightmare.

24/04/2010, 6:07 PM
Horrible scenes, doesnt look good. Bringing out the oxygen isnt a good sign. Hope the prognosis isnt as bad as it looks.

24/04/2010, 6:36 PM
Yeah if we were going to the world cup, this would be a complete nightmare.
Maybe Thierry Henry could have filled in?

Makes it worse that he injured himself making the only save of that awful, awful match.

SUB of the day
24/04/2010, 6:58 PM
Mancini looked genuinely concerned, Stephen ****** langer Ireland was laughing like a schoolboy.........

Colbert Report
24/04/2010, 7:18 PM
According to the Independent, it is a "suspected broken shoulder".

Given was in extreme pain and it was hard to watch. His season is obviously over, let's hope he's good to go in time for the start of the season in August.

24/04/2010, 7:31 PM
Having seen it again, I wouldn't overstate the oxygen aspect. He took a bit but then he pushed it away. Still looks a nasty injury, but maybe not as awful as it looked.

24/04/2010, 9:45 PM
I see our national broadcaster hasn't saw fit to even mention the injury on their website yet.

24/04/2010, 9:56 PM
They are leading with the story now, dislocated shoulder, relatively good news, better than could be expected.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/0424/givens.html

Scooby Doo
25/04/2010, 1:19 PM
Mancini looked genuinely concerned, Stephen ****** langer Ireland was laughing like a schoolboy.........
What? U saw this or you just assuming he was??

SUB of the day
25/04/2010, 5:25 PM
What? U saw this or you just assuming he was??

I was watching live on ESPN, absolutely shocking game, the injury to Shay woke me up.As he was recieving oxygen the camera panned to Mancini, and then the City bench,the golum double was laughing his arse off, obviously his own private joke, as the rest of the squad remained serious.God only knows what had him so amused, but given what was happening to Shay, a little cop on,wouldn't have gone astray.

rebelmusic
25/04/2010, 7:51 PM
Saw it too, to be honest considering the save, he came off lightly. Dislocated shoulder isnt really career threatening so im glad, thought it was a broken hand at first.
Only upside to this i guess is we'll get a proper look at westwood in the next friendlies and maybe trap will give murphy a run out now aswell

26/04/2010, 12:29 PM
Any news on the recovery period? Mentioned this morning Armenia game may be a doubt. If its the first dislocation my understanding is that its a fairly rough operation followed by a lengthy recovery period. You only pop it back in Bruce Willis style after subsequent dislocations.

26/04/2010, 12:39 PM
its always advisable to get a pin put in it or it will keep coming out again. duff had the same thing before

26/04/2010, 12:44 PM
latest from Man City: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/News/Team-news/2010/April/Given-to-see-specialists

26/04/2010, 12:53 PM
I thought it just had to be popped in, relocated.

Operation as in surgery? is that not a next to last resort ? That would mean there's a lot of damage.
I just remembered though, is it the same shoulder he had serious trouble with before?:pray:

27/04/2010, 8:22 AM
Ya the same shoulder, didnt realise the lad has turned 34 this year. Hope this injury doesnt become a persistent one as it is the type of injury that could see the demise of a goalkeeper.

The ever knowledgeable Lawro was on the last word yesterday evening, he apparently had the same injury and said he never fully recovered from it ie cant serve playing tennis etc. Admittedly the treatment he got 30 odd years ago is probably alot different to whats there now.

27/04/2010, 10:09 AM
Brian O'Driscoll made a full recovery from a similar injury though, in a far tougher sport.

My understanding is that the ligaments get stretched and have to be tightened to keep the shoulder in. Something like that anyway!

27/04/2010, 12:27 PM
Duff and Clinton Morrison have both suffered it in the recent path. Duff took judo lessons after it happened to learn how to fall without hurting himself IIRC

27/04/2010, 2:07 PM
Duff took judo lessons after it happened to learn how to fall without hurting himself IIRCPrompting some here to take it as meaning he took lessons in how to dive!

27/04/2010, 2:36 PM
More alluding to that the injury risk was greater from the fall, than what caused him to fall.

Junior
27/04/2010, 3:12 PM
Prompting some here to take it as meaning he took lessons in how to dive!

Duff was merely killing two birds with one stone.

27/04/2010, 7:50 PM
I was watching live on ESPN, absolutely shocking game, the injury to Shay woke me up.As he was recieving oxygen the camera panned to Mancini, and then the City bench,the golum double was laughing his arse off, obviously his own private joke, as the rest of the squad remained serious.God only knows what had him so amused, but given what was happening to Shay, a little cop on,wouldn't have gone astray.

I have it recorded from MOTD highlights, he does seem to be having a bit of a laugh.

backstothewall
27/04/2010, 8:46 PM
Don't take this the wrong way lads, but I'm kinda glad for Shay we aren't going to South Africa now. He would have been devestated to miss out like this.

yapster
27/04/2010, 9:32 PM
Prompting some here to take it as meaning he took lessons in how to dive!

Duff is a diver sadly...

Razors left peg
27/04/2010, 9:39 PM
Its a very odd feeling to want to punch someone square in the face when u have never met them or even seen them :)

yapster
27/04/2010, 9:55 PM
Meditation & Yoga or maybe Prozac should help with that...