View Full Version : Shay Given

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

TheOneWhoKnocks
20/12/2013, 11:02 AM
Would give Randolph a chance in the new year myself.

Fixer82
20/12/2013, 3:18 PM
No way, he's past it.
You could see it in the Euros.

Thanks for the great service Shay but you're grand. Forde is doing a great job.

Also, would it not be a bit awkward between Shay and Roy. They had a go at each other a few times through the press.
I think it would be more awkward because they're from the same era.
A younger player can get over it easier but a player of the same age can see it as disrespect from a colleague

20/12/2013, 3:28 PM
No way, he's past it.
You could see it in the Euros.

shay was injured in the euros and couldnt do himself justice. he wasnt even able to finish the pre croatia match warm up.
we are in no position to reject his likes should he make himself available again

20/12/2013, 5:21 PM
he should have excused himself.

We have two good keepers now. Given is just another good keeper now and should prove himself again with Boro before being called back up.

NeverFeltBetter
20/12/2013, 6:22 PM
It is ridiculous that this is still a discussion. Given's done at international level, and is heading that way at club level. The team has to more forward with new options.

21/12/2013, 8:11 PM
Another clean sheet for him today. Boros fortune have turned since he got in the team. But agree with the majority here that a return to the international set up would be a backward move at this stage for us.

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/12/2013, 11:09 PM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/given-returns-to-villa-253763.html

Will not be extending his loan at Middlesbrough according to this blurb.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/12/2013, 1:43 PM
http://www.mfc.co.uk/page/news/latest/0,,1~3598681,00.html

Loan extended by two months.

TheOneWhoKnocks
18/01/2014, 4:24 PM
6 clean sheets in 10 games for Shay, who was watched closely by former foe Roy Keane.

19/01/2014, 4:17 AM
6 clean sheets in 10 games for Shay, who was watched closely by former foe Roy Keane.

Foe?

He should never ever play for Ireland again.

NeverFeltBetter
19/01/2014, 6:42 PM
If Shay Given gets a call-up again I really will despair.

20/01/2014, 7:27 AM
If he's the best option, what's the problem?

DeLorean
20/01/2014, 11:58 AM
I agree. He is now playing regular football in the same division as Forde and is a far better goalkeeper at his best. 37 isn't too old for a keeper who does yoga :)

20/01/2014, 12:11 PM
You're only as old as the girl you're, eh, dating. I bet Shay feels 25 again!

20/01/2014, 11:10 PM
You're only as old as the girl you're, eh, dating. I bet Shay feels 25 again!

I feel 23.

I guess I still have residual bitterness over Euro2012 and him playing injured.

20/01/2014, 11:20 PM
I think you are just jealous Bonnie.

irishfan86
22/01/2014, 2:26 AM
I've generally been an advocate of moving on from Shay, but if he's refound his form, I don't see any reason why we shouldn't consider giving him back the gig.

Goalkeepers can play to 40 or beyond at a high level, and if he was indeed injured at the Euros it explains a lot. I'm open to him returning as our No. 1 for this campaign if Martin and Roy think he's our best option.

22/01/2014, 6:47 AM
Yep, if only to stop Paul O'Shea's accumulation of "I told you so" predictions about Forde.

If he's back playing well then fair enough., though I'd miss Fordes calm assurance under the high ball?

22/01/2014, 8:40 AM
Yep, if only to stop Paul O'Shea's accumulation of "I told you so" predictions about Forde.

If he's back playing well then fair enough., though I'd miss Fordes calm assurance under the high ball?
Fair enough, but the ? confuses me.

22/01/2014, 10:23 AM
It was an accidental "?".

22/01/2014, 1:55 PM
Fair enough, but the ? confuses me.

He is Ron Burgundy.

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/01/2014, 3:34 PM
Given saved a penalty. Middlesbrough 2-0 down to Leicester, who look like dead certs for promotion.

Yard of Pace
25/01/2014, 3:34 PM
..............as above!

Park_Lane
25/01/2014, 11:29 PM
His new gruaige is....er....different. I wonder if that the new Molly's influence?

TheOneWhoKnocks
25/01/2014, 11:50 PM
His new gruaige is....er....different. I wonder if that the new Molly's influence?

I presume that's Irish for haircut.

I imagine he is trying to usurp David Forde in the matinee idol throwback stakes.

25/01/2014, 11:55 PM
I presume that's Irish for haircut.
Definitely not a culchie.

CraftyToePoke
26/01/2014, 1:00 AM
Definitely not a culchie.

A Liverpool supporting, Robbie hating, Dub, CD.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/01/2014, 1:14 AM
A Liverpool supporting, Robbie hating, Dub, CD.

What does where I'm from or who I support have to do with anything? Some of my favourite footballers are Dubs. Robbie was one of my favourites along with Duff when they broke through!

CraftyToePoke
26/01/2014, 1:50 AM
Some of my favourite footballers are Dubs.

Who else would you list among your favourites TWOK ?

26/01/2014, 1:53 AM
Culchies, Liverpool fans and culchie Liverpool fans don't like Robbie Keane.

That's a scientific fact - there's no real evidence for it, but it is scientific fact.

26/01/2014, 1:58 AM
Culchies, Liverpool fans and culchie Liverpool fans don't like Robbie Keane.

That's a scientific fact - there's no real evidence for it, but it is scientific fact.
Culchies, Liverpool fans and culchie Liverpool fans have more genes in common with crabs than they do with you and me.

26/01/2014, 1:46 PM
Says the expert on crabs.

26/01/2014, 3:40 PM
Culchies, Liverpool fans and culchie Liverpool fans have more genes in common with crabs than they do with you and me.

I suppose with crabs having 8 legs they would be good footballers.

26/01/2014, 3:51 PM
I suppose with crabs having 8 legs they would be good footballers.
Mascherano being the archetypal crab.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/01/2014, 3:57 PM
Mascherano being the archetypal crab.

I suppose that would make Nigel De Jong a poor man's crab.

26/01/2014, 4:00 PM
No, De Jong looks normal. Mascherano is actually possibly a mutant with eight legs.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/01/2014, 4:06 PM
No, De Jong looks normal. Mascherano is actually possibly a mutant with eight legs.

How did the topic get switched from Given's mid-life crisis haircut to crabs?

26/01/2014, 6:11 PM
How did the topic get switched from Given's mid-life crisis haircut to crabs?

I blame Chris Morris.

26/01/2014, 7:07 PM
Score draw

26/01/2014, 10:27 PM
Score draw

Good for your pools.

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/02/2014, 4:03 PM
Kept his 8th clean sheet in 13 games today.

Westwood and Forde injured at the moment.

In the event that the latter is still injured next month, I wonder who will get the nod against Serbia; Randolph or Given. The former saved a penalty today.

01/02/2014, 5:24 PM
I don't rate Randolph. He has talent but several times I've seen him and been a bit disappointed in his performance.

SwanVsDalton
15/04/2014, 1:14 PM
Shay just got promoted to (http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10265~3768488,00.html) assist Paul Lambert at Villa, along with Gordon Cowans. Ian Culverhouse and Gary Karsa have been suspended for as yet unknown reasons.

30/04/2014, 9:27 AM
linked with a possible return to Man City in the summer, although given the source I wouldn't put too much faith in it: http://7500toholte.sbnation.com/2014/4/29/5664538/aston-villa-transfer-rumours-shay-given-manchester-city?

30/04/2014, 4:04 PM
At least it's not Goal.com Tets.

30/04/2014, 4:23 PM
At least it's not Goal.com Tets.

30/04/2014, 4:34 PM
City's third-choice keeper is Richard Wright (ex Arsenal and Ipswich), who's also their goalkeeping coach. Wouldn't be completely improbable if Given were a replacement.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/08/2014, 2:01 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/given-set-for-recall-as-oneill-puts-faith-in-seniority-30545885.html

The latest on the impending return of Shay Given.

TrapAPony
30/08/2014, 5:04 PM
Back in the Irish squad. Announced by FAI on twitter

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/08/2014, 5:13 PM
How in the name of God is Richard Keogh in that squad ahead of Damien Delaney or even Paul McShane?

I look forward to seeing decisions like this - and recalling Shay Given - come back to haunt us as I know they will.