View Full Version : Shay Given

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

08/02/2011, 1:52 PM
i am so sick of him
look at me, i am so great i am such a professional i am mister ireland, i'm great me......
ah get lost
If McCarthy is not available he is not available, he doest need you giving him stick in public

why does he have to play every single game. We need our sub keepers to get game time too. but this media darling is on a one man selfish crusade to break the caps record on his own.
Get over yourself, he was asked a question and gave his opinion, it's not like he sought out the journalist to have the quotes printed in the paper

Noelys Guitar
08/02/2011, 1:54 PM
Huge game for Given tonight. Has not looked good in our last two games and needs a good performance tonight. I've seen Westwood a few times this year and some very good but the odd error as well so by no means a certainty to unseat Given.

08/02/2011, 1:54 PM
i am so sick of him
look at me....

Alot of people on here feel the same way about you. not me mind I am very easy going:)

Are you ever happy?

08/02/2011, 2:07 PM
So you reckon Coventry City #1 Kieren Westwood is more in need of game time than rarely-used Manchester City substitute Shay Given? Interesting.

Nothing he says is interesting.

an_ceannaire
08/02/2011, 2:23 PM
Look i know i am hot headed and say things that irk a lot of lads on here, i hold my hands up on that one. i type in rage more often than in peace. But Christ, Given gets an easy ride from the Irish Media and in here.....
Yes he was a world class Keeper, yes he has been a superb servant for us and is by a mile the best keeper we ever had...
BUT
He doesnt half love to hear how great he is! And tell us how great he is..... whatever about currently, go back 12 months ago and prior to that. Would he let a sub keeper in for necessary game time? Would he ****! Sure Deano said as much many many times. Whats the point in me coming back when Shay wont even dream of budging even for meaningless friendlies! Keano was spot on about Shay.

Great keeper yes.......selfish, egotistical OTT mr nice guy.......yes
Andn re the JMc comments, he may not have asked to be asked, but he simmply could have said "i dont know the ins and outs so i wont comment on that" instead of his "I am Shay Given, I am so dedicated, I am so Irish me, so I am, adore me, adore me...."
Do me a favour....

Duggie
08/02/2011, 2:34 PM
why should shay step aside, if i was playing for ireland i would want to play every game aswell even if i had 200 caps. now i know its not ideal him not playing at city but like keano hes paid his dues over the years and should be given a bit of lee-way.

an_ceannaire
08/02/2011, 2:40 PM
Duggie just cos we "owe" shay, should he dictate who plays in goals for personal gain even if its detrimental to the team as a whole as it was for the last 5 years?

Junior
08/02/2011, 2:42 PM
An ignore function you say? emmm.....

08/02/2011, 2:45 PM
Duggie just cos we "owe" shay, should he dictate who plays in goals for personal gain even if its detrimental to the team as a whole as it was for the last 5 years?

How in any shape or form, was it detrimental having shay in goal for the last 5 years?

Duggie
08/02/2011, 2:46 PM

he plays in goal cause hes the best keeper we got and one of the best in the PL even if mancini dosent agree.

an_ceannaire
08/02/2011, 2:47 PM
POS u dont think it would have been better for the team to have played a sub keeper in friendly games no? Deano walked cos of it remember???!!! Why does shay need to play meaningless friendlies when we know exactly what he is all about.........at the moment is different as he is dropped, but when he was playing for Newcastle, why did he have to play EVERY game........we all know why

irishultra
08/02/2011, 7:43 PM
prob for the best that he played really...what use really is there for a secondary goalkeeper...its not like hes ever been injured for any long spells. we just have to hope a young keeper will emerge when shays time is up

seanfhear
08/02/2011, 9:06 PM
I believe that Westwood should have got a half tonight. If Given had an injury will Westwood have enough international experience.

the bear
08/02/2011, 9:23 PM
POS u dont think it would have been better for the team to have played a sub keeper in friendly games no? Deano walked cos of it remember???!!! Why does shay need to play meaningless friendlies when we know exactly what he is all about.........at the moment is different as he is dropped, but when he was playing for Newcastle, why did he have to play EVERY game........we all know why

what are ye on about? given doesn't pick the team. what are you suggesting he should of done?? should your problem not be with management

AlaskaFox
16/02/2011, 8:35 AM
Given willing to help Hart:
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6753885,00.html

16/02/2011, 8:42 AM
Fcuk all use to us that is.

Didnt play last night, hadnt he played most of their EL games to date?

16/02/2011, 8:48 AM
what are ye on about? given doesn't pick the team. what are you suggesting he should of done?? should your problem not be with management

Depends on who you talk to, bear. There have been plenty of reports the past number of years that when Shay Given wants to play in a friendly, Shay Given plays in the friendly. It isn't something I agree with, but there ya go.

Fixer82
16/02/2011, 12:20 PM

I agree. It's not Shay's fault if he gets/got played in every meaningless friendly but the manager's. Dean Kiely really should've had more game time for Ireland

I don't know why though??

Noelys Guitar
16/02/2011, 12:49 PM
Given's next competitive game is very likely to be the Macedonia game and thats not good. Anyone who has played the game at any level knows the difference between playing practice games and then playing in a competive match. Nerves. No tolerance for mistakes from your own manager and team mates. An opposition which is clinically out to win and finding out the difference between match fitness and general fitness. I'd rather have Given playing in the championship than warming the bench at City.

the bear
19/02/2011, 1:33 AM
the little that ive seen of given playing this season , he's looked shakey. he's been a our best performer over the last 10 years, always inspired confidence, just hasn't been the same watchin him this year he seems nervous and making a lot of small mistakes.

can't understand people giving out about a player wanting to play every match for his country, i wish they were all like that.

EastTerracer
20/02/2011, 1:03 PM
Not even on the bench for City today - hope he's not injured. The summer transfer window can't come quick enough.

20/02/2011, 3:23 PM
From the Guardian's Daniel Taylor. It's not good news...

Mancini post-match press conference: Shay Given has new shoulder injury and may need another operation #MCFC

EastTerracer
20/02/2011, 3:36 PM

Sounds like dislocated shoulder again and suggestion he may be out for rest of the season - disaster!

https://twitter.com/discomirror/status/39358942379380736

20/02/2011, 3:49 PM
Sickener, you're not getting any thanks for that.
Westwood it is then, 5 weeks to Macedonia.

Supposedly did it in the warmup for Aris on Tuesday

cornflakes
20/02/2011, 3:58 PM
maybe Westwood should of got game time against wales

20/02/2011, 4:34 PM
so glad we've given plenty of game time to Westwood just in case Given gets injured.......FFS.

Sullivinho
20/02/2011, 4:46 PM
Same shoulder. Not good at all.

so glad we've given plenty of game time to Westwood just in case Given gets injured.......FFS.

Yeah, the eggs in one basket idiom comes to mind. Should have had a half against Wales in fairness.

musicinmouth
20/02/2011, 4:52 PM
Westwood was due to play the 2nd half but he strained something in the warm up and decided not to risk it. Let's be fair to Trap.

How is Westwood's form?

Sullivinho
20/02/2011, 5:08 PM
Westwood was due to play the 2nd half but he strained something in the warm up and decided not to risk it. Let's be fair to Trap.

How is Westwood's form?

I wasn't aware. That's fair enough so.

Coventry fans (http://www.skybluestalk.co.uk/threads/7647-Possible-Westwood-replacements) seem to be in perpetual fear of losing him so he must be doing something right. I did hear a bad mistake mentioned on Sky Sports a week or so ago but I'll be the first to say I haven't been following their games too closely.

Noelys Guitar
20/02/2011, 5:25 PM
I've seen him a few times for Coventry (not the last few games though). Looked OK. Less error prone than Kenny but still a ways to go to get to Given's level when Given is at his best. What a great opportunity for him to cement his place in the team and I'm sure that is how he will look at it. If Shay is not able to make it I would not be worried about Westwood starting. I have a feeling a fair few of us will be trying to watch Coventry's next game. And he is first choice and playing every week.

20/02/2011, 5:48 PM
Westwood's a perfectly decent understudy. I think we're actually reasonably well placed to cope without Shay and Robbie. Despite all the gloom around the team these days I'm not sure we'd have been able to say the same a few years ago. Wayne Henderson never really filled me with any confidence when Shay was injured a few years ago. Westwood is far better.

Noelys Guitar
20/02/2011, 6:38 PM
Westwood's a perfectly decent understudy. I think we're actually reasonably well placed to cope without Shay and Robbie. Despite all the gloom around the team these days I'm not sure we'd have been able to say the same a few years ago. Wayne Henderson never really filled me with any confidence when Shay was injured a few years ago. Westwood is far better.

Agree with that. Westwood has the potential to play in the Premiership and could well keep on improving. And nothing wrong with having two top keepers vying for a spot. Amazing to think the team to start against Macedonia could have 5 or even 6 different players from that which started against Slovakia. Westwood, Clark, Duff, Doyle, Gibson and Coleman.

21/02/2011, 9:47 AM

Westwood has been getting plenty game time week in, week out, try to shore up a weak Coventry defence. Given needed that game time against Wales since he hadn't had a game for months (?) but now without possibly Robbie and Shay, we enter unchartered waters.

SwanVsDalton
21/02/2011, 11:03 AM
Agree with that. Westwood has the potential to play in the Premiership and could well keep on improving. And nothing wrong with having two top keepers vying for a spot. Amazing to think the team to start against Macedonia could have 5 or even 6 different players from that which started against Slovakia. Westwood, Clark, Duff, Doyle, Gibson and Coleman.

In fairness I think the side has always had a few 'bolters' who've emerged in the long gaps between international games. Andrews, Sledge, Lawrence and the like. We've a decent pool of talent to be calling on at this point, encouragingly enough.

Blow to lose Shay but I have every faith in Westwood. Tis a bit of a shame he didn't get Wales game time but he could have a very good game. Who'd be the three keepers with no Shay? Anybody think Kenny could get back in or would it still be Brian Murphy?

21/02/2011, 11:06 AM
Murphy broke his ankle a few weeks ago and isn't expected back until the end of March.
I think David Forde was mentioned as being watched a few times by the management team?

SwanVsDalton
21/02/2011, 11:25 AM
Murphy broke his ankle a few weeks ago and isn't expected back until the end of March.
I think David Forde was mentioned as being watched a few times by the management team?

Go on David 'Three Fish Suppers' Forde! It's hardly relevant but fourth choice keeper is pretty much up for grabs and with B Murphy out and Kenny likely ignored, he'd be in prime position. Darren Randolph would be another I suppose?

TrapAPony
21/02/2011, 11:33 AM
Paddy Kenny should get a call up.

21/02/2011, 11:37 AM
Joe Murphy has traditionally been number 3, no?

Westwood is the stand out candidate. Kenny won't be called up so it could be Murphy, Randolph or Doyle I reckon. What odds on a return for Deano?! Still sub for WBA at the ripe old age of 63.

21/02/2011, 11:58 AM
Was going to post this earlier, but Graham Stack has been getting a run in the last three games for Hibs. They've won all three, and only conceded once, after losing the previous 5 and conceding 8 in those games!
Probably an outside bet (at best) but it's good to see anyway.

SwanVsDalton
21/02/2011, 1:06 PM
Joe Murphy has traditionally been number 3, no?

Westwood is the stand out candidate. Kenny won't be called up so it could be Murphy, Randolph or Doyle I reckon. What odds on a return for Deano?! Still sub for WBA at the ripe old age of 63.

Yeah, I'm thinking number four, assuming three keepers would still be called up if Given's missing in the coming months. If Brian Murphy's out, it's between Forde, Randolph and Doyle. And, even with my Derry bias, I'd have Championship number one ahead of an SPL starter and Prem bench warmer/squad player.

punkrocket
21/02/2011, 1:20 PM
Now Given at his best is one of the best in the world but recently, through no fault of his own and it pains me to say it, has really shown his ring rustiness in the (competitive) games he's been in, way below his usual standards. In a perfect world he'll get out of City some time soon and put it all behind him but in the meantime it's Westwood's chance to show what he's made of. I hope he's up to it. To tell the truth I'd be nervous whoever was in goals, new guy or bench warmer.

gastric
22/02/2011, 9:10 AM
Given out of the Macedonia game , in fact some newspapers are indicating he could have a season ending injury. Kieron Westwood, your opportunity has arrived. Pady Kenny needs a telephone call to back him up.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0222/trapattoni.html

the bear
22/02/2011, 10:27 AM
given and keane both out for macedonia game, could be a blessing in disguise. force a bit of freshness into the team

22/02/2011, 2:17 PM
I remember before the Cyprus home game (start of the 03/04 campaign?) Robbie injured himself in a pre-season game at Ibrox and was a major doubt. I was really anxious. Now I just think that any one of Long, Best, Walters or Stokes could come in and do a job. Likewise with Shay - Westwood is a very good keeper. This could be one of those seismic moments in the development of this team.

We could finish this campaign with Westwood, Clark, St. Ledger, Coleman, Long, Wilson, McCarthy (!), Foley, Lawrence, Best, Cunningham, Green, Andrews, Whelan, Walters, Stokes and Gibson all having played a part. Of these I think only Long and Gibson had been capped pre-Trap. Only Lawrence, Whelan, Andrews and Sledge were regulars in the last campaign. This team is changing by stealth - or at least it shows some signs of "succession" on the horizon.

Drumcondra 69er
22/02/2011, 5:52 PM
I remember before the Cyprus home game (start of the 03/04 campaign?) Robbie injured himself in a pre-season game at Ibrox and was a major doubt. I was really anxious. Now I just think that any one of Long, Best, Walters or Stokes could come in and do a job. Likewise with Shay - Westwood is a very good keeper. This could be one of those seismic moments in the development of this team.

We could finish this campaign with Westwood, Clark, St. Ledger, Coleman, Long, Wilson, McCarthy (!), Foley, Lawrence, Best, Cunningham, Green, Andrews, Whelan, Walters, Stokes and Gibson all having played a part. Of these I think only Long and Gibson had been capped pre-Trap. Only Lawrence, Whelan, Andrews and Sledge were regulars in the last campaign. This team is changing by stealth - or at least it shows some signs of "succession" on the horizon.

Yet there's a myth peddled out there that Trap doesn't change the squad....

23/02/2011, 9:12 AM
given and keane both out for macedonia game, could be a blessing in disguise. force a bit of freshness into the team

Our best keeper and our leading scorer out. Yes, let's bring in a bit of "freshness" with two Championship players replacing them. I would have put money down on Keane scoring against Macedonia.

I have seen Westwood a few times this season. I am not convinced. Certainly not in the Given class but with a bit of shake 'n vac, let's put the freshness back!!

23/02/2011, 10:38 AM
Two players in form though Owlsfan. Shane Long could score goals with his eyes closed atm & Westwood has played well all season so I'm not overly concerned about losing both players.

23/02/2011, 10:40 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/m/man_city/9403128.stm

Given out for 3 months.

23/02/2011, 11:33 AM
Whatever about missing the Macedonia game, the real worry here is the long term effects of this injury.
Apparently the shoulder was under no real stress when it was dislocated, so its going to affect his confidence when/if he does recover.

Get well soon Shay.

23/02/2011, 11:49 AM
Good point Joe. Guy I play football with a guy from work has dislocated his shoulder about 8 times. He has ran into me twice and it 'went'. Every time Given dives on his shoulder it must be in the back of his mind that it will pop out.