View Full Version : Shay Given

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

16/11/2011, 9:41 AM
Hmmm, two poor efforts now against Armenia and Estonia last night. We certainly can't afford to be giving soft goals like those away in the Finals. An abberation or is Shay in decline? Never remember him letting in soft ones like those before.

Happy to give the lad the benefit of the doubt, particularly last night, many minds werent exacted totally focused on the game last night. However, both goals were his fault and with Westwood ever emerging there isnt a place for such errors. We could still have had that clean sheet record.

brine3
16/11/2011, 10:06 AM
We certainly wouldn't have had the clean sheet record if he hadn't been playing in Moscow.

But yeah, what he did last night is the dodgiest bit of keeping I've seen him do in his 120 caps for Ireland. It seems to always happen when he has to dive very low to his right. Italy, Armenia and now Estonia. It's his right shoulder that's always at him, isn't it? I hope it clears up...

16/11/2011, 11:08 AM
Christ but that ball took a serious dip at the last minute though. Still no excuse and should have saved it, but until then he was relatively untroubled, so you could forgive him for a lapse in concentration.

Drumcondra 69er
16/11/2011, 12:17 PM
Dreaadful error as was the one v Armenia. Still a legend and top top keeper though and at least he's getting his mistakes out of the way in games where it doesn't matter.

an_ceannaire
16/11/2011, 1:03 PM
too fond of the sound of his own voice.
Superb servant for Ireland thought and deserves the benefit of the doubt. No fear for him atall
But certainly loves being loved all the same

DannyInvincible
16/11/2011, 5:28 PM

In what sense?

Who wouldn't?

17/11/2011, 8:22 AM
Superb servant for Ireland thought and deserves the benefit of the doubt. No fear for him atall

Very confused by this, what makes you say that?

17/11/2011, 9:04 AM
The on-pitch big-screen interviews the last two games? Not that they were his choice, of course.

17/11/2011, 10:36 AM
an_ceannaire isn't used to people actually wanting to be liked. His default setting is to attract derision.

theworm2345
03/12/2011, 5:12 PM
Shay just gone off with what appears to be an injury to his left hamstring...doesn't look good. Sprinted from his goal to clear a ball, they were carrying him off the pitch. Not good.

tommy_c12000
03/12/2011, 5:33 PM
Shay just gone off with what appears to be an injury to his left hamstring...doesn't look good. Sprinted from his goal to clear a ball, they were carrying him off the pitch. Not good.

Looked like left hamstring alright. But was a bit concerning the manner in which he wasn't able to weight bear coming off. Hopefully the left knee isn't involved as well

theworm2345
05/12/2011, 1:19 AM
Injury doesn't appear to be serious
http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10265~2536610,00.html

Shilts
05/12/2011, 10:51 AM
Christ but that ball took a serious dip at the last minute though. Still no excuse and should have saved it, but until then he was relatively untroubled, so you could forgive him for a lapse in concentration.

Forgive him for a lapse in concentration???
Trap needs to keep an eye on this issue.
And not let it turn into Bonnar 94, where Packie was kept on too long in my opinion.

Shilts
05/12/2011, 10:53 AM
Also in my opinion Given has not been as good since the big guy from West Ham clattered into him a few years back. Harewood??

(Similar to Cech after the Hunt incident?)

SwanVsDalton
05/12/2011, 11:51 AM
Shay's having a really very,very good season with Villa so far - their meagre points total would be considerably lower if it were not for some great saves and smart keeping. Let's not lose the run of ourselves here, he's still one of the most consistent goalkeepers in the Premier League

theworm2345
06/12/2011, 1:57 AM
Given out for a month, a little more serious than I expected but could've been worse.
http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10265~2538434,00.html

DannyInvincible
11/01/2012, 7:33 AM
Shay will be fit again for selection for Villa against Everton on Saturday.

11/01/2012, 9:35 AM
Shay will be fit again for selection for Villa against Everton on Saturday.The week after I finally remove him from my fantasy football team
Typical.

theworm2345
14/01/2012, 8:13 PM
Was supposedly in fine form today on his return from injury, no surprise (and against a usually pretty feckless Everton attack) but still good news.

Predator
15/01/2012, 1:17 PM
Given was brilliant. Not only did he have to contend with the Everton attack, but he had to save a goal bound effort from his own left back.

26/03/2012, 9:35 PM
Shay on motd 3 on the beeb website, general thoughts on euros. If u ask me, sounds like he'll be around for another campaign

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17511306

Sullivinho
26/03/2012, 9:44 PM
Shay on motd 3 on the beeb website, general thoughts on euros. If u ask me, sounds like he'll be around for another campaign

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17511306

Saw him on MotD2 there too last night. They did a nice piece highlighting the fact he's now among the top 10 most capped GKs in international football history. I get the impression he'll stick around for one more round as well.

Fixer82
26/03/2012, 9:59 PM
Saw him on MotD2 there too last night. They did a nice piece highlighting the fact he's now among the top 10 most capped GKs in international football history. I get the impression he'll stick around for one more round as well.

ha ha presenter is hardly sitting on the fence is he

Olé Olé
26/03/2012, 11:31 PM
Does seem like Shay could stick around for the World Cup qualifiers. The fact that he penned a 5 years contract with Villa last summer demonstrates the longevity he intends to apply to his career.

French Toasht
26/03/2012, 11:48 PM
To be honest I get the impression from that piece, he is going to call it a day after the Euros. Because the fact he has to "consider" it, means retirement is very much in his plans.

If you were going to remain playing for Ireland, you wouldn't be as cagey in your response. He's 36 in a few weeks. I think the Euros will be his swansong. Incidentally, I think Duff will bow out as well after the summer.

27/03/2012, 10:39 AM
ha ha presenter is hardly sitting on the fence is he

Looks like he might be on 'our' side of the fence up there if you know what I mean.

FT, I think you have a point. I think the main ones that will consider their position are Shay, Dunne, Duff and Keane. I think there is a decent chance all four will stay and they may be swayed by what the others do. My greatest concern would be around Dunne. He has had a few injuries in recent years and he also is the player we could least afford to do without. Keane, probably will stay but travel will be a factor for him. Duff simply loves playing for Ireland but if the lads that he grew up playing for Ireland call it a day he may also do the same.

DannyInvincible
27/03/2012, 11:38 AM
Looks like he might be on 'our' side of the fence up there if you know what I mean.

Murray is a NI fan, but I'm sure that doesn't mean he'd begrudge any success of ours.

DeLorean
27/03/2012, 12:27 PM

I think that's a Given :o

Seriously though, I'd say he'll definitely be around for the next campaign. He's really looking after himself and it's obvious he wants to play as many games for us as possible. Unfortunately he doesn't have many medals to show for his career so at least it would be nice to say 'I was the most capped this or the most capped that'. Plus, and most importantly, he's still good enough.

DannyInvincible
27/03/2012, 6:09 PM
I can't envisage Given wanting to retire. I'd say he'll keep himself available until he's deemed dispensable by the management. Didn't Roy Keane once criticise his impressive tally of caps as if such commitment and dedication were negative traits? If he was planning on retiring, why wouldn't he just say? It's not as if anyone would begrudge such a decision given the service he's offered us over the past decade and a half.

Yard of Pace
27/03/2012, 6:18 PM
Unfortunately he doesn't have many medals to show for his career.

His Euro2012 winner's medal should more than make up for that.

29/03/2012, 3:36 PM
This suggests he might fancy another tilt at the World Cup...

http://www.rte.ie/sport/news/2012/0329/315472-given-still-not-over-pain-of-paris/

Junior
30/03/2012, 1:23 PM
Is it just me or what but I can see him having another 5 yrs+ in him. It would only be a dip in form or someone coming through and looking a better option that would change that but retirement for Given just seems way down the line in my eyes....

30/03/2012, 2:31 PM
There is no direct replacement as far as I can see. Kieran Westwood needs to be getting first team football to be considered as replacement, he's definitely good enough, but not getting first team football hurts his chances of becoming Ireland number 1 in the future.

As for Shay, I'd reckon he has another 4 or 5 years in him easily at the top level.

Yard of Pace
30/03/2012, 5:13 PM
There is no direct replacement as far as I can see. Kieran Westwood needs to be getting first team football to be considered as replacement, he's definitely good enough, but not getting first team football hurts his chances of becoming Ireland number 1 in the future.

As for Shay, I'd reckon he has another 4 or 5 years in him easily at the top level.

His contract with Villa expires when he's 40, so he could earn, what another....50 caps or so. That'd be some record to have, in fairness. I'd firmly believe he's capable of it.

15/04/2012, 9:23 PM
I've been worried about shay the last year or so,having watched another performance today I definitley feel he is on a gradual slow slope downhill.he made some great reflex saves today becaude his brain is the same I.e. his positional sense is still very good and balls coming straight at him should always be saved as they were.but his body or those reactionary saves that used to make you sit up and say wow now seem to be a thing of the past.

15/04/2012, 9:44 PM
What the difference between a reflex save and a reactionary save?

the bear
15/04/2012, 10:35 PM

means the same thing to me. i defo amn't as confident in shay as i used to be. a few years ago youd nearly expect him to save 1 on 1's . he performed some heroics in the irish shirt

15/04/2012, 11:50 PM
I expect he is saving himself for the Summer, no point getting himself injured before then they are pretty sure to stay up.

16/04/2012, 10:44 AM

A reflex save is one where he isnt in control and its just body movements, normal reflex movement.

A reactionary save is where he sees the danger or reacts in time to get across and make the save.

The second one being where shay used to make some great double saves, or get across and a palm to a shot in serious quick time when you wouldn't expect him to get near it. The best definition of reactionary would be schmeichel getting down and lifting that ball over the crossbar for UTD all those years ago.

16/04/2012, 11:12 AM
The most dangerous place for a goalkeeper who is losing a bit of 'reactionary', is the kitchen.
A goalkeeper in his prime can sense that a jar/beer bottle is going to fall to the floor and has his hand stretched out waiting to catch it.
When the reactions slow down, the hand movement is a little late and as the jar fall to the floor, the instinct is to put the foot out.
Schmeichel would of course be wearing standard kitchen attire for a Dane, clogs, and would be protected from sore consequences.

16/04/2012, 11:19 AM
Instinct being the key word there.

Fixer82
16/04/2012, 2:21 PM
Schmeichel would of course be wearing standard kitchen attire for a Dane, clogs, and would be protected from sore consequences.

ha ha his made me laugh.

reminds me of this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hV2om9YBADI

16/04/2012, 2:53 PM
Instinct being the key word there.
In what sense?

16/04/2012, 2:54 PM
ha ha his made me laugh.

reminds me of this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hV2om9YBADI
That's gas, but I don't get how you got to there.

16/04/2012, 2:55 PM
In what sense?

A reflex save is instict, without thought, something almost innate, at least in terms of goalkeeping anyway :)

16/04/2012, 2:56 PM
A goalkeeper in his prime can sense that a jar/beer bottle is going to fall to the floor and has his hand stretched out waiting to catch it.Didn't Spain's Canizares miss the World Cup because an aftershave bottle fell from his cabinet onto his foot, severing a tendon? He was in his prime. Maybe he regrets sticking out a foot to stop it hitting the floor. Don't know if that'd be reflexive or reactionary though :)

Shay definitely isn't the inspirational force of old, but he's still a perfectly decent international keeper and good enough for us to have faith in. Westwood's good too but Mignolet (?) has been one of the EPL's better keepers this season so he was unlucky not to stay fit while in possession of the shirt.

Junior
16/04/2012, 2:59 PM
Was it Canizares (sp?) who missed the world cup finlas for Spain as a result of dropping a bottle of aftershave on his big toe! Im sure ive checked this before just cant recall the answer.

Edit: Feck, Stapo just to quick for me there.....

16/04/2012, 3:34 PM
Didn't Spain's Canizares miss the World Cup because an aftershave bottle fell from his cabinet onto his foot, severing a tendon? He was in his prime. Maybe he regrets sticking out a foot to stop it hitting the floor. Don't know if that'd be reflexive or reactionary though :)
That was an instinctive reaction.
But that was in the bathroom not the kitchen, completely different scenario.

The real kitchen test for a goalkeeper is to sense something is falling behind one's back, and still being able to catch the object without turning around.

16/04/2012, 3:37 PM
There is definitely something of a likeness to Stapo in Stutts. :)

16/04/2012, 4:30 PM
I deny any connection. I've even been known to smile on occasion.