View Full Version : Shay Given

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

22/07/2012, 12:02 PM
Given should be fully prepared to mentor a new keeper. He knows or shouild know that it's not about him. Given has had the honour of being the custodian of that role for 15 years andhe should be prepared to do his bit to ensure the nerxt custodian is best equiiped to do the job. In another sense though, Westwood might prefer Shay fully off the scene as he could be a distraction and is probably experienced enough not to need the help.

The whole communication thing is an ongoing farce though. Can't Tardelli or even Alan Kelly in this instance communicate what's in Trap's thinking? Shay might be a legend but there's no excuse for not texting back. I respond to virtually every text I receive except spam. It's basic manners, though I don't see why a phone call can't be made. Frickin' amateurs.

Murfinator
22/07/2012, 2:46 PM
For one thing Shay is on his holidays and may not be interested in taking work related calls/texts. For another Trap didn't ask him a question, he informed him of his decision with regards a friendly which he presumably did with the other senior players who weren't called up, what sort of response is he supposed to give exactly? "OK"? He said he'd decide his future over his holidays so he presumably is still thinking about it and will announce a decision when he's ready. He has a new manager as well to consider the wishes of.

The whole mentor thing mentioned by Trap seems a bit silly, Buffon has been Italys keeper for 15 years as well and I don't see anyone suggesting to him that he should hang back a bit and mentor Sirigu. Given is in the prime years for a goalkeeper and has 4 years on his contract at Aston Villa, I doubt he'd accept an invitation to wind down for a few years. Poor communication again by Trap.

22/07/2012, 3:00 PM
For one thing Shay is on his holidays and may not be interested in taking work related calls/texts. For another Trap didn't ask him a question, he informed him of his decision with regards a friendly which he presumably did with the other senior players who weren't called up, what sort of response is he supposed to give exactly? "OK"? He said he'd decide his future over his holidays so he presumably is still thinking about it and will announce a decision when he's ready. He has a new manager as well to consider the wishes of.

The whole mentor thing mentioned by Trap seems a bit silly, Buffon has been Italys keeper for 15 years as well and I don't see anyone suggesting to him that he should hang back a bit and mentor Sirigu. Given is in the prime years for a goalkeeper and has 4 years on his contract at Aston Villa, I doubt he'd accept an invitation to wind down for a few years. Poor communication again by Trap.
Given is over in the States with Villa, played last night against Chicago Fire: http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10265~2856677,00.html

Murfinator
25/07/2012, 1:30 PM
Given is over in the States with Villa, played last night against Chicago Fire: http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10265~2856677,00.html (http://www.avfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10265%7E2856677,00.html)

He is now, the text was sent 2 weeks ago.

13/08/2012, 6:16 PM
Announced his retirement:
BREAKING NEWS: Shay Given has just announced his international retirement. Speaking today Shay said, 'This has been an extremely difficult decision for me to make. I have dedicated 16 years of my life to my country, and I have a great affinity with Giovanni Trapattoni’s squad. I’d like to thank the manager for his support during my time with the team. I will continue to be Ireland’s biggest fan, and wish the lads well as they embark upon their new campaign.’

13/08/2012, 6:22 PM
was just about to post this.

All the best to him.

13/08/2012, 6:24 PM
Can't say I'm overly shocked. He's been fast going downhill in the past year or two due to injuries and the like. All the best to him in the future.

brine3
13/08/2012, 7:07 PM
Sad to see it happen, but if anybody has earned their retirement, then Shay has. Good luck to him and thanks for everything.

To think he has been keeping goal for Ireland since I was 14 years old. It's incredible. He's been Ireland goalkeeper for more than half of my life.

Murfinator
13/08/2012, 7:18 PM
Terrible news, I think Trap and everyone else wished it wouldn't come to this. I'd have my doubts over westwood at the highest and while I hope he does well part of me hopes Shay reconsiders later in the campaign. Saying he was in decline is ridiculous as aside from a poor Euro's he had a wonderful campaign achieving a record of clean sheets along the way. I dare say what little chance we had of finishing top 2 in our qualifying group has vanished, not to mention the precedent it sets for Richard Dunne who is also on the fence.

Of course Shay has the right to make a decision in his best interests, he's earned that and will be remembered as one of our finest ever players. But this is dreadful news for us in the immediate term.

13/08/2012, 7:48 PM
Just heard the news, can't say I am too surprised, he has given (no pun intended) a great service to Ireland over the year and all good things must come to an end.
Also we have a first class replacement in Kieran Westwood, so it's probably a good time to call it a day.
I am sure Westwood will go a great job for us, I won't feel like we are a weakened team with Westwood between the posts.

Manblue
13/08/2012, 8:07 PM
Fair play to shay, brilliant player, great memories, thank you for your commitment, and fair play on admitting when you've gone past your best before, takes a lot to do that. all the best in the future.

Hopefully others will follow suit and we can move on and try and progress...onwards and upwards

IsMiseSean
13/08/2012, 8:56 PM
I'm a little bit suprised really, thought he would stay on. It was Duffer & Dunne I thought we'd lose after the Euros.
If Westwood is going to be back-up for Mignolet at Sunderland which I suspect he will be, then he needs to move before the end of August

Murfinator
13/08/2012, 9:03 PM
I'm a little bit suprised really, thought he would stay on. It was Duffer & Dunne I thought we'd lose after the Euros.
If Westwood is going to be back-up for Mignolet at Sunderland which I suspect he will be, then he needs to move before the end of August

If he moves he'll be moving back to the championship or to a lower league. No team in a top club will be facing into the new season without their first choice goalkeeper prepared. Backup at Sunderland or starter for a lower team, either way its not the preparation we need for him.

13/08/2012, 9:21 PM
would prefer him to start for a lower team. A game is a game for a keeper. Its the one position where ability is more equal irrespective of what team you play for.

13/08/2012, 9:21 PM
Sad to see Shay go, a superb servant and one of the players who maintained the fans respect throughout his career. He had a real connection with the fans. Unfortunately he did go out with a bad euros and I suspect that may have swayed his decision.

As for Westwood, thus far I have liked what I have seen, appears to be a good replacement. Got to take his chance now.

I fear the likes of Dunne will follow Shay now, we really really need Dunne to stay for one more campaign.

Colbert Report
13/08/2012, 10:22 PM
Fair play to Shay Given, he has been the Irish goalkeeper since I was twelve years old. I'm sad to see him go but I can more than understand him wanting to focus on his club career at this stage of his life given the injuries he's suffered over the past two years.

I hope Westwood plays regularly, even if he's on loan in the Championship. I don't like having an international starter being on the bench for his club team, especially at that position.

It would be nice to have an Ireland vs. England testimonial for him, he's certainly been in the top ten Premiership goalkeepers since the Premiership came into being.

the bear
13/08/2012, 10:55 PM
One of the greatest Irish players ever

p2011
14/08/2012, 9:46 AM
Thanks Shay, a true legend! Saved our backsides so so so many times over the years. Pity Euro 2012 didn't go better, but I think 2010 was the tournament that a lot of our older servants should have been at.

14/08/2012, 10:06 AM
The back of the bus is looking a bit bare :(

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/this-is-what-the-back-of-the-ireland-team-bus-looks-like-today-557697-Aug2012/

14/08/2012, 10:22 AM
Really disappointing that he has decided to call it a day as is by far the best goalkeeper available to us. I hope Trapattoni and Tardelli get in contact with Shay after the Serbia game and try to get him to change his mind. If the other three also retire, it feels like we can write off this qualification campaign.

14/08/2012, 10:47 AM
It'll be interesting to see how Shay gets on for Villa this season. Is he really on the way out, or was the Euros just an injury or bad form or something else.

I think he's the only one of the four potential retirees that we have a replacement for though. The other three would/will be much bigger losses.

14/08/2012, 11:03 AM
Did he not get a contract extension at Villa? One hears there are extensions ...and then there are extensions...

Okay even I don't have a clue what I'm on about there. I've seen it wrote or heard it spake, in general non-specific terms, that retiring from international football could very much sweeten a deal -especially in duration terms, in just such a circumstance as Shay finds himself.

Murfinator
14/08/2012, 11:43 AM
My understanding was that he had an agreement in principal made with McLeish when he signed that he'd retire after Euro 2012. With McLeish being sacked he wanted to assess the position of Lambert, he didn't mind what Shay did but cautioned him that Brad Guzan would be competing for his spot.

brine3
14/08/2012, 12:25 PM
Given is on something like 60 grand a week at Villa untill June 2016.

He must have a very good agent. Is it Michael Kennedy?

14/08/2012, 2:15 PM
Not surprised at all. And like Stu said it's the one retirement I didn't fear.

Best of luck Shay. The Greatest we ever had. EVER!

brine3
14/08/2012, 3:31 PM
What's all this talk about Westwood being on the bench and if he can fill Given's boots.

What about Paddy Kenny?

Murfinator
14/08/2012, 3:59 PM
A lot of short termism based on his Euro performance around here, I'm not sure how you could be satisfied with Westwood being out number 1 given both his lack of experience and the fact that he isn't a first team starter. The other alternatives are all playing in lower leagues, there is no replacing him at this stage and this is a hit that'll be felt larger than I think many here are expecting.

DannyInvincible
14/08/2012, 6:43 PM
Sad to see Shay go. One of my favourite Irish players ever and his retirement day has been a day I've always dreaded. What a great servant he's been though. He'll be difficult to replace and will be missed big time. I'd be lying if I said I wasn't apprehensive about the future without him behind our defence. Besides his ten appearances for us, I haven't seen enough of Westwood overall to be able to judge him properly. How many of those have been full internationals?

14/08/2012, 6:50 PM
Besides his ten appearances for us[...]How many of those have been full internationals?
All of them (by definition!) His competitive debut was against Macedonia last year (the home game I think; not sure). Think that's his only competitive cap.

14/08/2012, 7:09 PM
All the grattitude in the world to Shay for 16 years and 125 appearances. Irish legend and certainly our best ever goalkeeper.

Westwood's always looked solid for us and, barring a couple of early boo-boos, for Sunderland. Wouldn't surprise me to see him oust the looper Mignolet.

DannyInvincible
14/08/2012, 7:12 PM
All of them (by definition!) His competitive debut was against Macedonia last year (the home game I think; not sure). Think that's his only competitive cap.

Sorry; I meant full games rather than substitute appearances.

15/08/2012, 11:41 AM
p0_YvGH7Whw

ArdeeBhoy
19/08/2012, 7:40 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19250787?postId=113426919#comment_113426919

Junior
20/08/2012, 11:07 AM
Interesting in the Kerr video, talking about Shay pre match preparation and watching videos of the last 2years worth of the Cypriot penalty takers penalties. He then duly went on to save one in that match. Considering his penalty saving record is not that great, I wonder if that is something he did throughout his career and would he do it for domestic duty as well as internationals?

Anyway, we shall miss him badly, though I hope Westwood can step up to the plate. Nice steady performance on Wednesday anyway which is a good start.

25/08/2012, 2:34 PM
Just let in a howler to put Everton 2-0 up.

theworm2345
25/08/2012, 2:34 PM
Awful goalkeeping from Shay for Everton's second, Fellaini header it right at him, it goes off his hands and in to the net.

swinfordfc
25/08/2012, 11:41 PM
He be soon sitting on the bench at Villa, has to start Guzan in next match

25/08/2012, 11:57 PM
Good job he's retired then!! :p

WE don't want to see to much of that in the qualifiers!!

DannyInvincible
26/08/2012, 10:35 AM
Terrible from Shay for Everton's second. Can be seen from 0:32:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xt1yzm_a1-3e-www-fasthighlights-com_sport

26/08/2012, 2:47 PM
Looks like it was a windy blustery day which may explain some of the keeping.
That second to last effort moved one way and then the other so the ball may have been moving about a lot in the air.

26/08/2012, 4:39 PM
It's shame to see him play so poorly, but I thought ththe signs were there when he let soft goals in against Armenia and Estonia at home. Not howlers by any means but shots that'd have been bread and butter for him at his peak. It's not just about the gaffs, but also about the might have done betters.

Murfinator
26/08/2012, 5:52 PM
Form comes and goes, he's had bad seasons before and came back from them.

26/08/2012, 9:45 PM
He made an excellent save in the second half that looked much more like him at his best. Lambert won't be dropping him.

cornflakes
02/09/2012, 2:11 PM
Lambert has dropped him today. Guzan starts

DannyInvincible
02/09/2012, 3:24 PM
Any explicit reason given?

SwanVsDalton
02/09/2012, 3:33 PM
No but none was needed - Lambert said before the season Guzan would be close competition for Given, he kept a clean sheet during the week and Lambert said it was 50-50 who would play at the weekend. Shay's just out-of-sorts.

Murfinator
02/09/2012, 5:11 PM
They seem impressed with Guzan today.

http://www.villatalk.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=73486

SwanVsDalton
02/09/2012, 5:26 PM
He played well, can't see Given getting back in for a while. In particular Guzan excelled in dominating his area, something Shay has always been a bit suspect in.

02/09/2012, 6:18 PM
what was that charlie?!

it might seem mean but this doesnt bother me much now he is out of the team.

02/09/2012, 7:57 PM
Me neither.