View Full Version : Shane Ferguson
Pages :
[
12]
DannyInvincible
16/07/2011, 11:58 AM
No word on his international promotion?
No word, although he was subbed in Newcastle's pre-season friendly against Darlington due to picking up what Pardew described as a "serious" injury. Think he pulled a muscle of some sort, but he's been forced to pull out of the club's trip to the US as a result. If he's going to be out for a while, I suppose the so-called "international tug-of-war" may rage on another while yet...
Sullivinho
16/07/2011, 12:50 PM
Required an x-ray apparently:
“That’s further bad news for us because they both don’t look good,” “One’s gone for an X-ray – Fergie – and the other, Danny, has picked up an injury that we think he’s had before.”
Source (http://www.nufcblog.com/2011/07/16/two-players-injured-guthrie-out-for-six-weeks)
tommy_c12000
16/07/2011, 1:42 PM
Required an x-ray apparently:
They sent him for an x-ray for a suspected "pulled muscle"???? Christ must be something in the air up in the North East but I don't know who have the more incompetent medical staff, Newcastle or Sunderland . . . . needless to say the X-ray will come back all clear . . . .
Fergie's Son
16/07/2011, 2:18 PM
it's a bit of a running joke with me and my mates, whenever anyone mentions two places together, as in "it's either placeA, or placeB", automatically someone says "neither a hurling stronghold"
What if they say Kilkenney and Tipperary?
Anyways, seems like a nice prospect.
DannyInvincible
16/07/2011, 3:57 PM
They sent him for an x-ray for a suspected "pulled muscle"???? Christ must be something in the air up in the North East but I don't know who have the more incompetent medical staff, Newcastle or Sunderland . . . . needless to say the X-ray will come back all clear . . . .
Ha, I'd read that Pardew described it as "serious" in an article but the bit about pulling a muscle came from another forum, so possibly not all that reliable.
16/07/2011, 4:56 PM
One day I'll come in here and he will have declared for us.
Predator
16/07/2011, 8:29 PM
Was speaking to family members and guys who went to school with him and it looks like he is more than likely in the process of changing.
Sullivinho
16/07/2011, 9:11 PM
Was speaking to family members and guys who went to school with him and it looks like he is more than likely in the process of changing.
Not sure how ye broached the topic of puberty Predator but good to know! ;)
DannyInvincible
20/07/2011, 7:31 AM
It's feared Ferguson will miss the start of the new season due to the injury he picked up the other day: http://www.sportinglife.com/football/premiership/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/11/07/19/SOCCER_Newcastle.html&BID=312
The 20-year-old damaged an ankle in a collision with keeper Fraser Forster during Friday night's friendly victory at Darlington and as a result did not travel with the rest of the first-team squad when they flew out to the United States on Sunday.
Ferguson was due to have a second scan on the injury today, but - like midfielder Danny Guthrie, who is also undergoing treatment on Tyneside after picking up an ankle knock in the same game - could miss the start of the new season.
The full-back told the club's official website, www.nufc.co.uk: "It all happened so quickly.
"I tried to get out of Fraser's way and didn't manage it quick enough. My leg got caught underneath him and it's unfortunate really - just bad timing.
"I knew straight away that something wasn't right. They had a look at me and they think it is the ligaments in my ankle.
"I'm going for another scan on Tuesday and I will just see how it is then and how long I will be out for.
"I'm absolutely gutted [at not going to America]. It's the worst timing ever.
Not sure what the results of the scan showed. They don't appear to have been released yet.
In related news, apparently Liverpool are stepping up efforts to sign José Enrique: http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/football/newcastle/9148162.Reds_move_for_Enrique/
Whether that could see Ferguson taking over the starting spot at left back remains to be seen, although it appears unlikely considering the injury and talk of Newcastle signing a replacement for José Enrique.
Liverpool are aware that Arsenal are in the hunt to bring in a replacement for Clichy and Enrique is also under consideration at the Emirates.
Dalglish, whose first team squad returns to training on Merseyside today after returning from a tour of Malaysia, is keen to make quick progress in his search to find the left-back that will bring an end to his summer spending.
Pardew has also begun to seriously think about a replacement, particularly after he conceded defeat in his pursuit of Neil Taylor.
Taylor’s decision to sign a four-year deal at Swansea means Newcastle are no nearer to bringing in a left-back, although they have been linked with a move for Wayne Bridge.
The need for a new full-back has been further heightened by news that Shane Ferguson could miss the start of the season with an ankle problem.
Ferguson had a further scan yesterday on the problem sustained in Friday’s friendly with Darlington.
DannyInvincible
03/08/2011, 6:15 PM
Apparently, the SFA have been in touch with Ferguson as he's eligible for them through his Scottish mother. Nevertheless, he still appears to be deciding on his future international career.
the bear
03/08/2011, 8:35 PM
In related news, apparently Liverpool are stepping up efforts to sign José Enrique: http://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/football/newcastle/9148162.Reds_move_for_Enrique/
Whether that could see Ferguson taking over the starting spot at left back remains to be seen, although it appears unlikely considering the injury and talk of Newcastle signing a replacement for José Enrique.
havent seen much of him danny, do you reckon he is good enough
DannyInvincible
03/08/2011, 9:05 PM
I'd need to see more of him myself. I understand he's bulked up over the summer and was told by Pardew to prepare for a promotion to the first-team dressing room. That would have to sound promising.
The local Newcastle paper is also reporting he could well be back to face Arsenal for the new season opener: http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/newcastle-united/nufc-news/2011/08/03/shane-ferguson-may-be-fit-for-arsenal-test-72703-29167823/
SHANE FERGUSON could be back from injury in time for the explosive Premier League opener with Arsenal.
Toon boss Alan Pardew has a huge question mark over the left-back slot – with Jose Enrique thought to be a top priority for Liverpool – and has limited remaining options if he does not bring in a new face.
Once capped Northern Ireland player Ferguson has shown real promise at first team level in the last 12 months but lacks experience, as do alternatives James Tavernier and Paul Dummett.
Ryan Taylor and Danny Simpson have done a job there in the Premier League, but would be first to admit it is not their preferred positions.
Ferguson injured his ankle in the 2-0 win at Darlington last month with United staff fearing a more serious break.
Pardew – who oversaw a fringe team at Gateshead last night – also feels ankle victim Danny Guthrie could be back earlier than first thought.
And he told the Chronicle: “Fergie looks like he is going to be involved towards the back end of the week. Danny has also progressed very well.
“Those are two players I was hoping would really push for their place this year so it was a blow to lose them.
“Fergie gives us options on that left-hand side. At left-back we have an issue. Forget about Jose’s situation, no one player has covered that position particularly well.”
Many of the comments, presumably from Newcastle fans, would suggest there's apprehension over his inexperience, although I think there's a general air of gloom around Newcastle at the minute. I don't think the fans are expecting much this season with it looking like Joey Barton will move on as well.
the bear
03/08/2011, 9:25 PM
newcastle have had a very funny summer, cant understand selling your captain and top goalscorer and best player because he's 28 and wants a 5 year deal. he would only be 33 at the end of it, and how many contracts are actually seen through anyway. with him carrol barton and enrique gone things are looking gloomy for the toons. i reckon ba is a good signing though, and ben arfa if hes fit
03/08/2011, 11:10 PM
Scottish Football Apartheid.
DannyInvincible
04/08/2011, 5:10 AM
According to this, Liverpool and Newcastle have agreed a fee of £8 million for José Enrique and a deal will be concluded by the end of the week (Friday?): http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2011/08/03/2603004/liverpool-and-newcastle-agree-8m-deal-for-jose-enrique
The article also mentions Newcastle having been linked with Wayne Bridge and Stephen Warnock as replacements, however.
an_ceannaire
08/08/2011, 3:06 PM
See poor Shane is the lowest rated player of every single midfielder in the Premiership on the Fantasy Football League website! The only MF playeron the 4m mark God Bless Him!!!! I'd say he is devestated.........!!
DannyInvincible
08/08/2011, 3:19 PM
Saw that myself. I think that must be an error. I reckon they were set on designating him as a defender (plenty of them for £4 million) as left back is really his position, but then decided to switch him to the midfielders at the last minute as Newcastle played him on the left wing last season. Are you including him in your team? :p
an_ceannaire
08/08/2011, 3:26 PM
Yep. on the bench. Had 4m left and needed a sub MF'r and looking at the amt of teams he is on.....i wasnt the only one :)
DannyInvincible
08/08/2011, 3:38 PM
I think I got the above the wrong way around actually. Newcastle deployed him at left back although left wing is really his position so FPL probably designated him a midfielder after initially considering him as a defender. Anyway...
TrapAPony
24/08/2011, 12:01 PM
“With regards Shane there isn’t a problem. A lot of people speculated that he was heading south, and the FAI wanted him. But Shane is very content and happy with how things are. He has never had any doubt over who he wants to play with, and both me and Steve Beaglehole (Under 21 boss) have spoken to the lad and everyone is happy.”
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/sport/football/bright_future_lies_ahead_armstrong_1_2989896
Predator
24/08/2011, 12:13 PM
“With regards Shane there isn’t a problem. A lot of people speculated that he was heading south, and the FAI wanted him. But Shane is very content and happy with how things are. He has never had any doubt over who he wants to play with, and both me and Steve Beaglehole (Under 21 boss) have spoken to the lad and everyone is happy.”
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/sport/football/bright_future_lies_ahead_armstrong_1_2989896I'd take anything that comes from the IFA with a pinch of salt. After all, how can Gerry say that Ferguson never had any doubt over who he wants to play for if Ferguson himself has openly stated his intention to think things over?
And this is interesting: “We have found a couple on the mainland who we think qualify for Northern Ireland – one of which could be a real star of the future,” Gerry revealed.
24/08/2011, 12:19 PM
http://www.newsletter.co.uk/sport/football/bright_future_lies_ahead_armstrong_1_2989896
From that article:
“I intend giving it 125 per cent. We need to stop this flow of players opting for the Republic. We have to stop the FAI cherry-picking Northern Ireland talent. Thankfully the IFA continue to realise that and they have offered me this role.
Wasn't it proven that the FAI do not approach these players, but have made it clear that they are available to talk to, should a player wish to change allegiance?
Predator
24/08/2011, 12:21 PM
Gerry might have been "re-educated" for all we know.
24/08/2011, 5:40 PM
I guess that means Shane is a dead cert now to 'go south'.
DannyInvincible
24/08/2011, 6:55 PM
And this is interesting: “We have found a couple on the mainland who we think qualify for Northern Ireland – one of which could be a real star of the future,” Gerry revealed.
Maybe his base is on Rathlin Island. It's not like it would make a huge deal of difference to his potential effectiveness.
From that article:
Wasn't it proven that the FAI do not approach these players, but have made it clear that they are available to talk to, should a player wish to change allegiance?
To my knowledge, there's no evidence of anyone acting on behalf of the FAI ever having approached any northern-born players unless an interest was first expressed from the player or someone on his behalf, bar a solitary, unsourced claim from NI fans that Chris Baird was solicited by Brian Kerr, our manager at the time, contrary to an agreement the FAI had made with the IFA in 1999. I've no reason to disbelieve the claim about Kerr contacting Baird, but I would see it as Kerr having possibly acted in a rogue capacity not in line with official FAI policy. That's my suspicion and I suspect this for a few reasons. It's the only reported incident, of which I'm aware anyway, of someone working for the FAI making an initial approach. I don't see why the FAI would actively set out to provoke tension with their neighbouring association by breaching agreements either - it would be naïve for anyone to believe that a clandestine approach would stay secret for long - even if the eccentric fringe (or is that an understatement?!) of NI fans believe the FAI is out to destroy the IFA. Furthermore, I know that the reason Sean McCaffrey was reluctant to contact Shane Duffy was because of this policy.
Even if the FAI did approach these players, it wouldn't be akin to cherry-picking talent. Describing it in such terms implies coercion or lack of consent and brushes over the fact that these players are independent and sentient beings who make decisions of their own volition. Furthermore, seeing as the IFA's taking of Daniel Kearns to CAS amounted to a severe breach of the 1999 agreement, I don't see why it should stand any longer.
Fixer82
24/08/2011, 8:10 PM
Jesus Christ....and they wonder why kids are disillusioned with pulling on a NI jersey
Eminence Grise
24/08/2011, 10:34 PM
Jesus Christ....and they wonder why kids are disillusioned with pulling on a NI jersey
Damn right! The world and its mother knows it's one of whom could be a real star of the future. No standards at all...
24/08/2011, 11:39 PM
We had the limiting appositive well covered in 'high infants'.
bwagner
25/08/2011, 10:20 AM
Mainland - what a total uncle tom that fool is !!!!!!!!!!!! he played for the North ( i have no problem with that ) but talk about a lick arse
co. down green
25/08/2011, 2:11 PM
I would put a massive health warning on the comment from Armstrong about Ferguson in the newsletter article.
I'll say no more!
DannyInvincible
25/08/2011, 2:46 PM
I'll say no more!
Aw c'mon, spill the beans! ;)
Not Brazil
26/08/2011, 3:45 PM
Ferguson is named in the Northern Ireland Under 21 squad for the Euro 2013 Under 21 qualifiers against Serbia (Friday 2 September) and Denmark (Tuesday 6 September).
DannyInvincible
26/08/2011, 3:54 PM
Ferguson is named in the Northern Ireland Under 21 squad for the Euro 2013 Under 21 qualifiers against Serbia (Friday 2 September) and Denmark (Tuesday 6 September).
Steady on; let's not forget the last NI squad Shane Duffy was called into. :p
In seriousness, assuming he participates, that's probably a signal of intent, even though it's not going to tie him down or anything. Unless someone else knows otherwise. I'd find it difficult to see how he could say he was spending a summer mulling things over after having already represented the IFA and then, after coming back to play for the IFA, later declaring for the FAI.
26/08/2011, 4:02 PM
In seriousness, assuming he participates, that's probably a signal of intent, even though it's not going to tie him down or anything. Unless someone else knows otherwise. I'd find it difficult to see how he could say he was spending a summer mulling things over after having already represented the IFA and then, after coming back to play for the IFA, later declaring for the FAI.
Ya, you'd have to assume that that's it. Best of luck to him. Hope he gets a good reception. Can't of been an easy decision, as nothing can prepare you for the media attention etc, especially when you've played so few Senior games. The door is always open though.
26/08/2011, 4:05 PM
In seriousness, assuming he participates, that's probably a signal of intent, even though it's not going to tie him down or anything.
It's ties him to the North's U21 qualification campaign - ie he can't play competitively for the Irish U21s until the current qualification campaign is complete.
Not Brazil
26/08/2011, 4:27 PM
I loved this post on another forum.
"Lads, I don't understand this.. I thought shane was coming to us??
He was a great GAA player, I thought he would be patriotic?"
Somebody had better get onto the Down County Board pronto, about these unpatriotic lads.
http://www.irishfa.com/the-ifa/item/6687/down-gaa-stars-cheer-on-nigels-boys/
26/08/2011, 4:32 PM
Time to unleash our secret weapon, our very own EPN on the mainland.
Don Givens do your work.
SwanVsDalton
26/08/2011, 4:33 PM
As much as it'd be a shame not to have a prospect like Shane, seeing a couple of players stick with NI might stop the fan hysteria and give some NI fans/media a chance to put the dummy back in their mouth. Which would be nice.
youngirish
26/08/2011, 5:57 PM
As much as it'd be a shame not to have a prospect like Shane, seeing a couple of players stick with NI might stop the fan hysteria and give some NI fans/media a chance to put the dummy back in their mouth. Which would be nice.
Yeah good luck to him and Northern Ireland. I do understand the average NI fan is aggrieved at losing some of their more promising potential players to the republic but you also can't force players to play for you that have little or no affinity to the team or country whether born within the limits of it's borders or not.
Maybe this small victory on their part will make them realise that they can still retain some of their more promising young stars.
26/08/2011, 7:40 PM
Still we await the team announcements for next Friday. Until he togs out we are being premature.
I'm non-plussed either way but if it quietens the OWC then bring it on.
Predator
26/08/2011, 7:44 PM
In seriousness, assuming he participates, that's probably a signal of intent, even though it's not going to tie him down or anything. Unless someone else knows otherwise. I'd find it difficult to see how he could say he was spending a summer mulling things over after having already represented the IFA and then, after coming back to play for the IFA, later declaring for the FAI.Indeed. I initially thought his full cap was a signal of intent, or at least a suggestion that he wouldn't change. Then I spoke to people who knew him as well as some relatives who told me it was likely that he was going to change. I think it's just best to wait until he pulls on a shirt in a competitive game one way or the other.
On a related note, if the impressionable 16 year old Shane Duffy had played in that same game as Ferguson, it's possible that he might not have changed at all.
gastric
26/08/2011, 10:52 PM
It will be interesting to see if he picks up an 'injury' before the game!
greendeiseboy
27/08/2011, 1:29 PM
According to a poster on ybig he's commited himself to NI as he dosent feel he's good enough to play for us......best of luck to the lad.
Sullivinho
27/08/2011, 2:07 PM
According to a poster on ybig he's commited himself to NI as he dosent feel he's good enough to play for us......best of luck to the lad.
Tough spot for him in fairness and it's not that difficult to understand his rationale, even if I do think he might be underrating himself.
Commit to us and wait for an opportunity that may never come, effectively (Alex Bruce's temerity aside) abandoning a likely, if finals-deprived international career with the North of Ireland or promptly come to the safe conclusion before anyone is offended.
Good luck to him.
Newryrep
27/08/2011, 3:37 PM
Tough spot for him in fairness and it's not that difficult to understand his rationale, even if I do think he might be underrating himself.
Commit to us and wait for an opportunity that may never come, effectively (Alex Bruce's temerity aside) abandoning a likely, if finals-deprived international career with the North of Ireland or promptly come to the safe conclusion before anyone is offended.
Good luck to him.
Only its playing for your country,your flag. If he has to think that much about it maybe he is better off staying. It should be a no brainer TBH
Gather round
27/08/2011, 3:51 PM
Gather round
27/08/2011, 3:57 PM
a likely, if finals-deprived international career with the North of Ireland
Since he started kicking a ball you've qualified for one finals out of eight. Somehow I doubt Ferguson is really weighing up his chances of a working holiday in Brazil, France, Russia or Qatar.
Only its playing for your country,your flag. If he has to think that much about it maybe he is better off staying. It should be a no brainer TBH
Well, he's grown up in a second country, apparently qualifies for a third through one of his parents and realistically will spend years of his working life in a fourth. Maybe for him it's a bit more complex.
Newryrep
27/08/2011, 4:05 PM
Since he started kicking a ball you've qualified for one finals out of eight. Somehow I doubt Ferguson is really weighing up his chances of a working holiday in Brazil, France, Russia or Qatar.
Well, he's grown up in a second country, apparently qualifies for a third through one of his parents and realistically will spend years of his working life in a fourth. Maybe for him it's a bit more complex.
GR in a game between NI and ROI who does he want to win ?
Gather round
27/08/2011, 4:24 PM
I suggest you ask one of the contributors to this forum who seem to know him or his family members personally. I can only judge him by what he says and does. He made it clear earlier this year his lack of commitment to playing for NI; on the strength of that I wouldn't be offering him an U-21 cap now.