View Full Version : Jack Grealish
The Fly
17/10/2014, 4:14 AM
O'Neill used the Gibraltar game to get the players prepared for the Germany game so I think he was always going to go with the established players. He could have given Brian Lenihan a run-out at 5-0 to prepare for an emergency in the Germany game, but he decided to give Meyler the time there, so I think it would have been unlikely Grealish would have played as he wouldn't have been an option for Germany. O'Neill has played this one very well I think - he's backed off and given the boy room to sort out his future and his faith has been repaid. To be fair, Trap took a similar approach with James McCarthy and he, too, proved he never had any intention of turning his back on Ireland.
I meant it's a pity the Gibraltar game isn't coming up next.
I agree with you on O'Neill's approach, but then I wouldn't have expected anything less from him.
Indo now reporting this too, but it does look like a rehash of The Times article. If we beat Scotland, we will probably see Noble, Kane and Crowley want to come on board. Success breeds success and with a good feel about Irish football, others will probably come out of the woodwork like Christie. TOWK will be happy, like I am!
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/jack-grealish-ready-to-accept-senior-call-from-oneill-30670984.html
Crowley has been touted as a major talent for some time now, and there have been a few hints here and there that he may be tempted to return to the Irish fold. Fingers crossed on that one! Grealish's committal could only help given their familiarity with each other at Villa.
Harry Kane assisted the England U21s to victory over Croatia a couple of days ago to secure qualification to the European Championships. I can't see him declaring for Ireland. I think an enquiry into Will Keane's availability may prove more successful at this point.
As for Noble. No thanks!
17/10/2014, 7:16 AM
RTÉ are reporting it as well. But referring to the Indo for safety.
Fingers crossed. Amazing what a bit of confidence will do about the camp.
17/10/2014, 8:01 AM
Hmmm, he posted this earlier on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/523019042400239616
Some stuff in the papers today about me that I didn't even no myself 🙈
Duggie
17/10/2014, 8:09 AM
Hmmm, he posted this earlier on Twitter: https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/523019042400239616
really, so its all bull then?? great.......
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 8:24 AM
John Fallon should be embarrassed.
17/10/2014, 8:28 AM
Well, technically he doesn't know if he's gonna be called up or not.
DeLorean
17/10/2014, 8:29 AM
I've been thinking this over, how about if Grealish does play for Ireland, your signature is fixed to "I was wrong about Jack Grealish playing for Ireland, so you shouldn't take this post too seriously" for a year? Any other takers on this?
Yeah, that signature and change his username to Richie Keogh.
back of the net
17/10/2014, 8:43 AM
Could just be saying it until he is officially called into squad!
Or maybe there was an article in todays paper about him getting a haircut !!
17/10/2014, 9:37 AM
O'Neill used the Gibraltar game to get the players prepared for the Germany game so I think he was always going to go with the established players. He could have given Brian Lenihan a run-out at 5-0 to prepare for an emergency in the Germany game, but he decided to give Meyler the time there, so I think it would have been unlikely Grealish would have played as he wouldn't have been an option for Germany. O'Neill has played this one very well I think - he's backed off and given the boy room to sort out his future and his faith has been repaid. To be fair, Trap took a similar approach with James McCarthy and he, too, proved he never had any intention of turning his back on Ireland.
Bit early for all that.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2014/1017/652952-grealish/
I've been thinking this over, how about if Grealish does play for Ireland, your signature is fixed to "I was wrong about Jack Grealish playing for Ireland, so you shouldn't take this post too seriously" for a year? Any other takers on this?
And a bit early for this too.
But perhaps no smoke without fire.
Be interesting if you guys are as quick to suggest to add the signature if he declares for England. Or like all the other times ye were wrong about trap and ward etc etc.
17/10/2014, 10:14 AM
Seems to be a bit of gutter journalism, Jack said he would commit once his future with Aston Villa was sorted, however
he didn't say he could commit to Ireland, just commit which I take as meaning he will make a decision as whether to
commit to England or Ireland.
I went straight to his twitter account first because I would not believe it until I heard it from him.
Looks like he tweeted just after it was broad cast on the radio on 5 live.
livehead1
17/10/2014, 10:38 AM
Why exactly do we care? He's a decent footballer with potential. If he wants to play for England let him go and do it - this conjecture about an unproven player who may not even want to play for us is ridiculous - we can't be that desperate, surely!
DannyInvincible
17/10/2014, 11:13 AM
John Fallon should be embarrassed.
It is a bit embarrassing alright. What a circus.
But perhaps no smoke without fire.
Well, Grealish has denied all knowledge of what Fallon was talking about and has distanced himself from the claims. Unless he is playing ignorant as he doesn't wish for any decision to be made public yet...
Be interesting if you guys are as quick to suggest to add the signature if he declares for England. Or like all the other times ye were wrong about trap and ward etc etc.
Haha, look Paul; there is no Foot.ie orthodoxy and, I swear, we're really not all out to get you. You need to stop this positioning of yourself against such a fabrication as if you're cutting it down to size and setting it on the right path. It's not all about you. There are many different, varied, knowledgeable, imaginative and unconventional opinions expressed here; it's what makes it such a great forum. You're not the only one who thinks differently or who possesses the knowledge.
Why should "we guys" act on your above suggestion anyway? Most people here have consistently acknowledged the ambiguity and complexity of the situation whilst staying clear of suspicion, paranoia and veiled or outright hostility towards the lad.
17/10/2014, 11:16 AM
DI that was in direct response to a quote about changing the signature of posters who said grealish is looking more likely to declare for England. Why change the position now when questioned in the other direction for those saying the opposite because based on what has been said they believe he is still ours to lose? You seem to have gone off on one.
Do you live in a bunker with tricky and Alan Turing, tell him to come out now its ok, homosexuality is no longer a crime. :P
17/10/2014, 11:24 AM
Dan McDonnell has been defending Fallon on twitter. Fallon has covered the underage sides over the last few years and was the first to publish the story about O'Neill meeting Grealish, before it was confirmed.
It's more a continuation of the status quo - i.e. nobody really knows what's going to happen - than anything else
Dunners
17/10/2014, 11:30 AM
Should I stay or should I go now
The situation has not changed , his COYBIG tweet should not be taken out of context - he plays for the U21’s and obviously has some loyalty / ties to God’s country
However , he nearly switched to England in the past , his brother has advised that he completed the forms to switch associations only for young Jack to do a complete turn-a- round and join up with our U21’s
Jack himself has stated he was happy playing at a higher level with us (U21’s) than a lower age group with England, at that current time.
So far his decisions have been based on what’s best for his personal development , his profile and now that he has secured his contract at Villa - his bank balance.
Now we will see where his true loyalties lie , with his heart- us (that’s giving him the benefit of the doubt) or with his future profile , an England Intl would attract more sponsorship and more lucrative contract.
I for one hope he stays but I’m sure we will find out one way or the other in the not to distant future
17/10/2014, 11:30 AM
Strange though he must have got it from somewhere surely. Maybe there is a mole somewhere that Grealish is unaware of! :D Or maybe barter. Only jack really knows!
DannyInvincible
17/10/2014, 12:36 PM
DI that was in direct response to a quote about changing the signature of posters who said grealish is looking more likely to declare for England. Why change the position now when questioned in the other direction for those saying the opposite because based on what has been said they believe he is still ours to lose? You seem to have gone off on one.
I know what you were rising to. There is no change in position here. He remains ours to lose; he is not already lost. He is registered with the FAI, after all. Whilst ambiguity remains with regard to his future intentions, there is no reason to distrustfully assume he is presently hoodwinking us because he has long harboured a secret desire to ditch us and represent his one true love, England. That would be to read unfairly into matters and it would be to, in the absence of evidence, fill the voids with suspicious and cynical presumptions of your own. It's good to be critical, but he simply hasn't made what will be a major career-changing decision yet. He may stick with us or he may go the way of the FA. It's only natural he would share loyalties to both, but he can only choose one path. There is lots of grey and not as much black and white. In effect, yourself and TOWK think he's a liar?
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 12:36 PM
I don't think here is anything really ambiguous or complex about the situation at all - and I don't think anybody has been hostile towards Jack; quite reserved in fact. I don't think what anyone - myself included - has said is up there with the opprobrium NI fans reserve for "their" players declaring for us.
John Fallon should bury his head in shame. He has a responsibility as a journalist not to spread baseless conjecture as fact.
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 12:38 PM
I know what you were rising to. There is no change in position here. He remains ours to lose; he is not already lost. He is registered with the FAI, after all. Whilst ambiguity remains with regard to his future intentions, there is no reason to distrustfully assume he is presently hoodwinking us because he has long harboured a secret desire to ditch us and represent his one true love, England. That would be to read unfairly into matters and it would be to, in the absence of evidence, fill the voids with suspicious and cynical presumptions of your own. It's good to be critical, but he simply hasn't made what will be a major career-changing decision yet. He may stick with us or he may go the way of the FA. It's only natural he would share loyalties to both, but he can only choose one path. There is lots of grey and not as much black and white. In effect, yourself and TOWK think he's a liar?
Nobody is calling him a liar. Just pointing out that suggesting he was looking forward to an International call up and then turning down said International call up is a little bit deceptive. But he's only young like.
Duggie
17/10/2014, 12:42 PM
seen this on YBIG forum, can't access it at work so is this plausable???.......
Just seen a comment from someone
'It looks like the story is true. His dad, Kevin Grealish, has just shared the above Irish Times story on his Facebook page with the heading "Ireland V USA. Jack v Brad Guzan" - https://www.facebook.com/kevin.grealish.7
DannyInvincible
17/10/2014, 12:42 PM
Dan McDonnell has been defending Fallon on twitter.
Just having a look: https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/522902860447879168
Why would Grealish distance himself from the story though if he'd made a decision, or why would Fallon breach confidences and risk his reputation if the player was not prepared to go public with it yet? Grealish's tweet doesn't make Fallon look good at all, whether the lad has made a decision in private or not.
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 12:46 PM
He's registered as a Republic of Ireland U-21 player yes.
Certain statements, actions and traits such as supporting the England senior team, suggesting that his decision to play for Ireland at youth level was motivated by playing at a higher age group, vague and sometimes contradictory statements to the press, his brother and father's body language and turning down a senior call up understandably muddy waters and create a little doubt.
Understandable and nobody is judging him or his Irishness.
There are plenty of England players who are proud of their Irish heritage and there are plenty of Ireland players who could care less. What country you play for doesn't determine your Irishness.
In modern football, players put themselves first; not just Jack.
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 12:48 PM
Why would Grealish distance himself from the story though if he'd made a decision, or why would Fallon breach confidences and risk his reputation if the player was not prepared to go public with it yet? Grealish's tweet doesn't make Fallon look good at all, whether the lad has made a decision in private or not.
There was no need to go public with Quinn's comments either. The lad has a bit of growing up to do. 5 years ago players wouldn't have Twitter accounts so it wouldn't have been an issue then but left, right and center similar-aged players are making fools of themselves so it's not exclusive to him.
17/10/2014, 12:49 PM
Because there is a mole :P
Duggie
17/10/2014, 12:51 PM
eeeh lads have you looked at this or wha.......
seen this on YBIG forum, can't access it at work so is this plausable???.......
Just seen a comment from someone
'It looks like the story is true. His dad, Kevin Grealish, has just shared the above Irish Times story on his Facebook page with the heading "Ireland V USA. Jack v Brad Guzan" - https://www.facebook.com/kevin.grealish.7
SwanVsDalton
17/10/2014, 12:53 PM
As POS says, there has to be something in the story. Even if it's a misunderstanding. There's no way a freelance sports reporter simply fabricates a back page story at the risk of his career. And it only makes the page if the writer can explain it to his editors, even if the final story doesn't appear to have much substance.
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 12:54 PM
I wouldn't read into it Duggie.
Duggie
17/10/2014, 12:57 PM
I wouldn't read into it Duggie.
no lets pleasseee lets....
17/10/2014, 1:07 PM
Fallon's sources are correct. Regardless of Jack's attempt to avoid controversy by distancing himself from the story, he will be in the next Ireland squad.
Follow-up from Fallon: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/ireland-s-date-with-the-usa-still-on-cards-for-jack-grealish-1.1967569
17/10/2014, 1:30 PM
eeeh lads have you looked at this or wha.......
it's pretty much what the poster from YBIG said, his dad shared the story from the Irish Times with the comment "Ireland V USA. Jack v Brad Guzan"
no other comments attached.
As with every other crumb of information on this for the last 12 months, you can divine any one of several conclusions from it, which may or may not be influenced by your personal bias, and none of them may be true.
DannyInvincible
17/10/2014, 1:40 PM
I don't think here is anything really ambiguous or complex about the situation at all - and I don't think anybody has been hostile towards Jack; quite reserved in fact. I don't think what anyone - myself included - has said is up there with the opprobrium NI fans reserve for "their" players declaring for us.
Well, it's ambiguous in the sense that the situation remains unclear, where one of two things can happen (although Fallon now appears adamant), and it's complex in the sense that it's obviously a difficult decision for Grealish to make due to his youth, mixed identity, career considerations and whatever other factors might be influencing his judgment. Now, I hope you're paying attention, Paul, because this is where myself and TOWK have fundamentally disagreed on this issue; it's been a disagreement over the ambiguity/clarity of the situation rather than over whether he'll ultimately play for Ireland/England. :p
To be fair to you, TOWK, you haven't been outrightly hostile - I've seen some of that on YBIG and it's nasty (in fact, the original Grealish thread there was actually deleted out of embarrassment) - but I see your persistent suspicion and expectation of him to be tantamount to implicit accusation or mild passive aggression. It's passively hostile.
Nobody is calling him a liar. Just pointing out that suggesting he was looking forward to an International call up and then turning down said International call up is a little bit deceptive. But he's only young like.
So, he's deceiving us, but not a liar? Is there much of a difference?
If your remark about his youth isn't sarcastic - it's hard to tell - then kudos for your empathy.
There was no need to go public with Quinn's comments either. The lad has a bit of growing up to do.
The "plastic paddy" thing? It was a bit of on-pitch banter; no offence was intended and none was taken. Both had a laugh about it and later over people reading into it. Quinn even revealed his own child was born in England, didn't he?
As POS says, there has to be something in the story. Even if it's a misunderstanding. There's no way a freelance sports reporter simply fabricates a back page story at the risk of his career. And it only makes the page if the writer can explain it to his editors, even if the final story doesn't appear to have much substance.
Certainly true, but it's odd all the same that Fallon didn't make sure Jack was singing from the same hymn sheet before going to press. Still, I guess it's a scoop of sorts and he was eager to reveal his exclusive. Maybe Jack's dad wanted to surprise Jack with how developments have been going in his talks with the FAI but Fallon let the cat out of the bag, ha.
17/10/2014, 3:41 PM
It is his job to sell news papers, I sure his fanciful report shifted a few more copies of the paper.
I doubt he will get the sack for making up stories and even if he did I am sure the Daily Mail would be delighted to sign him up.
Fallon didn't need to check with Jack because he already knew the story was made up rubbish because he made it up.
17/10/2014, 3:46 PM
There was never any OWC style opprobrium on TOWK's part but that shouldn't necessarily be the standard. There was plenty of disapproval though and there was quite a lack of humility and empathy in his postings. It was all almost as hysterical and nonsensical as the James McCarthy paranoia. I guess my main point is that TOWK tried to make a very big deal out of what was a pretty predictable and understandable situation, and one that hasn't been concluded yet.
Paul, it's different to opinions on Trap and Ward. Anyone can argue whether he thinks X is a good or bad player or manager, but TOWK nailed his colours to the mast on the lack of ambiguity in Grealish's intentions and also on a moral judgment on those perceived intentions.
SwanVsDalton
17/10/2014, 4:55 PM
It is his job to sell news papers, I sure his fanciful report shifted a few more copies of the paper.
I doubt he will get the sack for making up stories and even if he did I am sure the Daily Mail would be delighted to sign him up.
Fallon didn't need to check with Jack because he already knew the story was made up rubbish because he made it up.
But that's nonsense and not how this type of journalism works, except in ridiculous movies.
It's not his job to sell newspapers, it's his job to sell content. That content ideally will help newspapers, but if it's patently bogus then his career is over - totally ruined. An editor won't let the threat of Grealish or his family having nothing to do with the paper again just to sell a couple more units.
In this instance, that fact Fallon works across multiple publications is literally a force multiplier. If it was one guy tipping off the Irish Daily Star, then maybe - maybe - they would run that story. But there's no way a go-to sports freelancer for numerous outlets is going to risk doing it.
17/10/2014, 5:08 PM
What else has Fallon "scooped" or got exclusive on this story? The meeting that took place between the Grealishes snd MON? It'd appear on that basis that he does indeed have some inside track. Still proves nothing yet though, but the needle on my barometer has tilted back towards him playing for Ireland.
17/10/2014, 5:09 PM
I think Fallon has been first with more or less all news on Grealish. If I was to hazard a guess, I'd say he's the journalist KG trusts with the odd leak.
17/10/2014, 5:11 PM
That's what it seems like.
17/10/2014, 5:19 PM
I think he is waiting for the Pistorius trial to finish first, so it could be a couple of years yet before he commits.
17/10/2014, 7:56 PM
If he plays against the USA he's still not tied... *runs*
17/10/2014, 8:13 PM
Feck me lads! It's Friday night go out on the Black Pop.
JG has been given an ultimatum, put up or shut up, so expect him to be called into the next senior squad but should he withdraw its curtains for him with us.
I also think someone should have a quiet word with his star struck father and tell him to shut the feck up!
you know the rules doc, you can delete the post, or you have 24 hours to produce proof of this ultimatum, otherwise it's an infraction
boysingreen
17/10/2014, 8:25 PM
HOORAY! I mean, feck, wait, what? As you were.
I don't know why his father would post that article if it were nonsense. By the same token, if it were true, I don't know why he'd effectively say anything before Jack.
I don't think Jack distancing himself says anything about his intentions though. He wants to deal with this whenever he feels the time is right.
boysingreen
17/10/2014, 8:29 PM
BBC running the story, citing the Irish Times and Irish Independent.
Really surprised with the clamour over this lad. Yes he looks like a good player, plenty of potential but how many times have we said that before. At least McCarthy was an established premiership player when the fuss was over him.
17/10/2014, 8:54 PM
And no one blinks an eye at the surreality of Dan having a conversation with someone called Long Balls Larry?
17/10/2014, 9:04 PM
[QUOTE=boysingreen;1785075By the same token, if it were true, I don't know why he'd effectively say anything before Jack.[/QUOTE]just a guess, but maybe it's because he is no longer his agent?
gastric
17/10/2014, 9:28 PM
Confusion reigns. This is becoming like the James McCarthy drama before he committed. Still think if we keep winning games, I think the likes of Grealish will commit to us. O'Neill is in the dark on this too it seems. I do respect his consistency in approach and he even called Jack's father Mr Grealish! You don't hear that used much these days.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/martin-o-neill-insists-germany-will-still-top-euro-2016-group-1.1967993
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 9:34 PM
I don't think Bamford and Kane will declare because we beat Georgia and Gibraltar. And I don't think Noble and Naughton are going to change the habit of a lifetime.
Not that we are doing too badly without them. Who the hell would want Gibson, Meyler or Hendrick shunted by these guys after some of their recent performances for us?
17/10/2014, 9:39 PM
I wouldn't. I never had any interest in those players but Grealish is different, a kid already playing for us even if he does have the temerity to like the country he was born and bred in.
17/10/2014, 9:43 PM
Confusion reigns. This is becoming like the James McCarthy drama before he committed. Still think if we keep winning games, I think the likes of Grealish will commit to us. O'Neill is in the dark on this too it seems. I do respect his consistency in approach and he even called Jack's father Mr Grealish! You don't hear that used much these days.
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/martin-o-neill-insists-germany-will-still-top-euro-2016-group-1.1967993i love the photo of O'Neill and Low before the game. Contrast that to O'Neill yapping on and on to Low at the final whistle when Low wanted to get the f out of there ASAP. I'd love to know what O'Neill said, because Low certainly didn't want to listen.
TheOneWhoKnocks
17/10/2014, 9:56 PM
I wouldn't. I never had any interest in those players but Grealish is different, a kid already playing for us even if he does have the temerity to like the country he was born and bred in.
Was that what I had a problem with? My problem was that I thought he was playing for Ireland for career advancement reasons and not sentimental reasons, and because I thought he wasn't being entirely honest. In fairness it looks like he is going to declare for Ireland and if he does I will gladly eat humble pie but I still foresee a couple of forks in the road before he declares for anyone.
And yes I must admit that I was mildly irritated when he said he was supporting England in Euro 2012 when the team he plays Intl. football for (at youth level) were playing in the one and same tournament. I thought it was a bit patronising. Fair enough if he supports England but there is no need to be so vocal about it if you are playing for another country.