View Full Version : Jack Grealish

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

Predator
02/10/2014, 11:22 AM
Have you seen Jacko play much?
No doubt you will be cheering him on for England in the future.

Grealo = Much ado about nothing, another Daniel Nardiello, he will fade away quicker than a cheap T Shirt!

Lambo's only talking him up to divert attention away from his dreadful Villa team.I'll not be cheering him on for England, should that switch transpire. Why do you say that? I'll cheer him on if he decides to play for Ireland though.

I've seen him play a few times for Ireland youth teams but other than that I've only seen highlights of his time at Notts County, where he impressed, and his cameos for Villa's senior team. He's still very young but he has clearly got great potential. There is a reason why he is so highly rated and it's not simply because of premature hype. He can pick a pass, his footwork is good and he can score a goal. I think it's a bit early for you - or anyone - to write him off as 'another Daniel Nardiello'*. He is, after all, only 19.

*Can you talk us through the comparison to Nardiello?

the doc
02/10/2014, 11:51 AM
See the fake Paddy didn't make the England squad!

He's probably booking his free RA flights as we speak!

ArdeeBhoy
02/10/2014, 12:07 PM
'fake paddy'? Who? Harry Kane? Or Messrs Naughton, Noble, McNair et al?

02/10/2014, 12:50 PM
See the fake Paddy didn't make the England squad!

He's probably booking his free RA flights as we speak!
Probably because he's in the Ireland U21 squad

DannyInvincible
02/10/2014, 5:26 PM
'fake paddy'? Who? Harry Kane? Or Messrs Naughton, Noble, McNair et al?

McNair's not a fake paddy. He's just a paddy in denial. :p

GypsyBlackCat
03/10/2014, 3:09 PM
Where's the problem?

IMO the kid is right to take his time. He's only 19 and for all we know he might feel more English than Irish or vice versa. He has a big decision to make at such a young age. I'd be more concern about letting the likes of Buckley or McGoldrick slip through our fingers at this stage in their career.

As for all the fake Paddy stuff. Do people think Lawrenson, Townsend, Alridge and Sheedy would have picked us over England if they had the same choice as Grealish has?!!

03/10/2014, 3:21 PM
Lawrenson might have. Sheedy's choice was between Wales and Ireland and from everything I heard he was always going to pick Ireland.

TheOneWhoKnocks
03/10/2014, 3:31 PM
Where's the problem?

IMO the kid is right to take his time. He's only 19 and for all we know he might feel more English than Irish or vice versa. He has a big decision to make at such a young age. I'd be more concern about letting the likes of Buckley or McGoldrick slip through our fingers at this stage in their career.

As for all the fake Paddy stuff. Do people think Lawrenson, Townsend, Alridge and Sheedy would have picked us over England if they had the same choice as Grealish has?!!

IMO!

If he feels more English than Irish he should play for England. Cut straight to the thick of it and it's insurance. He has more chance of carving an Intl. career with Ireland but he has the time and space to see if he is good enough to play for England. It doesn't matter what the PR or damage control himself or his agent/father come out with. Ireland is a fall back option.

I would be flabbergasted if he reaches his full potential and lines out for us.

04/10/2014, 4:40 PM
Promoted to the bench today after Agbonlahar felt unwell after the warm-up and Weissmann started instead of him

DannyInvincible
04/10/2014, 6:18 PM
Came on for the last 20 minutes or so against Manchester City when it was 0-0. Villa losing 2-0 now with Agüero having just scored.

04/10/2014, 6:35 PM
I heard on the radio the guy who owns Ryanair (I forget his name) was offering Jack and
his family free flights on Ryanair for life if he declares fro Ireland!!

(will cost the £500 to check-in though :D)

Don't think he was involved much when he came on from what I saw.

DannyInvincible
04/10/2014, 7:13 PM
I heard on the radio the guy who owns Ryanair (I forget his name) was offering Jack and
his family free flights on Ryanair for life if he declares fro Ireland!!

(will cost the £500 to check-in though :D)

Don't think he was involved much when he came on from what I saw.

The really famous fella whose name is just a Google search away? Michael O'Leary is his name. In fairness, at least you didn't think he was our manager (http://foot.ie/threads/184787-Roy-Keane-and-Martin-O-Neil-to-manage-Ireland?p=1746195&viewfull=1#post1746195)! And geysir did that gag a few days ago. :p

the doc
04/10/2014, 8:35 PM
Came on for the last 20 minutes or so against Manchester City when it was 0-0. Villa losing 2-0 now with Agüero having just scored.

Got a compo for the game at VP today, so got to see the Fake Paddy again.

On this performance he'd be lucky to make the England women's team as he couldn't trap wind today!

Overhyped is this English joker!

04/10/2014, 8:40 PM

On this performance he'd be lucky to make the England women's team as he couldn't trap wind today!

Would you not be better off spending your time finding a club for Sean than bad-mouthing his fellow professionals on a message board?

04/10/2014, 9:07 PM
In fairness, he didn't really get much of a chance in the game. He had about four touches, but they were the four times Villa actually got a look at the ball in the last quarter of the game. Watched the second half of the match, and it was one way traffic. Grealish could hardly be lambasted for a performance in a game where Brad Guzan was practically the only Villa player to touch the ball.

04/10/2014, 9:10 PM
I think the doc's just disappointed he didn't get to see his best mate Ciaran Clark on the field.

the doc
04/10/2014, 9:14 PM
Would you not be better off spending your time finding a club for Sean than bad-mouthing his fellow professionals on a message board?

Who is this Sean?
My name isn't that, I fail to understand how posters on here could believe such foolish things.

Your all getting touchy as I tell it like it is, plus I know my footie.

If a players decent or good I say it, if he's over hyped or poor I say it too.

I don't like players who treat Ireland as their second choice or have played underage for England opting for Ireland just to get international football.

If posters on here don't like me for that then so be it.

04/10/2014, 9:37 PM
Who is this Sean?
My name isn't that, I fail to understand how posters on here could believe such foolish things.

I don't like players who treat Ireland as their second choice or have played underage for England opting for Ireland just to get international football.

You know your footie but you can't think of a single Sean who treats Ireland as his first choice and hasn't played underage for England who's looking for a club?

mark12345
04/10/2014, 9:53 PM

Very illogical and sad comment

04/10/2014, 10:00 PM
The really famous fella whose name is just a Google search away? Michael O'Leary is his name. In fairness, at least you didn't think he was our manager (http://foot.ie/threads/184787-Roy-Keane-and-Martin-O-Neil-to-manage-Ireland?p=1746195&viewfull=1#post1746195)! And geysir did that gag a few days ago. :p

I was thinking he might be called Ryan :)

It should be Michaelair.

Or maybe Aireyleary.

Or Airey O' Leary.

04/10/2014, 10:09 PM
What sort of Airline would be?

Struggles to get off the ground, too heavy at the back, wobbles about in the air, only one wing works properly :D
co-pilot prone to going AWOL, prone to heavy landings in small European countries with the undercarriage likely to come off!! :highly_amused:

DannyInvincible
04/10/2014, 10:42 PM
Who is this Sean?

http://media.giphy.com/media/PRe0BcXo6bcxa/giphy.gif

You know your footie but you can't think of a single Sean who treats Ireland as his first choice and hasn't played underage for England who's looking for a club?

The Doc never explained his/Sean's late passport application, did he?

I was thinking he might be called Ryan :)

Ryanair was named after Tony Ryan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Ryan).

04/10/2014, 10:43 PM
Who is this Sean?

Yes sir. You certainly know your football judging on your quality analysis, and dismissal therein, of the performance of an inexperienced 19 year old in the last 20 minutes of a game where his side were being battered.

Thumbs up for you Mr doc.

the doc
04/10/2014, 10:47 PM
Yes sir. You certainly know your football judging on your quality analysis, and dismissal therein, of the performance of an inexperienced 19 year old in the last 20 minutes of a game where his side were being battered.

Thumbs up for you Mr doc.

If you'd been paying attention on here you'd know that I've seen the fake paddy play numerous times.

Anyone see Wilson do his invisible man impression today?

Never a CB!

04/10/2014, 10:50 PM
If you'd been paying attention on here you'd know that I've seen the fake paddy play numerous times.

Never a CB!
Thinking you missed a couple of posts there, Doctor.

04/10/2014, 10:54 PM

Never a CB!

I don't generally pay attention to spoofers.

04/10/2014, 11:11 PM
Ryanair was named after Tony Ryan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Ryan).

As I though! It's beginning to make sense now. O'Leary is the CEO

the doc
04/10/2014, 11:43 PM
[QUOTE}
The Doc never explained his/Sean's late passport application, did .[/QUOTE]

How would I know?
Like many 2nd and 3rd generation Irish born abroad I'd assume most wouldn't need or bother to apply for an Irish passport as they would consider theirselves as Irish and see no need for an Irish passport.

Sport is different and if you were lucky enough to be asked to represent your grandad, granny's, mammys or da's country and you too considered yourself to be Irish then you'd look to get an Irish passport.

DannyInvincible
05/10/2014, 2:56 AM
How would I know?
Like many 2nd and 3rd generation Irish born abroad I'd assume most wouldn't need or bother to apply for an Irish passport as they would consider theirselves as Irish and see no need for an Irish passport.

Sport is different and if you were lucky enough to be asked to represent your grandad, granny's, mammys or da's country and you too considered yourself to be Irish then you'd look to get an Irish passport.

Now, I have absolutely nothing against St. Ledger, nor would I ever hold it against him that he only got a passport sorted once he was invited to join up. He seems like a good lad and has always given his all for Ireland. However, I do have a low tolerance for the type of guff you spout. If St. Ledger was, as you so emphatically insist, so dead-set on playing only for Ireland his whole life, why didn't he come forward and declare his intentions to the FAI in his teens so that he could line out for our youth sides?

the doc
06/10/2014, 1:40 PM
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/gareth-southgate-england-still-want-7888577

We will soon be rid of this fake paddy joker!

06/10/2014, 1:50 PM
Eng u21 boss Gareth Southgate on Jack Grealish: “The family & Jack are aware of our interest. Jack is somebody we have spoken to over the

"These things are quite fluid at younger ages, it happened with Michael Keane and his brother (Will) and Jonathan Bond came from Wales...

“Lots of other home nations are running development camps at a young age so players develop an allegiance quite young..

“You are allowed to switch once when you are a young player and Jack is someone we are monitoring and we’ll keep our eye on that situation."

06/10/2014, 2:17 PM
That's evidence that England have been actively tapping our Grealish for years and years and he's stayed with us..... so far.
He could'a jumped ship before these u21 championships started and been a part of the English set up, as they stand now on the cusp of Euro Cup Finals glory.

Olé Olé
06/10/2014, 2:27 PM
That's evidence that England have been actively touting our Grealish for years and years and he's stayed with us..... so far.
He could'a jumped ship before these u21 championships started and been a part of the English set up, as they stand now on the cusp of Euro Cup Finals glory.

That's what puzzles me about the whole thing. He seems to be happily devoted to our underage sides. Maybe his head has been turned slightly but it's never materialised to a switch of allegiance.

That's why I'm unsure whether or not he will jump ship. I will concede that he's always been offered a higher level of football by the FAI i.e. higher age-groups but I'm sure, given how concrete their interest is, that England would have accomodated this also. The following have received England under-21 caps at a young age in recent times:
Luke Shaw (17)
Will Hughes (17)
Cauley Woodrow (19)
James Ward-Prowse (18)
Nathan Chalobah (17)
Raheem Sterling (17)

Either way, he's in our current under-21 squad. Not their's. Let's see.

06/10/2014, 4:29 PM
Grealish has been "withdrawn by his club" from the squad for Thursday's game.

TheOneWhoKnocks
06/10/2014, 4:50 PM
Contract negotiations (which are not being handled by him) and a behind closed doors match is not a valid reason to pull out of Intl. duty imo. I know three other lads have pulled out of the same squad but I imagine under the pretense of some niggle.

Now it could have relevance on what he's leaning towards and it could be completely irrelevant. It's a friendly and he shouldn't be getting selected for the U21 team if his heart isn't in accepting a senior call up anyways so......

Seen this comment on VillaTalk for whatever it's worth.

"His Father (Kevin) is the driving force behind any decisions and is currently acting as his agent, he is being courted by some of footballs biggest management companies but not by any other club yet! His Father has also been behind his decision on the Irish National team as if he was called up by England his stock would rise higher."

06/10/2014, 4:56 PM
Starting to think he just shouldn't be called up if he's not made his decision.

DannyInvincible
06/10/2014, 5:42 PM
“You are allowed to switch once when you are a young player and Jack is someone we are monitoring and we’ll keep our eye on that situation."

Have you got Southgate's number? I think I need to make a call...

DannyInvincible
06/10/2014, 5:47 PM
Contract negotiations (which are not being handled by him) and a behind closed doors match is not a valid reason to pull out of Intl. duty imo. I know three other lads have pulled out of the same squad but I imagine under the pretense of some niggle.

Now it could have relevance on what he's leaning towards and it could be completely irrelevant. It's a friendly and he shouldn't be getting selected for the U21 team if his heart isn't in accepting a senior call up anyways so......

Seen this comment on VillaTalk for whatever it's worth.

"His Father (Kevin) is the driving force behind any decisions and is currently acting as his agent, he is being courted by some of footballs biggest management companies but not by any other club yet! His Father has also been behind his decision on the Irish National team as if he was called up by England his stock would rise higher."

Do Villa have a behind-closed-doors game the same night? Is it a friendly/reserve game or what?

Who made the comment on VillaTalk? Is it saying that his da has been behind his decision to play for Ireland and that this is his da's preference? It doesn't really explain things very well, does it? Why would Jack's stock rising be a bad thing necessarily, so that his da would urge him to go with the option that would cause his stock to rise least? If it's of no concern to his da who just wants him to play for Ireland, why bother mentioning it as if it's relevant?

Edit: Sorry, maybe I'm misinterpreting. I'm guessing it means his da was behind his decision to hold off on our senior team rather than having been behind his decision to play for us/continue playing for us (albeit at under-21 level).

06/10/2014, 5:49 PM
Have you got Southgate's number? I think I need to make a call...
He's not worth it Danny, contain yourself!

the doc
06/10/2014, 5:51 PM
Starting to think he just shouldn't be called up if he's not made his decision.

I agree, he should be given an ultimatum, accept the offer of a senior appearance for Ireland and if he declines, then we should withdraw him from our under age squads and inform him he will not be considered for Ireland again.

I personally don't think he's that good, has 2 tricks which any good defender will work out and deal with.

Just a flash in the pan, some potential but thats all.
Can he step up when he's been worked out? That's the question!

Olé Olé
06/10/2014, 5:57 PM
You have to love these insinuations (however true they may be) about how much a player's stock and profile rises from playing with England. The intense scrutiny and pressure that comes with that doesn't get a mention. Dear old Gareth Southgate could testify to this. I was barely in short pants when he missed that penalty against Germany and I'm still hearing of it.

06/10/2014, 6:52 PM
Grealish has been "withdrawn by his club" from the squad for Thursday's game.

Might as well close the thread then :p

ArdeeBhoy
06/10/2014, 9:57 PM
Now, I have absolutely nothing against St. Ledger, nor would I ever hold it against him that he only got a passport sorted once he was invited to join up. He seems like a good lad and has always given his all for Ireland. However, I do have a low tolerance for the type of guff you spout. If St. Ledger was, as you so emphatically insist, so dead-set on playing only for Ireland his whole life, why didn't he come forward and declare his intentions to the FAI in his teens so that he could line out for our youth sides?

Pals of mine were at school with him. No-one thought he was good enough to play professional football, least of all him...

DannyInvincible
07/10/2014, 12:44 AM
Pals of mine were at school with him. No-one thought he was good enough to play professional football, least of all him...

Allegedly, Brian Kerr selected him for either an under-17 or under-19 squad (http://foot.ie/converse.php?u=11054&u2=7723). I was never aware of this.

On the claim that he was also eligible to play for the IFA, considering that St. Ledger's eligibility was down to a Carlow grandparent, my suspicion is that the idea might have spawned from the mistaken perception around the time that anyone of Irish nationality, regardless of where they were born, was eligible to play for either ourselves or the IFA.

gastric
07/10/2014, 8:22 AM
Feeling uncomfortable about Grealish's withdrawal. If he does play for England it will be really weird. We are usually the recipient of dual national players and as hard it is to admit, I am beginning to understand the disappointment NI fans feel when players commit to us! Can't believe I admitted that.

07/10/2014, 8:53 AM
You have to love these insinuations (however true they may be) about how much a player's stock and profile rises from playing with England. The intense scrutiny and pressure that comes with that doesn't get a mention. Dear old Gareth Southgate could testify to this. I was barely in short pants when he missed that penalty against Germany and I'm still hearing of it.

Apparently he had shares with Pizza Hut, so technically his stock did rise after Euro 96

dramatisation:may not have happened

07/10/2014, 8:59 AM
Allegedly, Brian Kerr selected him for either an under-17 or under-19 squad (http://foot.ie/converse.php?u=11054&u2=7723). I was never aware of this.

On the claim that he was also eligible to play for the IFA, considering that St. Ledger's eligibility was down to a Carlow grandparent, my suspicion is that the idea might have spawned from the mistaken perception around the time that anyone of Irish nationality, regardless of where they were born, was eligible to play for either ourselves or the IFA.

I'd say fair play to the doc for actually addressing the issue he's been called out on numerous times. It might be a bit naive to take the word of a relative as gospel (if he isn't in fact SSL himself) but credit where it's due.
Also, is DG de Gaffer, or who is it? Sorry it's that numpty Givens isn't it?

07/10/2014, 9:42 AM
Feeling uncomfortable about Grealish's withdrawal.

its not ideal but some reasonable enough reasons were given yesterday including his participation in a behind doors first team friendly and contract negotiations. isn't our 21s match just a friendly anyway? id say he would have turned up for a competitive match

DannyInvincible
07/10/2014, 11:28 AM
Noel King has no concerns about the withdrawal: http://balls.ie/football/jack-grealishs-u21-withdrawal-doesnt-worry-noel-king-319/

Noel King has dismissed concerns that Jack Grealish’s withdrawal from the Ireland u21 squad has anything to do with his long term international future. Grealish withdrew from the squad for Thursday’s friendly away to Norway to concentrate on his club commitments, including a closed-doors friendly for Aston Villa, and King doesn’t see that as a problem.

"I accept Jack’s reasons for withdrawing and understand it. I have no issue with it and just see this as an opportunity for other players to come in and show what they can do."

Those called up by King include Kenneth McEvoy and Shelbourne’s Dylan Connolly, whose exploits this weekend may have secured him a late call-up. Grealish is not the only player to miss out with Bradley Garmston, Conor Wilkinson and Will Hayhurst also choosing to remain with their clubs and King accepts that that is part of international football.

"The players have been ruled out for a variety of reasons and it opens the door for the other players who have been called up.

It’s a friendly game. Everybody that comes in will play and we will get a good look at them as we look to build a squad for the next qualifying campaign."

The game isn't one that would have tied him, so it's not as if that would have been a concern in Grealish's mind or a reason for withdrawal.

Olé Olé
07/10/2014, 11:41 AM
To put the withdrawal in context, it's a friendly. Furthermore, he's the only memeber of the squad on the fringes of the first team in the PL. The other first-team players I can pick out would be O'Connell, Hoban, Browne, Hayhurst and Wilkinson- Championship, SPL and League One being their level.