View Full Version : Jack Grealish
TheOneWhoKnocks
09/03/2014, 3:09 PM
He can do whatever he likes, just like the northern born players who switch sides to us. Who are we to judge? Allegiance is a pretty big grey area for English born and bred Irish prospects. Just hope that he sticks with us.
Is it though? Wilson and McClean self-identify as Irish and would have been uncomfortable playing for NI at senior level. NI would kill for a talent like Darron Gibson. I wouldn't put Grealish's importance to England on a pedestal with Gibson's importance to NI. I don't think the issues between Ireland and NI are comparable with any issues between Ireland and England, in terms of eligibility and players switching.
Grealish - at the moment - is playing for Ireland for reasons that are not in any way sentimental.
This fairly puts to bed the notion that it was a childhood dream to play for Ireland!
In all seriousness, if the lad plays for England. I wish him luck. I just really dislike someone playing off both sides like this. It cheapens International football.
Just as an addendum, a few weeks ago I posted something his brother commented on calling Ireland Jack's "International club". I thought it was a strange way to put it at the time..
09/03/2014, 3:29 PM
Stu said he can do what he likes just like those NI players. He didn't say Grealish's nationality is like those NI players.
In your opinion every sentence uttered by any footballer or family member of a footballer is laden with meaning and intent. "International club" could mean he feels close to the team because he has been with them for so long (more likely in my opinion) or it could mean that it's just who he's playing for at the moment. It's ambiguous but not sinister.
Grealish is of mixed heritage and dual nationality. He can, as Stu says, play for who he wants. I hope he plays for us.
DannyInvincible
09/03/2014, 3:55 PM
Is it though? Wilson and McClean self-identify as Irish and would have been uncomfortable playing for NI at senior level. NI would kill for a talent like Darron Gibson. I wouldn't put Grealish's importance to England on a pedestal with Gibson's importance to NI. I don't think the issues between Ireland and NI are comparable with any issues between Ireland and England, in terms of eligibility and players switching.
What issues are they? Of course they're comparable. The same rules apply to both situations and a player is free to declare for whichever association he wishes, for whatever reason he wishes, so long as he is eligible. If an association concerned then feels that player is good enough to offer something and is willing to select him, that's up to the association.
I don't see why the possibility of one association deeming a player "more important" to them than to another should generate some coercive influence or pressure upon the player, nor should it be in any way relevant when it comes to a player making a free choice, unless he himself wishes to bring it into his consideration. If NI would love Gibson, too bad; he doesn't want to play for them. If Grealish opts for England down the line, that's also his right. There's no suggestion that that is even likely, but if some Ireland fans have a misplaced sense of entitlement to think he owes them something or to think that their perception of his importance to us should pressure him into sticking with us, they're out of line.
Grealish - at the moment - is playing for Ireland for reasons that are not in any way sentimental.
So, he's just a disgraceful mercenary now?... Confiscate his passport! Why do you come out with firebrand nonsense like this?
In all seriousness, if the lad plays for England. I wish him luck. I just really dislike someone playing off both sides like this. It cheapens International football.
Be reasonable. Claiming he's playing two sides off against one another is a bit of a stretch. You're being alarmist. He's an 18-year-old dual national presently committed to Ireland. He hasn't said he'll switch to England nor would it appear he is considering it; he merely said, perhaps out of politeness, that he's not to know what might happen in the future.
Just as an addendum, a few weeks ago I posted something his brother commented on calling Ireland Jack's "International club". I thought it was a strange way to put it at the time..
What are you getting at? That this implies he might treat international football like club football and is all set for a big "transfer" to England? :rolleyes:
TheOneWhoKnocks
09/03/2014, 4:25 PM
Marc Wilson, James McClean, Shane Duffy and Darron Gibson were all born in this country. Jack Grealish has Irish Grandparents. Wilson, McClean, Duffy and Gibson were all good enough to play for Northern Ireland. Grealish was not good enough to play for England at U-21 level and has received more opportunities with Ireland at every underage level. I haven't even mentioned - nor will I go into - the politics behind Wilson, McClean, Duffy and Gibson declaring for Ireland suffice to say that Grealish's decision to declare - temporarily - for Ireland is not nearly as hot topic an issue. I think the differences are pretty fundamental.
People justify lads like Grealish declaring for Ireland because they feel just as Irish as us and it was us who they grew up supporting or self-identifying as. Then once it comes out that his decision to play for us is based on whether England come calling, they come out with other stuff to justify it. The lad has played for Ireland for 4 or 5 years and has been treated professionally, the least he could do is show a bit of respect back.
I think it's pretty obvious what himself and his brother have mentioned several times and if he had the profile of a Ross Barkley or Jack Rodwell and was playing on loan at a Championship side instead of the worst team in League One, I think we all know where his bread would be buttered.
Yeah. That's basically what this is like. International countries being treated like clubs. Alex Bruce, Johnny Gorman and Alex Pearce have 3 of them for God's sake. At least half-a-dozen lads I can think of born in one country, declare for another then switch back; like the Keane brothers at Man Utd.
It's a joke and I despise Joey Barton but I firmly agree on his views on International football.
I think a lot of this bureaucratic, headwrecking nonsense would be filtered out if they restricted it to parentage instead of Grandparentage.
And if someone with an Irish Grandparent/s really wanted to play for Ireland but they couldn't, then tough. A lot of the lads that declare feel English and Irish as people say. If they were good enough to play for England, I'm sure it wouldn't break their hearts.
DannyInvincible
09/03/2014, 5:14 PM
Marc Wilson, James McClean, Shane Duffy and Darron Gibson were all born in this country. Jack Grealish has Irish Grandparents. Wilson, McClean, Duffy and Gibson were all good enough to play for Northern Ireland. Grealish was not good enough to play for England at U-21 level and has received more opportunities with Ireland at every underage level. I haven't even mentioned - nor will I go into - the politics behind Wilson, McClean, Duffy and Gibson declaring for Ireland suffice to say that Grealish's decision to declare - temporarily - for Ireland is not nearly as hot topic an issue. I think the differences are pretty fundamental.
Certainly, the situations of the aforementioned examples differ from Grealish's circumstances, but of what substantive consequence are these circumstantial differences?
Grealish has rejected advances from the FA in the past in favour of sticking with us. You have no way of knowing that his declaration might be "temporary". There is no reason to assume that it is. You're being highly unfair to the lad. Whatever about the reasoning behind particular declarations or switches of association, the same rules apply to all cases. Are you suggesting Grealish should be treated differently or implying that there should be some unique expectation placed upon him due to his particular circumstances as opposed to the circumstances of northern-born Irish nationals or what exactly?
The lad has played for Ireland for 4 or 5 years and has been treated professionally, the least he could do is show a bit of respect back.
He is committed and turns up when selected, like a respectful professional. He's been turning up since the age of 14 to play for us. In what way do you feel disrespected?
I think it's pretty obvious what himself and his brother have mentioned several times and if he had the profile of a Ross Barkley or Jack Rodwell and was playing on loan at a Championship side instead of the worst team in League One, I think we all know where his bread would be buttered.
No, we don't. You're being unfairly presumptive again.
Yeah. That's basically what this is like. International countries being treated like clubs. Alex Bruce, Johnny Gorman and Alex Pearce have 3 of them for God's sake. At least half-a-dozen lads I can think of born in one country, declare for another then switch back; like the Keane brothers at Man Utd.
Well, believe it or not, in this international world, it is possible to be a national of more than one country. Why shouldn't dual or multiple nationalities be recognised? Each is as valid as the other. Besides, Bruce, Gorman and Pearce have never played for a third association and there is nothing within the rules that would permit them to do so. FIFA permit only one formal switch of association prior to a player being capped competitively at senior international level. Associations aren't being treated like clubs.
I think a lot of this bureaucratic, headwrecking nonsense would be filtered out if they restricted it to parentage instead of Grandparentage.
And if someone with an Irish Grandparent/s really wanted to play for Ireland but they couldn't, then tough. A lot of the lads that declare feel English and Irish as people say. If they were good enough to play for England, I'm sure it wouldn't break their hearts.
Tell that to James McCarthy and Aiden McGeady.
Whose head is it wrecking? Most people seem fine with the "granny rule". It obviously has continued to exist since its introduction because it is popular. FIFA don't seem overly concerned or burdened by this alleged bureaucratic overload it creates for them either. If those in power had a problem with it, they'd have gotten rid of it.
Bungle
09/03/2014, 7:03 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/442669165087035392?screen_name=JackGrealish1
From jack.
People justify lads like Grealish declaring for Ireland because they feel just as Irish as us and it was us who they grew up supporting or self-identifying as. Then once it comes out that his decision to play for us is based on whether England come calling, they come out with other stuff to justify it. The lad has played for Ireland for 4 or 5 years and has been treated professionally, the least he could do is show a bit of respect back.
It's a joke and I despise Joey Barton but I firmly agree on his views on International football.
You're such a bore.
Dunners
09/03/2014, 8:41 PM
TOWK showing your true colours now
Nothing like a bit of ethnic cleansing for those plastic paddy's
TheOneWhoKnocks
09/03/2014, 8:55 PM
TOWK showing your true colours now
Nothing like a bit of ethnic cleansing for those plastic paddy's
There are several past and present English Internationals of Irish descent who are proud of their Irish roots. Declaring for a country is not an indicator of pride in your roots. More often than not it's an indicator of how good you are at football. Not all the time but in the overwhelming majority of cases.
Look at Wayne Rooney. Decks his young lad out in Ireland garb. He plays for England because he is English and good enough.
I don't know how anyone could possibly find my comments offensive unless they are trying.
And as for Jack's comments on Twitter. Lip service and damage control. His comments out of his own mouth are easily decipherable.
09/03/2014, 9:16 PM
I'd say he had a few doubts before Noel King settled his mind.
He's our player to lose, only if we want to lose him.
His twitter comment is clear intent.
09/03/2014, 9:37 PM
There are several past and present English Internationals of Irish descent who are proud of their Irish roots. Declaring for a country is not an indicator of pride in your roots. More often than not it's an indicator of how good you are at football. Not all the time but in the overwhelming majority of cases.
Look at Wayne Rooney. Decks his young lad out in Ireland garb. He plays for England because he is English and good enough.
I don't know how anyone could possibly find my comments offensive unless they are trying.
And as for Jack's comments on Twitter. Lip service and damage control. His comments out of his own mouth are easily decipherable.
So, nothing to do with being ineligible after playing a competitive underage international, as the rules were at the time then?
09/03/2014, 9:43 PM
I think there's a degree of ambiguity in all of Grealish's utterances, in the press, on Twitter, wherever. What really irks me is TOWK, not for the first time, interpreting something ambiguous as something completely malignant just because it suits him.
I'd expect TOWK's leaps of faith would all be challenged in a courtroom with the cry of "Objection: speculation" and I'd expect the objection to be upheld. Grealish may well go on to play for England but there is far too much malignant assumption on TOWK's part in this instance. Pure sophism, yet again.
TheOneWhoKnocks
09/03/2014, 9:45 PM
So, nothing to do with being ineligible after playing a competitive underage international, as the rules were at the time then?
Maybe. But judging by some of his tattoos, probably not.
10/03/2014, 12:55 AM
Maybe. But judging by some of his tattoos, probably not.
This one?
http://db2.stb.s-msn.com/i/92/F14170FE29AC02763A081A5EDF63C.jpg
DannyInvincible
10/03/2014, 8:27 AM
Indeed, because he is English too. Are you suggesting there is a contradiction there or are you implying that Rooney's decision to play for England along with his supposed pride in his Irish heritage are irreconcilable and deserving of indictment? As well as having their Irish roots, in which they may well invest a great deal of pride, these players are also English-born and bred. I can't speak for these players nor Rooney personally, but they may even share pride in some sense of Englishness, believe it or not. That does not have to equate or amount to an insult to their shared Irish heritage, which just may not be as domineering and enthralling as we might like to assume it to be from our perspective as non-dual Irish nationals. It would be surprising if players born in England (whether they had Irish heritage or not) had absolutely no interest in representing the country in which they were born and raised.
The problem with your comments is that they're unfairly presumptive. You interpret harshly so that you can judge negatively. You assume to know Grealish's "disgraceful" future intentions - intentions of which he may not even be wholly certain himself at present - based on ambiguous comments and the decisions of some previous unrelated England internationals of Irish descent. As it stands, however, there is no reason whatsoever to assume he's planning on a switch to England. Why attach significance to one set of his words (to which you've also attached an unduly sharp interpretation) but completely dismiss a later clarification? Even if he were to end up switching for whatever reason, there'd be no disgrace in it.
10/03/2014, 8:40 AM
Because he's a wind up. He knows all you're saying.
DannyInvincible
10/03/2014, 10:31 AM
This one?
http://db2.stb.s-msn.com/i/92/F14170FE29AC02763A081A5EDF63C.jpg
He has another tattoo on his other arm. It's a St. George's cross with accompanying text: "English and proud."
http://archives.deccanchronicle.com/sites/default/files/mediaimages/gallery/2013/Jul/Wayne-Rooney.jpg
I fail to see the supposed problem or contradiction, however. He was born and raised in England to parents who were also born and raised in England. Why wouldn't he feel English and proud? It doesn't negate the possibility of him also possessing a sense of pride in his Irish heritage, which is possibly the meaning behind the cross tattoo with Celtic symbolism.
10/03/2014, 3:10 PM
I'd say the meaning behind the Celtic cross is that it's the kind of tattoo people who want tattoos but aren't imaginative to think of something unique to get inked. At least it's not a band, I suppose.
DannyInvincible
10/03/2014, 5:40 PM
I'd say he had a few doubts before Noel King settled his mind.
He's our player to lose, only if we want to lose him.
His twitter comment is clear intent.
Indeed. If he'd been worried about hurting his reputation so as to necessitate what TOWK believes to be a damage limitation tweet - a tweet in response to a solitary fan - he wouldn't have given the interview in the first place. Besides, TOWK is being very selective; Grealish even stated in the piece that he'll stick with us so long as he continues enjoying playing for us. If he's not a masochist to TOWK's liking, fair enough. Who wants to do things they don't enjoy? That seems pretty reasonable. I get the impression TOWK enjoys putting words in people's mouths...
10/03/2014, 5:46 PM
I'd say the meaning behind the Celtic cross is that it's the kind of tattoo people who want tattoos but aren't imaginative to think of something unique to get inked. At least it's not a band, I suppose.
I suppose you could say this same about this one.
http://d.ibtimes.co.uk/en/full/427360/event-hoping-reclaim-swastika-its-nazi-connotations-reuters.jpg
TheOneWhoKnocks
10/03/2014, 6:14 PM
I understand I rub some people the wrong way about this and I may take it too far in the heat of the moment but the lad said what he said. I didn't put the words in his mouth or deliberately take them out of context.
Besides, himself and his brother have made similar statements every time they open their mouths on the subject.
And every other Ireland related article about Grealish seems to involve Noel King massaging his feet or giving him a back rub to make sure he is happy and sate his ego. I just find it all a bit bizarre.
10/03/2014, 8:54 PM
Grealish has clearly stated he is happy playing with Ireland.he has also tied that conditions, the conditions in this case that he wants to play at the highest level and playing u21 is better than u19. There is very little to read into. Its all about playing at the highest level. And the highest level is the England international team, not ours.
Towk your general point is pretty spot on.
10/03/2014, 9:35 PM
Grealish has clearly stated he is happy playing with Ireland.he has also tied that conditions, the conditions in this case that he wants to play at the highest level and playing u21 is better than u19. There is very little to read into. Its all about playing at the highest level. And the highest level is the England international team, not ours.
Towk your general point is pretty spot on.
I think you're taking things to their logical conclusion a bit too much there. His comments suggest that he wants to continue to progress and play at higher levels, and currently the FAI offer him that ladder of progression and his talent justifies it. I don't think it follows that he'll jump ship on Ireland if an England cap is on the horizon - I think he just wants to keep progressing and if a senior cap is offered to him he'll be delighted to take it. The point is that he should only be offered it if he warrants it.
10/03/2014, 9:40 PM
That's generally what I do...take things to their logical conclusion.
I hope youre right but its not what he is suggesting at all. He wants to play at the highest level why else wouldn't he have just come out and said what the england irish mercenaries say but juxtaposed, I want to play for ireland( but if I'm not good enough I'll play for england....)why even mention england in the first place.if he had his heart set on ireland he would do a kilbane.he doesnt and that's why he is leaving the door open,perhaps its his head and not his heart which is set.
I dont understand how ye can take things out of context and apply it to whatever argument of the day. I'd love it to be that way mind you.
CraftyToePoke
10/03/2014, 9:41 PM
The point is that he should only be offered it if he warrants it.
So you see no value in calling him out on it nice & early with a senior call up, if even to an end of season, big squad affair. Just to see the colour of his intentions ? Even if just to clear a space mid term for someone fully committed. (Not saying he isn't but there is a bit more smoke than is ideal here)
10/03/2014, 10:20 PM
I hope youre right but its not what he is suggesting at all. He wants to play at the highest level why else wouldn't he have just come out and said what the england irish mercenaries say but juxtaposed, I want to play for ireland( but if I'm not good enough I'll play for england....)why even mention england in the first place.if he had his heart set on ireland he would do a kilbane.he doesnt and that's why he is leaving the door open,perhaps its his head and not his heart which is set.
I dont understand how ye can take things out of context and apply it to whatever argument of the day. I'd love it to be that way mind you.
He's saying, as far as I can see, that's he happy within the Ireland set-up as long as he's been offered a clear path of progression. If England came in and offered him a similar path of progression, he's not ruling out that he'd look at it, but that doesn't mean he'd take up the option. That's what I mean by logical conclusion - you're assuming he's willing to take it to the very extreme, when life as you know is more often dealt with in shades of grey. Since you're always reminding us about your life experience :)
So you see no value in calling him out on it nice & early with a senior call up, if even to an end of season, big squad affair. Just to see the colour of his intentions ? Even if just to clear a space mid term for someone fully committed. (Not saying he isn't but there is a bit more smoke than is ideal here)
If he warrants being called up to a year-end camp, by all means. Conor Clifford was fast-tracked to the senior set-up based on his promise - it didn't work out, but it could have. If the management feel Grealish would similarly benefit, then they should think about a call-up. But they shouldn't call somebody up just to keep him happy.
10/03/2014, 11:07 PM
Whenever you start, take your time though:), to take responsibility for rearing children in a dual nationality set up/culture, you might begin to have a more rational understanding of their ways, their expressions and their sentiments, and his lad is 3rd generation Irish. I could explain my interpretation of what he said, which I regard as very 'normal' for a young lad in his situation, but you just would not understand it, intellectualising about what this lad was quoted as saying does not help to make sense out of it. You have to go with his overriding decision.
DannyInvincible
11/03/2014, 8:45 AM
the england irish mercenaries
Just because someone born outside of Ireland might have some Irish blood in them, it doesn't mean they'll automatically identify with Ireland primarily and accord their Irish heritage cultural precedence. It might indeed be hard for those of us who are blessed with our such amazing, pure and full-blown Irishness to fathom, but, for some people, their inherited Irishness may even be an identity that follows as secondary to their born-and-bred Englishness. It doesn't mean they're mercenary or plastic; it just means they're dual nationals or of mixed heritage.
why even mention england in the first place.if he had his heart set on ireland he would do a kilbane.he doesnt and that's why he is leaving the door open,perhaps its his head and not his heart which is set.
Maybe because he is English too? There may be an element of politeness or realpolitik, so to speak, in his comments. Say, if Ireland doesn't work out for him, for whatever reason, why would he cut all possible or potential ties with England? It would be a naive career-move to limit his options at the age of 18. That's just a reality, and a seemingly hard one for some to accept. He's a dual national, so it's only reasonable that his commitment to us might not be at a level of one hundred per cent just yet. He's still demonstrated greater commitment to us than he has to England throughout his young career, mind, in spite of being born and raised in England. Surely that's a good sign.
TheOneWhoKnocks
11/03/2014, 8:49 AM
Just because someone born outside of Ireland might have some Irish blood in them, it doesn't mean they'll automatically identify with Ireland primarily and accord their Irish heritage cultural precedence. It might indeed be hard for those of us who are blessed with our such amazing, pure and full-blown Irishness to fathom, but, for some people, their inherited Irishness may even be an identity that follows as secondary to their born-and-bred Englishness. It doesn't mean they're mercenary or plastic; it just means they're dual nationals or of mixed heritage.
Maybe because he is English too? There may be an element of politeness or realpolitik, so to speak, in his comments. Say, if Ireland doesn't work out for him, for whatever reason, why would he cut all possible or potential ties with England? It would be a naive career-move to limit his options at the age of 18. That's just a reality, and a seemingly hard one for some to accept. He's a dual national, so it's only reasonable that his commitment to us might not be at a level of one hundred per cent just yet. He's still demonstrated greater commitment to us than he has to England throughout his young career, mind, in spite of being born and raised in England. Surely that's a good sign.
Why wouldn't Ireland work out? And if, for whatever reason, we decided that we had/have better options, would England even be an option for him?
DannyInvincible
11/03/2014, 9:04 AM
Why wouldn't Ireland work out?
I don't know what might happen. A fall-out, a disagreement, a stubborn manager/Trap-like figure over-looking him... Who knows? However, he has said he'll continue playing with us and won't be pressured into playing for England so long as he's happy.
And if, for whatever reason, we decided that we had/have better options, would England even be an option for him?
I'm not sure what you mean exactly. If he decided or we decided? Regardless, I don't think it's fair to assume his personal thoughts on matters based on selected ambiguous statements and the decisions of previous England internationals of Irish heritage.
Edit: Sorry, having re-read what you'd written, I understand what you mean now. If we decided we had better options as in preferred players over him?...
Possibly, he wouldn't be a preferred option for England in that case - can't say for sure - but I'd hope it wouldn't come to that so long as he's happy playing for us. As I mentioned, I suppose there are other possible ways that a player could become unhappy or disillusioned with a certain regime or association.
11/03/2014, 11:44 AM
There is no ambiguity in the word England and using it in a sentence.
Why not just say I have my heart set on playing for Ireland, if it doesnt work out then so be it. Because he doesn't have his heart set on playing for ireland. We are going round the houses here, but whatever the argument for hte lad being "confused" because of his dual nationality, he certainly isn't a kilbane, he certainly isn't a sure fire for ireland in the future, cap him take the decision out of his hands.
Bungle
11/03/2014, 10:33 PM
No need to panic :)
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/grealish-sets-sights-on-senior-callup-from-oneill-in-summer-30074752.html
11/03/2014, 11:32 PM
"Long-term, the aim is to do well with Ireland and Villa. It was very flattering to hear Martin O'Neill speak about me recently and that's a sign that I am doing something right. It was good to hear he knows who I am, Martin was first-team manager at Villa when I was on the books there, but there's no way he would have known who I was.
"I was a season ticket holder when I was four and then I joined Villa when I was six and have been there all along," he added.
"I would love to play for the senior team and with all the games they have lined up for the summer it could happen, but for now I am just enjoying every game and every cap with the U21s."
Such latent ambiguity.
11/03/2014, 11:42 PM
Apparently he played for Warwickshire in Croker but he didn't rule out playing for Roscommon if they'd offered him a minor cap.
Crosby87
12/03/2014, 12:00 AM
His last name sounds like a swear word. Oh, Grealish. I've dropped the eggs again.
gastric
12/03/2014, 12:22 AM
This is turning into the new James McCarthy thread- 'will he or won't he?' For peace sake, I hope he gets a run in the summer friendlies, scores goals and does not become the new Terry Dixon/Joe Lapira cursed player. :D
12/03/2014, 12:47 AM
This is turning into the new James McCarthy thread- 'will he or won't he?' For peace sake, I hope he gets a run in the summer friendlies, scores goals and does not become the new Terry Dixon/Joe Lapira cursed player. :D
Nice one, Captain Jinx.
Crosby87
12/03/2014, 1:07 AM
Maybe they will bring him here. If Liam Neeson wins this battle with the mayor, Jack will still be able to get a carriage ride.
12/03/2014, 7:20 AM
Such latent ambiguity.
It's only obvious if you really want to see it
12/03/2014, 8:01 AM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/grealish-sets-sights-on-senior-callup-from-oneill-in-summer-30074752.html
Shamelessly embarking on a self-promotion campaign. He must use Richard Keogh's publicist. Grealish issues call me up threat to O'Neill. His words were clear to me. "I played GAA a few times. Me must be Irish" patronising rubbish.
And what does "long term" mean? His failure to define long term is disgraceful.
Crosby87
12/03/2014, 10:26 AM
My mole in the FAI swears to me that Grealish thinks Ireland is part of the UK and no one, not even Bobby Sands Junior, can convince him otherwise.
Fixer82
12/03/2014, 11:03 AM
My mole in the FAI swears to me that Grealish thinks Ireland is part of the UK and no one, not even Bobby Sands Junior, can convince him otherwise.
your mole or your troll?
Bungle
12/03/2014, 2:31 PM
Maybe it's me, but I'm more concerned by the fact that aside from Hendrick and Brady, very few young lads from Southern Ireland are making any kind of an impression in the top two tiers of English football. An increasing amount of our talent is from the North like Gibson, Wilson, McClean, Duffy etc and there is an ever increasing reliance on 2nd/3rd generation lads like McCarthy, Grealish, Carruthers and Murray.
If I remember correctly we pale badly compared to the other home countries like Northern Ireland for having UEFA registered coaches, let alone the continentals. Is it any wonder that our best young hopes are coming from Derry, or the British mainland. We seem to be living on a prayer waiting for the world class talent to come good like a Jack Byrne or a Noe Baba so we can say that all is good with the schoolboy system in the Republic. Hell we might get lucky and have two break through around the one time.
Was talking with a friend who is sitting the Uefa pro badge which I think is the top uefa badge and he was saying that it's ridiculously expensive. He's the only person in his club that has any kind of UEFA badge because of the cost to the club. We might always be a feeder to the British teams, but lets ensure that we at least regain our position as a top class breeding ground of young talent by giving our lads the best coaching they could get. There will be a positive knockon effect for the domestic league, whether it be the guys that don't make it in Britain or the better talent that is around the place. The FAI need to be ensuring that all clubs in the country have coaches with uefa badges, not just the lads at St Kevin's or Crumlin. A good start would be for the, to reduce the costs.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/03/2014, 4:46 PM
I sincerely hope that the "87" in your name is a typo.
TheOneWhoKnocks
12/03/2014, 4:51 PM
Shamelessly embarking on a self-promotion campaign. He must use Richard Keogh's publicist. Grealish issues call me up threat to O'Neill. His words were clear to me. "I played GAA a few times. Me must be Irish" patronising rubbish.
And what does "long term" mean? His failure to define long term is disgraceful.
The cynic in me says that he is putting out fires after the weekend piece in the Independent.
Thought the link was through Grandparentage?
Olé Olé
12/03/2014, 6:17 PM
That article says his father is from Dublin. That's not the case, is it? I always thought the case was that one of his parents had two Irish parents and the other had one Irish parent.
12/03/2014, 9:01 PM
Me too.so do we believe the herald article at all.if the argument was the other way we would be dismissing that article mainly cos it was the herald but also because of misinformation and lazy journalism.
12/03/2014, 9:04 PM
I'm sure I've never seen anyone claim his father was born in Ireland, and I'm almost sure his father Kevin is a Birmingham boy. I think the Herald writer probably just assumed or misremembered, lazy either way.
DannyInvincible
12/03/2014, 11:11 PM
Me too.so do we believe the herald article at all.if the argument was the other way we would be dismissing that article mainly cos it was the herald but also because of misinformation and lazy journalism.
Well, they can't just make up the quotes. That would be a breach of journalistic ethics and potentially libelous.
13/03/2014, 10:31 AM
It is the Herald though, Danny.