View Full Version : Jack Grealish

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

The Fly
10/08/2014, 10:23 PM
Hopefully Lambert gets sacked as soon as possible so Roy can start playing and signing loads of Irish players.

Villa already have a lot of Irish players and if they're good enough they'll get the game time. Having Roy in charge won't make much difference there, and outside of Everton it's very much slim pickings for Irish talent.

Fixer82
11/08/2014, 1:21 AM
Villa already have a lot of Irish players and if they're good enough they'll get the game time. Having Roy in charge won't make much difference there, and outside of Everton it's very much slim pickings for Irish talent.

Absolutely agree. Keane's job is to assist in getting results, not get game time for Irish lads

samhaydenjr
11/08/2014, 3:50 AM
Outside of Everton, Hull and Stoke, there is barely any Irish interest in the Premier League.

Who outside of that trio has players that will be guaranteed significant playing time, unencumbered?

QPR - Dunne has stiff competition
Palace - Delaney has stiff competition
Sunderland - Poyet has dropped O'Shea before (all these players are 33 and over)
West Ham - O'Brien in and out of West Ham team

Hopefully Lambert gets sacked as soon as possible so Roy can start playing and signing loads of Irish players.

I was going to dispute this, then went through the list of Premier League Squads and realised I could only really add Ciaran Clark to that list. At least there's enough at Hull, Stoke and Everton to make up a reasonably decent international team to be supplemented by Keane, Stokes and some prominent Championship players but, yeah, if one of those teams goes down, we are in serious trouble.

11/08/2014, 8:33 PM
Joe Cole, Leandro Bacuna, Kieran Richardson (who can play elsewhere), Aleks Tonev and Charles N'Zogbia.

Not exactly a stellar list of rivals. Much depends on Lambert's willingness to give youth a chance.

PS That list is dependent on how they line up, tactically. Weimann and others come into the mix in a 4-3-3.
Tonev gone to Celtic now, one less player in Grealish's way!

16/08/2014, 1:08 PM
On the bench for Villa's opener against Stoke, alongside Clark and Given.

DannyInvincible
16/08/2014, 1:21 PM
On the bench for Villa's opener against Stoke, alongside Clark and Given.

So long as they're not laughing at any jokes or anything!

16/08/2014, 1:23 PM
That lot are a wisecrack waiting to happen. Mark my words, I'm rarely wrong about these things.

16/08/2014, 3:32 PM
On for the last 20 minutes with Villa 1-0 up.

TheOneWhoKnocks
16/08/2014, 4:06 PM
http://www.villatalk.com/index.php/topic/11825-ratings-and-reactions-stoke-0-1-villa/

Grealish doing respectably in the voting for man of the match despite only playing 20 minutes.

16/08/2014, 4:46 PM
If he's good enough to be considered for this level he's surely good enough to be picked for an upcoming squad?

16/08/2014, 7:03 PM
Seems he had a decent enough début, hopefully he will be seeing more of him at Villa.

16/08/2014, 7:24 PM
Seems he had a decent enough début, hopefully he will be seeing more of him at Villa.
his debut was last May against Man City!

16/08/2014, 9:08 PM
his debut was last May against Man City!

Yes, that's precisely what I meant ;)

16/08/2014, 9:16 PM
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/gaffers-reaction-paul-lambert-hails-7627192

(lambert):
“Jack Grealish came on at 18 years age and did well. There were some really good things there – a lot of pluses.”
Villa looked more resolute and streetwise.
The arrivals of seasoned Premier League performers seems to have done the trick, at least in these very early stages.
“I said the other day you can only be young for so long,” said Lambert.
“Grealish is young, everyone else has been in it for two years. You can only be young for so long.
“The whole team performance today was outstanding.”

So 18 years into the match Grealish came on, understandable as there must have been a few tired legs out there. :shock:

20/08/2014, 12:24 AM
If he's good enough to be considered for this level he's surely good enough to be picked for an upcoming squad?

I dunno if I said it here, not been on much recently, but definitely spoke about this with match going mates, unless he refused, it was absolutely stupid not to bring him on tour. He's completely different to everyone we have close to senior level, bar McGeady, and Grealish was always going to feature from the go for Villa this season, even if it's dribs and drabs. While it's a huge jump from league 1/2 to playing the EPL, Grealish was well able for the hard knocks last season, and having watched as many older loanee's struggle in lower leagues (so many Liverpool players, so many) Grealish seemed to relish it.

Don't get me wrong, it won't be the difference between us qualifying or not (actually maybe that's not too far-fetched) but there was a great opportunity to integrate him into the squad ahead of a hectic campaign, and actually have him as a left-field option this season; whereas he might be included in the friendly with (Norway ? in November) and possibly see some time towards the summer of 2015. Because we have so many options.

20/08/2014, 1:23 AM
Hope he gets a run out v Newcastle on Saturday, Newcastle are bottom of the table
and Villa tying for top spot on 3 points. Hence Villa could be outright leaders next week
either clear on points or on goal difference. So it would be pretty hard to justify leaving out
someone playing for the Premiership leaders!!!
Then again he might not even be selected I am getting a bit ahead of myself there!

Might be worth adding that Andy Reid currently sits on top of a somewhat squashed
Championship league table!!!

20/08/2014, 1:33 AM
Hope he gets a run out v Newcastle on Saturday, Newcastle are bottom of the table
and Villa tying for top spot on 3 points.
After one game. That's a spectacular stat, tricky, for somebody who doesn't believe in stats.

20/08/2014, 1:45 AM
After one game. That's a spectacular stat, tricky, for somebody who doesn't believe in stats.

But I do believe in stats, they are right in the long one, granted there is a fairly large margin of error after just one game!!

20/08/2014, 1:51 AM
Oh no tricky, you told us before you don't believe in stats. Too late to change course now :)

21/08/2014, 8:08 AM
Cue hysteria

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/oneill-keen-to-keep-villas-grealish-in-ireland-fold-30525041.html

DannyInvincible
21/08/2014, 8:38 AM
Cue hysteria

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/european-championships/oneill-keen-to-keep-villas-grealish-in-ireland-fold-30525041.html

Erm, yeah, just like I've been saying all along... :shame:

In seriousness, I hadn't expected that as turning down a call-up seems to go against what he'd said previously on sticking with us:

If I'm enjoying it with Ireland and I won't be pressured into playing for England.... For the next couple of years, I want to play for Ireland.

Hopefully, he'll decide that he wants to continue with us.

DeLorean
21/08/2014, 8:48 AM
Always sceptical when there are no quotes in the article. I don't see why O'Neill would need to meet with him. As things stand he's Irish, so just call him up if he wants him in the squad. This time and space craic is a load of nonsense and, if true, we're living in a ghastly world where TOWK had a point all along.

21/08/2014, 8:57 AM
I think it's interesting that the piece is by John Fallon and not in the main article by McDonnell. At least it's not a DJ making all the noises this time.

My guess is that this is more guff from the press trying to create a stir just as we saw in the McCarthy situation and just as we saw many times in the Stephen Ireland saga. That's not to say it doesn't have a ring of truth to it - there's nothing new in the revelation that Grealish can still play for England and is refusing to nail his colours permanently to the mast.

DeLorean
21/08/2014, 9:20 AM
there's nothing new in the revelation that Grealish can still play for England and is refusing to nail his colours permanently to the mast.

No, but I would have thought the decision would have to be made if and when he was selected, not given more time because he's not quite sure. Anyway, not much point in speculating about something that's more than likely conjured out of thin air.

21/08/2014, 9:32 AM
Calling him up only for him to decline or prevaricate would only inflame speculation though. Probably right to gauge his feelings first, especially as insiders (FAI, Keane etc.) will know way more than any of us.

DeLorean
21/08/2014, 9:46 AM
Fair enough with regards gauging his feelings, but if those feelings are anything other than "I'd love to be a part of the upcoming Ireland squad", then I think TOWK had a point (albeit without much foundation) that he's probably waiting for something better i.e. the country that he actually wants to play for. I would have no issue with that decision, other than disappointment, if it happens but if O'Neill wants to select him now I think it's time to sh!t, or get off the pot!

All ifs and buts I know.

21/08/2014, 9:51 AM
Also, the U21s are playing Germany on the 5th September, he could still be in that squad

21/08/2014, 11:12 AM
TOWK was right! *rings bell*

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/08/2014, 11:13 AM
I'm not surprised at all by this. There is a method to my madness, guys.

ArdeeBhoy
21/08/2014, 12:37 PM
http://www.thescore.ie/jack-grealish-ireland-england-1631229-Aug2014/

Olé Olé
21/08/2014, 1:34 PM
Can we get to the bottom of his eligibility? It's the case that at least 3 of his 4 grandparents are Irish- not that his Dad was born in Dublin, am I right?

Either way, it's positive O'Neill is at least holding discussions with Grealish and his family.

Can't blame the kid for having doubts, from his own perspective. I mean, he's 18 years of age and is trying to break into the Villa first team which is probably where all his attention is lying at the moment and this decision isn't getting all of his attention. He's unsure of whether he wants to commit to us which is always going to be a difficult decision when he's grown up in a house of English accents and spent his whole life in England. Someone like Tommie Hoban had an Irish mother so his decision was made a little easier.

I must say, a few years ago, when I was in my teens, I would have seen this issue as being completely black and white- if you don't what to play for Ireland then p*ss off. As I've grown older, I can understand why he's having doubts. And I'm not the lad that's privileged enough to have been met with this decision. Can only imagine how tough it must be for him.

21/08/2014, 1:36 PM
and of course we did tell you all so.

so naive.where is geysir with his pseudo insight read between the lines babble crap

don't worry lads still plenty of time...He is still outs etc etc etc.

Our only hope now is he doesn't get called up for England quickly and he might "not be considering his options "

21/08/2014, 1:37 PM
It's not like you to say I told you so.

DannyInvincible
21/08/2014, 2:20 PM
Olé Olé; as far as I know, you're correct about his roots. His father wasn't born in Dublin but I believe at least three of his grandparents were born in Ireland.

and of course we did tell you all so.

so naive.where is geysir with his pseudo insight read between the lines babble crap

don't worry lads still plenty of time...He is still outs etc etc etc.

Our only hope now is he doesn't get called up for England quickly and he might "not be considering his options "

Ha, I'm disappointed and surprised due to the expectation I had based on his prior words. I didn't hold the stance I did out of naivety, however. I was always aware of his options and I'm well aware that various factors can influence the decisions and motivations of dual national footballers; national identity, a sense of allegiance and career considerations can all colour a decision simultaneously or to varying degrees. I don't think anyone ever said they were 100 per cent certain he'd be sticking with us; the degree of long-term ambiguity was universally acknowledged. I myself put faith in Grealish's expressions because he's been playing for us since the age of 14 and I'd rather accept such a person's word at face value than be automatically suspicious of their motivations and intentions from the outset. If he is to commit what you might call "bad faith" or something, so be it (although it's important to remember he didn't promise anyone anything), but at least I wouldn't have been guilty of it in the first place by groundlessly doubting him/accusing him of insincerity and then me turning out to be wrong.

Nevertheless, he hasn't quite declared for England yet!

*sticks head back in sand* :p

21/08/2014, 2:47 PM
It would have been great if he was capped against Georgia ending all speculation, but he hasn't. He can still play for both countries. He hadn't said he'll play for England and until he does all we have is a dual-national who wants time to decide who he'd prefer to play for at senior level. It'd be a real shame to lose him but it's still a leap of faith either way to make bold predictions, and it's a bit narrow minded to make value judgments on Grealish's position.

Olé Olé
21/08/2014, 3:00 PM
In fairness to Grealish, he seems to be very friendly with a lot of Irish footballers and has always immersed himself in the Irish camps he's been in. For example, his ALS nomination (http://instagram.com/p/r9eZsmwcFf/) came from Ronan Murray and two of his three nominees (Alan Sheehan and Derrick Williams) are also Irish.

It's not a decision he could take lightly leaving the friend he's played with over the past four years to play with a country from whom he's probably received repeated overtures over the past four years. The gravity of the decision isn't lost on him, I'm sure. Hence, why he's taking time to make the decision. He should be afforded the time. Let's just hope he makes the decision we all want him to make.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/08/2014, 3:07 PM
I don't think he has even been offered a position with the England U-21 National Team yet. It would be interesting if he was. He has said before that Ireland offer a more competitive level of football than he would receive with England.

The lad is eligible for two countries. Good for him. Woe for us.

It's a double edged sword because if he was playing for Watford or had signed permanently for MK Dons then he would probably snap your hands off if he was offered a call up, but then, on the flipside of the coin, he would probably not be in a position to usurp players like Hoolahan, Pilkington, Reid and Quinn for a place in the team.

21/08/2014, 3:55 PM
I think his dad his probably giving him good advice, if I can detach myself from the situation.

If he was to suddenly accept an English u21 call up then that'd appear to be it, but he shouldn't be made to rush into accepting what would have the appearance of a desperate slightly cynical immediate senior call up for a guy who has barely even got his career started. I think O'Neill did the right thing talking to him and his dad.

I still think he's ours to lose and his sitting on the fence is neither anything really new nor anything particularly controversial. His position isn't unlike the Janujaz situation. Remember the hysteria over James McCarthy. I still think there's a whiff about that saga in this situation.

TOWK, to his credit, has been very restrained in his reaction. Paul seems to think he has already won some kind of fortune telling cum amateur psychology competition.

21/08/2014, 4:07 PM
I think his dad his probably giving him good advice, if I can detach myself from the situation.

If he was to suddenly accept an English u21 call up then that'd appear to be it, but he shouldn't be made to rush into accepting what would have the appearance of a desperate slightly cynical immediate senior call up for a guy who has barely even got his career started. I think O'Neill did the right thing talking to him and his dad.he's already played competitively for our U21s, so he can't play for England's U21 team.

I still think he's ours to lose and his sitting on the fence is neither anything really new nor anything particularly controversial. His position isn't unlike the Janujaz situation. Remember the hysteria over James McCarthy. I still think there's a whiff about that saga in this situation.

TOWK, to his credit, has been very restrained in his reaction. Paul seems to think he has already won some kind of fortune telling cum amateur psychology competition.
Did anyone who stated conclusively that McCarthy would play for Scotland ever apologise for it, or say they were wrong? Do you think anyone who is wrong here will do the same if Grealish plays for Ireland?

21/08/2014, 4:32 PM
Is he not still eligible to play for England u21s? I thought the rule is that he can't play for another country in the same tournament, e.g., 2016 qualifying campaign or finals.

21/08/2014, 4:40 PM
Stutts is correct. Once he accepted a call-up to England U21, he'd have used his one change of allegiance and he'd no longer be eligible for Ireland.

21/08/2014, 4:53 PM
ok, I thought the rule applied per age group, i.e. once you've played competitively for one U21 side, you can only play for that one U21 team, and not per age group per tournament, e.g. play for Sweden U21s in their qualifiers for the 2013 UEFA European Under-21 Championship and then France (say) for the 2015 UEFA European Under-21 Championship

If that is true, then the next available date for Grealish for England U21 will be their first qualifiers for the 2017 UEFA European Under-21 Championship in 12 months, correct?

Unless, of course, he gets called into the England senior squad

21/08/2014, 5:46 PM
It doesn't look to good from Ireland's point of view.

"If I'm enjoying it with Ireland and I won't be pressured into playing for England.... For the next couple of years, I want to play for Ireland."

Not the initial *if* which is combined with and *and*. so two conditions have to be met, the second condition is rather cryptic
"and I won't be pressurised into playing for England" I am rather unclear what that means. If you drop the initial 'if' it make sense. ie
"I'm enjoying it with Ireland and I won't be pressured into playing for England."
Makes sense, but even then it is followed by "For the next couple of years, I want to play for Ireland."
that seems to apply that outside of the new two years he does not want to play for Ireland.

I suspect what he wants to know is if he is good enough for England, if he isn't the decision is
straight froward, he will play for Ireland, after all international status looks good on your CV,
far better than an implied "not good enough for England".

So in a nut shell if you want him to play for Ireland you should be hoping for some poor performance from him in
the up coming games!!!

I might be misreading it a bit but he it looks like he is trying to break the bad news gently.

"It is understood Grealish has asked for space to consider his international future"

Where have we hear that kind of think before?

"It is understood Stephen Ireland has asked for space to consider his international future"

Still at least he didn't say he was attending his aunties funeral :)

21/08/2014, 5:53 PM
So who are his rivals for a place in the England team,
anyway I expect this is gonna be a long long thread.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/08/2014, 6:01 PM
It's not you, it's me.

SwanVsDalton
21/08/2014, 6:36 PM
It'll be interesting to see if he keeps his place in the squad this weekend. Joe Cole and Carlos Sanchez are fit and eligible for the Newcastle game.

back of the net
21/08/2014, 7:49 PM
Grealish interview a few mths back - personally i think he will stick with ireland

"Long-term, the aim is to do well with Ireland and Villa. It was very flattering to hear Martin O'Neill speak about me recently and that's a sign that I am doing something right. It was good to hear he knows who I am, Martin was first-team manager at Villa when I was on the books there, but there's no way he would have known who I was.

"I was a season ticket holder when I was four and then I joined Villa when I was six and have been there all along," he added.

"I would love to play for the senior team and with all the games they have lined up for the summer it could happen, but for now I am just enjoying every game and every cap with the U21s."

21/08/2014, 8:02 PM
It's certainly way too early for a lap of honour.

Jack Grealish might play for England.
Shane Long might score a goal against Germany or another big team. Robbie Keane might not.
Robbie Keane may retire when surplus to requirements aged 31, sorry, 35.

TheOneWhoKnocks
21/08/2014, 8:12 PM
Jack is a charming, personable young lad; very good at speaking to media. He's pretty good at working everyone.

So to recap: He's with Ireland at the moment. Would be glad to accept call up. Call up happens. He doesn't take it.

I really keep trying to justify what's going on but I can't help feeling it's all very cynical. He's playing for our U-21 team yet he won't accept a call up to the senior team because he doesn't want to tie himself down.

Excuse me for thinking it pretty disingenuous - and getting the impression that he is taking his time to see how his club career pans out and letting that dictate his international career.

21/08/2014, 8:15 PM
Or maybe, like Kevin Gallen, there are people around him who realise what a talent he is and realise what having an England international would mean to a club like Aston Villa who won't be boasting too many of them in the near future and are pressurising him to not make any commitment to Ireland. You can call it cynical but some people would call it diplomatic, or just being in two minds.