View Full Version : Jack Grealish

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

DannyInvincible
09/06/2014, 10:15 PM
No, I'm certain. I posted about it on 03/04/2012 which predates that tweet. It went something like he hoped Ireland would win the under-17s (for whom he was playing) but wanted England to win at senior.

Just looking back and this 2012 from the prophetic Charlie has amused me greatly in hindsight:

I foresee this thread matching the James McCarthy one for irrational paranoia. Grealish has done absolutely nothing to suggest he's anything other than 100% committed to Ireland and Doolin has done absolutely nothing to suggest he's going to alienate him. I know inventing ludicrous scenarios is fun but cool your jets.

I see the post you're referring to (http://foot.ie/threads/148358-Jack-Grealish?p=1585573&viewfull=1#post1585573) Olé Olé, but can't find any exact quote of the tweet(s) other than your paraphrasing.

09/06/2014, 10:16 PM
No, I'm certain. I posted about it on 03/04/2012 which predates that tweet. It went something like he hoped Ireland would win the under-17s (for whom he was playing) but wanted England to win at senior.

EDIT: Not sure how you're searching the tweets but the tweet to which I'm refering had '#opinions' at the end of it, if that helps.
It's possible he deleted it.

DannyInvincible
09/06/2014, 10:26 PM

EDIT: Not sure how you're searching the tweets but the tweet to which I'm refering had '#opinions' at the end of it, if that helps.

I hadn't known how to search for tweets by particular people containing specific terms on Twitter before, but I just did it the same way Tets did it with "England". I put "from:JackGrealish1 Ireland" in the Twitter search bar, then selected "All" and Twitter produced a list of all Grealish's tweets containing the word "Ireland". I had a look, but can't find anything relevant containing "opinions" either. (https://twitter.com/search?q=from%3AJackGrealish1%20opinions&src=typd)

It's possible he deleted it.

Must have seen the light, thank God! Emergency averted, for another week or so... :p

Grafter
09/06/2014, 10:26 PM
He's entitled to feel English and indeed declare fully for England in due course should he wish.
Just a boy, leave him to it.

09/06/2014, 10:28 PM
I hadn't known how to search for tweets by particular people containing specific terms on Twitter before, but I just did it the same way Tets did it with "England". I put "from:JackGrealish1 Ireland" in the Twitter search bar, then selected "All" and Twitter produced a list of all Grealish's tweets containing the word "Ireland". I had a look, but can't find anything relevant containing "opinions" either. (https://twitter.com/search?q=from%3AJackGrealish1%20opinions&src=typd)
Must have seen the light, thank God! Emergency averted, for another week or so... :p
There is no record on the internet of it existing, nobody quoting it or retweeting it.
Jack must know some people.

DannyInvincible
09/06/2014, 10:31 PM
He's entitled to feel English and indeed declare fully for England in due course should he wish.
Just a boy, leave him to it.

Aye, but think about the permutations; if Grealish declares for England, then TOWK will have been right all along... That's just something that can't be let happen on this forum! :p

DannyInvincible
09/06/2014, 10:43 PM
I found it quoted by farfar on YBIG (http://www.ybig.ie/forum/jack-grealish_topic20933_post837975_SID273014024ce332e3 d1764db2745b79821875.html#837975).

& btw peeps i mean u17 european championships lol :) not the senior one in the summer as I would prefer England to win that #Opinions

Jack must have since deleted it; the URL as existed then no longer links to a specific tweet. You quoted it in the Michael Keane thread (http://foot.ie/threads/157001-Michael-Keane?p=1574273&viewfull=1#post1574273), Olé Olé. ;)

However, Jack also tweeted this, as you pointed out:

Counting down the days to european championships , wouldnt miss it for NOTHING !! Im feeling it's irelands year lol :) !!

09/06/2014, 10:56 PM
Can't copy it for some reason.

I still think John Terry has to go to the world cup with England. still one of our best centre backs.

I believe there is no question of who he will play with if the has a choice and a guarantee.

I also don't believe that you can equally support both teams the same and/or use the we term for both.

09/06/2014, 10:58 PM
Di why did he not say "our year" instead of irelands. In the same context about Terry. its completely obvious where he feels he belongs.ive always felt that.

Dunners
10/06/2014, 12:15 AM
Lads didn't want mention it but he has removed every picture of himself in an Irish shirt from his twitter account. I noticed it last week. Coincidence ?

DannyInvincible
10/06/2014, 12:19 AM
Can't copy it for some reason.

I still think John Terry has to go to the world cup with England. still one of our best centre backs.

This'd be the one:

I personally think jon terry HAS to go the euros with england !! Still 1 of our best centre backs easy. #leaderrr (https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/180053903189098496)

I believe there is no question of who he will play with if the has a choice and a guarantee.

The FA have been in touch though, so it seems he does have that choice. He has not indicated that it's an option he'll go with though. He even dispels the fears of one lad tweeting to him by clarifying that the interview he gave earlier in the year is "not saying [he's] gonna play 4 them". Note his use of "them" when referring to England in this context.

At worst, the situation is currently ambiguous. In view of his demonstrated and continuing commitment to us, however, I don't know how you can say there's "no question" he'll jump ship if given the opportunity. If he does switch, fair enough - that's his decision - but I don't see any need to be paranoid about it. I'd like it if he stuck with us, and maybe I'm giving him the benefit of any doubt as a result, but I don't see why that should necessarily amount to denial either.

I also don't believe that you can equally support both teams the same and/or use the we term for both.

You're not a dual national though. He has a dual identity; it can be a complex matter. Maybe he believes differently to you and can happily reconcile the use of "we" with both ourselves and England. I don't know; I'm not Jack Grealish, nor am I a dual national.

DannyInvincible
10/06/2014, 12:35 AM
Lads didn't want mention it but he has removed every picture of himself in an Irish shirt from his twitter account. I noticed it last week. Coincidence ?

No, he hasn't. There are plenty of self-tweeted photos of him in action for us from March and last November, around when he represented our under-21s.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bi8-_p_IcAER-7I.jpg
Happy St.Patricks day everyone!! Hope u all had a great day n also have a great night!! 🍀😃 (https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/445644151686975488/photo/1)

Believe it or not, he even refers to us as "us" in one of the tweets!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BZItqcbIIAAi1Vl.jpg
Great win for us tonight and happy to of scored my 1st goal for the 21s on my 1st start☺👍 (https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/401433524131340288/photo/1)

10/06/2014, 1:02 AM
I play ball with a guy who was born in Ireland to an Irish dad and English mum. His family moved to England when he was 2. He wears an Irish jersey to training. He says he's 51% Irish, 49% English and he shouts for Ireland and England and hopes that Ireland wins when playing against England only because his bro, born in England, shouts for the English team.

Long story short, it's not cut and dried.

He's actually brilliant and I reckon he'd declare if the FAI made an approach. he's like a less lazy Berbatov. I'll ask him to send an email to FAI headquarters.

DannyInvincible
10/06/2014, 1:36 AM
Is he playing professionally? Where's he based at the minute? Canada? Does Robbie's heir have a name?

10/06/2014, 2:02 AM
No. He's currently play in the Regina Mens Division 4. He's 28. Prospect. I'll send an email about him tomorrow.

10/06/2014, 8:56 AM
But if he had a poster of a Chelsea player on his wall when he was growing up, then tell him not to bother, we don't like that sort of chap.
His blood has been tampered with beyond repair:rolleyes:

10/06/2014, 9:01 AM
there's this one too from March, just before heading off to play for the U21s - https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/440426074863075328

Olé Olé
10/06/2014, 9:41 AM
Ah, in fairness, he normally seems to put out a tweet about joining up for Ireland squads and games etc. I think people are just pointing to the fact he does support England and, given his level of ability and likely career trajectory, the natural step would be to play for their senior national side. I'm not saying he supports/prefers (tricky one) England over Ireland or anything like that, just as people are stating it's not very clear cut.

Anyways, it's pretty inconceivable he'd ever play for England now. He's played from under-15's to under-21's with us. If he was so intent on representing England, he'd have done so a long time ago because I'm sure he's inundated with conversation on the topic from English Villa under-age players and coaches.

It's like James McCarthy, as has been stated many times. Until we see him in a competitive international game for Ireland we don't feel guaranteed of his commitment, even though he has been well committed with a few years now. Furthermore, his responses in interviews have sometimes been ambiguous and we've drawn conclusions from same- rightly or wrongly. It's not a completely irrational paranoia.

TheOneWhoKnocks
10/06/2014, 4:29 PM
Hasn't Jack said that he is playing for Ireland U-21 because they are playing at a higher level than England U-19 or something to that effect?

DannyInvincible
10/06/2014, 5:20 PM
Hasn't Jack said that he is playing for Ireland U-21 because they are playing at a higher level than England U-19 or something to that effect?

Not quite, as you well know. We had detailed discussion from page 15 of this thread onward (http://foot.ie/threads/148358-Jack-Grealish?p=1740710&viewfull=1#post1740710) about the quotes to which you're alluding. I'm surprised you can't remember. Here are his comments again, just to relieve your mysterious (feigned?) memory loss: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/indemand-grealish-on-fast-track-to-senior-call-30075664.html#sthash.woTKV9QT.dpuf

"If I'm enjoying it with Ireland and I won't be pressured into playing for England," says Grealish. "The English FA met dad and I before this campaign started and told me where I'd be playing for them (their under 19s). We had already spoken to Noel (King) by that stage and thought, as I'd be with the under 21s, Ireland was the best place for me.

"It's hard to say what's going to happen because I'm only 18, aren't I? For the next couple of years, I want to play for Ireland. That's not saying I'm going to go back to England – just that you never know what's going to happen."

Even if England had offered him a place in their under-21 squad, there's no indication he would have accepted it. The FA merely approached himself and his father before being turned away. Grealish said the following in a later tweet:

im playing for Ireland mate. That interview is saying that England are coming in for me not saying i'm gonna play 4 them (https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/442669165087035392)

10/06/2014, 8:28 PM
That article is very much present tense and the last tweet.

The lad is yyoung a bit of patriotism around now and a good run and I'd like to see how less "clear" he would be.....

10/06/2014, 9:16 PM
The simple fact is that none of us knows, neither those of us in the "he's entitled to do what he wants but right now it looks like he's playing for Ireland" camp or those who'd prefer there was something more sinister stirring because all ambiguity is by definition negative at best, treacherous at worst.

Speaking of ambiguity, wtf is Paul saying?

10/06/2014, 10:27 PM
It's tough to decipher Paul O'Shea at the best of times, but I believe what he's saying right now (no comment on the comical ally gibberish he came out with earlier) is that Jack is clearly a dual-national with loyalties to his countries of birth and ancestry, and the worry is that a good World Cup for England a dose of patriotism might convince him to want to emulate those players in representing England at a World Cup.

10/06/2014, 10:51 PM
Ah, ok, I think I get it now.

I think my little fella wants to follow England in the WC because Ireland aren't playing. I told him it's ok.

TheOneWhoKnocks
10/06/2014, 10:52 PM
I am pretty positive Jack said that England wanted to call him up to their U-19 team but he was happy playing with the Ireland U-21 because it was a higher level of football. If he makes a point of saying something like that, then there must be something in it.

Any way. If there was nothing to worry about, then we wouldn't be having this discussion.

10/06/2014, 11:00 PM
I think he wants to play for Brazil, going on his latest tweet: https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1/status/476493558795751426

10/06/2014, 11:00 PM
Ah, ok, I think I get it now.

I think my little fella wants to follow England in the WC because Ireland aren't playing. I told him it's ok.
That's kind of the thing though, isn't it? I assume your lads feel very Irish, but growing up in England with English friends, they probably feel part of that too. I think sometimes people expect all English-born Irishmen to be like Kilbane or somebody and have eyes only ever for Ireland.

10/06/2014, 11:01 PM
That's exactly what I expect him to be like!

10/06/2014, 11:02 PM
Aye, but you don't know how he'll turn out in the end :p

DannyInvincible
10/06/2014, 11:25 PM
I am pretty positive Jack said that England wanted to call him up to their U-19 team but he was happy playing with the Ireland U-21 because it was a higher level of football. If he makes a point of saying something like that, then there must be something in it.

Any way. If there was nothing to worry about, then we wouldn't be having this discussion.

I quoted exactly what he said and what he said after above. Make of it what you will.

TheOneWhoKnocks
10/06/2014, 11:31 PM
What was he supposed to say? Yeah I'm playing for Ireland U-21 right now mate but if England call me up, I'm gonna play for them innit.

10/06/2014, 11:31 PM

You've been knocking around here since December. There's always something to worry about.

Have a wander through the James McCarthy thread to see the madness at work. It's great craic all the same.

TheOneWhoKnocks
10/06/2014, 11:34 PM
I think it's unfair to compare the weight of your deceased Grandfather's dying wishes, vitriolic weekly abuse and complete and utter ambivalence from Giovanni Trapattoni to whatever existential crisis Jack is going through.

10/06/2014, 11:47 PM
I think it's unfair to compare the weight of your deceased Grandfather's dying wishes, vitriolic weekly abuse and complete and utter ambivalence from Giovanni Trapattoni to whatever existential crisis Jack is going through.

I think it's unfair that you clearly were born without a sense of humour or an inability to read most of what is written before jumping to conclusions.

My post was a direct attack on the paranoia and murmurings of the Irish Fan (not irishfan86, he seems sound enough) and that if you were to realise that even when there's nothing to worry about we still find something to worry about. This is why I directed you to the Jimmy Mac thread as an example of what Foot.ie and it's denizens are capable of.

DannyInvincible
11/06/2014, 8:28 AM
What was he supposed to say? Yeah I'm playing for Ireland U-21 right now mate but if England call me up, I'm gonna play for them innit.

Well, no. He would only say that if your presumption that he is lying to us is correct. Another possibility is that he didn't state he'll play for England because he has no plans to do so. At the minute, he states he's focused on Ireland and it'll remain so so long as he's enjoying it.

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/06/2014, 12:02 PM
https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1

15/06/2014, 2:20 PM
I was on a stag with a few Liverpool Irish and none of them care in any shape or form about England. There are many like kilbane and more I meet like that than not

its funny the Irish born lads were the ones wanting to and watching the englanf game.these lads never even bothered to watch it!! I think a lot of Irish secretly love watching England.

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/06/2014, 2:36 PM
I'll see your Steven Gerrard, Wayne Rooney and Steve McManaman and raise you Jon Walters, Jason McAteer and Lee Trundle.

15/06/2014, 4:14 PM
I was on a stag with a few Liverpool Irish and none of them care in any shape or form about England. There are many like kilbane and more I meet like that than not

its funny the Irish born lads were the ones wanting to and watching the englanf game.these lads never even bothered to watch it!! I think a lot of Irish secretly love watching England.
Presumably none of them drink in Wayne Rooney's granny's local.

15/06/2014, 7:44 PM
https://twitter.com/JackGrealish1

Are we supposed to be looking at something in particular? Care to elaborate?

15/06/2014, 7:50 PM
I might be reading too much into the tweet, but I think he wants to wish his father a happy father's day.

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/06/2014, 8:15 PM
Are we supposed to be looking at something in particular? Care to elaborate?

Just a proud Irishman supporting his country and wishing his dad a happy father's day.

15/06/2014, 8:23 PM
You're such a bellend.

15/06/2014, 8:26 PM
I might be reading too much into the tweet, but I think he wants to wish his father a happy father's day.
Up with this we cannot put.

DannyInvincible
17/06/2014, 5:52 PM
Just a proud Irishman supporting his country and wishing his dad a happy father's day.

What's the problem now?...

17/06/2014, 10:05 PM
Just like my young lad. Loves his dad (I think), follows Ireland but wants England to win the World Cup.

TheOneWhoKnocks
18/06/2014, 2:05 PM
Supporting England - even during Euro 2012 - isn't what ****es me off most and it's naïve to think that.

DannyInvincible
18/06/2014, 2:15 PM
What is it that's annoying you now then?

TheOneWhoKnocks
18/06/2014, 2:32 PM
Aside from the fact that he supported England when the team that he is currently playing for were playing in International competition? The fact that he won't declare his allegiance to Ireland or England and is seemingly going to make the call based on how his club career pans out. Whatever criticisms or motivations you can level at Paul Green or Simon Cox, at least a decision is made and over with. How does it feel in hindsight knowing that the likes of Dan Crowley, Will Keane and Michael Keane took squad places and opportunities away from people who actually wanted to play for their country?

I think it's a joke to be quite frank but sure nevermind... I'm just a bellend.

DannyInvincible
18/06/2014, 2:40 PM
I think you ended up on the wrong forum. It's OWC (http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/) you must have been looking for...