View Full Version : Celtic Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

Not Brazil
16/02/2011, 11:38 AM
A lot of Linfield fans (I presume) are leaving comments under the article about how bad Dundalk fans were last night one claiming they were burning a Union Jack? Any truth in that one?

I certainly didn't see any Union Flags being burnt.

Dundalk fans had a few flares which they lit, and some idiot threw one onto the playing surface, nearly hitting a ballboy. In fairness to the idiot who threw it, I don't think he was aiming at the ballboy.

SolitudeRed
16/02/2011, 12:07 PM
Any chance of a link?

The comments were left just under the article on the UTV website theres 138 comments at the moment it was the earlier ones that I read last night though.

eelmonster
16/02/2011, 12:12 PM
I certainly didn't see any Union Flags being burnt.

Dundalk fans had a few flares which they lit, and some idiot threw one onto the playing surface, nearly hitting a ballboy. In fairness to the idiot who threw it, I don't think he was aiming at the ballboy.

Total idiot, but there's absolutely no way he intended to throw it at the ball boy. I was standing near the front of the upper tier and you could just about see the ball boy dive out of the way below us, there's no way the guy who threw it from the back of the stand could have seen the ball boy. That's no excuse though, it was a stupid thing to do.

bullit
16/02/2011, 1:06 PM
No union jack flags burned,plenty of flares lit though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C1HAV32Rc80

17/02/2011, 12:08 PM
Did none of yous notice the big fire, no?

17/02/2011, 1:38 PM
There's a Setanta Cup thread in the Premier Division/First Division section of the site if you want to continue this discussion there

bullit
19/02/2011, 6:27 AM
There's a Setanta Cup thread in the Premier Division/First Division section of the site if you want to continue this discussion there
aye hitler

Drumcondra 69er
19/02/2011, 1:39 PM
You'll have to accept that some people think Bobby Sands was an odious individual, and would have zero "respect" for him or his mates in the organisation of which he was a member.

The House of Commons???? :confused:

Gather round
19/02/2011, 2:58 PM
The House of Commons???? :confused:

Sure, the same applies to any other paramilitaries elected there.

ArdeeBhoy
19/02/2011, 7:07 PM
As if.

co. down green
19/02/2011, 8:11 PM
Ballymena United defender Denver Gage is at the centre of an IFA inquiry into the singing of sectarian songs at the Northern Ireland v Scotland game.

On Saturday Ballymena confirmed someone connected with the club was reported to have been involved in the incident.
A video has been posted on the internet showing fans singing the songs at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.
BBC Sport understands Gage has been identified and could be banned from Northern Ireland home matches for life.
On Friday the Irish Football Association said it had the name of a person involved and that they would be punished if their identity was confirmed.

The association also appealed for information on all those who sang sectarian songs at the match which took place on 9 February.

The IFA has been working with the Amalgamation of Northern Ireland Supporters' Clubs and other relevant bodies to investigate the complaints.

Ballymena United's spokesman said: "It would be premature for us to add to speculation, but we wish to state that we have been in contact with, and are co-operating with, the Irish FA until such times as the allegations are confirmed or otherwise.
"Ballymena shall be making no further comment while the matter is under investigation.

Denver represented the IFA team (http://www.irishfa.com/news/item/4563/regions-cup-side-emerge-comfortable-winners/) in the regions cup a couple of years ago

ArdeeBhoy
19/02/2011, 11:17 PM
He'll be quite lucky if he escapes with a life ban for their home games.....

Sullivinho
19/02/2011, 11:27 PM
'Denver Gage'. What's this fella doing lounging about singing sectarian ditties. That's a name that'l get you places in Hollywood.

The Fly
20/02/2011, 12:37 AM
'Denver Gage'. What's this fella doing lounging about singing sectarian ditties. That's a name that'l get you places in Hollywood.

Unfortunately for him they don't make B-movies anymore,.......or perhaps you meant Holywood, Co Down. ;)

awec
20/02/2011, 11:40 AM
I can only make out F bobby sands in that "song", what else are they saying? Is that EG in the background with a scarf? They are acutely aware of the garda siochanna as well in the background.

Can you imagine the uproar if we went up to windsor park singing F the queen and the UDA or the likes. The thing is you wouldn't hear them being sung any where and rightly so.

And there is not a minority there, as people walk through they get involved, laughing and taking videos etc. I'm sure they felt big in a group, in the Irish Republics soccer stronghold to let off some steam. Its a pity the guards didn't actually arrest them, they were inciting hatred after all, directly towards those guards present - "fenians".
Not a minority? 40 people in a crowd of 6000+ is not a minority? Really?

Apologies for resurrecting this topic, but this made me laugh.

awec
20/02/2011, 11:42 AM
Myself and EG may have had our spats on here, but I will back him up on this, it is wrong to even jokingly associate him with such people. It does seem that names have been put to several of the individuals on that video and no doubt the IFA will take action in regards to them when it comes to future ticket distribution.
So let me get this straight, it's wrong to wrongly associate EG with these individuals, but you're more than happy to spread lies and nonsense about the rest of the Northern Ireland fans and these supposed riots you were talking about?

Funny that.

Mr_Parker
20/02/2011, 12:21 PM
So let me get this straight, it's wrong to wrongly associate EG with these individuals, but you're more than happy to spread lies and nonsense about the rest of the Northern Ireland fans and these supposed riots you were talking about?

Funny that.

Where did I say there were riots? I quoted the contents of a radio broadcast and none of those made reference to a riot. Subsequent testomies by those in attendance, including many NI fans have born out those events and more.

awec
20/02/2011, 12:34 PM
Where did I say there were riots? I quoted the contents of a radio broadcast and none of those made reference to a riot. Subsequent testomies by those in attendance, including many NI fans have born out those events and more.

And your attempts to mislead everyone by deliberately posting a completely unrelated picture? As far as I'm concerned now you can shove your sucking up, you've shown yourself for what you really are.

Mr_Parker
20/02/2011, 12:35 PM
And your attempts to mislead everyone by deliberately posting a completely unrelated picture? As far as I'm concerned now you can shove your sucking up, you've shown yourself for what you really are.

My posts are there for all to read. So are the testomies of NI fans here and elsewhere.

20/02/2011, 12:43 PM
They've banned him (http://www.u.tv/News/Lifetime-ban-on-fan-welcomed/9f50084d-ffb6-4218-b090-9516714e71dd) ...though according to some on OWC he's not actually singing in that vid.

In fairness to the NI supporters they're howling for more to be banned over on their board and are asking for people to identify them. It's also been pointed out, quite reasonably, that there isn't a whole lot the IFA, ANISC or anyone else can do about policing those who come along purporting to support them if the FAI/Aviva are going to sell tickets to these games through the likes of Ticketmaster like it's disney on ice.

SolitudeRed
20/02/2011, 2:13 PM
They've banned him (http://www.u.tv/News/Lifetime-ban-on-fan-welcomed/9f50084d-ffb6-4218-b090-9516714e71dd) ...though according to some on OWC he's not actually singing in that vid.

In fairness to the NI supporters they're howling for more to be banned over on their board and are asking for people to identify them. It's also been pointed out, quite reasonably, that there isn't a whole lot the IFA, ANISC or anyone else can do about policing those who come along purporting to support them if the FAI/Aviva are going to sell tickets to these games through the likes of Ticketmaster like it's disney on ice.

According to a workmate who is a memeber of a SC and was down at the match Ticketmaster were only selling tickets for a neytral section of the ground which was away from the NI and Scotland fans, so is it really fair to heap all the blame on ticketmaster? even he didn't think it was.

20/02/2011, 3:13 PM
I take your point SR. Some of them over on the NI board have pointed out that some of the guys in that video are in likely in SCs and are regulars at WP. But they are indeed calling for them to be spewed out.

As for ticketmaster - the problem there is that even if the IFA identified and banned them all there is still this route into the games available to them and any other messer of whatever hue.

awec
20/02/2011, 10:50 PM
The fact that ANYONE can go on to ticketmaster and buy something like 50 tickets at a time negates any sort of ticketing procedures that could be put in place for the game.

Tickets shouldn't be sold through ticketmaster, they should be sold through the IFA and the FAI only.

ArdeeBhoy
21/02/2011, 6:22 AM
The whole point is if you didn't have these archaic colonial outposts then people wouldn't behave like mutants in the first place??

Gather round
21/02/2011, 6:26 AM
Ardee Bhoy, in his home town of Worcester yesterday:

http://warriorwriters.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/troll.jpg

gastric
21/02/2011, 8:56 AM
So Gather Round, when are you, Ealing Green and Mr Parker going to stop your constant trolling? Yours is mostly delusional and heads in the sand stuff! I await a creative, imaginative and Walter Mitty type reply.

ArdeeBhoy
21/02/2011, 9:48 AM
Exactly.
The only trolls on here, besides the usual misguided information, all seem to come from that particular colonial theme park....

SwanVsDalton
21/02/2011, 10:59 AM
Exactly.
The only trolls on here, besides the usual misguided information, all seem to come from that particular colonial theme park....

Seriously? Feigning innocence while writing 'colonial theme park'? You are the Iago of 'trolling this thread'.

Can we get back to football? Agreed on the Ticketmaster point - I'd hope authorities are aware of the dangers of open sale when it comes to the ROI vs NI game.

21/02/2011, 11:54 AM
Does anybody think there will be any trouble when the two sides meet? Haven't we all moved on? If it does kick off then that is the end of the Carling/Celtic cup.

Predator
21/02/2011, 12:28 PM
Does anybody think there will be any trouble when the two sides meet? Haven't we all moved on? If it does kick off then that is the end of the Carling/Celtic cup.
I read in the Sunday Times that NI fans will be surrounded by stewards during the game. Is there any truth to this?

Eminence Grise
21/02/2011, 12:55 PM
They may be partitioned....

The Fly
21/02/2011, 6:04 PM
Seriously? Feigning innocence while writing 'colonial theme park'? You are the Iago of 'trolling this thread'.

Is this thread about to develop a strange Shakespearean tangent?

ArdeeBhoy
21/02/2011, 6:19 PM

If you say so. Prefer to think of it as challenging some of the more farcical preconceptions made by certain misinformed posters....
Though do note that certain others who might know better, prefer to live in their own detached bubble.

The Fly
21/02/2011, 6:34 PM
If you say so. Prefer to think of it as challenging some of the more farcical preconceptions made by certain misinformed posters....
Though do note that certain others who might know better, prefer to live in their own detached bubble.

Tut! Tut!

Your reply should've been......."Demand me nothing. What you know, you know. From this time forth I never will speak word."

Oh well. :(

ArdeeBhoy
21/02/2011, 7:13 PM
Hardly, just have an inherent mistrust of anyone called 'William' or Bill(y) !

Even the 'Gers I've known have avoided that exact name....

punkrocket
22/02/2011, 10:14 AM
I read in the Sunday Times that NI fans will be surrounded by stewards during the game. Is there any truth to this?

Peace lines in Dublin?

23/02/2011, 1:56 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/david-conn-inside-sport-blog/2011/feb/23/belfast-celtic-ifa

didn't know where to put this but I think it shows we can all get along.

Gather round
23/02/2011, 2:05 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/david-conn-inside-sport-blog/2011/feb/23/belfast-celtic-ifa

didn't know where to put this but I think it shows we can all get along

The Irish League section? Let me help.

23/02/2011, 2:26 PM
The Irish League section? Let me help.

I wanted people to read it! Looking forward to you ripping the article to shreds....

ArdeeBhoy
23/02/2011, 2:34 PM
Good piece that SM and some interesting comments on the Guardian link....

And given the subject matter, how could it ever be anything other than 'cliched', FFS.

Gather round
23/02/2011, 3:54 PM
I wanted people to read it! Looking forward to you ripping the article to shreds....

Hardly. I thought it was interesting, detailed and generally fair if cliched.

23/02/2011, 4:30 PM
Reading some of the comments underneath, ive always been struck over here by a lot of NI nationalists who support Celtic as though its their country. They dont have that same affiliation to ROI as those within ROI, and they don't want to have anything to do with NI - probably as it stands - but I'm not sure if they would ever want anything to do with NI. They are in limbo so to speak, ROI is not "theirs". They like them to do well but thats about it. Strange but perhaps these people would eventualy support a NI team if it completely shed its clothes, and started again from scratch.

Fixer82
23/02/2011, 4:44 PM
My pals in the 6 counties certainly support the Republic. Always have done.

Mr_Parker
23/02/2011, 5:43 PM

I don't think this is the place to do so but some of it should ripped to shreds.

ArdeeBhoy
23/02/2011, 5:50 PM
Why or how, out of interest??

DannyInvincible
23/02/2011, 6:14 PM
Reading some of the comments underneath, ive always been struck over here by a lot of NI nationalists who support Celtic as though its their country. They dont have that same affiliation to ROI as those within ROI, and they don't want to have anything to do with NI - probably as it stands - but I'm not sure if they would ever want anything to do with NI. They are in limbo so to speak, ROI is not "theirs". They like them to do well but thats about it. Strange but perhaps these people would eventualy support a NI team if it completely shed its clothes, and started again from scratch.

I wouldn't say this is the case at all. What gave you that impression, bar reading a selection of comments underneath a piece in the Guardian online? Not exactly sure to which ones you're referring either.

Mr_Parker
23/02/2011, 6:18 PM
Why or how, out of interest??

"Protestant Crusaders and Catholic Newington" for starters. Once I read that I knew much of the rest would be rubbish.

23/02/2011, 8:10 PM
I wouldn't say this is the case at all. What gave you that impression, bar reading a selection of comments underneath a piece in the Guardian online? Not exactly sure to which ones you're referring either.

I read a couple of comments below the article that might not have been from Nationalist leaning people, but it is still the feeling I get from a lot of the Northerners i know. Maybe i am being harsh and ive just noticed it more with them as opposed to a general disinterest in ROI from all its fanbase - though up north you don't find the attitude to rugby as you do in the south. I'm not saying they don't like the ROI or like to see them do well, but it appears they support Celtic more as "their" (state like) team than ROI. I find it a lot with the plastics here too - which is understandable.

SwanVsDalton
23/02/2011, 9:30 PM
I read a couple of comments below the article that might not have been from Nationalist leaning people, but it is still the feeling I get from a lot of the Northerners i know. Maybe i am being harsh and ive just noticed it more with them as opposed to a general disinterest in ROI from all its fanbase - though up north you don't find the attitude to rugby as you do in the south. I'm not saying they don't like the ROI or like to see them do well, but it appears they support Celtic more as "their" (state like) team than ROI. I find it a lot with the plastics here too - which is understandable.

Doesn't chime with my experience or most people I know. The Celtic fans I know are nearly all ROI fans. The non-Celtic fans are nearly all ROI fans.

Predator
23/02/2011, 9:44 PM
I read a couple of comments below the article that might not have been from Nationalist leaning people, but it is still the feeling I get from a lot of the Northerners i knowDo you know many northerners?