View Full Version : Celtic Cup thread
Walking distance? Sure the Maldron is barely even rock throwing distance :P Where the stadium is in Tallaght is not going to be an issue whether the games are gonna ever be played there or not. I imagine that if we were ever to host this thing again it will be on rotation so Wales are next in 2013, maybe Nireland in 2015, Scotland in 2017 and then us again in 2019... Tis a while yet. The council might build the far ends onto the Tallaght Stadium by then.
Also teh idea of a load of tanked up OWC heads and some Scots on the Luas does not fill me with joy at all.
Wouldn't fancy being the bloke who has to get on to check tickets on that run.
"Do ya have a smart card sir?"
backstothewall
25/05/2011, 11:36 PM
Also teh idea of a load of tanked up OWC heads and some Scots on the Luas does not fill me with joy at all.
There must have been a good few who got on the Dart to get to Lansdowne! OK the NI fans were coached into last night game, but they would have been coached to Tallaght just as easy. And if they are playing us which is the only issue that would be at Lansdowne anyway.
25/05/2011, 11:41 PM
Wouldn't fancy being the bloke who has to get on to check tickets on that run.
"Do ya have a smart card sir?"
Hooo dae ye think yoo're calin' sairrr ye wee paddy jobby?
DannyInvincible
26/05/2011, 12:08 AM
I don't see the problem with having it all in one city. Good for a city to have an injection of tourists for 4-5 days, rather than in and out with an overnight stay.
Is there really much of an injection though? Beyond the fact they've imposed a boycott, NI fans who did attend last night were bussed straight in and out before and after the game. The same boycott and travel plans will apply for their game against Wales, as far as I know. As far as ticket sales are concerned for Wales' games, their supporters have bought them in their mere dozens. Scotland did seem to bring over a larger contingent earlier tonight, I admit. Any idea what the figures were?
26/05/2011, 12:26 AM
Walking distance? Sure the Maldron is barely even rock throwing distance :P Where the stadium is in Tallaght is not going to be an issue whether the games are gonna ever be played there or not. I imagine that if we were ever to host this thing again it will be on rotation so Wales are next in 2013, maybe Nireland in 2015, Scotland in 2017 and then us again in 2019... Tis a while yet. The council might build the far ends onto the Tallaght Stadium by then.
You must have a different definition of walking distance up there on the streets of Shelbourne :p
26/05/2011, 7:20 AM
I would say scheduling a match 2 days after the end of season games would be one. Whatever about players turning up, its absolutely not fair on them conisdering the end of season day is the one day they are very much entitled to go on the absolute slaughter afterwards!
id say most genuine players wanting to play for their country wouldnt give a hoot about this. one thing if you cant play because you got injured in the game two days before but if its because you want to go on the lash.... really?
26/05/2011, 9:20 AM
So all set up for the big one on Sunday. Most of the Scottish team are their first choice so it should be a good game. Our chance to win our second (? - after the Iceland one in the 1980s?) trophy ever and it's interesting to have a look at some of our fringe players. I have enjoyed the games despite the sparse spaces and 8 goals without reply has been enjoyable as well. Great to see Keane and Given back.
Roll on Sunday.
SwanVsDalton
26/05/2011, 9:42 AM
It actually has the potential to be quite a good game. Scotland don't seem to be mucking around and even if apathy for the competition it palpable, I'd imagine the competitive nature of a lot of these guys will take over. There's a still a tournament at stake.
Newryrep
26/05/2011, 12:16 PM
The next one is being hosted by FAW in Cardiff. It won't happen. The atrocious organisation of this one will see to that.
Ah well every cloud ........and all that
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 2:57 AM
The whole thing is a waste of time.
Ill-thought out, badly scheduled, too expensive & contentious to be worth repeating.
Plus there's far far too much professional football at all levels, hence the disinterest of supposedly 'voluntary' participants.
Who can blame them?
27/05/2011, 7:28 AM
too expensive
it was free in on wednesday and will be tonight. for sunday night well over 5,000 fans have availed of an FAI offer to clubs that is allowing schoolboy players and their coaches in for next to nothing.
The whole thing is a waste of time
well if we find two ctre halfs actually fit and not suspended for the macedonia game, if andrews, keane, given and others get badly needed game time, if we find out ward and foley are great additions to the squad i actually think it will have been a very worthwhile exercise.
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 8:18 AM
The nominal prices are too dear!
And we hardly need 3 pointless friendles to discover our 'reserve' centre-backs!
27/05/2011, 8:33 AM
And we hardly need 3 pointless friendles to discover our 'reserve' centre-backs!
you're correct. we should throw in a new untried ctre back partnership against macedonia. actually, we could just pull two names out of a hat
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 8:51 AM
Yes, why not....
27/05/2011, 12:13 PM
The nominal prices are too dear!
As apposed to the real prices? The FAI should issue the tickets at 1 Euro each, but link them to the Zimbabwean inflation rate.
cornflakes
27/05/2011, 6:42 PM
The North vs Wales
http://nwxyz.blogspot.com/
The crowds rockin for this one
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 6:45 PM
What crowd???
The fact that they gave away free tickets for last night (unsure re this evening's farce) and they still only got 6k in, rather highlights the flaws in this 'competition'.
Doubtless, tonight's will be lower still?
27/05/2011, 6:56 PM
saying on Extratime that it could be less than a 1000!
legendz
27/05/2011, 7:01 PM
It has to be an embarrassment for the organisers and a big disappointment for the tournament sponsors. Hopefully common sense will prevail before the next tournament. The final match could be some saving grace. It's all set-up nicely for Sunday.
Fixer82
27/05/2011, 7:11 PM
What time is the game kicking off on Sunday?
DannyInvincible
27/05/2011, 8:04 PM
What's with the peculiar kick-off time? Any specific reasoning behind it? Sky?
DannyInvincible
27/05/2011, 8:16 PM
Wales 2-0 up against NI now. Gary Speed looking set to claim his first win as Wales boss.
Cuyahoga
27/05/2011, 8:41 PM
Finished 2.0 to Wales. The attendance was 6,036.
BBC reported the official attendance as 529, claims some of them were also Scotland fans!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13540749.stm
I thought there was about 600 or so behind either goal, so 1,200 total. 6,000 would be way too many.
Good that we have finally got a win, but Northern Ireland were truly dreadful. Very frustrating that we couldn't score more as we were totally dominant at times but also looked rather harmless.
DannyInvincible
27/05/2011, 9:45 PM
Both Gary Speed and Nigel Worthington have both questioned the organisation, benefit and future of the competition.
Speed: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13569495.stm
Worthington: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13565918.stm
Northern Ireland boss Nigel Worthington has questioned the future of the Carling Nations Cup after poor displays by his side and low attendances.
"This tournament has been difficult for everyone and supporters have voted with their feet," said Worthington.
"Having three games against British-style opposition isn't ideal and I'd prefer to select foreign opposition.
"Two games at the end of a very long season has made it difficult for us but it's up to the Associations to decide."
Worthington also gave his opinion on McGinn's "I'm an Ireland fan" comment after the game on Tuesday:
Worthington commented: "You have got to choose your words carefully and Niall has maybe made a statement that's been exaggerated a bit.
"At the end of the day, Niall will learn from that and won't let it happen again."
Obviously, it was blown out of proportion as the media have actually seen fit to make a meal out of something so ridiculously trivial - besides it being pretty obvious anyway - but I don't think McGinn did anything wrong or worthy of condemnation. What he said was more than fair enough, so should he really have something to learn from and ensure won't happen again? :rolleyes:
Sullivinho
27/05/2011, 9:53 PM
What he said was more than fair enough, so should he really have something to learn from and ensure won't happen again? :rolleyes:
Just in case, he's had "DO NOT admit Ireland support!" sewn into his boots. He was seen to be examining them studiously during the anthems this evening.
ArdeeBhoy
27/05/2011, 10:57 PM
BBC reported the official attendance as 529, claims some of them were also Scotland fans!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13540749.stm
I thought there was about 600 or so behind either goal, so 1,200 total.
Told by a hack mate, 529 was the no.of tickets were sold for this game. Any others were comps/freebies.
Jinxy
28/05/2011, 12:00 AM
Finished 2.0 to Wales. The attendance was 6,036.
There were more stewards than fans.
28/05/2011, 1:35 AM
Both Gary Speed and Nigel Worthington have both questioned the organisation, benefit and future of the competition.
Speed: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13569495.stm
Worthington: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13565918.stm
Worthington also gave his opinion on McGinn's "I'm an Ireland fan" comment after the game on Tuesday:
Obviously, it was blown out of proportion as the media have actually seen fit to make a meal out of something so ridiculously trivial - besides it being pretty obvious anyway - but I don't think McGinn did anything wrong or worthy of condemnation. What he said was more than fair enough, so should he really have something to learn from and ensure won't happen again? :rolleyes:
Worthington really is an odious prat. Realistically, in what competition no matter the style of play would he hope for NI to learn anything, They are gash and they are not gonna get any better with that teuwl in charge. He has significantly set back the progress of the team over the last few years and it just seems. Compare the feeling around the team even from a southern perspective even compared to when Sanchez was in charge. The sooner the better that Nigel bites the bullet.
I also like how he thinks that he has any influence on the existence of the CNC. The FAI and the SFA will more gthan likely be more influential.
I'm actually looking forward to our game on Sunday now.
Also poor McGinn tonight the camera just focussed on him for an overtly long time.
Bottle of Tonic
28/05/2011, 1:22 PM
Yeah I hope this tournament takes off one way or another-timing of games maybe could be looked at-but I see more merit in playing these games than vs a half arsed 'glamour' side like Brazil or some other south american side we get no meaningful experience from.
playing easter euro sides away regularly would be great but we never seem to do that in friendlies.
Eminence Grise
28/05/2011, 2:23 PM
I wonder if it would work better as a tournament with two semi finals, a 3rd and 4th place play off and a final. It cuts it to two games per team which might have some impact on TV money, but it could be staged in 6 or 7 days. Fitting that into the international schedule or end of season is easier.
28/05/2011, 2:29 PM
Worthington really is an odious prat. Realistically, in what competition no matter the style of play would he hope for NI to learn anything, They are gash and they are not gonna get any better with that teuwl in charge. He has significantly set back the progress of the team over the last few years and it just seems. Compare the feeling around the team even from a southern perspective even compared to when Sanchez was in charge. The sooner the better that Nigel bites the bullet.
You sound as if you really care, Bonnie.
28/05/2011, 3:14 PM
You sound as if you really care, Bonnie.
He just really really bugs me something serious.
legendz
28/05/2011, 10:43 PM
I wonder if it would work better as a tournament with two semi finals, a 3rd and 4th place play off and a final. It cuts it to two games per team which might have some impact on TV money, but it could be staged in 6 or 7 days. Fitting that into the international schedule or end of season is easier.
I'd disagree. Each team should get at least one home game. They should use the international friendly dates of August, November and February. Each game will be about 3 months a part. Club's don't like releasing players for friendlies but at least their players won't be travelling too far across Europe or anything like that for the Carling Nations Cup. The competition could have a decent future being played every year on those dates.
amaccann
28/05/2011, 11:23 PM
It won't happen now the the Aviva is open, but perhaps what could have been a better idea was if the tournament took place either in the RDS, or in Thomand Park. Coupled with more parochial marketing.
The whole history of this tournament's genesis was to promote the idea of local rivals / neighbours playing each other. Ideally pushing an idea of rivalry between the Celtic nations. But an empty 50K-seater bedpan is not going to bring this about, especially in the games featuring the "away" sides. You want the smaller, cosier stadiums where a bit of emotion and passion could swell up. Cheap tickets, smaller venue, closer to the action. Ideally at the weekend. The RDS, 100% full, would generate far more noise and enthusiasm than a half-filled Aviva.
Of course as I said, with the new stadium open & a deal with Sky hanging over their necks, the FAI aren't going to leave the new Lansdowne fallow while our boys are kicking about in the RDS, but for this tournament to work, it has to start small, and grow upwards. Not start with large ideas and slowly deflate (as it has done) while 500 people sit watching Wales v. Norn Iron.
legendz
29/05/2011, 12:00 AM
Rob Earnshaw calls for Nations Cup revamp: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13585705.stm
In the article above Earnshaw is calling for a revamp as well. The tournament has been an embarrassment. It was going to be open to certain criticisms but it's been open to a whole lot more due to the disastrous way it has been run.
A successful 6 nations is run in rugby, they only had to use that blueprint but obviously with 4 teams being involved. The following as I've mentioned would've have gotten by far more crowds than the current format:
August 2010: Wales v Ireland ... Cardiff. N Ireland v Scotland ... Belfast.
November 2010: Ireland v N Ireland ... Dublin. Scotland v Wales ... Glasgow.
February 2011: Ireland v Scotland ... Dublin. Wales v N Ireland ... Cardiff.
For the next tournament then they only needed to reverse the fixtures so Northern Ireland and Scotland would get the extra home game.
gastric
29/05/2011, 4:58 AM
Excellent article in the Indo about Nigel Worthington and his crap attitude towards players playing for the Republic. Eamonn Sweeney mentions too Derek Dougan who was a visionary in terms of where he felt English soccer should seek its influence and style of play and was often deemed controversial for these views. I never knew that due to his beliefs about a United Irish team that his international career was ended. Watch out Niall McGinn - you could be next!
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/nigel-has-got-to-put-up-or-shut-up-2660613.html
Eminence Grise
29/05/2011, 8:25 AM
I'd disagree. Each team should get at least one home game. They should use the international friendly dates of August, November and February. Each game will be about 3 months a part. Club's don't like releasing players for friendlies but at least their players won't be travelling too far across Europe or anything like that for the Carling Nations Cup. The competition could have a decent future being played every year on those dates.
That might work, but I was thinking, too, about having concentrated numbers of fans in town for a week-long tournament, creating atmosphere and generally bigging up the event in a way that a prolonged series of games doesn't. The good thing about the 6 Nations format is that from start to finish, it's over within two months - short, concentrated and omnipresent for its duration. Spinning out the CC over 7 months makes it lose momentum.
29/05/2011, 9:04 AM
Excellent article in the Indo about Nigel Worthington and his crap attitude towards players playing for the Republic. Eamonn Sweeney mentions too Derek Dougan who was a visionary in terms of where he felt English soccer should seek its influence and style of play and was often deemed controversial for these views. I never knew that due to his beliefs about a United Irish team that his international career was ended. Watch out Niall McGinn - you could be next!
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/nigel-has-got-to-put-up-or-shut-up-2660613.htmlExcept the "loophole" Sweeney refers to is not the GFA but rather the "change of association" clause in the eligibility statutes, no?
The Gibson hate campaign? Was he referring to Colbert Report? :)
The best bit was his put down of Worthington, a self-pitying mediocre manager, or something like that.
bwagner
29/05/2011, 9:14 AM
Guys im stuck in france, i need to see this game..does anyone hace a link to where i watch it ????????
29/05/2011, 9:20 AM
Rob Earnshaw calls for Nations Cup revamp: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13585705.stm
Perhaps the best option would be to run the tournament over a weekend in the same host city - ie have two semi finals on a Friday and final/ third place matches on a Sunday.
I'd drop NI from the tournament, rotate the hosting of the tournament between us, Scotland and Wales, and have the fourth team as an invite.
Fixer82
29/05/2011, 9:31 AM
If Nigel and his mates want Northern Ireland to have a unionist football team, they're going the right way about it. - Eamon Sweeney
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/nigel-has-got-to-put-up-or-shut-up-2660613.html
Well said Mr. Sweeney
29/05/2011, 10:08 AM
If Nigel and his mates want Northern Ireland to have a unionist football team, they're going the right way about it. - Eamon Sweeney
Well said Mr. Sweeney
A couple of salient points aside there's an amount of tired auld guff in there from Sweeney though ..."cauldron of hatred", GFA, Lennon, bullets in the post -and of the course the All-Ireland team solution because that'd solve it all and make everyone happy.
He's correct that Nigel is a bit of an eejit who doesn't understand that the rest of the world don't neccessarily see things as he does mind.
Fixer82
29/05/2011, 11:03 AM
Yeah I agree but I though he nailed it with that particular sentence
Hence the quote.
What i really didn't like was the gloating at the end '5-0, 5-0, 5-0'. What is he, 10?
29/05/2011, 11:10 AM
What i really didn't like was the gloating at the end '5-0, 5-0, 5-0'. What is he, 10?Yes, totally pointless. Totally fails to acknowledge how experimental and far from full strength NI were.
Fixer82
29/05/2011, 11:19 AM
Indeed. Perspective and grace are two qualities that would go a long way
Not Brazil
29/05/2011, 11:24 AM
Mr Sweeney's rant is riddled with inaccuracies.
It has a stench of bigotry to it too.
ArdeeBhoy
29/05/2011, 2:30 PM
Really?
And his piece is an improvement on what passes for 'facts', in The Belfast Telegraph...
ArdeeBhoy
29/05/2011, 2:33 PM
Excellent article in the Indo about Nigel Worthington and his crap attitude towards players playing for the Republic. Eamonn Sweeney mentions too Derek Dougan who was a visionary in terms of where he felt English soccer should seek its influence and style of play and was often deemed controversial for these views. I never knew that due to his beliefs about a United Irish team that his international career was ended.
Yeah spoke to Dougan about this myself through work, an articulate and likable man.