View Full Version : Celtic Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

Fixer82
10/02/2011, 12:34 PM
Darron Gibson and Marc Wilson to start against NI. With a shock recall for Alan Kernaghan

Predator
10/02/2011, 12:38 PM
Let's get back to the football, eh?

Remaining fixtures:
Tuesday May 24th
Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland

Wednesday May25th
Wales v Scotland

Friday May 27th
Wales v Northern Ireland

Sunday May 29th
Republic of Ireland v Scotland

Based on the first round of games and results, it's reasonable to conclude that it's between us and Scotland for the title. The game against NI would be a good opportunity to give players on the fringes a run out as we don't need to win it, and based on NI's performance last night, we shouldn't need to field a strong side to get a positive result.Based on the performance last night, Nigel Worthington might reconsider his selection policy for our game...

10/02/2011, 12:47 PM
Based on the performance last night, Nigel Worthington might reconsider his selection policy for our game...

I don't think Nigel knows how he can improve the team. NI have only scored a couple of goals in the last two years of international football regardless of team selections.

SwanVsDalton
10/02/2011, 12:58 PM
I don't think Nigel knows how he can improve the team. NI have only scored a couple of goals in the last two years of international football regardless of team selections.

NI can play ten times better than last night though - they were woeful and undermotivated. I'd be very surprised if they are not considerably more fired up and determined against us.

10/02/2011, 1:01 PM
I've sure I've seen far better keepers than Tuffey leave in goals like those conceded by NI last night. Three or four defenders stood there looking at Miller for the first. The second was well poxy -though he (Tuffey) should've measured it better and been closer to his line. But again I've seen better than him caught out when a ball dips like that. He made a couple of fine saves in there as well.

10/02/2011, 1:06 PM
The IFA still persist with GSTQ as an anthem to represents the IFA team, a region with 2 established constitutionally recognised national identities.
Far be from me to tell another association how to run its shop,:rolleyes: except to remark that the IFAs instutionalised belligerence in maintaining this particular aspect of homogeneous identity, in the face of social and constitutional progress made over the last 20 years, will contribute to ensure that we have a decent enough pool of northern born players to choose from for the foreseeable future.

10/02/2011, 1:06 PM
Ten times better ;) And I don't think you can say they were lacking motivation. After all they got to meet Ken Doherty and play in the Aviva.

But they can certainly improve on their organisation and defensive structure, and from other games I've watched they can present a danger on the break.

10/02/2011, 1:07 PM
In Tuffey's defence, as an ex-keeper I can tell you that there's nothing worse than when an intended cross goes is misdirected towards goal. You see the ball being struck, you set yourself up for the cross and then too late. It beats keepers regularly and it's why you hear the question so often asked "was it intentional?". It rarely is I reckon. Hennessy was beaten all ends up by Duff's cross on Tuesday.

10/02/2011, 1:13 PM
Tuffey is no Alan Mannus, to be sure to be sure.

Gather round
10/02/2011, 1:15 PM
NI have only scored a couple of goals in the last two years of international football regardless of team selections

WC Feb 2009 San Marino W 3-0
WC Mar 2009 POLAND W 3-2
WC Mar 2009 Slovenia W 1-0
WC Sep 2009 Poland D 1-1
WC Sep 2009 SLOVAKIA L 0-2
WC Oct 2009 Czechia D 0-0
EC Sep 2010 Slovenia W 1-0
EC Oct 2010 ITALY D 0-0
EC Oct 2010 Faeroes D 1-1

P-9 W-4 D-4 L-1 F-10 A-6 Pts-16

10/02/2011, 1:20 PM
It was most certainly played in Croke Park. One man pulled his father's all-ireland medals out of the Museum in protest. And I'm fairly sure it was played in LR in 1995. Not sure about 1990. I imagine it was.

It's always been played at the rugby. In fact it is in the IRFU manifesto that GSTQ should be played when Ireland rugby team play in Ravenhill but the Ulster Rugby Association, in their wisdom, choose not to. I imagine it's 'Ireland's AWFUL Call'

I meant it wasn't played in croke park up to then. And why would it when croke park was only for gaelic.

10/02/2011, 1:23 PM
WC Feb 2009 San Marino W 3-0
WC Mar 2009 POLAND W 3-2
WC Mar 2009 Slovenia W 1-0
WC Sep 2009 Poland D 1-1
WC Sep 2009 SLOVAKIA L 0-2
WC Oct 2009 Czechia D 0-0
EC Sep 2010 Slovenia W 1-0
EC Oct 2010 ITALY D 0-0
EC Oct 2010 Faeroes D 1-1

P-9 W-4 D-4 L-1 F-10 A-6 Pts-16

Wed 01/04/09 WQE Northern Ireland 1 - 0 Slovenia
Sat 06/06/09 FRI Italy 3 - 0 Northern Ireland More info
Wed 12/08/09 FRI Northern Ireland 1 - 1 Israel More info
Sat 05/09/09 WQE Poland 1 - 1 Northern Ireland View events More info
Wed 09/09/09 WQE Northern Ireland 0 - 2 Slovakia View events More info
Wed 14/10/09 WQE Czech Republic 0 - 0 Northern Ireland More info
Sat 14/11/09 FRI Northern Ireland 0 - 1 Serbia View events More info
Wed 03/03/10 FRI Albania 1 - 0 Northern Ireland View events More info
Wed 26/05/10 FRI Turkey 2 - 0 Northern Ireland View events More info
Sun 30/05/10 FRI Chile 1 - 0 Northern Ireland View events More info
Wed 11/08/10 FRI Montenegro 2 - 0 Northern Ireland
Fri 03/09/10 EUC Slovenia 0 - 1 Northern Ireland View events More info
Fri 08/10/10 EUC Northern Ireland 0 - 0 Italy More info
Tue 12/10/10 EUC Faroe Islands 1 - 1 Northern Ireland View events More info
Wed 17/11/10 FRI Northern Ireland 1 - 1 Morocco View events More info
Wed 09/02/11 NAC Northern Ireland 0 - 3 Scotland

5 goals since April 2009 - 16 internationals played. Not exactly two years but the point is you don't score many goals. 5 in your last 16 internationals suggests a goal scoring problem, no?

10/02/2011, 1:23 PM
In Tuffey's defence, as an ex-keeper I can tell you that there's nothing worse than when an intended cross goes is misdirected towards goal. You see the ball being struck, you set yourself up for the cross and then too late. It beats keepers regularly and it's why you hear the question so often asked "was it intentional?". It rarely is I reckon. Hennessy was beaten all ends up by Duff's cross on Tuesday.

Stop trying to excuse yourself, and make yourself feel better.

Gather round
10/02/2011, 1:33 PM
the point is you don't score many goals. 5 in your last 16 internationals suggests a goal scoring problem, no?

I was answering the different and specific point that we'd only scored two goals in two years. No-one denies we have lacked a regular scorer since Healy semi-retired to Sunderland reserves.

Apart from against Faroe, where we should have scored two before half time and then closed the game, the underlying problem is that our manager and players don't take friendlies seriously. It's not good.

10/02/2011, 1:47 PM
I was answering the different and specific point that we'd only scored two goals in two years.

You just wanted to be pedantic ;). The point made was a goal scoring problem regardless of team selections. 5 goals in the last 16 internationals is a goal scoring problem.

Apart from against Faroe, where we should have scored two before half time and then closed the game, the underlying problem is that our manager and players don't take friendlies seriously. It's not good.

I doubt NI are alone in not taking friendlies seriously. It's an useful excuse to have when results don't go your way.

I watched the Faroes game and don't recall two goal scoring chances in the first half that should have been put away, but I'll take your word for it. (Edit I do recall Jonny Evans missing an open goal from a header but that was in the second half).

Gather round
10/02/2011, 1:57 PM
You just wanted to be pedantic ;)

Think of me as your sub-editor.

It's an useful excuse to have when results don't go your way

Hardly an excuse. I made clear I see it as a bad thing- when roughly half the games are friendlies, it's a right pain when Nige and the boys are happy to write them off as goalless beatings.

I watched the Faroes game and don't recall two goal scoring chances in the first half that should have been put away, but I'll take your word for it. (Edit I do recall Jonny Evans missing an open goal from a header but that was in the second half)

No need to take my word, I missed live coverage thanks to a cross-town power cut. My point was that we should have been able to score early (as in most other recent games against village teams), and only then **** about at walking pace.

10/02/2011, 2:03 PM
GR ifk has needed one of those for a long time now.

10/02/2011, 2:18 PM
No need to take my word, I missed live coverage thanks to a cross-town power cut. My point was that we should have been able to score early (as in most other recent games against village teams), and only then **** about at walking pace.

Well you played Italy a couple of days (4 days to be exact) prior to the Faroes game. For the Italian game, the game plan was to keep it tight and try nick a goal on the break. For the Faroes game, the Faroes employed the same tactic NI used against Italy. It's quite difficult to ask a team to switch from a defensive mentality to a situation where they are expected to dictate and control the pace of the game.

IsMiseSean
10/02/2011, 4:28 PM
Are the premium match tickets for the NI game on Ticketmaster normal match tickets?
They're €45 a pop. When I go to purchase them I'm not given a seat number etc, it just says general admission, price level 1.
Excuse my ignorance....

10/02/2011, 4:42 PM
I am going out on a limb here and predicting that this tournament will be a success. I anticipate a good sized crowd against Scotland (and a good game) and then the game against the Nordies will have its own flavour and atmosphere and we will probably need to win it to win the tournament.

Scoff all you want at it but I am looking forward to the next two games.

Also good for tourism bringing the punters from up North and across the pond ;)

And it's hi ho and up the Celtic League we go...

co. down green
10/02/2011, 5:52 PM
Rule Britannia is not sectarian or offensive. I'm sure it wound up the Scottish fans and will wind up our fans in May

Never really understood their obsession with rule britannia, dambusters, 10 German bombers songs etc...

In good voice outside Murrays (http://www.youtube.com/user/robdunmurry#p/a/u/2/RfzJ8tPZizg) last night

10/02/2011, 7:06 PM
well at least they changed england to ulster.

Noelys Guitar
10/02/2011, 9:07 PM
Labor councillor calling for next two NI games to be switched from Aviva.

Cllr Kevin Humphreys has called for the cancellation of the next two Northern Ireland matches to be played at the Aviva Stadium. This is due the high levels of public disorder and delinquency fueled by alcohol that occurred last night, Wednesday 9th of February in the surrounding residential areas.

Local residents had to undergo a barrage of abuse and intimidation and were unable to leave their homes. From early afternoon, gangs of supporters were roaming the streets while openly drinking from cans of beer and bottles of spirits. Local streets were used as public conveniences and damage was done to a number of properties. Residents should not be expected to have to undergo this again.

There must be guarantees of proper crowd control, curbs placed on public consumption of alcohol and sufficient Gardai in place to protect residents and property of those on the frontline of moving crowds.

The next two matches are scheduled for Tuesday 24 May (Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland) and Friday 27 May (Wales v Northern Ireland).

Kevin is a Councillor for the South East Inner City and General election candidate for Labour in constituency of Dublin South East. He lives off Bath Avenue, which is part off the crowd control program for the Avivia Stadium.

Does anyone know was it really that bad last night or is this guy a publicity seeking ****?

DaveyCakes
10/02/2011, 9:14 PM

Does anyone know was it really that bad last night or is this guy a publicity seeking ****?

Maybe both, they're not mutually exclusive :-)

10/02/2011, 9:16 PM
Everybody knows Nordies are the only ones who can't take their drink, so it's only right that they're banned and nobody else. Sure Temple Bar is a serene haven of virtue every weekend.

Predator
10/02/2011, 10:13 PM
Actually, that Labour guy is right. Cancel all football at Lansdowne Road.

Fixer82
10/02/2011, 10:40 PM
I meant it wasn't played in croke park up to then. And why would it when croke park was only for gaelic.

Oh right, seemed to get lost in translation there. Didn't realise that part of your comment was in reply to another.

ArdeeBhoy
10/02/2011, 11:21 PM
Are the premium match tickets for the NI game on Ticketmaster normal match tickets?
They're €45 a pop. When I go to purchase them I'm not given a seat number etc, it just says general admission, price level 1.

Don't know about TM, but as stated in the tickets thread, liable to have access to a no. of tickets at less than that. Will check exact details and get to you all.....

Labour councillor calling for next two NI games to be switched from Aviva.

Cllr Kevin Humphreys has called for the cancellation of the next two Northern Ireland matches to be played at the Aviva Stadium. This is due the high levels of public disorder and delinquency fueled by alcohol that occurred last night, Wednesday 9th of February in the surrounding residential areas.

Local residents had to undergo a barrage of abuse and intimidation and were unable to leave their homes. From early afternoon, gangs of supporters were roaming the streets while openly drinking from cans of beer and bottles of spirits. Local streets were used as public conveniences and damage was done to a number of properties. Residents should not be expected to have to undergo this again.

There must be guarantees of proper crowd control, curbs placed on public consumption of alcohol and sufficient Gardai in place to protect residents and property of those on the frontline of moving crowds.

The next two matches are scheduled for Tuesday 24 May (Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland) and Friday 27 May (Wales v Northern Ireland).

Kevin is a Councillor for the South East Inner City and General election candidate for Labour in constituency of Dublin South East. He lives off Bath Avenue, which is part off the crowd control program for the Avivia Stadium.

Ha ha. Yer man and Labour have gone up in my estimation! And to be fair is almost definitely right. There is the potential of disorder on the 24th to be sure.

In all seriousness also, he (and other local residents) had better pray a certain team from Govan don't reach the EL Final or it'll make a bunch of paranoid Nordies look like a children's tea party....

awec
11/02/2011, 12:10 AM
The amount of lies I've read around this fixture is shocking.

There was no significant trouble, despite what certain gutter press would want you to believe. The Guards, the stewards, the locals, the scots were all very friendly and a good day was had by all.

Mr_Parker
11/02/2011, 9:05 AM
The amount of lies I've read around this fixture is shocking.

There was no significant trouble, despite what certain gutter press would want you to believe. The Guards, the stewards, the locals, the scots were all very friendly and a good day was had by all.

How do you define significant? Seems that there are a fair few NI fans who disagree with that given their comments on other forums and radio interviews. Also if "a good day was had by all," why are the IFA carrying out an investigation?

11/02/2011, 10:32 AM
Just to break away from the herald and their "roaming gangs" for a moment -does it occur to anyone else that Craig Levein doesn't talk so much like a Scot as more like a non-Scot putting on a cartoon Scottish accent?

awec
11/02/2011, 10:47 AM
How do you define significant? Seems that there are a fair few NI fans who disagree with that given their comments on other forums and radio interviews. Also if "a good day was had by all," why are the IFA carrying out an investigation?

No surprise that someone like you is trying to make something out of this. Lets face it, you were rubbing your hands with glee when you saw this report. You're so pathetic that you actually enjoy the lies written as it means you get to have another pop at the NI fans.

Perhaps in future you should concern yourself more with the behaviour of your own clubs fans when they cross the border?

There was no trouble at the game, certainly nothing like the Herald is reporting (a rag of a paper). Perhaps there were minor scuffles, nothing worth reporting though! It's telling when we've yet to see RTE, BBC or any reputable newspaper even mention it, or print photographs of these so called bigoted hordes walking around Dublin.

The worst that there was was dodgy singing from some in our support and I do sympathise with locals having to listen to that bile.

Mr_Parker
11/02/2011, 11:21 AM
No surprise that someone like you is trying to make something out of this. Lets face it, you were rubbing your hands with glee when you saw this report. You're so pathetic that you actually enjoy the lies written as it means you get to have another pop at the NI fans.

Perhaps in future you should concern yourself more with the behaviour of your own clubs fans when they cross the border?

There was no trouble at the game, certainly nothing like the Herald is reporting (a rag of a paper). Perhaps there were minor scuffles, nothing worth reporting though! It's telling when we've yet to see RTE, BBC or any reputable newspaper even mention it, or print photographs of these so called bigoted hordes walking around Dublin.

The worst that there was was dodgy singing from some in our support and I do sympathise with locals having to listen to that bile.

Why is it of no surprise? Why would I rub my hands? You can try to deflect but you should be facing the reality rather than just putting your head in the sand. It was not just one newspapers report. It was was eye witness accounts of the behaviour as broadcast on two radio shows. Those accounts came from residents, stewards on dury inside the ground and NI Fans. It is also posts from NI fans who were in attendance who were appauled by the behaviour outside and inside the ground some who left early because of it. Are you aware of the shop being ransacked?

And again, if it was all sweetness and light as you are trying to paint, why are the IFA investigating?

awec
11/02/2011, 12:41 PM
Ok Parker,

Can you provide me with photographs, quotes from the Guards or the Stewards or a news article in a reputable newspaper for your claims?

Let's face it, you love all of this because you once again get to stir things up. I don't even know why I'm bothering replying to you because you really aren't worth it and quite frankly you're beneath me.

Looked up that lying so-and-so Melanie Finn and it turns our she's showbiz editor? That explains a lot, a gutter journalist.

Changed my original post by the way, cause apparntly I'm not allowed to call you that.

awec
11/02/2011, 12:49 PM
There is no need for that in fairness awec. And given the point being discussed do you not think that sorta post only inflames further and gives credence to the point at hand.
There is only so much bile from one person you can take. When the same guy is continually having a go at you and your fellow fans, making totally unsubstantiated claims then tempers will flare.

I could sit here and make claims about Cliftonville and not back them up with any facts and he'd be the first one to cry and whinge.

The man has issues and he is nothing more than a stirrer. He uses message boards like this to try and increase his sense of self-importance.

Mr_Parker
11/02/2011, 12:54 PM
Ok Parker,

Can you provide me with photographs, quotes from the Guards or the Stewards or a news article in a reputable newspaper for your claims?

Let's face it, you love all of this because you once again get to stir things up. I don't even know why I'm bothering replying to you because you really aren't worth it and quite frankly you're beneath me.

Looked up that lying so-and-so Melanie Finn and it turns our she's showbiz editor? That explains a lot, a gutter journalist.

Changed my original post by the way, cause apparntly I'm not allowed to call you that.

Afaik know playback of the radio shows is not possible, but why would dozens of people phone in with such tales. Was there a conspiracy to all phone in to a show? Taxi drivers about getting their cars kicked? Women about being intimidated. Residents being called 'fenian basta**', fans urinating against their houses, etc etc, and why would NI fans call in expressing their disgust at the actions they witnessed? where they part of the conspiracy too?

As for 'reputable newspapers,' I would doubt one exists in your book.

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/3/29/1238331481910/football-supporters-irela-001.jpg

Mr_Parker
11/02/2011, 12:57 PM
There is only so much bile from one person you can take. When the same guy is continually having a go at you and your fellow fans, making totally unsubstantiated claims then tempers will flare.

I could sit here and make claims about Cliftonville and not back them up with any facts and he'd be the first one to cry and whinge.

The man has issues and he is nothing more than a stirrer. He uses message boards like this to try and increase his sense of self-importance.

Problem is they are not unsubstantiated. There are eye witness accounts as broadcast on radio and newspaper accounts.

awec
11/02/2011, 12:58 PM
You realise that picture is one from the Poland game in Belfast, right?

I don't know whether to laugh or cry, you post a photo that was clearly taken in broad daylight regarding trouble that supposedly happened after a football match. :D:D

awec
11/02/2011, 12:59 PM
Problem is they are not unsubstantiated. There are eye witness accounts as broadcast on radio and newspaper accounts.

They are eye witness accounts from a loopy radio show and a newspaper that isn't worth reading at all. They are unsubstantiated claims.

There was no serious trouble Parker. Get over it. :)

11/02/2011, 1:00 PM
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/3/29/1238331481910/football-supporters-irela-001.jpg[/QUOTE]

Lee Bowyer, a Norn Ireland fan?

awec
11/02/2011, 1:05 PM
Here,Parker:

http://www.daylife.com/photo/0fW06VT5d0fuX

Brilliant.

As I was saying, you're a stirrer. :)

Mr_Parker
11/02/2011, 1:10 PM
You realise that picture is one from the Poland game in Belfast, right?

I don't know whether to laugh or cry, you post a photo that was clearly taken in broad daylight regarding trouble that supposedly happened after a football match. :D:D

I know exactly where and when the pic was taken. That is the point I was making in regards to your demand for a reputable newspaper! Oh dear......

And btw, most of the reports about the NI fans behaviour was in regrds to before the game, not after it.

Mr_Parker
11/02/2011, 1:13 PM
They are eye witness accounts from a loopy radio show and a newspaper that isn't worth reading at all. They are unsubstantiated claims.

There was no serious trouble Parker. Get over it. :)

Do you understand the word unsubstantiated? I never claimed anything about 'serious' trouble, however neither I nor you was a victim so neither of us are in any postion to claim whether the victims thought it was serious or not. Those NI fans that left early because if it seem to think it was serious enough.

awec
11/02/2011, 1:16 PM
Do you understand the word unsubstantiated? I never claimed anything about 'serious' trouble, however neither I nor you was a victim so neither of us are in any postion to claim whether the victims thought it was serious or not. Those NI fans that left early because if it seem to think it was serious enough.

NI fans left the match early? Aye, that was nothing to do with us being absolute muck right enough.

I near left early myself.

Face it, you've been spouting nonsense. You owe our supporters and apology and you owe the readers of this forum an apology for forcing them to read (and potentially believe) your bile. :)

Mr_Parker
11/02/2011, 1:17 PM
NI fans left the match early? Aye, that was nothing to do with us being absolute muck right enough.

I near left early myself.

No, they have stated quite clearly why they left. Have a read at ILSF.

awec
11/02/2011, 1:19 PM
No, they have stated quite clearly why they left. Have a read at ILSF.

Is that a joke? :D

They left early because of what, songs? So we've gone from a violent bunch of thugs to distasteful songs? Make your mind up.

Not Brazil
11/02/2011, 1:47 PM
http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Football/Pix/pictures/2009/3/29/1238331481910/football-supporters-irela-001.jpg

Lee Bowyer, a Norn Ireland fan?[/QUOTE]

No - Poland.;);)

Noelys Guitar
11/02/2011, 2:10 PM
Lee Bowyer, a Norn Ireland fan?

No - Poland.;);)[/QUOTE]

He has just spotted Kieron Dyer showing him the finger from behind the wall of cops.

dublinred
11/02/2011, 2:42 PM

Was this the piece in the herald last night ? Did anyone else notice the Chris Turner lookalike in the accompanying photo.

ArdeeBhoy
11/02/2011, 2:45 PM
Is yer man not wearing a green and white scarf though?
Don't know if there's a bigger 'blow-up' of that shot, but definitely not from the other night.
Though doubtless pictures of the Nordie misbehaviour do exist in these days of cameraphones and the like.

They really should treat their capital with more respect!