View Full Version : Celtic Cup thread
cornflakes
09/02/2011, 4:18 PM
The point isn't to fill them. The point is get the most money
If they dropped the price to €20 and got an extra 10,000 at last nights game (they wouldn't have got more), they'd be worse off financially
I know, I just miss a full ground with an atmosphere. It adds a lot
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 6:00 PM
The point isn't to fill them. The point is get the most money
If they dropped the price to €20 and got an extra 10,000 at last nights game (they wouldn't have got more), they'd be worse off financially
They have dropped it to €20 for tonights game and AFAIK for all the non-Ireland games, including in May....
Bizarrely the BBC gave the crowd out as 19783, so the slightly inflated crowd, ie.20k+, was to save face?
Heard earlier in the week, expecting <10k tonight but there may be a late, er, rush.....
Only €20 in the Upper/€10 in the Lower would see anything like a full house for any of these games, IMO.
The FAI are the only people to charge less for a better view, ie. higher up. Often wondered why?
The Fly
09/02/2011, 6:07 PM
I'm just looking forward to the 'national anthems' this evening.
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 6:51 PM
Well seeing as they won't have 'Danny Boy', 'Flower Of Scotland' (twice) should have sufficed....
Rule Britannia can be heard pretty clearly from the sky coverage tonight. charming crowd there 2n.
SwanVsDalton
09/02/2011, 6:56 PM
At least some chanting can be heard...
The Fly
09/02/2011, 7:00 PM
That's the first time I've heard 'Flower of Scotland' played by an oompah band.
The Fly
09/02/2011, 7:15 PM
Am I the only one whose heart skipped a beat when the commentator said that this would be James McArthur's first cap for Scotland?
09/02/2011, 7:18 PM
2 -0 Scotland after 30 mins.
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 7:21 PM
It's not a competitive game though? McCarthy should have play a half for each team in June, purely out of novelty value.
Unless of course he's played against Macedonia in March. Though somehow I doubt it.
And they're only singing RB due to their nice subsidy they get every year (not because they're 'Irish') :eek:....and bet their fans weren't booing Miller when he scored??
09/02/2011, 7:36 PM
Im sure the rule brittania is a novelty in a free state bastion for the ignoramuses - who no doubt in their minority can still be heard loud and clear.
09/02/2011, 7:39 PM
2-0 at half time. Scotland in total control.
Worthlesston OUT!
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 7:41 PM
Only if they bring back Lawrie Mac.
Agent Lawrie(I) did a great job there....
09/02/2011, 7:59 PM
3-0 .... (there goes our goal difference advantage).
rebelarmyexile
09/02/2011, 8:22 PM
Rule Britannia can be heard pretty clearly from the sky coverage tonight. charming crowd there 2n.
What is wrong with that?? Sure the Fields of Athenry were sung yesterday. I really hate this anti-Unionist approach from certain Irish football supporters. You don't have to support their political beliefs, but you do have to show them respect. Fair play to them actually trying to chant and create some atmosphere.
The Fly
09/02/2011, 8:24 PM
What is wrong with that?? Sure the Fields of Athenry were sung yesterday. I really hate this anti-Unionist approach from certain Irish football supporters. You don't have to support their political beliefs, but you do have to show them respect. Fair play to them actually trying to chant and create some atmosphere.
Well for starters, it would help if Norn Iron was actually in Britain. ;)
DannyInvincible
09/02/2011, 8:29 PM
But I thought they were all for keeping politics out of football these days...
09/02/2011, 8:33 PM
Am I the only one whose heart skipped a beat when the commentator said that this would be James McArthur's first cap for Scotland?
You have to wait for the last syllable ;)
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 8:34 PM
Presumably, if I can be 'politically correct', you're unaware of the excesses of the British Empire?? They may not have oppressed your ancestors, but they did mine....so excuse my lack of enthusiasm.
Oh and welcome back Danny I.
DannyInvincible
09/02/2011, 8:34 PM
Are we top of the table on alphabetical order then? Fantastic.
Predator
09/02/2011, 8:38 PM
What is wrong with that?? Sure the Fields of Athenry were sung yesterday. I really hate this anti-Unionist approach from certain Irish football supporters. You don't have to support their political beliefs, but you do have to show them respect. Fair play to them actually trying to chant and create some atmosphere.You don't have to do anything.
Yes, fair play to them for doing what supporters tend to do. Well done!
Sullivinho
09/02/2011, 8:44 PM
If said commentator had built it up by describing him as Wigan's young, ex-Hamilton midfielder, it'd have missed more than one! ;)
DannyInvincible
09/02/2011, 8:45 PM
Oh and welcome back Danny I.
Hehe, cheers. Although I still pop in regularly; just don't have as much time on my hands for the mammoth posting sprees at the minute. ;)
09/02/2011, 9:02 PM
You have a fair point there.
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 9:04 PM
Not really PO'S. They only have about 20 other songs they could sing. Personally I'd rather hear 'The Sash'....
Is the fields of athenry political?? Sure its about the famine, but political??
According to some on YBIG, the nordies have been causing trouble in ballsbridge area after the game tonight, anyone confirm? Hopefully (and wouldnt be surprised if it is) its bull. Bleating on about on FM104 at the moment, surprise surprise.
Attendance tonight was 18,742. That is actually very good considering last night was just slightly more.
SwanVsDalton
09/02/2011, 9:17 PM
According to some on YBIG, the nordies have been causing trouble in balsbridge area tonight, anyone confirm?
That'd be a shame, I thought they made a good atmosphere regardless of what they were singing.
09/02/2011, 9:25 PM
Is the fields of athenry political?? Sure its about the famine, but political??
According to some on YBIG, the nordies have been causing trouble in ballsbridge area after the game tonight, anyone confirm? Hopefully (and wouldnt be surprised if it is) its bull.
Attendance tonight was 18,742. That is actually very good considering last night was just slightly more.
If true of course it will be a minority.
They find FOA as political, or maybe they just do to have something to fight back against.
Predator
09/02/2011, 9:27 PM
Attendance tonight was 18,742. That is actually very good considering last night was just slightly more.That is quite good relatively speaking. I was surprised with the attendance last night. I was even more surprised when I was at the Argentina game, the first international in the new stadium, and people literally couldn't give away tickets outside the ground. Has interest in the national team really waned that much?
That'd be a shame, I thought they made a good atmosphere regardless of what they were singing.Best fans in the world 2008, was it? Ha!
backstothewall
09/02/2011, 9:30 PM
Not really PO'S. They only have about 20 other songs they could sing. Personally I'd rather hear 'The Sash'....
You'd think that wouldn't you.
But they really don't.
We're not Brazil
Billy Boys
GSTQ
The Sash
Rule Britannia
Thats kinda it. 5 songs, 2 of which are to a tune they ripped off from somewhere else.
No idea why they don't sing Danny Boy. Probably don't want the powers that be to know they know the words in case they don't get GSTQ played before a match.
ArdeeBhoy
09/02/2011, 11:06 PM
Only judging by the more 'liberal' on OWB. I'm sure they also sing a certain song to the 'tune' of Sloop John B....
Fixer82
10/02/2011, 12:15 AM
There's loads of songs in Irish culture that have the same air as others.
'The Sash' (if memory serves me correct) is to the same air as Roddy McCorley. In turn, Sean Sabhat from Garryowen is to the same air again.
'Raglan Road' is to the air of 'Dawning of the day'
But why they sing 'God Save The Queen' and 'Rule Britannia' is beyond me.
Just proves they're a statelet if England rather than an entity of their own.
SCreams insecurity to me.
But fair play to those who came down and crated an atmosphere. And indeed, it is their right to sing whatever they want regardless of whether we like it or not.
Fair play to the Scots who came over too. Saw a fair few of them walking around town in kilts today (which, incidentally was an old Irish tradition adopted by the Scots - ok history lesson over)
-lamb-
10/02/2011, 12:55 AM
I'm sure they also sing a certain song to the 'tune' of Sloop John B....
you're sure are you? you're really, really sure?
shouldn't you really say you wish they did so you could justify being outraged and it would then be ok to tarnish a whole bunch of people to fit your narrow perceptions, right? isn't that closer to the truth?
ArdeeBhoy
10/02/2011, 1:22 AM
Except I am sure. As I do know or have associated with your fans. And do still. So guess it's my experience of 'the truth'.
Some of them didn't or don't know my roots, but did suggest a certain historical event was now over in the words of their song. Albeit rather crudely.
However, by implication in my earlier statement, guessing it's only 'some' who would do this, but not a 'whole bunch', if that helps?
Similarly amongst their merchandise are various other tasteful items proclaiming, eg 'I hate beggars', but again it's not all but some who bother to buy these. Presumably those who do though, are beyond reproach in your eyes??
You should consider the cause and results of 'divide-and-rule', rather than, er, shooting the messenger.
No ideas on the percentages, but do know there's at least a minority who want to get drunk, sing their more reflective songs and be done with it. But then again, there's those who can't let go....
As yer man says it's some form of Insecurity.
10/02/2011, 1:33 AM
Well hopefully we can all agree that it's a form of insecurity and not feel the need to prolong the discussion.
-lamb-
10/02/2011, 1:42 AM
Except I am sure. As I do know or have associated with your fans. And do still. So guess it's my experience of 'the truth'.
Some of them didn't or don't know my roots, but did suggest a certain historical event was now over in the words of their song. Albeit rather crudely.
However, by implication in my earlier statement, guessing it's only 'some' who would do this, but not a 'whole bunch', if that helps?
Similarly amongst their merchandise are various other tasteful items proclaiming, eg 'I hate beggars', but again it's not all but some who bother to buy these. Presumably those who do though, are beyond reproach in your eyes??
You should consider the cause and results of 'divide-and-rule', rather than, er, shooting the messenger.
No ideas on the percentages, but do know there's at least a minority who want to get drunk, sing their more reflective songs and be done with it. But then again, there's those who can't let go....
As yer man says it's some form of Insecurity.
here's a bag of chips. go see if there's any room left on your shoulder to balance even more of them on it.
seems like the person who can't let go is you.
ArdeeBhoy
10/02/2011, 1:57 AM
Being an Irishman, the only place I would place a spud product is in the belly....even you should know that??
10/02/2011, 7:00 AM
3-0 Scotland FT.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/tile/2011/0210/1224289433371_1.jpg
gastric
10/02/2011, 8:21 AM
Anyone heard from Ealing Green of late!
Have no problem with fans of any country having their flags and banners etc and we as a country prob need to get over our sensitivity to the union jack and so on. Although flags carrying the names of certain loyalist/unionist organisations has no place in football. However I do think the same fans should have some sense of respect for the visiting country. By and large I would like to think we do and aim to have the craic with the home fans. Like we wouldnt go to Austria singing about the holocaust for example or to germany and sing about the berlin wall or the WWs etc. Now I know our history is so closely linked with NI in comparison to the examples I used there but nonetheless I think they could have some respect and tone down the political orientated songs for such a visit.
Oh and of course the Welsh fans, singing Thierry Henry on Tuesday night. Didnt like that either, still too soon, Im a sensitive soul. But seriously that sort of chant is banter and thats fair enough, its the politically motivated stuff that shouldnt be in our game.
10/02/2011, 10:19 AM
Rule Britannia is not sectarian or offensive. I'm sure it wound up the Scottish fans and will wind up our fans in May
10/02/2011, 10:20 AM
Sorry for raising this question, dont want this thread to descent political: but I believe when Ireland played England in Nov 1990 in LR, GSTQ wasnt played?? Is this true and what were the reasons? Was ANaF played?
Were the anthems played that infamous night in 1995?
ArdeeBhoy
10/02/2011, 10:37 AM
Rule Britannia is not sectarian or offensive. I'm sure it wound up the Scottish fans and will wind up our fans in May
Ha ha. Nice try....GS.
And as I recall GSTQ was not played in '95 or even @ the rugby until Croke??
10/02/2011, 10:40 AM
Its always been played at the rugby. it just wasn't played in croke park.
10/02/2011, 10:42 AM
re-1995, both anthems were played as far as I can recall. There was some booing of GSTQ from the South Terrace, but it was far from widespread. I was on the North Terrace and there was no booing. Some English interviewed on TV tried to justify the riot by using that, but the reality was that even during GSTQ their own fans, almost to a man in the West Upper, stood up and gave Nazi salutes. Quite an astonishing sight to anyone who was there.
In 1990 I think only our anthem was played. Totally poisonous atmosphere that day.
I don't have any big deal with what NI fans sang. The atmosphere came across as really good. Footy songs are often foul or distasteful, or antagonistic. There's a line between what is and isn't acceptable, but Thierry Henry would get me mad before anything political! When England sing "No Surrender" I find it sad, rather than offensive.
re-Ardee Bhoy's earlier post about the excesses of the British Empire and the affect on his / our ancestors, what about the excesses of the outgoing government and some sections of our own people? A generation of negative equity, emigration and all kinds of economic woe awaits. We can't blame this one on the Brits. I, for one, am hoping that this whole sad affair leads to us having a more mature relationship with Britain. By all means hate them in sport though!
ArdeeBhoy
10/02/2011, 10:59 AM
Fair points I suppose, much of how one feels comes down to personal experience.
10/02/2011, 12:20 PM
Let's get back to the football, eh?
Remaining fixtures:
Tuesday May 24th
Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland
Wednesday May25th
Wales v Scotland
Friday May 27th
Wales v Northern Ireland
Sunday May 29th
Republic of Ireland v Scotland
Based on the first round of games and results, it's reasonable to conclude that it's between us and Scotland for the title. The game against NI would be a good opportunity to give players on the fringes a run out as we don't need to win it, and based on NI's performance last night, we shouldn't need to field a strong side to get a positive result.
10/02/2011, 12:24 PM
I'd say we'll draw with NI, Scotland will beat Wales and then Scotland will get the draw they need against us to win the tournament.
Fixer82
10/02/2011, 12:28 PM
Have no problem with fans of any country having their flags and banners etc and we as a country prob need to get over our sensitivity to the union jack and so on. Although flags carrying the names of certain loyalist/unionist organisations has no place in football. However I do think the same fans should have some sense of respect for the visiting country. By and large I would like to think we do and aim to have the craic with the home fans. Like we wouldnt go to Austria singing about the holocaust for example or to germany and sing about the berlin wall or the WWs etc. Now I know our history is so closely linked with NI in comparison to the examples I used there but nonetheless I think they could have some respect and tone down the political orientated songs for such a visit.
Oh and of course the Welsh fans, singing Thierry Henry on Tuesday night. Didnt like that either, still too soon, Im a sensitive soul. But seriously that sort of chant is banter and thats fair enough, its the politically motivated stuff that shouldnt be in our game.
Well said
Fixer82
10/02/2011, 12:32 PM
Its always been played at the rugby. it just wasn't played in croke park.
It was most certainly played in Croke Park. One man pulled his father's all-ireland medals out of the Museum in protest. And I'm fairly sure it was played in LR in 1995. Not sure about 1990. I imagine it was.
It's always been played at the rugby. In fact it is in the IRFU manifesto that GSTQ should be played when Ireland rugby team play in Ravenhill but the Ulster Rugby Association, in their wisdom, choose not to. I imagine it's 'Ireland's AWFUL Call'