View Full Version : Celtic Cup thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25

14/02/2011, 5:32 PM
The middle one of two?

Sorry second one.

haha, ya sorry, but in the video did they not sing we are the billy boys you'll know us by our noise etc?

Fixer82
14/02/2011, 5:34 PM
Just watched that video. Thought yous were talking about the videos posted earlier outside stadium.
Absolutely disgusted. Would've been very very angry and highly offended if I was around those people singing about Bobby Sands like that.
So disrespectful.
Don't think ROI fans have ever gone up to Windsor like that and sang any 'Ra songs

Not Brazil
14/02/2011, 5:38 PM
Would've been very very angry and highly offended if I was around those people singing about Bobby Sands like that.
So disrespectful.

You'll have to accept that some people think Bobby Sands was an odious individual, and would have zero "respect" for him or his mates in the organisation of which he was a member.

SwanVsDalton
14/02/2011, 5:41 PM
The songs have no place in life, never mind a football, but I don't find them offensive in the least. I've heard just as bad, or worse, in probably every football ground I've ever been in.

Occasionally a minority - could be a dozen, could be 50, but it hardly matters - sing songs that tar a whole group. It's not to nice to hear and it shouldn't exist, but that's the nature of the NI beast on both sides. I have a lot of sympathy for ordinary NI fans in trying to deal with it.

Edit - the Bobby Sands stuff is a bit more close to the bone, didn't catch that first time round. Still I thoroughly believe it's a minority though.

14/02/2011, 5:44 PM
Fixer82 to be fair they don't sing the songs wherever they are, at least not where I've been.

Ya, I mean horses for courses and I think it was the most moderate of all the songs probably. Its the last one that is obviously the really disgraceful and just disgusting one. "we are up to our necks in fenian blood".

And those guys seem to be in general good spirits and jovial sorts, as opposed to ones who would want to be stirring up stuff. Thats the saddest part, its the surprising part too.

Fixer82
14/02/2011, 5:50 PM
You'll have to accept that some people think Bobby Sands was an odious individual, and would have zero "respect" for him or his mates in the organisation of which he was a member.

I'm no fan of the Queen or the British Armed Forces or Thatcher or anyone else that could have been seen as an enemy/foreign-occupier to Ireland in the 80s or any other time.
But I'd never sing songs like that in England or the 6 counties (or anywhere for that matter). It's all about respect. I've not much time for the aforementioned people but would always respect the people around me who live there. And I respect myself as well, which is why I wouldn't resort to this gutter behaviour.

And the fact of the matter is, you wouldn't get a group of ROI supporters doing it either. Maybe a lot of countries have their 'ultras' but I find it quite sad that this particular group of NI fans get a buzz out of that.

SwanVsDalton
14/02/2011, 5:57 PM
And the fact of the matter is, you wouldn't get a group of ROI supporters doing it either. Maybe a lot of countries have their 'ultras' but I find it quite sad that the NI fans get a buzz out of that.

But 'we' did boo a player who was erroneously called out as 'Peter Lovenkrands' in 2002 as I recall.

Fixer82
14/02/2011, 5:58 PM
F
And those guys seem to be in general good spirits and jovial sorts, as opposed to ones who would want to be stirring up stuff. Thats the saddest part, its the surprising part too.

Yeah that's the other thing that annoyed. It seemed par for the course. They were all in good spirits. Didn't seem malicious by their body language.
So I wonder, is this largely accepted. Obviously reading certain comments I can see it's not.
But they seem to be delighted to be in Dublin having the craic talking about killing Bobby Sands and up to their necks in dead fenians
And they wonder why some players opt for the Republic

Not Brazil
14/02/2011, 6:00 PM
But I'd never sing songs like that in England or the 6 counties (or anywhere for that matter). It's all about respect. I've not much time for the aforementioned people but would always respect the people around me who live there. And I respect myself as well, which is why I wouldn't resort to this gutter behaviour.

And the fact of the matter is, you wouldn't get a group of ROI supporters doing it either

I admire your stance, but pity your denial.

The vast majority of people in this clip don't seem to have much "respect".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g5EIWA2VZZs

14/02/2011, 6:00 PM
Thats the point I was getting at, but I didnt want to do it for the abuse that you will probably receive :D

Not Brazil
14/02/2011, 6:02 PM
talking about killing Bobby Sands

Nobody killed Mr Sands, but himself.

However, not the place for any of that.

14/02/2011, 6:02 PM

Don't worry they really mean English people. ;)

Not Brazil
14/02/2011, 6:05 PM
Don't worry they really mean English people. ;)

Hopefully not the numerous ones that have played for/play for you...or Jackie Charlton.:D

14/02/2011, 6:10 PM
No there are obviouslly exceptions to every rule.

But you will notice my original comment was tongue in cheek.

14/02/2011, 6:11 PM
i caught Ealing Green on camera. Sickening.

JJl80_DEWI0

Fixer82
14/02/2011, 6:30 PM
Nobody killed Mr Sands, but himself.

However, not the place for any of that.

Well then why say it?

Fixer82
14/02/2011, 6:32 PM

Fair enough. Not exactly glorious. Then again not exactly talking about murdering them and certainly not doing it in any part of Britain....

or the 6 counties for that matter ;)

Fixer82
14/02/2011, 6:42 PM
That's not Ealing Green that's you. I'd recognise that haircut and ear-ring a mile away!

"A ledder from me to the government'' ha ha ha

14/02/2011, 6:57 PM
Im pretty sure i recognise the fella from 23 seconds walking across the camera

Mr_Parker
14/02/2011, 7:06 PM
Your comment may have intended in jest, but I'll have you know I find it offensive to be associated even obliquely with scum like that (in fact, my great regret is that it wasn't possible for a bunch of Gardai to segregate them and batter the living s h i te out of them).

Anyhow, fyi I attended the game courtesy of an avid ROI fan and we socialised very happily before/during* the game with fans from NI/ROI/Scotland, fortunately well out of sight or earshot of the lowlife in the video.

* - We both had to shoot off straight after.

Myself and EG may have had our spats on here, but I will back him up on this, it is wrong to even jokingly associate him with such people. It does seem that names have been put to several of the individuals on that video and no doubt the IFA will take action in regards to them when it comes to future ticket distribution.

14/02/2011, 7:19 PM
Will they though?

14/02/2011, 7:20 PM
'stand up if you hate the brits' is the worst thing folk can dig up on youtube about our fans? As Andy Gray used to say 'Wow, just wow'.

14/02/2011, 7:32 PM
'stand up if you hate the brits' is the worst thing folk can dig up on youtube about our fans? As Andy Gray used to say 'Wow, just wow'.

In fairness, it was a response to an argument that Irish fans would never be so disrespectful.

And if the argument is that 'our idiots aren't as idiotic as your idiots', nobody's a winner.

ArdeeBhoy
14/02/2011, 7:32 PM
Except our fans aren't generally that disrespectful.
Nor they go through the farce of a campaign claiming 'Football For All', when the truth is somewhat different.

Short of forcing booze into them for days on end, it would be hard to match that level of stupidity, hopefully.

There are two "party tunes" in the clip.

I hope that's educational.
Too much information, NB.

Not your fault they're delusional, but would it ever be the day we could post even the lyrics of "The Fields of Athenry" on the Bigot Board??

And even if that happened, would doubtless be accompanied by the usual claims of 'mopery'.

If that's the best anyone could find in relation to the populace of a territory that's been illegally occupied for a nearly a millennium, may a higher power help them, FFS.

ArdeeBhoy
14/02/2011, 7:36 PM
That's not Ealing Green that's you. I'd recognise that haircut and ear-ring a mile away!

"A ledder from me to the government'' ha ha ha

Im pretty sure i recognise the fella from 23 seconds walking across the camera

Seems like EG has a few stalkers on here?? Who seem a little off the pace with their information....

It does seem that names have been put to several of the individuals on that video and no doubt the IFA will take action in regards to them when it comes to future ticket distribution.
Maybe, but short of racial profiling of their, er, names and identities, what's to stop them buying tickets for the home end for the next game.

I say let them come, but if they misbehave.....

boovidge
14/02/2011, 7:40 PM
The ROI fans singing in the video are embarassing but they're not singing about murdering anyone because of their religion.

14/02/2011, 7:54 PM
In fairness, it was a response to an argument that Irish fans would never be so disrespectful.

And if the argument is that 'our idiots aren't as idiotic as your idiots', nobody's a winner.

I dont know Osa... i see a huge difference between the two incidents in all honesty. Is "stand up if you hate the Brits" sectarian and glorifying murder? Im not so sure it is.

14/02/2011, 8:01 PM
As I said, it was posted a a response to a post saying that Irish fans would never lack respect. The post just points out an occasion where Irish fans were guilty of this.

To argue that "X isn't as bad as Y" is to miss the point, in my opinion.

14/02/2011, 8:10 PM
i dont think it is. There are varying degrees of respect/disrespect and i think that to ignore the varying nature of something is failing to look at the whole picture. Otherwise we could end up having a standardised legal penalty whereby a person who steals a shirt from a store could receive the same prison sentence as someone who commits murder. Perhaps an extreme example but you can see my point.

14/02/2011, 8:15 PM
stand up if you hate Forest/Derby/County/Chelsea/ x y z etc etc is heard up and down the country in every football ground in England about 15 times a game. It's not even in the same ball park as that Aviva stadium rubbish. Type in 'Northern Ireland fans singing' over on YouTube and it gets a bit more interesting.

I can safely say that in all the home and away games I've been to our fans have been impeccable behaviour wise. I'm proud we don't really feature on the YouTube hall of shame.

14/02/2011, 8:21 PM
There are varying degrees of respect/disrespect and i think that to ignore the varying nature of something is failing to look at the whole picture.

But who is ignoring this varying nature?

In response to a post arguing the Irish fans never fail to show respect, he's pointing out an example of where this has happened. Nowhere has he said the two incidents are equal, or compared them in any way. It is the posters who are arguing that X isn't as bad as Y who are implying that he did make such a comparison suggesting the two were equal.

14/02/2011, 8:42 PM
In other news ....

Hat-trick for Daniel Kearns tonight.

Call him up Trapattoni. ;)

Not Brazil
15/02/2011, 8:49 AM
Hat-trick for Daniel Kearns tonight.

I was at the game - Kearns was exceptional. Looks like a player who will play at a higher level when he matures.

Dundalk fans were great too - cept the small minority in their number who spouted sectarian bile relating the the IRA.

co. down green
15/02/2011, 9:08 AM
It does seem that names have been put to several of the individuals on that video and no doubt the IFA will take action in regards to them when it comes to future ticket distribution.

From reading the ni fans forum it would seem that many of those involved in the sectarian singing in the video are members of ni supporters clubs and not day-trippers or sectarian event junkies. Also interesting to read the comments of fans on the events around Bath avenue, with fire extinguishers being fired through pub windows and the place totally trashed.

15/02/2011, 9:38 AM
Can't we all just get along?

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/46/139315577_9da8ef2810.jpg

15/02/2011, 10:40 AM
I was at the game - Kearns was exceptional. Looks like a player who will play at a higher level when he matures.

A chap of his age that is a first team player for one of the stonger LOI sides will attract cross channel interest. It sounds like Dundalk will do well to hold onto him.

ArdeeBhoy
15/02/2011, 11:09 AM
But who is ignoring this varying nature?

In response to a post arguing the Irish fans never fail to show respect, he's pointing out an example of where this has happened.

The people who're ignoring it are those making an issue of a totally invalid comparison....

I was at the game

Dundalk fans were great too - cept the small minority in their number who spouted sectarian bile relating the the IRA.
....where NB has a point. And not aimed at him or anyone? on here, but there is and always will be a certain level of hypocrisy making such claims. Supported by CDG's contributions to the debate.

Not Brazil
15/02/2011, 11:19 AM
....where NB has a point. And not aimed at him or anyone? on here, but there is and always will be a certain level of hypocrisy making such claims. Supported by CDG's contributions to the debate.

No hypocrisy on my part AB.

I don't engage in sectarian chanting, and deplore those who do. Whatever side of the fence they hail from.

ArdeeBhoy
15/02/2011, 11:46 AM
I know. That's why I used the word 'not' in the post above.

Impressed by your knowledge of the lyrics though a couple of pages back though....

Not Brazil
15/02/2011, 11:48 AM
Impressed by your knowledge of the lyrics though a couple of pages back though....

Google is a wonderful thing.;)

ArdeeBhoy
15/02/2011, 2:31 PM
Take your word on that one, as don't think it's your scene....

SolitudeRed
15/02/2011, 5:21 PM
The vid of the NI fans singing their party tunes after the match was top story on the UTV evening news bulletin at 6 there.

Heres a link from the website...

http://www.u.tv/News/Anger-at-sectarian-songs-after-NI-game/c62e592b-b5ae-4087-bc2e-26eafb3c7ace

PS just noticed that the fans were singing 'hes deed' which is scottish parlance for 'hes dead' I presume! quite ironic given that Scotland were the opposing team!

15/02/2011, 5:31 PM
I wonder who emailed UTV :D

SolitudeRed
15/02/2011, 5:47 PM
A lot of Linfield fans (I presume) are leaving comments under the article about how bad Dundalk fans were last night one claiming they were burning a Union Jack? Any truth in that one?

bullit
15/02/2011, 7:47 PM
No union jack flags burned,plenty of flares lit though.

eelmonster
15/02/2011, 10:12 PM
A lot of Linfield fans (I presume) are leaving comments under the article about how bad Dundalk fans were last night one claiming they were burning a Union Jack? Any truth in that one?

No truth to that whatsoever.

ArdeeBhoy
15/02/2011, 10:19 PM
The vid of the NI fans singing their party tunes after the match was top story on the UTV evening news bulletin at 6 there.
PS just noticed that the fans were singing 'hes deed' which is scottish parlance for 'hes dead' I presume! quite ironic given that Scotland were the opposing team!

Well to be fair to their numpties, many of them are direct descendants of lowland Scots. :eek:
Doubtless our Larne correspondent will remind us they're only 13 miles away??

And correct with that presumption, though never heard such a pronunciation, except maybe from the 'Bible Belt' in N.Antrim around Ballymena....

Flawless
16/02/2011, 12:00 AM

The majority of us were embarrassed by the sectarian chanting and the flare issues too, as they show disregard to both the other Dundalk fans and to the club itself who in normal circumstances would stand to be fined. (not sure if thats the case in the Setanta as ive heard contrary rumours)
All told though it was a memorable night, kudos to the PSNI too who did their job admirably. Really looking forward to the return in Oriel.

Edit*

No truth whatsoever in this, Stewards of both clubs were in the Dundalk section, and Tricolours were even taken off Dundalk fans by our own stewards.

16/02/2011, 10:33 AM

Any chance of a link?

ArdeeBhoy
16/02/2011, 11:26 AM
Not the one he refers to above?
My Belfast contact told me there were some choice comments....though these could have been disabled/deleted?