View Full Version : Celtic Cup thread
ArdeeBhoy
24/02/2011, 12:12 AM
"Protestant Crusaders and Catholic Newington" for starters. Once I read that I knew much of the rest would be rubbish.
Fair enough. But can you elaborate?? Most of what I read rang, er, true.
Did you comment on the article about these misconceptions??
It was refreshing to read some other views, especially those of the North's fans(over and above the tired cliches on here), which at least represent a slightly more measured take (Not that I'd agree with them) on the situation.
24/02/2011, 9:13 AM
Do you know many northerners?
A lot actually due to some of the organisations and positions held over here in London I got to know a lot. Again its just my experience, and I'm not having a go, just what ive observed.
Mr_Parker
24/02/2011, 5:48 PM
Fair enough. But can you elaborate?? Most of what I read rang, er, true.
Did you comment on the article about these misconceptions??
It was refreshing to read some other views, especially those of the North's fans(over and above the tired cliches on here), which at least represent a slightly more measured take (Not that I'd agree with them) on the situation.
No I didn't comment. To elaborate, Crusaders is not and was not a Protestant club nor is or was Newington a Catholic club and so on. It is a shocking and stereotypical statement.
Nearly every paragraph contains factual inaccuraces and/or stretches the truth. Basically it is a load of balls imo.
ArdeeBhoy
25/02/2011, 8:38 AM
Hmm,
not too many of the locals posting on there are agreeing though.
Which seems strange.
But if you're in N.Beal-feirste, fair enough.
Mr_Parker
25/02/2011, 10:41 AM
Hmm,
not too many of the locals posting on there are agreeing though.
Which seems strange.
But if you're in N.Beal-feirste, fair enough.
Para1.
the Under-13s of Crusaders, once a Protestant, loyalist stronghold, are sharing their pitch with the Under-16s of Newington, a Catholic club.
********. I wonder what Martin Murray makes of that.
Para 2.
Crusaders – lying second in the Irish Premiership, behind Protestant Linfield –
********. Linfield have and have had numerous Catholics playing for them for years now.
Para 2
there were more police officers on duty – 1,900 – than had ever been recorded at a UK football match.
1,000 not 1,900
Para 3
"This club was a very unwelcoming place during the Troubles," Mark Langhammer, a Crusaders board member, says. "If a Roman Catholic had walked into our bar just 10 years ago he would have been shot dead.
Not only ******** but an unbelievable comment.
Need I go on?
ArdeeBhoy
25/02/2011, 11:46 AM
Agreed. You should point that out to The Guardian then, definitely.
I would link to this thread on their comments section but your comments would be rather obscured in with all the rest, to the untrained eye!
25/02/2011, 3:09 PM
Why would Langhammer make such an unbelievable comment?
If you leave out the "shot dead" reference, does it hold any water at all?
25/02/2011, 3:17 PM
I bet the FAI are watching Rangers' Europa League progress with a large degree of trepidation.
SolitudeRed
26/02/2011, 11:46 PM
Reading some of the comments underneath, ive always been struck over here by a lot of NI nationalists who support Celtic as though its their country. They dont have that same affiliation to ROI as those within ROI, and they don't want to have anything to do with NI - probably as it stands - but I'm not sure if they would ever want anything to do with NI. They are in limbo so to speak, ROI is not "theirs". They like them to do well but thats about it. Strange but perhaps these people would eventualy support a NI team if it completely shed its clothes, and started again from scratch.
I have to say that from my experience a few Southerners seem to see Man Utd as their national team in my experience having lived in Galway in a house full of students they always seemed to show more interest in the Premiership team it goes without saying that people look for success and this could explain why some seem to take more interest in the likes of Man Utd and Celtic.
Why would Langhammer make such an unbelievable comment?
If you leave out the "shot dead" reference, does it hold any water at all?
Think Langhammer is involved in politics or something which could explain his hyperbole. To be fair ten years ago Loyalist paramilitaries were still active and there were a few murders that year. Does sound a bit of an OTT comment though.
27/02/2011, 12:13 AM
I read it as a bit of Irish gallows humour that the interviewer didn't quite take in its joking context and reported as a serious remark.
27/02/2011, 4:46 AM
what does gallows mean?
The Fly
27/02/2011, 9:06 PM
what does gallows mean?
Give him enough rope.......
27/02/2011, 9:56 PM
Very good fly.
I honestly doubt Rangers will get to a final. Liverpool would be a great draw for dublin in terms of numbers coming over and for the economy as a whole.
Gather round
28/02/2011, 8:32 PM
Good points by Mr Parker above.
Agreed. You should point that out to The Guardian then, definitely.
I would link to this thread on their comments section but your comments would be rather obscured in with all the rest, to the untrained eye!
I wrote to David Conn directly, basically pointing out that positive coverage of local football was welcome although the cliches and errors weren't. He hasn't replied.
Why would Langhammer make such an unbelievable comment? If you leave out the "shot dead" reference, does it hold any water at all?
Fcuk knows. It's very surprising that an experienced local councillor would make such a bizarre comment. It doesn't hold water, I know/ knew Roman Catholics who regularly watch(ed) games at Seaview. And although not a rosary wearer myself, I have openly read the Guardian in the clubhouse. Nobody took the least bit of notice, of course.
Think Langhammer is involved in politics or something which could explain his hyperbole. To be fair ten years ago Loyalist paramilitaries were still active and there were a few murders that year. Does sound a bit of an OTT comment though
He was a Labour councillor (obviously a rarity in NI) in Newtownabbey for many years. I believe his house was attacked by unionist paramilitaries a couple of times.
As the name suggests, many of his family are from Austria and Germany: I think three of his grandparents were refugees during the Holocaust. His mum was a music teacher at my school.
ArdeeBhoy
01/03/2011, 10:42 AM
I wrote to David Conn directly, basically pointing out that positive coverage of local football was welcome although the cliches and errors weren't. He hasn't replied.
Perhaps DC took note of foot.ie being referred to, in the replies thread to his article, and noted certain fallacies of a more, er, rotund nature and thought it wasn't worth the bother!
01/03/2011, 11:49 AM
Very strange comment there on Crusaders. I happen to know the only Crusaders fan who went to Tbilisi for their European tie in the mid 90's and not that his religion matters in a football sense he is RC.
01/03/2011, 1:56 PM
He is arsey as they say over here.
SolitudeRed
02/03/2011, 12:24 AM
Very strange comment there on Crusaders. I happen to know the only Crusaders fan who went to Tbilisi for their European tie in the mid 90's and not that his religion matters in a football sense he is RC.
Indeed I know a Cliftonville fan (I presume hes a Protestant, not sure though never asked him) lives just up the road from Crusaders ground and he often drinks in their social club, just goes to show not all IL fans are a walking stereotype.
02/03/2011, 10:54 AM
Very good fly.
I honestly doubt Rangers will get to a final. Liverpool would be a great draw for dublin in terms of numbers coming over and for the economy as a whole.
rumour is that man city fans have booked thousands of hotel rooms in Dublin already
ped_ped
30/03/2011, 6:30 PM
Apologies if this has already been mentioned (just searched for this thread to ask . . .): RTÉ's recent football add has 'Carling Nations Cup' down under its coverage. Is that highlights, or will some of the games actually be covered by RTÉ?
30/03/2011, 6:57 PM
I'm fairly sure all friendlies are Sky's and RTE show highlights later that night, plus they have live coverage on the radio. I'd assume that's what they're referring to.
cufc champions
31/03/2011, 11:10 AM
Does anyone know when the Northern Ireland game tickets will go on general sale? Currently on ticketmaster there is only the Premium Package available.
TiocfaidhArmani
31/03/2011, 1:44 PM
Anyone know where I can buy tickets for the Norn Iron game online? Ticketmaster are only selling premium seats for €50 and I'm not paying that much.
*EDIT* Just seen the post above, sorry.
IsMiseSean
06/04/2011, 3:39 PM
Anyone know where I can buy tickets for the Norn Iron game online? Ticketmaster are only selling premium seats for €50 and I'm not paying that much.
*EDIT* Just seen the post above, sorry.
I've just been on there and they've stopped selling the premium tickets.
06/04/2011, 4:06 PM
The only explanation for that is that they're all sold out.
IsMiseSean
06/04/2011, 4:21 PM
Didn't think there would be a big demand....
cufc champions
07/04/2011, 2:09 PM
they have the links up for Scotland game (currently not on sale) as well wales v scotland & the North v Scotland but no link up for Ireland v the North, very strange
Wea ll saw the crowds that turned up lads. Seating won't be an issue
ArdeeBhoy
21/04/2011, 2:28 AM
Noted from the TM site it was possible for anyone to buy tickets for either end, which could be a potential problem.
There didn't seem to be any vetting procedure in place....
21/04/2011, 2:33 AM
Still no link for Ireland-NI as far as I can see.
DannyInvincible
21/04/2011, 4:25 AM
Noted from the TM site it was possible for anyone to buy tickets for either end, which could be a potential problem.
There didn't seem to be any vetting procedure in place....
Apparently, tickets bought there won't be sent to northern addresses under the instruction of the Gardaí and FAI stadium security. A copy of the following exchange was posted on OWC after it was originally posted on the Shine forum here (http://www.shine.net/forum/view_thread.php?curpage=1&id=165379) by a northern Ireland fan who'd attempted to purchase tickets from Ticketmaster:
Dear Customer,
Please note, as per the terms and conditions of sale for this event your order ****** has been cancelled and refunded. Please see the terms and conditions:
At the request of F.A.I, Stadium Security and An Garda Síochána, fans of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland must purchase tickets from specific allocations. The Rep of Ireland V Northern Ireland - Rep of Ireland Allocation event is open ONLY to residents in the Republic of Ireland and International customers EXCLUDING Northern Ireland customers with a postal address in Northern Ireland. If you reside in Northern Ireland, you will need to purchase the Rep of Ireland V Northern Ireland - Northern Ireland Allocation event.
Ticket purchases that do not adhere to this rule be cancelled and the credit card used to make the booking refunded. Please note refunds may not appear on the credit card until 5 days prior to the game.
To purchase tickets for the Northern Ireland allocation please click here: Link
Kind Regards
Ticketmaster Customer Service
As I'm sure you know, nationalists in the north support the Republic - seating them with Northern Ireland fans at the stadium would be a recipie for disaster!
Please respond asap.
Kind Regards
Whilst security is an obvious concern, indeed, how are northern fans supposed to get tickets for our section?
Newryrep
21/04/2011, 8:01 AM
Apparently, tickets bought there won't be sent to northern addresses under the instruction of the Gardaí and FAI stadium security. A copy of the following exchange was posted on OWC after it was originally posted on the Shine forum by a northern Ireland fan who'd attempted to purchase tickets from Ticketmaster:
Whilst security is an obvious concern, indeed, how are northern fans supposed to get tickets for our section?
some will already have season tickets, some will have friends/colleagues who can buy the tickets for them, some will have relatives whos postal addresses they can use. some will pick up the spares floating around the various message boards - excluding the above I would doubt that there will be many who willl go without.
DannyInvincible
21/04/2011, 10:16 AM
I was about to ask how the FAI would answer that question believing it would have been a poor show that northern fans without season tickets would have been expected to go through unofficial channels simply because of where their address happened to be situated when fans south of the border and internationally are catered for just fine, but luckily I had a look on the Ticketmaster site myself before posting. I see that Ticketmaster have (possibly since that lad's complaint) included the following on the ticketing page:
The Rep of Ireland V Northern Ireland event is open ONLY to residents in the Republic of Ireland and International customers (excluding Northern Ireland). For Republic Of Ireland fans living in Northern Ireland wishing to purchase tickets to this event, please email your ticket request to CNC@fai.ie.
Northern Ireland fans wishing to purchase tickets should direct all requests to the IFA. Ticket purchases that do not adhere to this rule wil be cancelled and the credit card used to make the booking refunded. Please note refunds may not appear on the credit card until 5 days prior to the game. For more information and full terms and conditions click here.
21/04/2011, 10:42 AM
So if you are a Northern Ireland fan who wants to cause trouble(not that they will but i gather this is one of the reasons, along with sectioning fans perhaps) just email the fai saying you are a ROI fan....
boovidge
21/04/2011, 10:57 AM
Also doesn't prevent any nutters from the west of Scotland or elsewhere getting tickets so it seems a pretty superficial extra level of security.
DannyInvincible
21/04/2011, 11:02 AM
So if you are a Northern Ireland fan who wants to cause trouble(not that they will but i gather this is one of the reasons, along with sectioning fans perhaps) just email the fai saying you are a ROI fan....
Obviously, as with all standard FAI policy, they look at surnames first and then check if the applicant's name features in the archived records of his or her parish's local GAA club (back to under-12 level if needs be). If that doesn't confirm the validity of the request to the FAI's satisfaction, individuals may be asked to phone the FAI directly in order to recite a decade of the Rosary. Where difficulty arises in extremely ambiguous cases and doubt remains, the FAI will demand a photo be sent to them so their experts can measure the distance between the eyes of the applicant and make a satisfactory assessment.
21/04/2011, 11:09 AM
That sounds like some sort of Nazi-esque application process....
21/04/2011, 1:13 PM
Can you imagine any of the OWC's admitting to being a southern fan in order to get tickets?
As has been said by newryrep, no one will have any problem getting tickets.
The FAI shop had them on sale yesterday as well. Roll on payday.
21/04/2011, 1:29 PM
It's all a bit unnecessary really. Troublemakers get their power from travelling with a mob, meaning they'll be down the IFA end. I'd be more worried about local kids who have no interest in the game showing up to harass the away supporters.
co. down green
21/04/2011, 5:43 PM
The FAI are setting up a dedicated email address for Irish fans from the north looking to buy tickets.
''We understand that there is an issue with this for our fans living north of the border who do not have an existing block booking ticket relationship with us, we currently have a large database of fans living north of the border who regularly purchase tickets through us''.
''Broadly speaking, all NI fans will be asked to go exclusively through the IFA for tickets. Republic of Ireland fans living in the north will be able to contact us at a dedicated email address''.
21/04/2011, 11:50 PM
FAI now poaching fans.
seanfhear
22/04/2011, 8:20 AM
FAI now poaching fans.
For an outfit that gets plenty of bad press they really are the worlds best at the kidnapping game !
28/04/2011, 9:35 AM
squad to be announced on Wednesday, in Athlone, and set to include Shay Given: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/given-will-be-back-for-key-macedonia-clash-kelly-2631906.html
The Donegal native will be named in the Ireland squad for the end-of-season games when Trapattoni attends a press conference in Athlone on Wednesday.
Sullivinho
28/04/2011, 11:49 AM
For an outfit that gets plenty of bad press they really are the worlds best at the kidnapping game !
http://img27.imageshack.us/img27/8415/langer.jpg
Not Brazil
04/05/2011, 11:41 AM
IFA are to announce travel/ticketing arrangements for Northern Ireland fans intending to attend the ROI game later today - I understand these arrangements are likely to put a number of fans off attending.
Sadly, I am also informed that the, eagerly awaited pre match fans match between Northern Ireland and the Republic has been cancelled due to "security concerns".
What a shame - I was intending to travel down to watch the fans game, and then watch the match on TV in Dublin.:frown:
04/05/2011, 12:02 PM
you know things are too far out of hand when a bunch of lads can't have a kickabout because of "security concerns"
04/05/2011, 12:57 PM
I think the NI fans were afraid some of their number would be poached or kidnapped by fans of the ROI.
Agree with Tets though - it's sad that a fans' match should have to be cancelled.
Not Brazil
04/05/2011, 1:02 PM
Agree with Tets though - it's sad that a fans' match should have to be cancelled.
Very sad indeed. I'm sure the Republic lads were looking forward to the game as much as ours - and a few bevvies afterwards!
The fans game prior to our game against Scotland was fantastic - attended by Pat Jennings and Alan Rough, who were magnificant, followed by a Carling sponsored do in a local hotel. Great day's craic.
TrapAPony
04/05/2011, 2:04 PM
33 man squad. Ward, Folan, Stokes, McShane in it. Andrews, O'Dea, Duff, St. Ledger & Doyle named too even though they are injured. No Hoolahan or no new recruits named. Same old, same old.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=101735:trapattoni-names-33-man-provisional&catid=1:senior-men&Itemid=8&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter