View Full Version : Israel (Away) Sat 26th Mar 05
Pages :
[
17]
israeli_guy
28/03/2005, 12:28 AM
like i said before ireland should be thankful to god for causing yossi benayuon (our israeli god.... :) :) )to have a very weak game
and because me and the other israeli guys keeps talking about yossi benayoun,and you dont have a clue about him
i decided to give u 2 links of his goals from this tournament
this one is from the match against Switzerland
http://koeman.footballclips.net/Beauties/Israelis/Yossi_Benayoun-Israel.vs.Switzerland.wmv
this one is against Cyprus
http://koeman.footballclips.net/Beauties/Israelis/Yossi_Benayoun-Israel.vs.Cyprus.wmv
enjoy guys...
Saint Tom
28/03/2005, 11:46 AM
A weekend in review:
Thursday, Plane was running out of beer when we landed. Got absolutely plastered in Mike's and Buzz stop. Met a nice Israeli girl :)
Friday: Party in the Park, only about a hundred of us there. We were like celebrities! Got plastered and met a nice Israeli girl :)
Saturday: Disappointed by the last minute goal. Met a nice Israeli girl :)
Cowboy
28/03/2005, 11:55 AM
Tom, did u meet any Israeli girls at all :)
Saint Tom
28/03/2005, 12:40 PM
no not many!
Those Israeli chicks were well up for it & very forward....
It might have ended a draw but I had a brill Saturday night :)
Best trip of this campaign so far.
IsMiseSean
28/03/2005, 6:57 PM
One thing did pi*s me off at the match :mad:
When the PA announcer was calling out the Ireland Team and everyone was cheering the names, when he called out Morrison this ignorant tosser beside me turns to me and says 'I wont cheer for that.......'. But 10 minutes later when Morrison scored he was jumping with joy! This behavour really annoys me
There is a picture of this guy posted on the site but I dont think I should say who he is!
Cowboy
28/03/2005, 11:28 PM
There is a picture of this guy posted on the site but I dont think I should say who he is!
go ahead and out him, theres no place for racism among us.
Saint Tom
28/03/2005, 11:45 PM
agreed.
under another topic i've mentioned something similar
Four days of solid drinking, shame about the match, people were fantastic, treated like kings!! One of the best trips ever!! Going to sign into John of Gods to dry out.
GK for the Town
29/03/2005, 10:20 AM
Has anybody got any pics from it yet ?? possibly put up a link for it.
donalfitz
29/03/2005, 1:55 PM
two old boys (irish) had to be pulled apart in Joeys bar this morning, you would think these guys who be old enuf to have more sense.
Met a guy from the embassy at the airport and he said there was not a single arrest which is as it should be.
I heard from an isreali that there were two irish fans hauled into a the police station for a half an hour- There were in iran in the the last world cup play off. No charge were pressed against them
Cowboy
29/03/2005, 2:08 PM
I heard from an isreali that there were two irish fans hauled into a the police station for a half an hour- There were in iran in the the last world cup play off. No charge were pressed against them
wonder was it the same guys? At least the media were kept out of it, the security in the bar kept it very low profile and the barman clearly felt that it was not representaive behaviour. I remember coming back from Finland (estonia game) and two guys (brothers) were fighting on the bus out from the terminal to the plane which meant we missed our connection in gatwick, jack asses cost me the price of a hotel room.
29/03/2005, 2:14 PM
Lads how did people get on with the Israeli Birds in Tel Aviv have heard some reports they were really direct and forward
Tell all
Cowboy
29/03/2005, 2:22 PM
Lads how did people get on with the Israeli Birds in Tel Aviv have heard some reports they were really direct and forward
Tell all
Yeah they were, I even got a snog :)
Tell all
Well forward. All spoke English & all.
The one I scored I was chattin to her for a few minutes, got her a drink, & then she goes "Do you want to kiss me?". We took it from there :) . Bit embarassin when my bro tried to get back into the hotel room tho & he gets the night securo to open the door & theres us starkers, I had to tell him to fcuk off somewhere for a few more hours :mad: . I think he just lay outside laffin his hed off for a while along with 2 other Irish lads who were in the corridor at the time the time.
Sure I was on holiers so it's grand......
IsMiseSean
29/03/2005, 10:45 PM
go ahead and out him, theres no place for racism among us.
Erez-Israel has a picture posted of him. Its the 6th picture down, he is the old guy dressed as St. Patrick. What a knob-head!
lopez
29/03/2005, 11:10 PM
Erez-Israel has a picture posted of him. Its the 6th picture down, he is the old guy dressed as St. Patrick. What a knob-head!One question JGK: Was he being racist? He's still an ar*ehole but IMO there's a BIG difference between hating the man because you think he's a sh*te footballer (e.g. Carnstein and Kilbane) and hating him because he's not one of the 'master' race.
Cowboy
29/03/2005, 11:53 PM
Erez-Israel has a picture posted of him. Its the 6th picture down, he is the old guy dressed as St. Patrick. What a knob-head!
still dont know who he is? how was he being racist? we have to be careful with this if the guy is not here to defend himself
Saint Tom
30/03/2005, 12:53 PM
in the room with one of the girls, then my mate burst through the door, absolutely ******ed with anoyther two!!! Funniest moment of the whole trip. israeli birds 10/10. the personalities, confidence, english and the most beautiful women i've ever seen!
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 1:23 PM
in the room with one of the girls, then my mate burst through the door, absolutely ******ed with anoyther two!!! Funniest moment of the whole trip. israeli birds 10/10. the personalities, confidence, english and the most beautiful women i've ever seen!
Some kind of saint, Tom :)
As an Israeli girl I can say that the Israeli girls thought Irish men aren't too bad either. ;) It's the accent!
I'm new around here, but as an Irish fan in Israel I wanted to say a few things too... regardless of the match itself, which was the ugliest I've ever seen, I'm happy about the result, if only because I didn't have to betray any of my teams.
After almost 4 years without home games, it was wonderful for us to have a sports event with such great atmosphere, which you guys helped to create. Made me feel like I was back in Dublin again for couple of days.
I've seen the Irish fans in Dublin for the Gaelic football finals, which was awesome, and also had the experience of taking a ferry from Dublin to Liverpool with Irish fans to see some Premiere League and Champions League games in England, and I knew it would be a great experience to finally get to watch a live match of the Irish football team and not just on TV. Also, luckily, my job enabled me to speak to the Irish players, which was kinda cool.
And you definitely made many of us think of coming to the away game as well, even though it might be just a little bit expansive for us. also depends on the score tonight between France and Israel, and if in the last game I had hard time deciding who I want to win, no problems this time around. :)
I'm *still* singing "The Fields of Athenry". They played this song one too many times at the buzz stop. Oh, and I'm never drinking again, at least until tonight's match.
30/03/2005, 1:38 PM
I'm *still* singing "The Fields of Athenry". They played this song one too many times at the buzz stop. Oh, and I'm never drinking again, at least until tonight's match.
They guy in the Buzz Stop knew his crowd and played all the songs.
He even had Joxer Goes to Stuttgart.
See the pictures on another thread.
There are some from the Buzz Stop.
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 1:40 PM
They guy in the Buzz Stop knew his crowd and played all the songs.
He even had Joxer Goes to Stuttgart.
See the pictures on another thread.
There are some from the Buzz Stop.
LOL I gave him the CD with Joxter Goes to Stuttgart. I was in Ireland right after the World Cup in 2002 and bought one of the compliations back then. Had it with me in Buzz stop so I gave it to the guy there. and he also played "Put 'em Under Pressure" for me because I LOVE that one.
Cowboy
30/03/2005, 1:53 PM
LOL I gave him the CD with Joxter Goes to Stuttgart. I was in Ireland right after the World Cup in 2002 and bought one of the compliations back then. Had it with me in Buzz stop so I gave it to the guy there. and he also played "Put 'em Under Pressure" for me because I LOVE that one.
No "House of pain" though, I had to go to Joey's for that :)
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 1:55 PM
No "House of pain" though, I had to go to Joey's for that :)
I had it on the CD, he just didn't play it... :( I never got around to Joey's. How was it there? I only stayed between Mike's Place and Buzz Stop, was too lazy to go exploring. :)
30/03/2005, 2:08 PM
One of the highlights of the weekend was in Buzz Stop where they showed Irelands games from World Cup 2002.
When it came to the closing minutes of the Germany game, we're 1-0 down, everyone went quiet. A few shouts went up, "get it up to Quinny", "there's time for a goal yet", "I can't see us getting anything out of this", "we can get something out of this."
Then the equalising goal came and the place went mental.
What a buzz! :D
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 2:15 PM
One of the highlights of the weekend was in Buzz Stop where they showed Irelands games from World Cup 2002.
When it came to the closing minutes of the Germany game, we're 1-0 down, everyone went quiet. A few shouts went up, "get it up to Quinny", "there's time for a goal yet", "I can't see us getting anything out of this", "we can get something out of this."
Then the equalising goal came and the place went mental.
What a buzz! :D
LOL I remember watching that game at work back in 2002, I work for the sports department of the Israeli television, and we got clear feeds of the games, no commentary and stuff, so we were tons of people watching the game, and everyone were laughing at me for cheering Ireland while I was about to get a heart attack... with the equalising goal I basically jumped so high I knocked down an entire shelf with tapes on the heads of some of the Germany fans in the room.
When was that over the weekend? I can't remember it, for some reason many parts of the weekend are kinda blurry... :)
30/03/2005, 2:18 PM
When was that over the weekend? I can't remember it
Friday night.
It was on the big screen and the small TV's so you couldn't have missed it if you were there.
...I work for the sports department of the Israeli television...with the equalising goal I basically jumped so high I knocked down an entire shelf with tapes on the heads of some of the Germany fans in the room.Not taking the p*ss, but Israeli Television to me would be one of the last places I'd have thought of finding Germany fans. :confused:
the_bonk
30/03/2005, 2:37 PM
Not taking the p*ss, but Israeli Television to me would be one of the last places I'd have thought of finding Germany fans. :confused:
Actually now Israeli's hate France MUCH more then Germany.
90% that when the French anthem will be played a lot of people will be loud and shouting against France and espcially Bartezz because of his comments .
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 2:40 PM
Friday night.
It was on the big screen and the small TV's so you couldn't have missed it if you were there.
Oh, I heard everyone screaming towards the direction of the TV screens but didn't actually watch.
Not taking the p*ss, but Israeli Television to me would be one of the last places I'd have thought of finding Germany fans.
Well, no one was actually a fan of any team there, so they had to choose, and they found that liking Ireland was too weird for them. And gotta go with the Bonk about hating France way more than hating Germany. :) In fact, I personally hate them so much I didn't even bother to request my editors a ticket for the game. Gonna watch it from home, I have no desire of talking to the French players, which I probably would have had to if I went to the game.
Actually now Israeli's hate France MUCH more then Germany.
90% that when the French anthem will be played a lot of people will be loud and shouting against France and espcially Bartezz because of his comments .What did the bone-head say?
Must say France has become one intolerent country. I was watching this programme last night on the BBC about the business regarding wearing headscarves by Muslim girls in school (this also includes Kippahs and gangstah-rap size crucifixes but not turbans). You may as well hand out application forms for Al Qaeda. The headmaster was hassling girls coming into his school because their bandanas (which they chose to wear as a form of compromise) saying it's the law. This is the country that gave us the French revolution, that strikes at the drop of a fart, has to have the CRS out nearly every day for 'demonstrations', and gave the world Jose Bose (??) who (rightly IMO) drove a bumper truck into his local McMurders. If this was Germany, I could understand this 'I am only following orders' b*llocks.
That principal should be ashamed of himself, the gutless sh*t. What made it worse was that he was one of the more liberal ones that allowed the bandana, FFS. I would have stood there and commented that it is a bit warm today and yes you should cover your skin from the sun and done Jack sh*te. :mad: Anyway: Rant over.
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 2:54 PM
What did the bone-head say?
Basically, he didn't want to come to Israel because of "the crimes of the Israeli goverment", while I disagree with his opinions but do believe that everyone are entitled of having their opinion, this is something you just don't say in this situation, it's just sports. and being actually willing to skip a match which is so important for your team just because you don't like Israel? that should tell something.
Anyway, they've gotten a very cold reception.
Barthez wrote a letter today to the ministery of tourism here, saying he apologizes, and that he will return to Israel because it's an amazing country (that's a quote!), but I think it's a little bit to late to fix the damage.
30/03/2005, 2:56 PM
Must say France has become one intolerent country.
Your post isn't releveant or appropriate to this thread, Lopez.
Basically, he didn't want to come to Israel because of "the crimes of the Israeli goverment", while I don't disagree with his opinions but do believe that everyone are entitled of having their opinion, this is something you just don't say in this situation, it's just sports.We've had this on other threads on here but I agree with you here. Personally I'm no lover of Sharon but I am probaly the only person on this thread that had been previously to Israel for an Ireland match and found it to be precisely what others have been saying here (although the ladies weren't as forward in 1984). I also learned through an workmate (from Natanya who hates Sharon more than I or Bathez ever could) that it's pointless arguing with most ordinary Israelis on domestic politics because it eventually sounds like you are having a go at the notion of a Jewish homeland (something which I support). And, likewise I wouldn't like it if he were to start giving his 2 cents on the O6C.
Your post isn't releveant or appropriate to this thread, Lopez.Are you a mod? If not, f*ck off. :p
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 3:10 PM
Perhaps Barthez can go there next summer while we are in Germany because this French team (and I use that word in the loosest possible sense) is going nowhere.
I second that!
And Lopez, it is kind of pointless arguing with Israelis about it, for a very simple reason. Living it and looking at it from the outside will always be too different views that can't really meet. No way someone who doesn't live here can understand how we feel or vice versa. However, this is totally irrelevant for Sports, and Barthez annoyed us more by saying that because it's just sports, and not because of his actual words which really aren't any surprise for us.
30/03/2005, 3:13 PM
I think that Bartaez is entitled to his view but if he does hold that view strongly he should not go. He has picked the worst of both worlds which is expressing the view and playing the game. He wants his cake and eat it. (what else would you do with a cake I am not sure). I think he is setting himself up for a bit of a reception tonight.
Oh why do the Israeli's hate the French more than the Germans.
30/03/2005, 3:22 PM
Are you a mod? If not, f*ck off. :p
Lucky for you, I'm not! :p :D
Cowboy
30/03/2005, 3:40 PM
I had it on the CD, he just didn't play it... :( I never got around to Joey's. How was it there? I only stayed between Mike's Place and Buzz Stop, was too lazy to go exploring. :)
Joeys was great and a bar next door was excellent too, I swapped jerseys with a barman in Joeys on sat night/sun morning really nice guys there.
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 4:05 PM
Joeys was great and a bar next door was excellent too, I swapped jerseys with a barman in Joeys on sat night/sun morning really nice guys there.
Did any Irish jerseys made their way back to Ireland? seems like all of them were left here. It was really funny walking on the beach on sunday noon, seeing all the Irish going with the blue t-shirts we got at the stadium in the game. :)
Calm it down lively Lopez or you'll find yourself on boards.ie annoying people instead. :DThat looks a coooooooool site. I've been given a similar site by Conchita. http://www.holymoly.co.uk/cc/
My faves are 'T' for Tube drivers, Tracey Emin and 'Tracey Emin, the c*nt that slagged her off' although 'A' for Atomic Kitten and 'E' for English also deserve a mention.
Hope this is enough off thread for you Peadar. :p ;)
Shae_B2D
30/03/2005, 4:38 PM
Nothing like a whole gang of Irish people on a foreign beach. A sight for sore eyes indeed! :D
A gang of very RED Irish people. It was a middle eastern sun after all!
Cowboy
30/03/2005, 4:56 PM
A gang of very RED Irish people. It was a middle eastern sun after all!
yeah the office workers look like beetroot
donalfitz
30/03/2005, 5:44 PM
Nothing like a whole gang of Irish people on a foreign beach. A sight for sore eyes indeed! :D
As "Kerr's Tribe" put it that the Israeli fisherman will find new type of species of red lobsters hanging off their coast.
IsMiseSean
30/03/2005, 10:24 PM
One question JGK: Was he being racist? He's still an ar*ehole but IMO there's a BIG difference between hating the man because you think he's a sh*te footballer (e.g. Carnstein and Kilbane) and hating him because he's not one of the 'master' race.
No, it was a racist comment :mad:
israeli_guy
31/03/2005, 12:08 AM
now we dont have any choise
we have to win the match in dublin to qualify
it is seems impossible (but in spite of the fact that greece won the euro champion) i guess everyting is possible
any way it is gonna be very tough game for both teams
i saw some reviews of irish fans after the game in israel, claiming ireland will travel in dublin....i don't think so
our first goal kipper expected to play in this game (he is wounded now) ,and he wont give you any presents like our second goal kipper gave you and france (i sincerely hope so...)
31/03/2005, 2:55 AM
Guten morgen, ja!
I am back from Germany, very little sleep, too much nice beer, too much nice food. It was great, seen lots, Munich is great, Bavarian men are rather tasty, especially in their traditional lederhosen! Yum! :D On topic now : :D We watched the israeli game in finnegan's in nuremburg(supposed to be munich, but change of plan) was good craic in there, drunk too much though! but nearly dropped my beer when israel scored at the end, i thought that would happen, the way the game was going.
But, at least Clinton Morrison scored for me in the first half like he said he would ;) Was really p1ssed off we did not keep 3 points, ah well, i am glad everyone had a good time, photos look great. Ok, have to sleep for an hour, flying to Belfast today, check-in @ 0600 :( yawn!!
Cowboy
31/03/2005, 9:20 AM
now we dont have any choise
we have to win the match in dublin to qualify
Not if other results go your way
tall chapy
31/03/2005, 11:28 PM
And Lopez, it is kind of pointless arguing with Israelis about it, for a very simple reason. Living it and looking at it from the outside will always be too different views that can't really meet. No way someone who doesn't live here can understand how we feel or vice versa. However, this is totally irrelevant for Sports, and Barthez annoyed us more by saying that because it's just sports, and not because of his actual words which really aren't any surprise for us.
Then there should be more debate about it within Israel, personally I don't believe you have to be "Living it and looking at it" to be able to comment on it. I hear that here about the north.
That would be like someone commenting negatively about old Yugoslavia, and someone replying, that you have to be "Living it and looking at it" or "No way someone who doesn't live here can understand how we feel"
It does not have to be Yugoslavia you can pick what area of conflict, even here !! If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, smells like a duck..then it must be a duck !! or would I need to touch it..Barthez's line would probably not one that I support. Politics and sport should be kept separate and should not be used to support a political end. Personally, every thread that contains some politics should be locked immediately and started on a separate forum somewhere else.
Shae_B2D
01/04/2005, 12:24 AM
Then there should be more debate about it within Israel, personally I don't believe you have to be "Living it and looking at it" to be able to comment on it. I hear that here about the north.
I was saying that everyone can comment on it, but the comments of people who look at it from the outside will always be different from the comments people who live it will have, that's why the arguing is always hopeless.
And how do you know there aren't arguing with Israelies?
burning soil
01/04/2005, 9:24 AM
What is the capacity of the Irish national stadium? and how many
tickets will be sold to the Israeli fans ?