View Full Version : Israel (Away) Sat 26th Mar 05
Pages :
[
13]
Saint Tom
17/03/2005, 12:02 PM
Fair play donalfitz.
Re: Flag Sponsorship Beavis, they have their name written on the flag. It cost €250 and is quite Big and well made. The lad I'm travelling with worked there and they were keen to get it done as soon as they were going.
this is going to be one LARGE trip.... :eek:
What hotels are people staying in? Metropolitan i think were in
We plan to go to airport on Wednesday night for wishing a good luck to the boys in green!
If someone is already in TA on Wednesday and wants to join us, he's invited to contact me by a private message.
17/03/2005, 9:50 PM
I think this would be perfect for some of the lads to wear to the game in israel, pity it is so fecking expensive, it would be hilarious on a guy, especially as Purim is on, fancy dress is the thing!
check it out!
see here (http://www.dahlal.com/costumes/full_costumes_phar/design_emerald_allure.htm)
:eek: :D :D :D :D
IsMiseSean
17/03/2005, 10:05 PM
eldad dont worry he's from galway, he will be in his element. they are all a bit funny in neigbouring gaaaaaalllwaaaaaay.
Let me guess a mayoman? :rolleyes:
Ron Amikam
18/03/2005, 6:05 AM
Hi boys!
My name is Ron and i'm working in Maariv daily news in Tel Aviv. I'm Writhing a big profile about the irish fans. If someone wont to write here about tha fans, and things from preivues games, it will halp me.
Thank to everybody.
18/03/2005, 6:31 AM
Hi boys!
My name is Ron and i'm working in Maariv daily news in Tel Aviv. I'm Writhing a big profile about the irish fans. If someone wont to write here about tha fans, and things from preivues games, it will halp me.
Thank to everybody.
Not only boys here!!! :rolleyes: ;) :D :D
the_bonk
18/03/2005, 7:08 AM
Hi boys!
Thank to everybody.
חחחחחחחחחח , עצוב עצוב מאוד שאתה צריך לבוא לפורומים פה כדי לקבל מידע על האוהדים האירים. חשבתי שאתה עיתונאי רציני, בסוף מישהו יכתוב פה איזה שטות ואתה תעלה את זה לעיתון
חחח
18/03/2005, 7:11 AM
חחחחחחחחחח , עצוב עצוב מאוד שאתה צריך לבוא לפורומים פה כדי לקבל מידע על האוהדים האירים. חשבתי שאתה עיתונאי רציני, בסוף מישהו יכתוב פה איזה שטות ואתה תעלה את זה לעיתון
חחח
ok, am i still drunk from yesterday or are you writing in hebrew??!! ;) :D :D :D :D
18/03/2005, 7:12 AM
what does 'nnnnnnnnnn' mean?
the_bonk
18/03/2005, 7:18 AM
what does 'nnnnnnnnnn' mean?
Its something like : LOL
Maybe your drunk but I did write in Hebrew .... :D
18/03/2005, 7:35 AM
Its something like : LOL
Maybe your drunk but I did write in Hebrew .... :D
nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn ;) :D
ha ha, not drunk at all, not as much drinking done as last year, learned my lesson, bad hangovers are the worst feeling in the world, apart from losing a football game to Spain or England,that comes maybe first......
18/03/2005, 7:38 AM
Hi boys!
. I'm Writhing a big .
hmmmmmmmm(!!!) :eek: :eek: ;) :D :D
ohhhhh, Matron!!!!
Israel-fan
18/03/2005, 8:09 AM
its really sad that a journalist of such a big newspaper had so many spelling mistakes, but help him anyway.
לא ידעתי שאפשר לכתוב פה בעברית, אחד הישראלים פה אולי יודע באיזה מלון תשוכן הנבחרת עצמה, ומתי הם חוזרים חזרה? באותו לילה או למחרת בבוקר?
תודה
and back to the Irish fans- when does the massive invasion of green fans starts?
the_bonk
18/03/2005, 8:19 AM
its really sad that a journalist of such a big newspaper had so many spelling mistakes, but help him anyway.
לא ידעתי שאפשר לכתוב פה בעברית, אחד הישראלים פה אולי יודע באיזה מלון תשוכן הנבחרת עצמה, ומתי הם חוזרים חזרה? באותו לילה או למחרת בבוקר?
תודה
and back to the Irish fans- when does the massive invasion of green fans starts?
על איזה נבחרת אתה מדבר? על שלנו או האירים?
Lets stop talking Hebrew because 99% of the readers here wont understand what we are writning in Hebrew.
18/03/2005, 8:31 AM
על איזה נבחרת אתה מדבר? על שלנו או האירים?
Lets stop talking Hebrew because 99% of the readers here wont understand what we are writning in Hebrew.
i understand everything ;) nnnnnnnnnnnnnnn :eek: magneev
maybe he is working for the israeli football team, trying to find out our team's plans and secret tactics :D ;) ha ha
Please stop write in Hebrew.
It's very rude and make a bad name for the Israelis...
If you want to disscuss in Hebrew, there are many Israeli forums to do that!
BTW, Ron choose a very good way to make an article.
the_bonk
18/03/2005, 8:40 AM
Please stop write in Hebrew.
It's very rude and make a bad name for the Israelis...
If you want to disscuss in Hebrew, there are many Israeli forums to do that!
BTW, Ron choose a very good way to make an article.
1. I just said "lets stop talking in Hebrew" . so what do you want ? :confused:
2. I thought you are Irish , so whatdo you care ? :D
Ron Amikam
18/03/2005, 10:40 AM
First of all i am apologize for the "boys" and for my english. That the reason i'm writing in Maariv and not in the "Jerusalm post" (newspaper in english). I am ignoring the Israely criticism, because i'm still writing in my real name.
Any way, I still need help from the fans.
Israel-fan
18/03/2005, 12:53 PM
sorry for asking in hebrew
i just wanted to know where does the irish national team staying. i mean the name of the hotel. and do you know if they have a flight home right after the match or in the morning of the day after.
18/03/2005, 1:29 PM
First of all i am apologize for the "boys" and for my english. That the reason i'm writing in Maariv and not in the "Jerusalm post" (newspaper in english). I am ignoring the Israely criticism, because i'm still writing in my real name.
no prob, just having a laugh....... :D
donalfitz
18/03/2005, 5:21 PM
I think this would be perfect for some of the lads to wear to the game in israel, pity it is so fecking expensive, it would be hilarious on a guy, especially as Purim is on, fancy dress is the thing!
check it out!
see here (http://www.dahlal.com/costumes/full_costumes_phar/design_emerald_allure.htm)
Do you want us to belly dance as well? :rolleyes: :p I can't see any pockets to put the cash for the pints? It was worth a try. I also don't think my chest will fit into the bra. :eek: Nice looking model though. :D I wonder is there any belly dancers in Tel Aviv? :D
Cowboy
18/03/2005, 5:26 PM
Tickets arrived from E travel today, flight is now 6.00 am with 4.00 am check in
donalfitz
18/03/2005, 6:07 PM
Does anyone know how will the local people/police react if we're drinking cans etc on the streets through friday (Purim) night after the beach party (finishes at sunset)?
Israel is not a Muslim country...
You can drink wherever you like.
Ron Amikam
18/03/2005, 7:07 PM
Is someone will tell a story from one of the trips of the 'irish army'?
18/03/2005, 9:00 PM
Is someone will tell a story from one of the trips of the 'irish army'?
eh.. i am not going ron, unfortunately, but i will be cheering on the boys in green from Munich drinking cheap beer and checking out the football stadia cos we plan to invade there next year :D i am sure someone will tell you the story, what do u want to know? everybody going is excited, hoping for a win, but know it may be a difficult away game. lots more fans would have travelled only for cost, easter(timing) etc. everybody is up for a big party!
hope this helps a bit :D :confused:
18/03/2005, 9:05 PM
Do you want us to belly dance as well? :rolleyes: :p I can't see any pockets to put the cash for the pints? It was worth a try. I also don't think my chest will fit into the bra. :eek: Nice looking model though. I wonder is there any belly dancers in Tel Aviv?
u could stuff the cash into your bra that would fill it up! :D i wouldn't worry about drinking after the party, they wouldn't expect the irish to sit around supping cups of tea, and they know we can drink and behave ourselves. If it was England, i don't think they would have a beach party, too risky, they would get totally bladdered and violent, unlike us little angels.. :)
ah... tomorrow week, the big game!
Saint Tom
19/03/2005, 11:35 AM
Stories about the Boys in Green on tour?
How about tens of thousands underneath the Eiffel Tower in Paris drinking cans and playing football? Much to the amusement of the locals!
Heard a story about a guy before which was absolutely top calss. After travelling to Amsterdam for a game, he got so p!ssed before the game that he didnt make it to the stadium!!! He couldnt find it apparently....
Generally, its just all good natured fun. its all about going to new places, meeting new friends and having a laugh. An irish win also helps!
If you go back as far as Italia 1990 world cup, the country went insane. I knew a guy who drove home from Italy after the Romania game so he could get a bigger loan from his bank, and drove back to Italy in time for the quarter final in Rome! Solid driving for three days!!
Ron Amikam
19/03/2005, 11:50 AM
lovely, do u have more?
Saint Tom
19/03/2005, 12:08 PM
Sure I do Ron,
Have to say possibly the best trip atmosphere-wise that i Was at was when we played Scotland in Glasgow (kerr's first game as manager). We ended up at a Céili with our friends in the tartan Army. Half of the pub was Irish and half was Scottish and the whole pub singing Waltzing Matilda (australian song) because Australia had just beaten England!
Basel in 2003 was aboslutely insane, no one had tickets for the match and about 15000 showed up in this small town in Switzerland..... I saw tickets changing for €1000. If you look at the stadium, there must have been Irish people in every section of the stadium!
Anyone got any more to add to help Ron out here?
Tom
Ron Amikam
19/03/2005, 12:15 PM
Thank's Tom. i'm looking also about stories from the trip to Iran in 2001
Saint Tom
19/03/2005, 12:20 PM
No prob, Ron
I wasn't in Iran so can't help you there. Most people stayed in Dubai AFAIK until a few hours before the game and then flew to Tehran. I know it clinched qualification but by all accounts it wasn't a friendly place. I heard that the few female Ireland fans who attended the game were the first women to have watched football in Tehran :eek: about 1500 travelled i think
19/03/2005, 12:45 PM
No prob, Ron
I wasn't in Iran so can't help you there. Most people stayed in Dubai AFAIK until a few hours before the game and then flew to Tehran. I know it clinched qualification but by all accounts it wasn't a friendly place. I heard that the few female Ireland fans who attended the game were the first women to have watched football in Tehran :eek: about 1500 travelled i think
Iran was amazing - Persians are the warmest most friendly people you could meet. Some of the laws from the mullahs are obviously screwed up
Lack of alcohol was an issue for many - only 500 travelled but many did manage to get some all the same. This btw was 488 more than the previous biggest away support of 12 in the Azadi.
The female fans were allowed in although it was not fully known until they went to the gates. local female fans were not allowed to attend.
One point that may interest our Israeli friends is when giving the football results on tv or radio it is along the lines of France 2 Switzerland 2, Malta 1 England 0, Austria 2 Zionist Regime 2.
We went from Monday-Friday and also got to spend a day in Esfahan - lovely city.
I did write a trip repoert but don't have it anymore but happy to answer any questions on my trip there.
Ron Amikam
19/03/2005, 12:56 PM
How did u all manage without alcohol out there?
Israel-fan
19/03/2005, 5:04 PM
Iran was amazing - Persians are the warmest most friendly people you could meet..
you are about to change your mind ;)
One point that may interest our Israeli friends is when giving the football results on tv or radio it is along the lines of France 2 Switzerland 2, Malta 1 England 0, Austria 2 Zionist Regime 2.
i'm surprised they mention us at all.
Saint Tom
19/03/2005, 6:54 PM
I believe on all Iranian state TV channels and media they refer to Israel as "Zionist Occupied Palestine". Not on my list of places to visit at all ( unless for potential future football games)
Lebanon decided yesterday not to participate in the Eurovision song contest because they must broabcast the Israeli song...
http://www.eurovision.tv/english/982.htm
What has the eurovision song contest got to do with football????????
Anyway i dont think anyone would miss the contest!!!!!!!
19/03/2005, 8:12 PM
What has the eurovision song contest got to do with football????????
Anyway i dont think anyone would miss the contest!!!!!!!
eldad mentioned this as a few people had already been talking about the attitudes of other countries i.e Iran to Israel.
there is a eurovision thread i set up under off topic by me :D if anyone does want to discuss the wonderful contest :D
Israel-fan
19/03/2005, 9:46 PM
so lets get back to football- do you have any injuries?
tall chapy
19/03/2005, 9:47 PM
sorry for asking in hebrew
i just wanted to know where does the irish national team staying. i mean the name of the hotel. and do you know if they have a flight home right after the match or in the morning of the day after.
Israeli Fan
According to Helen Corkonion living in Israel on http://www.thepeoplesflag.com/web/index.asp
Would just like to correct a previous error. The Irish Team ARE NOT staying at the Hilton. They ARE staying down the road at the David Intercontinental Hotel, which is also on Hayarkon Street on the Beach Front.
donalfitz
19/03/2005, 9:56 PM
Israel is not a Muslim country...
You can drink wherever you like.
Some countries have weird laws with regarding drink. Some required that when drinking outside you need to have the drink covered. Other countries/cities don't allow drinking on the streets at all. Just need to be sure.
The US were the worse with it come to drink laws.
When I was in Lynchburg, Tennessee where Jack Daniels whiskey is made, I visited the factory and discovered that you cannot buy alcohol with the exception of the visitor center (only at weekdays) at the factory. I was there on a Sunday evening on a free tour. The aussies and me were very disappointed that we couldn’t buy a bottle :(. And the hills surrounded the town were full of warehouses of whiskey. But you can legally eat it within any food you like :eek. Anyone for Jack Daniels scones? Tasted horrible.
http://www.jackdaniels.com/tennesseetable/main.htm
19/03/2005, 9:58 PM
not that i know of! i feel fine!
donalfitz
19/03/2005, 10:06 PM
I fine too, thanks :) Will be there in Tel Aviv next week, on or off the pitch. :D :D with 3 points!!
donalfitz
19/03/2005, 10:10 PM
u could stuff the cash into your bra that would fill it up! :D !
That a change of sight, men ogling at the sight of a bra full of money instead of breast. :eek:
[QUOTE=ah... tomorrow week, the big game![/QUOTE]
Tomorrow week 3 points and parting :D
19/03/2005, 10:22 PM
That a change of sight, men ogling at the sight of a bra full of money instead of breast. :eek:
[QUOTE=ah... tomorrow week, the big game!
Tomorrow week 3 points and parting :D[/QUOTE]
you lucky duck! will be a great trip, i imagine, could u all take loads of photos and put them on the web, that way i can see what i missed.... :(
:cool: cheers!
tall chapy
19/03/2005, 11:19 PM
The Israeli invasion starts next Thursday, I am sure there are a few people on the ground as we speak, doing a recce and finding out the best places to go.
As you may have gathered Ron (Amikam), the Irish like to have a laugh and a joke, so hopefully, the Immigration Officers will bear this in mind ;) when we arrive. As for stories Ron, there are millions.....maybe not for the Iran game, but for stories of Irish Fans at or going to matches there are plenty..
The only issue I can remember before the Iran game (I did not travel) was whether the Irish women would be permitted to enter the stadium and watch the game and what possibly they would have to wear. I believe common sense prevailed on the clothes issue. If the women had not been allowed enter the stadium and watch the game, it would have been a big issue :mad:. In the end I believe the Iranians did not want to be seen in a bad light so common sense prevailed. I would say that everyone that traveled to the Iran game knew the situation about alcohol, just like most people traveling to the Israel game know that their Hotel will not serve a 'Full Irish Breakfast' of rashers, sausages (very non-kosher) and Fried Egg and a decent cup of tea...followed by a few pints when down the street.... :D .
Eldad, Bonk, Ron..etc.. If you know of a Cafe or 'greasy joint' that does a decent non kosher fried breakfast, then this is the place to post the name and address.
My memories from the Paris are - That many fans traveled with their mobile phones the Mobile phone network crashed just before the game.
Another one.. all the Irish fans humming 'La Mareillaise' (French National Anthem) on the metro on the way to the game and the sound of it running up and down the carriages and all the French people looking on in bewilderment at the Irish humming their national anthem !!
If you read most of the posts here you would see that the Irish like to drink..socially and responsibly...this advertisement is sponsored by GUINNESS...LOL
The stories of pubs running out of beer are not folklore, they are true..
Most are traveling to follow the team and have a bit of 'craic' .
The fans usually like to interact with the locals, some want to chat and mingle with the locals, a lot are looking out for women. Some just want to drink, go to the match and celebrate win, draw or lose ;). Some like myself want to see a bit of the country, mainly Jerusalem and also do some of the others above... :D
The Irish when they get talking will talk about anything....Football, women, politics, religion,and how Ireland is one big rip off merchant at the moment !!
Ireland is a great place to enjoy yourself, but the price keeps going up !!,
So when you come here for the return leg bring plenty of money.
A pint of lager is anywhere between €4-€6 (23 shekels - 34.5 shekels)
How many Israelis will travel over to Ireland for the game.
19/03/2005, 11:19 PM
Probably the most amazing spectacle ever of Irish fans before a game was when the 400 or 500 of us were all gathered in this big hotel lobby in the Azadi Stadium complex. We were there for about an hour and a half, all waiting around drinking tea and coffee. It was an eerie atmosphere as people who normally only ever meet each other at games, usually in the pub beforehand, stood around laughing and joking but with not a beer in sight. Unlikely ever to be repeated!
Agree with Gary, the locals were friendly enough, although at the stadium some of those in the section next to the Irish fans got a bit agitated towards the end of the game and began throwing stuff at us. Fair play to the local army/police, they soon got it under control.
After the game, we went to a local restaurant where we were made very welcome by the locals. There was no sign of the men locking up their wives and daughters. Many of them spoke english and were happy to come and talk. They were no different from people anywhere else when it came to them wanting scarves, hats, badges and one of the funniest sights I saw for a long time was a young teenage Iranian girl in the full black regalia including head dress wearing one of those big Leprechaun hats! A memorable experience!
20/03/2005, 7:03 AM
The Irish Team ARE NOT staying at the Hilton. They ARE staying down the road at the David Intercontinental Hotel, which is also on Hayarkon Street on the Beach Front.
Hope they don't keep DCFCSteve and myself awake.
We're looking forward to a nice quiet weekend. :D
20/03/2005, 8:09 AM
Quite a few fans got their hands on it. It was arranged via taxi drivers. Quite risky as apparently they were clearly very very drunk when arriving back at the hotel but the Iranians turned a blind eye to it.
We rented an apartment and our hosts had actually got alcohol for us but we didn't touch it. While we appreciated the gesture it is very difficult for them to get (smuggled in from Georgia and Armenia). However shortly after settling into my seat on the Lufthansa flight on the friday night the flight attendants were dishing out alcohol like there was no tomorrow.
Every woman in Iran must wear the Hijab in public btw. I asked our guide in Esfahan what would happen if a woman didn't and he couldn't even comprehend the question. It was just too unthinkable. You are also not allowed enter if you have ever visited Israel.