Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

the_bonk
07/03/2005, 6:14 PM
they are gobsh*tes(means people who talk sh*t) they are to be ignored IMO

I think you are THE most active user in this thread and your not even coming :D

07/03/2005, 6:33 PM
I think you are THE most active user in this thread and your not even coming :D

i wish i was going ! :rolleyes: :mad: Just trying to find out info and help if i can....... :eek:

08/03/2005, 9:59 AM
Match tickets arrived in the post yesterday ...
a tenner cheaper than originally advertised!
Seats are in Gate 17.

08/03/2005, 10:16 AM
Match tickets arrived in the post yesterday ...
a tenner cheaper than originally advertised!
Seats are in Gate 17.

does anyone have a stadium map showing where we are sitting?
its always great when the tickets arrive..... got butterflies in my stomach now just thinking about it!! :)

PaulB
08/03/2005, 10:22 AM
Is it open seating does anyone know, didn't see any seat numbers on tickets?

the_bonk
08/03/2005, 10:29 AM
Is it open seating does anyone know, didn't see any seat numbers on tickets?

In Gate 17-18 it is "open seat"

08/03/2005, 10:32 AM
Have a look here.

You will be seated in the very far right.
http://www.worldstadiums.com/stadium_pictures/middle_east/israel/ramat_gan.jpg

Apparently its the worst part of the ground (according to a post a heap of pages ago)

israeli_guy
08/03/2005, 2:02 PM
Any good IRish bars in Tel Aviv? :D

there is some good irish bars
one is sitting on the yarkon street (main steet in tel aviv)

one is in hertzelia (other city in israel,15 minutes from tel aviv,this place full with amazing women)

and there is some others

tel aviv is an amazing city

Cowboy
08/03/2005, 2:06 PM
why would anyone want to travel thousands of miles just to go to an irish bar ?

08/03/2005, 2:10 PM
well, it is probably a good meeting point when abroad :D non?(after a game) but of course u have to try out the local places too, it is a must

israeli_guy
08/03/2005, 2:13 PM

he asked ,so i answered him :)

08/03/2005, 2:16 PM

are u from tel-aviv? so are u all excited about the green army coming to invade? :D :D :D :D

08/03/2005, 3:08 PM

the best craic by far is usually in the Irish bars for these events as thats where all the fans tend to head to. most of the non Irish bars i visited in Paris for example were dead on the night before / day of match. i'm not going to avoid all the match day banter with other fans (Israeli fans included) just so i can say i went to a non Irish bar

Cowboy
08/03/2005, 3:46 PM

Of course, I was not criticising you more of an observation.

Cowboy
08/03/2005, 3:56 PM
the best craic by far is usually in the Irish bars for these events as thats where all the fans tend to head to. most of the non Irish bars i visited in Paris for example were dead on the night before / day of match. i'm not going to avoid all the match day banter with other fans (Israeli fans included) just so i can say i went to a non Irish bar

well if over priced beer and paddywhackery are your thing then go for it, but for me and the guys I hang with, an Irish bar would be way down the list.

each to his own :)

israeli_guy
08/03/2005, 4:20 PM
are u from tel-aviv? so are u all excited about the green army coming to invade? :D :D :D :D

yes i am from tel aviv and yes we r excited
we will give u a great hosted but as your host i m asking u
please leave the points here :rolleyes:

lopez
08/03/2005, 4:25 PM
well if over priced beer and paddywhackery are your thing then go for it, but for me and the guys I hang with, an Irish bar would be way down the list.

each to his own :)Have to agree with you there pardner. Can't stand the places myself. It simply means 'Rip-off' in all the foreign languages I've come across.

08/03/2005, 4:46 PM
just sneak in a few cans from the supermarket ha ha :D :D :D

Eldad
08/03/2005, 7:42 PM
Israeli weather forecast in address http://www.ynetnews.com/home/0,7340,L-3118,00.html

Beavis
08/03/2005, 9:23 PM

Couldn't agree more. I ended up in a French pub after the paris game (unwillingly) and it was a borefest. You want to at the centre of the travelling buzz, singing and building the match atmosphere. Thats what its all about. You can drink solely wth your mates in your local. The whole big trip experience involves the congregation of loads of drunken Irish in a central district. It wouldn't be much of an invasion if we were all dispersed in quaint local pubs accross the city. I may not be as cultured as the rest of you but who cares, its a better laugh.

08/03/2005, 9:53 PM
Couldn't agree more. I ended up in a French pub after the paris game (unwillingly) and it was a borefest. You want to at the centre of the travelling buzz, singing and building the match atmosphere. Thats what its all about. You can drink solely wth your mates in your local. The whole big trip experience involves the congregation of loads of drunken Irish in a central district. It wouldn't be much of an invasion if we were all dispersed in quaint local pubs accross the city. I may not be as cultured as the rest of you but who cares, its a better laugh.

:D :D :D :D

Cowboy
08/03/2005, 11:39 PM

who said anything about quaint local pubs? Who said anything about drinking solely with your mates? I just dont see the point in travelling to another country and doing the same things you can do here. I'd much rather drink with the locals and get their perspective , beats getting ripped off in a (so called) Irish bar. Why not meet up in a mc donalds, same difference.

09/03/2005, 12:44 AM
pub crawl usually solves the problem, keeps one and all happy :D :D

Dotsy
09/03/2005, 8:06 AM
I'm off to Tel Aviv on Sunday for a few days work :) I'll give you a report on any good bars I might stumble across when I get back.

GK for the Town
09/03/2005, 8:17 AM
who said anything about quaint local pubs? Who said anything about drinking solely with your mates? I just dont see the point in travelling to another country and doing the same things you can do here. I'd much rather drink with the locals and get their perspective , beats getting ripped off in a (so called) Irish bar. Why not meet up in a mc donalds, same difference.

it was probably mentioned before but there was a great buzz @ the Eiffel Tower with everybody drinking on the streets after getting their booze in the supermarkets. Is there a big meeting place in TA that could be used in a similar way ?
Can anyone from Israel say How the local police would re-act if there were lots and lots of Irish standing on the streets singing and drinking ? it was grand in Paris but maybe its not the same there.

Cowboy
09/03/2005, 8:32 AM
I'm off to Tel Aviv on Sunday for a few days work :) I'll give you a report on any good bars I might stumble across when I get back.

Fair play

NOLANone
09/03/2005, 10:47 AM
Looking forward to hearing about your Tel Aviv fact finding mission.

Dotsy
09/03/2005, 10:53 AM
Purely a business trip ;)

09/03/2005, 11:19 AM
Just saw this on the Dept of Foreign Affairs website

Travel Advice
Travel Advice Irish citizens travelling to the Israel-Ireland World Cup Qualifier
in Tel Aviv on 26 March

Irish citizens travelling to the World Cup qualifier should bear in mind that
there remains a real risk of terrorist attacks as evidenced by the 25 February
suicide-bomb attack outside of a Tel Aviv beach-front nightclub, in which five
civilians were killed and over 20 injured.

It is therefore important to exercise great caution when travelling within
Israel and East Jerusalem . In particular, extra vigilance is required if using
public transport and in public areas such as bars, clubs, restaurants and
cafes, especially where crowded or where there are no security guards.
Visitors should avoid any political gatherings or demonstrations. We
recommend that supporters follow the news and make sure that they are fully
informed of any change in the security situation.

The Department recommends against travel to the West Bank and to the
Gaza Strip, and also advises against travel to Israel 's northern border with
Lebanon .

The Department strongly recommends that supporters coming to Tel Aviv for
the match obtain comprehensive travel and medical insurance before
travelling.

The Irish Embassy in Tel Aviv is located at 3 Daniel Frisch Street and will be
maintaining cover throughout the weekend of the match to provide consular
and emergency assistance. The telephone numbers of the Embassy are
(00 972 3) 6964166 and (00 972 3) 6964167. The Embassy's e-mail
address is telaviv@dfa.ie.

Passport and visa requirements
Passports must be of at least six-month validity. It is advisable to have
separate photocopies of your passport made, as this will assist in the
event that your passport is lost or stolen. Irish passport holders do not
require visas to enter Israel but must complete a landing card on arrival at
Ben Gurion airport. A section of the landing card must be kept with the
passport to be returned to immigration when you leave Israel . Loss of this
section of the card can result in delays at departure. Passports are stamped
on arrival and departure. Since Israeli stamps may give rise to difficulties
when travelling to other countries in the region, the immigration authorities
will - upon request - stamp the landing card instead. Security Checks and
personal safety There are lengthy security checks on all flights travelling to
and from Israel , and supporters should be prepared for luggage searches and
questioning about the purpose of their visit and their itinerary. For this
reason, fans should allow lots of extra time for check in and departure,
and have their match tickets ready to present to any security officials if
questioned on the purpose of their visit.

The match will take place in the National Stadium in Ramat Gan , which is
about 20-30 minutes drive from central Tel Aviv. It will be possible for fans to
set up large banners and flags the Friday morning before the match. All
spectators can expect to undergo a security search and will pass through
metal detectors. No objects likely to cause injuries will be permitted in the
ground; banners and/or items which are not of a sporting nature are also
likely to be confiscated. A section of the stadium has been specifically
designated for the Irish fans. Irish fans obtaining tickets for other parts of
the stadium may encounter problems in being admitted.

Crime levels in Tel Aviv are low. However, personal belongings should be kept
in a safe-place and special care should be taken of passports, credit cards
and valuables. It is recommended to obtain sufficient travel insurance to
cover against the loss or theft of your belongings. Beaches in the Tel
Aviv area remain open year-round. However, public life-guards are on duty
only from May-September. The sea can be rough with strong currents. It is
advisable not to swim on unsupervised beaches or beyond the breakwaters.

City Events and general information
The match will take place over the Jewish holiday of Purim, and there will be
a lively atmosphere in the city. The Tel Aviv Municipality has arranged for a
series of welcoming events and entertainment to coincide with the football
matches ( Israel plays Ireland on the 26th and France on the 28th), details of
which will be available to fans on their arrival. The Tel Aviv English edition of
Time Out Magazine gives a full event guide and a listing of places to see and
things to do in Tel Aviv. The match also coincides with the Easter weekend.
Easter services are available at Christian Churches in the Jaffa area of the
city. Larger scale celebrations take place at the Christian sites in the Old City
of Jerusalem. Supporters thinking of travelling to Jerusalem for the Easter
Celebration should allow for delays; public transport is limited at the weekend
(see below) and there will be tight security with large numbers of worshippers
and visitors expected.

The local currency is the Shekel (€1 = NIS5.7). Euros and dollars can be
changed for shekels at any local bank or money exchange. Cash machines
accept most major Irish bank and credit cards. Tourists are expected to
produce a photo ID in shops and restaurants if paying with a foreign credit
card. Most shops and offices are closed in Israel from mid-afternoon Friday
until Saturday evening (the period of the Jewish Sabbath) and public
transport does not operate. Sunday is a normal working day. In Tel Aviv
(but not in most other parts of the country) some shops do remain open as
do most bars and restaurants. Alternative transport is also available - private
mini-vans (Sheruts) continue to operate along the major bus routes and taxis
are plentiful. There are regular bus and train services from the airport to the
City Centre. Taxis from the airport to downtown Tel Aviv should not cost
more than around NIS100 (~€20).

Irish mobile phones with roaming facilities will operate on the Israeli network.
The international code for Israel is 00 972 and the local code for Tel Aviv is
(0)3. The local emergency service telephone numbers are 100 for the police
and 101 for ambulance.

09/03/2005, 12:51 PM
I just don't see the point in travelling to another country and doing the same things you can do here. I'd much rather drink with the locals and get their perspective, beats getting ripped off in a (so called) Irish bar. Why not meet up in a McDonalds, same difference.

I ended up in a French pub after the Paris game (unwillingly) and it was a borefest. You want to at the centre of the travelling buzz, singing and building the match atmosphere. Thats what its all about. You can drink solely wth your mates in your local. The whole big trip experience involves the congregation of loads of drunken Irish in a central district. It wouldn't be much of an invasion if we were all dispersed in quaint local pubs accross the city. I may not be as cultured as the rest of you but who cares, its a better laugh.

Playing devil's advocate here, but I think yez're both right. There's three of us heading off to the Faroes for the match in June - we're arranged things so that we're styaing in a different village each night so that we get to see the country, but on Wednesday and Thursday, we'll be in Tórshavn with the rest of the Ireland fans. Was in Basel for a week in 2003 with a friend from the town - went on the drink with the Irish around the match, but saw plenty of Basel too. I think congregating with the Irish fans abroad isn't like going to an Irish pub - you're going to run into people you know from other clubs and don't meet too often. I think the congregation is part of the atmosphere and the buzz and is practically indispensible (Beavis is right about French cafeterias! :eek: ), but if you're going to a match, you might as well head out for an extra couple of days to see the country and meet the people as well.

lopez
09/03/2005, 1:02 PM
Playing devil's advocate here, but I think yez're both right. There's three of us heading off to the Faroes for the match in June - we're arranged things so that we're styaing in a different village each night so that we get to see the country, but on Wednesday and Thursday, we'll be in Tórshavn with the rest of the Ireland fans. Was in Basel for a week in 2003 with a friend from the town - went on the drink with the Irish around the match, but saw plenty of Basel too. I think congregating with the Irish fans abroad isn't like going to an Irish pub - you're going to run into people you know from other clubs and don't meet too often. I think the congregation is part of the atmosphere and the buzz and is practically indispensible (Beavis is right about French cafeterias! :eek: ), but if you're going to a match, you might as well head out for an extra couple of days to see the country and meet the people as well.The congregation bit isn't the problem and I don't think that's what Cowboy is getting at. Its Irish bars per se. They are notorious rip-off places in Europe. I was in one two years ago in Madrid and the cheapest beer was €5. There was no Spanish beer which would have kept the price down to €1.5 to €2. Same in Valencia a few weeks back. Both occasions my visits were purely to watch the rugby. In Paris I paid €12 for a pint of Guinness. How can they justify charging that. This wasn't Japan. I've got a long list of grievences against the places. The first ones I went to in Berlin just after the wall came down were fine, but then you got sick of the prices. It just seems to me that some people go there because they are like Brits on the Costas. Feel a bit uncomfortable outside their own environment. Local bars are far better. You'll always find the Irish in there too. You find them in the local gay bars, FFS! :eek:

09/03/2005, 1:02 PM
We were in a few French bars/cafes early enough in the day and had deadly
craic chatting to some of the locals. Granted we were sitting outside supping
pints and saying Bonjour to everyone and anyone who passed by :)
A lot of people we met didnt even know there was a game on so they were
wondering why we were all wrapped up in flags and hats.
Went to a few more places where there was big gangs of Irish supporters and
had a laugh there aswell.

As for the Faroes ... we're heading for a week so should get to do a bit of
sight seeing :)

ACdub
09/03/2005, 1:10 PM
I agree totally with Beavis, on the day before the Swiss match we went up the Alps, 10000ft to a place called "titless" (thats the real name) where we were walking through glaziers and the likes, absoloutley fabulous experience. Thats the benefits of trying to go a day or two earlier if poss!

Cant wait for telaviv and the faroes...some contrast between the two....

Eire06
09/03/2005, 1:26 PM
As for the Faroes ... we're heading for a week so should get to do a bit of
sight seeing :)

By the sounds of the Faroes all you'd need is about 2 hours not a week ;)

09/03/2005, 1:53 PM
By the sounds of the Faroes all you'd need is about 2 hours not a week ;)
You would, apart from the fact that the place is set on 18 islands, which means two hours sightseeing and 6 days on boats going to and fro! :)

Cowboy
09/03/2005, 4:25 PM
The congregation bit isn't the problem and I don't think that's what Cowboy is getting at.

Exactly, I think congregation and singing etc with a few beers is great craic just dont like so called irish bars abroad (apart from the one in rekjavik (shopping centre)which was brilliant craic and no dearer than anywhere else )

Saint Tom
09/03/2005, 6:27 PM
i think the beauty of the away trip is in taking over a place.

think of basel in september(unlike 2003) was a business day. regular commuters wondering what all the fuss was about! every time a green tram passed come on you tram in green etc!!

kobby
10/03/2005, 2:14 PM
Dear Friends
We uploud the invition to the beach party to our web site.
You can downloud it as a refrence.
Yours
Kobby Barda
http://www.tel-aviv.gov.il/english/whatsnew/images/200503101636.pdf

Cowboy
10/03/2005, 2:34 PM
I'd like to publicly thank Tom for a great deal on the sheckles. I can now haggle over the price of a gourd in downtown tel aviv :)

Cowboy
10/03/2005, 2:36 PM
Kobby , this starts at 12 noon or midnight ?

Dear Friends
We uploud the invition to the beach party to our web site.
You can downloud it as a refrence.
Yours
Kobby Barda
http://www.tel-aviv.gov.il/english/whatsnew/images/200503101636.pdf

the_bonk
10/03/2005, 3:23 PM
midnight

Cowboy
10/03/2005, 3:47 PM
Thanks

DubJohn
10/03/2005, 4:08 PM

Says 12pm... and I don't think the fuzzball would be very successful in the dark!

Sounds great, can't wait!

ACdub
10/03/2005, 5:32 PM
It says 12midnight, but i'm sure well be there whenever we get up..14 days and well be there!

Saint Tom
10/03/2005, 7:52 PM
now prob cowboy,

any other comers all welcome. just let me know as above.

12 midnight? Its a long days drinking to last that long ;) !

Anyone know how far it is to travel to the U21 game on the friday?

kobby
10/03/2005, 9:04 PM
It says at the ad - 12 pm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
not 00:00
not 24:00
not 12:00AM

Its a beach party at noon time - that will stop when the sun set and "Erev Shabat" (FRI. night ) starts.
Any way that is one kicking ass party with many many surpises...
Yours
Kobby :ball:

10/03/2005, 9:07 PM
er..... there might be a protest if the party stops at sunset :eek: :eek: :eek: :D :D

IsMiseSean
10/03/2005, 10:21 PM
Does anyone know if there will be day tours to Jersulam on friday from the hotel the 'standup' tour is staying in?
I don't fancy trying to make my own way there

Eldad
11/03/2005, 2:29 AM
It says at the ad - 12 pm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
not 00:00
not 24:00
not 12:00AM

Its a beach party at noon time - that will stop when the sun set and "Erev Shabat" (FRI. night ) starts.
Any way that is one kicking ass party with many many surpises...
Yours
Kobby :ball:

On Friday afternoon I'll go to the u-21 game in Herzliyya.

11/03/2005, 4:09 PM
who will u be supporting Eldad??? :D :D :D

Ireland, Ireland, Ireland!!!Ireland, Ireland, Ireland!!!