View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2009/10

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

serpico
28/04/2010, 10:46 AM
Why did none of the clonmel players or even their keeper make a challenge on peake player,how far from goal did he pick up the ball from the throw in.I read ye taught he was messing but the closer he got to goal ye maybe should have realised it was no joke. Not trying to critisise here just wondering how ye left him go so far.haven't said that I've yet to see a ref to use those rules of stopping a game when an injured player down unless for head injury.even he did stop it whose to say Peake would have given back the ball anyway.very bad form they'll never have any luck for it.

Mega Tots
28/04/2010, 10:55 AM
insidetherock i am stunned by your comments,the Peake Villa players are ashamed and mortified by what happened,Alan Leahy walked into the Town dressing room and aplogised which was more than their manager did,the villa players are physically sick over it and not even trying to defend it so dont you start

Quietman
28/04/2010, 11:17 AM
There is no antagonism meant whatsoever... but I will be absolutely frank when I say that I have difficulties whenever I hear people attempt to justify something based on the "spirit of the game"

The problem in this area began because people abused teams good nature and covered themselves in the comfort blanket of "the spirit of the game"

Wheter I was at the game or not is incidental. That's another refuge of people when they wish to ignore someones opinion and it gives them an out.

There is a rule, and both teams should and I am sure do, know it. Play on unless the referee stops the game. Otherwise, the rule will, and was being, be abused

If the referee was allowing the game to continue, then Clonmel Town should have continued playing. It is as simple as that.

I think you may be a little confused as to what actually happened......Both teams did play on after Scully went down injured in his opponents half. Peake had gained possession and were attacking. The attack broke down and the ball ended up in the hands of the Clonmel Town Goalkeeper with Scully still down injured. The goalkeeper then put the ball out of play to allow his own player to receive attention. So no one is ignoring the rules or looking for an out!! No rule was circumvented here, and all was above board. Town had no cribs with Peaks attacking there goal with the Town player down injured and Scully was clearly, for anyone who was there after hurting himself, but not seriously enough for the ref to stop play.

So should Town then have expected Peake to throw the ball back to Ritchie Ryan????? As I said, I think yes in the Spirit of the game but Peake were maybe intitled to play away. However the manner in which Fogarty did this is what was sickening. He jogged very slowly towards Ryan with the ball, teased him a little, rounded him, went across the six yard box, turned and went back the other way, went to the goal line, stopped and then after pausing, kicked the ball into the empty goal. Ryan could be seen gesturing for Fogarty to give him the ball, and no-one expected him to do what he did, no-one!! For me it was disgusting in what was up 'till then a very tame affair, we hadn't even a caution in the match!

Quietman
28/04/2010, 11:25 AM
insidetherock i am stunned by your comments,the Peake Villa players are ashamed and mortified by what happened,Alan Leahy walked into the Town dressing room and aplogised which was more than their manager did,the villa players are physically sick over it and not even trying to defend it so dont you start

Well done Mega Tots for not trying to condone what happeaned. I'd like to see Insidetherocks reaction if it had happened to his Team!

Mega Tots
28/04/2010, 11:36 AM
Well done Mega Tots for not trying to condone what happeaned. I'd like to see Insidetherocks reaction if it had happened to his Team!

how could anyone condone that,the saddest thing is there are so many good guys and genuine lads in that club and they are hurting today,donal duggan was nearly in tears,it was beyond shameful and those guys had to listen to their manager tell them he was 110% behind foggy,the club needs to act,the one thing Peake Villa never ever were was cheats and the Secretary of Peake Villa demanding his money back of Clonmel that he had paid in at the gate when he should have been apologising was the icing on the cake,how has our club ended up like this

Quietman
28/04/2010, 11:40 AM
those guys had to listen to their manager tell them he was 110% behind foggy............................................. .......................... and the Secretary of Peake Villa demanding his money back of Clonmel that he had paid in at the gate

Terrible behaviour, just terrible!!

daz22
28/04/2010, 12:55 PM
lads, what do you think will be the outcome of this??replay?game awarded to certain team??what was the score when this happened?

Insidetherock
28/04/2010, 1:51 PM

I am not "condoning" anything... to do so, would be to accept that some rule had been broken, and has been repeated ad nauseum already, that it nto the case.

I also know many people would not agree with my stance, but to be quite frank, my stance is the only one which brings clarity to this whole situation, otherwise teams are left in a grey area bemoaning a contravention of the "spirit of the game"

How far does spirit of the game extend ? Every single person here knows of cases where players and teams act the maggot with the spirit of the game, and everyone here has their interpretation of what "spirit of the game" means

It's another one of these crazy interpetative things like excusing dangerous tackling because "its a mans game" or "its a contact sport"

The simple fact of the matter here, is that FIFA themselves recognised this area as a problem within the game, and issued directives to all levels of football in how to deal with it. And, it was a pretty simple directive... play on unless the referee stops the game.

No matter how people feel "sick" after the decision, be they the sinners or the sinned against, the only way of clarifying how the situation should have been dealt with, was by adhering to the rules of the game and the teams should have played on.

Someone asks what I would think if it happened to my club i.e. Cashel Town... I'd have been raging. But raging because the players were stupid enough to let a player walk in and score, not because the player had walked in and scored.

It's a lot easier to stop the goal and make an issue of it afterwards, then let it be scored and then make the issue.

Remember the first rule you were told when under 8 ? Play the whistle.

Quietman
28/04/2010, 2:20 PM
I am not "condoning" anything... to do so, would be to accept that some rule had been broken, and has been repeated ad nauseum already, that it nto the case.

I also know many people would not agree with my stance, but to be quite frank, my stance is the only one which brings clarity to this whole situation, otherwise teams are left in a grey area bemoaning a contravention of the "spirit of the game"

How far does spirit of the game extend ? Every single person here knows of cases where players and teams act the maggot with the spirit of the game, and everyone here has their interpretation of what "spirit of the game" means

It's another one of these crazy interpetative things like excusing dangerous tackling because "its a mans game" or "its a contact sport"

The simple fact of the matter here, is that FIFA themselves recognised this area as a problem within the game, and issued directives to all levels of football in how to deal with it. And, it was a pretty simple directive... play on unless the referee stops the game.

No matter how people feel "sick" after the decision, be they the sinners or the sinned against, the only way of clarifying how the situation should have been dealt with, was by adhering to the rules of the game and the teams should have played on.

Someone asks what I would think if it happened to my club i.e. Cashel Town... I'd have been raging. But raging because the players were stupid enough to let a player walk in and score, not because the player had walked in and scored.

It's a lot easier to stop the goal and make an issue of it afterwards, then let it be scored and then make the issue.

Remember the first rule you were told when under 8 ? Play the whistle.

:confused:Nobody was waiting for a whistle as play had restarted from the throw in.The expectation was that Foggy would play the ball back to Ritchie Ryan. Do you not get that??:confused: The Fifa Directive you mention has no relevence here as neither team was waiting or expecting the referee to stop play to allow a player to receive attention............. He had already received attention!!!!!!!!:confused:

And to compare this incident with someone excusing dangerous tackling is just ridicules.

So please try understand what actually happened before posting..................

ShaneM
28/04/2010, 3:23 PM
MOD EDIT{Anybody who tries to mess up this thread will end up as this member did.

Mega Tots
28/04/2010, 3:51 PM
MOD EDIT{Anybody who tries to mess up this thread will end up as this member did.

Insidetherock do you not understand that everyone from Peake Villa is holding their hands up and is gutted over what happened,its inexcusable,we are not trying to defend it so why you are is beyond bizarre,i just heard people on Tipp FM discussing our secretary looking for his money back after the game,i knew this would happen,what was he thinking???

Town Fan
28/04/2010, 4:51 PM
I think everybod is in agreement that it was a crazy situation that shouldn't have happened-extra time should be good Monday night!!

complexman
28/04/2010, 5:06 PM
I think everybod is in agreement that it was a crazy situation that shouldn't have happened-extra time should be good Monday night!!

I am quite sure that Muiris will give an honest account- thats if he is asked and I ma sure he will

wilhelm2
28/04/2010, 5:22 PM
how could anyone condone that,the saddest thing is there are so many good guys and genuine lads in that club and they are hurting today,donal duggan was nearly in tears,it was beyond shameful and those guys had to listen to their manager tell them he was 110% behind foggy,the club needs to act,the one thing peake villa never ever were was cheats and the secretary of peake villa demanding his money back of clonmel that he had paid in at the gate when he should have been apologising was the icing on the cake,how has our club ended up like this

"our club" . Which club are you signed up for ? Please remind us:(

Insidetherock
28/04/2010, 6:14 PM

No, I am sorry, everyone is not in agreement. I am not. And reading even more about what happened makes me even more clear about my own position.

Just for the record.

1. I have no beef with Clonmel Town or their club whatsoever. They are an honourable club, and the way they dealt with the incident that happened during the Clonmel/Cashel Town game earlier in the season gave me nothing but the absolute height of respect for the club and their committee, players and supporters (those who know what I am talking about know what I mean)

I would also like to add that I hope they are successful in the Munster Junior Cup and wish them, along with St Michaels all the best in the FAI Junior Cup.

2. I am not trying to make any excuses for Peake Villa either. I hold no remit in support of Peake, again except to say, that in all dealings I ever had with them, they too are a very honourable club.

But as well as this etheral "spirit of the game", the rules of the game are the rules of the game. And, in this specific case, the FAI themselves, on recommendation from FIFA baldy laid out a directive at the beginning of the season. That recommendation was simple. Only the referee has the power to decide to stop a game for an injury.

I take the point that Quietman made.. there was an "expectation"... but should there have been ? And, whether there was or there wasn't, as soon as Peake Villa threw the ball to a Peake Villa player and not a Town player.. Town should have been switched on to defend the attack.

Perhaps afterwards, they could have admonished Peake about bad sportsmanship, but while the ball is "in play", then you play the game as normal.

As for not understanding what happened.. please, less of the condescension

I understand completely, I simply don't agree with you.

There is a lot of talk in sport about "sportsmanship", and I completely agree that games should be played in a sportsmanlike manner...

But, is deliberately encroaching within 10 yards at a free kick displaying "good sportsmanship" ?

Is deliberately holding onto an attacking player at a corner kick in an attempt to gain an advantage from him, "good sportsmanship" ?

Is kicking a ball the whole lenght of the field away where a throw in was given, because a team put the ball out to facilitate an injured player "good sportsmanship" ?

In my mind, no, none of the above are.. but they are excused as "cute hoorism" or "smart play" by teams when they get away with it.

Therefore, you have rules to govern a game and if both teams know, understand and play by the rules, the games can go ahead without ever having to worry about "good sportsmanship". That just becomes a bonus.

So, in this case, once it became clear that Peake were going to continue playing, did the Clonmel Town players simply stop playing ? If they did, then they really cannot complain about the outcome.

I am sorry if people think that sounds unfair or dogmatic, but its the rules of the game.

Roberto
28/04/2010, 7:50 PM
It's amazing what the unsporting action of 1 player has done to the image of a club. This has been a PR disaster for Peake Villa. If they do manage to win the league how many people will come on here and congratulate them or will most still refer to this distasteful episode. If they don't beat Michaels on Sunday they could well need a result when they play Town again in this re-scheduled fixture. And will Town need any more motivation to beat them now?? All because of the stupid action of one silly boy, how short sighted of him.

Insidetherock
28/04/2010, 8:45 PM
It's amazing what the unsporting action of 1 player has done to the image of a club. This has been a PR disaster for Peake Villa. If they do manage to win the league how many people will come on here and congratulate them or will most still refer to this distasteful episode. If they don't beat Michaels on Sunday they could well need a result when they play Town again in this re-scheduled fixture. And will Town need any more motivation to beat them now?? All because of the stupid action of one silly boy, how short sighted of him.

That is true, and unfortunately any re-scheduled game will most likely be venomous. But, if the referee had stuck firmly to the rules of the game, then it should never have needed to be re-scheduled.

In fact, in my opinion, the game should be re-started from where it finished i.e. at 55 minutes, with Peake Villa 1-0 up, and with Clonmel a player down.

Again, that may outrage people, but that would be within the laws of the game.

Insidetherock
28/04/2010, 8:47 PM

And, it is unfair to call the Peake Villa player a "silly boy". He was the one playing the game within the rules. It was a lot sillier of the defenders to allow him to walk unhindered into the goal don't you think

orchardfester
28/04/2010, 9:28 PM
:confused:Nobody was waiting for a whistle as play had restarted from the throw in.The expectation was that Foggy would play the ball back to Ritchie Ryan. Do you not get that??:confused: The Fifa Directive you mention has no relevence here as neither team was waiting or expecting the referee to stop play to allow a player to receive attention............. He had already received attention!!!!!!!!:confused:

And to compare this incident with someone excusing dangerous tackling is just ridicules.

So please try understand what actually happened before posting..................

Had the Villa players at any time intimated that they were giving the ball back, it just seems crazy that any defence would allow someone to get that close to the goal without defending it.

Quietman
28/04/2010, 9:48 PM
That is true, and unfortunately any re-scheduled game will most likely be venomous. But, if the referee had stuck firmly to the rules of the game, then it should never have needed to be re-scheduled.

Again I still don't think you understand!!!! The referee didn't stop play because of the injury. Play was stopped when Clonmel Towns keeper put the ball out of play. Play then correctly restarted with a throw in to Peake. Fogarty then scored and the goal was allowed........................:confused: So how do you now accuse the referee of not firmly sticking to the rules????? The match was abandoned because of the behaviour of both teams afterwards....................

Insidetherock
28/04/2010, 10:33 PM
Again I still don't think you understand!!!! The referee didn't stop play because of the injury. Play was stopped when Clonmel Towns keeper put the ball out of play. Play then correctly restarted with a throw in to Peake. Fogarty then scored and the goal was allowed........................:confused: So how do you now accuse the referee of not firmly sticking to the rules????? The match was abandoned because of the behaviour of both teams afterwards....................

No, I have moved on from that, and I accept that the game re-started normally after the throw in, which makes me wonder even more why the Clonmel players effectively stopped playing.

What I meant by the referee sticking to the rules, was that he should have carried the game on to its conclusion. Though, I also accept that the behaviour of both teams afterwards meant this may not have been possible.

I do however still feel, that the game should not begin again from the start, but should resume where it finished i.e. 1-0 to Peake with Clonmel down to 10 men

ponyobrien
28/04/2010, 10:39 PM
Enough nonsense about the rules, at the end of the day it's a sport and if you can't display good sportsmanship, then forget about it. Peake Villa's honour is gone.

Quietman
28/04/2010, 10:44 PM
No, I have moved on from that, and I accept that the game re-started normally after the throw in, which makes me wonder even more why the Clonmel players effectively stopped playing.

What I meant by the referee sticking to the rules, was that he should have carried the game on to its conclusion. Though, I also accept that the behaviour of both teams afterwards meant this may not have been possible.

I do however still feel, that the game should not begin again from the start, but should resume where it finished i.e. 1-0 to Peake with Clonmel down to 10 men

It would have been impossible to continue, control had been lost through no fault of the officials....and player safety is then of concern...........

The only possible outcome imo is a full replay.......with the strongest referee possible!!

nononsense
28/04/2010, 10:53 PM

In fact, in my opinion, the game should be re-started from where it finished i.e. at 55 minutes, with Peake Villa 1-0 up, and with Clonmel a player down.

Again, that may outrage people, but that would be within the laws of the game.

No, it would not be within the laws of the game. Any re-scheduled game must be played in its entirety.

Insidetherock
28/04/2010, 10:53 PM
It would have been impossible to continue, control had been lost through no fault of the officials....and player safety is then of concern...........

The only possible outcome imo is a full replay.......with the strongest referee possible!!

Where's the fairness in that, considering that the action which ultimately lead to the abandonment was the inability of Clonmel Town player to control himself i.e. Moroneys sending off ?

serpico
28/04/2010, 11:03 PM

Won't any outcome depend on refs report and who he blames for abandoning game.if he blames a particular club surely they will forfeit the game??

MunsterMunch
29/04/2010, 8:01 AM
What's baffling as well is that a draw wouldnt have been a bad result for Villa in the match....It would have meant that a win over Saints this Sunday (at home) would have won them the league!
Now even a win might not do it, as they will still have to replay against Town, who will be more than up for it, even if they do have a fixture congestion!

Roberto
29/04/2010, 8:30 AM
Where's the fairness in that, considering that the action which ultimately lead to the abandonment was the inability of Clonmel Town player to control himself i.e. Moroneys sending off ?

I note your use of the word 'fairness' with interest. You're the one that keeps banging on about the rules. For the record the rule books says that if a referee abandons a game it shall be replayed unless specific rules applying to this competition state otherwise. I am not aware of a distinct set of rules that apply to the TSDL Premier League so this match will be replayed.

I don't think Moroney was the reason the game was abandoned. The referee made the decision to abandon the game on health & safety grounds primarily due to an unsporting incident that could have resulted in a competitive game turning violent. The referee has a duty of care to the people involved and I say fair play to him (Now I can praise referees :o).

Remember this is SPORT. Do you not think that at any stage during his uncontested run towards the goal that the Villa player thought something is not quite right here. By continuing he threw the concept of sport out the window. Shame on him and those who condone him. I'd hate to be involved in the sport if that is the way we play it.

Insidetherock
29/04/2010, 10:01 AM
I note your use of the word 'fairness' with interest. You're the one that keeps banging on about the rules. For the record the rule books says that if a referee abandons a game it shall be replayed unless specific rules applying to this competition state otherwise. I am not aware of a distinct set of rules that apply to the TSDL Premier League so this match will be replayed.

[i]I don't think Moroney was the reason the game was abandoned. The referee made the decision to abandon the game on health & safety grounds primarily due to an unsporting incident that could have resulted in a competitive game turning violent.[i] The referee has a duty of care to the people involved and I say fair play to him (Now I can praise referees :o).

Remember this is SPORT. Do you not think that at any stage during his uncontested run towards the goal that the Villa player thought something is not quite right here. By continuing he threw the concept of sport out the window. Shame on him and those who condone him. I'd hate to be involved in the sport if that is the way we play it.

I'm sorry Roberto, but you are wrong in what you are saying. The game wasn't abandoned after the Villa goal. The game was re-started after the goal. As it should have been. Then the tackle by Moroney lead to a free for all, at which time the referee decided against re-starting on the basis of health and safety. The violent tackle ultimately lead to the abandonment.

And I stick by my position. Under the rules of the game, Villa did nothing wrong. Why should the Villa player have stopped his run, even if the Clonmel players weren't contesting his run.

Don't get me wrong here. I fully understand where the majority of people are coming from, and see why they might be angry about what happened. But it's a bit like being angry at the Henry handball. You suck it up and play on.

Just a note. I discussed the incident this morning with a former Clonmel Town player. Long rtired by the way, but played with them as far back as the Munster Senior League team 30 odd years ago. And in his opinion, the Villa player did the right thing. He had no sympathy for his old club. His first rule of football... play the whistle

Roberto
29/04/2010, 10:08 AM
I'm sorry Roberto, but you are wrong in what you are saying. The game wasn't abandoned after the Villa goal. The game was re-started after the goal. As it should have been. Then the tackle by Moroney lead to a free for all, at which time the referee decided against re-starting on the basis of health and safety. The violent tackle ultimately lead to the abandonment.

And I stick by my position. Under the rules of the game, Villa did nothing wrong. Why should the Villa player have stopped his run, even if the Clonmel players weren't contesting his run.

Don't get me wrong here. I fully understand where the majority of people are coming from, and see why they might be angry about what happened. But it's a bit like being angry at the Henry handball. You suck it up and play on.

Just a note. I discussed the incident this morning with a former Clonmel Town player. Long rtired by the way, but played with them as far back as the Munster Senior League team 30 odd years ago. And in his opinion, the Villa player did the right thing. He had no sympathy for his old club. His first rule of football... play the whistle

We'll agree to disagree. Hopefully Celtic can sneak in undetected now and win the League!

Insidetherock
29/04/2010, 10:15 AM
We'll agree to disagree. Hopefully Celtic can sneak in undetected now and win the League!

Not really Roberto.. because to do so, would be to imply that I could potentially be as wrong as you could potentially be.

Wheras I have fact on my side. The game was not abandoned over the goal incident. It was abandoned over the violent tackle which precipitated more violence afterwards.

And by the way, yes, I would love to see Celtic win the league. They are a fine team with a fine management structure which deserves some success.

Quietman
29/04/2010, 10:52 AM
Not really Roberto.. because to do so, would be to imply that I could potentially be as wrong as you could potentially be.

Wheras I have fact on my side. The game was not abandoned over the goal incident. It was abandoned over the violent tackle which precipitated more violence afterwards.

And by the way, yes, I would love to see Celtic win the league. They are a fine team with a fine management structure which deserves some success.

You are wrong Rock, It was the manner in which the goal was scored that caused the whole incident. The Peake players acknowledged this and admitted that they were wrong, and said that they would allow Town to score. Barry Ryan ran past several Peake players with the ball on route to goal, as they had agreed to leave him pass. One player then tackled Barry Ryan. This inflamed an already heated incident and It was then Moroney stupidly tackled a Peake player and the brawl ensued. So if you were there on the night you would have seen that it was Peake Villas behaviour that started the whole incident and while Moroney was, as I said stupidly behaved, it wasn't he who caused the incident. And for the record I'm not a Town supporter.....................

serpico
29/04/2010, 10:57 AM

If what you say is correct then Peake villa must be awarded the points.ie match abandoned because of dangerous tackle which led to melée.if not what's stopping any club that's losing a game getting it abandoned in order to get a replay.don't agree what happened during the game but it happened and the tsdl and refs society are going to have to sort this out.

Quietman
29/04/2010, 11:21 AM
If what you say is correct then Peake villa must be awarded the points.ie match abandoned because of dangerous tackle which led to melée.if not what's stopping any club that's losing a game getting it abandoned in order to get a replay.don't agree what happened during the game but it happened and the tsdl and refs society are going to have to sort this out.
Absolute rubbish, just because a player is guilty of serious foul play, it doesn't warrant BOTH teams to act in the way they did. Both Teams are at fault for the melee as they should have left the referee deal with it. Furthermore the only responsibility of the referee society after this game is for the referee on the night to submit his report on the match to the league. It is solely the Leagus responsibilty to deal with the aftermath!!

smasher
29/04/2010, 11:44 AM
I've followed this since the outset and it looks to me that it will be the incident immediately preceeding the abandonement of the game that will be the deciding factor , not what caused the tackle.
That is the way it works. To do otherwise would not make sense.

jug2004
29/04/2010, 12:07 PM
I was over at the game and have been talking to a few players since.....there seem to be a number of things which have not been mentioned by supporters but which the players have said themselves and from talking to them i have gathered.

1. Richie Ryan did not see Tony Scully down injured and it was only when the Peake manager shouted to him to put the ball out he then did so - admittedly the keeper said he would have put it out once he saw tony himself but at the time he didnt.

2. Ye refer to peake being on the attack. When the ball was kicked out the attack had clearly ended as it was a hopeless ball over the top which the keeper collected easily at the edge of the box with no villa player within 10 yards of him. To suggest villla were on the attack at the time was wrong.

3. When Fogarty came and took the ball he was saying to those around him he was giving it back but when he ran in along he changed tune and then said that he didn't have to give it back (which as some have posted already he did not - but at the end of the day that was his choice). By saying he was giving it back the town players had moved out hence the reason none of them were near him when he recieved it and would not have been able to challenge it. For those saying 'why weren't the town players trying to stop him' it was apparently clear to everyone in the complex (in that moment) that the done thing to do is give the ball back in these circumstances and not even nostradamus himself could have seen what was coming so how were the town players expected to?

4. From talking to the villa players after they thought he was just going to kick the ball over the end line instead of knocking it back into the keepers hands. They said even when he proceeded to go around the keeper they thought it was for a joke and that he would leave it there on or near the line and never imagined that he would do what he did - even at that stage.

5. Yes people can say 'well anyone other than Barry Ryan would have been let score'. It is too late to say this once the game was over - and had never indicated this before hand. They had made the mistake in the first place and should have just swallowed their pride and let whoever it was to be knock the ball into the net. Are people really that petty? Would letting barry ryan be the one to knock it into the net be worse than what had happened 2 minutes before.

6. Yes what insued was totally wrong but this is junior football and to incite players in this manner who are not paid to keep their cool or to play football is totally wrong. Because it is Clonmel Town some think this is a typical reaction. However you have to ask yourself if you were playing in a game with such meaning for both teams and this happened to you how would you react????honestly....in the exact same infuriated manner i would imagine...no one could blame them.

I feel sorry for everyone involved and alot of the Peake players. The rivalry will be tarnished i fell in the future, to the degree that if i could get a few bob on a player getting sent off in the next meeting i would;) Its a really sad way to end what has been an excitiing season for the tsdl. Lets hope things dont get worse before they get better whatever the outcome and fallout may be from this.

serpico
29/04/2010, 12:09 PM
Absolute rubbish, just because a player is guilty of serious foul play, it doesn't warrant BOTH teams to act in the way they did. Both Teams are at fault for the melee as they should have left the referee deal with it. Furthermore the only responsibility of the referee society after this game is for the referee on the night to submit his report on the match to the league. It is solely the Leagus responsibilty to deal with the aftermath!!

I think you misunderstood me.what I mean to say is if the referee blames one of the clubs for causing melée will they not forfeit the game. A lot will depend on refs report so they have a big say in the outcome of the decision.was there members of tsdl at the game?

Tipp Top
29/04/2010, 1:14 PM
I was over at the game and have been talking to a few players since.....there seem to be a number of things which have not been mentioned by supporters but which the players have said themselves and from talking to them i have gathered.

1. Richie Ryan did not see Tony Scully down injured and it was only when the Peake manager shouted to him to put the ball out he then did so - admittedly the keeper said he would have put it out once he saw tony himself but at the time he didnt.

2. Ye refer to peake being on the attack. When the ball was kicked out the attack had clearly ended as it was a hopeless ball over the top which the keeper collected easily at the edge of the box with no villa player within 10 yards of him. To suggest villla were on the attack at the time was wrong.

3. When Fogarty came and took the ball he was saying to those around him he was giving it back but when he ran in along he changed tune and then said that he didn't have to give it back (which as some have posted already he did not - but at the end of the day that was his choice). By saying he was giving it back the town players had moved out hence the reason none of them were near him when he recieved it and would not have been able to challenge it. For those saying 'why weren't the town players trying to stop him' it was apparently clear to everyone in the complex (in that moment) that the done thing to do is give the ball back in these circumstances and not even nostradamus himself could have seen what was coming so how were the town players expected to?

4. From talking to the villa players after they thought he was just going to kick the ball over the end line instead of knocking it back into the keepers hands. They said even when he proceeded to go around the keeper they thought it was for a joke and that he would leave it there on or near the line and never imagined that he would do what he did - even at that stage.

5. Yes people can say 'well anyone other than Barry Ryan would have been let score'. It is too late to say this once the game was over - and had never indicated this before hand. They had made the mistake in the first place and should have just swallowed their pride and let whoever it was to be knock the ball into the net. Are people really that petty? Would letting barry ryan be the one to knock it into the net be worse than what had happened 2 minutes before.

6. Yes what insued was totally wrong but this is junior football and to incite players in this manner who are not paid to keep their cool or to play football is totally wrong. Because it is Clonmel Town some think this is a typical reaction. However you have to ask yourself if you were playing in a game with such meaning for both teams and this happened to you how would you react????honestly....in the exact same infuriated manner i would imagine...no one could blame them.

I feel sorry for everyone involved and alot of the Peake players. The rivalry will be tarnished i fell in the future, to the degree that if i could get a few bob on a player getting sent off in the next meeting i would;) Its a really sad way to end what has been an excitiing season for the tsdl. Lets hope things dont get worse before they get better whatever the outcome and fallout may be from this.

The best post so far and 100% accurate,that is to a tee exactly what happened

saintsfan
29/04/2010, 1:25 PM
The best post so far and 100% accurate,that is to a tee exactly what happened

Please dont turn this post in to the FAI Thread! If game is to be re-played, then let that happen. Villa will have to put in a huge effort to beat Town and Saints to win the league - as someone already said, you need a strong Ref, (but to be honest, there isnt too many of them in the TSDL League), P Keane is a good referee in my opinion but is from Clonmel Town, so he wont be doing it.
Town and Saint Michaels have had some really tough games over the years and often went off the boil. This is what happens when there are things at stake. Good luck to all teams left who have a chance in winning the league and let's hope we can look forward to an FAI semi final in Cahir in Sunday week who ever Town will be against.

bishbash
29/04/2010, 1:42 PM
Right a couple of points to make with regards what may happen now,

1. What fogarty did was the most unsporting thing a player could do, disgusting and embarrassing. I wouldnt want to be involved in anything like that at any time. But if we go by a rule book he has no case to answer. Please dont confuse this with me condoning it as i think it was distastefull in the extreme. However he actually broke no rule.

2. With regards to what happened after i can understand Clonmel Towns fury at peake not allowing them to score (regardless of who the player was) and while i'm not saying it was right for moroney to put the tackle in that he did i can only imagine how incensed he was at the previous actions that provoked him into it. Again the tackle was not right and he was correct in being sent off.

3. It seems to me at this point after the tackle that things got very heated, again understandably so. Now this is the real kicker anyone with any sense of social decency or moral ethics or even a degree of sportsmanship can see that Fogarty scoring the goal he did and peake preventing town from equalising actually caused the problems. However if this were to go to a meeting i fail to see how a committee can punish peake villa. From a a legal stand point did fogarty do anything wrong? the answer is no (unfortunately) Did they do anything wrong by stopping town score? again in theory no. Any official can only look at things from this point of view no matter how they may feel as individuals about the situation. So this brings us back to the Moroney tackle and from here on in is where any committee or body will have to start to look at the situation. It seems that after the tackle the scuffles broke out that led to the abadonment. Now we all now what caused Moroney to react the way he did but again in theory and in the rule book peake did nothing wrong ( however disgusting it was)

Quietman
29/04/2010, 2:00 PM
Please dont turn this post in to the FAI Thread!

Good point we've all had our say. Lets move on and await the replay!! Can't wait!

zizu's head
29/04/2010, 2:22 PM
So, in this case, once it became clear that Peake were going to continue playing, did the Clonmel Town players simply stop playing ? If they did, then they really cannot complain about the outcome.

This is the main point on this whole matter!!
When the Clonmel players saw that Peake intended to keep possession and play on, why did they just stand there and let them?? Surely the natural reaction would be to defend?
This is where this whole "expectation" that the ball will be given back becomes a farce!
I AM NOT saying that what Peake did was OK, nor am I saying that Clonmel Town were right to react ( or not react !! ). There is no rule to say that the ball "must" be given back, its as simple as that!!

Insidetherock
29/04/2010, 2:29 PM
This is the main point on this whole matter!!
When the Clonmel players saw that Peake intended to keep possession and play on, why did they just stand there and let them?? Surely the natural reaction would be to defend?
This is where this whole "expectation" that the ball will be given back becomes a farce!
I AM NOT saying that what Peake did was OK, nor am I saying that Clonmel Town were right to react ( or not react !! ). There is no rule to say that the ball "must" be given back, its as simple as that!!

My point exactly.

If Clonmel Town's player had simply followed the most basic rule of football, thought I imagine to their under-6's, there wouldn't be an issue.

Play to the whistle.

Quietman
29/04/2010, 2:39 PM
My point exactly.

If Clonmel Town's player had simply followed the most basic rule of football, thought I imagine to their under-6's, there wouldn't be an issue.

Play to the whistle.

HELLO, they wern't waiting for a whistle!!!!!

Tipp Top
29/04/2010, 2:56 PM
HELLO, they wern't waiting for a whistle!!!!!

The back 4 had pushed up,the throw was just across from the 18 yard box there were no defenders between fogarty and the goals as Villa had said they were returning the ball,none of this defending rubbish is relevant

Insidetherock
29/04/2010, 3:44 PM
The back 4 had pushed up,the throw was just across from the 18 yard box there were no defenders between fogarty and the goals as Villa had said they were returning the ball,none of this defending rubbish is relevant

It's perfectly relevant. You look after your own team and your own interests first. If they had played their own game and not had to worry about who the ball was been thrown into, there wouldn't have been a problem.

Redman028
30/04/2010, 10:30 AM
The Fai and the Munster junior cup have turned in to a bit of a farce this season so the last thing we need is the T.S.D.L to go down the same route. Hopefully Tom Lewis and Co will sort this situation out immediatley so we can then get on with the league and put this latest mess to the back of our minds :)

Pearoso27
30/04/2010, 10:47 AM
Someone correct me if im wrong (NO DOUBT SOMEONE WILL) but the TSDL Premier league table has been updated with the results of Tuesday nights game. So am i to assume that the result stands between Clonmel and Peake???
Just another couple of questions one of you might help me with if Aaroon received a straight red for what im assuming was violent conduct will he receive a 3 game ban? Could he possibly miss out on the FAI Semi Final who ever Town end up playing in it and i think it was Scully who got injured in the game how bad was his injury? Will he be out for long if at all?

nononsense
30/04/2010, 11:48 AM
Someone correct me if im wrong (NO DOUBT SOMEONE WILL) but the TSDL Premier league table has been updated with the results of Tuesday nights game. So am i to assume that the result stands between Clonmel and Peake???
Just another couple of questions one of you might help me with if Aaroon received a straight red for what im assuming was violent conduct will he receive a 3 game ban? Could he possibly miss out on the FAI Semi Final who ever Town end up playing in it and i think it was Scully who got injured in the game how bad was his injury? Will he be out for long if at all?
The league table DOESNOT and cannot take into account any game which failed to conclude until the relevant authority adjudicates on the outcome.
Any player given a red card in a league game automatically misses the next league game. Any further punishment, if necessary, will be decided by the relevant authority based on the referee's report.

saintsfan
30/04/2010, 11:56 AM
The Fai and the Munster junior cup have turned in to a bit of a farce this season so the last thing we need is the T.S.D.L to go down the same route. Hopefully Tom Lewis and Co will sort this situation out immediatley so we can then get on with the league and put this latest mess to the back of our minds :)

good point, like i said earlier, dont turn this thread into the FAI thread, just get on with it at this stage, I would assume Aaron Moroney will miss 3 games like Pearso27 said for a straight red, whether it is league, fai or whatever, dont think it matters what way they fall, the punishment just goes hand in hand with whatever games are coming up.