View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2009/10
Roberto
07/04/2010, 3:37 PM
[QUOTE=Town Fan;1343858]Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season[QUOTE]
I only used McKells name as an example earlier but You seem to know "Jimmy" fairly well Town Fan. Is he a friend?? But I must say for such a "poor" referee as you put it, he seems to be doing vwell at Loi level. Is this where you've seen his improvements as I haven't seen much of him locally in years!!
I find it hard to believe that McKell is a LOI referee. This is the same guy that the League has effectively banned from reffing Premier League games since he messed up the Villa and Celtic game a few weeks back. I'm open to correction here but that game was early February and since then for the last 2 months he has been dishing out his poor decisions to teams in the second, third and fourth divisions. If ever there was a good reason not to get relegated from the first division there's one :o
Quietman
07/04/2010, 4:39 PM
[QUOTE=Quietman;1343871][QUOTE=Town Fan;1343858]Jimmy is a poor referee but I don't think he goes out to "do" anyone. I believe Jimmy has an ego problem but I must admit he has improved this season
I find it hard to believe that McKell is a LOI referee. This is the same guy that the League has effectively banned from reffing Premier League games since he messed up the Villa and Celtic game a few weeks back. I'm open to correction here but that game was early February and since then for the last 2 months he has been dishing out his poor decisions to teams in the second, third and fourth divisions. If ever there was a good reason not to get relegated from the first division there's one :o
I feel a case of deja vu here, Correct me if I'm wrong guys.................................Roberto is a supporter of Celtic who were beaten in said game and blames the referee!! Is this not just my point from earlier!!
drought90
07/04/2010, 6:19 PM
I haven't been on in a while but things have not changed...Quietman some of your comments are outrageously bad and as for town and complexman, they are not much better and are so pro town it's unbelievable,no credit is given to any other team.The only decent comment over the last page and a half was written by 'articulate damo'...your piece was very well phrased and you made some good points.This bickering is mad but it's fun to see how wound up everyone gets.
Quietman
07/04/2010, 6:53 PM
[QUOTE=drought90;1343998]Quietman some of your comments are outrageously bad and as for town and complexman, they are not much better and are so pro town it's unbelievable,no credit is given to any other team.QUOTE]
Yeah theres been a "drought" of decent conversation.........boom boom!!
Seriously though Which comments were outrageous????? You guys are so easily upset!!
Roberto
07/04/2010, 7:28 PM
[QUOTE=Roberto;1343921][QUOTE=Quietman;1343871]
I feel a case of deja vu here, Correct me if I'm wrong guys.................................Roberto is a supporter of Celtic who were beaten in said game and blames the referee!! Is this not just my point from earlier!!
And my point being that the referee was so poor on that particular day that the League has since effectively banned him from the Premier League. All the evidence would suggest this as he has not reffed a Premier League game since early February, hardly a co-incidence???
Quietman
07/04/2010, 7:43 PM
[QUOTE=Quietman;1343950][QUOTE=Roberto;1343921]
And my point being that the referee was so poor on that particular day that the League has since effectively banned him from the Premier League. All the evidence would suggest this as he has not reffed a Premier League game since early February, hardly a co-incidence???
Let me get my head around your statement here, In your opinion The Tsdl who are an affiliated body of the Fai have "banned" a referee from refereeing local premier matches. The Fai have appointed the same referee to, as far as I can see on the Loi website "Stats Centre", 4 Airtricity League Div 1 games, as the referee in the first 4 weeks of the Airtricity League season. Now imo it's probably more likely that the Tsdl are giving the guys who are only doing junior games the top junior games. Afaik this is the way it's done in most other leagues.
Referee09
07/04/2010, 7:52 PM
Just to let you know guys, The Fai have issued a directive to all Leagues that, National League Referees are not to be used on the top local Junior cup and league games. These are to be kept for the local refs who are doing junior matches week in week out......... so that might help your arguement.
Insidetherock
07/04/2010, 10:08 PM
Just to let you know guys, The Fai have issued a directive to all Leagues that, National League Referees are not to be used on the top local Junior cup and league games. These are to be kept for the local refs who are doing junior matches week in week out......... so that might help your arguement.
If that is the case Referee, and I don't doubt you, then in my opinion, it is one of the most spectacularly stupid things I have ever heard. Are you honestly telling me, that the FAI has effectively banned the best referees in the local leagues, from officiating at the most important games in the local leagues, thus allowing lower standard referees their "day in the sun" ?
That makes no sense at all. That's like the IRFU telling Munster or Leinster not to pick the international players in Heineken Cup games, but to give a run out to their squad members who plod through the Magniers League.
As for the wider debate, I have great sympathy for the referees, not only in the TSDL but in every league. It's hard having just two eyes, when a couple of hundred eyes think they can see every single thing going on on the pitch, and that's without even accounting for bias that supporters enjoy. Every single club could point to 50/50 decisions that they did or didn't get in a season, but a ref only has to make one mistake and he is branded forever.
So give the ref's a chance. But, for Jesus sake, remove that stupid directive.
Referee09
07/04/2010, 10:31 PM
If that is the case Referee, and I don't doubt you, then in my opinion, it is one of the most spectacularly stupid things I have ever heard. Are you honestly telling me, that the FAI has effectively banned the best referees in the local leagues, from officiating at the most important games in the local leagues, thus allowing lower standard referees their "day in the sun" ?
That makes no sense at all. That's like the IRFU telling Munster or Leinster not to pick the international players in Heineken Cup games, but to give a run out to their squad members who plod through the Magniers League.
As for the wider debate, I have great sympathy for the referees, not only in the TSDL but in every league. It's hard having just two eyes, when a couple of hundred eyes think they can see every single thing going on on the pitch, and that's without even accounting for bias that supporters enjoy. Every single club could point to 50/50 decisions that they did or didn't get in a season, but a ref only has to make one mistake and he is branded forever.
So give the ref's a chance. But, for Jesus sake, remove that stupid directive.
From What I understand of the directive, and I haven't actually seen a hard copy of it, it's in the interest of fairness. Give the local referees the local games and give the national referees the national games. Im not saying that I agree with it, but thats the directive. I honestly don't think the national referees are too bothered and it keeps the local referees happy. I bet if you looked back over the last two seasons fixtures in your league, that the referee mentioned earlier won't have refereed many top local games.
Jesus, people get very upset on here. Surely, a "forum" by it's very definition should be one that permits the free flow of opinion, regardless of whether one agrees with that opinion, or not. An awful lot of posts on here reflect blatant parochialism, which the culprits don't have the honesty to admit to, but instead mask it by accusing those who with disagree with their views as being ANTI this or that. Referee09 should be held up as an example. Refs have been criticised on here (heavily so, by myself) and he just comes on gives the facts as he sees them. For that he deserves huge respect.
Quietman
08/04/2010, 11:43 AM
Jesus, people get very upset on here. Surely, a "forum" by it's very definition should be one that permits the free flow of opinion, regardless of whether one agrees with that opinion, or not. An awful lot of posts on here reflect blatant parochialism, which the culprits don't have the honesty to admit to, but instead mask it by accusing those who with disagree with their views as being ANTI this or that. Referee09 should be held up as an example. Refs have been criticised on here (heavily so, by myself) and he just comes on gives the facts as he sees them. For that he deserves huge respect.
Very well said Damo. We all differ in opinion, and as you put it, that is what a forum is and in fact should be about.
Also referee09, seen as it was a refereeing decision that started this little "debate" could you please, if possible answer the following? Should a lino call a referee over, if he believes that the referee has wrongly awarded a penalty?
Roberto
08/04/2010, 3:51 PM
Very well said Damo. We all differ in opinion, and as you put it, that is what a forum is and in fact should be about.
Also referee09, seen as it was a refereeing decision that started this little "debate" could you please, if possible answer the following? Should a lino call a referee over, if he believes that the referee has wrongly awarded a penalty?
I know your question is directed elsewhere but I would be of the opinion the lino is perfectly entitled to call referee over if he believes he has made the wrong decision. Afterall a lino's job is to assist the referee and if he believes he has additional information that may alter a referee's decision he should be obliged to bring this to the referee's attention. Whether the referee takes his advice/opinion on board is entirely up to him as he has final say on all matters.
I wasn't at the Town/Tramore game but it would appear that the main source of frustration is that the referee actually gave the peno and then changed his mind after consulting with linesman. Would it have been possible for the referee to briefly consult with linesman before awarding the penalty i.e. the player goes down in the box , the referee blows his whistle to halt play while glancing at his linesman for an indication as to whether he is in a position to assist. Assuming that the lineman saw the player dive he would at this stage summon the referee over and the referee would resume play with, as occured in this case, a booking and a free out. What I am trying to suggest is that maybe referees can be impulsive and make hasty decisions at times where a more calculated response taking on board the view of his assistant may be the better course of action??
Insidetherock
08/04/2010, 4:26 PM
Does anyone know what the fixtures committee are up to regarding the Clonmel Town game this weekend ?
I've heard that there may be some messing going on. Clonmel Town are down to play both Peake Villa and Cashel Town on Sunday (provisionally), and also have 5 or 6 players required for Oscar Traynor tomorrow night. From what I have heard, they don't want to play Peake two days after an Oscar Traynor game, which is fair enough given that the result will have a big bearing on where the title will go, but they have threathened to pull their players from the Oscar Traynor squad unless they get some clarification beforehand.
What is happening here does anyone know ? Personally, I think it's unfair on Clonmel Town to start to get messed around at this stage of the season by the league, given that they have a large number of very important games coming up, which will have a bearing on where trophies end up locally, provincially and nationally
Regarding Clonmel, that's absolutely crazy, if that is the case. It also begs the question as to why Oscar Traynor games are taking place at weekends rather than midweek.
Insidetherock
09/04/2010, 9:15 AM
It is crazy.. here's the link to the weekend fixtures
http://www.tsdl.ie/fixtures/?FixID=1078
Roberto
09/04/2010, 9:29 AM
It is crazy.. here's the link to the weekend fixtures
http://www.tsdl.ie/fixtures/?FixID=1078
My understanding is that the League games scheduled are dependant on clubs not having players involved in the Oscar Traynor match on Friday night. If they don't have players involved or choose to withdraw players who have been selected then their league games will go ahead.
ponyobrien
09/04/2010, 4:38 PM
My understanding is that the League games scheduled are dependant on clubs not having players involved in the Oscar Traynor match on Friday night. If they don't have players involved or choose to withdraw players who have been selected then their league games will go ahead.
Normally this is the case, but it seems Tommy Lewis expects them to play 2 games this weekend
nononsense
09/04/2010, 9:10 PM
Oscar Traynor Result - Tipperary Southern District league 1, Cork A.U.L 2.
ponyobrien
09/04/2010, 9:15 PM
Oscar Traynor Result - Tipperary Southern District league 1, Cork A.U.L 2.
TSDL were very unlucky. 2 cracking goals by Cork, but they were the only chances they created. The ref was poor and favoured Cork with most decisions
nononsense
09/04/2010, 9:52 PM
TSDL were very unlucky. 2 cracking goals by Cork, but they were the only chances they created. The ref was poor and favoured Cork with most decisions
Totally agree. TSDL were excellent and didn't deserve to lose. Went ahead early through Scully, level 1-1 at halftime. TSDL dominated the second half but were caught with an excellent Cork goal against the run of play 4 minutes from the end. The players can be very proud of this display.
West Hammer
11/04/2010, 10:57 AM
I heard from a Saints committee member that the Saints - Pike mess is up in front of the senior council at 8pm this Tuesday night, hopefully we get a final decision and one way or another we can look forward to a great FAI semi final in Cahir. Well done to Saints on winning the Tipperary Youth Cup on Saturday, Clerihan scored first but that was their only chance and Saints played the better football for the rest of the game and ran out 4 - 1 winners.
Tipp Top
11/04/2010, 5:05 PM
thoroughly enjoyed the cashel v clonmel town league game today in glorious sunshine,thought cashel were very unlucky to go in behind at half time,micky coleman for me was the best player on the field i thought he was excellent,3-0 flattered clonmel town a bit,2 for Barry Ryan and 1 for one of the town youths who played in midfield and was also very impressive,with one or two additions i think cashel can push on a little more next season
blackjack
11/04/2010, 5:19 PM
I heard from a Saints committee member that the Saints - Pike mess is up in front of the senior council at 8pm this Tuesday night, hopefully we get a final decision and one way or another we can look forward to a great FAI semi final in Cahir. Well done to Saints on winning the Tipperary Youth Cup on Saturday, Clerihan scored first but that was their only chance and Saints played the better football for the rest of the game and ran out 4 - 1 winners.
it is on at 3.30 but st micheals should be thrown out by 8.00 if the fai have b*lls.
whats the story with tommy heffernan over there.is he still playing for the saints.
littleman
11/04/2010, 7:36 PM
Ye lost at home Friday night,in the Oscar.In a game ye should have won,,,,,,,,,,,,,,are ye not odd,,,,,even a little bit,,,,,forgive me but i find it a little strange that ye just pawn it off,,,,,,,,,,,,
was still with them up to few weeks ago, has not scored too many goals in tsdl though, they have there main striker paul kennedy back fit again for run in to the season so dunno will tommy get many starts between now and end of season
littleman dont think too many are bothered about oscar traynor, all top clubs in tipp are still involved in league and cups so there was no training or anything for oscar traynor, the manager cant even announce squads in press cause its embarressing when half the squad dont show for game, but there is serious talent in tipp premier so whatever team they do get out will put it up to anyone, my opinion is tsdl will always put out a decent but unprepared team, who will give a 100% but either way are not too bothered if they lose hence no talk about friday nights loss on here
Insidetherock
11/04/2010, 9:02 PM
thoroughly enjoyed the cashel v clonmel town league game today in glorious sunshine,thought cashel were very unlucky to go in behind at half time,micky coleman for me was the best player on the field i thought he was excellent,3-0 flattered clonmel town a bit,2 for Barry Ryan and 1 for one of the town youths who played in midfield and was also very impressive,with one or two additions i think cashel can push on a little more next season
Have to agree with you there Tipp Top.. great to see the season ending in much the saem weather conditions as it started too, glorious sunshine.
Looking back on the season, Cashel can be happy enough with their league position I think. I know we all at the club got carried away during pre-season, but I hope people go easy on us, if we don't talk up our own team, well we're hardly supporters then are we ;)
In the end, we probably finished where we deserved, definitely not in a relegation fight, but also still a bit outside the top four. The results against Peake show though, that we can compete with the best on any given day, but we need to be able to compete with these teams consistently. Only a few times this season did we seem completely out of our depth.
It was also good to see that the mid season problems with management seem to have finally been put behind the club and well done to Eddie Walsh for stepping up in the second half of the season. But, even Eddie will probably be happy that it looks like the committee have sorted out a new manager for next season, and he's got plenty of experience in improving a club and getting the best out of the resources that he has to work with. Hopefully he'll do it again next season.
Also, Rosegreen look like they have blown a return to the Premier League next year with the loss to Galbally today and that means that there will likely be less competition between the clubs for potential players and also a possibility maybe to signing some of the current Rosegreen team who might fancy Premier football next year.
As for todays game, Clonmel were flattered by the scoreline in the end, but that's what really good teams do, win ugly. The two goals by Barry Ryan also showed Cashel Town what they missed out on when they were unable to sign him at the start of the season. He's a class player, fair play to him.
Best of luck to Clonmel Town in the FAI as well, because it's time that everyone in the league got behind the leagues representatives in all competitions. It shows the strenght of the league in Tipperary.
Finally, well done to Cashel Town B team as well. Division 3 league champions to go with the Shield they won earlier this year. The club is on the up and the game of football in the town is definitely gaining in strenght. Hopefully we can start seeing that begin again at juvenile level as well in the next few years.
All in all, time to pat ourselves on the back for a decent season.
See you all in September :p
Insidetherock
11/04/2010, 9:06 PM
littleman dont think too many are bothered about oscar traynor, all top clubs in tipp are still involved in league and cups so there was no training or anything for oscar traynor, the manager cant even announce squads in press cause its embarressing when half the squad dont show for game, but there is serious talent in tipp premier so whatever team they do get out will put it up to anyone, my opinion is tsdl will always put out a decent but unprepared team, who will give a 100% but either way are not too bothered if they lose hence no talk about friday nights loss on here
Well said Balls.. with Clonmel Town in the FAI semis, Michaels potentially there, and with Celtic and Peake not far off either teams standards, along with a few very talented players sprinkled in the other teams, the TSDL is right up there with any league in the country, and should be challenging for the Oscar Traynor every year
avenueC
12/04/2010, 4:35 PM
according to reports ye should have put cork away in the oscars?
where are they strong or weak so we can beat em!!!!! :-)
CashelMan
12/04/2010, 7:41 PM
Have to agree with you there Tipp Top.. great to see the season ending in much the saem weather conditions as it started too, glorious sunshine.
Looking back on the season, Cashel can be happy enough with their league position I think. I know we all at the club got carried away during pre-season, but I hope people go easy on us, if we don't talk up our own team, well we're hardly supporters then are we ;)
In the end, we probably finished where we deserved, definitely not in a relegation fight, but also still a bit outside the top four. The results against Peake show though, that we can compete with the best on any given day, but we need to be able to compete with these teams consistently. Only a few times this season did we seem completely out of our depth.
It was also good to see that the mid season problems with management seem to have finally been put behind the club and well done to Eddie Walsh for stepping up in the second half of the season. But, even Eddie will probably be happy that it looks like the committee have sorted out a new manager for next season, and he's got plenty of experience in improving a club and getting the best out of the resources that he has to work with. Hopefully he'll do it again next season.
Also, Rosegreen look like they have blown a return to the Premier League next year with the loss to Galbally today and that means that there will likely be less competition between the clubs for potential players and also a possibility maybe to signing some of the current Rosegreen team who might fancy Premier football next year.
As for todays game, Clonmel were flattered by the scoreline in the end, but that's what really good teams do, win ugly. The two goals by Barry Ryan also showed Cashel Town what they missed out on when they were unable to sign him at the start of the season. He's a class player, fair play to him.
Best of luck to Clonmel Town in the FAI as well, because it's time that everyone in the league got behind the leagues representatives in all competitions. It shows the strenght of the league in Tipperary.
Finally, well done to Cashel Town B team as well. Division 3 league champions to go with the Shield they won earlier this year. The club is on the up and the game of football in the town is definitely gaining in strenght. Hopefully we can start seeing that begin again at juvenile level as well in the next few years.
All in all, time to pat ourselves on the back for a decent season.
See you all in September :p
Well said Rock.you summed it all up there..Cashel were excellent against town on sunday and they were missing a good few players and some players out of postion,3nil was a bit flattering indeed.they were definitly alot stronger than us but they were coming off the back of alot of games while cashel hadnt trained or played a game in at least a month,so we should give credit where credit is due.
lets hope the team can stay together cause theres a few rumours going around that i hope arent true.so lets build on this season cause from watchin a few games this season they are well capable.
id like to say congrats to the B team,they did brilliant in climbing up the league ladder,it will be alot tougher next year but we'll be well up for it.and we had a great night last night celebrating.well done lads.
heres to next season
nononsense
12/04/2010, 7:42 PM
according to reports ye should have put cork away in the oscars?
where are they strong or weak so we can beat em!!!!! :-)
TSDL were far the better side. Played magnificent football, didn't deserve to lose. Weakness with final touch in front of goal cost them dearly. Cork, in a rare attack, scored a cracking goal four minutes from time which proved to be the winner. Cork were well organised and are obviously training together on a regular basis. They had an excellent goalkeeper from Wilton (he had an italian name). Coincidentally both their goals came from another Wilton player, no 10, who was their best player. I think they are at home in the semi-final which will make them favourites but they are certainly beatable.
complexman
13/04/2010, 6:35 AM
Don't know if anyone else heard Extra time on Tipp FM last night, well ONCE AGAIN it was a disgrace. The two Munster Junior Cup semi finals are on next Sunday and Muiris Walsh got barely five minutes on them. Yet they talked for at least 20minutes on Gaelic football. Fair enough with the U-21s in the semi final but on that nobody from the high school after they winning the All Ireland. [/SIZE]
Back to the soccer coverage. They spoke about Rugby for over 10 minutes if not 15. What really annoyed me was they had some young fellow on from Fethard who won some boxing title. Yet two big games involving Tipp teams gets two minutes air time, near the end of the show. They are a joke in that station. They have a fantastic analyst and football man in Muiris Walsh and they barely use him. In no way could you say that they give a fair amount of coverage to football. Yes they have the draws for the domestic cup on the radio, but they coverage on a Monday is poor. Its always stuck in somewhere.
A joke. As was said before, they should give Muiris his own show, if only for a half hour. Jesus, look at the success of all Tipperary teams over the past twenty years. I think soccer is treated very poorly by our own station
complexman
13/04/2010, 7:48 AM
TSDL were far the better side. Played magnificent football, didn't deserve to lose. Weakness with final touch in front of goal cost them dearly. Cork, in a rare attack, scored a cracking goal four minutes from time which proved to be the winner. Cork were well organised and are obviously training together on a regular basis. They had an excellent goalkeeper from Wilton (he had an italian name). Coincidentally both their goals came from another Wilton player, no 10, who was their best player. I think they are at home in the semi-final which will make them favourites but they are certainly beatable.
was at the game and TSDL were very unlucky. Would agree that the TSDL were the better side but Cork played more as a unit
nononsense
13/04/2010, 1:08 PM
Don't know if anyone else heard Extra time on Tipp FM last night, well ONCE AGAIN it was a disgrace. The two Munster Junior Cup semi finals are on next Sunday and Muiris Walsh got barely five minutes on them. Yet they talked for at least 20minutes on Gaelic football. Fair enough with the U-21s in the semi final but on that nobody from the high school after they winning the All Ireland. [/SIZE]
Back to the soccer coverage. They spoke about Rugby for over 10 minutes if not 15. What really annoyed me was they had some young fellow on from Fethard who won some boxing title. Yet two big games involving Tipp teams gets two minutes air time, near the end of the show. They are a joke in that station. They have a fantastic analyst and football man in Muiris Walsh and they barely use him. In no way could you say that they give a fair amount of coverage to football. Yes they have the draws for the domestic cup on the radio, but they coverage on a Monday is poor. Its always stuck in somewhere.
A joke. As was said before, they should give Muiris his own show, if only for a half hour. Jesus, look at the success of all Tipperary teams over the past twenty years. I think soccer is treated very poorly by our own station
Totally agree. The coverage of local soccer on both TIPP FM and Tipp MIDWEST is very poor. A dedicated programme for the TSDL of say 30 minutes per week is needed and if enough clubs demanded it we could succeed. Perhaps now is the time to set the ball rolling for next season. It would be nice to get presenters who have good knowledge of the local scene but are not attached to any club. It annoys me when local radio stations spend time discussing national sports - local radio stations should concentrate on local sports within their listening radius. If I want to hear a discussion on the englsh premiership I will get more than enough of it on national radio.
complexman
13/04/2010, 1:45 PM
I think it would be great but I don't think the drive is there within the TSDL or Tipp FM. If it where to happen, who would you get to present it. I wouldn't have a problem with Muiris as I think he is great. He is very opinionated but I don't think he could be accused of being biased. If you tuned in and didn't know who he was, you wouldn't think that he was attached to any club.
Also he has presented that show on a monday night and did an excellent job.
Still other clubs may not like the idea of him doing it
thoughts anyone?
Get Muiris in to present and have regular contributors / contributions from club PROs and ordinary supporters comments via text, etc. Could make for an informative and entertaining show. Model it on Newstalk's 'Off the Ball' but within a purely local context. It would need to be more than half an hour though. An hour would be the optimum time to give it a fair chance of working.
Pearoso27
14/04/2010, 12:20 PM
Get Muiris in to present and have regular contributors / contributions from club PROs and ordinary supporters comments via text, etc. Could make for an informative and entertaining show. Model it on Newstalk's 'Off the Ball' but within a purely local context. It would need to be more than half an hour though. An hour would be the optimum time to give it a fair chance of working.
This is a fine idea indeed but Muiris could not be the presenter! He's a Clonmel Town man he does give a good account of himself on the radio but wears his colours openly at matches and couldn't be impartial.
You would need someone involved in the radio to be a mediator and total control of the show because I could imagine it get heated at times, id imagine most of the talk would be about refs anyway!
Pearoso27
14/04/2010, 12:32 PM
The Senior Council have ruled in favour of St.Michaels its all over the FAI Junior Forum Clonmel Town V St.Michaels in FAI Semi Final. This will not be for the faint hearted Michaels have to improve form if they are to win this, Town must be favourites. Pressure is all on Town!
complexman
14/04/2010, 12:38 PM
This is a fine idea indeed but Muiris could not be the presenter! He's a Clonmel Town man he does give a good account of himself on the radio but wears his colours openly at matches and couldn't be impartial.
You would need someone involved in the radio to be a mediator and total control of the show because I could imagine it get heated at times, id imagine most of the talk would be about refs anyway!
What do you expect him to do at matches!! He is very impartial on that show and your sly comment that it would all be about refs is unfair. Muiris talks about refs if he has to and he doesn't give out about them that mutch.
I think he would be ideal
Insidetherock
14/04/2010, 12:39 PM
Are you suggesting that because Muiris openly supports his club, he couldn't be impartial ? If you were going to use that yardstick, then nobody with an interest in football could host a show, as anyone with an interest in local football would support a team, and anyone without an interest in local soccer wouldn't have the information needed to make any show worth listening to. It's kind of a catch 22.
In fact, having someone like Muiris present it would be as good as you get, because a. he would have to temper his biases to make sure he was impartial, and b. people would know before they start where his support lies.. far better to have that than someone who claims to be completely nuetral but yet hides an allegiance to which he extends his biases
As for a show which would mainly target referees... it would be a waste of time and would be off the air pretty quickly. The referees wouldn't accept being made figures of hate or ridicule on local radio week after week, and would get onto the TSDL to ask for the programme to be pulled or they woudl stop refereeing games. And they would be right to. I keep saying this about referees... the greatest criticism comes from people who wouldn't dare pick up a whistle themselves.
They have to make calls which others wouldn't, and they don't have the benefit of the hundreds of eyes that supporters have on the line. Also, and lets be honest, every single person that posts here complaining about referees, usually does so in a biased fashion i.e. stating that he "did" their club. For every bad decision a referee gives against a supporters club, I bet they would be happy if he gave it to their club and they benefitted. You can't have it both ways.
As for getting local radio airplay, people here could get together and lobby the radio stations for better coverage. Perhaps get each club to sign a petition at their games showing interest in such a show. Also, get the league involved, and get them to push for a slot. But bear in mind, radio stations are commercial entities. They are not going to give over prime time radio slots because a small number of very interested, very dedicated local football supporters want them to.
If all goes to all... create your own show. Make a podcast once a week and post it either on a thread like this, or on the TSDL mainpage.. it's not really that hard to do.
complexman
14/04/2010, 1:11 PM
The Senior Council have ruled in favour of St.Michaels its all over the FAI Junior Forum Clonmel Town V St.Michaels in FAI Semi Final. This will not be for the faint hearted Michaels have to improve form if they are to win this, Town must be favourites. Pressure is all on Town!
Nice try- given that Michaels already knock Town out of one cup this season, they must be favourites. Get John Lyons to ref it and you will have no problems
nononsense
14/04/2010, 2:32 PM
Pike Rovers now have the right to go to Artbitration and must do so within 4 days. they will more than likely go down this road. This will push any semi-final well into May. A bit premature yet to be talking up a St.Michaels-Clonmel Town clash.
Referee09
14/04/2010, 3:29 PM
Nice try- given that Michaels already knock Town out of one cup this season, they must be favourites. Get John Lyons to ref it and you will have no problems
Sure it wouldn't matter who you get to Ref it, Michaels will get the rub of the green 'cos all refs hate Town.............don't they?? :rolleyes::p:rolleyes:
Are you suggesting that because Muiris openly supports his club, he couldn't be impartial ? If you were going to use that yardstick, then nobody with an interest in football could host a show, as anyone with an interest in local football would support a team, and anyone without an interest in local soccer wouldn't have the information needed to make any show worth listening to. It's kind of a catch 22.
In fact, having someone like Muiris present it would be as good as you get, because a. he would have to temper his biases to make sure he was impartial, and b. people would know before they start where his support lies.. far better to have that than someone who claims to be completely nuetral but yet hides an allegiance to which he extends his biases
As for a show which would mainly target referees... it would be a waste of time and would be off the air pretty quickly. The referees wouldn't accept being made figures of hate or ridicule on local radio week after week, and would get onto the TSDL to ask for the programme to be pulled or they woudl stop refereeing games. And they would be right to. I keep saying this about referees... the greatest criticism comes from people who wouldn't dare pick up a whistle themselves.
They have to make calls which others wouldn't, and they don't have the benefit of the hundreds of eyes that supporters have on the line. Also, and lets be honest, every single person that posts here complaining about referees, usually does so in a biased fashion i.e. stating that he "did" their club. For every bad decision a referee gives against a supporters club, I bet they would be happy if he gave it to their club and they benefitted. You can't have it both ways.
As for getting local radio airplay, people here could get together and lobby the radio stations for better coverage. Perhaps get each club to sign a petition at their games showing interest in such a show. Also, get the league involved, and get them to push for a slot. But bear in mind, radio stations are commercial entities. They are not going to give over prime time radio slots because a small number of very interested, very dedicated local football supporters want them to.
If all goes to all... create your own show. Make a podcast once a week and post it either on a thread like this, or on the TSDL mainpage.. it's not really that hard to do.
Very well said. Agree with everything in there. Lobbying the stations is a super idea. Commerical entities they may be but in the marketing domintated world we live in surely even local radio stations have to listen to what their customers want and satisfy that need. Every other succesful private or public entity servicing customers can only be successful by doing so. Off The Ball is a great show but (and I'm open to correction) I don't think they've ever done a feature of note on local/junior soccer in this country. Tipp stations could lead the way on this and set the template to be followed.
ponyobrien
14/04/2010, 10:22 PM
all refs hate Town.............don't they?? :rolleyes::p:rolleyes:
Far from it
Pearoso27
15/04/2010, 11:30 AM
What do you expect him to do at matches!! He is very impartial on that show and your sly comment that it would all be about refs is unfair. Muiris talks about refs if he has to and he doesn't give out about them that mutch.
I think he would be ideal
Complexman,Insidetherock please take a chill pill!
Do you see the way i have two paragraphs in my post, this means that i have moved on from one subject to another. You were able to blank out everything else in between and link up what i said about Muiris and what i said the radio show would be about. There wasnt any sly comments please grow up.
I never suggested anything of the sort please give it a rest ye have the ability to see around corners!
Quietman
15/04/2010, 2:09 PM
Complexman,Insidetherock please take a chill pill!
Do you see the way i have two paragraphs in my post, this means that i have moved on from one subject to another. You were able to blank out everything else in between and link up what i said about Muiris and what i said the radio show would be about. There wasnt any sly comments please grow up.
I never suggested anything of the sort please give it a rest ye have the ability to see around corners!
Lads, some of the guys on here just love to have a go and rant. Chill out, read an entire post before replying, maybe even read it twice!! And as Pearso said, Grow Up ffs!!
complexman
15/04/2010, 3:00 PM
Ok so its agreed that I am a child- accept that. On a serious note, everybody here would like
1) A dedicated Local soccer show or at the very least increased coverage
2) Muiris Walsh who is PRO of Clonmel Town is already part of Tipp FM- do we all agree he is an excellent analyst and a great football person
3) I think he is imparital on the show and has proven that ovet the last number of years, so if he isn't to present such a show- who could?
Roberto
15/04/2010, 3:45 PM
Ok so its agreed that I am a child- accept that. On a serious note, everybody here would like
1) A dedicated Local soccer show or at the very least increased coverage
2) Muiris Walsh who is PRO of Clonmel Town is already part of Tipp FM- do we all agree he is an excellent analyst and a great football person
3) I think he is imparital on the show and has proven that ovet the last number of years, so if he isn't to present such a show- who could?
Does that mean that as well as reading a lot of rubbish on here we would have to listen to it on the radio as well...........;););)