View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2009/10
ponyobrien
22/03/2010, 10:36 PM
Handy final for town.
I hope you'll offer to eat your hat
Town Fan
23/03/2010, 7:20 AM
I hope you'll offer to eat your hat
well said poney- this game is going to be very, very tight. this will be far from handy for Town
nothing between the sides. just hope Paddy Keane keeps control and that the players go out and play football.
Poolman
23/03/2010, 8:43 AM
well said poney- this game is going to be very, very tight. this will be far from handy for Town
nothing between the sides. just hope Paddy Keane keeps control and that the players go out and play football.
Do celtic fancy their chances.saw them against janesboro and they weren't a bad little side.did many of them play for town before?
serpico
23/03/2010, 11:13 AM
Pike and st michaels replay date to be confirmed prob sun week unless st michaels appeal junior council decision
nononsense
23/03/2010, 2:37 PM
Pike and st michaels replay date to be confirmed prob sun week unless st michaels appeal junior council decision
What a shameful decision by the F.A.I to replay the St.Michaels/Pike Rovers game. St.Michaels lodged an objection as to legality of the Pike Rovers team. The objection was found to be in order and correct. By rule St.Michaels should play Clonmel Town in the semi-final and Pike Rovers eliminated. Not according to the F.A.I. The team which did everything above board and abided by the rules of the competition must play again the team which did not abide by the rules of the competition and was illegal. And what must Clonmel Town make of this. Think back to the Munster Junior Cup a few seasons ago. Pike Rovers objected to Clonmel Town. Town were deemed to have played an illegal player in contravention of the rules of that time and were eliminated. No offer of a replay. St.Michaels and Clonmel Town must be very disappointed at the F.A.I. decision. Saints, who have done no wrong, can either replay as instructed or make an expensive appeal to F.A.I. Senior Council. In the meantime Clonmel Town must wait helplessly for the outcome, hardly the correct motivation. The
hooper74
23/03/2010, 2:44 PM
What a shameful decision by the F.A.I to replay the St.Michaels/Pike Rovers game. St.Michaels lodged an objection as to legality of the Pike Rovers team. The objection was found to be in order and correct. By rule St.Michaels should play Clonmel Town in the semi-final and Pike Rovers eliminated. Not according to the F.A.I. The team which did everything above board and abided by the rules of the competition must play again the team which did not abide by the rules of the competition and was illegal. And what must Clonmel Town make of this. Think back to the Munster Junior Cup a few seasons ago. Pike Rovers objected to Clonmel Town. Town were deemed to have played an illegal player in contravention of the rules of that time and were eliminated. No offer of a replay. St.Michaels and Clonmel Town must be very disappointed at the F.A.I. decision. Saints, who have done no wrong, can either replay as instructed or make an expensive appeal to F.A.I. Senior Council. In the meantime Clonmel Town must wait helplessly for the outcome, hardly the correct motivation. The
its a disgraceful decision for the FAI to have taken....there is no precedent for a replay,either Pike broke the rules and should be out or else found innocent and into a semi final,it may be an expensive process but i have no doubt saints will appeal and with John Delaney head of the senior council surely common sense will prevail and Pike will be thrown out
saintsfan
23/03/2010, 3:02 PM
No such replay will be taking place. Saints taking this to the Senior Council. Pike should be thrown out. Cop out decision by FAI to try and keep the peace!
serpico
23/03/2010, 3:51 PM
its a disgraceful decision for the FAI to have taken....there is no precedent for a replay,either Pike broke the rules and should be out or else found innocent and into a semi final,it may be an expensive process but i have no doubt saints will appeal and with John Delaney head of the senior council surely common sense will prevail and Pike will be thrown out
For someone who wasn't objecting in the first place ye have all changed yere minds.according to Ray mc ye weren't objecting only for Connie carry on which was all hearsay anyway.there was a fourth official there and he saw nothing in it.this pike should be aggrieved at this decision as they did nothing wrong only won a game .here we go again with yere sugardaddy Delaney
Tipp Top
23/03/2010, 4:01 PM
For someone who wasn't objecting in the first place ye have all changed yere minds.according to Ray mc ye weren't objecting only for Connie carry on which was all hearsay anyway.there was a fourth official there and he saw nothing in it.this pike should be aggrieved at this decision as they did nothing wrong only won a game .here we go again with yere sugardaddy Delaney
Surely if Pike were found guilty,which they obviously were when a replay was ordered,they should be out of the competition??
Tipp Top
23/03/2010, 4:42 PM
apparently the LDMC took the blame which cleared Pike over the registration issues
daisycutter
23/03/2010, 5:27 PM
the only ones objecting is st micheals they must be afraid of pike
something is wrong somewere to me, why was a replay awarded?,if pike played an illegal player they should be thrown out full stop...but if pike didnt play an illegal player they should go all the way and refuse to replay the tie...this outcome is only confusing the matter and proving the FAI are a joke ..hope the view out come is sorted out better!!!!!
this outcome is only confusing the matter and proving the FAI are a joke!!!!!
this is brilliant because fifa wouldnt award ireland a replay over circumstances................ and another few reasons why fai are a joke are 1. you cannot buy replica jerseys of the national team 2. john delaney makes a mockery of us as a nation 3. eirtricity lge is goin nowhere fast 4. gaa clubs around the country have fabulous facilities and fai spend their money on 5 or 6 big salaries instead of investing where it counts
serpico
23/03/2010, 6:16 PM
this is brilliant because fifa wouldnt award ireland a replay over circumstances................ and another few reasons why fai are a joke are 1. you cannot buy replica jerseys of the national team 2. john delaney makes a mockery of us as a nation 3. eirtricity lge is goin nowhere fast 4. gaa clubs around the country have fabulous facilities and fai spend their money on 5 or 6 big salaries instead of investing where it counts
You are 100% correct they are a joke.they are a closed shop up there.when the two internationals were played in thomond park they didn't even bother to promote them.only international jersey in the world where there is a sponsor across the front of them, a proper farce of an organisation which is run by someone who cannot even speak properly.....
trueview6
23/03/2010, 6:33 PM
What a shameful decision by the F.A.I to replay the St.Michaels/Pike Rovers game. St.Michaels lodged an objection as to legality of the Pike Rovers team. The objection was found to be in order and correct. By rule St.Michaels should play Clonmel Town in the semi-final and Pike Rovers eliminated. Not according to the F.A.I. The team which did everything above board and abided by the rules of the competition must play again the team which did not abide by the rules of the competition and was illegal. And what must Clonmel Town make of this. Think back to the Munster Junior Cup a few seasons ago. Pike Rovers objected to Clonmel Town. Town were deemed to have played an illegal player in contravention of the rules of that time and were eliminated. No offer of a replay. St.Michaels and Clonmel Town must be very disappointed at the F.A.I. decision. Saints, who have done no wrong, can either replay as instructed or make an expensive appeal to F.A.I. Senior Council. In the meantime Clonmel Town must wait helplessly for the outcome, hardly the correct motivation. The nononsense im a neutral, and i was at the match i it comes accross as tough st michaels are afraid of pike, they arent that good if i was a st micheals player i would want another crack at them cant under stand why ye would want the fai junior committee to win it for ye. I think pike are appealing todays decision. COME ON MICHAELS SHOW ABIT OF CLUB PRIDE.
the dazzler
23/03/2010, 7:43 PM
nononsense im a neutral, and i was at the match i it comes accross as tough st michaels are afraid of pike, they arent that good if i was a st micheals player i would want another crack at them cant under stand why ye would want the fai junior committee to win it for ye. I think pike are appealing todays decision. COME ON MICHAELS SHOW ABIT OF CLUB PRIDE.
they arent that good maybe but we havent beaten them in 7years haha:fighter2:
serpico
23/03/2010, 8:13 PM
they arent that good maybe but we havent beaten them in 7years haha:fighter2:
Doesn't say much for ye then dazz.ha ha.
tipp man
23/03/2010, 8:47 PM
Now I know what a fudge is. Irish solution to an Irish problem. Disgrace.
Redman028
23/03/2010, 9:05 PM
Will this player be allowed to play in replay???
Fair Play
23/03/2010, 9:47 PM
Just looking at a number of your posts in relation to the Pike V St Michael's game and the "illegal" player. I read on the FAI website that a rematch is ordered in the interest of Fair Play.
Not wishing to side with anyone but it is a carbon copy of what happened with Westport and Carew Park about 5 years ago. Westport were beaten on penalties in the semi final but an illegal player played. Westport made a protest to the FAI junior Council. It was accepted that an illegal player played for the Carew side, but they were also told either by Limerick League or Munster F.A. that it was o.k for the player to play. The end result was that Westport had to travel again down to Limerick and beat Carew Park 2 - 0 in the replayed game. Maybe there is a lesson in that, but why does it continue to happen with Limerick clubs practically every season?
serpico
24/03/2010, 7:11 AM
The secretary of Fai junior council told Carew that that player could play,it just goes to show how much of a shambles football at local and national level is in.don't think it will ever change either.!
serpico
24/03/2010, 7:21 AM
Will this player be allowed to play in replay???
Not sure but if the match is null and void Tobin will still be susended I presume.
Poolman
24/03/2010, 8:54 AM
Just looking at a number of your posts in relation to the Pike V St Michael's game and the "illegal" player. I read on the FAI website that a rematch is ordered in the interest of Fair Play.
Not wishing to side with anyone but it is a carbon copy of what happened with Westport and Carew Park about 5 years ago. Westport were beaten on penalties in the semi final but an illegal player played. Westport made a protest to the FAI junior Council. It was accepted that an illegal player played for the Carew side, but they were also told either by Limerick League or Munster F.A. that it was o.k for the player to play. The end result was that Westport had to travel again down to Limerick and beat Carew Park 2 - 0 in the replayed game. Maybe there is a lesson in that, but why does it continue to happen with Limerick clubs practically every season?
A very good post and i think a replay is probably the fairest, i was told by an ldmc memeber that colm carroll was a year and a day out of league of ireland that he was ok to play, i think the fai have done there best to be as fair as they can but looking through some of the posts here it cmes accross here as st michaels would prefer to win it by objection and not on the pitch, football is all about winning on the pitch i think it puts the secetary of st michaels in a terrible position.
Redman028
24/03/2010, 5:30 PM
Not sure but if the match is null and void Tobin will still be susended I presume.
Ya id agree with you, Tobin suspension will still stand (well it should anyway)
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 6:07 PM
A very good post and i think a replay is probably the fairest, i was told by an ldmc memeber that colm carroll was a year and a day out of league of ireland that he was ok to play, i think the fai have done there best to be as fair as they can but looking through some of the posts here it cmes accross here as st michaels would prefer to win it by objection and not on the pitch, football is all about winning on the pitch i think it puts the secetary of st michaels in a terrible position.
what a ridiculous post,if colm carroll was ok to play there would be no replay,caroll was illegal but the LDMC took the blame for his registration and thus cleared Pike of any wrong doing.....maybe in a week or 2 you might grasp whats happening
serpico
24/03/2010, 7:00 PM
what a ridiculous post,if colm carroll was ok to play there would be no replay,caroll was illegal but the LDMC took the blame for his registration and thus cleared Pike of any wrong doing.....maybe in a week or 2 you might grasp whats happening
Who said ldmc took the blame.and what did they take the blame for.??everyone here is presuming pile are guilty of an infringement but no-one has solid proof.all hearsay.let's just wait and see what happens.??
Insidetherock
24/03/2010, 7:06 PM
I'm sorry, but you are wrong here. You are missing a very important point. Football may be all about winning, but this is only the case when those who are on the pitch are entitled to be there in the first place.
It may sound cruel, but rules are rules, and it is the responsibility of the teams to ensure that they are fully compliant with the rules. In this case, it is clear that Pike Rovers, were not fully compliant, therefore they should have been disqualified from playing, and not given a replay at all.
Furthermore, there seems to be some problem with people on the site who think that St Michaels should be in some way ashamed of themselves because people within the club know every in and out of the FAI rulebook. There is nothing wrong with that at all. Every single club should know every in and out of the FAI rulebook. It's actually stupid to complain about other clubs being smarter than your own club, rather than going off and finding out the rules for yourself.
In fact, if I had my way, I think Pike Rovers should be made to compensate teams that they beat in the past if they beat them using players which were not entitled to be on the pitch.
It is a simple matter of fairness. Let games be decided on the field.. but only with players entitled to be on the pitch in the first place. Don't blame the Limerick league. Pike are a big club, and would or at least should, have been aware that some of their players may have questions against them (eg a player coming back from LOI). They should have made 100% sure, with documentary proof, that their players were eligible to play. Otherwise, no dice.
I am sorry, but that's the cold hard facts of it.
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 7:18 PM
Who said ldmc took the blame.and what did they take the blame for.??everyone here is presuming pile are guilty of an infringement but no-one has solid proof.all hearsay.let's just wait and see what happens.??
serpico you are insinuating Pike did nothing wrong,so why is there a replay then???
serpico
24/03/2010, 7:31 PM
serpico you are insinuating Pike did nothing wrong,so why is there a replay then???
If they did anything wrong why are they still in the competition.there are too many conflicting stories blaming this and that.let's just wait for the outcome.according to FAI pike did nothing wrong.There words not mine.
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 7:34 PM
If they did anything wrong why are they still in the competition.there are too many conflicting stories blaming this and that.let's just wait for the outcome.according to FAI pike did nothing wrong.There words not mine.
why are they not in the semi final if they are so innocent....clearly there is a problem and a big one
serpico
24/03/2010, 7:38 PM
why are they not in the semi final if they are so innocent....clearly there is a problem and a big one
Let's just wait and see.
Poolman
24/03/2010, 7:53 PM
:bulgy
tipp top why aren't st.michaels in the semi-final.if there is a big problem as you have stated then that should be it end of.but it's plain and clear there is not according to FAI web site.
the bandit
24/03/2010, 8:26 PM
Let's just wait and see.just got it from the horses mouth pike did notting wrong and day shouldnt give micheals a replay
goldengirls
24/03/2010, 9:35 PM
just got it from the horses mouth pike did notting wrong and day shouldnt give micheals a replay
who is the horse??
goldengirls
24/03/2010, 9:37 PM
just to say we cant wait for the celtic game on sunday. we havent been at our best against them this year but wer flying now and its about time we gave them a good beating
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 9:39 PM
just to say we cant wait for the celtic game on sunday. we havent been at our best against them this year but wer flying now and its about time we gave them a good beating
well im sure celtic wont need any motivation when town people have such an arrogant attitude.................
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 9:58 PM
well im sure celtic wont need any motivation when town people have such an arrogant attitude.................
Im sure celtic will just point to the league table and last years cup final,what happened last week Ron Cashel didnt have a keeper or subs,did ye forget that at 211 degrees water is hot and at 212 it boils,those small details eh??
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 10:10 PM
what????????? good one. cashel did have a keeper and subs . you obviously werent there. we had a couple of players who were only introduced at half time also
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 10:15 PM
what????????? good one. cashel did have a keeper and subs . you obviously werent there. we had a couple of players who were only introduced at half time also
Tony Hewitt came in from the rugby field to tog out as a sub and our other sub was injured and could not have came on and the lad who started in goals is not a goalkeeper and fitzelle finished the game in goals and the water boiling was an inspirational text from your manager,in fairness as you said yourself villa threw away the league but cancelling a training session because the club are having a quiz at 10pm,how could you expect to win anything?? some very talented players but the whole set up needs to be addressed from top to bottom,surely you agree?
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 10:26 PM
Tony Hewitt came in from the rugby field to tog out as a sub and our other sub was injured and could not have came on and the lad who started in goals is not a goalkeeper and fitzelle finished the game in goals and the water boiling was an inspirational text from your manager,in fairness as you said yourself villa threw away the league but cancelling a training session because the club are having a quiz at 10pm,how could you expect to win anything?? some very talented players but the whole set up needs to be addressed from top to bottom,surely you agree?
i think the players should stop moaning and get behind the manager and club...............
goldengirls
24/03/2010, 10:30 PM
''some very talented players but the whole set up needs to be addressed from top to bottom.''
they have 4 or 5 very good players and the rest are soft. thats a simple fact. they lay down and died in the play off last year, about 3 of their players stood up and fought, probably the guys who take most stick from their own club
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 10:34 PM
i think the players should stop moaning and get behind the manager and club...............
So you want the players to stop moaning and support the club who cancelled training at 7pm because there was a quiz at 10pm,there lies the problem and there lies the reason the club will never succeed,training is everything and goldengirls thats a valid point
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 10:43 PM
So you want the players to stop moaning and support the club who cancelled training at 7pm because there was a quiz at 10pm,there lies the problem and there lies the reason the club will never succeed,training is everything and goldengirls thats a valid point
we are training better than ever this year. huge numbers so your info is wrong. the club is building its structure and if you ask me the players have to take a look at themselves, too many lads with ' injuries ' lookin on and complaining instead of putting their shoulder to the wheel. its left to the usual leaders in the club to try and get us over the line
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 10:46 PM
we are training better than ever this year. huge numbers so your info is wrong. the club is building its structure and if you ask me the players have to take a look at themselves, too many lads with ' injuries ' lookin on and complaining instead of putting their shoulder to the wheel. its left to the usual leaders in the club to try and get us over the line
granted im only hearing second hand and i dont know whether your a player or supporter but how do you justify the cancelling of sessions? and i heard its a 1 hour session and its just a game of ball after a 15 minute run about,thats not training Ron
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 10:53 PM
granted im only hearing second hand and i dont know whether your a player or supporter but how do you justify the cancelling of sessions? and i heard its a 1 hour session and its just a game of ball after a 15 minute run about,thats not training Ron
i dont know where your info is coming from?? the cancellation was a one off and it was because of a fund raising night for the club. im not a player but i am involved and im up at most sessions and believe me they are intense, only 3 weeks ago we lost a player to injury at training ( im not saying this is a good thing but its an example showing that training is not just a kickabout). we have a lot of good football people in the club and are ready to challenge the big 2 on a consistant basis
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 11:01 PM
i dont know where your info is coming from?? the cancellation was a one off and it was because of a fund raising night for the club. im not a player but i am involved and im up at most sessions and believe me they are intense, only 3 weeks ago we lost a player to injury at training ( im not saying this is a good thing but its an example showing that training is not just a kickabout). we have a lot of good football people in the club and are ready to challenge the big 2 on a consistant basis
Players talk Ron and like i said it is second hand info and fundraiser or no fundraiser it would not have affected training as training was at 7 and i heard about that session which was again just a game where B players were asked to clatter into A players,not too clever,and i have no doubt there is good football people in that club i happen to know some of them but you yourself called the situation a joke on this a couple of days ago?
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 11:07 PM
Players talk Ron and like i said it is second hand info and fundraiser or no fundraiser it would not have affected training as training was at 7 and i heard about that session which was again just a game where B players were asked to clatter into A players,not too clever,and i have no doubt there is good football people in that club i happen to know some of them but you yourself called the situation a joke on this a couple of days ago?
yes i said the result was a joke, that wasnt the club or committees fault, that was lost on the pitch and we cant blame the manager who has done trojan work over the last few years.........and maybe some of those A team players needed a good clatterin into
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 11:17 PM
yes i said the result was a joke, that wasnt the club or committees fault, that was lost on the pitch and we cant blame the manager who has done trojan work over the last few years.........and maybe some of those A team players needed a good clatterin into
your very down on the players Ron,most of them are disillusioned with things up there and they arent happy with the training,fair play to you your obviously a staunch club man but there has to be something not right,villa should have won the league last year and with the start saints and town made this year it should have been wrapped up,bannon was a huge addition for the goals and duggan back from travelling
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 11:21 PM
your very down on the players Ron,most of them are disillusioned with things up there and they arent happy with the training,fair play to you your obviously a staunch club man but there has to be something not right,villa should have won the league last year and with the start saints and town made this year it should have been wrapped up,bannon was a huge addition for the goals and duggan back from travelling
your right he was a very good addition, but the likes of duggan, mick ryan and fog cant do it by themselves year in year out
Tipp Top
24/03/2010, 11:23 PM
your right he was a very good addition, but the likes of duggan, mick ryan and fog cant do it by themselves year in year out
Fogarty has had a great season,a contender for TSDL player of the year i would think,mick ryan has probably had his worst season in a long time,missed a great chance last sunday when he came on,leahy at the back is simply outstanding and deserves a league medal for his efforts
ronburgundy
24/03/2010, 11:30 PM
Fogarty has had a great season,a contender for TSDL player of the year i would think,mick ryan has probably had his worst season in a long time,missed a great chance last sunday when he came on,leahy at the back is simply outstanding and deserves a league medal for his efforts
well that kind of talk just shows that you havent seen much of villa this season. who is your own club??