View Full Version : FAI Junior Cup 2008/09
spcorp
26/03/2009, 3:00 PM
St Peters- Dont know much about them but what i have heard is that they have that experience that will stand to them.. but then again having 3 or 4 experienced players out of 11 leaves gaps open IMO.
Lisselton Rovers- with all the talk of tralee dynamos goin A league lisselton have gone about there business quietly and knuckled down and signed some decent players includind irish junior o driscoll, add experienced EL players and Kerry oscar traynor players all in to one and the side looks players and are very good.
St Peters 0-2 Lisselton
Its only my opinion going on what i have seen of lisselton and heard os St Peters
Just some insight for you with regard to peters, the 3 or 4 players you refer to with EXPERIENCE do have excellent experience having all played league of Ireland, but in terms of experience what do you mean? league of ireland or winning things? In 05 peters got to FAI senior cup 1st round with about 6 or 7 of the current line up, winning the intermediate midland league and winning every league they have been in in the last 5 years. The team from what i have seen of them are very experienced and have won league's and cups and have played at league of ireland level. So they are a decent side, i for one am looking forward to it, we'll see if your right!!!
manuman
26/03/2009, 3:07 PM
When you get to the semi - final of a competition i dont think quality matters that much and by the way Iorras do have Quality, the year after they won the FAI Youths cup in 2004( I think) they went to the quarter final, they drew 1-1 with the sligo rovers superstars and lost on peno's. From what I have seen so far in this cup, well "quality"?? Iv been hearing about this junior international and that junior international, they are 180 minutes away from a historic junior cup win and I think they can do it, maybey I'm wrong but that is my opinion, but for where the Iorras lads are from, lets face it they would i'm sure have 1 or 2 players on the Irish junior scene over the past number of years. They've no quality, no pace according to some people on here yet they just keep winning.Apparently the Kinsale strikers had pace to burn. They must be doing something right and by the way that comment about discipline with Pike? the game was over at that stage anyway, if Pike were that great and Iorras were that bad why couldnt Pike put the game beyond doubt in 80 minutes or whatever time they got a man sent off??????? Laughable really!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Just my opinion! Come on Iorras do it for the county!!!!!!
manuman
26/03/2009, 3:14 PM
Was also at the View Iorras game I dont think the view keeper made a mistake for the goal, he was beaten fair and square in the air?? Well Views goal wasnt exactly Barcelona either. A sloppy corner that Iorras failed to clear and View put it away!!!!!! I'm not an Iorras man but cant beleive the stick they are getting!
chopper harris
26/03/2009, 3:42 PM
[quote=limfan;1130510]St Peters- Dont know much about them but what i have heard is that they have that experience that will stand to them.. but then again having 3 or 4 experienced players out of 11 leaves gaps open IMO.
St Peters 0-2 Lisselton
St Peters slight favorites with Paddy Powers 13/10. Lisselton are 6/4,and 5/2 to draw. They must have taken a few bets becasue they opened the week at 7/4 and lisselton 8/5. I agree with you Limfan, anything can happen in a semi, Cup upsets all over the world prove that. It seems Sunday is going to be a very even game, I hope the weather holds up becasue McCarthy can get heavy.
When did i slag off Glash i dont think hes a good keeper yes hes better than ours but that doesnt make him a good keeper.
agree he's not a good keeper....he's a very good keeper
Keepers improve with age gordan is 33/34 cant see improving next couple of years,Glasheen:rolleyes:
explain what you meant by the smilie so,alright its not a slag as such more of a dig
trueview6
26/03/2009, 10:29 PM
Hes not a good keeper thats my opinion,if he played with any other club bar the boro you would say the same.
Boroman
26/03/2009, 10:35 PM
everyone is entitled to their opinion trueview but I thought Darren was one of the best up and coming keepers when he was minor,he lost his way for awhile but now seems to have got his act together and is showing signs of his true ability,Daithi seems to be getting the best out of him
trueview6
26/03/2009, 10:42 PM
everyone is entitled to their opinion trueview but I thought Darren was one of the best up and coming keepers when he was minor,he lost his way for awhile but now seems to have got his act together and is showing signs of his true ability,Daithi seems to be getting the best out of him
(I thought Darren was one of the best)hes out of minor a couple of years,i havent seen enough of him too change my mind but you know him better than me.
Boroman
26/03/2009, 10:46 PM
thats the beauty of an opinion....you are never wrong its always the other guy
trueview6
26/03/2009, 10:54 PM
Boroman please dont tell me you think erris will win the fai.
Boroman
26/03/2009, 10:57 PM
no I think the winners of St.Peters and Lisselton will go on to win it
abbeyvale
26/03/2009, 10:58 PM
no I think the winners of St.Peters and Lisselton will go on to win it
Ballymun to win the FAI
abbeyvale
26/03/2009, 10:59 PM
Glasheen is a decent keeper but there are a few better than him playing in Limerick.
trueview6
26/03/2009, 11:00 PM
Ballymun to win the FAI
Clonmel?
alidiei
26/03/2009, 11:47 PM
(I thought Darren was one of the best)hes out of minor a couple of years,i havent seen enough of him too change my mind but you know him better than me.
Glash is the best in town imo..we will leave it at that:D
alidiei
26/03/2009, 11:48 PM
Clonmel?dont think they will id say ballymun...The winners of this game will win it
VaVaVoom
27/03/2009, 12:15 AM
Hes not a good keeper thats my opinion,if he played with any other club bar the boro you would say the same.
Are you serious? He practically won wembley under 17s an FAI on his own! He was probably the best underage keeper in the country at the time! As for now he still has the ability and is coming back to his best. IMO he's the best keeper in town and would walk onto the fairview team. Some of the saves he made against St Michaels and Clonmel were unbelievable, one in particular! Your entitled to your opinion but you're wrong!
tipp man
27/03/2009, 7:56 AM
Your entitled to your opinion but you're wrong!
That reminds me of the great Brian Clough.
If a player disagrees with me , we sit down and thrash it out. And then decide I was right all the time.
The man was a genius.
trueview6
27/03/2009, 8:20 AM
Are you serious? He practically won wembley under 17s an FAI on his own! He was probably the best underage keeper in the country at the time! As for now he still has the ability and is coming back to his best. IMO he's the best keeper in town and would walk onto the fairview team. Some of the saves he made against St Michaels and Clonmel were unbelievable, one in particular! Your entitled to your opinion but you're wrong!
Why do you keep going back 5 or 6 years u17s ha ha ha ha get a grip pal.
leather
27/03/2009, 8:26 AM
You are a fair man for going back through the years yourself.. Glasheen hass plenty of years ahead of him unlike the lads you keep referring to... nearly all retired i would say
trueview6
27/03/2009, 8:34 AM
You are a fair man for going back through the years yourself.. Glasheen hass plenty of years ahead of him unlike the lads you keep referring to... nearly all retired i would say
Yes but they proved themselves over the years as been top class,i havent seen Glasheen doing it at all yet,iv seen him on the bench a few times,the young lad that was in goals in my opinion was a better keeper.
EAFC_rdfl
27/03/2009, 9:02 AM
and there was me thinking at the start of the week that with the last limerick team knocked out, this thread would now become a discussion about only the remaining games in this years junior cup rather than the regular bitching between limerick clubs :rolleyes: I should have known better! take your limerick goalkeeper arguement else where please, it couldn't be anymore off topic.
best of luck to peters at the weekend, their home form should just about see them through
fourtwotwo
27/03/2009, 9:11 AM
Why do you keep going back 5 or 6 years u17s ha ha ha ha get a grip pal.
pot kettle black springs to mind here, and who are you to talk bout keepers ye dont exactly have a great keeper yerselves and if ye thought glash would sign with ye hed be snapped up:D
trueview6
27/03/2009, 9:40 AM
pot kettle black springs to mind here, and who are you to talk bout keepers ye dont exactly have a great keeper yerselves and if ye thought glash would sign with ye hed be snapped up:D
I will be as honest as i can with you he wouldnt get as far as the gates of the fairview club have no doubt that,we have a poor keeper thats no secret,but we would play Gerry flynn in goals before Glash.
leather
27/03/2009, 9:49 AM
why would that be then???
limfan
27/03/2009, 10:54 AM
Since when did this become a site about goalies... this is FAI JUNIOR CUP forum so please take yer comments to a diff site
limfan
27/03/2009, 11:09 AM
Just some insight for you with regard to peters, the 3 or 4 players you refer to with EXPERIENCE do have excellent experience having all played league of Ireland, but in terms of experience what do you mean? league of ireland or winning things? In 05 peters got to FAI senior cup 1st round with about 6 or 7 of the current line up, winning the intermediate midland league and winning every league they have been in in the last 5 years. The team from what i have seen of them are very experienced and have won league's and cups and have played at league of ireland level. So they are a decent side, i for one am looking forward to it, we'll see if your right!!!
When i say experience i mean as in alot of them wont be phased by the q-final, many of these lads come from diff clubs in the past and have experienced the winning mentallity of big occasions.. the majority of them have proven that big ocasions wont phase them.. for e.g a few of them have played and won all irelands in croke park (i know gaa has noyhing to do with soccer, im just saying they wont be overawed by this game), one with kerry! that for me is proving it on big ocasions = experience
Im not saying St Peters are a bad side or anything... no bad side gets to the q-final of the fai...
lisseltonrovers
27/03/2009, 11:49 AM
seriously lads, the limerick thread is elsewhere. there are 5 teams left to talk about in this thread. cant wait for sunday, st peters sound like a very decent team from reading a few posts. going to be a massive day for us, cant wait.
prince20
27/03/2009, 11:53 AM
seriously lads, the limerick thread is elsewhere. there are 5 teams left to talk about in this thread. cant wait for sunday, st peters sound like a very decent team from reading a few posts. going to be a massive day for us, cant wait.
WOW! i nearly cant believe it that we have someone actually talking about the FAI Junior Cup in this thread:)
Hope to get to the game myself on Sunday..should be interesting
lankyboy26
27/03/2009, 3:42 PM
Was also at the View Iorras game I dont think the view keeper made a mistake for the goal, he was beaten fair and square in the air?? Well Views goal wasnt exactly Barcelona either. A sloppy corner that Iorras failed to clear and View put it away!!!!!! I'm not an Iorras man but cant beleive the stick they are getting!
Ridiculous comment Manuman if you don't mind me saying it!!! a keeper should never be "beaten in the air". he can use his hands for christ's sake!!! ask any goalkeeper, if you get beaten in the air it's the keeper's fault
trueview6
27/03/2009, 3:43 PM
Cause its ok ye can have him,id be interested to know for such a good keeper:rolleyes:how many of the top sides has asked him to sign.
alidiei
27/03/2009, 4:16 PM
Cause its ok ye can have him,id be interested to know for such a good keeper:rolleyes:how many of the top sides has asked him to sign.A ye have shows how much you know about Fairview..And all the top sides have top keepers so why want another one
trueview6
27/03/2009, 4:24 PM
A ye have shows how much you know about Fairview..And all the top sides have top keepers so why want another one
We will get one that suits us if thats ok,there is no top keepers alidiei.
alidiei
27/03/2009, 4:30 PM
We will get one that suits us if thats ok,there is no top keepers alidiei.This is not the Premership so who do you consider a top keeper..
trueview6
27/03/2009, 4:41 PM
Top class we dont have won in junior,Res keeper for limerick collopy and ger barron thats it do in there day colin flemin,colm barrett,
trueview6
27/03/2009, 4:42 PM
Top class we dont have won in junior,Res keeper for limerick collopy and ger barron thats it do in there day colin flemin,colm barrett,
one should i say!:eek:
alright lads lets leave it there and agree to disagree its spoiling the thread
KUFCMan
29/03/2009, 4:32 PM
FAI Junior Cup 1/4 Final Result
St Peters 1-0 Lisselton
Fr Damo
30/03/2009, 7:31 AM
St Peters 1-0 Lisselton ,
Poor game. Lisselton were poor, don't know how thay got this far. Best team so far were Carrick by a mile and for the benifit of most, Peters were lucky that day.
So, semi finals now, Clonmel Town await. Peters were 6/4 yesterday with Boyles and heavily backed too. Pure joy!
Innishvilla
30/03/2009, 7:41 AM
FAI Junior Cup 1/4 Final Result
St Peters 1-0 Lisselton
Oh my god... A comment that is not about keepers...
AT LAST...
lisseltonrovers
30/03/2009, 8:44 AM
St Peters 1-0 Lisselton ,
Poor game. Lisselton were poor, don't know how thay got this far. !
you know what, i was going to come on here and congratulate your team and wish you luck in this competition but after this and your teams antics after the game, i change my mind. you can be gracious in defeat but being gracious in victory is one thing that you lot up there should learn. comments like that are uncalled for and the way you celebrated yesterday after the game was very unsporting also.
lisselton were poor? yes we were, we can play far better, only 2 of our players played anyway near our capability, but Peters werent exactly wonderful either. I thought overall we were the better team on the day and played the better football, Peters were intent on humping long ball after long ball into our center halves. now, fair play, thats where the goal originally came from and its obviously a strength that you have, but on the day that it was a poor game, played on a soft pitch in windy conditions with rain for about an hour before kick off, it suited a more physical team which peters are.
still there was very little in it, Lisselton had more chances though, i counted 7 great chances to Peters 4, but again, we only have ourselves to blame as Peters took theirs, a header from a corner in the 67th minute that we didnt defend properly. we missed 2 guilt edge chances in the 44th and 45th minute, both were sitters and at least one should have been scored.
1st half was the best of the action and peters begun brightly. However it was Peters keeper who pulled off 2 stunning saves in the first half from Irish player O driscoll. our keeper also had 2 saves to make, one to avert a kevin kilbane style OG attempt. Lisselton dominated the game from about 30 mins in until Peters scored and had 4 chances in this period. after the goal, we threatened little, Peters closed up shop and defended well. Lisselton had one last chance, with 7 minutes to go, our striker went through in the box and was tackled from behind. To me, it was a penalty, but it wasnt given, had it been outside the box, it defo would have been given as the ref was not allowing tackles like that in the game. Games change on decisions like this.
overall, a disappointing day for us, we left the game behind as Peters were there for the taking. We knew before the game that set pieces was the only way we would concede and that proved to be the case.
Clonmel who were in attendance, fancy their chances now,i know that as i was speaking to them afterwards.
spcorp
30/03/2009, 9:48 AM
you know what, i was going to come on here and congratulate your team and wish you luck in this competition but after this and your teams antics after the game, i change my mind. you can be gracious in defeat but being gracious in victory is one thing that you lot up there should learn. comments like that are uncalled for and the way you celebrated yesterday after the game was very unsporting also.
lisselton were poor? yes we were, we can play far better, only 2 of our players played anyway near our capability, but Peters werent exactly wonderful either. I thought overall we were the better team on the day and played the better football, Peters were intent on humping long ball after long ball into our center halves. now, fair play, thats where the goal originally came from and its obviously a strength that you have, but on the day that it was a poor game, played on a soft pitch in windy conditions with rain for about an hour before kick off, it suited a more physical team which peters are.
still there was very little in it, Lisselton had more chances though, i counted 7 great chances to Peters 4, but again, we only have ourselves to blame as Peters took theirs, a header from a corner in the 67th minute that we didnt defend properly. we missed 2 guilt edge chances in the 44th and 45th minute, both were sitters and at least one should have been scored.
1st half was the best of the action and peters begun brightly. However it was Peters keeper who pulled off 2 stunning saves in the first half from Irish player O driscoll. our keeper also had 2 saves to make, one to avert a kevin kilbane style OG attempt. Lisselton dominated the game from about 30 mins in until Peters scored and had 4 chances in this period. after the goal, we threatened little, Peters closed up shop and defended well. Lisselton had one last chance, with 7 minutes to go, our striker went through in the box and was tackled from behind. To me, it was a penalty, but it wasnt given, had it been outside the box, it defo would have been given as the ref was not allowing tackles like that in the game. Games change on decisions like this.
overall, a disappointing day for us, we left the game behind as Peters were there for the taking. We knew before the game that set pieces was the only way we would concede and that proved to be the case.
Clonmel who were in attendance, fancy their chances now,i know that as i was speaking to them afterwards.
i would like to say unlucky to lisselton, you are a good side maybe yesterday things didn't go right for you. i was there yesterday and to say Peters didn't conduct themselves well, is not right? They won the game and celebrated? From what i hear about lisselton, you lads are the ones who wouldn't tell the club you were coming up the night before? when the club tried to facilitate you? you wouldn't even provide info for the programme? anyway with reference to the game, Peters were not going to lose to be fair, in the first half you were dangerous from set pieces but after that you struggled. Talking to your supporters, there all good people and i wish you all the best in the future..
Fr Damo
30/03/2009, 9:56 AM
That statement makes no sence.... My comments amounted to about thirty words yet I get this rant that seems to me to be premeditated. What antics are you taliking about after the match? rejoicing a victory?
Unsporting? We looked for the game to kick off at 1pm as Athlone Town were playing waterford at 3pm and a few people would like to see both. You guys were travelling up on Sunday and felt you couldn't mange it as the hour was going forward also. In the end ATFC moved back to a 5pm! So, how was the Shearwater hotel in Ballinasloe on Saturaday night? If fairness were surprised to hear you were driving up Sunday as most teams serious about winning would prepare properly for the game so why bull*hit us?
While I am at it, we sought info from you lads about the team for our programme, nothing came back hence it was devoid of anything from Lisselton.
Our ground is in far better nick than yours from the accounts of our manager who was at the game against city. It has a full head of er.. grass, was rolled with a 3T roller twice last week ffs, cut on Friday, marked on Saturady. Indeed your own lds were surprised/ pleased because they had heard from Carrick that the was heavy (which it was against them).
Secondly, The wind didn't favour anybody, thirdly, We played more ball on the ground than you guys imo, Mr McCeever said so to me also!!
[
quote]still there was very little in it, Lisselton had more chances though, i counted 7 great chances to Peters 4, but again, we only have ourselves to blame as Peters took theirs, a header from a corner in the 67th minute that we didnt defend properly. we missed 2 guilt edge chances in the 44th and 45th minute, both were sitters and at least one should have been scored.
Best of Luck
lisseltonrovers
30/03/2009, 10:03 AM
From what i hear about lisselton, you lads are the ones who wouldn't tell the club you were coming up the night before? when the club tried to facilitate you?
in all fairness, why do your lot care whether we came up or not the night before? and we didnt stay in athlone we stayed half an hour away. i shouldnt have to explain anything, but to my knowledge, we didnt have a definite plan until Wednesday or thursday and then again our plans changed towards the end of the week, as we were supposed to be in dublin for the ireland match and travel from there. our coach is involved with the irish team and missed the game as a result, which was a big loss to us.
as regards the program, it looks to me like our secretary just didnt have the time to put things together for it. he asked me to do it, but it was too late, they were printed at that stage. stop firing nonsense accusations around the place please, that have nothing to do with the game yesterday.
Fr Damo
30/03/2009, 10:10 AM
But a bit of background for the listeners that's all. Your the one making nonsence accusations, put some substance to it and back up your comment about "antics after the game". Or else withdraw it. Ballinasloe is hardly half an hour away, 13 miles by my Sat nav.
30/03/2009, 10:27 AM
lissletonrovers & Fr Damo,if you pair want to continue at each other take it to the P M facility,you've both had more than enough space in this thread to say what you want about one game.
Fr Damo
30/03/2009, 10:39 AM
Fine with me but where were you last week when this board decended to farce with reference to the Limerick lads who were naming names and all sorts.
Ends.
the dazzler
30/03/2009, 11:10 AM
sounds like lisselton are bad losers:)
lisseltonrovers
30/03/2009, 11:26 AM
sounds like lisselton are bad losers:)
wow, amazing contribution, thanks. im came on here to congratulate yesterdays winners, but a PM and an unwelcome post changed my mind before i posted.
anyway, id rather be a gracious in victory than gracious in defeat which is lacking here.
Fr Damo
30/03/2009, 11:47 AM
We even told your guy about one of our sponcers who runs a very sucessful hotel, Ireland and opposing teams stay there when internationls are held in Dubarry Park (rugby) or ATFC but were told point blankly you were travelling on the morning of the match.
You still have not backed up your statement ref antics after the match, I could list much more about bad manners here including three or four of your lads "relieving" themselves outside your bus and against a church wall before you departed. This was in Athlone town center at about 6pm. I have three independant witness lest anyone sueing me for defamation.